Get a free $75 gift card with a $250+ purchase

Recent Reviews in Cardiff By The Sea, California

choose your room carefully at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.0 reviewed on May 02, 2014

we stayed here for a night before our rental house in encinitas was ready. it's a sweet place. great location, one block from the beach. staff is friendly and helpful. it's also a quirky place. in need of some repair and tlc. some of the rooms are very musty. but luckily we were able to change rooms to ones that had opening windows. i'm assuming the rooms on the upper floors are better, but probably more expensive too. decor is varied and ...could use some updating.

View more reviews for this inn


1 night review at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.0 reviewed on February 17, 2014

one night very romantic.

View more reviews for this inn


60th bday suprise at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.6 reviewed on December 02, 2013

need i say more...pulled off perfect and honey couldnt have been more suprised or happier

View more reviews for this inn


Precisely as advertised at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.4 reviewed on August 03, 2013

A terrific summer weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint, convenient B&B at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.8 reviewed on June 02, 2013

A very nice relaxed California B&B that is just a short walk to the majestic bluff and beach at Cardiff by the sea. A great rooftop patio with wonderful views and a hot tub and firepit to ward off the evening chill.

View more reviews for this inn


Getting away for a while at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.2 reviewed on May 17, 2013

Relaxing and quiet, perfect for getting away for a while, just to clear the mind and forget about the day to day stress of life. Rich Holman

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful sunset at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.6 reviewed on May 04, 2012

The sunset view from the rooftop was amazing! The room decor was a bit outdated but not horrible. The breakfast was good. Not much to do walking distance.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2011

Service was very hospitable! José gave us the complete rundown and carried my bag to the Southwest room! Top deck with charming seating areas. Perfect for sunset cocktails! Gardens a delight-all harmonious!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

5 reviewed on March 29, 2011

Staff was wonderful and extremely helpful, they accommodated me dropping off flowers in the morning and placing them in the room for me before we checked in. I'm extremely thankful for the hospitality and great service. We'll be back soon, for the facilities are wonderful here.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming - Not kid friendly at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.0 reviewed on February 24, 2011

Absolutely beautiful views, and a charming place to stay. Children are charged extra - for a cot with no sheets, towels and breakfast. My children were also reprimanded twice by the innkeeper. Basically they were not welcome. So leave your children home and go as a couple.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Beautiful B&B at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

5 reviewed on January 12, 2011

This was our second stay at the Cardiff Lodge - we love it! The service and friendliness of the owners and staff were outstanding. They couldn't make you feel more comfortable. The location of the lodge is perfect, and the view of the ocean from the beautiful rooftop garden is amazing. We would highly recommend the Cardiff By the Sea Lodge to anyone - you will not be disappointed. We certainly plan to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2011

Cardiff and the lodge aren't far from San Diego or Oceanside, but it seems like a world away. You can go back to the outlets just minutes away or just enjoy being away from it all. I am enjoying the tasty extended continental breakfast (including hard-boiled eggs, fruit, incredible pastries) as I write. Come and check this place out!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Beach Getaway! at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.6 reviewed on December 20, 2010

This was my second stay at The Cardiff By The Sea Lodge and it is an absolutely wonderful place to stay! The rooms are incredibly comfortable and private. The grounds and views are gorgeous. Very friendly staff. I'm looking forward to the next time we get to go!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Favorite Place to Get Away at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

5 reviewed on December 11, 2010

We look for excuses to get away to the San Diego area so that we can stay at the Cardiff by the sea lodge. The location is perfect. In a friendly, welcoming little town right by the ocean. And the staff at the lodge treat us like family and not just customers.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful get-away location at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.4 reviewed on September 25, 2010

I was taken here by my husband to celebrate the completion of 7 years of homeschooling. What a great place for relaxation, recuperation, and romance! We were greeted by friendly staff. We enjoyed the beautiful roof top garden area and our whimsical paradise room. Loved our stay...hope to come again!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend get-a-way at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.6 reviewed on September 11, 2010

All in all we had a good experience at Cardiff-by-the-Sea Lodge. The people were friendly, the room was nice....though I would definitely choose another room for a future stay. Ours was probably the bottom-of-the line room, but still nice. Easy walk to the beach and restaurants. LOVE the rooftop garden....great for early morning breakfast or late night relaxing in the hot tub. Would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Sunday, 8/15/2010 at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.8 reviewed on August 19, 2010

The phone on the front desk to contact the owner did not preform properly. When trying to dial 9, then 1 & then the number the 1st time I got a a message to dial 1 before makking a call. On my next attempt, the phone registered 911 when I only dialed the first 91 and connected my to emergency services. I would suggest a better contact process. The bed in the Cullen room needs a new mattress. Very soft in the middle causing everything to roll to the center. The roof deck was wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Pretty views, Poor service at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.2 reviewed on August 18, 2010

Male caregiver had some preconceived notions upon seeing my girlfriend and I coming into his B&B in beach clothes. We had been surfing all morning and we both wearing beach type clothes (shorts, T-shirt, sandals) and were slightly sunburnt. He seemed surprised we actually had reservations and looked ready to turn us away. He did not show us around the property or do anything besides open the door to our room and made sure we knew "The roof closes at promptly 10PM! so dont try after that time." The rooms were nice enough and views spectacular, but the service was nothing compared to most places in this price range. Probably will not return,

View more reviews for this inn


Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge, almost like our second home at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 16, 2010

This is the second time we stayed at the lodge. One each occasion, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We love the unique, distinctive decorations and setup of the room. It's so different from the normal hotel setting. The roof top garden overlooking the ocean provides us the wonderful view of the sunset. We also love the breakfast, especially the fruit-salad.

