RED CRAGS ESTATES Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

The "French Toast" LOL!

5 on December 09, 2014

LOL!... Yeah it wasn't the "Waffles" LOL, and it wasn't the "Pancakes" LOL! Oh but Bretts "French Toast" that was worth kicking my "husband" to the curb for! Well that and the motorcycle rides from the fine young man working at Mister money. LOL!


Beautiful property....

5 on September 29, 2014

My son and I stayed at the Onaledge on Sunday, September 21. The house was beautiful and we enjoyed learning about it's history and it's "permanent" guests. Brett was great, so friendly and helpful....and he makes an awesome french toast. I would definately stay there again and next time I'll bring my husband to share the romantic views with me.


Christopher and Jennifer's Wedding

5 on September 26, 2014

We just had our wedding at the Red Crags estate. I can honestly say that it was an amazing experience. There are so many reasons I would recomend this to anyone wanting a venue for a wedding, anniversary or even just a relaxing getaway. Not only is Pikes Peak a fantastic backdrop for a ceremony, all of the grounds here are enchantingly beautiful and make for some great wedding photos. Before deciding on the Spindletop suite, we were able to see many of the rooms they have here and we believe any of them would have made our wedding night unique. Plus, Brett, Susan and all of the staff were extremely accomadating to our needs even a couple of the last minute changes we needed to make. Thank you all so very much. We will see for our anniversary.


Mike & Jill's Wedding

5 on September 09, 2014

We had our wedding at Rockledge Inn at the Red Crags Estates. It was fantastic! Not only were the Bed and Breakfast and the mountain views beautiful, but we were able to have our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, reception, brunch AND stay in the most beautiful room I've ever seen (Spindletop) at the same location! The whole staff is FANTASTIC! They are all knowledgeable, kind, fun and extremely helpful. The breakfast is also amazing! Thank all of you for your hard work and the most perfect wedding :)

Innkeeper Response
Thank so much for the invigorating words....we will continue to strive for the happiness of our guests. You were a joy to work with and offer our prayers for a wonderful life together!


Perfection!!

5 on June 23, 2013

We just returned home (unfortunately), after a long weekend at the Rockledge Country Inn. Both of us travel frequently for our jobs and are never "wow'ed" by hotels so we decided to try a B&B. The second we drove up the winding driveway, we fell in love with Rockledge! Everything was absolutely incredible-Rick, the owner, made us feel like we were the only couple on property. The rooms were lovely, quaint, and very comfortable, and took us back in time, bringing back memories of going to Grandma's house. We cannot recommend this property enough and are already counting the days until we can come back! There are very few places we have been where we truly did not want to go home. This was one of them! Thank you, Rick, and team, for giving us a wonderful weekend!

Innkeeper Response
We are so thankful for your kind words! Our efforts are to ensure all enjoy Red Crags Estates in the same manner. Your compliments are energizing!


Absolutely Loved it!

5 on May 29, 2013

My husband I stayed 5 nights. Our room was lovely with a view of Pikes Peak. The breakfasts were delicious and we loved sitting with the other guests and getting to know them. Brett made an appearance each morning at breakfast to ask about our rest the night before and to see if we needed anything. It was quiet, deer were everywhere, and we could not have been more comfortable. We stayed in the Red Crags Room and the only complaint, if you want to call it that, is that getting in and out of the claw foot bathtub could be precarious. If you're someone who is not very limber you would probably want to make sure you got a room with a regular tub or shower. We will definitely stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
These historic homes were created to enjoy the best of the Pikes Peak Region and we are elated that your stay met your desires for a true getaway. The tub is deep and relaxing, true, but your information is well taken. We will seek a manner to improve that is in keeping with our historic atmosphere. Thank you for these wonderful thoughts!


What more could you ask for?

5 on August 05, 2012

We stayed at the Red Crags Inn for three nights and could not have been more pleased. The house, property and two adjoining properties (also B&B’s) had the perfect environment for which we were looking. Our room and bath were spacious, clean & comfortable. The grounds throughout the three properties were spectacular with trails, sitting areas, water features and views, views and more views! Though Pikes Peak was clearly visible from each property, the best views had to be from the Red Crags Inn. Breakfast each morning was awesome and served outside on the beautiful patio area. We enjoyed our relaxing meal with guests from all three properties. It was great getting to meet and visit with everyone. The innkeepers, Maureen and Brett, were two of the most outstanding, friendly and accommodating hosts we have ever experienced. Great accommodations, grounds, food and hosts…what more could you ask for?! Thanks so much and we will be back!

