Winter Park Chateau Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
35 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful place to stay

3.8 on March 02, 2014

The owners, Laura and Greg, do a splendid job on creating a fun, comfortable place to stay that also gives value as a community. The downstairs rooms encourage mingling with other guests which seemed an important experience for everyone staying here. The owners knowledge of local dining is only matched by how well they are liked and known about town. We had some dinning discounts as part of our package and this was enhanced by other deals available to all the guests at local eateries. We loved the variety and quality of the breakfasts. Eggs, burritos, French toast, good coffee and juice. The evening snack/happy hour was a favorite too and allowed time with other guests. The rooms are sumptuous and comfortable and the Chateau is well appointed and wonderfully eclectic, suiting a ski/mountain getaway. Rates are higher than hotels but having lived in hotels we can say that the added benefits described above give value that you won't find elsewhere. The location is very good and allowed us to walk every evening to different restaurants throughout town.


Hidden gem

5 on February 25, 2014

What can I say, an absolutely beautiful Chateau,the rooms were clean, luxurious and cosy.The breakfast was always a treat we looked forward to getting up to as was the complimentary happy hour wine and nibbles after a day on the slopes.Greg and Laura are fantastic hosts both going out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated as a customer, guest and friend.Offering personal ideas as to where to visit and eat out for dinner, we had a fabulous stay and will definately be back one day.


Lovely Place

4.2 on February 12, 2014

It is a beautiful place. The owners and operators were very riendly and helpful


Cozy and comfortable

5 on February 06, 2014

This was a pleasant surprise. We've been coming to Winter Park for several years during the ski season and never knew this B&B was here. We felt very welcomed and at home as soon as we arrived. The 5:00 wine and hors d'oeuvres were refreshing and it's so fun to put on slippers and enjoy the community/TV room with other guests. If we wanted to be by ourselves, we went up to our room and made ourselves cozy by our gas fireplace. The breakfast is fabulous. Laura and Greg really outdo themselves each morning with fruit, an egg souffle or other egg dish, and a sweet roll or other side dish. The location is in the center of Winter Park and the ski bus comes right at the end of the driveway. Very convenient! We hope to be back soon!!


Winter Park Chateau

4.6 on August 04, 2013

My wife and I are from California and we were traveling through Colorado. We were celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary and decided to stay at the Winter Park Chateau. The place was amazing, the service was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great experience and look forward to going back one day.


A perfect B&B

4.8 on April 08, 2013

The Winter Park Chateau is a true luxury B&B. We enjoyed every minute of our stay: The warm welcome, the wine & cheese hours at the fire place, the very nice and very clean Breckenridge room with the huge flat screen TV, the hot tub with the beautiful view on the mountains, the ski bus directly in front of the house and all the little thoughtful details. The owners as well as the innkeepers are extremely nice and supportive and made our stay a great experience in Winter Park. With the best regards from Germany, Nicole & Martin


Fantastic!

5 on March 24, 2013

The stay was absolutely wonderful, mainly because everyone was so friendly. I actually proposed to my girlfriend during this vacation and the hotel helped me do it. They gave her little notes when I asked them to and decorated the room while we were out to dinner. The people there are just fantastic. Also, the homemade breakfast every morning was a great way to start the day.


it is the best place i have ever stayed at. Will return

5 on May 08, 2012

Winter Part Chateau was the best place I have ever stayed at. the ouner and employees were the best.


Great Stay at the Chateau

5 on March 18, 2012

The B&B is wonderful...very comfortable,well designed for privacy and quiet. The instant fireplaces were a lovely touch. Our hosts were just perfect...made you feel at home right away and provieded all the information that newcomers needed. Laura and Greg seemed to make sure that all their guest were enjoying there time in Winter Park and CO. We followed their meal recommendations and had some excellent meals at very reasonable prices. They seem to have created a place for everyone to enjoy from families with young children, to friends to romantic get-aways.


