The Daniel Rust House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
82 Reviews

Write A Review

Fabulous!

5 on January 26, 2014

Our recent stay (11/13) at The Daniel Rust House was more than we expected. We were visiting from North Carolina to be married in my home state of CT, therefore this was a long weekend that could have been filled with stress. Nothing could have been farther from the truth! From the time of their first warm greetings, the gracious hosts could not have been more accomodating to ourselves and our family. We felt "at home" and comfortable. We were well fed with wonderful breakfasts and treats, and pampered throughout our stay. We are gratedul for the marvelous experience; making our wedding weekend all the more special!


Lovely Stay!

4.2 on December 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay w/Germaine & Kathy. Charming home, friendly & hard-working owners, great history. WIFI didn't reach our sleeping room. Breakfast was fantastic. Gorgeous yard. we'll be back.

Innkeeper Response
Ah, the joys of a nearly 300 year old house! The walls are thick plaster, lots of very solid wood floorboards and stone centerbuilt fireplace means that often, newfangled inventions like WiFi "beams" may not always get to where they need to. Also we have found that some computers work better then others. We have the strongest WiFi components available to us but unfortunately this sometimes happens. When guests inform us of an issue, we can give them hints on how to rectify this...such as stepping outside the door for a minute until the WiFi connects..or aiming the computer a certain way. As we admit..living in this old house does have some issues, but the charms certainly outweigh them, we hope our guests feel the same.


Charming, Cozy B&B in Beautiful CT

5 on December 19, 2013

The Daniel Rust House is absolutely, perfect in every way! It is historic, homey and everything one would want in a romantic getaway (or just a relaxing weekend surrounded by beauty). Germaine & Cathy are fabulous hosts, and the food is gourmet! Beautifully decorated, lovingly maintained. This place is the real deal. Come, you won't be sorry!


Stay here!

4.8 on October 25, 2013

This was our second stay with Germaine and Cathy and they couldn't have been more accommodating and delightful. The breakfasts were all fresh baked, unique and absolutely delicious! We love the grounds and the lovely opportunities for walking in the woods around the surrounding lake. This is a real taste of old New England and a comforting and charming experience overall!


Wonderful experience!

4.8 on October 16, 2013

Outstanding Innkeepers, great place to visit, we are repeat customers.


The Daniel Rust House...A Great Escape!

5 on October 14, 2013

Coming from Southeast Florida, our visit to the Daniel Rust House at the end of September was a wonderful deep dive into Fall in New England! The property itself takes you back to an earlier time; the tall oaks and pines, the weather-worn wooden fence, the gravel drive, cobblestone walks, etc...! The inside is just as amazing...wide and old wooden floorboards, stone fireplace and a tiny winding staircase (not so easy on today's large pieces of luggage!)...and then the modern conveniences...indoor plumbing! Our hosts, Cathy and Germaine were most gracious, extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Daniel Rust House and very entertaining! Just about everything you might need or have forgotten has been thought of, including Wi-Fi! Our delicous breakfast had no calories...ok, maybe a few! But what happens in Coventry, stays in Coventry! Cheers! Elinor and Donna


Great charm

4.0 on August 23, 2013

The Daniel Rust House B&B is filled with wonderful antiques and original fireplaces. The 2 hostesses are warm and welcoming.


Wonderful experience!

5 on August 14, 2013

Cathy and Germaine treated us like family!


Couldnt be cozier!

4.0 on August 12, 2013

As soon as I pulled into the gravel sweeping driveway and passed the old wooden wagon, past the garden and pulled into the parking lot next to the colored inn I knew it was good!


A happy accident

5 on June 11, 2013

Homecoming at UConn—all motels full. The B&B was the last resort and recommended by the alumni rep. And so we were delighted to be able to enjoy this wonderful B&B.


B and B full of history and charm

5 on October 16, 2012

A real home from home and we came from the UK !! Nothing was too much trouble including every dietary need. We never had the same breakfast twice. All food freshly baked and cooked . If we weren't 3500 miles away we'd be back next year. John & Sally-Ann, Coventry UK


Perfect B&B!

