Tidewater Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
66 Reviews

Write A Review

A great getaway

4.6 on July 05, 2014

Very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. Wished were their longer but only could stay for one night. The grounds are amazing and would be an ideal place to return for a couple of days stay.


Outstanding Secluded Getaway

5 on June 30, 2014

Lovely, secluded place - also perfect for detox on business trip!


Best place to stay in Madison, CT

5 on June 16, 2014

Victoria is friendly and goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable while staying at her B&B. The setting is lovely and the rooms are perfect. I eat gluten free and Victoria made me home made gluten free muffins each day of my stay. I truly recommend staying here.

Innkeeper Response
So glad that you enjoyed your stay and your gluten free breakfasts too. We do our best to ensure that our guests with special dietary needs get the same red-carpet treatment as everyone else. It's nice to hear that we hit the mark for you.


Tidewater Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 02, 2014

Accommodations exceeded our hopes and the breakfast, bar none, was the best we have ever had at a B & B.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words. So very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and sincerely hope you'll come back again and again. I promise to look up your favorite breakfast and have it on the menu for you. We do our best to pamper our guests. Glad that your visit was all you'd hoped it would be.


Just Wonderful!!!

5 on April 08, 2014

We've stayed at the Tidewater six or seven times and each time exceeds the previous stay. You'll love the breakfasts, you'll love the rooms, you'll love Victoria!!


Lovely time near the beach

5 on February 24, 2014

The Tidewater Inn came up on the web as the best B&B in the CT shore area. It did not disappoint! Comfortable room! Great king size bed! Welcoming and helpful hostess. Nice visit time over complementary wine & cheese. Good location too!


"A Much Needed Rest"

4.6 on December 20, 2013

A Wonderful, Comfortable Inn to Visit & Relax- Everything Close by & Accommodating.


What a First Stop.

4.8 on December 19, 2013

Victoria welcomed us like family & her hospitality was 5 Star's- friendly guests, lovely cheese & wine & helpful guide and we cannot recommend this Inn too strongly.


Lovely in everyway

5 on December 18, 2013

The room was huge, the linens were plush, the proprietor was warm and professional, the amenities were extensive, and the breakfasts were outstanding! Delightful stay.


Fantastic Fall Getaway

4.6 on December 06, 2013

We selected the Tidewater Inn, as a fall get away with 2 other couples with whom are very close friends that we travel with once a year. This in was amazingly clean, comfortable, and the hospitality was A rated! We loved the early evening social hour with the complementary local wine selections. This was a great addition to our stay. Thanks so much for a delightful weekend, Victoria. We highly recommend staying here. The breakfasts were wonderful, I just didn't like the Johnny Cakes at all, though. I hope you don't mind the suggestion, but perhaps it would be better to give guests a choice when it comes to whole grain selections.


thanksgiving 2013 stay

4.6 on December 05, 2013

This was our first visit to the Tidewater Inn and we were not disappointed. The innkeeper has thought of every convenience and the breakfasts were outstanding and different every day of our 3 night stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again.


ct stay

4.0 on November 29, 2013

Stay was very enjoyable quiet and peaceful and very clean had a wonderful time


The Great Getaway

4.6 on November 28, 2013

The fire place in my room the gathering around the fire place with the wine and cheese or coffee with the other guest that were staying and the great company and conversation at breakfast with the other guest just a wonderful atmospher I would surely do it again and recomended to my friends Victoria is a grat cook.


Great Stay in Madison, CT at Tidewater Inn

5 on November 25, 2013

What can we say except lovely inn, great owner and staff. Fantastic breakfasts, easy walk to town and restaurants. Highly recommend.


The Best B&B Anywhere

5 on September 27, 2013

Except for the TV/Cable/DVD Player interconnect (which grew to be charming on its own), this B&B will change your mind if you have ever doubted how wonderful such an experience can be. Victoria LOVES being a hostess, and she delivers in all categories. Three days were not long enough. If you deserve a splurge, this is it!