Don't bother with this "up-scale" Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on March 14, 2012

I rarely feel strongly enough to write a review but I had to write something regarding this "up-scale" bed and breakfast. The only up-scale thing about this impostor was the up-scale price, $190.00. The minute we entered they took our money and then took us on a tour that left us wanting to put a hold on our credit card....hopefully they used that money to buy some new bedding, towels and a vacuum for the next suckers that came through. I sound awful, but I am not exaggerating. When we entered they did take our money within seconds, offered some store bought cookies, and took us on a tour of the home with the mismatched and extremely used garage sale furnishings. It is very cluttered and upon close review a thorough cleaning is long overdue. The beer cap on the floor showed that our carpet hadn't been cleaned prior to our arrival and the 6 inch hole in the pillow sham showed their extent of caring. They offered wine and hor d'oeuvres from 5-6 and this really highlights the misrepresentation of the website. (We reviewed the website on our return home) We really could have cared less about this as we were going out shortly afterwards for dinner but the snacks were Costco peanut butter pretzels, cheese-its, vegges and some cheese and salami. Right at 6 pm they put the wine away. What is up with that? We decided to sleep in but that did not happen with the roaring of the vacuum and the washer and dryer going out in the hallway. The vacuum obviously needs a new belt after looking at our carpet. I have never felt so un-happy about handing over 190.00 for what I thought would be a wonderful, romantic evening. Their advertising is certainly colorful and these hosts are either too busy to run a bed and breakfast or just stopped caring....but not to busy to take your hard earned money at the door before their unsuspecting guests realize what a racket they are running.

Innkeeper Response
I must say, I'm a bit confussed and concerned about this guest review and their disappointment in the room and facility. As they booked on line through B&B or their affiliate, all payment is made in advance and no money or credit card is even given at the time of arrival, so I'm not sure what they are referring to regarding payment? As to the property and the room, this is a "Bed and Breakfast" and it is how we represent it. Winter Park does not offer many options regarding "upscale" lodging. We are, in fact, the nicest property in Winter Park, even if it doesn't live up to everyones level of "upscale". This guests arrived after sking and was offered cookies and then wine and appetizers. As what we advertise, we tend to serve between 5-6. This is not an "all you can eat and drink service", just a light snack before dinner. If guests arrive at 6, they are offered the same service as if they arrived at 5. This is also the same for breakfast. We serve between 8 and 8:30, but if they arrive at 8:30, they are welcome to enjoy the environment and service until they are done. This guest chose not to get up for breakfast, so unfortunally, (or fortunally) they could not comment on the breakfast service. After breakfast and after check outs, we typically start cleaning the rooms and common areas. During the winter, our guests usually are up and out sking by 10. If this guests was awaken by a vaccuum or washing machine, they must have been sleeping and after that. This is a 10,000 square foot house, with common hallways and not the Ritz. We are so sorry for their disappointment and wished they would have shared their concerns to us personally. We certainly could have moved them to another room or addressed their issues, if we had only known.


Winter Park Chateau

4.0 on March 14, 2012

Great location and very nice accommodations. Best of all was the friendliness of the proprietors and the inn keepers. Lovely breakfast every morning and excellent "happy hour" awaiting us upon our arrival off the slopes. If ever back in Winter Park, will not hesitate to stay at Winter Park Chateau. Kathie and John Molesky


Does not live up to owner description

2.4 on December 20, 2011

The owner called this an "upscale" b&b so we were horribly disappointed. The room was so small but I picked it because it had a fire place. Of course it did not work and they could not get it fixed during our stay. The comforter was so old and ratty I could not believe that was their version of upscale. The comforter and pillow case had stains (that looked a lot like dried blood stains). The floor was disgusting...covered in stains and burn/bald spots near the sink. The mattress was hands down the most uncomfortable mattress I've ever slept on...it was at least 20 years old and the whole bed shook every time we moved. Lastly, the walls are so thin we could hear 'everything' going on in the rooms next door and the train sounded like it was coming in our room throughout the night. No wonder they insisted on payment in full when we got there (before we could even take our coats off). I would say the room was more like a Motel 6 than any upscale b&b I've been in. On the brighter side...the host was super nice and the food was pretty good. We will never go back...oh, and we stayed in the Canyon City Room. Not sure about other rooms.

