Sonnenhof Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
21 Reviews

Write A Review

Sonnenhof B & B in Estes Park

5 on August 06, 2014

Beautiful B & B and the friendliest owners we've ever met on a trip using a B & B. My only concern is that it will become so popular we'll need reservations 2 years in advance!


Fantastic gem of a place to stay

4.8 on June 20, 2014

I can't think of anywhere better to stay in Estes Park. Hilde and Rudy are the perfect hosts and prepare magnificent breakfasts for their guests and are so lovely and interesting to talk to. We had the Alpine suite which was beautiful. The house is full of amazing furniture hand made by Rudy who is such a talented wood craftsman. We loved staying here.


Don't miss this one!

4.6 on October 26, 2013

We stayed in the first floor suite and it was spectacular. Rudy made all the furniture and each piece is a work of art. We stayed three nights and were so comfortable we wished we could have stayed longer. The suite is extremely private. Deer and other wildlife could be seen in the woods. Although they were under certain restrictions because of the area's devestating flooding in September we were perfectly happy.


Wonderful B&B

5 on August 04, 2013

This a magnificent part of America as far as the beauty of the natural surroiundings is concerned, and the Sonnenhof B&B only adds to the experience. The hosts, Rudy and Hilde, are gracious and warm and provided every ammenity to make our stay a perfect one. The breakfasts were delicious and our room was spacious and lovely.There is no other place we would rather stay in Estes Park and we will certainly return.


Exceptional!

5 on July 07, 2013

We spent three nights at Sonnenhof and wish we could have stayed longer! Hilde and Rudy are wonderful hosts. Our rooms exceeded all expectations, one with it's hand made oak furniture and spectacular mountain view from the room and the porch. Our second room, located below the first, features the most beautiful hand painted furniture I have ever seen! It has a private patio overlooking a beautiful flower garden with mountain views beyond. The location is ideal, quiet and peaceful, just a short drive to town but away from the hustle and bustle. The breakfasts were delicious, with lots of variety and quantity. After staying at Sonnenhof, we will not stay anywhere else when we visit Estes Park again!


A Glimpse of Paradise

5 on June 23, 2013

The entire setting of the Sonnenhof Bed & Breakfast is breathtaking. Listening to the waterfalls in the garden was awesome. As we sat on the balcony one evening, a deer was grazing on the front lawn. The gourmet breakfasts were outstanding with Rudy's homemade waffles and Hilde's homemade crepes. Rudy and Hilde's friendly demeanor make you feel welcome in their beautiful home. We are going back shortly. Pete and Elaine from Greeley


Like One Of The Family

5 on June 17, 2013

Just a slice of heaven, great all around


HEAVEN IN THE WOODS

5 on October 29, 2012

As you approach the long drive to this beautiful B&B-overlooking St. Mary's Lake you can't help but feel the calm come over you. The place is immaculate, the owners so very friendly yet not overbearing. Breakfast is picture perfect and tastes even better than it looks. Our room was large and there are so many quiet places to sit and enjoy both Rudy's and natures handiwork. This B&B is perfect


Such a pleasant place to celebrate 25th anniversary.

5 on September 30, 2012

The setting was idyllic, the room was so clean and comfortable, breakfast was beautifully served and so very yummy. Thanks for the privacy offered, but also the amazing times of conversation.


The Best Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 01, 2012

We have stayed at Sonnehof on four separate occasions. It is always outstanding. The rooms are soooo nice and breakfast is great. Sonnehof is the high point of our vacation once again.


Solitude and Comfort

5 on March 19, 2012

My wife and I invited her parents to join us at the Sonnenhof B&B in Estes Park for a 3 day getaway. We found the Sonnenhof by accident - my wife was looking for an inn or B&B to stay so we could do some late winter hiking / show-shoeing, and she found another B&B in Estes Park. I was reviewing the ratings, and the one she'd found was rated #7. Naturally, I looked for #1, which in this particular review was the Sonnenhof B&B. Well, am I glad we did. The location is beautiful, the hosts gracious, the room incredible, and the food was sumptuous. The B&B is located outside the main part of Estes Park, with an incredible view all around. Rudi and Hilde were so kind and accommodating - he's a master craftsman, and she a skilled artist, and the rooms were all individual masterpieces with amazing wood-work and beautiful detailing, compliments of the hosts. You have to see it to believe it. The breakfasts were different each day, but were delicious and oh-so filling. We had apple pancakes the first day, and the ones left made an excellent snack on the trail to Cub Lake. The coffee cup seemed to magically refill itself, and the friendly conversation between the 3 guest couples, joined by Rudi and Hilde when time allowed, was both relaxing and stimulating. I'm convinced you'll love the Sonnenhof B&B - check out the pictures online, then book the room. We plan to come back, and will give stays as gifts to our daughters and their husbands.


