Recent Reviews in Chatfield, Minnesota

Gluten free accommodations! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on June 13, 2016

I stayed in the Terrace View room for two nights, and I enjoyed access to the terrace and bridge to back yard. My gluten-free diet was easily accommodated - one of the managers of Oakenwald is gluten-free, too, so I didn't feel judged.

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on February 07, 2016

We highly recommend this B&B. The service is excellent as well as the food. Each room is unique with its own bit of history. We have stayed 4 times. Close proximity to Amish country is nice. Be sure and ask for a tour of the home.

View more reviews for this inn


Oak Ter B&B at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on October 27, 2015

Beatifull home, great experience, very freindly, and exceptional breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on June 17, 2015

We recently enjoyed our time at the Oakenwald Terrace. The bed/pillows/room were very comfortable and we slept great. The breakfast was scrumptious--a good balance between sweets and healthy. This is a gorgeous home; and Bob, one of the innkeepers, gave all the guests a wonderful tour, sharing lots of history and stories. If we are ever in the area again, we'll definitely return to the Oakenwald!

View more reviews for this inn


Class reunion trip! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2015

Wonderful hosts, beautiful home and setting. Could stay for days and not get tired of the lawns and all there is to see in this beautiful, historic home. Thanks for the hospitality

View more reviews for this inn


Unbelievable collections of Antiques at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on May 15, 2015

We loved our stayed. The home and decor were jaw dropping. Ruth Ann is a perfect tour guide, along with husband Bob Lund, the breakfast (4 courses ) left us delighted and well fed. Very good food. WARNING: we will never use B&B website again but book directly. They never credited our gift card and fought and fought with us over a small sum of money. Bad business practice . But Oakenwald home and owners were excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks for the suggestion at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on February 07, 2015

My husband and I have stayed in Lanesboro a few times before but after looking at the reviews here, we decided to try this B&B instead. Wow, this is very different from our other B&B experiences. The home was great. Clean, large rooms, great beds, wonderful decorations... but we felt different than at most of the B&B's we have stayed at in the past. The hosts gave us several hours of their time. We toured the house which took at least two hours. There were so many stories and so much history. We saw the entire home, from the basement to the attic. There was no "This is our part of the house and that is your part" like you get in most B&B's. We felt more like family than guests. Breakfast was wonderful, but they should call it brunch so that you have a better understanding of the amount of food they serve... but it was so good, we ate it all. We visit the Bluff Country / Lanesboro area once or twice a year. We have tried different B&B's because we like seeing new things. We have now found our "Go To" place to stay. Thanks again to others for sharing and convincing us to give Oakenwald Terrace a try.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast in Chatfield at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2014

Very gracious host who was very accommodating. Beautiful older home.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Oakenwald Terrace at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.0 reviewed on October 24, 2014

A great choice if you find yourself in the Chosen Valley.

View more reviews for this inn


Oakenwald Terrace at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

3.0 reviewed on October 10, 2014

We were happy with our stay. No complaints.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded Our Expectations! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on August 04, 2014

History of this property is fascinating and the host were absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend the experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Jewel in Chatfield at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.2 reviewed on June 28, 2014

The Oakenwald Terrace B & B is a gorgeously decorated home (or should we say, mansion) and something to behold. While attractive and spacious looking on the outside, the inside of the home is amazing. We were fortunate to receive a tour from Marion, the owner, and as described on the website, she is a “guide, historian, and storyteller”. The rooms are every bit as lovely and spacious as they appear on the website. The dining room and table are beautifully decorated, and the 3-course breakfast served by Ruth Ann and Bob was wonderful. For any who live near Chatfield, the Oakenwald would be a fantastic setting for a Christmas party or other celebration. You couldn’t go wrong! It would be a treat to return to the Oakenwald.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing & Calm at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2014

Our Anniversary stay was truly enjoyable. The atmosphere was elegant, relaxing and calm. We had a fantastic and very historical tour of the home. The room was spacious and decorated perfectly for the time period. Breakfast was a gourmet delight of several courses, all very well prepared. Looking forward to the Holiday Open House in December. Would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on February 18, 2014

I would absolutely stay again and intend to. The atmosphere and service were one of a kind and I would recommend you visit as soon as you're able.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful stroll back into history at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

3.6 reviewed on January 24, 2014

A wonderful stay! Gorgeous and perfectly preserved by the owners, who kindly provided a tour and shared with us the rich history of this gracious home. We had a lovely time amid their truly bountiful memories.

