The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Charming!

4.8 on June 09, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend get-away, it was a lovely place to relax! The beds were wonderful, the breakfast was delicious (especially the blueberry pancakes with fresh CT. maple syrup) and Bruce was very helpful with suggestions on local places of interest.


Nice Victorian inn in a nice New England town

4.6 on June 06, 2014

Breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed the conversation with Bruce the two days we stayed there. The house had a homey feel. One word of caution. The self-closing doors to the bedrooms slam shut and may cause injury.


The Mansion Inn - Manchester, CT

3.8 on November 16, 2013

The innkeeper, Bruce Hamstra, is a very nice guy and an innkeeper who knows his stuff. Having gotten side-tracked, my sister arrived in the dark, at six thirty in the evening, an hour later than we promised when we called earlier that day to tell him we were going to arrive an hour later than we had negotiated when we booked the room (which meant we really arrived two hours later than he expected us). Bruce was out in front in the dark when we drove in, with our instructions in hand, all typed and ready to leave on the door for us since he had plans within the half hour to watch the UCONN WOMEN'S BAKETBALL TEAM win yet another game on television. He remained with us to show us how to get in and out of the inn on our own, led us upstairs to our room, went over housekeeping, and gave us instructions about breakfast the next morning before he finally left us to go watch the game..We were guests at the inn for two days, and each morning we were served great coffee, good food, and the service was great because Bruce would not let us lift a finger. He told some great stories which made for interesting conversation all around. Bruce was also very helpful about suggesting interesting things to do in the area and provided great directions on getting around. The inn is just as beautiful as the pictures present on his website and Manchester is a nice town in a good location because it is in a beautiful area of Connecticut with many great surrounding towns. We found our stay was a great value for the money, a very enjoyable experience and we would definitely recommend The Mansion Inn to anyone seeking a bed and breakfast in this part of Connecticut.


simply lovely

4.2 on November 12, 2013

We stayed only one night with Bruce but would have loved to stay more!! Bed was so comfortable and the breakfast frittata was to die for. The only small negative was we were unable to use the fireplace because Bruce didn't have any wood for it yet. I love the fact that you can take a book home from the mansion.Some of them were as old as 1876.Would definitely go back.


Sweeter than home!

5 on March 11, 2013

Came for 3 nights, and couldn't have been better! Innkeeper, Bruce went above and beyond to provide exceptional hospitality, from delicious breakfasts to knowledge of the area. Fireplace was a wonderful bonus on a chilly night. Incredibly, there was not a spec of dust or a cobweb to be found amidst the period furniture and decorations. Were able to relax in spacious living rooms without pressure of leaving to "do" something. Centrally located near many attractions, easily accessible from airport and highways. Quiet, restful and delightfully accommodating!


Wonderful Home Away From Home

4.0 on December 16, 2011

I recently stayed at The Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast for three weeks while on business in Hartford. Warm, charming and extremely accommodating host, Bruce made my stay even more wonderful. I wanted to feel like I was home, and I did. The home is stunning, decorated with period furniture and the breakfasts that were served in an incredible dining room each morning was also wonderful. I plan on returning in May for some antique shopping. A gem in the New England area.


Mansion experience in Manchester

3.6 on November 20, 2011

Lovely house which used to be part of the Cheney estate. It was cozy and we elected to stay and chat and read instead of running around the town. The rooms were clean and neat and were decorated with collectibles from the area. The landlord had a wealth of knowledge about the area which he shared over our bountiful and delicious breakfast.


Wonderful visit to New England

5 on October 05, 2010

Our trip from Louisiana was to visit my daughter who lives in the Mills Apartments just a block from the Mansion Inn. For this, the location was very convenient, but we did not expect to be treated so graciously. Bruce was kind, considerate, and interested in meeting our needs. Breakfast was gourmet fare prepared and served with expertise. The inn is beautiful, clean, and cozy and served as the perfect place to return each day after exploring the area.


Fab time in the Mansion

4.8 on November 23, 2009

the tulip room was great! Beds clean and comfortable. The breakfast was top notch and the owner is delightful. I recommeded this B and B for any time of year- it was a pleasure to stay there. Price is great, and the location to many places is helpful.


A gem that many have yet to discover!

4.4 on August 08, 2009

Our stay at this immaculately kept and charming B&B was outstanding! Even though our arrival ended up being much later than originally planned, the owner was very accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed. The room decor is appropriate to the period when the inn was the home of a prominent wealthy local family, and the appointments follow a distinctive flower theme for each room. The mid-level room in which we stayed was lined with built-in bookcases, a separate reading room, sofa, fireplace and private bath. Breakfast is prepared by the innkeeper and was excellent. Be sure to say hello to the elderly "lady" who graces the formal dining room with her presence each day.


Beautiful mansion!

4.0 on August 04, 2009

Very comfortable and cozy. All the amenities of home in a relaxed laid back setting. Beautifully decorated, including with family history. Host was very welcoming and prepared a scrumptious breakfast.


Great New England Charm!

5 on December 02, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for three days while my husband attended a conference in downtown Hartford. It really is an easy 15 minute commute-much to our dismay after being used to rush hour in Houston. We loved the charm of the Inn. The Rose Room with the sunroom on the 2nd floor overlooking the grounds and the spaciousness of the room and dressing/bathroom suite were our favorites. The bed is very comfortable and breakfast each morning was delicious. We enjoyed visiting with the Innkeeper Bruce. Shopping and great restaurants are nearby. We went to Sturbridge Yankee Village and that was a beautiful drive.


Excellent Stay

5 on December 01, 2008

I was very pleasantly surprised, the pictures really don't do it justice. My husband and I stayed in the Iris Room, which is beautiful and was perfect for our weekend getaway. I loved having a fire in the fireplace at night. The price is very reasonable, breakfast was great, and I was overall very happy with our stay. My only (minor) complaint would be that there was no internet access, so we had to find a Starbucks on our trip to check email and such, but really I wish we could have stayed longer. What a beautiful house.

Innkeeper Response
In response to the (minor) complaint about internet access, we do have a wireless network available for guests. Unfortunately, as must have been the case for this guest, we do not always mention this as part of our initial welcome. This will be rectified in the future, so every guest has access to the network and password. Again, we apologize for this oversight and will do better in this regard in the future!


Charming and Relaxing

4.6 on August 19, 2008

Our visit to Connecticut was initially for business. After a busy week we retreated to the charming mansion Inn to relax and sightsee in the area. We were made to feel welcome and at home. He was so helpful with recommendations and directions.


Quaint, comfortable and cozy

4.0 on June 21, 2008

Mr. Hamstra is a fine gourmet cook; breakfasts were interesting, tasty and skillfully presented. His historical knowledge of the Inn and surrounding area was very interesting.


Charming little Inn

3.8 on January 05, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for two nights over New Year's Eve. The Innkeeper was very friendly and professional, always considering our needs as guests. The town is charming with plenty to explore. A quiet town to spend time with your one and only.


The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $145
  • Reviews (16) 4.4
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (860) 646-0453

Visit Website »

View details

Top