5 on September 12, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Daniel Rust House, in the Mary Rose room, and fell in love with the entire house and it's owners. Everything was perfect, right down to the grounds. The history of the house is fascinating, for those history buffs, but most of all, they hosts could not have made us feel anymore welcome. Breakfast was an incredible event with delicious homemade food that I highly recommend. Don't miss out on this B&B!


Jermaine & Cathy are the Best!

5 on September 10, 2012

This is our 6th time here and love it over and over again. We will come back as much as possible.


A truly wonderful bed and breakfast!!!

5 on August 26, 2012

My son and I recently stayed in the Maybell Cottage at The Daniel Rust House while in CT visiting colleges. The innkeepers, Cathy and Germaine were wonderful hosts. It felt like a stay with family or long-time friends and the breakfast was fabulous. Just wish we could have stayed longer and can't wait to go back for another visit...


Review of Stay

5 on August 11, 2012

This is a very welcoming and interesting B&B. The accommodations are excellent, food is delicious, they accommodate your every need including special diets.


Wonderful historic inn

5 on August 06, 2012

We were in Storrs visiting family, and found the Daniel Rust inn almost by accident. We stayed only one night--wished it were longer! Germaine and Kathy are gracious hosts who truly love their historic home and seem to genuinely enjoy sharing it with guests. Our room (the Mary Rose room) was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and had everything we needed. Breakfast was exceptional. The grounds are gorgeous, beautifully maintained and very peaceful. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be back!


A peaceful hidaway

5 on July 09, 2012

I just had the opportunity to visit yet once again, the lovely Daniel Rust House. I had stayed there some 12 years ago, before the current owners. However, Germaine and Cathy were truly wonderful host's. The breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast room was decorated so beautiful!. I felt as if I were in an old English Mansion. My breakfast guest, Prudence, was a adorable white baby cat who clearly had the run of the home. My accomodations were truly beautiful and not a detail was missed. The tour of the home and the history was an added attraction. I will surely return to this very quaint escape. It was a very peaceful, calm, quiet stay.


Serendipity

5 on April 03, 2012

For a recent trip to the area I had planned to stay at a conventional hotel. Because I was pupsitting, however, I needed a pet-friendly place. And that's where I got lucky. Had I not been keeping the dog, I would never have discovered this absolute gem of a (pet-loving) place. All the requisite adjectives of charm, loveliness, and impeccable housekeeping apply, but the real heart of the house is the pair of Innkeepers. Cathy and Germaine are gifted with an uncanny ability to make their guests immediately comfortable, and truly "at home." Aside from their own personal warmth, they were remarkably accommodating (no pun intended) in exceptional circumstances, making it seem like no big deal at all. This is the absolute only choice if you plan a stay in the area. Um, and I think they'll even let you come if you don't have a pet. ;)


What a way to business travel!

5 on February 12, 2012

Germaine and Cathy are so kind and sincere in their welcome, I felt like I was visiting old friends. They upgraded my (super charming) room for reasons of their own, and the breakfast was over and above great. Beyond that, Germaine loaned me a novel, lit a fire in the fireplace in my room, and a candle too! To die for cozy!


Charming Antique House

5 on February 02, 2012

This antique home was very comfortable and relaxing. The owners really made you feel like home. The breakfast was delicious!


A Little Piece Of Heaven!

5 on September 06, 2011

Wow, Wow, Wow..... my partner & I (along with our two Maltese) just spent Labor Day weekend at the Daniel Rust House and I can assure you it truly is a little piece of heaven. Germaine & Cathy welcomed us with open arms and made us feel right at home from beginning to end. Speaking of home, this home is so unique with something to admire in every little corner. Breakfast was absolutely amazing, they brought surprise after surprise!!! The grounds are spectacular and beautifully maintained. We cannot wait for our return visit. If you are visiting Connecticut we would most definately recommend a stay at The Daniel Rust House, you'll be glad you did it!!!