Warm & wonderful hospitality

4.8 on September 24, 2013

I picked the Tidewater Inn because of the rave reviews, and it totally lived up to what people wrote. The host, Victoria, couldn't have been more pleasant, helpful, and fun. The breakfasts were amazing.. Also, when I made the reservation, she found out that we were celebrating our 15th anniversary. We arrived to find a dozen red roses and a split of champagne on ice in our room. Lovely!


A Wonderful B&B

4.2 on September 23, 2013

Very nice, clean and orderly room. Had everything we needed plus. The owner was gracious and more then accommodating to our needs. Outstanding breakfast and it was wonderful to have such attention with wine and snacks in the evening. We would definitely visit again.


A real gem!

5 on September 16, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Tidwater Inn as a stop between PA and Massachusetts. Our room was very comfortable and owner Victoria thought of everything when she stocked the room. There are even fluffy white bathrobes to use while you are there. Victoria is a great cook and the breakfasts were delicious and bountiful! There is a beautiful garden to relax or read in, and a wonderful French restaurant within walking disttance. Plus Victoria (and some of her friends) served us wine and cheese and crackers - a kind of Happy Hour - at 5 p.m. where we chatted, and they recommended places for dinner and called for reservations for us. All in all - it was pretty darn perfect!


The way to stay in the Madison, CT area.

4.8 on September 05, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my Madison, CT visit and the stay at the Tidewater Inn. Victoria and her helpers were very friendly, offered excellent service and helpful suggestions. The Inn provides complimentary water, and soda in a frig provided for the guests, which we used after our adventures. Booking was very easy and we chose to stay in Meigs which is on the second floor and overlooks the garden. The garden is nicely kept and well laid out with benches and tables and chairs positioned for varying views of the landscaped garden. A pleasant place for conversation or reading or observing nature. We certainly would want to return to the Tidewater Inn for a cost effective and quality filled stay.


Visit from Vermont

4.6 on August 22, 2013

What a beautiful change of pace. We met some really nice people here who were also traveling for all different reasons. Victoria, the owner was awesome and her breakfast was outstanding!! The Beach is beautiful and close. A very quiet and clean place with comfy bed and nice relaxing night time sounds and breezes!


CHARMING

4.4 on August 20, 2013

Charming setting. The hostess, Victoria, is wonderful - full of knowledge about entire area. Her breakfasts are memorable! Caters to your needs. Very peaceful and calm environment.


A charming B&B retreat

4.0 on August 19, 2013

Ideal for a one-night stopover or as a base to explore the beautiful CT shoreline. Victoria will ensure that you have a beautiful and relaxing time, offering home-baked goods, access to a communal fridge, a wide-range of pampering bathing products and even a supply of toiletries that you may have forgotten. In addition, her home-cooked breakfast is the tastiest way to start the day. Highly recommended!


Cottage Room

3.6 on August 11, 2013

We had a very nice stay. We got help with planing our day and things to do in the area.


Wonderful food; beautiful rooms; gracious service

4.4 on July 31, 2013

While our extended family camped nearby, we "camped" at the Tidewater. How lovely to spend the day with them on the beach and around the campfire, and then have a four-poster bed to come back to!


Wonderful experience

4.8 on July 07, 2013

A very beautiful gem in South central Connecticut. Victoria is a delightful hostess. I would stay here again.


Wonderful B&B in Madison CT

4.6 on June 19, 2013

The Tidewater is a very comfortable inn, with every amenity provided and every detail attended to! The breakfast was outstanding! Lovely accomodations! Victoria was gracious and as helpful as one can be! I highly recommend the Tidewater!


A great getaway

4.2 on May 11, 2013

The inn was chariming, the innkeeper a gracious hostess, the breakfast fabulous. Details were nice additions: the alarm clock had had an ipod dock and there were robes in the closet. The gardens and bird feeders were also a great place to sit and relax. Madison is a great little town to wander through. Beaches are near. Choices of resturants in the area are broad from the local coffeeshop/luncheonette, to the cafe in the book store, to the hotel on the beach... It was a nice getaway, not too far from NYC, but far enough to know that I had really been away!


