Recent Reviews in Catonsville, Maryland

Our visit to the Wilderness B and B at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2016

We were so pleased with our stay. Ellen is a wonderful host and chef! The home was beautiful. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the outside porch amidst many birds chirping. We would highly recommend this B and B!

View more reviews for this inn


great stay in the city at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

Had a great stay with Ellen. The breakfast were great and we enjoyed talking with her. If you have allergies or don't like cats this would not be for you.

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness Review at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

The house was beautiful and the rooms were very comfy. I would highly recommend The Wildness to anyone who is in need of a relaxing vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent rooms, location, hostess, and cats at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Though this B&B is close to cities, it feels like it's in the wilderness. Beautiful rooms, lovely gardens--a perfect retreat.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place, awesome host. at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on June 19, 2016

All good, although we wished we had a way of controlling the AC in the room. Ellen was a fantastic host and made a huge effort to meet our dietary preferences.

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness is anything but Wild!!! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on May 31, 2016

The Wilderness was a wonderful experience and rather than being "Wild" it was elegant, historical,, and a truly exceptional experience. Ellen the owner, was a delight and fixed exceptional Breakfasts which I plan to copy for family and friends (she shared her recipes also!) the home is filled with lovely antiques and each has a story which Ellen relayed. it is centrally located to Baltimore and Washington and yet you feel like you are in a very private forest all to yourselves!!! we will return....Ann Rhoades

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2016

The B&B was very convenient to our activities in the area. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Ellen was a gracious hostess and very accommodating. We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great alternative to a downtown hotel. at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2016

Beautiful home in a very peaceful setting, yet very convenient to Baltimore. I needed to go to a conference downtown and this was a perfect alternative to a hotel near the conference center. Very easy drive into town and while I was gone, my wife made herself at home and caught up on some reading on the porch, in the dining room, or under some trees. We stayed in the Blue and Gold room, which was very spacious. Ellen is a marvelous host. Several good options for dinner nearby (we opted for Matthew's 1600 about 5 minutes away).

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful escape at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on May 04, 2016

My stay at The Wilderness was exactly the retreat I needed. Even though I was arriving from a mere 10 minutes away, I found myself in what seemed to be a totally different world-- quiet, secluded, and peaceful. Ellen was a wonderful hostess and prepared tremendously delicious treats and breakfast. The suite was cozy, comfortable and welcoming. I am allergic to cats, but since the my rooms were spotlessly clean and completely free of any evidence of the kitties that live in the house, I had absolutely no problems with them. I truly had a lovely stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect quiet getaway! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on May 04, 2016

The Wilderness B&B is the perfect place to escape and recharge. The house itself is very charming with period decor and windows so old the glass has waves in it. The grounds are beautiful. There is an enchanting stream to walk along just across the way, as well as hiking trails nearby. And even just sitting on the porch with a cup of tea and listening to the birds sing held tremendous charm. Ellen, the hostess, accommodated my early check in and was pleasant to be around. Plus, she made a delicious breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a quiet escape.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at the Wilderness in December at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 27, 2015

While visiting family in the area, it was very convenient. The suite we stayed in was very comfortable and quiet. Our host was very friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Happy Guests at The Wilderness! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on December 03, 2015

Gracious and comfortable surroundings, a warm and welcoming hostess, and ultra comfortable beds made for a delightful stay at The Wilderness. Did I forget to say breakfast was DELICIOUS? One minor suggestion - a couple more lights for bedtime reading.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and quiet! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2015

We greatly enjoyed our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent visit! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2015

Suites were spacious and clean, the food was yummy, and Ellen is delightful! I highly recommend this B &B!

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2015

Enjoyed my stay very much. Pleasant surroundings, delicious food and a most gracious hostess.

View more reviews for this inn


Love The Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2015

We have stayed at The Wilderness on more than one occasion. It is a great property. The house is really neat and the location is very secluded but still close to local attractions. We will continue to stay there every time we come back to Baltimore.

