Recent Reviews in Columbus, Georgia

Awesome Stay! at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on June 14, 2016

We had the good fortune to stay at the Rothschild Pound House Inn while attending graduation events at the Fort Benning US Army base. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, accommodating and friendly hosts, and located in a lovely historic district where we took relaxing and peaceful walks by the river and marveled at the centuries-old renovated and re-purposed brick building with their classic architecture. Could not have asked for a better experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Place, Great Location at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

3.6 reviewed on May 12, 2016

Stayed two nights in the Golden Suite, which was really beautiful. Mattress of excellent quality--slept very soundly. Liked that there was a mini fridge to keep a bottle of wine chilled. It was pretty expensive once you tacked on taxes and fees, otherwise I would have given a higher mark on value. Located in a nice, safe, interesting neighborhood. Easy walk by historic homes to the restaurant district.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2016

Our scrapbooking group have been having our twice a year weekend getaway for nearly 3 years now. It is by far the best place to stay with Judy's breakfast being out of this world every time! Homemade cookies that are incredible and service above none! Thank you Judy for hosting us and taking such incredibly good care of all of us!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Visit at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2015

We stayed last weekend August 8 and were so pleased with the charming decor and the welcoming nature of the home . Judy , the owner , welcomed us and told us about the town and the walking trail nearby as well as some of the town history . Great breakfast and we met another couple who like us were relaxing . Thanks again Judy for a comfortable and lovely place .

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bed And Breakfast!!!! at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2015

This place is AMAZING! Judy is such a great person and hostess. The stay was AWESOME! We will definitely be going back in the near future!

View more reviews for this inn


The HOlly House Experience at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Holly House. The room was large and comfortable and provided everything we needed. Judy was a most accommodating hostess. Breakfast was wonderful and the food was delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

5 reviewed on December 28, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Holly House. Judy was a great hostess!

View more reviews for this inn


We LOVED The Holly House! at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2014

I stayed at The Holly House on my wedding weekend. Friday Night with my bridesmaids, and Saturday with my new husband. From the moment you step foot in the door of this beautiful home you are greeted with a warm smile and true southern hospitality. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are clean, large, and private. Everything in the B&B is charming, inviting, and just makes you feel like a different person all together. Rooms: The rooms we stayed in were both comfortable and everything you could possibly need for any length of time or occasion. The beds were extremely comfortable and each room of the house was spacious and private. Service: The innkeeper, Judy, is as friendly and welcoming as they come. She went above and beyond the call of duty during our stay. The breakfast that she cooked was INCREDIBLE (it alone will have this girl coming back). She made sure we had anything and everything we could possibly need allowing us to come and go as we pleased, along with those who came to help us in the preparations of a wedding. Value: SO WORTH IT. There is nothing that my husband, bridesmaids, or myself can even think of that wasn't outstanding about our stay. We enjoyed every minute of it and truly felt like we got the best treatment for our money at this B&B. For the price you pay it was almost as if you became family to the sweet innkeeper. Cleanliness: As mentioned above, from top to bottom each room we went in was immaculate. Dining: For breakfast Judy made us homemade quiche, both with meat and vegetarian, sausage, biscuits, gravy, fresh fruit, coffee cake, along with refreshing juice and piping hot coffee. Everything was delicious and much more than you would get at a typical hotel chain. Again, her breakfast alone will have us coming back year after year! I hope my review helps, and I hope you'll stay at The Holly House. It truly is a remarkable experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Best time ever at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

5 reviewed on September 11, 2014

We were celebrating our anniversary and could not have found a better place.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Amazing! at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2014

Since our son was graduating from Ft. Benning in April, we made reservations to stay overnight at Holly House of Hamilton, and I am so glad that we did! Because of our travel itinerary, our arrival time was outside of regular business hours, and I worried if we would be able to find a place to fit our needs. Holly House was that place. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a smiling Judy, and breathtaking Victorian charm. My husband, son & I stayed in the Journey Room, which had an additional adjoining bedroom and a stunning sitting room. We enjoyed satellite TV, wi-fi, and snacks provided by Judy and her husband and located in the guest kitchen downstairs. Yes. I said guest kitchen. The guests have access to a kitchen, off the main kitchen, filled to the brim with snacks, homemade cookies (which my son still raves about to do this day!) soft drinks, a coffee pot, tea, as well cups & utensils. Not to mention a refrigerator, freezer and microwave. The day we arrived Judy asked our breakfast requests and the morning of our breakfast she did not disappoint. I love spinach and my omelet overflowed with it. The peach juice and berry hot tea added to my breakfast enjoyment and made it a meal to remember. I did not get a chance to drink the orange juice and I regret it horribly. My 20-year-old son said it was the best orange juice he has ever had, bar none. Our stay was nowhere near long enough to enjoy the charm, ambiance and friendliness that was shared with us at Holly House of Hamilton. I look forward to righting that wrong in that future with a much longer stay. Judy not only showed the professionalism of a business owner, but the grace of a hostess and the kindness of a friend. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


a pleasant side trip at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

4.4 reviewed on November 03, 2013

our stay at holly house was most pleasant. judy was very warm and inviting. the accommodations were clean and comfortable. she clearly has put a lot of thought and energy into furnishing and decorating this beautiful old house. she was also very flexible with the breakfast schedule as we had to leave quite early on our last morning.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful! at Holly House of Hamilton (Hamilton, Georgia)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2013

