Farnam Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
187 Reviews

Write A Review

Elegant bargin!

5 on September 13, 2014

Clean, comfortable rooms in lovely home very close to Yale campus ! Delicious breakfast in elegant diningroom with classical music ! Privacy respected - come and go with with ease.


Gracious and Delicious

4.8 on September 06, 2014

The Inn was charming, the innkeeper considerate, the parking easy, the location terrific. The nice, hot, homemade breakfast with consideration for special diets and some really good coffee to top it off was the perfect way to start each day.. much better than those continental breakfasts many hotels serve. The down comforter was too hot for us, so we peeled it off... but the kind staff noticed, and quietly replaced it with a cotton quilt for the second night. This is service, folks. So many lovely touches...including a piano in the comfy living room, should you wish to play one, a little kitchenette with a full fridge for guests to use, lovely recorded music, nice conversations with fellow travelers and host. I hope we can stay there again!

Innkeeper Response
This is a really great review and clearly reflects exactly what the Farnam Guest House is like. Thank you so much for taking time to write this review which includes so many important details that make our place so special. It was great having you with us and I hope you can come again.


Charming B&B

4.6 on September 02, 2014

Farnam Guest House is a great choice when you're visiting Yale. It's convenient to the center of New Haven has a nice homey feeling. Elizabeth Lopez, the owner, is charming and friendly. Rima Calderon

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your heart felt appreciation Rima. Enjoy the baby!!!


Perfect place for Yale visit

3.6 on August 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here the night before she moved into her freshman dorm at Yale. It is not far from the campus and on the Yale shuttle line. We stayed in the Eleanor Dow suite which you could live in. It was comfortable and cozy. Elizabeth was helpful with suggestions on location and places for dinner. Breakfast was fresh and quite good. We enjoyed our stay here and as I return to the Yale campus over the next 4 years I plan to stay here every time I visit.

Innkeeper Response
I'm so glad you enjoyed our two bedroom apartment, which is so perfect for a short term stay. We look forward to your future stays!


Grand Yale area house

3.4 on August 20, 2014

lovely house and surroundings

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for posting a review of our guest house. It was great to have you here!


yale-art

3.8 on August 10, 2014

nice neighborhood. Easy to find

Innkeeper Response
So glad you enjoyed our truly lovely neighborhood and the directions to get here!


Clean and comfortable

3.2 on July 25, 2014

the Guest House is clean and well kept and the room is spacious. The breakfast is quite disappointing, with little variety and heavily based on fried foods.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your review. We serve traditional breakfast of usually scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, orange juice, croissants and coffee and tea!


Great place to stay!

5 on July 20, 2014

This B&B's website photos matched the actual appearance and conditions. It was very clean, pleasant and details for my stay were simple and easy. I met other's traveling to Yale for various reasons so the tenants were worldly. The atmosphere lends it to be as private and autonomous with opportunities for socializing locally. It is in a safe neighborhood too!

Innkeeper Response
Wow! This review was very encouraging to me. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to keep the guest house a beautiful spot for travelers and I am happy for your outstanding review! Thank you very much.


farnham guest house

2.8 on July 18, 2014

ok but not great. room was cramped, bathroom actually outside the room itself, shower had great pressure, TV in room was actually a small computer monitor that was on a desk so impossible to see from the bed itself. breakfast was ok but not great. location is good, parking also easy/good

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review with lots of deails about the Whitman Room and the traditional breakfasts we serve. Glad you enjoyed some things tho!!!


Nice B&B

3.4 on July 14, 2014

The host was very nice and the rooms were very clean. While the breakfast in general was good, we didn't like the combination of waffles and sausages on one of the days.

Innkeeper Response
It was good to have you stay with us and I very much hope that next time you will tell us what you would prefer to eat for breakfast as we make every effort to make everything very special. Hope you will come again.


quaint and enjoyable

4.2 on July 07, 2014

rooms were very accomodating; hostess was gracious and informative. buffet breakfast was ok.

Innkeeper Response
So glad to have you here with us! Thanks for choosing us.


Farnam Guest House

4.6 on June 30, 2014

I was 'upgraded" to a large, sunny, airy room.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the room.


Another very pleasant stay at Farnum Guest House

4.8 on May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight at Farnam Guest House while visiting our son at Yale. My wife and son had stayed there a year ago, while visiting the university, and so we knew that we would have a pleasant experience. Our room , the Whitman Room, was comfortable, immaculately clean, well-lit with ample windows, yet quiet. As an extra, we had a mother robin on a nest of blue eggs on the window ledge of our room. The owner is a gracious, welcoming host. She has planted wonderful flowers and bushes around the house, and we shared gardening tips with each other. The house is on the edge of campus, and we found we could walk to restaurants and campus building easily. We recommend this B&B highly.

Innkeeper Response
You have written such a detailed and beautiful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and the robin on her nest of beautiful blue eggs was very, very special. I am happy that you made us aware of her. We did see the babies a little later, but I did not want to disturb her too much. Thanks for posting the pictures on our facebook page!! Very special.


Excellent Accommodations

4.4 on May 28, 2014

The room was a tad small but quite comfortable. The guest house was clean, the service outstanding, and the breakfast terrific. Overall, my stay was quite enjoyable, and I would highly recommend Farnam Guest House to others.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your descriptive review and recommendation! We hope you will stay again in the future. Best regards!


Probably our 4th or 5th stay - very consistent and hospitable.

4.8 on May 08, 2014

A great weekend at a familiar, comfortable, accomodating venue.

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad that you keep coming back. It is wonderful to have you here with us when you visit New Haven. Hope to see you again soon. Best Regards!!


Lovely place

4.8 on April 27, 2014

This was a lovely place. Gracious hostess and staff, beautiful house and furnishings, interesting guests, fresh fruit at breakfast. As a woman traveling alone, I found this a safe and comfortable place to stay; I went running through the beautiful neighborhood in the morning, and was able to easily walk to Yale (about a mile). I stayed in one of the small rooms with a shared bathroom on the third floor; no problem with sharing the bathrooms, as there are other available if necessary. Also, there is a refrigerator/kitchen on the second floor which was nice, since I could store my leftovers from my meals at some of New Haven's great restaurants. Would highly recommend The Farnam House.

Innkeeper Response
This is an amazing review. You have given our readers a lot of important information: distance to Yale, shared bath, guest kitchen. Thank you for your recommendation!


Beautiful Historical Place

4.4 on April 26, 2014

Farnam Guest House was a great place, accommodating our family of six. We were in awe of the historical aspect of the home, and how it was structured to accommodate the Dow Family. Beautiful place settings on the table brought us back in time, gave us opportunity to appreciate vintage setting. Loved the upstairs kitchen which gave us an opportunity to recap the day's event with dessert and tea upon our return from touring New Haven CT!

Innkeeper Response
You have such a beautiful family! We don't often have babies stay, but your daughter and baby were so precious. I especially liked the way Daddy was involved with his family on every level. Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. Sincerely.


Rocco Visits New Haven

5 on April 26, 2014

The house is immaculate and the staff is very friendly. A stones thrwo to nearby Yale and places of interest. Recommend staying here while visiting the area.

Innkeeper Response
Wow! You gave us a wholehearted, 5-star review. Thank you so much. This really helps to raise our over-all average. A special blessing on you!!


Traveling Alone

5 on April 08, 2014

I often travel alone to visit my son and staying at a B&B provides a homey atmosphere in a safe neighborhood. "So what brings you to New Haven?" is a typical question asked at breakfast. Meeting such interesting people is much preferred to dining alone at a hotel!

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad you enjoy bed and breakfasts. They are truly a great place to stay when one is traveling alone. Glad you enjoyed it here with us! Come again!


family visit

4.4 on March 27, 2014

Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. We liked the room very much and it is very close to the college. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. I do treasure the friendly and wonderful people who choose to stay with us. Hope you can come again!


pleasant B&B

4.2 on March 11, 2014

beautiful place, nice location, would definitely return.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for this review! Remember next time you stay with me you get an automatic 5% discount!!!


