Black Forest B&B Lodge & Cabins Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

Wedding Night Stay

4.6 on October 25, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a special place to stay the night we got married. I loved the pictures on the website of the Haven room and the price was well within our budget so I decided on the Black Forest B&B. Even though we arrived late we were greeted at the door and given a personal escort to our room. The room was so homey and pretty-a perfect "home away from home" for our first night of marriage. Breakfast the next morning was cinnamon rolls (still warm and looked homemade), fruit, and yogurt. I would definitely consider staying at the Black Forest B&B again!


Happy

5 on October 11, 2012

I needed this vacation! Let me tell you this place was amazing! this was a family trip and I don't know who enjoyed it more, myself or my family. Anyways we all had a blast. One of the best trips I have ever took with my family.


Very enjoyable stay

5 on September 11, 2012

The ARK was quaint and cozy and we enjoyed the view of surrounding trees and buildings. We loved the pumpkin chocolate muffins and were always looking forward to what would come next on our plates. This would be a great place to have a family gathering!


Wonderful Vacation

5 on July 17, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation thanks to our wonderful hosts and their family. We took our boys on various outings in the mountains during the week and they really enjoyed it. It was so nice to have such a relaxing place to return to at night instead of the usual hotel room. We will recommend this B&B to all of our friends and family.


A grateful thank you

4.0 on July 11, 2012

Two weeks ago the Waldo Canyon Fire caused thousands of people to be displaced from their homes in the Colorado Springs, Colorado region. As one of those evacuees, I would like to express my appreciation and gratitude to a local business and individual that provided safe haven for several families, including myself, during those extraordinary circumstances. Susan Wilson, independent owner/operator of the Black Forest Bed and Breakfast, Lodge and Cabins was inundated with calls, tears and cars as people searched frantically for someplace safe to stay with their children, pets and possessions during the first week of the fire. Susan went above and beyond to accommodate and provide respite for seven thankful families during their time of need. . She even called and cancelled her previously booked tourist reservations so that these local families could stay as long as they needed to stay. Nestled in the fragrant pines 1,500 feet above the heat and smoke on the northeast side of the city, Susan’s facilities provided safe haven and comfort for these families as they anxiously waited for the word when they would be able to return to their homes. Now the fires are gone and the skies are blue once again in our beautiful Colorado. If and when you can, please help support the Colorado Springs community and the Black Forest Bed and Breakfast, Lodge and Cabins, by recommending the region to others as a vacation destination or even come here yourself. Susan Wilson’s Black Forest B&B is currently offering a 20 percent discount on all rooms and will donate an additional five percent to the Waldo Canyon Fire Victim Assistance Fund -- Pikes Peak United Way. Contact www.blackforestbb.com; 1-800-809-9901, cell: 719-233-1614.


gorgeous

5 on July 02, 2012

This place is just gorgeous! Our friends were married here and we think this is a great place for them to start their lives together.


Wonderful!

5 on June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it! We were there for an anniversary and it was lovely. everyone said they loved the location and plan on using t in the future. Thanks for providing us such a wonderful place.


Beautiful Surroundings

4.2 on June 07, 2012

The view of Pikes Peak and the Rocky Mountains was spectacular. We watched deer wwandering around on the property. It is very quiet and very relaxing. We ate breakfast on the patio and enjoyed the view.


Wonderful!

5 on May 18, 2012

We had such a wonderful time! The Ark is so beautiful. This was the perfect B&B for us and they run it well. We hope to return in the near future.


Amazing Experience

5 on May 04, 2012

I had an amazing experience here. So much thought and detail went into this home-like facility. Especially the Ark, with the book & movie selection, robes, and even tea & popcorn. I've never stayed somewhere and wanted to stay indoors my whole vacation!


thanks so much!

5 on March 08, 2012

When we had our wedding here in December, Susie made it a very memorable experience for us. We enjoyed everything about our stay and sincerely look forward to returning in the future. Thank you again and God bless.


Beautiful Place

4.8 on March 07, 2012

Our family had an informal reunion and I stayed at this B & B. It was such a beautiful place. The rooms were clean and decorated nicely. I loved the location and surrounding scenery.


Great Anniversary

5 on March 04, 2012

It was nice to get away from 7 kids and enjoy our 17 anniversary for a couple of nights with your B&B. We were able to relax and luxuriate in such a beautiful setting. It was nice to see 3 bucks feeding in the evening on the grass and leaves. The muffins were terrific! Thank you for a great time.


Love this Place!

4.8 on February 24, 2012

This is really one of the best places to stay while in Colorado. The room was cozy and very clean. I especially enjoyed the scenery and peacefulness while I was there.


Gorgeous

4.8 on January 19, 2012

This place is gorgeous. Our family had a great time. Nate & Kali chose the perfect spot to start their life.


Wonderful but pricey

4.8 on December 16, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. It was a little pricey though. But worth it.


So very disappointed!

