Recent Reviews in Charlotte, North Carolina

Cozy but room to improve at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

2.8 reviewed on June 23, 2016

Nice comfortable, cozy rooms, but amenities underdeliver compared to web page descriptions. Average compared to nicer B &Bs.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!! at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on June 21, 2016

We traveled to Matthews, NC for a ball tournament. We wanted a quiet place to stay where our son could have his own room. We were very pleased with Matthew Manor. George served us a wonderful breakfast every morning and went out of his way to make something for our son who is a picky eater. The house was beautiful and George and Linda were both very polite and accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT ENTERTAINER at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on June 16, 2016

OUR EXPERIENCE WAS QUITE NICE AND PLEASING. THE RESTAURANT THAT WAS RECCOMENDED FOR US TO EAT AT THAT EVENING WAS OUR ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT. THE SERVICE FROM THE KITCHEN WAS TERRIBLE, WRONG FOOD AND THE WAIT FOR THE FOOD WAS OVER AN HOUR. I WOULD ALSO RECCOMEND DROPPING THE TOUR OF THE BASEMENT. MARTI WAS QUITE ENTERTAINING WITH HIS KNOWLEDGE AND STORIES HE PROVIDED. SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING ALL AROUND.

View more reviews for this inn


Interesting place! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on June 14, 2016

It was a pleasure to stay here. So much history, and the tour was so enjoyable. Marti is a wonderful character.

View more reviews for this inn


Don't miss this one at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on June 10, 2016

My wife and I spent two nights here for our 25th anniversary. I am former military and greatly appreciated the history and Revolutionary artifacts presented in this historical home. Couple that with the incredible knowledge and culinary skills of the owners made this visit memorable. We will visit again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

Great place to stay. Chef Marti is a wealth of historical knowledge. Would go back again and take the cooking class.

View more reviews for this inn


Patriot at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on June 03, 2016

First time at a Bed and Brrakfast- wonderful stay. Lots to do in the area

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Memorial Day Weekend at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a two night stay at the Inn of the Patriots in Grover, NC. The accommodations were great ( we stayed in the Colonel Cleveland room) and the breakfast each morning was wonderful. Chef Marti, the owner, is a walking history tour and takes great pride in sharing the historical facts of the region, as well as his experiences while in serving as Chef in the White House and at camp David. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2016

On a recent stay we enjoyed a comfortable themed room with lots of amenities, friendly and helpful host, delicious breakfasts, located near historic battlefield with an inviting front porch to unwind. Marti is eager to share his various chef experiences and provide a tour of his numerous collections with many interesting details.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Weekend Getaway to Remember at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on May 26, 2016

A personal welcome by Marti was a very nice touch. He took us to a short tour of the property and gave us some history lessons. The Inn was spacious, and was literally packed with history and war memorabilia. Our room was large, filled with, again, memorabilia pertaining to the theme of the room. The bathroom was split into toilet and shower, apparently due to the original layout of the house. The bed was comfortable and everything we needed was provided. Marti recommended paces to visit in the area, especially the two nearby vineyards and wine tastings. Dinner at Ni Fen was very good in DT Shelby. Breakfast was home cooked all the way. Delicious and delightful. We thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class. We didn't know you could make a basic dough and turn it into so many different breads, and every bit we baked turned out amazingly good. All good things had to come to an end at some point, and that point in time came too soon. Thanks to Marti and his very friendly and helpful staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Patriot Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 23, 2016

Food was outstanding. First time at a B & B. Wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for a relaxing getaway weekend at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2016

What a treat! George and Linda have an amazing home and so much extra private space for their guests. And wow; the breakfast! Three courses, five stars, they are great cooks! Would definitely recommend the Matthews Manor!

View more reviews for this inn


Matthews Manor B&B at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2016

We had a very pleasant stay at Matthews Manor. It is a beautiful home in a nice setting. George served us a delicious breakfast all 3 mornings that we were there. He was helpful in directing us to some of the area antique stores and wonderful places to have dinner. We highly reccomend this Bed&Breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Very relaxing environment at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on May 09, 2016

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary at this lovely inn. Marti was very hospitable and made it clear he wanted our stay to be as enjoyable as possible. We loved our room (the Magnificent Polynesian), displayed with all the items the owners had accumulated during their travels in Asia. For a history geek like me, the historical tour through the Presidential Museum was wonderful. I especially loved the Presidential dinner china. It's close to Shelby, which had a surprisingly lovely downtown area. Although on the pricey side, if you are looking for a unique experience, then this inn should be on your list.