Peak Experience at the Sonnenhof B&B

4.8 on February 27, 2012

Two couples spent five nights at the Sonnenhof to experience winter in Estes Park. This B&B was exceptional in every way. We've stayed at many B&Bs over the years, and we have never had such a spacious room with plenty of everything right at our fingertips--towels, sweet treats, tea and coffee, and toilet paper! The beauty of Sonnenhof--both inside and out--was quite remarkable. But the heart and soul of the place are Rudy and Hilde, the warm and welcoming owners of this bit of heaven on earth.


Feels like home

4.0 on December 13, 2011

My husband and I have visited 3 times (Alpine Room) and Rudy and Hilde have always made us feel welcome!Beautifully decorated rooms, views, and wonderful food!We'll definitely return, would like to stay in the Rose Room next, then the Aspen Room!


Perfect autumn retreat

4.8 on October 04, 2011

Fantastic location and breakfasts. Hosts were gracious and attentive. Can't pick a better B & B.


An stay and experience you will not forget

5 on August 06, 2011

Rudy and Hilde are the best. You will not forget this experience with them. They open their home to you; you feel like part of their family. My wife and I have stayed with them at least 10 times. If you choose to stay here, I recommend at least 2 nights or more. Estes Park and the Sonnenhof B&B are two places you will never get tired of seeing or spending time at. A must while in Estes Park is to drive over Trail Ridge road as long as the road is open. The views and drive will be one you will never forget. Also, a walk around Bear Lake and down to Alberta Falls is also something you need to experience while you are in Estes Park. While sitting in the breakfast room, look closely and slowly while you take it all in. Rudy has out done himself with this room. Rudy is truly a master woodworker, a man using his hands to craft beautiful things for us to enjoy. Rudy and Hilde are the kind of people we all dream about, then one day that dream comes true and we finally get to meet them. Thank you Rudy and Hilde for all you do to make all who enter your home a memory for a life time. Glenn and Diane Cover, Aurora, Colorado


Above average, good place to stay

4.0 on April 25, 2011

Their food was outstanding I must say, I found myself scarfing down their food even though it was morning and like most people, I have a hard time eating alot that time of day. Overall this was a good experience, only had one problem in that they forgot we were coming...(oops!) Fortunately, the door was unlocked and the key was in our room, we didn't have any hand towels available and other than that, the consequences of their overlook was not too bad although I guess it could have been. They discounted our bill a significant amount which was a sufficient rectification for us and hence I only derated them to "Met expectations". The bed was quite comfortable too. For the money this stay is a good deal. Unless they have a habit of forgetting visitors I think most anyone will enjoy their stay here. And once again...that food was good.


The best B&B in Estes

5 on February 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway in January. We loved the room, the food, and the hospitality. Will definitely come back.


An evening in Estes PArk

4.6 on October 11, 2010

My wife and I arrived to a lovely location and very nice room, the rose room. Hilde and Rudy were very nice and welcoming. He next morning (we had been up for a while fortunately), we were startled by music filling our room from the speakers. But we soon loved the beautiful music to start our day (Recommendation to Hilde and Rudy); make sure you know your customers know how to operate the speakers; we would choose to have them on, but knowing would be nice. Breakfast was stupendous and the conversation with both the owners and guest superb. My wife and I will definitely return when we next go to Estes PArk.


Fabulous room; Wonderful breakfast!

4.6 on July 10, 2010

Our stay in the Romantic Rose Suite will be long and fondly remembered. The room was spacious, comfortable, and immaculate (and the bathroom was a luxury). We had our own balcony with a great view (including small wildlife). Rudy and Hilde were wonderful breakfast company, and the food was fabulous! Hilde made the best blueberry pancakes we've ever had! We also enjoyed strolling and relaxing in their spacious garden areas out back. Sonnehof was a wonderful experience for us!!


A Wonderful Mountain Treat

4.6 on March 26, 2010

We spent a relaxing three day weekend here and enjoyed the hosts as well as their delicious breakfast. The kitchenette in our room was perfect for storing leftovers from dinner and making tea in the morning. A great location in the mountains - we saw rabbits, elk, birds, and more right outside our window but we were only a few minutes drive from town or into the national park.


Heaven on earth

5 on June 20, 2009

My husband were at Sonnenhof last week and what a wonderful experience! Rudy and Hildie could of not been nicer the rooms were wonderful they have thought of everything, the views were unbelievable If you go to Estes you need to experience Sonnenhof Breakfast was delicious all around a heavenly experience


Sonnenhof Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9705777528

Visit Website »

View details

Top