Recent Reviews in Clinton, New York

A great stay we'll never forget! at Antique and Irish Welch House (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2016

My wife and I stayed three nights in June in order to attend my fiftieth reunion at Hamilton College. My old roommate and his wife also stayed there, which was great fun. The facility was charming, quaint and immaculate, both inside and out. Breakfast was to individual order and generous and delicious. Coffee and snacks were always available. Here is the most important thing. While there I had a life threatening attack, which was later found to be severe pneumonia which had collapsed my lung. Judy, the proprietress, came upon me in my distress and, also being a nurse, immediately called 911. I was rushed to St. Elizabeth Hospital, where I received life-saving surgery. Now customer service doesn't get much better than that! Bless you, Judy and hooray for the Antique Irish and Welch House.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply delightful at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2015

My son and I stayed at the Artful Lodger while visiting colleges in the area. The house is beautiful, immaculate, and Susan and Tim are warm and hospitable. We had a lovely room, very comfortable bed, and there are so many nice touches. If you forget your toothbrush, razor, or toothpaste, there is a basket outside the guest rooms. There are drinks and home make cookies available. There is lovely jazz playing during breakfast. Breakfast was made to order, and the atmosphere was warm, cozy and calm. Highly recommend this gem located in Clinton.

View more reviews for this inn


Love the Artful Lodger at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on September 01, 2015

I highly recommend the Artful Lodger as a place to stay in the quaint lovely village of Clinton, NY. It is centrally located to many eateries, shops and galleries and a stone's throw away from Hamilton College. Accommodations were perfect, the included breakfast delicious and the home made Chocolate Chip Cookies (always available) were the best I have ever tasted!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B in idyllic setting at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2015

The Artful Lodger is a wonderful B&B in a really idyllic location across from the village green in Clinton, NY. Susan and Tim are great hosts and they greet us every year with new restaurants to try and things to do in the area. The rooms are comfortable and clean with private bathrooms. The breakfasts are a real treat at one large table that allows discussions with other guests. The local artwork on all of the walls is changed regularly, and we have met some of the artists. The village green has a fountain, a bandstand with live music almost every Tuesday evening during the summer, and a great local farmers market on Thursdays. The other side of the green has stores and restaurants that are enjoyable to visit. The whole village is a nice place to walk around. We look forward to our extended stay every summer.

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away from Home at The Arbor Inn of Clinton (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on January 12, 2015

Our son is a sophomore at Hamilton College in Clinton, NY. We live 6 ½ hours away but we still take every opportunity to visit him that the college provides. It’s a long, tedious drive but other than seeing him, we are comforted by the thought that we will be staying at the Arbor Inn of Clinton. Just arriving at the Inn is relaxing. Its bucolic setting is charming and absolutely welcoming. You’ll be smiling before you get out of the car. The inside the house welcome is pretty good too! A sincere greeting awaits you from either Ellen or Dave, the Innkeepers. They are really good people. Warm, very thoughtful and kind. That alone is worth the price of the room. You won’t find this at any hotel. You will be escorted to your room. Each is well-appointed and is the epitome of what you would hope for in a B&B. Quiet and comfortable. Extraordinarily well kept. Cleanliness is obviously important as is the desire to create an experience that’s homey and elegant. Homemade chocolate-chip cookies don’t hurt either! There is free Wi-fi and also a television in each room, movies/DVD’s, and books. All of that said, probably our favorite experience is coming down to one of Ellen’s breakfasts and sitting with other patrons of the Inn. You end up sharing stories over a wide assortment of breakfast options. We have had some incredible conversations and made several small world connections. We’ve also gotten to know Dave and Ellen better too. And when we have to leave, we feel very well cared for. So, this is a very five star review. If you’re traveling to Clinton, NY, this is where you should stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.4 reviewed on July 29, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay with great food and conversation with other guest. Tim and Susan were fantastic hosts! I would recommend the Artful lodger to anyone considering a stay in Clinton, NY.

