Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Charlevoix, Michigan

Wonderful experience at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2014

We recently had a great time enjoying the hospitality of the Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast. The hosts were very pleasant, the room was beautiful and the food was the best. We could have had a better experience. Although the winter weather was approaching the accommodations made up for the weather. We enjoyed ourselves and look forward to another visit in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience will return for sure! at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for making it so perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Get Away at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2014

We stayed at the House on the Hill for two nights, and it was a fantastic experience! As a young couple in our early twenties, we were looking for a vacation with lots of activity and this place has it all included! You can paddle board, kayak, and canoe on the beautiful lake and it is all included in the price of the room! There is also tons of hiking on their 53 acre land. It was a truly amazing experience and the owners are so nice and hospitable, not to mention great cooks! Breakfast was great every morning, and filled us up so that we could go explore on full bellies! This was the best decision of our entire vacation, two thumbs way up!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfully wonderful at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on July 31, 2014

Thank you Phillip and Marci. Peaceful, quiet, and 5 star breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2014

Beautiful setting with many things to do. Charming hostess and a delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


The best b & b we've ever stayed in. at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2014

Fabulous place, great rooms, wonderful breakfast. Marci and Phil are extraordinary hosts. We come a couple of times a year and love it more each time.

View more reviews for this inn


Gourmet breakfast and beautiful scenery at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2014

This is the perfect bed and breakfast as far as I'm concerned. Our room was clean and spacious, and we looked forward to each unique, gourmet breakfast with anticipation. It's a short drive to Charlevoix or Boyne City, but there's plenty to keep you busy right on the property with trails to explore and a lake to enjoy on their canoes or kayaks. We'll definitely be visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Falling in Love at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2014

We fell in love with the House, the owners, the view, the food Everything was perfect for our two day stay. We are looking forward to returning soon. My husband loved the chocolate chip cookies and the proximity of many lakes and rivers to kayak.

View more reviews for this inn


Our new favorite Bed and Breakfast! at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 29, 2014

We have been to a lot of B&Bs and I have to say this is definitely our favorite one. House on the Hill is a sight to behold! Whether we were sitting on the beautiful porch enjoying the breathtaking views of the lake while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing to the sounds of the babbling brook, our visit could not have been more perfect. Marci and Phil are wonderful hosts. They are very warm and welcoming, as was Marci's mom who makes the worlds best jams! They are also very knowledgeable about places to see and restaurants to eat at. They were spot on in all of their recommendations. We took advantage of the beautiful weather and had a picnic down on the beach (thanks to Marci) then went canoeing in the picturesque lake where we had the unique opportunity to see a bald eagle flying above us. To describe Marci's 3 course breakfasts as amazing is an understatement. Each one was made from scratch and raved over by everyone at the table. They provide you with everything you need to make your stay enjoyable, from paddle boards and kayaks, to a canoe and even lent my husband a fishing pole. We walked the groomed trails on their gorgeous 53 acre wooded property and saw deer and even a whooping crane! We stayed in the Maple Room in the Carriage House and it was perfect! We loved our room, it was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated as is every room in the house. We sat on our back porch and listened to the sounds of nature all around us while the stress of the week just melted right off our shoulders. The 24 hour coffee, snack, and beverage bar was such a nice treat, along with the homemade baked goods that showed up magically each afternoon. There is so much to see and do if you want to explore, yet it's also a perfect place to relax and take in all the peaceful beauty that surrounds you. It really is a little peace of heaven and we can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Stay at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2014

We couldn't have selected a finer Bed and Breakfast to combine use of a gift certificate from our kids, with some mid-week Spring Morel hunting. Having never been here before, we weren't sure what to expect, but The House on The Hill certainly met and exceeded all the amenities listed on this website. Location is peaceful and gorgeous. House and bedrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. View from the front porch while sharing a bottle of wine was wonderful. Even did some Morel hunting on their spacious property. Marcie was a great hostess and left no needs unmet, including a 24 hr. snack/coffee area, a gourmet breakfast, and pleasant conversation. We definitely plan to recommend this to family and friends and will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Torch Lake Review at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

3.8 reviewed on February 25, 2014

Lovely B&B, great hosts & lovely location on Torch Lake. The views were spectacular. Our hosts, Deb & Mike, were very welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


Great winter blues buster! at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on February 25, 2014

We felt like we were the only people there; very peaceful and serene. Breakfast was very tasty and enjoyable. Liked meeting new people and felt at home.