April 2013

4.4 on April 24, 2013

A lovely, unpretentious inn. I'd recommend a room towards the rear since to road is quite busy. My husband keeps talking about the breakfasts!


Great get away

4.8 on March 14, 2013

Victoria was a great hostess. The room was comfortable and clean. I enjoyed the wine and cheese reception. Breakfast was fun and creative. Victoria was very knowledgeable and helpful when my husband and I asked for dinner recommendations.


Perfect one night get awat!

4.0 on January 02, 2013

The room was really private and comfortable! The breakfast the next day was outstanding! A very relaxing night stay!!


romantic, charming B&B, very nice host

3.6 on December 16, 2012

the cottage was just what I was looking for, the athmosphere in the whole inn was perfect, the host, Victoria, is a very nice, friendly person


Great Ambience and Hospitality

4.8 on December 09, 2012

From a warm welcome to a friendly goodbye, we enjoyed ourselves.


We had a great weekend there

4.2 on October 25, 2012

We just came back from a great weekend at the Tidewater Inn in Madison, CT. We had the Bushnell room, and the overall impression was very good, even though the place could use a little TLC, especially in the bathroom. What made the entire stay exceptional was Victoria's qualities as an innkeeper. From the warm welcome, to the late afternoon cheese and wine in front of the fireplace to the delicious breakfast she made us feel welcome and "at home". She also provided excellent advice on restaurant choices and even made reservations for us. Thanks to her, it was a very memorable weekend for us.


Birthday Getaway

4.8 on September 17, 2012

We went to the Tidewater in Madison CT for a weekend getaway to celebrate my birthday. It was mine and my husband's first experience at a B&B. Everything was great, the room was perfect, very comfy. I didn't partake in the full breakfast; but had the coffee and a few treats - they were good as well. We will be back!


Perfect

5 on September 16, 2012

The Tidewater Inn was delightful! Perfect location to be able to walk to dinner in town. The owner, Victoria, was a wonderful hostess who had great knowledge of the area and suggestions on what to do! The breakfast at the Inn was excellent and the rooms were very nice and stocked with good amenities! The gardens were lovely and so was Victoria! I highly recommend The Tidewater Inn.


Everything a B & B should be and more

5 on September 03, 2012

We always hope for a comfortable bed, good breakfast and pleasant innkeeper. The Tidewater Inn exceeded our expectations. My husband and I stayed in the Meigs room. It was small but had lots of drawer space (a surprise in a B & B), closet space and good reading lamps. The linens were just what I like - clean crisp and not too fussy. My sister stayed in the Madison Suite which was large, comfortable and had a sofa and a refrigerator with water, soft drinks and snacks. These amenities were available for the other rooms just down the hall. Victoria was the most informed and helpful innkeeper ever. She told us about places to go, things to see and where to eat. She even directed us to a beautiful beach walk when we told her we wanted a 2 mile walk before breakfast. All of her recommendations were exactly right. In the afternoon she served good wine and cheese. There is not enough time to write about the food. I'll just say it was the best we've ever had in a B & B and we have stayed in many both in this country and in England. Victoria loves to cook and uses fresh fruits and vegetable from local farms whenever possible. Fortunately we were there at the right season. On top of that everything was beautifully presented. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone and can't wait to go back. Lucy and Harry, Chattanooga, TN


Wonderful B&B

4.2 on August 27, 2012

My wife and I spent three days with Victoria at the Tidewater Inn following a wedding in Madison. The accomodations were very nice, the breakfast excellent, and Victoria was as generous a host as I can imagine. The afternoon wine and cheese was particularly enjoyable. We would definitely return to the Tidewater Inn.


B & B Makes the Trip

4.8 on August 27, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay. Breakfast was an amazing meal, and Victoria's hospitality went beyond breakfast with wine and cheese in the p.m., and coffee and pastries always on hand. Conversation was easy, and the company was good. The inn was a real home base. It made my little vacation!


Incredible!

