Get a free $100 with a gift card purchase of $350

Recent Reviews in Candler, North Carolina

Great Getaway! at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2014

I was able to stay here to celebrate my birthday and had a splendid time! From the moment we were greeted onto the property until checking out, the service was personalized and done with excellence! I highly recommend this as a place to stay while visiting this area. Ms. Cheryl & Ms. Gretchen will go above and beyond to make your stay special! I actually wanted to rate the Dining higher...the breakfast was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Mia Berry

View more reviews for this inn


20th Wedding Anniversary at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast two times so far and are planning another. The first time was in December 2012, the most recent was in May 2014 for our Anniversary. Both were truly a phenomenal experience. We stayed in their Biltmore Suite, which is up on the second floor and has a private entrance, with a private patio, a rushing creek and beautiful, peaceful scenery abound. At night we actually left the door and windows wide open! Can't do that in the City! And, it was wonderful! The bed is amazingly soft. My husband kept calling it the Mamma Bear's bed because it was so soft. Room comes with a Jacuzzi tub, perfect for two! The heart of the Rock Laurel is the PEOPLE who run it, which is true for any Bed and Breakfast, to be honest. We have stayed in quite a few, but the Rock Laurel is our favorite, mainly due to the warmth of its owners, Joe and Judy. From the first greeting and the bottle of wine they gave us to take to our room to the hugs goodbye, they radiate a warmth that makes anyone feel right at home. They have both lived interesting lives. Judy is a very special lady with a talent in the kitchen. This woman has a lot of heart and soul and it oozes through everything she touches and says. She is simply AMAZING!! LOVE HER!! The breakfasts she prepares are out of this world. From the lime sprinkled melon to the cheese grits and eggs, it all tastes so good. One of the best things about the Rock Laurel is the breakfasts. (The breakfast at a B&B should be as memorable as its Hosts!! It is all about the experience!) That is certainly the case at the Rock Laurel. This couple KNOWS what they are doing and exactly how it should be done!! KUDOS!! Other inn owners should take note. :)

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on January 05, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure to stay at Honey hill Inn where the owners were gracious and the food delicious. Gretchen and Cheryl are fantastic and are both naturals at being Inn keepers. The gourmet breakfasts that Gretchen cooked each morning are to die for. If you want to be spoiled and you want to feel like you are at home, Honey hill is a place you want to stay while visiting Asheville.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Stay at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on November 15, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Rock Laurel Bed & Breakfast. Everything was excellent from the moment we arrived to the morning we checked out. Judy and Joe are great hosts and know how to make their guests feel at home. The breakfast was something to write home about. We didn't eat the rest of the day. Judy's homemade buscuits are delicious. We surely will return. Sincerely, E & P

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Bed & Breakfast at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2013

My wife and I always stay at the Honey Hill when we are in the area. Gretchen & Cheryl are always so gracious and exceed all our expectations. Being a business owner; I am a tough sale. But these fine ladies have totally sold be on their product and their personal commitment to their customers. You can tell they really love their customers and enjoy what they are doing. My wife tells everybody about our stays. She talks more about the Bed & breakfast at the Honey Hill than she does the Biltmore. In the evenings we anticipate our return to see what home cook goodies will be waiting for us. Awesome!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place, with nice people! at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2013

We stayed several nights at the Rock Laurel B&B and had a pleasant stay. Here is a summary: 1) A nice property located approx. 20 min away from Asheville. 2) The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. 3) The owners (Joe and Judy Holloway) are very nice people who make you feel welcome and at home. Judy prepares a large "country" breakfast every morning that is served at 9 AM. And yes, she is a good cook, lol. Enjoy your stay... I know we did. Thanks again!

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant experience at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming! Great recommendations for dining and local sites to see. Very comfortable accomodations. Delicious breakfast. Would definitely stay here again, and would definitely recommend to friends!