Innkeeper Response
I'm sorry this guest was disappointed in their accommodations. Our first and foremost goal is to have the room clean and tidy. We use a laundry service and if the linens were not spotless, I wish they would have let us know. We would have been happy to change them immediately. I'm sorry they didn't like the bedspread or blanket but it was chosen to compliment the Victorian Style. I have to say that this guests chose this property, not because of the fireplace, but because of the discount coupon. As soon as we were notified that the fireplace didn't work, we call a technician. If one knows Winter Park, the train passes through the whole town and is a very low-key ski community. All of the lodging properties are very modest. We don't sell ourselves as a "Ritz", but compared to the other options, we are certainly the best.


A Must-Stay

4.0 on October 12, 2011

Nestled against a backdrop of Autumn-kissed trees and overlooking downtown Keystone, the Winter Park Chateau is an inviting place to stay while exploring the majestic Rocky Mountains. Owners Gary and Laura are exceptionally helpful upon arrival, with a seamless check-in and tour of their charming bed and breakfast. A nutritious morning meal, sparkling bathroom, and a good night's rest rounded out my wish list for the perfect weekend getaway. My expectations were surpassed as I climbed into the hot tub under the stars with a glass of champagne in hand after an adventurous day of biking, hiking and shopping. I am counting the days until I shred the slopes at the resort and find myself relaxing once more at the WP Chateau.


Birthday Celebration

3.6 on September 13, 2011

What a great place to spend a weekend! The hosts are so friendly and welcoming. It's like staying at your favorite aunt's house, a home away from home. We loved having breakfast prepared for us in the morning, mountain biking during the day, the comfort of the living room and the hot tub/wine to finish off the evening.


Nice Enough

3.2 on August 25, 2011

Hosts were gracious and helpful. Breakfast was good, however had specific time 8-8.30 only. Room was by railroad tracks and had to have window open as it was hot without air-conditioning. Did not have fan that could use to circulate air or drown our railway sound.


My wife and I had a great time at The Winter Park Chateau!

4.6 on August 10, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 20th Anniversary at The Winter Park Chateau and had a fantastic time!


Lovely Winter Park B&B

4.4 on August 07, 2011

We had a wonderful 4-night stay in the Aspen Room. It was spacious, quiet, and had a large flat-screen TV and wireless internet. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the decor very lovely. Laura asked us to call when we were on our way, which we did. When we arrived Carol had ice water and munchies waiting for us. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented and included a variety of fresh fruits as well. I'm a very early riser who likes her coffee, and Laura was so accommodating that she had the coffee pot set to come on at 6 a.m. just for me. In the afternoons, Carol prepared a lovely tray of cheese, crackers, fruit, and wine if we wanted it. Laura and Greg were very gracious and helpful but not intrusive. They gave us great recommendations for dining and activities, and we especially enjoyed the Thursday evening concert in the park. They were generous with coupons too which helped with meal cost. The day we left Laura took care of printing our boarding passes. I rated the rooms as exceeding expectations because I saw only the Aspen room so can't make a fair judgment about the others but would be surprised if they weren't equally as nice. I rated the value as meeting my expectations because I know that you don't get the extra perks offered by Winter Park Chateau for a budget price. I chose this B&B based on other reviews and on its proximity to the Rocky Mountain National Park (about 40 minutes away) and other interesting towns in that area. A TV and wireless internet are a must for my husband, another reason for our choice. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the hummingbirds swarm around the feeders, some of them species we don't see in our home state of Tennessee. I have no reservations about recommending this B&B and will stay there again if we have the opportunity to go back.


Another wonderful trip to Winter Park Chateau!

3.8 on August 02, 2011

Winter Park Chateau is a wonderful B&B to spend your time while in the Winter Park area. Laura and Greg are terrific hosts who look out for each guest. It is a pleasant stay and you truly feel at home! We are looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommended!!


Wonderful Experience

5 on July 26, 2011

Our recent visit to the Winter Park Chateau was such a wonderful experience! Laura and Greg were very gracious hosts. They made us feel welcome in their home and our room was beautifully decorated and well maintained. This clean, comfortable room was the perfect setting for a great night's sleep! They also gave us many great "insider" tips about the area, that made our time in Winter Park even more enjoyable. Laura was very attentive to our needs, but also very respectful of our privacy. Breakfast was delicious, and beautifully presented in a bright, sunny setting. The afternoon wine and appetizer plate was served on the deck with the humming birds--such a nice surprise after a full day of exploring the area. We definitely plan to visit again!