A great weekend!

4.8 on August 21, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend at the Daniel Rust House! Cathy and Germaine were so sweet and hospitable. We especially loved that they took the time to give us a historical tour of the house. We stayed in the Mary Rose Room - it was great. They even left the best homemade snickerdoodles we've ever had in our room. Breakfast was INCREDIBLE. Three amazing couses, each one fresh and served on beautiful platters. We will definitely be coming back!


A relaxing adventure

4.6 on July 26, 2011

Germaine and Cathy are wonderful innkeepers. Breakfast was delicious. Both were so friendly & generous - they made us feel special and at home. Our puppy, Leo, loved playing in the fenced grassy yard & didn't want to leave. Overall, great time & beautiful place.


Great Experience

5 on June 13, 2011

My wife and I went April 9th with our dog. It was a gift certificate from my parents because they were equally blown away by the service. We were greeted immediately by Cathy upon arrival and given a full historical tour of the house. This was our first time overnight with our dog, so we were a little concerned how it would go. Cathy and Germaine handled our dog as their own. They even watch your pet while you go out, so your little friend isn't locked up in a cage while you're gone. They are also very conscious of guests who may not want pets wandering and kept them separate. The rooms were very clean and adorned with era-appropriate antiques. We had a dura flame log waiting in our room. There is a really nice walking path on the property. There are upscale restaurants within 2 miles from the property. My wife and I chose a more casual lakeside establishment. The breakfast is fantastic. The offerings were anything from banana nut pancakes to quiche. All were prepared fresh and plentiful. I'm a picky eater generally, and I can attest there was something for everyone. The inn keepers are also sensitive to any dietary requests. This is a great location for guests visiting UConn and Mohegan Sun is only about 45 minutes. There is even a Drive Inn and a Winery (also dog friendly) nearby. Overall, we will definitely be back!!


The Best BB I ever stayed in!

5 on April 10, 2011

If there was a six star rating this Inn would get it! My dog Angel and I were made to feel at home the moment we came. I wish that Cathy and Germaine would adopt us. The way they make you feel like family is nothing short of amazing! From the moment you get in your room you are greeted with homemade cookies, snacks and fresh milk in the frig for your morning coffee....and a real fireplace.The most delicious breakfast is served every morning on china patterns that changes each day. And my dog Angel had fresh toast each morning...she did not want to leave.The history of the Inn is also an important part of the stay. I recommend you emerse yourself in the stories of the past. We hope to come back often. We came as strangers and left as family!


Our Favorite B&B Getaway

5 on April 09, 2011

My husband & I stayed in "The Maybell Cottage" last weekend, we had such a wonderful experience, and have already booked "The Cottage" in advance for the next night we'll be in the area. We were greeted by Germaine and given a tour of The Daniel Rust House; the history & hidden secrets of the House were so interesting & unbelievable...but I won't spoil the history this House holds, you must see for yourself! The House & Cottage were extremely clean, I have dust allergies and wasn't bothered at all. Germaine and Cathy go above and beyond; the breakfast was fabulous, there was something for everyone, no matter what diet or food restrictions you have. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful B&B with a delicious breakfast and gracious hosts, this is the place to stay! I highly recommend The Daniel Rust House, and look forward to our next stay.


You may have turned us into Bed and Breakfast addicts.

5 on January 30, 2011

We were greeted with smiles from the moment we arrived at the front door. As we stepped over the threshold, a wave of friendliness and comfort came over us. The fresh smell of sugar cookies in the air was more then inviting. They gave us interesting history about the house and Connecticut. Each room left us in awe. Cleanliness appeared to be one of their main priorities and the service was AMAZING!! Germaine and Cathy were GREAT hosts. They made it feel like home. We were excited about breakfast and Germaine & Cathy did not let us down. The food left us wanting more. Unfortunately we could not see the entire grounds as it was covered in mounds of snow. This was our 1st visit to The Daniel Rust House, but it will certainly not be our last.


