Alps Boulder Canyon Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
47 Reviews

Write A Review

Definitely will go back

3.8 on October 23, 2014

Stayed one night to spend time in Boulder with friends so we didn't spend much time at the Inn. Definitely want to go back and spend more time in the relaxing environment.


Enjoyed our stay.

3.0 on October 14, 2014

Nice place; met expectations. The fireplace in the room was great. A broken chain on the toilet may not seem like a big deal but being told to "just reach inside the tank and pull" was a bit much. Nice people at the front desk; excellent breakfast were the high points. Also, could you add a small entry sign at the driveway entrance? It's especially hard to see at night; in the rain.


great location for travel into the canyon

4.2 on September 08, 2014

Thank you for a nice stay at a great location


Very enjoyable

4.4 on September 05, 2014

The B&B is a rustic looking but modernized place in picturesque Boulder Canyon only a few miles from Boulder. The room was as pictured on the web site. In spite of the proximity to the highway we did not hear highway noise from our room. The breakfast was delicious! The staff was very hospitable and helpful. The Jacuzzi worked fine after we figured out how to use the switch but you might want to ask for instructions. The place is up for sale, so visit soon!


Wonderful vintage Inn.

4.4 on August 24, 2014

The Inn is just what I had hoped. Vintage feel. We slept with our windows open and could hear the river rushing by. The food was wonderful.


Great place to stay if you don't want a hotel

4.0 on August 13, 2014

The Alps is a great place to stay if you don't want stay at a hotel. The overall look of the Alps is a bit "tired", but very comfortable. Our room had a nice balcony with a little bench which was nice for getting some fresh air in the evening. The breakfast was very good as was the supply of cookies at the front desk. The location is also very nice, just a few minutes out of downtown Boulder.


A very comfortable stay

4.0 on August 07, 2014

We stayed at this inn one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was very clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed the back patio in the evening. The innkeepers were very accommodating, and the evening dessert (homemade key lime pie) was a nice touch! It was in a great location, just outside of town - quiet even though along the main road. Some may consider it too 'rustic' but I always prefer inns with some charm & character over austere chain hotels. Would definitely stay here again if we have the opportunity to visit Boulder again in the future.


Stay at Alps Inn

3.2 on August 03, 2014

We had a nice stay at the Alps Canyon Inn. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. The welcome desert was made in house and delicious-key lime pie. The grounds were a work in progress but it appeared that many projects have been started and never finished. The room itself was clean and comfortable but the bathrooms and outside area were not at all clean.


Alps - Wallstreet

4.0 on July 31, 2014

Really loved the feel of the Inn. Breakfast was very much close to perfection. Loved the scones- and the meatless items. Thanks for giving us a choice of breakfast items.The outside patio outside of our rooms- danced with hummingbirds- wondrous to the soul and sight. Very impressed with the L'Occitane products. The surroundings were interesting and very comfortable.Thanks for the warmth and hospitality. Everyone was very kind and open to conversation.We genuinely knew if we needed assistance - the folks of this inn would gladly assist without hesitation. A memory maker. Namaste'


Awesome. Awesome. Awesome

5 on July 30, 2014

What a wonder and quaint place to stay. The rooms are incredible, the staff super friendly, and the breakfast outstanding. I can't say enough good things about this place. You will love every moment. I love how peaceful and quiet it is. Absolutely no noise from any other rooms. No negative statements from me.


The Perfect Vacation

4.6 on July 09, 2014

The Alps Boulder Canyon Inn is perfectly situated in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. It's just minutes from the great hiking trails in the Chautauqua Park and shopping and dining of the downtown Boulder Pearl Street area. The Inn was well decorated, the room was great, the fire places lit. There were porches and patios. The bed was comfy. The inn was well run with a helpful but unobtrusive staff. The breakfast fare was tasty but limited to two choices. I think the option of a couple of eggs with bacon would have been nice. All in all, my wife and I are very happy that we stayed at the Alps Boulder Canyon Inn. We'll recommend it to friends and come back for another stay.