Amazing B&B!

5 on March 10, 2014

Quiet and romantic getaway in Nee Haven. Spent some of our honeymoon here. The staff and innkeeper are very accommodating. The room and house are perfect. A must for couples looking for a B&B at an affordable price!

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad you stayed with us for part of your honeymoon and I do hope you have a an at-one marriage. My very best wishes to you both


Safe, clean, and welcoming guest house

5 on February 26, 2014

I have stayed in several guest houses in the Americas and Europe, and this was certainly my best experience. The house is located in a quiet and safe neighbourhood, a few steps from the Yale Blue Line shuttle, that will take you to the campus in 5 minutes. It has a great variety of amenities: a welcome breakfast for your first day, fast wifi, a variety of things to drink at all times (bottles of fresh water, coffee, tea), cookies. Everything is clean, everything is comfortable. But most importantly, Elizabeth, the host, is a nice and welcoming lady who will make everything to make you feel at home. She will tell you about the things to do in town, take you to do groceries if necessary, and try to accommodate all your needs, while also respecting your space and your privacy. I stayed here for one full month, and If I come back to New Haven, I will certainly stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
"My very best experience" - such a high accolade is most welcome. Thank you for these words.


Winter storm holdup.

3.8 on February 17, 2014

We spent three nights at the Farnam Guest House. It was a lovely place to have to be house bound. We had an apartment suite. The only complaint would be the breakfasts. We were served the same thing all three days, scrambled eggs which were not hot or freshly made.. We were not offered any other choices. The coffee was extremely strong. The hostess was very friendly.

Innkeeper Response
We have so many different breakfast choices. Next time I hope you will make your desires known. We certainly love to accommodate people's wishes!


Great Stay

3.2 on February 06, 2014

Lovely place, great location.

Innkeeper Response
Not sure why we only rated 3 stars, but I am so glad you posted a positive review. Remember next time you stay you get an automatic 5% discount!


Nice place, but not a fantastic breakfast

3.6 on January 18, 2014

Nice home, room was comfortable, but hostess was not super friendly. Breakfast was so-so, like the toast and eggs I make for myself at home (not as special as other B&Bs I've stayed at).

Innkeeper Response
So glad your room was comfortable. I regret you did not find me friendly. I'll try to get into it a bit more in the future. Our breakfasts are traditional, one might say usual. But didn't you think the setting was nice?


Few days at Yale

4.0 on January 18, 2014

I had wonderful time and overall the B&B exceed my expectations. I will definitively spend there other days while visiting Yale.

Innkeeper Response
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and I do so look forward to your return visit some time in the future.


Thank You!

5 on January 01, 2014

The Farnam Guest House is a super clean, warm and welcoming b & b, with great food and a wonderful inn keeper. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Innkeeper Response
Wow! This is a.n outstanding review. I so enjoyed having you here with us and am glad you found it pleasing as well


Nice place

3.6 on December 31, 2013

Nice place, good location for those visiting Yale and New Haven.

Innkeeper Response
Yale is such a wonderful place to visit and the city of New Haven also provides a lot to see and do in short distances. We were happy to have you with us.


FARNUM GUEST HOUSE SUPERB!

5 on December 12, 2013

The Farnum Guest House is a treasure! Beautifully appointed; friendly, great service. Elizabeth is a treat. This is a wonderful place to stay ~ do discover it for your self!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very, very much for your excellent review. I am happy that all the work we do here at the Farnam Guest House is thoroughly appreciated. I am thankful for your comments about me and certainly hope you will come back and see us!!


One night at Yale

3.6 on December 12, 2013

Good stay at this romantic and historic guesthouse.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us.


Charming Bed & Breakfast was Perfect for New Haven Stay

4.8 on December 12, 2013

I was in town for a weekend, and made a mistake on my booking. Elizabeth was extraordinarily helpful and understanding in our attempts to remediate my mistake. The beds were extremely comfortable, as was the entire home. I would definitely recommend. Flat screen televisions would be my only suggested improvement.

Innkeeper Response
I am happy we could reorganize your booking and I appreciate your five-star review. Come again and see us!


Review of Farnam Guest House

5 on December 11, 2013

Clean. Lovely. Welcoming.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to post a 5-star review! Wow! The stars say it all!! You're the best!


charming clean friendly b and b

4.2 on November 30, 2013

Host was terific and informative; on the Yale blue bus line; did not expect four rooms to be involved ithe shared bathroom but everyone was courteous and responsible. Breakfast rather simple. Stayed a few nights. Would definitely stay again but would pay for private bath. Room was very clean; wifi worked perfectly; many guets were staying for several weeks. Lovely sitting room. Cookies and tea always available.

Innkeeper Response
You have provided a very informative review for those who desire to know some details about our guest house. Thank you.


Good New Haven option to a hotel

4.6 on November 17, 2013

Lovely residential location and nice alternative to hotel

Innkeeper Response
This bed and breakfast is certainly a most welcome alternative to a hotel. We are glad you stayed with us and thank you for your kind words.


Farnam Guest House

3.6 on October 28, 2013

Good location, quiet, pleasant place to stay

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review!


Beautiful home but breakfast lacking.

2.6 on October 24, 2013

Breakfast could be better. It was cold when I sat down to eat. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies were supposedly available 24/7 but I couldn't find where it was offered. The main common areas however were beautifully and tastefully furnished. However if you are planning to visit Yale and don't have a car it is a 30 minute walk from the B and B to the centre of campus.

Innkeeper Response
We promise only a traditional breakfast. I don't do anything gourmet. But we will certainly work on it being hot. The tea and coffee etc are always in the dining room - one side board for coffee and one side board for tea. The blue tin of cookies is always there. I know. I am amazed that some people consider a 30 min walk to be okay. I would never walk it myself,. But we do have the Yale shuttle for those who don't care to walk and don't have a car. Good luck!!


Would definitely come back.

4.6 on October 22, 2013

Very familial and comfy, Great breakfast. Good location in town, not far from Yale. Very clean, comfotable rooms. Will recommend it to my friends.


Good Value but Need Better Locks

3.4 on October 14, 2013

My only criticism is our room had only a deadbolt on the door which could be opened by anyone with a key. There was no chain, so I felt a bit on edge.

Innkeeper Response
I have never considered that the doors to the rooms might be better with a chain lock. I will certainly add them to all my room doors. I definitely want my guests to feel safe, so thank you for your suggestions.


October Farnam stay

4.2 on October 12, 2013

You're staying in the lovely home of a university professor, not a sterile hotel. It's clean and inexpensive.


Stay at Farnam Guest House

4.0 on October 07, 2013

Farnam Guest House is great for those visiting Yale. It is cosy, and the staff members are very friendly. I would recommend Farnam Guest House to those planning to visit Yale or the New Haven area.


very special

4.2 on September 15, 2013

Great place to stay in new haven!


Beautyful place to stay

4.0 on September 15, 2013

This Guest Hause ist a wonderful place to stay it is furnished with lots of thought and love you instantly feel comfortable (and rather impressed by all the historic style). The beds are comfortable and everything is very clean and well cared for. Sharing a bathroom on (for the top floor rooms) was not a problem at all. The distance to the centre of town or the old campus is walkable (about 15 min) but there also is a regular free shuttle bus that runs every 15 minutes and stops directly on the corner) I would recommend this to anyone staying in New Haven and next time I am there I will come back.


Revisiting childhood

5 on August 27, 2013

Best place to stay if you are spending time in New Haven!