View more reviews for this inn


Rock Laurel was awesome at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2013

Arrived early, to dress for a wedding that afternoon. The host and hostess were so nice to get our room ready and then even offered us wine and cheese. We had a great breakfast the next morning and great conversation. The hosts gave us a good tip on a nice trip to Brevard, via the Blue Ridge Parkway. Wonderful stay. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Fell in love! at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked the Green Room for our two year anniversary. The house was in a great location with a stream, beautiful fall trees, and a bunch of screened doors for a nice breeze. Joe and Judy were extremely welcoming and Joe had so many great stories to tell. Judy's breakfast was over the top delicious. They were very helpful in helping us decide on a restaurant in Asheville and a nice,scenic drive for the ride home. We only stayed one night but we will surely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely lovely... at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 08, 2013

We loved our stay in the cozy Balsam cabin with it's gorgeous views of the mountains. The location to Asheville was an easy 18 minutes so getting groceries at the co-op or going out for dinner was a breeze. The location also made it really easy to get to the Biltmore (which exceeded our expectations) and to the Blue Ridge Parkway...but we also enjoyed ample sit-around-the-cabin-being-lazy time! Most of all, we adored Cheryl and Gretchen! Their generous spirits and amazing breakfasts fed our hearts as well as our bellies! A true pleasure all around!

View more reviews for this inn


The best B&B at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 24, 2013

Rock Laurel B&B is truly and amazing place to stay, and this is indeed because of Joe and Judy, they bring so much warmth, hospitality, experience, humor, serenity and wisdom to your stay. My father and I, arrived to this beautiful house without notifying Joe and Judy about our late arrival, even so we were greeted with such open arms and service that we immediately felt at home. We were immediately served a cold beer and invited to join them for dinner. We were a long way from home having come all the way from Denmark (Scandinavia) even so, we felt as if we were welcomed and provided for as if coming home from a long journey. Feeling as comfortable as possible, we joined them for dinner and had the pleasure of enjoying Judy's cooking while sharing many stories. Another thing that made this stay one of the most memorable stays, is that they were so caring and attentive. My father and I were going for a hike on the AT, and the night before we left Judy supplied us with fresh tomatoes and a small shaker with dried pepper (which became a wonderful treat on the trail, thank you :)). Therefore it was no surprise that my father and I, returned to Joe and Judy, after our hike and stayed there longer than we had planned. It is really an optimal place for replenishing your energy and leaving with a bag of inspiration and motivation. My father and I will highly reccomend staying at Rock Laurel B&B, take the time to drive a little outside of Asheville and you will find this gem. We are definitely going to return to the US and to North Carolina, just to see our new friends again and enjoy yet another stay at Rock Laurel.

View more reviews for this inn


Such a lovely B&B! at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2013

We were a little nervous about staying outside of Asheville but were very relieved when we got there. Honey Hill is more than we had hoped for. We were in the Howell Room and it was VERY spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were so silky soft. We enjoyed the turn down service as well. We may opt for a different room next time because the bathroom only has a stand up shower but we knew that. After walking around the city my feet could have used a good hot bath! The grounds were beautiful and so were the views. The exterior paint needs a little sprucing up but once you walk inside, you forget about that fact. It's every bit as grand as any B&B that we have ever visited and the breakfast meals were delish! We enjoyed chatting with the other guests before we went out exploring. We hope to be back in the winter. Thanks again for your hospitality. Dwaine and Lisa Thompson

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome cabins at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 02, 2013

Cheryl and Gretchen, the B&B owners, could not have been more personable and accommodating. It was like we had known them for years, and truly made our experience remarkably like a home away from home. We stayed in the cabins, and didn't have breakfast, but were extremely pleased with the courtesy coffee, sugar, dish detergent, paper towels, and other commodities we didn't have to buy. We loved the privacy, property and views, and spaciousness of the cabin. We hope to go back soon

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, peaceful retreat at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2013

Joe and Judy would make this bed and breakfast a delightful place to be without any other amenities. My husband and I came with his parents, who were visiting from France, and our three month old baby. Despite night-time crying and language barriers, they managed to make us feel wonderfully welcome and pampered. Pro's: - Location: I was worried this was located too far from Asheville's city center. In reality, it was a very easy drive and it was actually closer to hiking in the area, which made it much easier to appreciate all the region had to offer. - Breakfasts: Fantastic, and enormous! Multi-course meals that kept us happily satiated until dinner (and then some...). Also, they have coffee available in the morning and are very generous with complimentary wine at night. -Upstairs balcony overlooking a stream... extremely peaceful and pleasant, especially with a glass of Chardonnay in hand after a day of hiking :) -Rooms and beds are large and comfortable. -Great recommendations for restaurants, hikes, and attractions in the area Con's: -None!

