BarcelonaBB.com Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

Another Great Stay with Barcelona B&B

4.8 on October 17, 2012

Barcelona is one of our favorite cities. We have been visiting for many years and each time staying in one of the Barcelona B&B properties. The location of the B&B is ideal as the heart of town is only a few blocks off but when one comes home it feels like one is truly living in BCN. With the recent renovations to the rooms and the new insulated glass, Kiku & John have done a great job. Each time we go back we find new amenities and upgrades. A visit to Barcelona is, for us, like going to see friends in the world's most beautiful city!


Great Hosts, Perfect Location for walking to transport or sites.

3.8 on July 22, 2012

Sorry this is so late, we stayed there in Sept of 2008 and had a great time. Our hosts went out of there way to tell us and our housemates where to go locally to eat, to watch for teams of "con" artists. They are in every city, not just Barcelona. We had a FABulous time and would sty there again given the opportunity to travel to beautiful Barcelona. Thanks. Peg/New Jersey, USA


Deserves TEN stars!

5 on July 02, 2012

We recently stayed in the blue room and hated to leave! The Barcelona Band B is an outstanding, wonderful oasis with people you wish you were related to. We look forward to returning. Just a shame they don't also have one in London.


Loved this place.

4.0 on April 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Barcelona BB for four nights in April and we agree with all of the good things that have already been expressed. We were absolutely delighted by the place and its owners. We stayed in the Blue Room because it was the most quiet. It isn't as appealing as the other rooms, nor as large, but most of the time we were only there to sleep. But on the occasions when we wanted a place to rest and renew our energy before going out for dinner we used the "living room" area, which is a delightfully charming and welcoming room with big comfy couches to sink into. As mentioned by others, the decor is artful and fascinating. Everywhere you look there is something that delights the eye. The breakfasts are tasty and substantial, consisting of an assortment of breads, jams, meats, cheeses, fruit and excellent coffee. We did not leave hungry! Best of all, the hosts are wonderful and they go out of their way to ensure their guests have a good time. On the morning of our departure Kiku even went so far as to provide breakfast for us very early before we left for the airport.


Fabulous B&B

4.8 on December 12, 2011

What an incredible experience. The rooms were beautiful, the flat decorated so warmly you feel you are visiting old friends rather than just staying in a hotel. The breakfast was fabulous. John and Kiku were such gracious hosts. If I ever go back to Barcelona I will be staying there again.


Fantastic !

5 on November 29, 2011

A group of us stayed at the Barcelona BB for a couple of nights during November 2011 and I am pleased to be able to confirm that all of the glowing comments you have read in the Trip Advisor reviews are true! Even before we had arrived John and Kiku were a pleasure to deal with via email, confirming the booking in no time at all. Unfortunately, we were unable to meet them in person as they were travelling whilst we were there, but they went above and beyond the call of duty by speaking to us from a video link from Buones Aires - now that's what I call customer service! They were able to provide us with advice as to where to go and what to see, and their advice was sound every time. Whilst away we were looked after by a lady who unfortunately did not speak much English, and given that we spoke even less Spanish, it was a bit of a challenge to communicate, but we muddled through, and I have to say she was kind and generous and looked after us brilliantly throughout. As for the accommodation itself, I have never been to a more beautifully appointed bed and breakfast. The entire accommodation is decorated with amazing pieces of art and ornaments and is truly a pleasure to visit. It was clean throughout and as for the breakfast: croissants, bread, sausages, cheese, limitless tea and coffee, fruit: the list goes on and on. It was absolutely delicious! Finally, as we had booked the entire B&B, we were able to see all of the rooms, and they are all great. You would not be disappointed with any of them. So to sum up, a fantastic place to stay with fantastic hosts. I cannot rate it highly enough, and have been recommending it to everyone I speak to since returning home. I will definitely be returning here the next time I am in Barcelona.


Feeling at home

5 on November 20, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend with Kiku and John at their bed and breakfast and had a wonderful time! It's really like feeling at home. Thanks for everything.


Great value, perfect hosts

4.0 on November 03, 2011

We stayed for 5 days at the b&b and if we ever come to Barcelona, we won't look for another place. Kiku is one of the most helpful hosts we've ever met, very knowledgeable about the city and very positive. The accommodation is well-maintained and has everything we needed, including air conditioning and a hair-dryer.The place itself has lots of character and is conveniently located as both Gaudi houses and Sagrada are within easy reach. We do think that we made a great choice with this b&b, which is fantastic value for money.