View more reviews for this inn


PATRIOTIC B & B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2016

Stayed in the Col Cleveland room for 2 nights, it was cozy and comfortable. Our host Marti had many tales of his service time as a chef in the White House and Camp David. the breakfasts were hearty and the bed comfortable. which is what you want at a b and b. make sure to try Ni Fen restaurant in Shelby. and chimney rock state park. one thing I would recommend Marti change is either start breakfast at 830am or delay the tour/presentation till 1000am to allow the guest to enjoy the b and b experience of lively conversation.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, last minute getaway! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 01, 2016

Hats off to Chef Marti and the Inn of the Patriots for an awesome last minute getaway! We enjoyed our stay in the Babe Ruth Room, the bed was so comfortable. We were greeted promptly at 9a for a gourmet, hearty breakfast. The tour was very informative and the authentic pizza cooking class we took alongside our stay was great as well. Will definitely be back for more!

View more reviews for this inn


Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on April 30, 2016

We loved the Inn of the Patriots. Great time, good location and the Host and staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Loved learning to make authentic pizza. Definitely take the cooking class!

View more reviews for this inn


Fun Cooking Class at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 28, 2016

What a blast my wife and I had. My wife enrolled us in a cooking class for my birthday. Can I just say Chef Marti is awesome. We had a great time learning and eating that day. The B&B is neatly done and full of history. My wife and I did not stay over night at the Inn but we have planned to return for her birthday in a a few weeks. What a great place and a great experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Nature and Earth Room at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2016

Our second visit was just as pleasant and relaxing as our first three years ago. Our room was very comfortable with a new king bed and roomy bathroom with full tub and shower. Great dining and shops in Shelby just 20 minute's drive. Our cooking class was delightful and educational. Went to chimney rock for a day trip only an hour away.

View more reviews for this inn


History lives at the Inn at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 12, 2016

Very enjoyable stay for all history buffs. National park nearby.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn of the Patriots was Great at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on April 12, 2016

We stayed for two nights and had a fantastic time! the ambiance was amazing, and Marti was superbly knowledgeable and entertaining. I highly recommend the cooking class, learning to make pizza from scratch was so much fun. The breakfast was also wonderful and filling both mornings.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice, quiet, and friendly environment at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on March 29, 2016

My husband and I stayed one night. The room (nature and earth)was so cute. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was amazing. My favorite part was probably that porch! They have rockers out on the porch and it's really beautiful to just sit outside. The staff was very friendly and the food was amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Most Interesting B&B Ever! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Inn of the Patriots. Marti is a gifted story teller and knows so much history! The food was excellent. The bed was luxurious! We felt very welcomed as soon as we checked in. The winery tour and downtown dining were excellent. Such a peaceful place!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on March 14, 2016

We were looking for a place not too far away to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Glad we picked Inn of the Patriots. We stayed in the Polynesian room - very comfortable and great asian decorations (note: while the toilet area is small, the shower is decent sized and has good water pressure). Marti was a great host and prepared and tasty breakfast. He then led a tour of the Culinary Museum and the other items obtained through their travels.

View more reviews for this inn


One of Our Favorite GetAways! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 29, 2016

This was our third visit to Inn of the Patriots, and we had a wonderful time. Marti and Stormy prepared a special Happy Birthday welcome package for our room complete with wine and chocolate! Over the course of the weekend, everyone on staff wished me a Happy Birthday! We are already planning our next visit......and next time we will bring friends!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect relaxing getaway weekend! at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2016

What a treat! George and Linda have an amazing home, and so much extra. A private space for their guests. And WOW the breakfast! 3 courses and 5 stars! They are great cooks! Would definitely recommend the Matthews Manor.

View more reviews for this inn


Fascinating History at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.2 reviewed on February 06, 2016

The tour is fascinating. So much presidential memorabilia and more!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Relax at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the inn as it was comfortable and relaxing. The cooking class was fun and we can't wait to try out what we learned! The breakfast was excellent with wonderful choices for everyone. The owners and staff were friendly and accommodating, and their knowledge of the local history was amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent and Charming! at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on January 18, 2016

Matthews Manor was very pleasant, comfortable and unique! We had a very great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2016

We truly enjoyed our time at The Inn of the Patriots. Marti and Stormy provide a wonderful opportunity to enjoy some of the good old country life and simple relaxation. Make sure they serve the house-made breakfast sausage during your stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}