Fabulous Stay in New Haven Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 02, 2013

This B & B is a beautiful old house. My 13-year-old daughter and I stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Douglas Orr room 3 nights (I didn't book in time to get it for all 5 nights). The room was perfect, so much nicer than a hotel.room, and we could use the kitchen on the 2nd floor to make our suppers, which saved some money. My son was moving into an apartment (new Yale student) and didn't have a bed, so he stayed with us for one night (always ask Elizabeth if this will be okay). The Douglas Orr room accommodated us all very well. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
This is a truly wonderful review! It was so good having you and your daughter and son with us. Thanks for all the informational detail that you took the time to explain: the free Yale shuttle bus that stops across the street, the guest kitchen which is available to all our guests. Your review was very informative and I am grateful!!!!


Comfortable lodging with great location

3.8 on July 21, 2013

While the photos suggest a setting somewhat formal for our taste, we in fact found Farnum Guest House surprisingly comfortable. The location in a historic neighborhood is excellent and convenient to campus. The proprietor is helpful without being intrusive. We would definitely stay again. JD - Springfield, Ohio

Innkeeper Response
Glad to know you would stay again. I certainly enjoyed having you here.


Wonderful Breakfast

3.4 on July 16, 2013

Stayed here during a college visit to Yale with our son. Grand old house a bit far to walk to the central Yale campus. Room a bit warm when we first arrived, cooler later in the evening. Delightful guests, wonderful breakfast. Not the cheapest place to stay, but a nice alternative to cheaper chain hotels closer to campus.

Innkeeper Response
You are some of the wonderful guests we have at the Farnam Guest House! Thank you for your review.


Perfect little BnB

5 on July 15, 2013

My friend and I recently spent a couple of nights at the Farnam Guest House and were extremley pleased! It was everything we had hoped for in a BnB from the furniture to the gorgeous dining room where we had breakfast with the other guests and were able to make new friends and share stories. I would definitely stay again on my next visit :) Anamaria , Sydney Australia

Innkeeper Response
How wonderful to receive your beautiful review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our wonderful guests are certainly a highlight!


Welcoming and Friendly

4.6 on July 06, 2013

I stayed three days in this welcoming, friendly stay only blocks from New Haven. The bed was especially comfortable and the food in the morning was delicious with the kindest of cooks always attending your every need. I can't wait to go back!!!

Innkeeper Response
Our beds seem to be a high point for many guests and I am so glad your's was comfortable. Thanks also for your kinds words for Maria and Juana and their hard work fixing and serving breakfasts.


Beautiful B&B

5 on June 28, 2013

I stayed at Farnam Guest House while I attended a week of classes at nearby Yale Divinity School in mid-June. Breakfast was elegant, substantial, and delicious. It always included fresh fruit and OJ. My room was adequate for my needs. It was small, but I was thrilled to have the choice of one that met my finances. Elizabeth was always gracious, professional, and attentive to the guests. I would definitely recommend a stay here.


Wonderful Place to Stay, Study and Recover

5 on June 28, 2013

I was taking a course at Yale this summer and I was staying in the Douglas Orr Room. I had just recently had a surgery and had opted to stay at comfortable bread and breakfast to help with my recuperation. It was a great decision! Elizabeth was an incredible host. The breakfast was varied and uplifting: Every day we were greeted with wonderful fresh fruit, good coffee, and a filling main dish. My suite was quite private and incredibly comfortable. Everything was clean and well taken care of. It was a great value. This was a place of great charm and if I'm ever in New Haven again, I know exactly where I will stay.


New York

4.0 on June 25, 2013

It was a wonderful stay in a old quaint house, down the road from Yale Universary


Lovely and Comfortable

4.8 on June 12, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two night stay. The guest house is beautifully decorated and my room was very accommodating and comfortable, especially the bed pillows! Enjoyed the breakfasts, wifi, and off-street parking. I knew in advance I would have a detached bathroom, but that worked out fine. The owner is a gracious hostess and I met some very interesting other guests.


Good enough but reunion jack-up was a little over the top.

3.6 on June 09, 2013

We had a good experience at Farnham but felt like the prices were over the top. I know they were increased because of Yale reunions, but the extent to which they were probably accounts for why they were relatively empty on such a busy weekend.


Lovely interior and beautiful space

4.2 on June 07, 2013

My mom and I stayed in the Douglas Orr room for 2 nights. The room was spacious, and the entire building was beautifully decorated. Breakfast was plenty and fine, if not out of this world. I highly recommend it!


Charming and Delicious

4.8 on June 05, 2013

The only thing you may wish to check is whether or not your room has a bathroom en suite. Not all do, but they are charming nonetheless. Elizabeth is welcoming and kind, not to mention an excellent chef. Thank you, Elizabeth, for a lovely stay.


A cozy and comfortable stay

3.4 on June 02, 2013

I stayed at Farnam Guest House for one evening. The hostess was warm and welcoming, the bed was very comfortable, the house was very neat and clean, and the food was good. I would definitely stay at Farnam again.


You feel like you are in New England

4.0 on May 24, 2013

Lovely, historic home surrounded by lush trees and blooming garden. The house was filled with guests but always quiet, the owner and other staff were present and helpful but not obtrusive. Our room was large and comfortable and had everything we needed from an ample supply of coat-hangers in the very large walk-in closet to an ironing board and iron, and ample extra blankets and pillows--had we needed them. The house is a nice 15-20 minute walk to Yale which is great for a bit of exercise but not if it is raining or too hot. If you prefer a taste of local color and being able to enter one of New Haven's historic residences rather than experiencing a standard room in a generic hotel, the guest house allows you to sense the charm and understated grace of a New England home.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking your time to write these kind words!


Great experience

4.4 on May 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Farnam Guest House so much. An amazing house in the environmet of the historical Yale University. Elizabeth is a gentle host and serves a delicous breakfast

Innkeeper Response
So glad you enjoyed your time with us!


Very pleasant stay

4.4 on May 19, 2013

Exactly what we were looking for; beautifully furnished, friendly owner, convenient and safe location.

Innkeeper Response
It is wonderful to have people stay who appreciate what we offer. Thank you so much.


Our Stay on Prospect Street

4.6 on May 15, 2013

This was a lovely B&B. We really enjoyed it. The only qualm we had was the walk sign on the street. We had our windows open and it beeped the entire night. It might not bother other people, but it was difficult for us to sleep.

Innkeeper Response
The city installed the new technology of street lights on our corner about 1 month ago. I feared that the beeping would disturb our guests. Now that I know this is true, I will petition the city regarding this intrusion. Thank you for letting me know.


A wonderful place to stay!

4.6 on May 08, 2013

Great location when visiting Yale. Guests from all over the world made for interesting breakfast conversation!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for giving us so many "5s", These significanly influence our over-all evaluation.


Nice spacious room

3.6 on April 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the ORR room, which was larger and nicer than expected, with two beds, a large couch and a desk. The pubic rooms are spacious and nice. We met interesting people, and Elizabeth was a friendly hostess. The breakfasts were adequate, but this is not a place that offers special culinary treats. Parking was not problem, and it is in a good location.

Innkeeper Response
I have found that our international guests prefer a substantial breakfast to one with "special culinary treats". But perhaps I just don't have that creative approach. Thanks for sharing your views.


Charming B&C

5 on April 23, 2013

A wonderful place to stay, highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Wow! Thanks so much for the all "5's" evaluation! This helps my review status immensely.


Gentle Shade from a Hot World

5 on April 19, 2013

The exterior in wintern gave no signs it was a Bed and Breakfast. Therefore it feels anonymous and private. When the you open the door to the foyer you know you are in a home that cares very much for your rest and relaxation. The breakfasts took into account guest needs. It was very quiet but somehow felt like being in a big home with a big family. Staff and management were kind and helpful.

Innkeeper Response
This is a great review! Thank you so much for filling in all five balls under each heading. This is how the site evaluates us!


