Recent Reviews in Columbus, Indiana

The Best B&B so far at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We stayed at the Irwin house for two nights in June. We have stayed in quite a few B&Bs over the years but this place has been the best. It took our breath away when we first walked in to see the beautiful staircase and wood work in the main room. The innkeepers Sarah and Brittany showed us around the mansion. It was amazing. The service while we stayed was excellent. If we needed anything we just called Sarah o rBrittany and they would help us. We were served wine at 5pm in the evenings as part of guest services. We then walked down to a great Italian restaurant for dinner and then over to a bar for drinks before returning to sleep in a wonderful room. We chose to stay in the Elsie Sweeney Room.It had mahogany bedroom set with king bed. The bathroom had a vintage bath/shower combination. The breakfast we had on the first morning was fabulous but nothing compared to the Bananas Foster we had the second morning. The location was just a couple of blocks from downtown Columbus. Easy to walk to restaurants and bars in the evening and historic sites during the day. We loved the place so much we are giving our daughter and her husband a night there for their upcoming anniversary. And I am taking my wife back to stay for her birthday.

View more reviews for this inn


Qaint and quiet, close to Nadhville/Brown County at Acorn Ridge Bed and Breakfast (Morgantown, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on July 10, 2016

The king suite was comfortable and private with nice extra's. It was quiet and cozy. If you are looking for a place near Nashville and Brown County, this is close to your destination. We had great service and a excellent breakfast! We were accomadated to our needs. John and Cindy-July 9 2016

View more reviews for this inn


One of a kind place to stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on June 27, 2016

The building and the gardens are absolutely beautiful! Friendly service and excellent breakfast. The only negative was the dirty bathroom. The toilet was dirty and a good layer of dust was on the base of the sink. Looked like the room hadn't been used in a while, the floors were dusty too. Will definitely stay again and check the room before settling in.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique B&B experience at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.0 reviewed on June 14, 2016

We’d been curious about Irwin Gardens since it opened as a B&B in 2010. The 1910 Edwardian mansion with its unique sunken formal garden is located adjacent to the Henry Moore arch sculpture and the First Christian Church which began Columbus’ reputation for architecture in 1942. The mansion and garden give you a bit of a Downton Abbey experience. Rooms are named after members of the Irwin family, responsible for Columbus’ architectural heritage. The interior is a bit plain and sparse with none of the Victorian fussiness. And since it’s remained in the family until becoming a B&B, it’s remarkably well preserved, with original period furniture and fixtures. A wedding rehearsal dinner was held the evening we were there, but it didn’t interfere with our enjoyment. Breakfast was served in a small dining room, mainly tables for two which didn’t allow much conversation with other guests. The weekend rates make this the most expensive B&B we’ve stayed at, but it is a unique experience, walking distance to all that downtown Columbus has to offer.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Stay! Beautiful place! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

We loved staying at the Irwin Gardens! It is such a beautiful place and the history of the building and the gardens is breathtaking. We will be back for another stay sometime soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend get away at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on May 25, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a unique experience, the Inn at Irwin Gardens delivered. Breakfast was delicious, the garden offered a pleasant place to sit and the house was full of charm and elegance.

View more reviews for this inn


Great oasis in the town of Columbus, IN at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on May 06, 2016

It was so easy to get around town with the stay at the Inn at Irwin Gardens. The venue was quiet and close by to everything. We could walk or drive following the map of all the sculpture and buildings that were on the map. (Picked up the map at the Visitors Center for $3- great directions and excellent descriptions). Food was excellent! Sarah, our host, was great at making sure we were well attended. The archituecture and the furnishings were in excellent condition and made the venue feel like it was part of another era- which of course it was! Drove to Nashville, IN, where the arts and crafts were in abundance. Although it was a Monday and a lot of the stores were closed , we still were able to see and shop. Highly recommend a stay- you won't be disappointed. Lisa K Gleeson May 3,2016

View more reviews for this inn


Hoosier Abbey at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.4 reviewed on April 18, 2016

What a wonderful gem. Indiana has a museum quality bed and breakfast in the heart of one of the most architecturally significant cities in the country. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and plan to return when the gardens are in blooms. The service was wonderful and the food was outstanding.