A Jewel in Barcelona

5 on October 25, 2011

From the moment we began reading the reviews and then started communicating with Kiku and John, we knew we made the right choice! Both Kiku and John are special people, and their love and knowledge of Barcelona shines through. We stayed with them for two days in their lovely home, in the Blue Room, which is the smallest of the rooms but also the quietest, and then two days in the Chimney Room, which is the largest room in an apartment about a block away from the main inn. Breakfast was excellent, the common rooms beautiful, and our hosts were and will always be our family! The location is perfect for exploring Barcelona, and there are good restaurants aplenty nearby. Two that stand out are the La Paredetta and La Muscleria. John and Kiku suggested acclimating ourselves with the tourist bus, which was really helpful. From there, we used city buses and our feet to take in the sights of Barcelona. At the corner of Girona and Mallorca, the Inn is ideally suited in a lovely neighborhood, and all of the sights are within walking distance or a bus ride away. Our daily discussions with Kiku and John showed how much they cared about their place and their guests. They were immensely helpful with our daily planning! Kiku, after reading a review that stated one of the guests was dissatisfied with one of the beds, was going to go out and buy new beds that day! Hopefully, he took our advise and bought memory foam mattress rolls instead! We absolutely loved our stay here!


A warm welcome to Barcelona

4.8 on October 03, 2011

Top marks to Kiku and Jon for the service and comfort delivered at the Barcelona B&B. We were welcomed like family and promptly were offered fresh coffee after a busy journey. This home is very well managed and very clean, as well as being decorated with a number of pleasing motifs. The bed was really comfortable, the breakfast delicious and more than adequate and our hosts gave us great suggestions for dinner close by. The location is excellent, situated equidistant between the Basilica de La Sagrada Familia and La Pedrera (for Gaudi fans), and is very close to the Verdaguer metro line. We enjoyed being away from the noise and tackiness of parts of the La Rambla area. Here there is a sense of neighbourhood and elegance. We thoroughly enjoyed Barcelona and our only regret is that we were not there long enough. We will be back and we will be staying again at the Barcelona B&B.


After 7 years, I'm glad your B&B still exist!

4.4 on May 15, 2011

Today I was trying to show my cousin about your beautiful B&B in which I stayed for a week with my boyfriend in the summer of 2004. I remember with extreme pleasure Jon and Francisco's kidness and their warm hospitality. I would definitely choose your B&B again when I'll visit Barcelona again! If you plan a trip there, you can't miss this amazing B&B! Is Chester still there? Sara


Wonderful B&B in Barcelona

5 on November 15, 2010

Friendly, helpful hosts, comfortable rooms, perfect location. Will certainly stay here again in the future!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the review, although i am not sure who you are :-))) Thank you though for taking the time and posting it. regards from Barcelona


Barcelona B n B

4.0 on September 25, 2010

We stayed at the B and B in August and had a wonderful time. It is in a gorgeous building and the flat itself is lovely. The rooms are nicely decorated and the entire b and d has been furnished with much attention to detail and lots of artwork Kiku was very helpful and knowledgable. He recommended a lunch spot with excellent and reasonable food. He is a great resource for information about Barcelona and Catalunya. It was very clean (which is important to me) and the breakfast was great. The location is good - if you don't mind walking 15 minutes or talking the tram into the old town. And only 5 minutes walking from Sagrada Familia. I would definitelay stay at the bnb again, should I find myself in Barcelona


what a fab stay!

5 on February 22, 2010

We were a bit exceptic about staying in a "big City" without knowing anybody there but we stayed at BarcelonaBB and it was great. The place was lovely and clean. They were really friendly and helpful and we had the best time! We highly recommend this place and we personally will go back for sure. Thank you so much Kiku and John!

Innkeeper Response
Who is this? kiku


The Best B & B in Barcelona

5 on February 10, 2010

We stayed at John and Kiku's B & B two years ago. We were looking for an apartment and could not find one because of the time of the year. Barcelona is a very popular city. They welcomed us at their B & B for as long as we needed to be there and treated us like family. The B & B is exquisitely decorated, a great complement to the superb attention to detail and service we received. I recommend it to anyone visiting Barcelona!

Innkeeper Response
who is this? i have no way to find out


Great start to our vacation

4.6 on January 14, 2010

We had never had the opportunity to visit Barcelona before and our choice of B&B worked out very well for our two night stay. Everything about the accommodation was excellent - well appointed large room(s), very good breakfast, friendly and excellent advice as to where to eat and visit. The B & B is in a good location and we walked everywhere. We felt very well looked after and safe and would definitely recommend it to family and friends and would like to return ourselves. Kiku and Jon were excellent hosts. Thank you!