Great B&B

3.6 on April 12, 2013

We had 4 nights in the Walcott room, beautiful large room, clean and smart in an old style fashion. Quite a small bathroom but good shower, no bath. Really enjoyed our stay here. You can borrow books and DVDs and play the grand piano in the lounge. Delicious, large breakfast. Hostess says hi at breakfast but otherwise you're left to your own devices. Would recommend and would stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking your time to write these kind words.


Beautiful Rooms - Walk to Yale

4.2 on April 10, 2013

Beautiful house and lovely rooms. Breakfast just okay - ate one breakfast and slept through the other days. Would stay again.

Innkeeper Response
I guess I am going to have to work at making our breakfasts more desirable!!!


Highly recommended

4.0 on April 02, 2013

Lovely house, friendly owners and guests. Only a 20 minute walk to downtown New Haven and the old Yale campus, beautiful architecture, many interesting art exhibits and concerts.


a wonderful weekend at Farnum Guest House

4.0 on March 21, 2013

Staff receptive, kind and helpful. Lovely breakfast. Felt most welcomed!


A great weeked in a terrific B&B

5 on March 09, 2013

A great weekend in a wonderful home; it really felt like home and we definitely will call Farnam first next time we come back to New Haven. Heather did a terrific job of making everyone feel welcome and like family at the Farnam Guest House. The location is perfect for our activities, primarily visiting family (grad student at Yale) who live nearby. Convenient to everything we want to do and everywhere we likel to go in New Haven. We will look forward to our next visit and will start looking at the calendar right away.


Nice place to stay

4.0 on March 09, 2013

Nice place, right near Yale, good value


Wonderful place to stay!

4.6 on February 18, 2013

A lovely, historic guesthouse, conveniently located near the divinity school and within walking distance of campus, on the shuttle line. The innkeeper, staff and other guests were warm and friendly, and with the guesthouse's parlor downstairs and guest kitchen upstairs, the atmosphere is a wonderful blend of elegance and homelike comfort.


A gem of a guesthouse

5 on January 22, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable, cozy place to stay that feels like you are visiting an old family friend, then look no further. Farnam Guest House is a beautiful house run by a very friendly innkeeper. It is in a great part of New Haven and very convenient if you are visiting Yale. We chose the gloriously bright Walcott Room that had a king-size bed and a trundle bed for our 8 year old son. My in-laws stayed in the large Douglas Orr room on the top floor that can easily fit a family of five. They loved their room too, especially the little nook to sit and read and hang out. All our beds were super comfortable and the linen was gorgeous crisp, fresh cotton. Elizabeth has impeccable taste and all the rooms in the house have interesting period furniture. She provided us with a very substantial and tasty breakfast the next morning that we ate in a lovely dining room. There is also a very cozy sitting room that guests are welcome to use. Our son loved the old-fashioned elevator that only goes up one floor but is handy for getting heavy cases upstairs. He also loved the sausages and hot chocolate at breakfast! All in all we had a fantastic one-night stay and only wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely recommend Farnham Guest House - you would be hard pressed to find a better place.

Innkeeper Response
Dear Sallie: This is an absolutely over-the-top review and I appreciate it so very, very much. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. My very best wishes to you and your family. Sincerely, Elizabeth


Beautiful house in New Haven

5 on January 15, 2013

My wife and I were in the area celebrating our daughter's 23 bday and had the opportunity to stay at this wonderful home. The house was amazing, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfast in the morning, was scrumptious. If we stay in the area again, we would definitely come back here.


Nice place in New Haven

3.4 on January 13, 2013

We stayed in the Whitman Room. Having the fireplace was awesome. It was so romantic and relaxing. The owner was very friendly and interesting to talk to. Food was pretty good.


Lovely place to stay

4.4 on November 21, 2012

I enjoyed my stay very much. The location is perfect for visiting in and around New Haven. Nice and quiet, too. I enjoyed chatting with other guests - so much so I had to really dash to the train station for my trip home!


Farnam Guesthouse

4.2 on November 20, 2012

Home is lovely and well maintained and scrupulously clean. Elizabeth the hotelkeeper is delightful. The proximity to Yale and the downtown area is very good. We will stay there again..


Comfortable, quiet, friendly

4.8 on November 19, 2012

The innkeeper was very flexible with our very late arrival, and upgraded our room at no extra charge. The food was delicious and efficiently prepared and served. There was a warm, friendly atmosphere, conducive to interesting exchanges with other guests and the host, which is of course the hallmark of B&Bs. The house itself is quiet and very comfortable.


Weekend away post Sandy

4.8 on November 18, 2012

Very clean and comfortable.


Very nice place to stay

4.2 on November 12, 2012

Location was great!!!!! Rooms were lovely and Elizabeth was super helpful and friendly!!!!!


Lovely Find in New Haven

4.8 on November 05, 2012

I found this incredible gem on line and was eager to introduce my husband to his very first Bed & Breakfast guest home. He was not familiar with B&B stays and was skeptical when I first mentioned the idea to him. In all my travels, I found B&B's as the most satisfying way to see the world and to meet other fellow travelers. The Farnam Guest House was perfect, my husband was totally surprised and was amazed at the experience. This guest home was beautiful, clean, comfortable with quality furnishings. The staff and owner both warm and welcoming. I hope to make regular visits here while I am visiting my daughter at nearby Yale! It was a perfect introduction to my husbands first stay at a B&B! Thank you for a wonderful experience! Aloha, the Stern's


A lovely night in New Haven

4.6 on October 29, 2012

Farnam Guest House has a warm feel to it. My room was immaculate and the service was friendly. I look forward to staying again!


Very Comfortable Stay in New Haven

4.4 on October 15, 2012

We came in for a campus visit tired after a long day of travelling. The bedroom (Farnam room?) was extremely comfortable and well appointed. Slept like logs and enjoyed a nice breakfast before hitting the ground running the next day. Elizabeth is a charming hostess, and very knowledgeable about the area and eager to help.


Elegant B&B

5 on September 21, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable antique furnishings, hearty and delicious breakfasts served at your convenience, and delightful innkeeper and staff made my stay a pleasant change from big name hotels. Will definitely do it again.


A Home Away from Home

4.6 on September 04, 2012

What I liked best about this guest house was that it felt so much like being at a friend's lovely home. Elizabeth, the innkeeper, is very friendly and helpful. She makes you feel welcome and very much at home. The parlor is a comfortable place to gather for conversation and tea. The guest house is conveniently located for many things, including Yale, Yale Divinity School, the train station and downtown.


charming stay

4.4 on September 03, 2012

A big 19-th century house converted to a guesthouse, very peaceful, downstairs sitting area feels almost like a museum. The rooms vary a lot, mine was small but functional. Drawbacks? The owner supports Romney.


Worth a stay!

3.6 on August 23, 2012

Lovely guesthouse. Friendly staff, rooms are clean and the whole interior is just awesome! Defenitely worth a stay!


Great Value!

4.6 on August 16, 2012

Our stay was very nice. The rooms were a great value for what we paid. We met great people, had a delicious breakfast, and thoroughly enjoyed the area!


Couldn't Be Better

4.6 on August 12, 2012

We had a lovely one night stay at the Farnam Guest House. The rooms were large and exquisitely decorated. Everything you needed was right there. The service was very good, breakfast was served exactly the time you asked for. This was absolutely the best value for your money. This house is decorated so beautifully, the rooms are spacious and beautiful, the air conditioning works (we were there in August), the house is immaculate and the food was good. We couldn't have had it any better than this. We would definitely stay there again. Our hostess, Elizabeth, was warm and gracious. We enjoyed getting to know her. Thank you Elizabeth!!


My Yale Stay

5 on July 28, 2012

The host/owner of the Farnam Guest House was very helpful in providing information to make my stay the best. The room was Excellent and my breakfast was awesome. I will stay again if I return to New Haven.


Quiet Oasis and a taste of history

4.8 on July 17, 2012

In the Prospect Hill neighborhood, this gem is a delightful B&B. Parking off street is limited, however, they are very helpful and the rooms are each unique and tasteful. The neighborhood is quiet and is just minutes on Prospect St. to downtown restaurants, shops and the Yale campus. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will go back again.