Stepping into the Holly House is like stepping back in time and yet keeping all the comforts and amenities of this day and age. The owner is a gifted hostess and offered everything I needed for a delightful stay. The nature trail that begins right behind the property provided a wonderful walk and the surroundings were lovely. I highly recommend a stay at the Holly House of Hamilton.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing/Memorable Experience!! at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2012

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the Rothschild Pound House Inn. The rooms/cottages are bueaitful, and very private! Everything about the room and our stay was incredible. It is in a beautiful location and having all of the different cottages on the street made for a very neat "southern" experience! The food is incredible. I would highly recommend eating dinner at the restaurant as well. The staff was incredibly accomodating as far as early and late check-in goes. They were so incredibly welcoming and very military friendly. EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

3.6 reviewed on November 26, 2011

This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast and I was not disappointed. The room was amazing for the price they charged and the staff were all very friendly. It was a much better value then staying at the Marriott down the street. I would recommend staying here to my friends and family!

View more reviews for this inn


Great service, Beautiful Inn! at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2011

I have never stayed at an inn before, but my son was attending a Guitar Conference at the Rivercenter for Performing Arts, which is a few blocks from here, so we decided to give it a try. It was lovely. Just beautiful fabrics and flowers and I have never had grits and biscuits before either. They were fantastic. The staff was proffessional and very genuine. I wish I lived closer!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Food, room not worth the money! at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

3.0 reviewed on March 14, 2011

I recently stayed in the Thomas suite which has a wonderful jacuzzi tub. The best things about my stay were relaxing in the jacuzzi tub and the excellent food at Vintage 222 for both dinner and breakfast. The fillet Mignon was excellent, the best I've ever had! The value for your money is the most important factor to me. I was disappointed with this room that costs $200 a night. I have stayed in other bed and breakfasts that cost half the price and they were better than the Pound-House inn. Firstly, the main house and the Thomas suite present an old, run-down look about them. There is water damage and cracks in the walls and ceiling of the suite as well as cracks in the walls of the main house. I don't like to feel as if I'm staying in a crumbly, old building when I'm being charged $200 a night. I enjoy the quaint and clean feel of a bed and breakfast that has been well-maintained and decorated with care. Furthermore, the art work in the suite is the most random collection of stuff that looks as if it was bought at a flea market and thrown on the walls haphazardly. This is a small detail but it gives the impression that the inn does not take pride in the overall appearance of the suite. The bed and breakfasts I have liked the most (that cost $100 per night) have paid attention to every detail to create the experience that B & B people enjoy. I feel as if the price point of the Pound-House inn should demand that they pay attention to the details. Lastly, I rated the sleep quality a 2 because the king size bed was only equipped with three very thin pillows, and three very thin shams. Most big hotel chains offer at least 5 pillows that are plush as opposed to smashed flat pillows. When I pay to stay somewhere, I want to get a good night's sleep and not crick my neck with thin pillows that there are not enough of.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful, historic, comfortable and delicious!!! at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2010

GREAT restaurant, including steaks and seafood. Wine list was really reasonable. The bed was big and extra comfy. I can't wait to go back and soak in the jacuzzi tub!

View more reviews for this inn


Love this inn!!! at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2009

We spent three nights here in August and I am so thrilled to let others know how delightful this place is. Great breakfasts, delicious waffles, layer cakes in the parlor at night and great in-room coffee. I think a local coffee roaster delivers it every couple of days. Slept like a dream. The innkeepers are enthusiastic about Columbus and they've decorated the rooms beautifully. Beautiful, delicious and very gracious.

View more reviews for this inn


Ft. Benning Fabulous at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2009

Great idea to put a major military base near this inn!! They have late check-out Sunday, because my husband didn't have to be back on base until Sunday night. Yummy BIG Southern breakfast and room service. Great little cottage.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Stay at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

4.0 reviewed on January 24, 2009

This is one of the most beautiful inns I've encountered. That being said, it's very informal and the owners are very friendly. These people moved the main house, then renovated the entire street. While we were there Garrison Keillor was staying in one of the "cottages". Apparently a lot of famous people stay at this inn and it's easy to understand why!

View more reviews for this inn


Golden Suite Stay at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

4.0 reviewed on July 31, 2008

I stayed overnight in the Golden Suite in the main house on a week night and it was fabulous! Wine was served at 5:00 PM with an assortment of cheeses and crackers and the selections were really good. The next day, I was able to call Cafe 222 and they delivered breakfast to my room. The suite included a sitting room that opened out to a balcony with a small sitting area that made a great spot to sit and read. The location is near downtown shopping and eaterys as well as the river walk. Very enjoyable stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Email Review 1 at Rothschild Pound House Inn (Columbus, Georgia)

4.0 reviewed on June 12, 2008

Dear Kristen and Mark, I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed meeting you both when I stayed at your B&B last week. I admire your energy. I'm not sure that I could run a B&B, especially not one with as many rooms and cottages as you have. I absolutely adored my accommodations. I was the in the Govenor Forsyth Suite. Although Columbus is a nice community, I think I would have been just as happy if I never had to leave my room. Everything was delightful. Thanks.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Holly House of Hamilton (4.93)
  2. Rothschild Pound House Inn (4.38)
Top
}