A hidden charmer

4.6 on October 18, 2010

We had the occasion to recently stay at the Daniel Rust House and found it to be absolutely charming. The room was comfortable and well appointed, not to mention spotlessly clean. Germaine and Kathy could not have been more accomodating! Breakfast was a treat! Fruit, eggs, omeletes, waffles, pancakes, juice and coffee. Sitting in the dining room was enjoyable as all the guests conversed with each other. I would highly recommend trying this B&B whenever you are in the area!


A birthday breakfast for my daughter.

5 on October 17, 2010

We were in Coventry, CT, coming from Portland, ME, to celebrate my daughter's 50th birthday. The hostesses of the Daniel Rust Inn invited her to breakfast with us (her brother & sister-in-law were also staying there) & served her omelet with a candle & singing happy birthday as they served their delicious breakfast! We were all very pleased by their thoughtfulness.


Fabulous day

5 on October 11, 2010

Cathy & Germaine were outstanding hosts. Delicious breakfast. very charming house!


extraordinary place, a treasure ...

5 on October 09, 2010

I stayed at the The Maybell Cottage for a month, yet saying home away from home doesn't begin to describe it. the experience was wonderful, one I would always cherish. The place is beautifully restored, very clean, with a warm and homey atmospheric. Germaine and Cathy, the very charming hosts serve an excellent breakfast, and assist in creating a wonderful vacation. I would recommend anyone going to the area not to miss out on this B&B gem!


Wonderful

4.2 on September 08, 2010

Even though we only stayed overnight, it was a wonderful experience after leavin our daugher at college, I was sad and depressed, but Kathy and Germaine are so upbeat and pleasant that I was okay. They are the most wonderful host!!!


Gracious Hospitality

5 on July 16, 2010

We enjoyed authentic 18th century charm amid extensive gardens. Hosts Cathy and Germaine served a lavish breakfast and made us feel at home every moment of our stay.


Wonderful Weekend

4.4 on April 19, 2010

We gathered at the Daniel Rust House for a Girls' Weekend getaway and enjoyed a wonderful weekend. The exceptional service, warm surroundings and hospitable innkeepers ensured that we will be returning as soon as possible for more R&R.


Awesome House

4.4 on April 09, 2010

The owners are extremely warm - they greeted us even though we were early arriving and immediately gave us a tour. Breakfast was great and dietary restrictions were considered and handled with care. A perfect place for a quiet night's stay.


Cozy Cottage

5 on December 11, 2009

This cottage was so charming that I wanted to live here. The surroundings were so peaceful. The hostess were more than cordial & hospitable.


Outstanding home, hosts & food! Loved it all

5 on October 16, 2009

Wonderful historic house with attractive & authentic furnishings. Hospitable Germaine & Cathy are such warm & welcoming hosts. Breakfasts all were scrumptious. What a pure delight to stay in comfy beds in picturesque surroundings.


Time travel in good company

5 on October 08, 2009

Daniel Rust House takes you to another place and time. Cathy and Germaine, your hosts, will ensure a completely beautiful Colonial experience with incredible breakfast, lovely appointed rooms -- and they are the most charming hosts.


Friendship, Food and hospitality in abundance.

5 on August 25, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Daniel Rust House and were treated like kings. Our hosts Germaine and Cathy are such wonderful people. They made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts that we enjoyed both of the mornings that we were there were delicious and plentiful and our room was beautiful. Our hosts were very helpful suggesting places to dine for dinner or go sight seeing. When my husband and I left we knew that we had made new friends and will definitely be back.


Home Away from Home

5 on July 28, 2009

Pet friendly hospitality plus from Kathey & Germaine. The little things count for us. They pay attention to details. Snacks & goodies great. personality, history, gardens, foliage & trees, amenities of a relaxing experience. Traffic a little distracting till we adjusted.


Coventry B&B

4.6 on July 24, 2009

The hospitality at this B&B was outstanding! I'm sure we'll be back.