Comfortable and convenient

4.0 on June 12, 2012

Three nights at the Farnam Guest House, quiet and comfortable, convenient transportation to Yale and downtown New Haven


Weekend stay at Farnam

3.6 on June 11, 2012

Very nice Bed and Breakfast. Perhaps a little pricey, but not really sure what is a standard rate in New Haven. I know this may sound strange, and some people will probably think this is irrelevent when it comes to choosing your lodging, but the Innkeeper - a very nice woman - was very right wing in her political views. And, a lot of the literature and books around the house reflected this philosophy. People can choose any political side of the aisle they would like - that is what we are all about. But, when you "put it out there" like this, it may encourage some people to stay - or encourage others to NOT stay. I fall in the latter category and would probably not stay at Farnam again because of that. Like I said - a lot of people would probably disagree with this.


Yale Reunion Weekend Feedback 2012

4.0 on June 06, 2012

Four nights, very comfortable. Innkeeper very attentive. Made everyone comfortable


Lovely B and B in beautiful neighborhood in New Haven

4.6 on May 25, 2012

We stayed at this B and B during our son's graduation weekend. Rates were higher than usual (as they were at all hotels in town) because of this special event and the limited accommodations in New Haven. Our accommodations were clean, spacious and quiet. We are walkers, and it was a bit of a walk to campus, but we did it every day except during the evenings and actual graduation day. Breakfast was delicious and Elizabeth is very friendly. The house is located in a beautiful neighborhood that we had fun exploring on foot. Great stay!


Four pleasant days in New Haven

3.8 on March 15, 2012

We stayed in the Dow Suite & found it very comfortable. A much better value than any hotel in town, and so much more homey!


perfect!!!

5 on March 04, 2012

I came to visit Yale university. The location is convenient, people are all so open minded and helpful, breakfast was beyond my expectation and changed every day, cleaning is outstanding, so what I can say is just perfect!!!


Farnam was ok

2.8 on February 28, 2012

Our stay was fine, however, the breakfast was lackluster and our toilet did not work. The pillows were huge and a little hard, too. Other than that, everything was fine.


Great place to stay near the Divinity School

4.6 on February 24, 2012

Our stay here was both comfortable and pleasant. The breakfasts were more than we normally prepare for ourselves. The price was very good as we were there off season. We stayed in the Farnam Room which was exquisitely furnished and spacious. The hostess was more than friendly and accommodating. We will certainly stay here again if we need to stay near the divinity school again.


Cozy, Romantic, and Affordable Bed and Breakfast

5 on February 23, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Farnham Guest House Bed and Breakfast on President's day weekend. We loved the accommodations, the service, the amenities and the little things that they did to take care of us. As an example, we were traveling with a 9 month old; the Innkeeper provided us a Pack and Play and a High Chair for our baby; making the logistics just a bit easier on us. In addition, the Guest House has all the amenities that you can ask for ranging from a wonderful breakfast in the morning, cozy fireplaces in each room, and free Wi Fi. The rooms were beautiful featuring a New England charm and sophistication that made the experience all the more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this B&B to all travelers. john s


great!

4.4 on February 22, 2012

the place is clean, affordable, and close to yale/new haven. perfect for a short stay.


Perfect weekend getaway

4.8 on February 06, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend getaway from NYC and couldn't have been happier. The house was beautiful and extremely well-kept. We stayed in the Farnam room which was gorgeous. The staff and owner made sure we felt right at home; it was much more comfortable and pleasant than staying in a standard hotel. We'll absolutely be back if we're in the area again!


Very Pleasant Experience

5 on December 20, 2011

More than lived up to the advertising. Host family was very kind to accomodate a couple of special requests we had for the comfort of our daughter. If we have reason to travel to the area again, we would gladly return. Sincerely enjoyed our time at the Farnam Guest House.


Great stay!

4.0 on December 04, 2011

We enjoyed our visit to the Farnum Guest House. The room was nice, and the breakfast served in the morning we delicious. We would definately return!


Great stay in New Haven!

4.8 on November 23, 2011

A wonderful place to stay if visiting Yale! So close to campus and the service was wonderful! It felt like being at home! I definitely recommend it to anyone staying in New Haven.


Just like home!

4.0 on November 21, 2011

Perfect location for downtown New Haven meetings. The room was lovely, and the owners made it very easy to work with them.


Pleasant... what I was looking for

3.2 on November 20, 2011

I was looking for a simple inexpensive place to stay the night while visiting Yale and got that. Innkeeper was friendly and helpful as were the other guests. Breakfast was very nice. I appreciated the option of a small single room.


The best in New Haven.

4.2 on November 19, 2011

This was by far the best option for a homey, lovely atmosphere near Yale.


Review

2.8 on November 08, 2011

It's a nice house with lovely public space and the breakfast was fine.


Extraordinary accomodation

3.6 on November 06, 2011

This was extreamely nice and homely B&B place. The photos provided at the web page are real: the property looks like that also in reality. The friendliness of the lady in house was astonishing. Deligious breakfast was provided every morning. The location is peaceful and safe, good area of New Haven. Yale shuttle operates just next to the house. Only minus is that there were no shops or dining place nearby, but if you bring foodstuff, Farman house has everything for preparing your dinner by yourself. This house provides different categories of housing. I had a single room with shared bathroom and everything worked well with reasonable price. I can recommend this B&B instead of staying in a hotel.


Wonderful!

4.8 on November 05, 2011

Was a heavenly stay in a stressful week. We loved it. Will be referring it to anyone looking for a place to stay in the New Haven area.


Review for Farnam Guest House by Yiou

5 on October 28, 2011

The horst is very kind. I have wonderful days staying in Farnam.


A lovely stop in a beautiful city

3.2 on October 26, 2011

We have stayed at the Farnam House before. The rooms are lovely, but the mattresses were way too soft and my husband's back suffered. The breakfasts were excellent and the host very helpful in restaurant suggestions for dining. Socializing with the other guests at breakfast was, as always, one of the best parts of staying at a B&B.


Farnam Guest House New Haven

4.0 on October 21, 2011

Stayed in Farnam Room. Was beautiful, clean and comfortable. However, the shampoo in bathroom was not refilled, and the garbage cans were not emptied. Other than that my stay was very pleasant. Stayed two nights. The first morning the breakfast was delicious, however, the second morning I was served microwave pancakes and sausage links. The innkeeper joined us for breakfast and was very personable and when we asked her if we could be served breakfast early on our last day she asked the cook to come in early to accommodate us. All in all I would recommend the inn to anyone in the New Haven area. The parking was ample and the place was well kept.


2 Excellent Visits

4.0 on October 19, 2011

Rooms, location and the friendliness and local knowledge shown by the owner on both our visits were truly excellent


Wonderful place to stay.

4.8 on October 07, 2011

I stayed for 10 days in this excellent guest house. The host was very friendly and helped where she can. The rooms are tidy, breakfast outstanding with familiar atmosphere. Yale University is in walking distance. I would recommend this place.


Missing key B&B experience

2.8 on October 06, 2011

I booked a one night stay at the Farnam Guest House for my overnight trip to New Haven, CT because I enjoy staying in B&B's, not chain hotels when I travel. Usually, B&B's provide a more intimate setting than being one of the many guests at a chain hotel. The house itself is gorgeous, with beatiful antique furnishings and the Farnam room was spacious, comfortable and as pictured on the website, though there was some water damage on the ceiling of the room. There is a really neat old elevator built into the house that works. The price was about what I expected while visiting the New England area and the houses' proximity to downtown New Haven. The breakfast was delicious with ample portions of eggs, sausage, fruit and a croissant. However, I found that the personal connection between myself and the Farnam Guest House staff was lacking. Check-in was done via a note left at a front table and there was hardly any contact with the innkeeper or usual inquiry as to what brought me to the area or how I found the guest house. I felt more like an anonymous boarder than a visitor at a B&B. And to my disappointment, there is no resident cat anymore.