View more reviews for this inn


A Boilermaker Race MUST!!! at Antique and Irish Welch House (Clinton, New York)

4.8 reviewed on July 20, 2014

This was a great place to hang our hat while in town for the Boilermaker 2014. The breakfast was all locally sourced, personalized and delicious! The rooms were clean and the most wonderful details were thought of. Our only complaint was that we didn't take advantage of the hospitality and stay the night Sunday and leave on a Monday. Totally worth the extra 10 minutes drive to the start and much better accommodations than the Days Inn, etc which jacked their prices for the race! I can't recommend this B&B enough for your stay in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing time in central New York at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on June 17, 2014

Tim and Susan are wonderful hosts in this relaxing location. Beautiful architecture all round and looking straight out onto the village green. Easy to come and go. Highly recommended. Lindsay Oades, NSW, Australia.

View more reviews for this inn


WOW at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2014

This is an elegant, cheerful, and quiet B & B overlooking the village square in Historic Clinton, NY. Our stay was perfect...the room was beautifully appointed, the owner gracious, the towels luxurious, and the breakfast sumptuous. Need I say more? I would recommend this in a minute to everyone. You can't go wrong at the Artful Lodger.

View more reviews for this inn


The Art of Hospitality! at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on May 08, 2014

Our stay at the Artful Lodger was quite comfortable--a quiet respite where we could hang out and chat over a cup of coffee. Breakfasts were delicious and the conversations around the table were easy! We all appreciated the homemade cookies available daily!!

View more reviews for this inn


Best nights sleep in ages! at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on April 29, 2014

Lovely night's stay from great bed and delicious breakfast to thoughtfulness as to where we might find restaurants open on a holiday night. Easy to meet other guests and make new friends yet spacious enough to have room to yourself. Great spot to meet Hamilton parents and visiting students considering Hamilton if that's why you are in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and gracious at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.8 reviewed on April 29, 2014

Stayed for one night and wish we could have stayed longer. The house is lovely, the owners are gracious, and the room was extremely comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


A great stay at Antique and Irish Welch House (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2014

An attentive, concerned hostess; a clean, comfortable, orderly, quiet room and fabulous breakfast that included locally produced bread and yogurt, made my stay memorable.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice weekend stay at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

3.6 reviewed on April 14, 2014

The house was beautiful, and the room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, and had a nice bathroom. Owners were friendly, and the breakfasts delicious. Right in downtown clinton, and convenient to Hamilton College, as well as Utica, New Hartford, Colgate, and Turning Stone. I would definitely stay here again

View more reviews for this inn


Hamilton College spring break 2014 at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2014

Great breakfast and good morning conversation

View more reviews for this inn


Felt Right at Home at Antique and Irish Welch House (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on March 16, 2014

We stayed here on a college visit and if my daughter chooses to attend college here, this will be"my place." Judy welcomed us as if we were family. The breakfast was delicious. We especially loved the Amish blueberry yogurt. The beds were soooo comfortable and we loved the Keurig in the room.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B choice for a few days stay at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

3.8 reviewed on December 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during Christmas vacation. The proprietors were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and maintained. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and there was a good variety. The reading room was cozy. To anyone staying there, wear earplugs when you go to bed or expect to be awoken by the village's fire horn that blares when an emergency call comes in. They local gov't really needs to address this issue (I know they're constrained by state regulation regarding emergency signals) as I'm sure it makes a lot of people think twice about staying in the B&Bs in the center of town. I'm certainly not going to knock the AL for something that's out of their control.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy & Friendly at The Milkhouse (Clinton, New York)

4.0 reviewed on December 13, 2013

The owner is very nice and leaves donuts, cookies etc. The room was big and comfy. Homey & nice!