A 1st anniversary

5 on July 01, 2009

My husband I celebrated our first wedding anniversary at the Daniel Rust House and it was amazing. The house was so historically elegant and the innkeepers, filled with friendliness and warmth. The house was so enchanting and the grounds reminded me of my wedding reception grounds at St. Clements Castle. Beautifully decorated rooms and delicious foods added to equally tantalizing food and beverage equalled to an unforgettable first anniversary. Thanks, Kathy and Germaine


outstanding in every way

5 on June 30, 2009

One of the finest B&B's we have stayed at over the past 25 years. From Germaine's welcoming hospitality to the beautifully restored and furnished house and the sumptuous breakfast, our stay here was a blissful perfection!


One of the best B&Bs we've stayed at in the past 25 years

4.8 on June 20, 2009

We stayed at the Daniel Rust House B&B on June 14th. The experience was outstanding in every way. The word that keeps coming to mind is “impeccable”. Impeccable hospitality, décor, cleanliness, attention-to-detail, appeal. The house has been beautifully restored so that you can imagine being there in the 1700s but with the comforts of today. Co-owner and innkeeper, Germaine, was delightful, friendly, and offered exceptional hospitality. Every room of the house was photographically beautiful as well as comfortable for lounging and chatting or reading a book. We luxuriated in the lovely and spacious Anna White Room, complete with working fireplace, four-post bed with crocheted canopy and two-person whirlpool tub. The other bedrooms & guest house were also beautiful. Breakfast was a delicious feast: a variety of coffees and teas individually brewed, juices, fresh-baked popovers, succulent fruit with granola and yogurt, seasoned scrambled eggs & ham, and fluffy blueberry pancakes. Germaine encouraged us to take our time, relax and linger. The beautifully-manicured property surrounding the house was a pleasure as well. A tree-lined gravel road behind the house invited a stroll. It was an oasis in the countryside. Just a note: The front of house is near the well-traveled local road. While we weren’t bothered by the passing cars, a light-sleeper might be. Just bring earplugs for sleeping. Do NOT miss this B&B! This is one of the best we’ve stayed at over the past 25 years.


It was a celebration of our 1st but it won't be our last

5 on June 03, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 1st anniversary at the Daniel Rust House. We could not have asked for a more beautiful place to celebrate. Cathy and Germaine were incredible hosts who made us feel like family. They spoiled our golden retriever with lots of attention and special treats. The breakfast was to die for, and the setting superb. We will be back!


The Daniel Rust House

5 on April 06, 2009

The Daniel Rust House is located in Coventry CT, which makes it the perfect locale when we visit our daughter at UCONN. We have stayed here twice (10/2008 and 04/2009) and highly recommend it. The house has a rich history dating back to 1731. The Innkeepers - Germaine and Cathy are thoughtful, caring and attentive to the needs of their guests. We stayed in both the Anna White Room and the Mary Rose Room. Go for the Anna White room and enjoy the beautiful private bath and two person whirlpool tub. The B & B has a rustic charm that feels very comfortable - why stay at a hotel? Breakfasts are excellent - forget about ever needing to eat lunch later. Cathy and Germaine are very knowledgeable about the area and will assist you in finding places to go visit or dine for dinner. Be sure to check out the specials and events listed on their website. The extra bonus is that this B & B is pet friendly. We are definitely going back again.


Valentine's Day at it's best!

4.6 on March 23, 2009

Innkeepers were so wonderful and friendly. Felt right at home. Felt like we had known them for a long time. Would go back in a heartbeat!


Beyond charming

5 on February 23, 2009

The Daniel Rust House offers a professional staff with sunny dispositions. We viewed it to be the best!


A perfect getaway

5 on January 09, 2009

We needed a perfect weekend getaway and we got it at the Daniel Rust House. Not only were we pampered, but so was our dog! We relaxed and felt at home at the same time!


18th Century Charm, 21st Century comfort

5 on December 18, 2008

The Daniel Rust House is a grand 18th century New England farm house, beautifully decorated and maintained. Hosts, Cathy and Germaine, make you feel very welcome, and also afford you as much privacy as you want. The rooms are all nice and stately in a colonial fashion. Thoughtful little touches abound, from welcoming snacks to travel amenities in the bathroom. Breakfasts are a delicious delight! My wife and I both are eager to return and further enjoy the charm and comfort of the Daniel Rust House!