Innkeeper Response
Not much to say other than thank you so much for your kind words. We seek this satisfaction for all of our guests. Thank you for letting us know we are succeeding!


Romantic Get-away

4.6 on May 24, 2012

I recently stayed at The Rockledge Inn for only one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. We had the whole place to ourselves. It felt like we had rented a house for the night. Romantic corner room with great views(although it rained all day and night). I would highly recommend staying here.

Innkeeper Response
We try to explain to our guests seeking reservations that you will find yourself so much happier if you are able to extend your stay to two or three nights, but do not want to hard sell. Thank you for establishing this by your kind words.


Romantic all the way

4.6 on May 09, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the carriage house of the Red Crags House two days ago to celebrate our anniversary. The room way amazing, very clean, romantic and just perfect for a restful getaway. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding!! Highly recommend this location for anyone looking for a romantic night or two in an incredibly cool little town!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words.


Perfect Getaway

4.8 on March 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Onaledge house this past weekend and loved it! The house and property was quiet and serene, the service was friendly and knowledgable, and amazing views of Manitou valley and Pikes Peak are only a few steps away. The only area for improvement was the hot tub as it was showing its age. Highly recommend! We will be back!

Innkeeper Response
We responded to your comment with a new top and addressing the jets. Unfortunately, our beloved bear that strolls through late at night decided our new top needed a some "scratching" as he was seeking a drink of water!!! Always something. Glad your enjoyed yourself!


" Honey Moon Getaway"

4.0 on September 16, 2011

My wife and I arrived at Red Crags right after our wedding. The place was Amazing and it started from the door. The staff was so friendly and accomadating with every question we had or anything we needed. they even helped us get to know the sights to see around us! I will definately come back and stay again. It was amazing trip!


Wonderful!

5 on September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Onaledge House and it was wonderful! Beautiful house and grounds. The staff was also very helpful and nice. We would definitely stay there again!

Innkeeper Response
We look forward to your return and trust others will visit with the same result!


Nice but....

3.0 on September 11, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Streamside Suite located at Red Crags. We had a nice time but were a little bit disappointed by a few things. There are 3 properties. The property where we stayed was the least crowded but it also seemed like it had the most problems. There seemed to be a lot of maintenance issues and work going on during our stay. Red Crags is also the only 1 of the 3 properties where a staff doesn't stay on-site. Something was going on with their cable too so we had limited TV channels. We didn't have climate control either and we were freezing from the A/C. We were planning on using the fireplace to make up for it but we found out that the fireplace was off for the summer. The towels provided in the bathroom were also poor quality and there weren't enough of them. It didn't seem like all of the jets were working in the outdoor hot tub either. There were just a lot of things going on at this property. Breakfasts were provided at 1 of the other property locations. The meals were good but the 2 dining rooms were very crowded since all 3 properties ate there. Our stay was ok but we were sure expecting more from the place.

Innkeeper Response
At the time we did have several aspects being addressed at Red Crags and we wish these had not run over into the guest experience, but, for those of you having worked with contractors, one week becomes a month, and month, two months. However, the result of our upkeep is the awarding of the Historical Preservation Commission "Honor Award". Also, unfortunately our guest must not have been made aware of the fact we have staff and husband that live on the Garden Level of Red Crags. Incoming guests are apprised of such. Perhaps this was a late arrival. If not, shame on us for not stating as much. We do choose to bring all of our guests together for breakfast at Rockledge Country Inn as we have found the guests enjoy the varied conversation and subsequent camaraderie resulting from breakfast together. Other concerns have been addressed, including the purchase of new towels for all three houses, continuous monitoring of the hot tubs and checking ac/heat levels are in agreement with our guests. I hope and trust this guest will visit again to see our improved performance as indicated but the other reviews posted.


Wonderful Wedding Stay!

5 on June 15, 2011

Brett and Maureen were so accomodating and helpful, and the grounds were SO beautiful. Breakfast was terrific! We will definitely be back again. PS, the Teddy Roosevelt Room is the best!

Innkeeper Response
The Teddy Roosevelt room is one of my personal favorites. Stand on the private deck and give your best "parade wave" to those passing by below! And, as your personal "chef", thank you for the "terrific" comment!