Nice B&B in beautiful location

3.0 on May 30, 2014

Nice bed and breakfast in great location! Only 3 miles from downtown Boulder. The inn is a bit outdated and needs maybe fresh paint job. We actually got upgraded to nicer room with jacuzzi which was a very nice surprise. Our room was lacking small cabinet in the bathroom to put toiletries in - it's my only complaint. Service is very friendly and helpful. Cozy, rustic mountain lodge experience. Beautiful scenery around. Wifi available. They make the best scones I've ever had! You have to hot choices of breakfast, cereal, tea, coffee and orange juice.


Lovely Getaway

4.8 on December 04, 2013

My husband and I always enjoy our annual trip here. Such wonderful service, great room (Magnolia) facing the mountains, & a huge bath tub in the middle of the room. It's very romantic and the staff is amazing.


Fabulous Host and Lovely Setting

4.6 on June 02, 2013

Elegant rooms, gorgeous victorian property. Super accommodating staff and a great breakfast. A coffee maker in the room would have made this a 25 star review!


A Delightful Rustic Experience

4.6 on March 22, 2013

The Magnolia room was everything we had hoped for- cozy feeling in a spacious suite. We even had a chance to enjoy the in-room soaking tub and fireplace! The people who run the hotel are sweet, attentive, but unimposing and the food was yummy. We booked a room at the Inn in order to take advantage of the proximity to Eldora Mountain Ski Resort, but ended up loving our time there just for its own relaxing atmosphere.


Love the Boulder Canyon !

4.6 on September 25, 2012

Second time that we've stayed at the Boulder Canyon and we love it. Excellent rooms. Friendly staff. Great breakfast.


A beautiful high country expierence

5 on September 21, 2012

Our Stay at the Alps Boulder Canyon Inn was FANTASTIC! The workmanship that was put in the restoration of the lodge was expert and the rooms, food and hospitality were excellent. I had the pleasure of meeting the owners and could see why the Alps Boulder Canyon Inn has become such a success! I highly recommend staying at this Inn if your are wanting a Colorado expierence.


best B & B ever

5 on September 18, 2012

Everything was first class all the way. Above and beyond!!


Alps

3.2 on August 30, 2012

It was further from town than we thought. Needed to drive. Otherwise it was as expected.


A great getaway

4.6 on May 30, 2012

This place is great. A rustic canyon B&B, the Alps is nothing short of fantastic. My wife and I loved the staff, rooms, and scenery. This isn't a five star hotel, so if you like to be pampered this place isn't for you, but if you like a comfortable, homey, cozy mountain lodge experience, you can't miss.


Great room in a fun spot

4.2 on April 12, 2012

During a recent trip to boulder we enjoyed staying at the Alps Boulder Canyon Inn. Our room was the Magnolia, which was fantastic. The fainting couch was a nice touch, and the jetted tub was great to relax in. Although the mountain view from the patio wasn't the best, watching the moon rise over it was quite fun. We would return, thanks!


Rustic and Romantic; Clean and Comfortable; Delicious Desserts; and Friendly Staff

5 on February 14, 2012

Before we even arrived, we were impressed with how helpful and nice everyone at The Alps was when we inquired about restaurants and things to do in the Boulder area. After we arrived, we knew for sure we had made a great selection as to where to stay. We couldn't help but be impressed by the large fireplace when we first walked in, and our welcome was as warm as the fresh homemade cookies we enjoyed. Our room was amazing, from the gorgeous mission style furniture to the jacuzzi and the warm fireplace to the relaxing in-room music. Oh, and the key lime pie in the evening was superb! One of the best things during our stay, however, was the surprise of having a full breakfast prepared just for us since we had to leave before the normal serving time. We really appreciated and enjoyed the best-ever scones and quiche before heading out to the mountains! To top off everything, they even printed off recipes for us to take home to "try" and replicate. We're sure nothing will taste as good here in Missouri, though, without the service and atmosphere provided by The Alps Boulder Canyon Inn. --Gary and Laura


The best weekend ever!

5 on February 12, 2012

We wanted a quaint little private wedding in a small type atmosphere, very private, and we found the best place to elope! They went completely out of their way to make us feel comfortable and happy. They arranged the entire event, and it went very smooth. It was so beautiful in Boulder, and the rooms were outstanding. The locals were also so friendly. A breath of fresh air. The breakfasts were amazing! Thank you to everyone that helped us have the best possible weekend and wedding ever. Can't wait to come back.