Pleasant country living

5 on November 18, 2008

Wonderful service, pleasant setting, caring hosts. Animal friendly. Worth a visit!


Unique historical Property

4.2 on October 23, 2008

for lovers of history, this is a great spot complete with secret tunnel! Spacious, attractive ground. hostess lively and friendly. Food is delicious, served in vintage dining room. Only downside is TRAFFIC noise.


Honeymoon Heaven

5 on October 21, 2008

Our first B&B was for our wedding night and we spent it in the Anna White room at The Daniel Rust House. We are so glad we did. Everything was wonderful from the moment we arrived to the hugs on our way home. Cathy and Germaine surprised us with champagne and fruit, cheese, veggie platter in our room to celebrate our wedding night in style. The room is a romantic combination of canopied bed, working fireplace, lots of candle light and a 2-person whirlpool tub (which we did enjoy each day of our stay). We can't say enough about the experience. The warmth of Cathy and Germaine, the tempting breakfasts, the beverages available on a self-help basis round the clock, and the sinfully delicious treats left in the room for our enjoyment all add up to just what a B&B should be but isn't always. We enjoyed spending time in the common room around the fire sipping mulled wine and getting to know the other guests and their pets. We already made reservations to come back for our 1st anniversary. Thank you! Karen and Fred


what a place

5 on October 19, 2008

This was our first visit to a B&B but it won't be our lst. The innkeepers at the daniel rust house take pride in their home and grounds. We were first given a tour of the home with all its history. The home is immaculate. After coridals in the keeping room we just chatted with the innkeepers, they never seemed rushed or bothered to be entertaining us!! Our room was spectacular we had a fireplace and a whirlpool tub the perfect romantic getaway. Breakfast the next morning was so yummy and once again Cathy & germaine couldn't have been more gracious making sure everything was to our liking...we can't wait to go back and spend another getaway weekend at daniel rust thanks cathy & germaine


Daniel Rust

4.6 on October 14, 2008

A charming, historic house. The welcome was warm and the accommodations exceedingly comfortable. We were very, very happy with our choice.


A Gem in NE CT

5 on October 14, 2008

A wonderful weekend & a beautiful, comfortable room. A great meal in the A.M.


Feel right at home!

5 on October 06, 2008

Words can't really begin to describe the warmly welcoming feeling we got from the moment we walked into the Daniel Rust House. We definitely felt like one of the family during the five days we stayed with Germaine and Cathy at the inn. We initially chose to stay at the Daniel Rust House because of its history. Cathy and Germaine have a real enthusiasm for the house's history, but more importantly, they have a real enthusiasm for making sure each guest has a great stay! The breakfasts are standouts--always something different, and so much that we didn't really need to eat again until evening (if then!). I posted a longer review and a few photos at http://www.midwestguest.com/2008/09/daniel-rust-house-is-a-gem.html


Treat Yourself

4.8 on October 03, 2008

The Daniel Rust B&B was a charming inn run by two gracious ladies. We had a wonderful stay, a great room, and delicious breakfast. Our every need was taken care of by the owners.


Historical Elegance and Comfort

5 on September 03, 2008

Nothing could have been better for our newlywed lodging. My wife and I were blown away by the hospitality and friendliness of our hosts. Definitely a repeat visit!


Make it memorable...

5 on August 14, 2008

Any long weekend away can be fun and relaxing. If you want to make it memorable, there’s an ooh and aah in every room and around every corner of the historic Daniel Rust House. You will be astonished by the structural design from the cellar up, appreciating the workmanship enduring for over two hundred years. “Country Breakfast” is too modest a description of the incredible feast provided each morning. Germaine and Cathy are wonderful stewards in the tradition intended by the original hosts. Experience the B&B life here and you will call again asking “Is our room is available?”


