Get a free $100 with a gift card purchase of $350

Recent Reviews in Charlotte, North Carolina

'Getway Night at B&B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

2.4 reviewed on August 24, 2014

The Enn could be a real gem but contains far too much clutter. The owners need to decide if they are running a B&B or a museum. Every inch of the main area and rooms contain far too many collected keepsakes from his career. Even the dinning table was cluttered with keepsakes and non essential items. Parking was in rear with path to back door. Wrong! - no answer. Had to go around to front door ( which was plastered with so many stickers and signs to looked like a cheap hotel. Entry foyer,once we were finally let in, was same way. The Breakfast was a real disappointment since we figured since he was a chief we would have an exceptional breakfast. Wrong!! The breakfast was disorganized and what I would have expected from a basic Cafe. Coffee was in carafes on table with no service. Girl brought out a bowl of grits by then selves. Guests asked what else are we getting and the answer was " I don't know". About 5 min later a bowl of bacon was brought out by its self and then a bowl of cereal a few min later and again we were left wondering if this was all there was. Finally a plate of toast and later a breakfast skillet was brought. We had to ask for jam and butter..We never saw the chief until after all this. The taste and presentation of what was brought was what I would expect from a cafe - no more. After breakfast the owner/chief made a history presentation and explained a lot of his career and collections and was very interesting; but, until they get their act together on breakfast and clutter I cannot recommend to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Marti makes cooking fun... at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on August 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the cooking classes, they were casual, stress-free and informative. Inn is unique and charming, although would have liked a private bath. Come and go as you please, view the interesting memorabilia, or sit just on the porch and read a good book.

View more reviews for this inn


Great overnight stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2014

Had a great overnight stay. Downtown Shelby close by with great dining. Chef Marti was an excellent host and the home was very interesting to look at with all of the items on display. Breakfast was fantastic. Home was very quiet and comfortable. Thanks !

View more reviews for this inn


OUTSTANDING, yes I know I'm shouting at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 12, 2014

This is the first time that I've stayed at any B&B. The house is loaded with historic artifacts and interesting memoribilia. The breakfast was INCREDIBLE!!!! The history lesson by Marti was enjoyable, entertaining, and informational.

View more reviews for this inn


Red Velvet Waffles at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2014

The Inn itself is located at the Carolina border (you can walk to South Carolina if you want to) and is a 10-30 minute drive from 2 wineries and 2 state parks. I definitely recommend Buffalo Creek Winery and Crowders Mountain State Park if you go. Aside from the surrounding area, which is lovely, the Inn itself is also quite nice. I spent two nights in the Magnificent Polynesian room and slept like a champ. The breakfast (both mornings) was some of the best food I have had in a while and served in a family style that promotes interaction with other guests. After breakfast Marti gives a very good tour of his house, providing a history lesson ranging from the battle fought at Kings Mountain to the china used by presidents at the white house. There are a lot of games scattered throughout the house and plenty of places to sleep and lounge as well. It may take several years to happen but I would definitely go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2014

Great time, Marti was a fantastic host.

View more reviews for this inn


A Room with Entertainment at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2014

This trip was one of the most relaxing and fascinating short term bed-and-breakfast stays. I've ever experienced! The incredible local history was made alive by Marti'a amazing stories spun in the first person as though it was happening today! The entire inn was a living Museum dotted with artifacts, displays, and books; all about the early American Revolutionary period. His antidotal stories of his life in the Navy and as a chef for the president at Camp David all made history seem more alive and personal! Add to that the beautiful rolling landscape of the rural community outside of Grover and you have yourself one of the best bed-and-breakfast experiences you'll ever have!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 26, 2014

The food is awesome! I enjoyed the cooking class as well. Marti was very accomodating, helpful, and welcoming. Would definitely visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT TIME AT THE INN! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2014

I love the Oceanius Room with the king size bed! Great hospitality by Chef Mongiello, his wife and beautiful daughter! Hearty homemade breakfast was the best part! A tour of the house was a great way to understand its history! We loved the cooking class and complimentary wine tasting! We will definitely be back for more!

View more reviews for this inn


Overall a Wonderful Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The inn keeper was very nice and very knowledgeable about the town. The food was absolutely amazing. We can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


4th of July Vacation at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on July 07, 2014

The Inns of the Patriot was a great choice for our 4th of July vacation. The tour was very interesting and the cooking class was great fun.

View more reviews for this inn


An enlightening experience. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on July 07, 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The opportunity to talk to Chef Marti with his seemingly endless amount of information on history (world, american and presidential) cooking and presentation was priceless. We had a delicious meal at Nifen and we purchased a few bottles at the Baker Buffalo Creak winery while having a long talk with Ann (owner and hospitality professional).