A Boulder Dream

4.8 on February 12, 2012

This is by far the best and most cozy bed & breakfast we have ever been to. Very clean, comfortable, Welcome mat is larger then life (so are the fireplaces and soaking tubs). Service it top notch, bed is super cozy and other guests always have a smile. We have made a choice to make this our annual Boulder getaway "Place to stay".


Miller's Review

4.0 on January 07, 2012

Wonderful stay. Gracious host and hostess. Delicious food. Cozy quarters.


Best Bed and Breakfast in Boulder

5 on January 07, 2012

For our honeymoon, we reserved a room at Alps Boulder Canyon Inn. We got the ski package and the whole experience exceeded our expectations. This is the perfect place for a honeymoon. The room has a fireplace and jacuzzi/bathtub. Very romantic. The house itself has three different fireplaces, with comfortable lounge areas for conversation, along with a bar of endless coffee, teas, hot chocolate, and chocolate chip cookies. We were so happy that we chose this Bed and Breakfast. The family who owns it are so nice. We will definitely be spending our anniversary here. It is only 30 minutes from the El Dora ski resort, and 9 minutes from downtown Boulder. We had such a fabulous time!!! Dennis and Jessica Bare


Wonderful Anniversary Getaway

4.0 on January 06, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 19th anniversary. This was one of our best B&B experiences ever! Our hosts were pleasant and very informative. Our room was perfect, with a great two person tub and fireplace. Rustic furnishings throughout, very cozy "lodge" type feel to it. The key lime pie was fantastic. This will definitely be a repeat for years to come.


A nice place to stay

3.0 on December 28, 2011

Staff were prompt and helpful, the inn was quiet and peaceful and the atmosphere was rustic and charming. I'd stay here again for sure!


Romantic and Refreshing getaway

5 on December 26, 2011

The Alps Inn was the perfect getaway.The Alps Inn is right in the Moutain and it's beauty is breathtaking. The room we stayed in had a huge bed, a nice fireplace and a big beautiful bathtub. Each morning the Inn had a lovely breakfast with fresh fruit, delicious scones with homemade spreads, egg fritatta, orange juice and coffee. Everthing was fresh. At night the fireplace in the lounging area filled the air with crackling firewood. Greatest smell ever. Hot tea was always available as well as fresh baked cookies or homade key lime pie. Jeannine and John were very hospitable and everything about them, the whole place,was soothing, relaxing, comforting. They were very helpful with information on different types of cuisine, activities to do and places to see during the day. This was the best vacation we have had in a long time. We literally lost track of what day it was because we were so lost in all of the beauty of Inn and the surrounding area. We will be visiting often. :)


Wonderful stay!

5 on November 26, 2011

We had a wonderful week and felt like part of the family.


Given the price, I expected a bit more

2.8 on October 27, 2011

Paid $183 for one night - I felt that was quite pricey for one of their mid-range rooms. The room opened to a shared patio accessed through a glass door a couple feet from the bed; the glass was covered by a curtain that billowed with any air movement - so it felt less than private. Bedside clock was broken, sink drained poorly. Bar of soap at sink was unwrapped when we arrived in our room (used?) - the woman showing us the room identified it immediately and removed it. Plus side: great breakfast, great cookies on the counter, nice toiletries and beautiful furniture in the room, very interesting building overall. Multiple fireplaces which were lit in the evening and during breakfast - made these common areas most inviting.


This is not what it used to be.

1.0 on October 25, 2011

I can see in its hey day, this was a beautiful place. But now it is unkempt, dirty and the food is not so great. The shower curtain had missing rings so that it hung lop sided and was just uncalled for. The Drapery rod was pulling away from the wall, we were sure it would be coming down on our head during the night. The Hot Tub was not working. The grounds have not been groomed in a long time; a quick leaf blower would have helped tremendously. The fire place we were told would be running from 6pm until midnight, more like 8pm. Worst B and B ever for me.