Welcoming Hosts in a great location.

4.8 on January 12, 2010

My first time in Barcelona was a wonderful experience and finding a fabulous place to stay added to a great holiday! Researching for somewhere to stay on the internet is easy but selecting the right place is vital. What a find to have chosen Barcelona B&B with wonderful warm and helpful hosts, a fabulous location along with feeling very safe in a city where rumours of pick pockets are extensive. The apartment is large with comfortable rooms and our hosts provided a good breakfast. As a lady travelling from Sydney, Australia, I would highly recommend Kiku and John as attentive hosts, fun people who love life with the added bonus of staying in a beautiful apartment. I shall return!


Way beyond our expectations!

5 on December 27, 2009

We stayed here last December for two nights and loved it! It really was valuable to be so central! We had lots of trouble getting cash using our visa. After repeated attempts at different banks and Atms, we still couldn't get any money! The innkeeper Kika was sick in bed with a fever, but still went with me to the bank across the street to try to get my visa to work and to help me understand the spanish! Only after Kika called his personal bank and vouched for us, were we able to go there and walk inside to use our visa and get some cash. This was an exception to their security rule, and I don't know if we would have been able to get any cash otherwise. It seems we needed a pin which we hadn't needed on previous trips. Thank you so much Kika for trusting us and going way beyond the call of duty.

Innkeeper Response
Hi there, I just wanted to thank you so much for your review, it is so much appreciate it as this really help us to increase our business. Would you consider writing it again on tripadvisor.com under our listing BarcelonaBB.com. That would be of great help to our business too as that website its seen by many many people. Also just a short note to tell you that my name is KIKU and Not KIKA, jejeje, not important though!! jejeje Well, again thanks for your review, hava a wonderful holidays and hope you enter the 2010 with the good foot :-) love from Barcelona, kiku


Wonderful Place, Wonderful Hosts, Great Location

4.6 on October 29, 2009

We stayed 4 nights on our recent stay in Barcelona and we were very happy to have found this place! The hosts took great care of us and gave us great tips for eating and touring. Their house is really comfortable; it was a great place to come 'home' to each day. The location was great. Easy walking distance to the major architectural attractions and to the CityTour bus. Restaurants in the neighborhood were great. We'll be recommending Barcelona B&B to our friends and hope to visit them again!


A Perfect B and B Summer of 2008

5 on June 22, 2009

I had a wonderful visit to Barcelona B & B. This jewel of a find is in a wonderful, thriving and safe neighborhood right in the heart of beautiful Barcelona. I was extremely impressed with not only the old world charm of the B and B itself, but also of the hosts, John and Francisco, who greeted us at the front door upon arrival as if we were old friends. We are sure to return to this lovely home away from home on our next visit. Every aspect of the Bed and Breakfast exceeded our expectations, especially the quality of the spacious rooms with lovely furnishings, soaring windows, sculpted plaster ceilings and comfortable beds. The breakfast, the travel advice, the décor and the privacy can only be compared to hotels with much greater price tags. I recommend this B and B, without reservation to any traveler interested in a memorable stay in Barcelona.


Responsive and helpful

3.4 on January 09, 2009

My daughter and I really appeciated Kiku's attentiveness. I received detailed instructions on getting to the B&B and Kiku was there to greet me. Kiku was helpful in recommending places to eat, see, etc. When I wasn't able to figure out the pay phones, he lent me his cell phone. All in all, a lovely place with a friendly, attentive innkeeper.


The Best!

5 on June 14, 2008

We stayed in April '08 for 4 nights. John and Francisco are wonderful hosts and extremely knowledgeable about Barcelona's past and present. Looked forward to breakfast every morning for great food and conversation. Our hosts were invaluable in directing us to places and attractions based on our individual interests. You will learn more about Catalunya from them than from any guide book. When we left for France, they gaves us a wonderful route to follow with interesting side trips toward and including the Costa Brava. The rates are SO reasonable for what they offer. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring the city. Thank you, gentlemen, for a most enjoyable experience. Jeri Schroeder, California


Great place to stay

5 on June 05, 2008

We had a great time at BarcelonaBB, they hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was relaxed and really enjoyable. Definitely recommend it!!!


BarcelonaBB.com

Details

  • Nightly Rate € 50 - € 90
  • Reviews (23) 4.7
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 3-4637977263
Top