A real find

4.4 on October 03, 2011

I was delighted with my stay. I was researching at Yale and on a strict budget, so this beautifully furnished home with welcoming and helpful staff and a generous breakfast was more than I could have hoped for. There is a kitchen for guests' use, and tea, coffee etc are available all day. It's also on the route of the Yale Shuttle, a free service which takes you in to the campus - that was a bonus. My only slight criticism was that I wasn't able to open the window in my bedroom. I'd have preferred fresh air to air conditioning. But all in all, outstanding value and a real find.


A lovely surprise

4.4 on September 26, 2011

It was my first time at a Bed & Breakfast and all I can say is that I will go for that kind of accommodation from now on - I only hope that the other ones will come up to this! The house is absolutely charming, located in a beautiful neighborhood. I enjoyed walking down Prospect Street to Yale Campus very much - it's a lovely 1.25 miles walk. Elizabeth, the innkeeper, is a very welcoming person who really cares to make you feel at home. There is also a fully equipped kitchen that you may use on the 2nd floor, which I found very convenient. I warmly recommend this B&B and would sure come back if I were to stay in New Haven again.


Perfect B&B

5 on September 20, 2011

This B&B is the perfect place to stay when arriving in New Haven. I would recommend it to everyone I know

Innkeeper Response
It was wonderful having you here!!!


Charming Inn, very nice service

3.8 on September 17, 2011

The service was great, the host was very welcoming. The place was very clean and beautiful.

Innkeeper Response
I am so thankful for your review of the Farnam Guest House. Thank you for choosing us for your place to stay.


No place like the Farnam Guest House

4.4 on September 15, 2011

It was the second time I stayed at the Farnam Guest House. I was a student when visited the USA for the first time two years ago and my arrival in New York was a bit hectic. Luckily my host at the Farnam Guest House made my stay so pleasant and comfortable that it really made the trip to New Haven worth. In August 2011 I have come back to the Farnam Guest House and it felt like coming back home. The cosy atmosphere, the top-notch breakfast and even the house cat contribute all to make this B&B a place that I cannot recommend enough. Wonderful stay that I am looking forward to experience again!

Innkeeper Response
What a wonderful review! I so appreciate your returning to stay with us again.


Great stay at Farrnam

4.6 on September 10, 2011

Great rooms, great people, great stay. Welcoming,friendly and comfortable. No better place to stay in New Haven.


Our favorite place in New Haven

5 on September 01, 2011

This B&B has the best set-up for families! Ms. Baehr Lopez and the staff were attentive and yet laid-back enough to make us feel really comfortable during our stay with our elementary-school age children. We had to unpack Wilson the super-cat from our daughter's bag -- she was hoping to take him home. When we're in New Haven, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.


Excellent.

4.2 on August 29, 2011

A truly memorable experience. Elizabeth, the innkeeper was terrific, the house was beyond wonderful, and breakfast was fantastic. The location is also really good if you are visiting Yale University. The elevator is really helpful if you have trouble with stairs, as I did. I hope to stay there again soon!


warm hearthed

3.0 on August 28, 2011

warm hearted, perfect location to visit Yale, perfect location for jogging. We enjoyed so much meeting Elizabeth, Juanita, Mr. Wilson, and all the guests


Loved the Farnam Room at the Farnam House

4.8 on August 27, 2011

My only regret was that we didn't get to meet the owner, the place was great and the breakfast superb - it was prepared and served by an employee who was very nice and friendly but would have really liked to meet the owner. met another guest who had been there for several weeks!! And they really liked the house very much as well.

Innkeeper Response
So sorry to miss you. It seems like I am always there!!! But I know I did go away 2 times overnight at the end of August. Glad you enjoyed your stay anyway!


Great way to visit Yale campus.

4.6 on August 19, 2011

We really enjoyed the family feeling of the inn. Great location near the campus.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for these kind words! Actually we are a good 1.25 miles to the Old Campus, about a 30-40 min walk. The Yale Shuttle goes every 20 minutes from across the street.


Farnam Guest House is Great!

4.2 on August 19, 2011

This was a great, comfortable stay. I stayed in the smallest room, but it was fine. Please note that several rooms share a bathroom, but we never had any conflicts Had Wi-Fi and all the mod-cons. Breakfast every day was really good. Lots of nice conversation at breakfast. You pretty much need a car unless you are willing to walk, say, close to a mile to get to places in New Haven, but other than that, it's a great stay. Inn-keeper most cordial and happy to answer questions and be very helpful in general.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for an accurate description!


August 2011 road trip

3.6 on August 14, 2011

Enjoyable stay in New Haven. Really enjoyed our time with Elizabeth, the owner.


Lovely Stay

4.6 on August 08, 2011

We had a very comfortable one night stay at the Farnam House. After a hard day of helping our daughter and her family move it was wonderful to enjoy the very comfortable and quiet room at the Farnam Guest House.

Innkeeper Response
Glad you had a good stay!


very comfortable stay

4.8 on August 05, 2011

it was very present stay at the Farnam Guest House. Bed was comfortable, room was very nice and clean, and good breakfast. Thank you so much!


Farnam - GREAT!

5 on August 01, 2011

Wonderful inn! Great location. Room met all my expectations. Delicious breakfast. Elizabeth was very helpful. I will definitely stay here again!

Innkeeper Response
Wow! Thanks for the great review!


Classy, charming.

4.8 on July 25, 2011

What a comfortable, homey atmosphere provided by the Farnham Guest House. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will return. I've stayed in several hotels in the area and will never stay in a hotel again.

Innkeeper Response
I so appreciate your positively great review!


Simply Wonderful!

4.4 on July 21, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. Elizabeth was very helpful. It was a charming house with comfortable rooms. And, it was conveniently located for walking into town.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for this most positive review. It was wonderful having you with us.


Very Charming and Comfortable

5 on July 19, 2011

I stayed just one night before my flight in Hartford, CT. It was wonderful and just what I needed! The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby. The breakfast was delicious and Elizabeth, the Innkeeper, was very warm and friendly. I stayed in New Haven to visit the Yale Divinity School which was walking distance. If I return, I will definitely stay there again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so very much for this splendid review. It is wonderful! Come back soon!! Elizabeth


Wonderful stay

5 on July 11, 2011

Our trip to New Haven was to conduct research at the Yale Divinty School. We were looking for overnight accomodation and the YDS website recommended the Farnam Guest House that was just a conveninent few blocks away. It was perfect for our needs. Beautiful house and rooms, a most gracious host and wonderful breakfast. We thoroghly enjoyed the experience and would certainly go back if our travels ever brought us back to New Haven.

Innkeeper Response
It was great talking with you and learning about your lives! Thank you for this great review1


a great visit

4.0 on June 18, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff was gracious and helpful, and we enjoyed the company of the resident cat. We were invited to use the living room with piano, computer, books, dvds and other comforts of home. Our room was very comfy.

Innkeeper Response
Glad you enjoyed our cat, Wilson, and glad you enjoyed your stay.


An average stay

2.6 on June 17, 2011

The house and rooms are nice but the service and the breakfast were just adequate. I never felt welcomed there - it has the rooms of a bed and breakfast but the feel of a hotel. It was hard for me to find due to road construction (not their fault, however - and that's a temporary problem.)

Innkeeper Response
I am so sorry you did not feel more welcomed. We try, but sometimes we miss folks. Most people love our breakfasts!


Way to go, Farnam

5 on June 01, 2011

Everyone was polite, and the service was wonderful. Thank you so much.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review!