Wedding

4.8 on May 27, 2011

Our daughter was recently married at the Rockledge B&B. It was the most amazing experience ever. It was very romantic and personal. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone thinking of having a wedding in the Manitou area.

Innkeeper Response
Red Crags Estates and Rockledge Country Inn do offer an exceptional experience and site. This 1912 home with Pikes Peak as the backdrop are unequaled for the Colorado Wedding. Thank you for your recommendation!


Cherub Suite stay of 3 nights

4.0 on April 12, 2011

My wife and I were in Manitou Springs for 4 lovely days and decided to stay here the 3 nights we were there. We stayed in the Cherub suite 3/25/2011-3/28/2011, and were completely swept away in time. We almost wished each day spent perusing the shops in town would be over so we could return to Red Crags. There were other guests, but we only ever saw them briefly. So much so, we felt we had the entire house to ourself, and explored each room, hallway, picture, and piece of furniture. The entire decore made us feel we had stepped back in time, and made us feel as if we were wealthy, even though we're not. There is no one on staff at Red Crags. They stay with the check-in desk at the main property just around the corner. Breakfast only consisted of a basket, replenished daily with fruit and snack bars and a couple of boiled eggs, which was a little disappointing since it is a 'bed and "breakfast". Only complaint we had was housekeeping. She replenished our firewood and made the bed and some of the towels, but that was about it. Our water glasses and trash cans never were tended to. Also, our second morning we were getting dressed to head to town around 9:30am, when she showed up wanting to clean the room. My wife told her we were not ready, yet she came in and started cleaning anyway. I came out of the bathroom while shaving and there was the housekeeper making our bed. Very awkward!!!! Overall, Red Crags is a magical place that sweeps you back in time with modern conveniences very close to town and all attraction. We would definitely like to return someday. Kudos to Maureen 'Mo' for her help in getting our flights listed from her computer. Thanks Mo !!! We Loved it!

Innkeeper Response
We have heard the input of our guests and have responded! Full, freshly prepared hot breakfast for all guests of Red Crags Bed & Breakfast, Rockledge Country Inn and Bed & Breakfast at Historic Onaledge is once again served at Rockledge Country Inn. So come enjoy our Frittata, Quiche, Apple Pecan Pancake Bake, Stuffed French Toast...prepared by yours truly. Sorry about "our little experiment with a continental basket"!


Lori and Harry Anniversary

5 on October 07, 2010

From the moment you arrive you are pampered with the Room,Breakfast,Service,and a Super Staff !!!!! The Wine and Cheese is a Treat. The Hot Tubs are Awesome with the views all around you. The owner will stop and shake your hand and welcome you. The entire Staff goes above and beyond. This is a quiet and very peaceful Inn. Highly Reccomend This to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
Humbly honored by your review.


The bar for B&B's has been set high with this place!!!!

4.0 on September 25, 2010

This place is amazing! We had never stayed at a b&b before so I was a little leary. We usually stay at 4 and 5 star hotels. Marge took me to all three houses (all on one property) so that I could feel comfortable with my decision. Our favorite, by far, was the Rockledge. Every bedroom in that house was clean, beautiful, bright, airy and inviting. We would have been happy with any one of them. The room we stayed in was the Spindletop that included two bathrooms, one with a HUGE jacuzzi tub. The bed was really comfortable. This suite was the perfect setting for romance. The common areas were nicely decorated and very warm. There was relaxing music playing in the living room. Nothing could beat the back patio with the sound of the water trickling and a PERFECT view of the mountains, including Pikes Peak. The next morning at breakfast the company of others at the table was not something I was used to on vacation but unexpectedly delightful. The food was AMAZING!!!!!!!! The beautiful presentation did not compromise taste. Brett made a wonderful Italian frittata complete with bacon and fruit, cranberry bread, english muffins, several kinds of juices, coffee, hot chocolate. Everyone at the table, who had all stayed in a b&b before, assured me that many b&b's are not like this one; this one was special. So the bar for b&b's has definitely been set high. :) Thank you Brett and Marge for your hospitality! The Chambers, TX

Innkeeper Response
If I tried I could not write a better description of the B & B experience at Red Crags Estates! And yes, the Spindletop room is the ultimate experience for those wanting to "impress"!