A week in 18th century New England farm house

4.4 on August 08, 2008

Expecting business -like operation, we were met with great warmth by the two kind ladies, showing us the house from inside out! Discovering secret tunnels and ladders together with the history of the initial settlements. Very enjoyable.


Pampered Anniversary (15 years)

5 on July 29, 2008

Cathy and Germaine were very hospitable! They catered to our every need. They were personable and pleasant. They even made breakfast that met our allergy needs. Thank you!


A nice B&B with 2 friendly ladies

3.8 on July 25, 2008

The house is colonial, clean, very comfortable, especially good with their breakfast. I certainly could drop by next time when I go there.


The Daniel Rust House

4.2 on July 21, 2008

Very friendly! Wonderful service, tasty breakfast & comfortable. Very informative!


A Wonderful Place to Stay

4.0 on July 13, 2008

This was our first B&B stay and our experience was so wonderful that I never want to stay in a hotel again! When we first arrived, we received a wonderful tour of the house and its history (very interesting). Then, we were served fresh popovers with cranberry butter! We were meeting another couple, who were staying at a motel, and when they arrived to pick us up, the B&B owners gave them popovers and allowed us to invite our friends to breakfast the next morning. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good! We were served mimosas, raspberry filled crepes with sambayon cream. We also ate fresh fruit salad, 2 kinds of eggs & sausages. We stayed in the dinning room eating and talking with our friends for 2 hours. Overall, the value was excellent and the house was very clean (which is a critical feature for me!). The owners were so friendly and obviously very happy to be in the B&B business. They also were very proud of their house as indicated by the caretaking they gave to the house & gardens. For some reason the review balls on the B&B website are not working for me! Be assured that I would give 5 balls in all categories!


The Daniel Rust House

5 on June 17, 2008

As in the past we ecperienced another memorable few days at The Daniel Rust House in Coventry, CT. Germaine and Cathy are wonderful innkeepers who anticipate every need for their guests. Not only are the rooms and grounds in perfect condition but the 4 or 5 breakfasts are absolutely excellent. We had a wonderful time!


The Daniel Rust House

5 on June 13, 2008

Wonderful experience. Owners added warmth and charm to outstanding hospitality. Property history shared with colorful commentary. If I ever have occasion to visit within 50 miles, I will go out of my way to obtain lodging at the Daniel Rust House. Recommend it in the most favorable terms. A real plus in your stable.


American Hospitality at it's Best

4.6 on June 13, 2008

We found this establishment purely by chance and our one-night stop over turned inot five nights and completed our first visit to the U.S. with style. We could not have wished for a warmer welcome or to have felt so valued. Having spent the first half of our holiday at a hotel on Broadway, New York, we found this to be superior in every respect. The house is enchanting and steeped in history; the food was imaginative, plentiful, delicious and beautifully presented. We will certainly be returning here in the very near future.


The Daniel Rust House

4.6 on June 12, 2008

The house and grounds are charming and provide a true picture into the past. THe modern bathroom facilities are a welcome addition to the wonderful amenities. Cathy and Germaine are gracious hosts and caring people. They are knowledgable about the history of the area and the house and property and made us feel most welcome.


History

5 on June 11, 2008

This B&B was an exciting place to stay. Not just because of the food; which was superb, because of the historic events that occured. This was probably one of the nicest place to stay. I am 12 years old and was amazed to hear part of the underground railroad was here. I enjoyed learning other little historic facts about this B&B. The history is what made me so excited to stay here.I think that if I was to come back to CT I would definetly stay here. History opens everyones minds and in this case makes you want to return to this B&B over and over again.


Our historic home away from home

5 on June 02, 2008

We havent stayed in many B & Bs, but that will change as of now. We have found our home away from home! I can't say enough about this place and its keepers!


History

3.6 on June 02, 2008

I am 12 years old and I was amazed by the history of this B & B. I love history so finding out their's a part of the undergrond raliroad here amazed me along with all the other historic events that occurred.


