Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Charlotte, North Carolina

Great Night at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on December 10, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the Inn. I feel the room price was a little high so I only booked for one night. We ordered the Cheese/Cracker and meat tray. It was awesome. Plenty for my husband and me for dinner. I found coupons so I can get a better rate so my husband and I are already planning to go again next year. Marti makes you feel right at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at this B&B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2014

Marti is a fabulous host with fascinating stories and attention to his guest. Very comfortable and homey atmosphere, with recommendations to some great placesfor dinner and wine tasting. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on December 09, 2014

Enjoyed conversing with Marti. Breakfasts were excellent. Marti made good suggestions about places to go and things to see. The restaurant he suggested was excellent and the Cleveland County Fair was fun.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Visit at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on December 01, 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic stay!! Within two weeks of staying, we had our parents visit and stay. We will be returning to this beautiful B&B and county.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at the Inn at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on December 01, 2014

The facility was nice, clean and cozy. It was our first stay at a BnB. I enjoyed the other couples and mingling with others you don't get at a hotel. My only disappointment was how much hype there was over the chef being so talented. The breakfast was ok, just nothing more exciting than I would cook at home myself. I had expected something more exotic that frittata, potatoes and sausage. I wish breakfast would have shown his talents as a chef that we had heard about from those who attended his cooking class.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect night at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 19, 2014

Amazing place! Would highly recommend this as a get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful, awesome place to stay! at Ms. Elsie's Caribbean B&B (Charlotte, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2014

I would highly recommend Ms. Elsie's to anyone seeking a restful and beautiful "home away from home." Ms. Cheryl is an amazing innkeeper and overall person. Along with the outstanding accommodations and breakfast, I feel blessed to have found a new life long friend.

View more reviews for this inn


An Interesting Little Inn at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on November 11, 2014

We enjoy trying new Inns and this one is a must-visit! Combine comfort with gourmet breakfast and hands-on history - that's the Inn of the Patriots. And you can take a cooking class with the owner, a former White House chef! Located between Charlotte(less than an hour) and Asheville ( an hour and a half) so you can enjoy what these cities have to offer as well. We stayed in an upstairs room with shared bath but would recommend choosing a room downstairs with private bath.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from Home at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2014

My husband and I honeymooned for 12 days in Hawaii and needed a place to rest after our 10.5 hours worth of flights and before our 7 hours worth of driving. We could not have found a better place to do so. Greg and Linda were very warm and welcoming, the house was magnificently decorated and furnished, and the room was all we could have asked for and more. They knew it was our honeymoon and gave us champagne and an outstanding restaurant recommendation for dinner. After dinner, the king bed in our room was so comfortable that I passed out before I could even climb under the covers. Greg and Linda were kind enough to let their weary travelers sleep in and we had an absolutely delectable breakfast at 10:30AM. Breakfast consisted of a fruit cocktail with every berry (extremely fresh) you can think of, two types of sausage, two savory types of quiche, hash browns and best of all - home made bread!! We left Matthews Manor extremely rested, fat and happy. We strongly recommend making a visit.

View more reviews for this inn


great family run bed and breakfast at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on November 05, 2014

We had a living social deal for the inn. We really enjoyed the room and the inn was full of history and trinkets. I will warn that the upstairs rooms are shared bathrooms if that is a deal breaker. The breakfast was amazing. Overall, it was s nice family run inn but maybe a bit over priced. We also did the cooking class. It was fun but could use some work to make it more interactive (I.e. everyone should make their own portion and possibly more technique instruction). I think we would have been disappointed if we had paid full price for the cooking class.

View more reviews for this inn


The Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on November 03, 2014

Actually, in most respects the experience was Excellent! (Either my fingers or your app did not allow "excellent" in some catergories) I would reccommend thus B N B to anyone who loves histoy, beautiful scenery, wines, cooking and great hosts and hostess. The home is old snd steeped in history and has some really unique surprises. Our room eas very comfortable and well appointed. We would definetly entertsin a return visit. The cooking class is a must do!!

View more reviews for this inn


Who knew Grover, NC would be so much fun! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this Inn. The breakfasts were wonderful, our bed was super comfy, and the room was full of fun historical items. The host is an amazing historian. We also enjoyed the cooking class. We learned quite a bit.

View more reviews for this inn


Home to Rest at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 23, 2014

Art works wonderful--a bit over the top but it's you, so keep it! Bed very supportive and firm. Will be back for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


Great History! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 22, 2014

The Inn of the Patriots was a great historical experience. The Baby Ruth room allowed us to experience what it might be like to have lived in the past. The memorabilia was awesome. Marty and Stormy made us feel at home and allowed us to share parts of their lives. I really enjoyed the cooking class and the pizza we cooked was the best I've ever had. I would return and will stay longer...next time. It was a pleasure meeting them and sharing Philly stories with Marty.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 20, 2014

Had a very nice stay at the Patriots Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Good time at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 19, 2014

The cooking class gave us tons of new ideas and it was interesting learning all the presidential fun facts. Kim was soo sweet and the rooms were comfy. We totally recommend the Baker Buffalo Winery, the wine was FABULOUS and the owners were I nice. Thanks for a weekend away!

View more reviews for this inn


Not worth visiting again. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

2.2 reviewed on October 16, 2014

Marti is definitely a master of self-promotion. I'm just not sure that what is delivered by his cooking class, food, or inn meets the expectations set by his high claims. The inn itself is very cluttered, and I was extremely turned off to be greeted at the doorway by a decrepit gingerbread house that has clearly seen better days. At first I thought our bathroom situation was less than stellar with a shower stuffed in a closet and a toilet in another closet, but then I learned that two sets of guests were sharing a bathroom upstairs with the owner and his family. I guess mine wasn't that bad after all. The food was decent but not remarkable, and Chef Marti didn't actually cook breakfast for us either morning. So if you are excited to eat food prepared by a White House Chef, this may not be the place for you.