Wonderful time at Red Crags Estates in Manitou Springs, Colorado

4.0 on September 01, 2010

Just returned from a wonderful time at the Red Crags Estates in Manitou Springs, Colorado. We wanted to thank you so much for taking care of our family - everything that we needed and/or asked for appeared right away - thank you! This was a special occasion for us to travel from Michigan to Colorado for my nephews wedding (Chris & Brianne), and we couldn't have been more happy and satisfied with staying at your B&B. The three mansions which were turned into B&B's were just beautiful - with Pikes Peak in the background, we couldn't have asked for anything more. And the history we learned, especially since we stayed at the Onaledge mansion and found out that Theodore Roosevelt gave Dr. Bell the antlers over the mantle in Onaledge, we are in awe. Again, thank you so much - we truly enjoyed every moment and didn't want to leave. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Kathy, Bob, Matt & Sarah from Saint Clair Shores, Michigan

Innkeeper Response
Family gatherings and reunions, especially those that reserve the whole house (any of the three) DO have the most fun! Glad to have been of service to you and yours!


Colorado's Best Inn

5 on August 26, 2010

We concluded our vacation in Colorado with a stay at Red Crags, and regretted not booking it for several nights instead of one. Views from our windows of Pikes Peak and Garden of the Gods were outstanding. Spectacular historic buildings that comprise the three that are owned and operated together. Amazing interior detailing, antique furniture, and a breakfast that was gourmet. Our 17 year old daughter, who is blase about most things, was so impressed with RockLedge she suggested that she would like to be married there! K and D from Boston.

Innkeeper Response
And we shall look forward to serving her on her wedding day...in the future! ;-) You are not the first to regret not having spent more time with us and I am thankful you feel this way about us and Red Crags Estates. I hope others will take heed of your input. Thank you.


A Great Wedding at Red Crags B&B

5 on August 09, 2010

Our son and daughter-in-law had the most wonderful wedding experience at this B&B. We used all three of the venues, each with its own character and charm. The arrangements were made very easy by Brett and his staff. The most wonderful part was how totally at home they made everybody feel. We had a lot of family and guests and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A couple of special things were the way the wedding actually takes place with Pikes Peak as the backdrop; the wonderful food that they catered in for the dinner and of course Brett's breakfasts! The staff was also wonderful and very accomodating to all sorts of special requests we seemed to come up with. The overall cost was very reasonable. I highly recommend this B&B for weddings or other family events as well as just a wonderful place to stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. We are always honored to serve on this special occasion. And "Brett's breakfast" is here for all to enjoy. Don't make me blush!


Fabulous stay

5 on August 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Rockledge Country Inn (Red Crags) for our 10 year anniversary and absolutely loved it! The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the breakfast and snacks were delicious, and the setting phenomenal! So many nooks and crannies within the Inn and throughout all the terraced gardens to quietly read a book, have a glass of wine or just chat, and most with gorgeous views of Pike's Peak. We can't wait to go back!

Innkeeper Response
Red Crags Estates...A Place to Lose Yourself Somewhere in Time! Thank you.


absolutely wonderful!!!

4.0 on August 13, 2009

Our wedding was held at the Rockledge site (one of their three properties) and rented out all the rooms for the weekend to host our out of town family and one room for myself(used as bridal suite). It was the best decision my husband and I made!! Our families were treated like gold, the entire site is beautiful and immaculately kept. The staff was always smiling and eager to help with whatever request anyone had. The food was excellent, beautiful views and had a very peaceful feeling. Each room was beautiul and had a different decor. beautiful, excellent staff, peaceful and comfortable...definitely worth it!!!!


Romantic Anniversary Getaway

5 on July 01, 2007

From the moment we arrived, our stay at Red Crags was a pleasurable one. Mike, the Inn Keeper, is very personable. The house and grounds present serenity. We thoroughly enjoyed the wine, crackers, sausage and chesse out on the porch with the view of Pikes Peak in the evening. Also, breakfast was filling and delicious! The Streamside room is exquisite, had everything we needed. We even enjoyed the Bear! We would love to stay there again. Thank you Mike for everything!

Innkeeper Response
Yes, "Oscar" the Bear does come through in the summer and fall. We call him Oscar as he reminds us of Oscar the Grouch from Sesame Street, due to the fact this lovely fellow is ALWAYS in our trash dumpster!!!


RED CRAGS ESTATES

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $250
  • Reviews (24) 4.7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7196854515
  • Fax 1-7196851073

Visit Website »

View details

Top