The Daniel Rust House

5 on April 23, 2008

Wonderful experience. Owners addedf warmth and charm to outstanding hospitality. Property history shared with colorful ceventry history. If I ever have occasion to visit within 50 mile, I will go out of my way to obtain lodginf at the Daniel Rust House. Recommend it in the most favorable terms. A real plus in your stable.


American hospitality at its best

4.6 on April 23, 2008

We found this establishment purely by chance and our one night stop over turned into five nights and completed out first visit ti the U.S. with style. We could not have wished for a warmer welcome or to have feltso valued. Having spent the first half of our holiday at a hotel on Broadway,NY, we found this to be superior in every respect.The is enchanting and steeped in history; the food was imaginative, plentiful, delicious and beautifully presented. We will certainly be returning here in the very near future.


A perfect weekend

5 on April 17, 2008

The Inn is extremely comfortable and charming. The innkeepers went the extra step in making sure all our needs were catered to. Breakfast was delicious and the tables were set with beautiful china. Our stay was fantastic. Looking forward to returning.


My favorite Inn

5 on April 17, 2008

Having stayed in many Inns over the pst 30 years this one is by far one of my favorites. The rooms are beautiful, the grounds lovely and the food exceptional. The period furniture makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. I found the innnkeepers to be very friendly and welcoming.


Our wonderful stay at the Daniel Rust House

5 on April 13, 2008

From pulling into the driveway, to the warm and welcoming greeting by both innkeepers, our stay at the Daniel Rust House could not have been better. We also brought our "sons" doggies Hennessy and Rufus which was one of the reasons we picked The DR House. The house itself is out of a history book and our room was warm and inviting. You could not have gotten a better Sunday morning breakfast which included champagne, omelettes, home fries, pancakes, french toast and mouth watering pastries. Coffee is available any time to guests and at night the guests and innkeepers ended up around the fireplace sipping after dinner drinks and chatting. If you want to stay at a warm, welcoming, beautifully kept, dog friendly bed and breakfast, I strongly reccomend meeting Germaine & Cathy at The Daniel Rust House.


Hospitality Extraordinaire!

4.2 on April 10, 2008

What a fun place to bring along the pup! We had great fun at this B&B. Cathy and Germaine are superb hosts! Breakfast has never been so wonderful!


Outstanding all around

5 on April 07, 2008

The house is beautiful and decorated exquisitely to fit the old rustic feel. The innkeepers are so hospitable and friendly, they treat you as if you were family. Everything is extremely clean and kept. I would live in this B&B if I could. Not to mention that the breakfast is FAMNAMINAL!


Snowfall lullaby

5 on February 24, 2008

The bubbles were up to my nose and the jacuzzi was purring like a kitten. I was sipping my favorite red wine as I watched the snowflakes gently falling through the slighly frosted window. Eight small candles dimly lit the cozy bathroom as the flames danced to the music on my Ipod, Snowfall lullaby. I had no desire to ever leave but after two hours I retreated to my extremely comfortable canopy bed to watch the fire slowly die. I was so content and relaxed. The Inn is beautiful and spotless, the food was scrumptous, the owners delightful, and I could care less if anyone else ever goes there because then there will always be room for ME!


Pampering in a colonial setting!

5 on February 07, 2008

A perfect way to relax in a splendid location; in an historic colonial house decorated with a keen eye to the period; with attentive, friendly and fun hosts; delicous breakfasts which start you well on your way for the day. One of the very best B and B's I've stayed in!


Charming B&B

5 on January 28, 2008

My husband and I needed a getaway week-end and chose the Daniel Rust House. From the moment we entered the house we knew we made the right choice. Germaine and Kathy both greeted us warmly and made us feel so welcome. The breakfast each morning was outstanding. We stayed in the Anna White room which is absolutely beautiful. We came in as strangers but left feeling that we had made new friends. The weekend was perfect and the inn keepers were fantastic. We plan on returning soon.


The Daniel Rust House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $185
  • Reviews (82) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8607420032

Visit Website »

View details

Top