View more reviews for this inn


What a wonderful stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on February 29, 2016

My fiance and I could not have asked for a more perfect romantic getaway. The house was gorgeous, the innkeeper was so nice and helpful (she had champagne, flowers, and chocolate covered strawberries waiting our arrival), and the weather was perfect that weekend. Truly everything came together for an amazing weekend. We honestly wish we stayed longer because the Inn was so beautiful that we didn't really ever get a chance to check out the town!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Ruddick-Nugent House (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on January 15, 2016

The Ruddick-Nugent House was a wonderful get-a-way from home. We traveled a couple of hours just to have a weekend away, without getting too far from home. Dennis and Joyce were wonderful people that were great company when we wanted company. When we wanted a chance just to spend time together we were able to get peace and quiet, as if we were the only ones there, in a full house. The house had a great story behind it and was very comfortable. We appreciated the Orwins making our first night away from our daughter an enjoyable and comfortable one.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Experience! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on January 07, 2016

My husband and I had a delightful stay at the Inn.It's truly like stepping back in time. The entire mansion is as it was in the early 1900's. We stayed in the top floor "bachelor" suite which overlooked the gardens. The room was very comfortable, with amazing detailed woodwork, and featured the original wrap around shower in the bathroom! We were served a full breakfast in the dining room and the innkeeper was very caring and helpful. If you are traveling around the Columbus area I would highly recommend a visit here.

View more reviews for this inn


Grand Getaway at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2015

Wonderfully preserved estate. Great location. Excellent food and service. So relaxing!

View more reviews for this inn


WEEKEND GETAWAY at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on November 11, 2015

What a charming place to stay! Room was very comfortable and quiet. The garden was done for the season but would be beautiful in the summer. Breakfast, the only meal, was okay but not spectacular. Inn keeper was very courteous and helpful. Loved looking at the turn of the century fixtures and nick-naks, especially all the old magazines from the 30's and 40's.

View more reviews for this inn


A hidden gem at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on November 10, 2015

Outstanding historic Inn and gardens. It is like stepping back in time. It offers a great location in downtown Columbus and has the wonderful One Body One Soul Spa in the caretaker's cottage. Breakfast was outstanding too! We would highly recommend this property.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent weekend getawaty at Ruddick-Nugent House (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on November 09, 2015

My wife and I spent the weekend in Columbus as a weekend vacation and we were fortunate enough to stay at the Riddick-Nugent B&B...Dennis and Joyce are amazing hosts who truly know what the service industry is all about. A beautiful house, with amazing accommodations, and the breakfast every morning was outstanding. Would strongly recommend anyone looking for a B&B this is where we would recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


What a brilliant place to stay! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.4 reviewed on November 01, 2015

The Inn at Irwin Gardens is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I have stayed. The house is in amazing condition, with all period furniture and decor. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the living areas are welcoming, they absolutely beg you to come and enjoy them. We visited Columbus with friends and I could not be more pleased with our choice of accommodations. We stayed in the bachelor suite which gave a lovely view of the gardens, but is on the 3rd floor and is not handicap accessible (all other rooms are). The gardens are amazing, I only wish I had an event to plan that I could hold there! Wine in the evening, breakfast in the morning-wonderful. You can walk to most restaurants. You don't get to choose your breakfast (at least we never asked what it was going to be) but if you have dietary concerns you can mention that when booking. My only complaint is that having spent a couple of days in Columbus, I'm not sure why we would go there again, but I will work hard to find a reason because I desperately want to stay at the Inn another time.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful retreat at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on October 30, 2015

Loved the home and gardens and hope to visit again with my daughters in the spring.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Fall Get-away! at Ruddick-Nugent House (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful fall get-away at the Ruddick-Nugent House last weekend! We loved the decor of William's room and the rest of the home - especially the living room with the piano, books, photos, and chess sets. The breakfast was delicious and filling - a great combo! Dennis was a welcoming host, and we could not have been more pleased with our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience in Columbus, Indiana at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2015

This site has the best of both centuries. The charm and glamour of the 20th century is there yet one has all the amenities you would want of the 21st century!! Absolutely gorgeous gardens!!