Outstanding weekend

3.4 on August 09, 2010

WOW!! If I hadn't experienced it, I wouldn't believe it. The Chateau and the Lewis' have a perfect mixture of adventure and excitement, coupled with relaxation and downtime. Now, imagine all of this, in a beautiful mountain atmosphere. I've recommended staying here to all my friends and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Winter Park.


Friendly accommodating gourmet B&B

4.6 on August 08, 2010

Wonderful breakfast, beautiful room with all the amenities, great outdoor hot tub, and super advice regarding hiking and dining in the Winter Park area


Above and beyond

5 on July 28, 2010

This inn was very nice, and a great value. What really stood out, though, was all the little details that Laura and Greg provided--a nice gameroom, coffee and tea at all hours, an awesome second-floor deck with a hot tub (and a nice mountain view), complete with outdoor speakers, slippers and bathrobes; a pitcher of fresh water in the room, hand lotions, a great patio for a really good breakfast, DirecTV subscriptions with nice HDTV's in the rooms. We stayed here in July, but it's proximity to the mountain would be awesome in the winter. The room was great, with a nice back door and balcony for convenient parking. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and all in all, it was just a wonderful experience. Well done, Laura and Greg!


Winter Park Chateau is a jewel in the Colorado Rockies

4.2 on January 26, 2010

If you are planning a visit to Winter Park, Colorado, let me share with you a true jewel of a Bed & Breakfast: The Winter Park Chateau in downtown Winter Park. I found this B&B last year when looking for a unique experience for out-of-state guests, and was delighted when our stay exceeded my expectations in every way. The Winter Park Chateau is owned and operated by Laura and Greg Lewis, who totally renovated this eight unit Victorian-like building. Laura and Greg are remarkably gracious hosts, and from the moment you arrive, make you feel so welcome that it is a little like going home to visit family. Your stay includes a home-cooked breakfast each morning, and then each evening a wine and hors d' oeuvres layout where the guests mingle and chat up the days’ activities before dinner at the wide variety of local restaurant choices. The rooms are charming, comfortable and well-equipped, including large flat-screen TVs. Amenities include a large hot tub spa and on-site massage therapist. The building is one block off the main street and on a ski bus route, so getting around is easy. I had never been a huge B&B fan before my stay at the Winter Park Chateau, but since last year we have been regulars and even plan trips around availability there. Put this on your list for romantic getaways or family activities – you won’t be disappointed.


Winter Wonderland

5 on January 07, 2010

We enjoyed our family vacation in Winter Park at this charming upscale Bed and Breakfast! The location in the middle of town is within walking distance to everything. Even better is that the Winter Park Resort shuttle picks you and your skis up at the end of the driveway! My personal favorite was the personalized service and friendliness of Laura and Greg. Their knowledge of the town, attention to detail and a personal dietary restriction made our stay even that much better. Daily breakfast and hors d'oeuvres are added value at this winter wonderland!


Stay here!

5 on January 04, 2010

Our family of 5 is from Minnesota. We take 1-3 trips to Colorado to ski every year. We have stayed in condos, hotels, private homes, hostels and B&Bs. Winter Park Chateau is at the top of our list and in our opinion is THE place to stay in Winter Park...here's why; great location, great service, great value. Laura and Greg were our hosts. Our days started with an excellent breakfast. They were better and more diverse than the local restaurant fare. Laura is a super cook (btw, it doesn't take long to be on a first name basis). Greg skis and gave us the "insider" mountain tips. The first tip was to take the bus to the lifts. It picked us up at the end of their driveway (15 steps) and we were at the lifts in less than 10 minutes. It was easier and quicker than driving! Après ski, they served appetizers, (shrimp cocktail, nuts, popcorn...) wine and other beverages. Then it was into their new hot tub to relax. They also have a masseuse on staff that another guest raved about. The rooms were clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable. We had a big screen TV, fresh robes and fresh water. They provided a rollaway bed at no extra charge. Most pleasant was the value. Our daily rate was about the same as staying in a condo or hotel yet we had all the extras. We drove out from Minnesota and arrived at 9:30 am. Greg had suggested we park at the Chateau, change clothes and go skiing from there. Our reservation was for that evening. As it turns out, they had our room ready and allowed us to check in early. Did I mention great service?