View more reviews for this inn


The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2013

Absolutely peaceful, beautiful, amazing breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


ACCOMMODATING AND RELAXING at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2013

OUR VISIT WAS AT THE END OF OCTOBER. WEATHER WAS RAINY FEW SNOW SHOWERS. TOURED THE WEST COAST FROM PETOSKY TO HOLLAND. EVEN WITH WEATHER WAS ABLE TO ENJOY A RELAXING TIME. CLOSE TO OTHER CITIES / ATTRACTIONS WHICH MADE THE DECISION EASIER. AFTER STAYNG IN CHAIN MOTELS FOR MOST OF OUR TRIP IN WESTERN MICH.THIS WAS A WELCOME EXPERIENCE.... WE DEFINETLY WOULD RECOMMEND " THE HOUSE on the HILL" DC / MARY - OHIO

View more reviews for this inn


Best B and B EVER!!!! at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2013

My mom took my family on a trip to this B&B and we LOVED it!!! The rooms are cozy, comfortable, and large. The bathrooms are nicely equipped and comfortable as well. The innkeepers are lovely people who are friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Every night a snack is prepared, dessert is prepared, and there is time to socialize with the innkeepers and the other guests. My six-year-old son also went with us, and he loved it. He loved all of the rooms and the decor. Also, the innkeeper found a white-tailed deer outside one evening, and he ran up the stairs to our room to get my son to go out and see the deer. They got within four feet of the deer. My son was absolutely in awe of it! We loved that the innkeepers were so kind and accommodating. The B&B was super clean, the breakfasts were amazing, and the innkeepers were amazing at giving suggestions about what to do that day, or what restaurants to eat at depending on our mood. They also told us what types of local festivities were happening that day as well. I cannot say enough great things about this place. I hope to go back soon! It was a little piece of paradise.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxation at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2013

The owners, Jeannie and Dave, do a marvelous job. The house and gardens are maintained meticulously, the breakfast is sumptuous and always a pleasant surprise when it is served in the sunroom, and the hosts offer very useful advice what to do in the area. Not to forget the desserts offered in the evening, e.g. peach cobbler. Since we were 3 travelers, we had the 2 adjacent rooms on the top floor with a shared bath room. They were very nice and the beds extremely comfortable. Attention to details is throughout, e.g. fresh bath towels every day, high-quality shampoo and soap in the shower, lots of maps of the area, menus of the local restaurant etc. There are 2 rules to adhere to (arrival time, breakfast at 9) - but I think these 2 rules allow the owners to focus on the important stuff - that is to make everybody feel at home and allow them to have a great vacation. We certainly did !

View more reviews for this inn


More than Bed and Breakfast; Inviting Setting at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on October 08, 2013

Great bed. Best sleep away from home ever, anywhere. Surroundings invited peaceful walks and restful stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Fall color tour at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2013

We had an exceptional two day's at the Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast! The rooms are clean,warm,and inviting. We were treated like family, from the outstanding breakfasts to the wonderful evening deserts. Our host's Dave and Jeannie were very accomadating in every way. My wife and I really enjoyed the stay. We would highly recommend the Inn to anyone and everyone!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Our 40th anniversary weekend at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on September 23, 2013

We were so very pleased with our stay at, The House on the Hill. We were made welcome right off, our room was very well appointed and very clean. There was a wonderful view of the back gardens and natural spring out our window and on the long front porch we looked out on a delightful lake. We will be returning and recommending this homey, pleasant B&B to our friends.