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on June 27, 2014

My wife and I found this inn on a travel site.Our expectations were met and exceeded by this great place! Marti and Stormy make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The house is very comfortable. Our room was large and neat. The personal attention you receive is a welcome change from being just another number on a ledger. I highly recommend taking one of the cooking classes! They are fun and you get to eat what you prepare! If you are looking for something different this is the place!

View more reviews for this inn


Unbelievable! at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2014

Melanie and her home were beyond amazing! My family stayed there for one night, and it was just going to be a place to lay our heads after a long day at the nearby Carowinds Amusement Park. We arrived, and were BLOWN AWAY! The pictures, although gorgeous on the websites, do not do justice to seeing it all in person. I have never stayed in a home, let alone a hotel, this spectacular. My three children felt like they were in a dream. We had to leave to go get dinner because we didn't prepare to make dinner there, and that was a disappointment, as the kitchen was nothing short of a chefs dream kitchen. Melanie has thought of everything to make her home feel as though it is your home when you come stay. She even had fresh flowers on the counter for our arrival! We loved the cinema room! Melanie had 2 blow-up mattresses....along with extra sheets, that the children blew up, and enjoyed laying on in the cinema room, as my boyfriend and myself enjoyed the spacious and very comfortable couches in there. We felt like we were in a movie theater....only we were comfortable! We were lucky enough to have had the pleasure of meeting her in person when we arrived, and it will be so nice to have be able to put a face to the most hospitable hostess we have ever encountered, let alone the most memorable place we have ever stayed. She was always just a phone call or a text away if we needed anything. We will all have wonderful memories of the dream home we had the pleasure to stay at. We cannot wait to come back! Thank you so much for everything Melanie! Tina and Mike

View more reviews for this inn


Cooking class at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on June 24, 2014

Though we were only here for the cooking class, we were impressed by the layout and overall feel of the B&B. The chef that held the class was informative, entertaining, engaging, and funny. This is something we would definitely recommend to friends to try.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 23, 2014

Great place to stay. We enjoyed sitting on the porch while it was raining. Breakfast was marvelous.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay and cooking classes on June 18, 2014 at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on June 23, 2014

The accommodations were even nicer in person and the dinner cooking class was great and filled with a lot of useful and practical information. We would definitely go again and will recommend it to our friends. The Culinary Museum tour was also great!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Stay! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on June 23, 2014

Spent a pleasant evening here and had a great breakfast in the morning. Love the foot and back massager in the room -- an unexpected perk. Thanks so much!

View more reviews for this inn


The Weintraub's at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2014

Great place & service.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Unique Experience at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on June 14, 2014

The owners are extremely friendly and very Veteran aware. We had a good time.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B & B! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on June 11, 2014

Marti & Stormy are great hosts! Great presidential stories and memorabilia too!

View more reviews for this inn


Good place to stay great food at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on June 11, 2014

The only bad part about the stay was share a bathroom with the owner and two more if we didnt have to do that it would of been great

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2014

We stayed one night and I wish we could have stayed longer! The place was nice and cozy and Marty and Stormy were super nice people! The breakfast Marty cooked was excellent and he filled us in with some history knowledge of the house and all. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to be back one day!

View more reviews for this inn


Two Day Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on June 04, 2014

Great deal from Living Social. House is old and rustic but much history was presented by the owner.

View more reviews for this inn


Historical B&B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.0 reviewed on June 04, 2014

The stories told by the owner of the history of the area and the B&B are priceless.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent getaway especially for history enthusiasts. Highly recommend at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on June 03, 2014

This was an excellent stay experience. Thought the history was fabulous and really enjoyed the family I made. All recommendations made by the staff were right on the spot and the wineries were fabulous. Ann and Charlie at Bakers winery were the nicest people and I can see us going back to the area with our children to visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous Learning Experience at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on June 02, 2014

We stayed for an evening and took the cooking class. It was so interesting to hear behind the scenes stories about our Presidents.Chef Marti is very knowledgeable about history and cooking. Enjoyed the Cleaveland Room, seeing all of the memorabilia and exploring the grounds of the Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


History and great food! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2014

It was an amazing time. The room was incredible. The house absolutely beautiful and packed with history. Chef Marti served up some of the best food I have ever tasted, and the cooking class was the best. If you love History this is a must!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent time! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2014

We had an excellent stay! Great food and accommodations! We enjoyed our visit, hope to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


What a great place at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2014

It was wonderful

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}