Free $50 gift card!

Recent Reviews in Charlotte, North Carolina

Warm, comfortable, inviting at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 30, 2015

This is a lovely inn with interesting history all over the place. The staff was without exception friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Our room (Col. Cleaveland) was spacious and comfortable. I would recommend Inn of the Patriots to anyone wanting a relaxing stay where you receive attention without hovering.

View more reviews for this inn


Marty & Stormy's B&B is AWESOME! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed our two day "get away" at Marty & Stormy's cozy B&B. We relaxed with champagne in the Colonel Cleveland room and enjoyed all of the wonderful amenities and decor. The foot massager was the bomb after walking the trails at Kings Mountain! Chefs Marty & Robin cooked the most AMAZING and hearty breakfasts each day. Loved everything and highly recommend!! God Bless you!

View more reviews for this inn


a fun weekend at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2015

great food, wonderful history, a unique weekend getaway

View more reviews for this inn


December 2014 Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2015

Cute place to stay...great getaway with fun things to do nearby.

View more reviews for this inn


Girls night at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on January 03, 2015

I made the trip with my 10 year old. She just LOVED our room and the homemade sugar cookies out on the table! She loved exploring the museum and running around with the owners daughter. It was more like visiting someone's home than a hotel, just wonderful. The only thing my little one wasn't happy with was breakfast. I found it to be pretty good but it was just a little too fancy for her I guess. Most I the food was a little too spicy for her. (But this is a child that threw down on shrimp the nighy before she's a big and not so picky eater) she had been really excited for breakfast so this was a slight disappointment but everything else was just wonderful. Oh and the bed was HEAVEN!

View more reviews for this inn


So much to do, so little time. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on December 31, 2014

Had a great time a Inn of the Patriots. Marti was such a wealth of information about the area and it's history. Baker Buffalo Winery is not to be missed as well as the DS Botanical Gardens.

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas in Grover at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on December 29, 2014

Food was delicious! Presidential artifacts and stories made this a unique experience. So glad we were able to stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on December 27, 2014

Had a fantastic stay. Marti, Stormy and the entire staff were pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Marti had TONS of suggestions of things to do in the area. We felt like we were at home during our visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Night at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on December 10, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the Inn. I feel the room price was a little high so I only booked for one night. We ordered the Cheese/Cracker and meat tray. It was awesome. Plenty for my husband and me for dinner. I found coupons so I can get a better rate so my husband and I are already planning to go again next year. Marti makes you feel right at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at this B&B at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2014

Marti is a fabulous host with fascinating stories and attention to his guest. Very comfortable and homey atmosphere, with recommendations to some great placesfor dinner and wine tasting. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on December 09, 2014

Enjoyed conversing with Marti. Breakfasts were excellent. Marti made good suggestions about places to go and things to see. The restaurant he suggested was excellent and the Cleveland County Fair was fun.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Visit at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on December 01, 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic stay!! Within two weeks of staying, we had our parents visit and stay. We will be returning to this beautiful B&B and county.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at the Inn at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on December 01, 2014

The facility was nice, clean and cozy. It was our first stay at a BnB. I enjoyed the other couples and mingling with others you don't get at a hotel. My only disappointment was how much hype there was over the chef being so talented. The breakfast was ok, just nothing more exciting than I would cook at home myself. I had expected something more exotic that frittata, potatoes and sausage. I wish breakfast would have shown his talents as a chef that we had heard about from those who attended his cooking class.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect night at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 19, 2014

Amazing place! Would highly recommend this as a get away.

View more reviews for this inn


An Interesting Little Inn at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on November 11, 2014

We enjoy trying new Inns and this one is a must-visit! Combine comfort with gourmet breakfast and hands-on history - that's the Inn of the Patriots. And you can take a cooking class with the owner, a former White House chef! Located between Charlotte(less than an hour) and Asheville ( an hour and a half) so you can enjoy what these cities have to offer as well. We stayed in an upstairs room with shared bath but would recommend choosing a room downstairs with private bath.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from Home at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2014

My husband and I honeymooned for 12 days in Hawaii and needed a place to rest after our 10.5 hours worth of flights and before our 7 hours worth of driving. We could not have found a better place to do so. Greg and Linda were very warm and welcoming, the house was magnificently decorated and furnished, and the room was all we could have asked for and more. They knew it was our honeymoon and gave us champagne and an outstanding restaurant recommendation for dinner. After dinner, the king bed in our room was so comfortable that I passed out before I could even climb under the covers. Greg and Linda were kind enough to let their weary travelers sleep in and we had an absolutely delectable breakfast at 10:30AM. Breakfast consisted of a fruit cocktail with every berry (extremely fresh) you can think of, two types of sausage, two savory types of quiche, hash browns and best of all - home made bread!! We left Matthews Manor extremely rested, fat and happy. We strongly recommend making a visit.