4.8 on August 15, 2012

We had an amazing time at Tidewater. Victoria made it very special and personal. We borrowed a picnic basket which we forgot to bring. The house and surroundings are beautiful, clean and quiet. She knows the area very well and advised us on many things. Her food was out of this world and had a lot of love in it too. We will definitly be back!


"Outstanding'!

5 on August 03, 2012

We have traveled quite a bit and stayed in many B&Bs This was the absolute best. We plan to go back every sumer to be with family in the area. Victoria is an excellent gourmet cook and hostess. Made us feel like her place was our place. Bless her heart for she really does care about her guests.


Most Pleasant Stay

5 on July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tidewater for the first time for two nights in July. We could not have been more pleased with our discovery. The room was very spacious, appointed with everything we may have wished for: multiple seating opportunities, lighting to read with and watch TV by; a refrigerator pre-filled with soft drinks and water, A basket with snacks, a lovely basket with toiletries, and an extremely well prepared booklet on the inn's features, the town of Madison, things to do and so on. Did I mention the gorgeous four-poster king size bed? Breakfast was served in the combination living/dining room and each morning was different and delicious. Victoria is an excellent baker (try the almond scones or the raspberry cofee cake) and cook, There are magazines, books, and candy selections throughout the inn for all to enjoy. We are only sorry that we missed the complimentary wine and cheese on both days. We will be back. The Tidewater is a suberb example of what Bed and Breakfst should be.


the Tidewater Inn on Connecticut's coast

4.0 on July 16, 2012

Our stay at The Tidewater Inn was only for one night, but we were made to feel very welcomed. The room was immaculate, bed very comfortable, evening wine and cheese excellent, and the inn-keeper, Victoria, gracious and generous with her time and expertise about the area. Breakfast was delicious and served quickly to help get our day started. Would stay again:)


A Coastal Oasis!

5 on July 11, 2012

The Tidewater Inn is a Delightful Oasis in a very lovely area of the Connecticut coastal village line-up. Victoria Kolyvas is a most gracious innkeeper, treating her guests more as welcome and treasured family members than as paying guests. Victoria warmly greeted us upon arrival and after confirming our dietary peculiarities, invited us to join her for a glass of wine and some delicious cheeses and other delights AND pleasant conversation. Be warned: Lindt Truffle Balls available 24/7 + comp snacks and beverages in the community refrigerator!!! The full meal breakfasts are very hearty and delicious, including fresh fruit, home-made muffins and scones After one of Victoria's breakfasts, lunch is not necessary. Coffee and tea are always available via the Keurig machine with Tully's pods and a wide variety of teas. I can only sleep in a cool room -- the window box air conditioner was most efficient in keeping my room at 68 during the warm nights. A very comfortable mattress ensured a restful night's sleep! The free wi-fi is a definite plus if you have your own tablet or laptop. Victoria is an excellent tour advisor as well, recommending restaurants and cultural attractions in the area. She has even measured out explicit directions for 2-mile and 4-mile walks in the area...and believe me, you will want to walk around the neighborhood -- the homes and gardens are spectacular and enviable! The Tidewater is within convenient walking distance to 'downtown' Madison where there is an abundance of charming shops and restaurants and a very nice movie theater showing current films. Do not miss an opportunity to stay here! Linda Feldman San Francisco


Mark and Lisa's Anniersary Getaway

5 on July 09, 2012

It was our Anniversary and Birthday and Victoria left cake, champagne and balloons, and roses in our room for us, at no additional charge. I cried. it was so nice. With thoughtful cards! It was the nicest thing anyone had ever done for me!!!


A Great Place to Stay

4.2 on July 09, 2012

The Tidewater Inn in Madison, is a great place to stay along the shorline communities of Connecticut.


The Best!

5 on July 04, 2012

This is all a B & B should be and more! The rooms are spotless and comfortable. the breakfast is delicious. The innkeeper, Victoria, is warm, professional and there to be sure all is perfect! We will definitely be back!


