Free $50 gift card with a $250+ gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Catonsville, Maryland

Spacious bed and breakfast! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on October 21, 2014

Excellent bed and breakfast! And the cats are a bonus! I highly recommend The Wilderness!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend Trip at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2014

My husband surprised me with a stay at The Wilderness for my birthday. The house is beautiful and Ellen is wonderful. Just the history of the house alone is a great reason to stay, but she adds excellent service to make it that much better. I love this place and can't wait to stay again. I also plan to share this gem with visiting friends and family. Thank you again for a lovely weekend getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness is great. at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on October 09, 2014

Staying at the Wilderness is a journey back in time. A very large old summer house. A lovely place.

View more reviews for this inn


One of Maryland's best kept secrets! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Wilderness and had a wonderful time. The B&B is surprisingly only 15 minutes from BWI (if no traffic) and 5 minutes from historic Ellicott City. There is so much to do close by but we would have loved to just relax at the Wilderness and not go anywhere. The room was very impressive and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. We ate each morning on the screened porch watching the birds and petting the cats. Yes, we loved the cats! They made us feel right at home. We would definitely stay at the Wilderness again! Thanks Ellen.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Time had by all at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2014

Great getaway for my family.

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on September 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Wilderness! Ellen was so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious. The only complaint I have is that a cat kept showing up in our room! I have no idea how it got there! Luckily, we are not allergic. Maybe that was mentioned on the website, but I don't recall it.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and beautiful weekend getaway at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

This is a perfectly lovely inn, minutes from town (shops & good restaurants) and minutes from the park with its fine walking trails. It's just 18 minutes from Columbia and a great place to stay if you're visiting people over there. The breakfasts were copious, fresh and excellent. We will definitely go back there.

View more reviews for this inn


Heather & Meg's stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2014

The Wilderness is an absolutely beautiful, tranquil place to stay! We loved chatting with Ellen and she provided excellent service during our stay. Our room was great--comfy bed, bright and sunny, and quiet. I would definitely book another stay here if I'm ever in the area again!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful! at Paradise Bed and Breakfast (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2014

We booked this room at the last minute and found it and our hostess most accommodating. Very comfortable and pleasant.

View more reviews for this inn


A Tale of Two Visits at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2014

My visit last year was for a joyous event (elementary school reunion), and I was smitten with the Wilderness at first sight. Room/bath were spotless & welcoming; breakfast with my housemates was scrumptious and pleasant. This trip, on the other hand, was a quick turnaround for family funeral. Nonetheless, Ellen was able to provide an experience that offered comfort and peace in the midst of sorrow. Sweets and cordials were offered in the evening, along with the continental breakfast for weekday guests. The Sullivan Suite felt like (my great-grandmother's) home. An HVAC issue early in the morning was resolved at once, even though it meant Ellen had to contact repairman before going to work. Home alone, I spent the hours before the funeral strolling the evocative and restful gardens. There is something special about a B&B which offers that historic feel travelers seek w/o seeming self-conscious or staged. As before, Ellen was a gracious hostess and the overall experience was perfection. Looking forward to fall, when our next reunion will afford me the opportunity to once again escape to the Wilderness.

View more reviews for this inn


Whimsical Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on July 17, 2014

I loved this house and I appreciated how so much attention to detail was given in the decor to keep everything from around the same period. I enjoyed the freshness of our breakfasts and I liked how there were treats left out at night. We stayed in the Patapsco Suite and I really liked how much natural light our room had, as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B Tucked Away from the Hustle & Bustle at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on June 23, 2014

The Wilderness was an excellent choice for our recent stay in the Baltimore area. You're driving through miles and miles of highways, city, and suburbs, turn off onto a small road, and suddenly you're in the woods. It's quiet. No traffic. Almost seems like you've crossed through a portal into some other world. Ellen was a very gracious host. She got up early to make us breakfast, since we had an early departure. Our room was clean and comfortable. And we enjoyed a casual stroll through the garden.

View more reviews for this inn


A little space of Paradise in Catonsville at Paradise Bed and Breakfast (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2014

What a lovely place; beautifully and tastefully decorated. The breakfast delicious, and healthy. Sabrina goes out of her way to provide outstanding accommodations and service, yet makes it appear so effortless. I recommend the Paradise Bed and Breakfast with NO qualms and encourage anyone passing through Catonsville, or even in the surrounding Baltimore area, make it a place to stay

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend at the Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on June 11, 2014

Beautiful home; super-comfy rooms and bed; good food; spectacular location!! Ellen was extremely friendly and helpful. All in all, a Wonderful stay at the Wilderness!! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful location and the Owner was professional and pleasant at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on June 08, 2014

We were impressed by the Old home, it smelled a little musty when we first entered, but I think old houses are like that. Our room was very spacious and had all the amenities we needed to make our stay very comfortable. We had good weather so we could enjoy an open window at night. I am not sure the home has air conditioning. The view from the porch was so nice and the breakfast was timely and good. Our host was mindful and helpful as well as kind. Great location.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on May 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights - super easy base-of-operations for going into downtown Baltimore and also seems to be surrounded by some really cute small towns and rural areas. I wish we had had more time to explore. Ellen was great - amazing breakfasts and great conversation with other guests. I highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend at the Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2014

Don't usually enjoy B&Bs - just not my thing. But really was wonderful!! The room was large with a sitting room and ensuite, welcoming to children, beautiful location and the food was great.