View more reviews for this inn


charming b&b at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on October 16, 2013

beautiful home, wonderful meals and great proprieters!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.0 reviewed on October 15, 2013

What a fine example of the gilded age. My wife and I marveled at the beautiful woodwork and all the antiques that fill every nook and cranny.. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and breakfast was a real treat. We plan to return!

View more reviews for this inn


9/11/13 visit at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on September 16, 2013

I enjoyed my visit to Oakenwald Terrace. I am not a person who enjoys rooms cluttered full of antiques, though. I felt that this home would be much better served and enjoyed if there were fewer items and pieces of furniture in each room - it seemed more than the rooms could handle. If you have small children that need to touch everything (like normal children!) this place would be too stressful. The home has been redecorated over the years to make it as Victorian as possible -with patterns on every wall, ceiling, and floor. For me, personally, it was too much, but the other advantages to being there made up for it. The breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty of it. The meal presentation was beautiful and artful, set on lovely antique dishes. You really did feel pampered by Ruth Ann. On the last morning I met Ms. Marion Lund, the owner of the home, and she is a treasure. What stories she could tell me about the house and its occupants! I think that I could sit all day listening to her and asking questions, had I had the time. Adults with an interest in history will really enjoy visiting here.

View more reviews for this inn


SURPRISE the last on our list is the first on our list. at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2013

At the last minute we booked this amazing experience. Only room left in the region of Lansboro. Willing to take what we could get and WOW it was meant to be. The last chance room was the best room in the Lansboro area. Right out of the history books. Could have stayed longer to take it all in.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay, museum-like house at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.2 reviewed on May 22, 2013

A beautiful place to stay with a wonderful breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding & Perfect at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2012

Absolutely the best Bed & Breakfast in Southern Mn. The Collections were fascinating and exquisite in every way. A huge mansion. Gave a tour threw it ALL. Took hours to go threw. The Hosts were "out of this world". Very Very Warm and Friendly. Treated Guests like family. Hugs and good conversation - from when we came threw the door, to when we regretfully, had to leave. The atmosphere that was in the home was definitely Spirit Filled Experience. Dan & Janet McGovern

View more reviews for this inn


Oakenwald Terrace at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on October 18, 2012

Hosts are exceptionally helpful, even to the point of seeking out and finding a mechanic for an urgent problem we had. They are friendly, informative, thoughtful and delightful people. The house is very clean and has a great history.

View more reviews for this inn


A Very Special Place! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on July 15, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 42nd anniversary at Oakenwald Terrace last week. Owners Marion Lunde and her daughter in-law Ruth Ann, were remarkable hosts. We enjoyed the time we spent with them so much! Their stories, humor, and joy, made them more than just innkeepers! We are looking forward to seeing them again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at Oakenwald at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.2 reviewed on May 18, 2012

Wonderful stay at Oakenwald! Very interesting home and the owners were fantastic. The breakfast was absolutely outstanding!

View more reviews for this inn


A Genuine and Beautiful Experience at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2011

The Hosts(Ruth Ann,Bob & Marion Lund) were awesome, the stories incredible, the room exciting and memorable, the food to die for(old tried and true recipes)...we will be back... and with others...! Thanks for a wonderful time. We hope to come and visit at Christmas time to see the decorations. Frank and Madaline

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic stay at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on October 12, 2011

The hosts are just the nicest people you'll ever meet. The stories and history of the house and area are wonderful to hear.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend away at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.0 reviewed on August 17, 2011

Very cordial owners

View more reviews for this inn


Oakenwald June 25th at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on July 11, 2011

I thought the breakfast was fabulous. I liked the banana pancakes and especially the berry dessert. The dessert was out of this world. The only negative with the visit was that the tub in our room didn't drain very quickly. The home is decorated with many, many beautiful and delicate pieces of art.

View more reviews for this inn


best b&b we've ever stayed at at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2011

owners were very warm and gracious, the home was very beautifully decorated in the victorian fashion, rooms were very comfortable, and the multi-course breakfast was superb!

View more reviews for this inn


Guest House Nice at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

3.6 reviewed on April 01, 2011

We recently stayed at the guest house for the Oakenwald Terrace. The building is interesting and is a pleasant throw back to the 1950's and 1960's. The house is fully furnished and very comfortable. I would recommend this as a nice place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Oakenwald Terrace (4.44)
Top
}