New Haven find

4.6 on June 01, 2011

Walking into the Farnam Guest House is like walking into your rich uncle's house for a comfortable, relaxing, and wonderful stay among family. The common areas are beautiful and invite the guest to sit down and relax awhile. Breakfast is outstanding, prepared fresh and served hot by the attentive and friendly staff and the owner. The Farnam room is spacious, with a very comfortable king size bed and room to spare for a twin bed and a cafe table for two where you can sit down for a cup of coffee or tea. Overall, a friendly, warm, and beautiful place


Excellent value in New Haven

3.0 on May 22, 2011

A pleasant B & B, a short drive from the Yale campus, with free parking and wi-fi. An excellent alternative to New Haven hotels!


Go no further than looking and staying here

4.6 on May 21, 2011

A beautiful historic home (now a B&B) that has all the furnishings. The rooms are like the pictures and the entry way makes the statement when you walk in. Elizabeth is a gracious host with a wonderful smile and a cat(Wilson) that you will fall in love with and is by no means a pest.He knows it is his domain and he will welcome and will greet you if around. Have your breakfast in a beautiful dining room with the decor to match that reserved for an important guest, "you". Our stay was very quiet even though there were other guests. We would recommend this to anyone who appreciates the bed and breakfast atomsphere.If you have never stayed at a B&B lets this one be your first.

Innkeeper Response
I am so thankful for your careful and expressive thoughts on staying here with us. I am grateful!


Farnam Guest House is a treasure

5 on May 10, 2011

Came to New Haven, Connecticut for a wedding, and the Farnam Guest House provided an ideal spot to kick back and relax in between all the festivities before and after the event.


Charm and comfort appreciated

4.8 on May 02, 2011

Charming, friendly, clean, very comfortable and high quality. Our spacious, sun-filled room was an unexpected delight, as was our co-host, Wilson the Cat.


As long as your expecations aren't too high, it's fine

2.8 on April 29, 2011

I stayed here while my son attended admitted student's week at Yale. It is too far to walk to campus but if you search Yale's web site for the Yale shuttle information, you can walk about three blocks and catch a shuttle into campus. The room I stayed in had paint peeling off the walls. The bed was fine, not great, but fine. The breakfasts were uninspired but adequate and the whole house has a bit of a run down feel to it. Once again, just manage your expectations, nothing was horrible but nothing was top notch. The gymnastics required to get into the shower were significant, the sliding door allowed for about a two foot wide gap, at 5'4" it was a squeeze for me, I can't imagine a taller or heavier person's travails in negotiating it. The bathroom ceiling has a slope so low that they have hung a piece of paper to warn you not to hit your head, but since the slope is right in front of the sink, I'm guessing a lot of people knock their heads on it.

Innkeeper Response
You certainly are specific about each shortcome of our guest house! The chimney flashing which causes the paint on that one small area of the wall to peel was "repaired" about 5 years ago for $11,000 and it still leaks! We keep trying! I am wondering what would make our guest house look not so "run down" as you say. Most people find it elegant and beautiful.


Great option in New Haven

3.6 on April 26, 2011

We had a lovely time in the apartment (Eleanor Dow) suite. It was a great space for our family, and my young children were welcomed and felt very special in the amazingly soft and comfy beds. We will certainly go back, and wish we could have stayed longer.


Farnam Guest House April 2011

4.8 on April 22, 2011

have stayed here before...always quiet and very convenient to New Haven......safe neighborhood......very good service


Wonderful Stay

4.0 on April 21, 2011

Stayed here for two nights by myself. Very quiet and cozy - exactly what I needed. Shared kitchen was very convenient. Breakfast was wonderful, and the downstairs common areas are elegant and warm. I very much enjoyed the company of the house cat, and the owner was professional, accommodating, and kind. I very highly recommend.


Very nice experience

3.8 on March 26, 2011

This is a charming guest house in a lovely area of New Haven. It is beautifully furnished with many open, public areas. I especially liked the parlor area which was elegant, warm and cozy all at the same time. The dining room is lovely and breakfast was delicious and filling. I especially liked that bottled water, coffee and tea as well as cookies were available in the dining room throughout the day. I'd stay again. The only drawback is limited parking, however, since I wasn't driving, this was not a problem for me.


Very pleasant stay !

3.8 on February 10, 2011

We spent only one night at Farnam Guest House but we were so satisfied with the room, the service offered and the whole stay we will sure return ! The house is a huge, magnificent welcoming home and Elizabeth (innkeeper) is a charming, helpful person. We warmly recommend it !


Just terrific for a weary traveler

5 on February 04, 2011

The home was beautiful, quiet, clean and close to Yale campus. The host and her staff were cordial and hospitable without being "in your face" or nosy. I will stay here again when I come back to New Haven. Thanks!


You will enjoy the hospitality of the innkeeper Mrs. Elizabeth Lopez and her assistants...

4.2 on December 31, 2010

My family (wife, 2 kids, ages 4 + 1) were very well looked after by Mrs. Lopez and her two assistants. They were very caring and the ambience of the inn was charming. We stayed in the most expensive room ("Farnam Room")... the bed here was probably the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. You will not regret staying here.


CT Getaway

4.8 on December 28, 2010

The owner was super and very helpful recommending restaurants, and she even makes her own "fire starters" for the fireplace. Rooms were clean and inviting. Breakfasts were good without being "fru fru" like you often get at B&B's. For some that might be disappointing. We were content with the food.


Wonderful experience

4.2 on December 14, 2010

In my role as chaplain and senior vice-president of a liberal arts college I sometimes take students to visit graduate schools. this trip was with 4 students who are considering attending Yale for graduate work. I debated whether to stay at a downtown hotel which might put them closer to night life,etc. or to use the bed and breakfast. They were surprised but delighted with my choice. Very relaxed atmosphere permitted a lot of visiting among the students. One enjoyed playing the organ and others enjoyed the chess set. Our hostess shared information about the area and answered their questions about living in New Haven. Overall wonderful experience.


Farnam Guest House Review

3.8 on November 24, 2010

Lovely B&B, great breakfast, very clean. I would definitely go back.


quite nice

3.6 on November 13, 2010

I spent one night in a tiny room with a single bed and shared bath (not a problem), but was much happier after moving to a very large corner room with private bath and big bed. The decor was not my taste, kind of Victorian, but it was comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were tasty, and I enjoyed talking to a few of the other guests. The owner was friendly and helpful. I didn't hear much noise from the street, but did hear my neighbors.


Very nice

4.0 on October 07, 2010

Very nice house, very good breakfast. It is very convenient if you are visiting Yale University (close to Science Hill and close to the Yale Shuttle Stop). I enjoyed my stay there.


Lovely B&B

4.0 on September 27, 2010

Lovely place to stay. Elisabeth and her staff are most accommodating. Facilities are excellent, with nice extras like toiletries, board games and DVD's to borrow. We did find the street a little busy, and noisy in the morning and late afternoon.


Nice

5 on September 14, 2010

I stayed at the Farnam Guest House August 22-August 25.I felt at home during my stay at Farnam.The staff was great,the cozy room A was very nice,my early morning breakfast and coffee was very good.I plan on staying in the future when i visit my son,daughter-in-law,and my granddaughter.