View more reviews for this inn


great family run bed and breakfast at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on November 05, 2014

We had a living social deal for the inn. We really enjoyed the room and the inn was full of history and trinkets. I will warn that the upstairs rooms are shared bathrooms if that is a deal breaker. The breakfast was amazing. Overall, it was s nice family run inn but maybe a bit over priced. We also did the cooking class. It was fun but could use some work to make it more interactive (I.e. everyone should make their own portion and possibly more technique instruction). I think we would have been disappointed if we had paid full price for the cooking class.

View more reviews for this inn


The Inn of the Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on November 03, 2014

Actually, in most respects the experience was Excellent! (Either my fingers or your app did not allow "excellent" in some catergories) I would reccommend thus B N B to anyone who loves histoy, beautiful scenery, wines, cooking and great hosts and hostess. The home is old snd steeped in history and has some really unique surprises. Our room eas very comfortable and well appointed. We would definetly entertsin a return visit. The cooking class is a must do!!

View more reviews for this inn


Who knew Grover, NC would be so much fun! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this Inn. The breakfasts were wonderful, our bed was super comfy, and the room was full of fun historical items. The host is an amazing historian. We also enjoyed the cooking class. We learned quite a bit.

View more reviews for this inn


Home to Rest at Matthews Manor (Matthews, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 23, 2014

Art works wonderful--a bit over the top but it's you, so keep it! Bed very supportive and firm. Will be back for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


Great History! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 22, 2014

The Inn of the Patriots was a great historical experience. The Baby Ruth room allowed us to experience what it might be like to have lived in the past. The memorabilia was awesome. Marty and Stormy made us feel at home and allowed us to share parts of their lives. I really enjoyed the cooking class and the pizza we cooked was the best I've ever had. I would return and will stay longer...next time. It was a pleasure meeting them and sharing Philly stories with Marty.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 20, 2014

Had a very nice stay at the Patriots Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Good time at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 19, 2014

The cooking class gave us tons of new ideas and it was interesting learning all the presidential fun facts. Kim was soo sweet and the rooms were comfy. We totally recommend the Baker Buffalo Winery, the wine was FABULOUS and the owners were I nice. Thanks for a weekend away!

View more reviews for this inn


Not worth visiting again. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

2.2 reviewed on October 16, 2014

Marti is definitely a master of self-promotion. I'm just not sure that what is delivered by his cooking class, food, or inn meets the expectations set by his high claims. The inn itself is very cluttered, and I was extremely turned off to be greeted at the doorway by a decrepit gingerbread house that has clearly seen better days. At first I thought our bathroom situation was less than stellar with a shower stuffed in a closet and a toilet in another closet, but then I learned that two sets of guests were sharing a bathroom upstairs with the owner and his family. I guess mine wasn't that bad after all. The food was decent but not remarkable, and Chef Marti didn't actually cook breakfast for us either morning. So if you are excited to eat food prepared by a White House Chef, this may not be the place for you.

View more reviews for this inn


Casual & Cozy B&B at Edna Inn (Charlotte, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 09, 2014

My husband & I enjoyed our stay at the Edna Inn. The owner was sweet, gracious & welcoming. Our bed was very comfortable & our bathroom was large :) Both mornings we had a yummy breakfast & they were peppered w/ nice conversations w/ another couple that were staying at the Edna Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Nature Room at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 09, 2014

Excellent food, service and history. We enjoyed our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful short holiday near interesting historic sites. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

We visited the King's Mountain battlefield and the Cowpens Battlefield which we found very interesting.

View more reviews for this inn


Polynesian Escape at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 04, 2014

A nice place to stay and get great food, service and a history lesson all in a fun way. The luncheon cooking class was great with lots of hands on and a great presentation. Marti and his crew do a fantastic job overall. Give it a try!!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing, fun weekend at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 02, 2014

Plan in advance because they are probably booked - and for good reason! We arrived on Friday afternoon and had a chance to look around by ourselves (we received an email stating that Marti and Stormy would be out shopping and to let ourselves in). The decor is great for those interested in history. We went out to one of the recommended restaurants in Shelby (Ni Fen Bistro) planning on having a glass of wine and an appetizer but ended up having a great dinner after hearing about the specials. At breakfast the next morning there were 5 couples who were total strangers. Just by asking the question "How did everyone sleep?" started a conversation that put all at ease and got us all acquainted. The tour of the museum, which consists of several cases of memorabilia throughout the house, was very interesting and entertaining. Marti is an excellent tour guide having lived much of the history showcased. Take advantage of the wine tasting at Baker Buffalo Creek. And don't miss one of the cooking classes. We took the lunch class on Sunday morning and learned how to make pizza from scratch (much easier than you may think and WAY better than anything you'll get from carryout) and a great greek salad. Marti, Stormy and Johnsie are great hosts. We hope to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Roadtrip Destination at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2014

The Inn of the Patriots is a wonderful road trip destination. Not only is the area steeped in history, it offers a myriad of activities to suit anyone's tastes. The Inn is a treasure in itself and Marty makes history come alive when he conducts his tour of the property. Two days was not near enough time to fully enjoy everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}