A Must Visit!

4.4 on December 26, 2009

The Winter Park Chateau is relaxing and quiet, and hosts Laura and Greg are friendly and welcoming! This beautiful B&B nestled just off the main street in Winter Park is walking distance to restaurants or shopping, and the bus to the ski area picks up right outside the front door. If you're looking for some serious R&R, take a dip in the rooftop hot tub, or book a treatment with their in-house massage therapist. (One of the best massages I've ever had!) Wake up to a hearty, delicious breakfast that will fuel whatever you have planned. We can’t wait to go back for some mountain biking in the summer!


A wonderful getaway!

4.6 on December 10, 2009

This was my first stay in a bed and breakfast. Wow, I was very impressed! My husband loved the large flat panel TV! That's a great tough. Laura and Greg Lewis made us feel special and right at home. Our bed was very comfortable and the room nice and clean. Breakfast was tasty and filling. I really enjoyed the wine "happy hour". It was a nice to to visit with other guests and our hosts. I highly recommend Winter Park Chateau and will definitely return!


Great Stay, Fabulous hosts, and would definitely go back!

4.6 on December 10, 2009

We stayed here in the off-season, and Laura and Greg were incredibly gracious and helpful hosts! We will definitely return to the Winter Park Chateau. The rooms are impecably clean; the wine and cheese/treats at 5:00 was such a nice touch. Laura got up extra early to make us breakfast even though we were leaving at 7:00 a.m. They let us store our lunch and beer in the fridge and made us feel so welcome and appreciated. I would recommend anyone stay there who is looking to be only a 7 minute drive out of the village craziness, but still have great access to restaurants, stores, and bars in the town of Winter Park itself. I live in a ski town, and wish there was a place like this to put all of my visitors!


Best B&B I've stayed at yet!

5 on November 17, 2009

I've done extensive travel and have stayed at numerous B&B's but Winter Park Chateau was by far the best yet! The hosts were friendly and very accomodating, the staff warm and welcoming, the rooms were tastefully decorated and cozy and the food, to die for! Laura is a tremendous chef and prepared fabulous breakfasts and appetizers. I strongly recommend visiting the Winter Park Chateau!


the staff is very welcoming and the acomidations are extreamly warming and made me feel like i was at home

5 on September 09, 2009

I came to stay with my grandparents and the owners went out of there way to make all of us feel right at home. I have been to a few bed and breakfasts and this one is above the rest.


Outstanding Service

4.0 on July 23, 2009

Although our stay was short, Greg and Laura provided an outstanding level of service, made us feel at home and was flexible to our needs and schedule. We'll be back.


Awesome hosts!!!

4.6 on June 22, 2009

I have stayed at the Winter Park Chateau on numerous occasions. Every time I have been there my stay has been more than comfortable and I always feel welcome;their house is my house!!! Laura and Greg are exceptional hosts, with an exceptional home, sharing it with all of us! Kind and generous, safe and comfortable, this is the only place I stay when I come to visit Winter Park.


Superior B&B!!

4.0 on May 25, 2009

Laura and Greg, what fabulous hosts and a superior B&B! Such elegance, not only the gorgeous Victorian B&B but the food was spectacular. Your special touches really made the stay something to write home about. I will be certain to recommend Winter Park Chateau to all my friends across the county! Nancy


A Downtown Charm

5 on April 01, 2009

We searched the internet for a nice place to stay and ski. This B&B was perfect as it's location is right on the free bus route that picks you up at the driveway. The room was clean, cheerful and nicely decorated, and the hospitality was unbelievable. Breakfast was great and abundant. Can wait to come back in the summer.


A great place Stat

5 on January 19, 2009

We were looking for something special and came across Winter Park Chateau. The property is beautiful, the rooms are lovely and the location is perfect! The moment ou enter the property you get a very special feeling. It is clean, fresh and very comfortable.


Winter Park Chateau

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $225
  • Reviews (35) 4.4
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9707262884

Visit Website »

View details

Top