View more reviews for this inn


Unexpected delight in Columbus, IN at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.4 reviewed on June 03, 2015

Our "regular" room was huge and well appointed. The service and food was outstanding. We didn't want to leave the garden area, there are so many treasures to view. The location is great as well, many fantastic restaurants within walking distance.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay!!! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on May 29, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Irwin Gardens. The resident inn keeper, Sarah, is a fount of knowledge on the history of the building, the gardens and Columbus. She was charming and warm. Made us feel right at home. Our room was fantastic! We stayed up on the third floor with great views of the extensive gardens and a wrap-around shower from 1910 that was worth the stay on its own. We'll be back! The Inn at Irwin Gardens is not to be missed! Fantastic stay!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway at Ruddick-Nugent House (Columbus, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on May 19, 2015

Lots to do in Columbus, Nashville and Edinburgh. Dennis and Joyce are lots of fun and great hosts. We hope to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on May 08, 2015

A beautiful setting to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is in a beautiful 1910 Edwardian mansion. The staff was competent and friendly. The food was outstanding. One breakfast included bananas foster french toast with vanilla ice cream on the side, fresh fruit, and sausage. The gardens are beautiful, with numerous places to sit and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. We did not want to leave.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous experience...made our Kentucky Derby at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 06, 2015

My mother's bucket list included a trip to the Kentucky Derby, so for her birthday I decided to take her. Because I didn't book until February, the rooms in Louisville were mostly sold out, which was actually a blessing, as I forced me outside Louisville and into finding the Inn at Irwin Gardens. Our stay the the Inn totally made our Derby experience, beautiful place and fantastic staff! Thanks so much!

View more reviews for this inn


Spring Fling at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.4 reviewed on May 05, 2015

Our Granddaughter who attends the school across the street invited us to attend the Spring Fling function. The Inn provided a perfect space to entertain her(Grade one) with a tour prior to the event, have a formal tea with her will we talked about her school and her activities(just the tree of us so it was special) and then to walk downtown for a very enjoyable dinner after the event. The room was very good in all aspects and the service and breakfast top line.

View more reviews for this inn


Short Stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on April 26, 2015

Very much enjoyed our short stay. Quiet, relaxing and Breakfast was awesome!

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful experience at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on April 11, 2015

Beautiful Inn and Gardens. Staffing was thin--only saw one person our entire stay. The Gardens are outstanding, but are in need of major work.Architectural details of house, interior and exterior are amazing. A few little things need fixing (stairway post tops). Furnishings very appropriate, bathroom well done. No tv cable service in most rooms. ?? Staff extremely helpful, and she cooked three memorable breakfasts for us!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Accomodations! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on April 03, 2015

This was the scene of our 36th anniversary celebration. It could be the perfect setting for any occasion. Fire side chats, walks in the garden, planning great adventures and world explorations. Make this your go to place for any group that wants to have a special time together with the activities of their preference.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Stay in Columbus, IN at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2015

We stayed in the "Bachelor Suite" for two nights while visiting Columbus. This is a great compliment to the architectural history of the town and if you are visiting for the architecture, staying here is a must. The house and gardens have great history and have been restored quite well. Our stay was in March so we did not get the full effect of the gardens. Service and food were awesome,as was Sarah.

View more reviews for this inn


What a perfect place for our anniversary! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2015

My husband booked us the Bachelor Suite on the third floor for our 20th wedding anniversary. We could not have been more pleased with the accomodations! We spent so much time wandering in the gardens and exploring all the historical aspects of the home. For a history buff like me, it was a dream come true! The suite itself was so spacious but cozy at the same time, and the shower was the most unique I have ever seen anywhere. The innkeeper, Sarah, was more than welcoming, and we truly felt like guests and not just customers. The breakfast she served us was to die for! The home, although in the middle of Columbus, manages to be a quiet retreat with a calming atmosphere. We enjoyed the wine service in the evening and the recommendations for dinner (we ended up at the Japanese steakhouse, Taku, which was wonderful). I cannot say enough good things about this beautiful place. We will be back next year, hopefully when the gardens are in bloom! Mark and Christie Montgomery Paris, IL

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}