Black Dog Inn Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Thank You

5 on May 20, 2012

We had an awesome experience at the Black Dog Inn! The food, rooms, and hosts were amazing! We would recommend this place to ANYONE! It was so much fun and a great place to take a honeymoon!


June 2011

5 on June 05, 2011

What a GREAT place to get away from regular everyday life. GREAT Breakfast every morning. Lots of wild life nearby, Very cozy.


Rocky Mountain High!

4.0 on October 17, 2010

The Black Dog Inn was perfect for us, away from busy crowds of downtown but close enough to everything. Good restaurants and Rocky Mountain National Park close by. Our stand alone Mt. Olympus suite was immaculate and had all the amenities that anyone could desire, jacuzzi tub, fireplace, privacy, quiet and plenty of room. The suggestions for dining were right on and Sheree and Carlos went out of their way to help us plan our continuing Colorado vacation. We would highly recommend staying here to visit the Rockies and see Estes Park. Susan & Jim We will return!!


A Perfect Place

5 on September 13, 2010

We had our family reunion here with 6 in attendance. The accommodations were great, the food was great, the location was great and our dog DUKE also thought it was great. I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast. THe owners are very helpful in assisting you with locations for meals and day trips. The quality of the food was way above expectations. The cottages are clean, well furnished, quiet and very enjoyable. This is a great place to spend a long weekend.


Great Honeymoon Location

4.8 on August 14, 2010

We stayed at the Black Dog Inn for our honeymoon. This was our first bed and breakfast experience. It was an experience that has encouraged us to do the B&B thing again - it was wonderful! We stayed in the Sunset Mountain Suite, and the room was beautiful, cozy, and had all of the ammenities that we could ask for in our room including a huge hot tub, mini fridge, and an EXTREMELY comfortable bed. The room was always cleaned promptly in the morning, and the grounds of the inn were very well kept. The food was AMAZING! We were actually excited to get up and go to breakfast in the morning :) Carlos and Sheree made sure that we felt comfortable and enjoyed our stay - not only at the inn, but in all of Estes Park. They were happy to offer suggestions for dinner and places to visit. They are so kind and really appreciated everything they did to make our stay perfect. If we had one wish, we would have liked a little bigger window coverings in our room for the evening - they didn't quite cover the entire window to the edges, and the window looks onto a deck that is a little close. Other than that, a place we would love to visit again!


Recharged my Batteries

4.4 on August 04, 2010

The Black Dog Bed and Breakfast is a quiet little piece of property within walking distance to downtown, the lake and park. We enjoyed the out door sitting areas as well as several amenities like the professional Grill we used one night as we cooked steaks for a outside dinner beside the outdoor fire pit. The Stars are brilliant at night. The Black Dog has a great section of movies and restaurant menus to view as well as individual attention to requests. Thanks so much We had a great time. Joe Morgan Fort Worth, Texas


confused

1.0 on May 26, 2010

Found this place to be on a busy main road, small and dingy with the only views being the other cabins, packed in together, lots of dirty plastic flowers, stagnant water in pots outside door, broken fences surrounded by housing and timber yard businesses. Breakfast room dingy with smells remaining of past cooking. Our worst nightmare for accommodation. Historic? no more like enlarged garden sheds. Cannot comment on service or dining as we packed our bags and went elsewhere where we found Rockie Mountains views and peaceful seclusion, i.e. Black Canyon Inn. Cannot understand views found on webpages, are now two extremely confused (and after paying 3 nights unused rather expensive accommodation) broke travellers who do not know who to trust for honest reviews.

Innkeeper Response
Our goal is to please our guests. As seen by the other reviews, we accomplish this quite well. While these guests say they are confused, I am confused as well. First, we are VERY clean, our guests appreciate this. The closest thing to a timber business around here is hardware/lumber store about a half mile down the road. All our fences are in great shape. We recently had a snowstorm, melting snow creates pools of water. We are centrally located to downtown as well as the National Forest, everywhere you look, there are mountains, hills and trees. We are in a residential area. Now that it is warmer, we have planted flowers in our flower boxes. When I gave them a tour of the inn and showed them the movie library, diningroom and where they can come for that early cup of coffee, tea, etc. before breakfast was served, their only concern was desiring coffee in their room. With an inroom coffee pot provided, the only other concern was if they could have milk for their coffee. I gladly supplied a pitcher of milk for them to put into their refrigerator, letting them know that if they desired more milk or anything else, we would be happy to provide it. After spending 4 hours making use of all the ammenities their suite had to offer, bed, restroom, shower, jacuzzi, leaving all the used towels, robes and candy wrappers from the candy we provide, on the floor, they handed back the key with no explanation and left. This leaves me confused. If our accommodations were so unacceptable, why make lengthy use of them? Why not state this in the very beginning? Why state nothing at all? If they had mentioned when they arrived that they were disappointed and wished to go elsewhere, I would have returned their money.