View more reviews for this inn


A great, relaxing getaway! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on April 22, 2015

The accomodations were very comfortable. We had a nice dining experience in the morning. Place was clean and Ellen was a nice hostess

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2014

We had stayed at the Wilderness about a year and a half ago and were wondering if it would be as good this time. Well it was even nicer. It is such a relaxing atmosphere and a beautiful house. Ellen is soooo pleasant and helpful and just makes it relaxing. It is very clean and cannot think of anything to improve on. I look forward to staying there whenever I visit my son.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B we've ever stayed in! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 15, 2014

Lovely rooms in a beautiful location, great food, and lots to see and do in the area. We've been staying here for several years when visiting our family and have never been disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on December 10, 2014

We stayed in the blue and gold room. The room is large and feels luxurious. Every furniture piece has a function. It is obvious that Ellen, the hostess, has a passion for historical houses and decoration. Ellen accommodated my wife's request for a vegan breakfast, which was set up in a large elegant dining room. She even baked vegan cookies for us. The house sits on a two acre wooded secluded lot, five minutes driving from Ellicott City and a short drive from Baltimore. Perfect weekend getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy, Quiet Charming Inn at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on November 26, 2014

My husband and I had an amazing stay at The Wilderness. Ellen is really friendly and super accommodating. We stayed in the Blue and Gold room. It's split into three rooms: the bedroom, a large bathroom and a large sitting room with chairs and a second twin bed. Ellen keeps delicious treats in the dining room for guests to snack on during their stay (the thin, crispy sugar cookies were my favorite). In the morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast, include an apple cake and a potato, egg, sausage casserole. The other guests were a real treat, too.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly recommended at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on November 26, 2014

I spend 50+ days in hotels around the world. I hate it. Thus, I now try to seek out alternative solutions. The Wilderness exceeded my expectations on every level. It felt like I was coming home to a family members mansion, while keeping my privacy and freedom to come and go. The Wilderness is a beautiful B&B, well managed by Ellen who made me feel very welcome, the food is excellent, and made to order. I will definitely make the Wilderness my #1 choice when visiting the Baltimore area. If you like running, the Wilderness is located about a mile from the path going next to the Baltimore-Ohio railroad in Patapsco. That's a huge plus for me. Best regards, Jan G, Oslo, Norway

View more reviews for this inn


Spacious bed and breakfast! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on October 21, 2014

Excellent bed and breakfast! And the cats are a bonus! I highly recommend The Wilderness!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend Trip at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2014

My husband surprised me with a stay at The Wilderness for my birthday. The house is beautiful and Ellen is wonderful. Just the history of the house alone is a great reason to stay, but she adds excellent service to make it that much better. I love this place and can't wait to stay again. I also plan to share this gem with visiting friends and family. Thank you again for a lovely weekend getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness is great. at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on October 09, 2014

Staying at the Wilderness is a journey back in time. A very large old summer house. A lovely place.

View more reviews for this inn


One of Maryland's best kept secrets! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Wilderness and had a wonderful time. The B&B is surprisingly only 15 minutes from BWI (if no traffic) and 5 minutes from historic Ellicott City. There is so much to do close by but we would have loved to just relax at the Wilderness and not go anywhere. The room was very impressive and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. We ate each morning on the screened porch watching the birds and petting the cats. Yes, we loved the cats! They made us feel right at home. We would definitely stay at the Wilderness again! Thanks Ellen.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Time had by all at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2014

Great getaway for my family.

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on September 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Wilderness! Ellen was so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious. The only complaint I have is that a cat kept showing up in our room! I have no idea how it got there! Luckily, we are not allergic. Maybe that was mentioned on the website, but I don't recall it.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and beautiful weekend getaway at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

This is a perfectly lovely inn, minutes from town (shops & good restaurants) and minutes from the park with its fine walking trails. It's just 18 minutes from Columbia and a great place to stay if you're visiting people over there. The breakfasts were copious, fresh and excellent. We will definitely go back there.

View more reviews for this inn


Heather & Meg's stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2014

The Wilderness is an absolutely beautiful, tranquil place to stay! We loved chatting with Ellen and she provided excellent service during our stay. Our room was great--comfy bed, bright and sunny, and quiet. I would definitely book another stay here if I'm ever in the area again!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Wilderness (4.71)
Top
}