GREAT STAY!! Couldn't be happier

4.8 on October 11, 2011

We stayed for just a night with my wife and it was by far the BEST NIGHT of our trip. We were served homemade chocolate cookies as we checked in, then they had a choice of key lime pie and some other desert at night. The next morning they had fresh orange juice with great coffee and we got to choose from pumpkin waffles or this amazing quiche. Oh, and they had a fresh blueberry scone with orange marmalade and strawberry jam to start you off. Everything homemade by the way! All huge portions, AMAZING!!! I couldn't believe how plentiful and extremely tasty EVERYTHING was (and all included). I can't believe the negative reviews ("rundown, shabby..."). Your staying in the middle of a canyon in CO that was an old 1800's lodge, its rich in history and character. I thought it was exactly the type of B&B we were wanting. If your wanting the Ritz of Beaver Creek is about 200 miles away, knock yourself out (stayed there too). Staff was great, let us check in early, checked out late. Can't wait to go back.


Weekend Getaway

4.8 on October 11, 2011

Twice a year we visit our daughter in Boulder. In the past we have stayed at local hotels. I found this place online and am thrilled to say it was delightful. The rooms are decorated beautifully, the breakfast are gourmet quality, and one of my favorites were the homemade cookies and pastries that were available in the lobby in the evening. The location is in Boulder Canyon about 10 minutes from downtown and it is directly across the street from Boulder creek.There are plenty of places inside and out to relax and enjoy the surroundings. We will visit again and from now on when we come to Boulder this is where we will stay. John and Jeanine were so lovely, my husband and I enjoyed talking with them for quite awhile. The staff was also very accommodating. The only negative thing about the Inn is when you are driving in from town it is kind of hard to see the entrance. After a couple of times coming in, it was no big deal. Thanks John and Jeanine for a wonderful weekend getaway.


Loved being in the mountains

4.8 on September 13, 2011

Our patio door opened onto a mountain cliff where deer were checking us out from about 15 yards away. Very cool. Our room was very comfy and had many amenities including a free standing tub and high end soaps, etc. Breakfast was really good as well. I would definitely stay again.


Great Service and Homey Feel

5 on September 05, 2011

Great beginning to a once in a lifetime weekend! We were promptly greeted upon arriving at the Alps and immediately felt at home. The room was perfect, we stayed in the Ordelofan with a double jacuzzi bathtub and it was great. The room was cozy and homey and the creaks and squeaks just added to the "inn-style" ambiance. The next morning my now fiance and I were meant to go on a balloon ride which was actually cancelled due to weather, however the staff left us fruit, scones, juice and granola in the fridge behind the counter. It turns out it came in handy since we were up at 5:30AM to get ready for the balloon ride that got cancelled. Breakfast was by far my favorite part - the Southwestern Quiche and the Belgian Waffles were right and the scones were to die for!! Thanks to the entire Alps Boulder Canyon Inn staff for a more than pleasant stay... by the way I ended up proposing to my girlfriend the following day!


Very Enjoyable

3.4 on March 26, 2011

This is a great place, with GREAT belgium waffles and dessert!!!!!! The staff were extremely friendly and were so kind. When we checked in they let us know we had booked the smallest room online and they were going to upgrade our room. The food and service were amazing, but the inn itself needed a little bit of work both in the rooms and the outdoor areas. Overall a great place!!!!


Lovely Stay!

4.0 on March 21, 2011

Not only were the views beautiful and the silence relaxing but the service was wonderful too! All the wonderful complimentary services included are just the cherry on top of this mountain getaway. Staff is very helpful and friendly, more than happy to ensure that your stay is all it should be. The front desk made great recommendations for dinner places which was followed up with a bath in the whirlpool tub which was very much worth the extra pennies! It is very large, romantic, and soothing. I highly recommend it. The bed was a dream as well, very comfortable and welcoming. A very lovely stay, if you're in the area try the Alps Inn!


A romantic getaway

4.8 on January 25, 2011

As the snow fell in Boulder Canyon, we spent a wonderful night at the Alps Boulder Canyon Inn. Even though we were the only guests due to the storm, low season, and it being midweek, the owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were given a free upgrade, treated to roaring fires, delicious desserts, and a good breakfast. Outside, it looked like Narnia! We had a really good time.