Most relaxing B&B experience yet!

5 on January 24, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Snow Drift Peak Suite. It was a piece of heaven on earth! The suite was cozy and comfortable, the tub for two was wonderful! It was a beautiful place and the breakfasts... oh my gosh! Out of this world!!! I just had to have the recipe for the quiche they served the first morning! The hosts, Carlos and Sheree couldn't be more wonderful! We will definitely go back! Tim and Jo Ann


Wonderful Get-Away

5 on January 03, 2010

We just spent 4 nights at Black Dog Inn. This is our 4th stay there. We LOVE it!!!! The food is great! The innkeepers are friendly and do whatever they can to make your visit special. The rooms have always been clean, inviting and comfortable. Any time we can get away, we try to go. It's the only place we stay now.


Exceptional Experience

5 on September 11, 2009

Perfect place to stay for our 25th anniversary. Sheree & Carlos are wonderful hosts that go above and beyond to satisfy your needs. Heather & Laurie create incredible breakfasts. Room was outstanding in both comfort & decor. We would highly recommend and are looking forward to a return trip.


beyond picture perfect

5 on August 31, 2009

When looking for a place for my husband and I to celebrate our 5 year anniversary I had a picture, I searched and searched... when I found Black Dog Inns website I bookmarked it knowing where I wanted to stay... Our trip went beyond that picture I imagined! The rooms are far better then the pictures show, stunning! The staff is fantastic, I couldn't even explain. The smell of the breakfast, I think it can be smelt in the mountains :) The area of the B&B is gorgeous... along with the fresh fallen snow. Oh we can't wait to go back this year! This is one get-a-way you will never forget!


Wonderful haven

4.4 on July 13, 2009

This was a great place to stay. I was there for two different stays in about 10 days in two different rooms. Both times were great.The hosts were wonderful. The breakfasts were excellent. The Inn was located in a good area to get around Estes Park. The only slight drawback was that the rooms were not air conditioned (not the fault of the current operators) and it took a while in the evening to cool down. The rooms were nicely kept and very clean.


Great get away

4.6 on June 26, 2009

Warm, cozy, great breakfast.....Delightful!


Perfect Place for our Wedding Ceremony!

4.6 on June 18, 2009

We were recently married at the Black Dog Inn and it was a perfect place for our ceremony. We did their elopement package, which included a beautiful wildflower bouquet, one night in the honeymoon cottage and our own partially customized ceremony. Mike (our minister) and his wife Heidi were great. While Mike performed the ceremony in the backyard under a beautiful flowered arch while Heidi took some wonderful pictures. We stayed another 2 nights and the cottage was very comfortable with a nice jacuzzi. Laurie, the cook, made some tasty breakfasts, especially customized to our special diets. All in all, a wonderful experience!


Beautiful property

4.0 on June 07, 2009

We stayed in the Mummy Mountain suite and it was a beautiful room. The property itself was really beautiful - we were able to have our elopement in their grotto, which is a small garden area with an archway. The breakfast area was very inviting and Carlos and Sheree were perfect hosts. We'll probably go back on our 5 or 10 year anniversary! :)


A Surprise at Black Dog Inn

4.2 on May 23, 2009

Nestled in the woods, rather than along the stream, this very cozy Inn is a perfect weekend get-away. Newly remodeled and with new owners, it is a great place. Quiet yet with amenities active and busy people need....wireless; flat screens; French-style breakfast; fireplaces and jacuzzis in every room. A great find through Bed and Breakfast.com.


Was just what we needed

4.6 on January 05, 2009

We were able to get away for 2 nights and were so blessed by our time at Black Dog Inn. We went last summer but I really hope to convince my husband to go back one winter.


WOW what a great retreat....

5 on November 12, 2008

For a wonderful retreat, you have to stay at the Black Dog Inn. Wonderful accommodations, friendly innkeepers, truly a place that gives you that "warm fuzzy feeling" and you know you have been on vacation. Intimate yet homey.....And the breakfast is certainly an added bonus!