STAY AT FARNAM GUEST ROOM, NEW HAVEN, CT

4.0 on August 30, 2010

The stay at Farnam Guest was not only memorable,but also wonderful and thrilling. Though I stayed for 4 nights, the service was beyond anything that I seen in NewHaven in past few years. The rooms were great, room service excellent and cleanliness superb. The morning breakfast was wonderful with nice menus that keep on changing ever day along with service of maids were really good. The guest room with its free internet, excellent library with DVDs, books, magazines were an added surprise. Music lovers can play piano and nature lovers can stroll the lush green gardens. Close proximity of Yale Shuttle makes it even convenient to visit Yale schools. Safe neighborhood. I STRONGLY recommend everyone to stay there to believe me. Subhradip Karmakar


A gracious stay in New Haven

5 on August 04, 2010

The Farnam Guest House is a relaxing retreat. It was a pleasure to stay in one of the old grand homes of New Haven with its impressive staircase, parlor with fireplace and grand piano and many more features that add to the grandeur. We stayed in the Whitman room, which was the study for the original owner, the Farnam’s, who built this lovely Georgian Colonial, 616 Prospect Street, in 1934. The bed was very comfortable with goose down comforters. Our room could have accommodated four people very comfortably because there is a walk-in closet for all the suitcases. The home is well-kept and the staff is considerate and very kind making you feel at home and relaxed. My daughter and I stayed for six days and experienced a different wonderful and filling breakfast every day. We never did meet the owner but we were welcomed by the Inn’s manager, Marion, who became a good friend to us. This B&B is on the Yale shuttle line, so if you are in New Haven for Yale events, this is a perfect location in the more historic and posh part of New Haven.


Farnam Guest House

5 on July 13, 2010

This is quite a gem. I would stay here again. The house is breathtaking and the accommodations were comfortable. I would come again.


Excellent time

4.6 on March 27, 2010

Very nice room (Walcott) - spacious, nicely decorated, nice touches (interesting corner protectors, for example). Very good breakfast, Elizabeth was a great host, wireless worked fine. We will be back, as it's very convenient to Yale.


Excellent Stay

4.0 on March 05, 2010

In the heart of New Haven, the Farnam Guest House is a wonderful bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Farnam room, which was spacious, clean, and rather luxious for a bed and breakfast. The house itself is well kept and charming with a friendly cat that followed me to my guest room after obtaining some tea from the dining area. I would recommend staying here especially because of its proximity to Yale and good value.


restful stay

4.6 on August 10, 2009

Amazing cushy bed in beautiful room. Gracious hostess, fresh tasty breakfast. Super clean! I was happy to have access to a piano!!


what a beautiful house and neighborhood

4.0 on August 10, 2009

I had everything I needed, including a lovely breakfast. Great location and place to walk.


Deep sleep and yummy breakfast

4.8 on August 10, 2009

I loved stayed at your beautiful B&B. the beds were luxurious. The breakfasts were outstanding. nice environment, friendly hostess.


Simply wonderful!

4.2 on August 04, 2009

The breakfasts were wondrous, housekeeper extremely nice and the house simply lovely. The area was very nice. too!


nice stay

4.8 on June 18, 2009

nice stay


review

5 on April 16, 2009

Beautifully appointed but comfortable family home in a great location for getting out and about. Excellent service.


Farnam Guest House

4.0 on October 30, 2008

very comfortable. excellent breakfasts. highly recommended.


Birthday gift

4.6 on October 27, 2008

I took my fiance to Connecticut last year for a much needed R&R. The weather was not the best, but he and I managed to have a great time at FGH and New Haven area. Our room was decent in size, clean, and had an EXTREMELY comfortable bed! Also, the staff will pretty much make you anything for breakfast. We highly recommend this B&B and will stay again!


Quiet & Comfortable

4.6 on October 02, 2008

What a great stay in the heart of New Haven! Everything was very comfortable.


Sweet!!

4.2 on September 25, 2008

Unique, friendly, super clean & comfortable - charming & hospitable. A gracious old house well-outfitted and adapted to its' newer function.


Like at Home

4.2 on September 23, 2008

EVerything just perfect. (Perhaps only one thing : too cold A/C at night) The breakfast is delicious. The hosts, warm and friendly. Oustanding overall


First Time B&B'ers

5 on August 21, 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect at a bed & breakfast. Elizabeth was extremely helpful & all the staff provided for a very pleasant stay. The bed was comfy and breakfast delicious. I highly recommend FGH!


The Best Bed Ever!

4.4 on July 30, 2008

The bed was the comfiest ever, the room was a great temperature, and the service was great! I am refueled and refreshed.


"Delightful" B&B

5 on June 02, 2008

A friendly, welcoming, and accommodating staff, comfortable beds, clean, and delicious homemade breakfasts! I would definitely recommend to family and friends! Sharon Stephens


Outstanding

5 on June 02, 2008

This was a home away from home. We totally enjoyed our stay. Friendly and courtesy innkeepers. The food was outstanding. Carol went out of her way to accomodate our party leaving earlier than normal. Carol prepared a breakfast for us and provided to go bags for our trip. I will reccomend this HOME AWAY from home to all our friends and relatives... thank you so much..


A perfect home away from home

5 on June 02, 2008

I have stayed at Farnam Guest House on many occasions throughout my daughter's four years at Yale. The accommodations are lovely, and the food is delicious! The staff is friendly and courteous. A home away from home -- who could ask for more? This is the very best place to stay in New Haven!


Breath in, New Haven Spring

4.2 on May 19, 2008

The colonial home sits along a beautiful tree lined street in New Haven, and shares a piece of history with neighbors and guests alike. You'll be impressed by the scale and decoration downstairs as well as the bedroom/bathroom size and decor. Spacious and comfortable, fresh and clean, you'll have a great night's rest. During my stay, I woke up to New Haven's Spring air, singing birds, and sunlight feeling refreshed.


A "no problem" kind of place

4.2 on February 05, 2008

Hosts were all very friendly, and neither of them were intrusive or annoying at all, I felt we could talk to them anytime we wanted to, or mind our own business if we wanted to. That's a big plus, makes you feel comfortable. And they did know how to see that our stay be as good as it can be. I mean, all we had to do was ask. If there was something they could do, they would do it, i.e. : set up a cooler room for us because we went in the hotter days of summer. Then, everything was clean, couldn't really find a speck of dust anywhere, all bathrooms were completely cleaned every day. I wasn't scared to take a bath, it all seemed so clean. The food was very good, especially our breakfasts. Anything we wanted exactly how we wanted it, in an absolutely beautiful room, classy and (again) clean. Rooms were all very cute, maybe some of them are a little smallish, but everything still had a warmth to it. Next on our N.E. trip was a night at La Quinta Inn. The contrast was DRASTIC. FGH was much less expensive (100$ vs 150$ w/o tx) and we got a lot more for the price at FGH. All in all, I would recommend it to any couple traveling without children, without any hesitation. Good going Jason and Carol ! Sorry it took us so long to post a review ! Désolé de ne pas avoir afficher notre critique plus tôt ! (Carol speaks excellent French!)


New Haven's Best Short Term Accommodations!

5 on November 13, 2007

The house is lovely, gracious and extremely private. It is almost like owning this mansion for a week. I was given a reduced rate for a week's stay. My room was gorgeous with luxurious bedding. I did my cooking in the guest kitchen and was able to read and spend time in the parlor. The staff is extremely friendly. They are very knowledgeable about New Haven. I was 100% pleased with my stay.


Excellent

4.6 on October 17, 2007

From price tag to accomodations to friendliness of staff/innkeepers - this was most enjoyable.


The Best Rest that I had all summer!!

5 on September 03, 2007

My room was clean and spacious. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The House is outstanding, wooden floors throughout and high gracious ceilings. The price is a great value, you get a gourment breakfast 3 courses, free parking and free phone calls. The owners and staff are friendly. It was the best place I stayed all summer.


The Perfect Place to Stay!!!

5 on June 25, 2007

I usually don't take the time to write reviews like this, but I was so struck by the Farnam Guest House that I felt compelled to sing its praises. The house is beautiful and spacious, with all the luxury but none of the pretension of other higher priced B&B's I've stayed at. The rooms were exquisitely decorated, clean and inviting. The staff courteous and friendly; and the food was as delectable as the atmosphere. And on top of it all this historic mansion has a working elevator! More than worth the price, the Farnam Guest House is, in this Yale parent's opinion, the finest place to stay in New Haven.


Farnam Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $106 - $215
  • Reviews (187) 4.3
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2035627121
  • Phone 1-2036717342
  • Toll free 1-8885627121

Visit Website »

View details

Top