View more reviews for this inn


Casual & Cozy B&B at Edna Inn (Charlotte, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 09, 2014

My husband & I enjoyed our stay at the Edna Inn. The owner was sweet, gracious & welcoming. Our bed was very comfortable & our bathroom was large :) Both mornings we had a yummy breakfast & they were peppered w/ nice conversations w/ another couple that were staying at the Edna Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Nature Room at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 09, 2014

Excellent food, service and history. We enjoyed our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful short holiday near interesting historic sites. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

We visited the King's Mountain battlefield and the Cowpens Battlefield which we found very interesting.

View more reviews for this inn


Polynesian Escape at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 04, 2014

A nice place to stay and get great food, service and a history lesson all in a fun way. The luncheon cooking class was great with lots of hands on and a great presentation. Marti and his crew do a fantastic job overall. Give it a try!!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing, fun weekend at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 02, 2014

Plan in advance because they are probably booked - and for good reason! We arrived on Friday afternoon and had a chance to look around by ourselves (we received an email stating that Marti and Stormy would be out shopping and to let ourselves in). The decor is great for those interested in history. We went out to one of the recommended restaurants in Shelby (Ni Fen Bistro) planning on having a glass of wine and an appetizer but ended up having a great dinner after hearing about the specials. At breakfast the next morning there were 5 couples who were total strangers. Just by asking the question "How did everyone sleep?" started a conversation that put all at ease and got us all acquainted. The tour of the museum, which consists of several cases of memorabilia throughout the house, was very interesting and entertaining. Marti is an excellent tour guide having lived much of the history showcased. Take advantage of the wine tasting at Baker Buffalo Creek. And don't miss one of the cooking classes. We took the lunch class on Sunday morning and learned how to make pizza from scratch (much easier than you may think and WAY better than anything you'll get from carryout) and a great greek salad. Marti, Stormy and Johnsie are great hosts. We hope to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Roadtrip Destination at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2014

The Inn of the Patriots is a wonderful road trip destination. Not only is the area steeped in history, it offers a myriad of activities to suit anyone's tastes. The Inn is a treasure in itself and Marty makes history come alive when he conducts his tour of the property. Two days was not near enough time to fully enjoy everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Enjoyable Stay!! at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 25, 2014

The owners were very friendly and the property was wonderful!! We hope to stay there again soon!!

View more reviews for this inn


Beware! Inn does not meet its hype. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

1.0 reviewed on September 25, 2014

This Inn has lots of impressive PR but the reality is very disappointing. The inn's rates are very overpriced for a room with a shared bath used by up to 5 others. All of "Presidential" clutter although interesting are dust collectors meaning the inn needs a thorough cleaning. For a culinary inn, breakfast was nothing out of ordinary: oatmeal, bacon, potatoes, and French toast. This was a very unsatisfactory experience at any price.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Charlotte Gem! at Edna Inn (Charlotte, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2014

Our stay at The Edna Inn was absolutely one of the most pleasant places I have stayed, anywhere.... The Innkeeper Madison was the most wonderful hostess and was very welcoming and accommodated our every need and preference. When we arrived it was very clean and we felt very much at home. The Edna Inn is in a quiet neighborhood that is about a five minute drive to downtown Charlotte and very close to some of the city's best dining. Madison also gave us some great tips on where to spend our time during the vacation which was very helpful! I will definitely return for another visit, Madison very much makes the experience you can tell that she very much enjoys what she does as she is an excellent hostess! P.S. - I am copying this review and posting it as much as I can because the Edna Inn is a true gem! Thanks again Madison! See you again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


review at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on September 20, 2014

Had a very pleasant stay and time away. quiet and very enjoyable

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Historic Bed and Breakfast at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on September 17, 2014

Marty and Stormy are wonderful hosts. The rooms and public spaces are beautifully decorated with a mixture of antiques and modern furniture resulting in serene and restfully atmosphere. There are collections of White House and Revolutionary War memorabilia to entertain you as well as books and DVDs. The front porch has rocking chairs that look out on a quiet neighborhood of historic houses. It was the peaceful retreat we were looking for when we booked our vacation. The best part was having breakfast cooked each day by a world class chef! The food was outstanding! We thoroughly enjoyed The Inn of the Patriots.

View more reviews for this inn


The Great Escape! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 07, 2014

There are not enough adjectives to use to rate our stay at the Inn of the Patriots, but we will try to use a few to describe it. Our stay was restful, wonderful, educational and entertaining to say the least. We received a wonderful tour through the museum that was insightful and eye opening to some of the history of North Carolina as well as some wonderful antidotes about Marti's time at the White House. The breakfast each morning was impeccable with food fresh from his garden as well as local vendors. The cooking class was marvelous. Who knew that one could make fresh dough for pizza in eight minutes or less as well as have it being quite tasty too. We had such an enjoyable time and got to do the one thing that we wanted to do more than anything which was relax. We would definitely recommend the Inn of the Patriots for an insightful, entertaining, restful and eye opening time.

View more reviews for this inn


White House culinary history and good food! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 07, 2014

Marti is a gifted storyteller of local history and history of presidential menus...stories he shares during the cooking class and house tour. A stay at the eclectic Inn of the Patriots is both restful and entertaining. The cooking class is fun for cooks and non-cooks with lots of helpful and healthy instructions. The breakfast included local farm foods and of course one White House dish complete with story. While you are in the area be sure to also visit downtown Shelby and Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens in nearby Gastonia. There are several good wineries inn the area. Ask Marti for directions and advice.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}