Wonderful Place to Stay!

5 on November 03, 2008

We just left Estes Park and the Black Dog Inn. We wish we could have stayed longer! Black Dog Inn was a wonderful place to stay. It was the most relaxing vacation we have yet to have. We stayed in Mount Olympus and loved all of the accomodations. We will be back soon.


Excellence in Estes

4.6 on October 28, 2008

Carlos and Sheree were awesome, very friendly and knew the area, giving us suggestions on dinner, hikes, and sight seeing trips. The breakfast was excellent and the room was clean, clean, clean. Nice cottage stay, as we weren't in the main house. We highly recommend this B&B ..... we'll be back.


Our stay was really great!

5 on August 25, 2008

Our room was beautiful, the fireplace was really nice, and everything worked out perfectly. It was a great place to spend part of our honeymoon!


Oh My Goodness!

4.8 on August 04, 2008

We visited the Black Dog Inn in June 2008. What a delightful little place! The room was impecable with darling decor and the food was delicious. Carlos and Sheree were perfect hosts; we would go back again in a minute.


We loved our stay!

4.8 on July 08, 2008

This was our first time at a Bed & Breakfast. It was absolutely wonderful. Totally relaxing in a well designed, comfortable room. The furnishings and ambiance of the room almost make it difficult to leave your room it's so nice. The breakfasts were prepared and served with elegance and abundance. The Inn itself is located just minutes from downtown Estes Park and yet one still feels secluded and remote. The Inns keepers were knowledgeable, helpfull, pleasant, and yet knew how to not be overbearing. We will return!


June 08 weekend getaway

3.8 on July 08, 2008

Quiet, cozy, romantic. Breakfasts were delicious!


Great "sisters" getaway

4.6 on June 16, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Black Dog Inn. We not only had plenty of space to congregate in our rooms, but we had a large deck for outdoor lunches and lounging. The owners were very accomodating with all of the food allergies. The breakfasts were large and delicious with attention paid to presentation and a relaxed atmosphere.


Black Dog Inn

4.4 on May 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Sundance Room. It was gorgeous, and the Innkeepers provided cozy extras that made the stay special. They were willing to accommodate any dietary requirements and were very social. The dining and common living room area were inviting. We would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Estes Park.


Very Nice B & B

3.6 on May 27, 2008

We really enjoyed our time at the Black Dog Inn. The owners were nice and very helpful.


Birthday to Remember

4.4 on May 26, 2008

Wonderful little place tucked away in the trees. We stayed in the Mt. Olympus cottage which seculuded us for a romantic evening away from the rest of the Inn. After a wonderful nights rest, enjoying the cool mountain air, we awoke to a wonderful breakfast amonst the other guests and shared stories of the previous days events. Before we left for the weekend we topped it off with an in-room full body massage. It was a weekend I will never forget, Thanks to the wonderful folks at the Black Dog Inn.


Weekend Getaway

4.4 on May 12, 2008

Needed a relaxing weekend away since work and everyday life can be overwhelming. We found the perfect place! Carlos and Sheree were wonderful and provided us the relaxation we were looking for. Breakfast was amazing and the conversation that was afforded with the other guests as well as the owners was a great perk. We will definitely go back, as well as recommend this B&B to our friends and family.


Enjoyed our stay

4.4 on May 12, 2008

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Black Dog Inn. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful. The room has a great layout with lots of space and everything that you would need for a weekend away. The breakfast was very tasty but a little heavy on the sweet side. We would have enjoyed more protein such as eggs and less sweet foods. Overall we truly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Estes Park.


Exquisite breakfast

4.8 on May 11, 2008

Great location along walking trails and ready access to downtown. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and very private. Loved the quiet yard and beautiful views. The gourmet breakfasts were wonderful with lovely presentation. Carlos, Sheree, and Heidi made us feel like royalty.


Romantic Weekend

4.4 on May 06, 2008

I took my wife to the Black Dog Inn Bed & Breakfast in Estes Park. It was her birthday and we wanted to enjoy a romantic weekend away. I was very happy with our stay! The owners Carlos and Sheree were very kind people. They made us feel like we were at home! The room was excellent! Small romantic cottage, very comfortable bed, and the best of all, an amazing jacuzzi tub in the room. We couldnt have asked for a better stay! One other thing, the breakfast was amazing!! We definitely recommend!!


Black Dog Inn Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $255
  • Reviews (32) 4.5
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9705860374
  • Toll free 1-8667860374
Top