View more reviews for this inn


A bit misleading but adequate. at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.2 reviewed on August 14, 2010

Not really "steps to the beach" but a few blocks. Converted Apartment complex with subterranean parking. Decent rooms but weird bathroom door solution. Picture swinging saloon-type doors that offer little privacy. Really don't think the rooms are worth the price and it sits in the middle of an average neighborhood complete with noisy bar next door and a 7-11 across the street. Not at all what we expected and a bit disappointing. Very friendly staff though. Breakfast was more like snack-time.

View more reviews for this inn


Cardiff-By-The-Sea-Lodge at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

2.4 reviewed on August 13, 2010

We love the location--walking distance to the beach and fine restaurants. Rooftop garden is beautiful. Rooms could use some TLC. Breakfast isn't available until 8:30 a.m., which is not good for early risers. It offers sweet baked goods along with fruit hard-boiled eggs, cold cereal, coffee, tea, milk & juice.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Getaway at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.2 reviewed on July 29, 2010

The paradise room was awesome. We loved the detail and all the amenities, Large Flat Screen tv. It was very comfortable & roomy. The Spa on the upper deck was great with view of the ocean & private. The only complaint would be the Spa Bath tub in the room that was not working. Hopefully they can get that fixed quickly. Definitely looking forward to a return trip love the area. Thanks

View more reviews for this inn


85th birthday celebration at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2010

My Mom and my sister and I enjoyed our stay at Cardiff-by-the-sea tremendously. The room was very nice and facilities with the spa and firepit and excellant breakfast selections on the outside patios. Thanks to the nice staff. The proximity to the beach was the icing on the cake.

View more reviews for this inn


Beach Get-away at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.0 reviewed on May 22, 2010

My wife and I recently spent two relaxing days and nights at Cardiff-by-the-Sea Lodge. The location is great (only a block from the ocean), the views from the rooftop deck are spectacular, and there are a number of great little local restaurants nearby. We loved the quiet and unhurried pace of the Inn and of the community. Highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful seaside resort at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.0 reviewed on April 28, 2010

We loved staying at Cardiff-by-the-Sea Lodge. The ocean was a stone's throw away from the ocean, we spent time walking on the sand and watching the surfers. The room was very nice, we ate breakfast on the rooftop terrace. All and all very very enjoyable stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing! at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.0 reviewed on March 26, 2010

We had a chance to get away and went to one of our favorite areas... and found a wonderful new place to stay! The Cardiff-by-the-Sea Lodge is outstanding. We were shown 4 different rooms to choose from, checked it and started to relax and enjoy. The next morning we had a wonderful chat with the owner on the rooftop terrace, overlooking the ocean. Cannot wait to get back!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Last Minute Delight at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.8 reviewed on March 24, 2010

We had to take an unexpected trip to San Diego area, and we found this beautiful place the night before we headed down from the Central Valley. The amazing beach was located just 2 blocks from our room.The Innkeepers offered us our choice of rooms even after we had reserved one and were most gracious. The photos on the website matched what we saw on our arrival.The close walk to a quaint town and variety of restaurant choices for dinner made our last minute trip perfect to rekindle a spark in our 9 year marriage.The Bowen's

View more reviews for this inn


an oasis of sorts... at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

3.4 reviewed on March 20, 2010

went mid-week in march. flowers were beautiful. lodge was quiet and peaceful. rooftop was a pleasant place to hang out. continental breakfast was better than many. trains go by frequently but we rather liked it. beach was within convenient walking distance and easier to get to than i thought it might be with a highway in between. roadways/intersections between lodge and beach were easy to cross. beach wasn't crowded although access points were undergoing reconstruction/maintenance. didn't have the feel of being crowded, closed in or everything on top of everything else like some california beach towns. would have liked to stay longer. would definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


It was so romantic! at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.6 reviewed on February 09, 2010

I love how each room has a different theme and the design and decor were so well thought out! We stayed in the sweetheart room that has a beautiful dome ceiling, and a sweetheart shaped jacuzzi. We loved the ocean views, great breakfast, and relaxing atmosphere. The fountain, relaxing music, and rooftop jacuzzi and terrace are wonderful! Even the hand stenciling throughout our room is so beautiful! We will definitely recommend this to others! What a great place to spend our Valentine's get-away!

View more reviews for this inn


Great get away at The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (Cardiff By The Sea, California)

4.8 reviewed on November 03, 2009

This is a wonderful establishment, in a great location, wonderful innkeepers. If you want a low key get away, close to the beach, restaurants, and some shopping, this is the place for you. There is a absolute wonderful roof top garden area, complete with jazzcui tub, firepit, and terrific views of the surf. Relaxing, relaxing, and more relaxtion!!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Cardiff-By-The-Sea Lodge (4.15)
Top
}