Warm inviting and friendly Inn- a must.

4.0 on December 09, 2010

The hosts are friendly and helpful with loads of suggestions to have a great time in Boulder. The rooms are fabulous as is the breakfast each morning with recipes available. We loved staying here and recommend this Inn to any and all travelers. Thanks, Alice and Richard


Peaceful and Beautiful

5 on August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Alps in October when it was cold and snowy. It was so beautiful! The fireplace was cozy, the jacuzzi was comfortable, and they had complimentary high-end bath products. The hostess was accommodating and the breakfast was wonderful. We are coming back any time we need a mini vacation.


An Inspiring Retreat

4.4 on March 10, 2010

Minutes from down town Boulder, this amazing Mansion is a Classic Americain inspiring retreat. Gorgeous room with luxurious bath and a romantic fireplace. The Hostess was most delightful and her culinary skills with obvious French influence were beyond all expectations, thanksfully no live snails for breakfast :) An experience not to miss. A tous Voyageurs Francais, c'est une escale a ne pas rater!


Outstanding Experience

5 on January 05, 2010

You need to experience it to appreciate this historic and beautiful lodge nestled in Boulder Canyon, Boulder, Colorado. Its beauty, ambiance, and service were all exceptional. We highly recommend this BandB. You will do your self a favor to stay here. P.S. The breakfast was delectable, particularly the home scones that melt in your mouth.


Highly recommend the Alps Boulder Canyon Inn

4.0 on December 11, 2009

My wife and I visted the Alps Nov. 2009, and found the Inn to be a beautifully remolded Inn. The rooms are very large and ours had beautiful stained glass windows, and doors, and the over sized beautiful Kohlar jetted bathtubs are on pedistals with raised finished oak bases . The bed was exceptional, with a beautiful comforter. We met the owners John and Jeanne Vanderhardt, which are two of the nicest people we have ever encountered in our travels throughout the world. They have rebuilt this Inn, and obviously over the yrs. put alot of TLC into building this project. The breakfast is by far one of the best breakfast I have ever eaten in my life, and the desserts in the evening are to die for, plus a wide selection of teas, brewed coffee, and home made cookies are always available. You get exceptional home made foods which are prepared or baked daily. There are fireplaces in most of the rooms and the ours made our room so much more cozy. If one is looking for a nice get away for a few days, with a very relaxing enviornment, with two of the nicest owners you will ever meet in your life, this is the place. Thank you so much John and Jeanne for being such gracious host, and for making our vacation to Boulder so memorable. Marc and Terriann Loring


Cozy B&B minute from Boulder

3.8 on November 12, 2009

Staying at The Alps is almost like a step back in time, when staying at a hotel was almost an event in itself. The former Moose Lodge has been extensively renovated, and is now about as cozy and inviting a place as I have stayed. The staff is friendly, the breakfast quite tasty (and better than a lot of eateries I've been to in Boulder), and the rooms clean. If you're ever in Boulder, and want an alternative to the Holiday Inn (or other such chains), I would recommend this venue whole-heartedly.


Shabby without the chic

2.2 on October 17, 2009

The Alps is in need of a serious make-over. A friendly staff does not make up for ripped paper roller shades, soggy waffles and an air of better times past. And the rates are huge for the value given. Do not stay here until you read of a total renovation.


Pure rustic charm with a sense of history

5 on July 28, 2008

My husband and I were there for our high school reunion this past weekend. We stayed overnight one night after the Saturday reunion party. This former Moose Lodge/miners' gathering spot is continually being upgraded by the owners. The bedrooms are distinctive with antiques (& some with double jacuzzis), fireplace, optional piped-in music, outdoor patios. The shaded front porch with a profusion of hanging begonias is a perfect spot for reading or conversation. The gourmet breakfast is delightfully memorable. The location is near the cultural and recreational amenities of Boulder and the mountains. Will definitely recommend it to others!


Alps Boulder Canyon Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $124 - $267
  • Reviews (47) 4.2
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3034445445
  • Fax 1-3034445522
  • Toll free 1-8004142577

Visit Website »

View details

Top