2.2 on July 31, 2011

Room: 1) The suite was beautiful. 2) They had thought of almost everything we might need. 3) Lots of extra towels and linens, three fans, scissors, and even toys. 4) Scented rubbing alcohol in a spray bottle to use as a “green” bug spray. Safety Issues: 1) When we arrived, there was a note on the locked office door saying our room was ready. When we got to the suite, the door was open and the keys were inside. 2) There were no flashlights like the book said would be there, which became an issue when we discovered…3) Our porch light did not work. The deadbolt didn’t work as it was misaligned. Light in parking lot turned on & off sporadically, more off than on. 4) Couldn’t find a soul that worked there. Cleaning: 1) Spiderweb (spider incl) and tons of dust in the tub. 2) Brass bed had finger smudges and film of dust. 3) Two exterior doors and mirrored closet door had finger smudges. 4) One bathroom sink had film of dust above eye level. 4) Patio was covered with tree debris. Grounds: 1) Wooden play set appeared quite weathered. Entire area around the set had standing water and/or squishy mud. 2) Couldn’t find the llamas. 3) Found a dirt pen housing geese & chickens-food dish was filled to the brim with rain water. 4) B&B grounds had a neglected feeling-overgrown with weeds and underbrush. 5) Many wasps flying around. Food: No breakfast was served either day. Service: 1) Communication with owner is virtually nil. We have made numerous attempts to communicate with Susie before and after our stay. All we have received from her are “form” emails, one saying that our reservation was booked and one saying that we still owe $48, to which we cannot get a reason why. 2) Wasn’t informed of the wedding party-they took all the parking spots. 3) Didn’t feel welcome, nor did we feel our business was appreciated. Needless to say, we would NOT recommend this place to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
The Black Forest B&B has 4 homes on 10 acres. At the front door of our Main House it states if no one hears the doorbell, to call my cell phone. There are also notes on all the guest doors with my number and the guest's name on it. That system has worked since 1990. Since we are in a secure area, the doors are unlocked with the keys inside. A salesman from KGB Deals, had me try an online promotion. He added up my room rates from $75 to $225, divided by 7 rooms, came up with an average of $160 per room and had me offer a 2 night stay for $99 paid to KGB. We were overwhelmed and to manage our bookings to accommodate the larger occupancy than we were accustomed to, all the rooms with full kitchens were cabin rentals. Our Ark Suite is our most upscale suite. It is 600 square feet, has a living room with a fireplace, a king sized bedroom with a private patio, a 5 piece bath with a jetted tub, and a kitchen. It rents for $200 per night. It just had the surprise inspection by AAA where all the doors and locks are tested and passed. Our outdoor lights are motion lights That go off when they are not needed except for the light on the Ark that is on all night. Our wooden playset is very busy with our young summer guests. Because we have free roaming bunnies, we do not spray any pesticides here and being that we are in the woods, do get wasps, spiders, etc. The wintergreen rubbing alcohol when sprayed on the offending insect will kill it, disinfect where it was and not harm the guest. A week earlier, my housekeeper, a single mom with 8 children, asked me if she could have a wedding on Sunday afternoon with around 20 guests. They had a quick ceremony under our pavilion, with the rain falling around it, and a cake and punch reception.


Excellent get away

3.8 on May 03, 2011

I absolutely loved staying here! The view was great, the location in the heavily pined area gave a feeling of being remote, but yet so close to stores and the freeway for traveling to places I wanted to experience. The owner Susie was very sweet, hospitable and interesting to get to know a little. This was very reasonably priced and the Sunday morning cinnamon roll was fantastic!! I loved the set up here- I stayed in the "Hers" room. I had my privacy, yet interact with Susie if I chose to as she attended her work on the grounds.


Great Getaway

4.2 on March 14, 2010

The B & B was wonderful! Cozy, sweet cabin style rooms, wonderful hospitality. We celebrated our anniversary there and enjoyed being away in the forest with incredible views! The fireplace and the decor was perfect. The breakfast in the room was delicious and we will definitley go back!


A Night In The Forest

4.6 on September 23, 2009

It was a real treat for us to spend the night at the Black Forest B&B. There were beautiful accomodations of the log cabin sort. Such a nice place. We were away from the city, out in the trees, with the beautiful Rocky Mountains in the distance. How could it get any better!


Peace & Quiet

4.2 on July 29, 2009

An unusual inn with llamas, chickens, & geese to watch along with great views of the mountains. The rooms were clean and homey with homemade rolls and fruit in the morning.


Black Forest B&B

5 on July 25, 2008

We were in Colorado Springs for a friend's memorial service. Black Forest B&B was a nice respite. We stayed in the Ark, an upgrade from our reservation, which is a nice cabin with living area, kitchen, and bedroom. It was very quiet and relaxing. We were able to walk the grounds and view the mountains each eve. While the atmosphere is very laid back, we felt welcome. Breakfast of muffin and fruit, coffee, milk, and orange juice. Would recommend to people not expecting high end luxury, but clean, comfortable and peaceful.


Black Forest B&B

3.8 on July 17, 2008

Need hand rails by steps - We enjoyed staying here.


Perfect stay for rest and relaxation

5 on May 11, 2007

We stayed here for our anniversary a few years back. When I saw the option to write a review I just had to, because our stay was so wonderful. My husband and I stayed in the Barn, it was huge and beautifully decorated with more Ark decor than I've ever seen anywhere. It would easily accomidate a large group comfortably. The location is out of the city enough that it was quiet and relaxing. The Owners were very gracious and the breakfast was wonderful. This B&B remains in my mind the one against to judge all others we've stayed. It was perfect for a relaxing weekend.


Black Forest B&B Lodge & Cabins

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $350
  • Reviews (24) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7194954208
  • Fax 1-7194950688
  • Toll free 1-8008099901

Visit Website »

View details

Top