Charming bed & breakfast in beautiful Madison, CT

5 on June 14, 2012

This was the best value b&b I could find in the Madison, CT area. The Inn and its grounds are beautiful and well kept. It is a short walk to the lovely downtown area of Madison, CT. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Upon arrival, Victoria asked if I had any dietary restrictions. I informed her that I ate a vegan diet. I was delighted to be served the most delicious homemade vegan strawberry muffins, blueberry pancakes and waffles. Almond milk, rice milk, and Earth Balance vegan butter was available. Coffee and an assortment of teas and snacks are available 24/7. Thoughtful touches like toiletries and free soda and bottled water were appreciated. I highly recommend this Inn and look forward to returning.


Charming setting in a lovely coastal town

3.4 on June 11, 2012

The innkeeper was a most charming hostess who went out of her way to provide us with information about the town and amenities.


Fabulous

5 on April 05, 2012

The innkeeper is a sweet lady and a fabulous cook. She made my mom and I feel at home. It is definitely a stay again.


Fantastic bed and breakfast

5 on January 22, 2012

You will love this place!!! Great location--much to do in the area. Victoria is the best innkeeper--she is so personable--she is very knowledgeable about the area--and she makes a superb hot breakfast. Don't miss this great b and b!!!


Tidewater Inn was a treasure stay

4.0 on October 01, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in June 2011. Victoria was a gracious host and the room was great. We look forward to coming back and the cookbook that I purchased was awesome! Thanks Nancy


Happy Anniversary in Madison, CT

4.8 on August 14, 2011

Victoria is a attentive host, offering surprising little ammenties to all who rent a room -- a delicious, food-magazine-cover-worthy breakfast, an evening glass of wine with cheeses (plus other assorted goodies), complimentary use of beach chairs and towels, and RESPECT for privacy. We plan to go back in the wintertime and take advantage of the Inn's Wine Experience package. The only drawback was we stayed in the smallest room at the Inn and it was the only one left for the weekend -- but we did book less than a week in advance.


Peaceful with R&R

5 on August 06, 2011

Vicky and her staff provide a serene environment with a wonderful ambience, food, and help to find restaurants, beaches, etc. I came for a much needed rest from a lot of care giving and felt my body relax being here.


A Wonderful Experience !

4.6 on June 21, 2011

I stayed two nights in June 2011 at the Tidewater Inn along with several other family members. Decor was Victorian and elegant but warm and comfortable. The table for breakfast was beautifully set, and meal changed daily with homemade muffins,scones, scrambled eggs etc. We were offered wine (for later in the day), and dishes of chocolate (truffles, Dove bites) were available 24/7. Also had refrigerator stocked with candy, soda and bottled water free for guests. The guest rooms were all different. Mine had a canopy bed (extremely comfortable mattress/important because I have a bad back), my sister's room had a gigantic king size 4 poster bed. A step stool was provided to climb into the bed. And another room had two twin beds. We all had our cable TV and free wireless. The Innkeeper Victoria K took good care of us. This is a quiet and relaxing place. It is not for the noisy and rowdy. Guest rooms are located upstairs and downstairs. (Downstair rooms near the outside entrance to the building). When we left Sunday morning about 8:30 am, approximately 6 or 7 of us filled up the entrance way. Victoria K placed finger to lips and advised that guests were still sleeping, so we 'quieted down' (as they say in my neck of the woods). This nine bedroom B & B is lovely, peaceful and guests are well attended. This B&B gets a great recommendation from me.


Great for business travelers and to explore CT shore

5 on June 17, 2011

I'm always traveling solo, and when I do I always choose to stay at B&Bs. Some are better than others at accommodating business travelers, and when I find those that really understand business travelers needs, I always go back over and over. The Tidewater Inn caters to business travelers. Everything I needed was right there - a desk with good light, a TV, free wi-fi and parking, early breakfast (if I wanted, but didn't need it this time), and a lovely wine and cheese reception at the end of the day. Victoria, the innkeeper and owner, offers a welcoming greeting and some of the most delicious cheese I've ever had. I met another single woman traveling on business and together we marveled at how nice it is to come "home" at the end of the day to such a comfortable and relaxing place. The gardens were in full bloom, and there are great spots to sit and enjoy a glass of wine or morning coffee tucked in secret places accessed through greenery-covered arbors. There are also great beaches nearby, and I learned that the inn offers beach passes, parking passes, towels and umbrellas for guests' use. Nice! Mystic and all of the CT shoreline are easily accessible from here too. It's a place I'd go back and vacation with my husband. I heartily recommend the Tidewater Inn to business travelers, leisure travelers and families with older kids.