View more reviews for this inn


A little slice of heaven and the BEST views on Torch Lake at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2013

My husband and I planned an impromptu getaway to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and were looking for a luxurious, private retreat to soothe our overworked souls and re-energize our spirits. Deb, Mike and lil Molly created an experience we will never forget. The Vista Suite was pure comfort with all the amenities you would ever want for. Lxurious linnens and mountains of pillows dressed a king bed that made it very hard to rise. I received some of the best nights sleep and took endulgent naps as the clean, cool breeze from the Torch lulled me to sleep. The bed was so impressive and the linens are for sale, so be sure to inquire with Deb during breakfast. The morning meals were another exquisite endulgence. Deb serves up a culinary morning miracle which is only enhanced by the view of the lake and soothing morning music as the days adventure is planned. Our goal was to totally relax and detach from life in the city, and after three days rest, soaks in the hot tub and long silent gazes out over the water: mission accomplished. We have stayed at many BBs throughout the state and US, and this spot is now at tue top of my list for the ultimate getaway destination. The setting and lake views are unmatched and the interior is welcoming, cozy and beautifully decorated. It was a nice change from the traditional Victorian style some century BBs attend to. Deb and Mike are wonderful hosts and people you feel you've know for years; so gracious, kind and hospitable. They made our celebration so special and helped cater to whatever our agenda was. Whether you're seeking a power trip packed with activities or a place to hide away and revive your spirit, you've certianly found your destination. A stay at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast is an experience you'll want to make an annual tradition. We are already planning next year!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 09, 2013

Had the pleasure of visiting in June of this year and it was awesome. Everything about Horton Creek is outstanding, the breakfast, the rooms, the comfort, the grounds and the hosts, Jeannie and Dave or beyond outstanding. Would highly recommend to everyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2013

Marci and Phil are wonderful!!!! The rooms are great and location is fanatic. The B&B smells wonderful when you walk in (must be Marci's cooking)!!!! I wish we had more time to spend than just a short weekend. We will definitely stay with them again on our next trip to Norther MI.

View more reviews for this inn


First stay at torch at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2013

Still raving a week later, it was all we hoped for and more. The room was perfect the food was amazing, can't wait to book another weekend. Thank you Mike and deb for making our getaway perfect. The lawrences will be back soon.

View more reviews for this inn


First time was a charmer at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay in a B&B close to a wedding we were attending. I had heard great things about The House on the Hill and made my reservation. We were greeted warmly by Marci and taken to our room which was just delightful. Overall, a very nice stay and I would do it again in a hearbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast during the summer of 2013. We were delighted by this first experience staying at a B&B. The owners did a fine job in welcoming us into their establishment. The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. Many nice extras were included. We had everything we needed and more. Breakfast was outstanding! Again, we were very satisfied. I would highly recommend this establishment. We will definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt at home. at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2013

Food and service were outstanding. We felt at home there. The rooms were clean and the decor was charming throughout the house. We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing in Michigan at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on July 20, 2013

My sister-in-law and I had a great relaxing time at The House On The Hill. We never expected such a warm welcome. Marci carried our luggage upstairs and made us feel at home instantly. Her cooking skills are awesome as she presented gourmet breakfasts every day. The grounds are gorgeous and so well kept - - inspiring to walk through and admire all the flowers.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks Marci and Phil at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2013

My mom took me here as a mother/daughter weekend and I was so pleased I can't wait to go again. It's beautiful and picturesque with the lake out front and the woods and trails out back. It's a wonderful quiet environment that you don't get just anywhere.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and Delicious Getaway at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2013

We enthusiastically recommend House on the Hill for a romantic getaway. We took advantage of a winter special paired with dinner at the Rowe Inn. Thoroughly delightful midweek winter break. Marci's breakfasts are best B&B food we have had. Aside from her cooking talents she is a warm and hospitable host. We will be back with family!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B. Great owners! One of the Best we've stayed in. House On The Hill is on our 'To stay again list!' at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on February 13, 2013

Les & Bill

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}