View more reviews for this inn


A beautiful and spacious B&B! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on May 22, 2014

Ellen was a charming hostess. Our stay was pleasant and held delightful surprises, like cordials available in the evenings and chocolates next the beds. Spacious rooms with antique furniture. Our 9 year old son couldn't understand why anyone would want to stay in a hotel if you could stay at the Wilderness.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply lovely at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on May 08, 2014

I've stayed at numerous b&bs around North America, and The Wilderness is the second best of all the bunch. Ellen is a terrific and very accommodating hostess. One of our party has celiac disease, and Ellen was gracious enough to supply not only gluten-free breakfast options, but also to bake up some gluten-free peanut butter cookies as one of her afternoon treats. Cat lovers will be pleased to make the acquaintance of the sociable household cats. People allergic to cats will be pleased to know that none of the cats are allowed into the private rooms. One of our party is allergic to cats, and had no significant trouble from cat dander. (However, pollen was plentiful in the region, so be aware of environmental problems.) My favorite part of the inn was the screened back porch, providing sunshine, fresh air, and plenty of bird watching opportunities with three separate feeders around the porch. So peaceful and pleasant! I highly recommend The Wilderness.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint, Convenient, and Full of Character at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at The Wilderness while in town visiting family. It was a beautiful place to stay, with a large suite (the Sullivan Suite), and amazing breakfast cooked by Ellen who owns the place. Would definitely recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


my weekend at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2014

all items to be reviewed were class A. had a good nite sleep and good conversation at breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on February 20, 2014

Excellent B&B. Lots of wildlife. We saw a small heard of 6 deer, an owl, dozens of birds. The rooms were clean, large, homey, each with their own sitting room and bathroom. Service was great. Great location only 10-15 min from Baltimore and a better value than any of the hotels in the area. Great hot breakfast, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit bowl, muffins. I don't know why anyone would want to stay in a hotel when you could have an room with sitting room, private bath, hot homemade breakfast (not the powdered eggs buffet style), wildlife, and so close to the city! Great place, excellent value!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful historic home with lots of (tasteful) personality at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on December 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Sullivan room for one night. We were really impressed with the Wildnerness! It's a beautiful old home that the owner has decorated to maintain the historic feel. It has lots of unique touches, but isn't tacky or overdone. Our suite was spacious and comfortable with a bedroom, sitting room, and bathroom. Breakfast was delicious, and the owner was incredibly accommodating, preparing a hot breakfast an hour earlier than planned to meet our schedule.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden gem at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2013

Stunning surroundings (early November), well-thought out details in lovely rooms, beautifully laid-out home--there's a lot of common space so you feel like the place is yours to wander. A wrap-around porch, a back screened-in porch beckon you outdoors. Slept so comfortably. Scrumptious breakfast (I went back for thirds). Kind, knowledgeable hostess, and CATS! I did not want to leave. I'd definitely go again and hopefully for a longer stay next time. Thank you, Ellen!

View more reviews for this inn


A fabulous weekend getaway! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2013

The house and grounds are immaculately maintained, with a fascinating history which the owner shared with us. Wooded walking trails at Patapsco State Park are nearby; also, lots of restaurants and a great wine store within a couple of miles. We would highly recommend this B and B.

View more reviews for this inn


The best weekend-and I needed it! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2013

My family was all very pleased with the accomadations at the Wilderness B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2013

Very nice a beautiful setting.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant, affordable staycation at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

3.2 reviewed on October 07, 2013

A nicely restored Victorian estate tucked into the woods, just a stone's throw from historic Ellicott City.

View more reviews for this inn


Great alternative to local hotels at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on October 07, 2013

My husband and I were visiting relatives in Catonsville. The Wilderness was a much more convenient location than hotels in Baltimore or near the airport. Our suite (Sullivan) was large, bright, and much more comfortable than typical hotels. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bath modern and clean. Great water pressure (not something you always find in older B & B's). The historic house is charming. Breakfast on the porch was a delight. The property makes you feel as if you are "away from it all" amid the tall pine trees - even though you are just minutes from town. The innkeeper, Ellen, is gracious and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful house, lovely stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on September 23, 2013

The house is absolutely beautiful and impeccably decorated. The ownee is very sweet and an excellent cook as well! The house cats are too cute with quirky personalities. You will love your stay here! As per old homes though, outlets are a littke hard to find in the rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Paradise Bed and Breakfast (4.71)
  2. The Wilderness (4.68)
Top
}