We will be back...such hospitality!

4.4 on March 25, 2011

The location is ideal for events along the CT shore or for someone who needs a half-way point to rest between Boston and NYC. Victoria's hospitality makes you feel like a member of her family...and the other quests were very interesting and nice too.


Home Sweet Home

4.0 on March 11, 2011

My husband and I are frequent guests at Tidewater Inn. It has become our home away from home. We can unwind here...peruse The New York Times over a simply luscious and extravagant breakfast (tailored to our dietary requirements), chat with Victoria, the Innkeeper, who is warm, charming and knowledgeable about all tourists needs. Late afternoon offers us soft chairs by a roaring fire complete with treats. Then, up to our room where soft,terry cloth robes await one's emergence from the shower. Did we mention that Tidewater Inn welcomed our large family for a special birthday and for a wedding...ours!


Tidewater Inn

5 on August 31, 2010

Tidewater is a charming small inn, but what's extra special is the owner/innkeeper. She treats visitors as she would guests in her home, and she is a wonderful cook. She does everything possible to make visitors stay special.


The Tidewater Inn In Madison Ct. is outstaning in every way.

4.8 on June 23, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Tidewater Inn in Madison Ct. several times and it only gets better every time. Our last trip in early June 2010 included two nights at the Inn and Victoria the Innkeeper wecomes every guest with grace and warmth. The room we stayed in was immaculate and had everythng we needed for a comfortable stay. The breakfast each morning was excellent and filling. Victoria makes some of the best breakfast meals in New England and makes it fun and enjoyable also. We look forward to our next visit and would reccommmend the Tidewater Inn to everyone travleing to Ct.


Great attention to details

4.6 on March 16, 2010

Great food - breakfast is wonderful with unique options. Tasteful antiques everywhere. Bath towels and accessories to die for. Soft drinds and snacks always available, cheese and wine hour, great location, comfortable beds and fine linens. Thank you, Victoria


Our July 2009 Visit

4.6 on July 23, 2009

Sara and I stayed at the Tidewater for three days in July 2009. This was the best B&B stay ever! Victoria knows how to operate a B&B from A to Z. No detail is too small. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were unbeatable! Some wine, cheese and crackers late afternoon brought some relaxation at day’s end. And Victoria takes time to converse with her guests. There is plenty to see and do in Madison. However, it is the Tidewater and Victoria which will encourage our return. Ed Auble


Tidewater Inn

5 on July 18, 2008

We have stayed at the Tidewater Inn many times over the past 8/9 years. It is always a pleasure. Great accommodations, interesting people, great breakfasts.


Tidewater Inn

4.6 on May 15, 2008

Charming and cosy. Since the Tidewater Inn does not appear daily on the front page of the New York Times, one would have to call it Victoria's secret.


A house of Hospitality

4.8 on December 13, 2007

The Tidewater Inn is gracious and comfortable. Vicki, the Inkeeper has a real gift of hospitality and it shows in the fine details and helpful suggestions for local dining and entertainment. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed. Breakfast was outstanding. Wine and cheese by the cheerful fireplace was a joy. A lovely setting near town, but you can still see the ligth shimmering on the Atlantic from the upstairs window. We can't wait to return.


Tidewater Inn.

5 on October 10, 2007

Deserving of superlatives, both regarding the inn and the innkeeper.


Excellent

4.4 on September 14, 2007

The service and atmosphere was wonderful and the owner, Victoria, was so pleasant and helpful and remembered everyone's name. The breakfast in the morning was elegant and cooked to perfection. The inn is in a great area with plenty of fun things to do close by.


Tidewater Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $245
  • Reviews (66) 4.6
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2032458457
  • Fax 1-2033180265

Visit Website »

View details

Top