View more reviews for this inn


The Milkhouse at The Milkhouse (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on December 11, 2013

Wonderful, roomy stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for a weekend to visit with my family! at The Milkhouse (Clinton, New York)

4.2 reviewed on December 09, 2013

We enjoyed having the run of the place from Fri. afternnoon til Sunday at noon. This B and B is a delight. The two breakfasts we were treated to were tasty. Beds were comfortable. We hope we'll be able to stay here again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Autum Stay at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Artful Lodger Oct. 16-20, 2013 and found the location excellent and the Innkeepers most attentive and gracious. The autumn foliage was an added attraction. We recommend the Artful Lodger wholeheartedly. North Carolina visitors

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at Antique and Irish Welch House (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2013

Judy's B&B is the cleanest, nicest and most pleasant I have ever seen. Perfect in every way and Judy is a very gracious and welcoming hostess.

View more reviews for this inn


Artful Lodger at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.4 reviewed on October 07, 2013

Great stay!!!! REALLLLLY comfy beds!!! Great location! MUST go to cider mill!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place on the green at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this inviting, immaculate B&B, conveniently located in the center of Clinton. We felt pampered but not overwhelmed with too much info and attention. Susan made wonderful gluten-free breakfasts so we could both enjoy our meal. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away from Home at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on September 23, 2013

The Artful Lodger is the best Bed and Breakfast we have ever found. Its proprietors, Tim and Susan Sweetland (a name that reflects their personalities), have become like members of the family over the last 5-years in which we stayed in the establishment literally a dozen times or more. While our daughter, Sara, attended nearby Hamilton College, we were lucky enough to win the B&B's lottery for in-demand weekends. Each room is beautifully decorated, affordable, and the housekeeping is meticulous. The location on the idealic Clinton village green makes each weekend magic with wonderful nearby restaurants and shops. Their breakfast table frequently includes elegant hot egg-based casseroles, breakfast meats, yogurt fruit/granola parfaits, and/or cereal, and juice, tea or coffee, and get this, fresh baked oatmeal bread and jam made the evening before (the smell of which wafts through the hallways). The breakfast table often includes friendly intelligent conversation with lumminaries from around the country (or the world) and their bright-eyed sons or daughters making college visitis or attending nearby Hamilton or Colgate. The owners offer a compiled book of local restaurant menus, recommendations and will do anything to make their guests feel at home, including placing fresh-baked cookies under a glass cover in the hallway. The walls frequently include beautiful new rotating exhibitions of paintings from local artists for sale and conversation. We hesitate to tout this small town nirvana any further for fear of shuting ourselves out of room availability for future fall Adirondack weekends now that Sara has graduated.

View more reviews for this inn


Sanctuary in the heart of Clinton at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.2 reviewed on September 02, 2013

Beautiful location in the middle of Clinton opposite the village green. Great service, excellent accomodation and delicious breakfast...Tim and Susan are charming hosts who run a top notch establishment-clean and inviting. My family stayed for only one night but will return if ever we are in the area. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Antique and Irish Welch House (Clinton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on August 19, 2013

This was our 1st experience at a B&B and what a wonderful experience. The Inn was welcoming, spacious, clean and offered a wonderful array of breakfast foods. Without question Judy was the added bonus - we loved sharing stories with her! We look forward to another visit with our new friend!

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded our expectations... at Antique and Irish Welch House (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2013

Warm, friendly, welcoming and thought of every possible detail to make us welcome!

View more reviews for this inn


Renuion with Friends at Antique and Irish Welch House (Clinton, New York)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2013

Greeted with a warm smile. Friendly chatter. Charming home. Judy's breakfasts aromas wakened us each day. It was like a homecoming.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B in charming village at The Artful Lodger (Clinton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Artful Lodger for one night in July. The owners, Tim and Susan Sweetland, were gracious and welcoming. Our room was very clean and comfortable and was furnished with a double bed, large armoire, desk and chair, and a small couch. The bathroom was snug but adequate. The sink was located in the bedroom on the wall outside the bathroom. This was a bit odd at first but did not prove to be a bother. The village of Clinton is quite charming with many beautiful homes dating back to the 18th and 19th centuries. Hamilton College is a mile and a half up a hill and there are two excellent restaurants just a few steps away. We would recommend the Artful Lodger to anyone touring the area or on their way to or from the Adirondacks.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}