View more reviews for this inn


What a wonderful place! at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 08, 2013

Joe and Judy really know how to make you feel so special. I also loved the kitties-Gizmo and Garfield and their lovely pom-Cricket who looks like a little Teddy Bear!! The beds are so comfortable and the view of the creek which was way up do to the rain was lovely and the sound of the water rushing helped us fall right to sleep. THe porch was lovely to sit out on and read and watch the world and water go by. THe breakfasts were awesome! We had fruit-Melon, Pineapple and Strawberries, eggs made to order, sausage that was great and bacon, also fresh juice. All of this on beautiful china in the dining room. Our room mates were also all from Florida-so we were 6 from Florida enjoying the Ashville area. There was plenty of info on the Biltmore and other attractions in the area in the room and a nice cold beverage was offered along with cheese and crackers at night if we so desired. Joe and Judy are just the nicest folks and I know we weill definitely come back here again in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Superb Comfort and Hospitality at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last weekend and we could not have been more pleased with the experience. Joe and Judy are the most hospitable people you will ever meet. Our room was beautiful -- clean, comfortable, and stocked with everything you need for your stay. Judy makes a gourmet breakfast each morning that rivals fine eateries. We will definitely be back, as we now have two new friends to visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay! at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2013

Honey Hill was my first stay at a B&B and it was an unforgettable one! Sheryl and Gretchen were amazing hosts. We had to arrive late for check-in (around 10 pm) and they were very accommodating. We were greeted with a lovely tour of the house and of our room, complete with a bit of history and helpful tips to make our stay more comfortable. We stayed in the Mary Hoyt room. Everything was perfect from the beautiful, spacious room to the comfy robes, honey-based bath products, and the claw foot tub. The TV was small but a nice reminder that we weren't there to watch TV. The breakfast in the morning was divine, a fruit course followed by a main course. We were there for two nights and our breakfasts were very different, one sweet and one savory, but both some of the best that I have had. There is a communal breakfast table which facilitates conversation. Also, make sure you snag a few of the cookies that Sheryl puts out in the common area by the tea and coffee, they are wonderful. Both women are very helpful for helping you plan your day or give suggestions for hiking or eating; make sure you have a good chat with both of them (and ask to meet their dogs if that suits your fancy).

View more reviews for this inn


Rock Laurel overnight at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2013

We spent our 39th wedding anniversary overnight with Joe & Judy, It was like staying with family, the ones you like! The room was spacious and clean. Judy and Joe try to meet your every need. The breakfast was great, especially the fresh fruit and the waffles. Much better than a motel/hotel. Andy Connor

View more reviews for this inn


Simply fabulous at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2013

My husband and I spent four days at Honeyhill, two in the Cherokee cabin, which we both loved, and was perfectly equipped, and two in the Howell room which is also very nice and comfortable. I just loved this place. My husband wants to make this trip a yearly tradition. It was wonderful to come home to Honeyhill every day, and our hostesses were great. I felt especially spoiled with the top notch breakfast served every morning, which were not only gourmet, but made with love. Thanks for the wonderful service and thank you for helping us with directions, information, help, etc. all the little details, the decor, the photos, the pretty table, the smell of wonderful food cooking at night and in morning, the pecan encrusted bacon, and the cookies! All of this makes it a great place.

View more reviews for this inn


felt like home! at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on April 24, 2013

From the moment we pulled up till we left, it felt like we were at home. Joe and Judy went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and welcome in their home. Our next trip to Asheville will include a visit with them, I assure you. Thank you for your hospitality and generosity.

View more reviews for this inn


Family get-away at Honey Hill at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on April 24, 2013

We (mom, dad, 2 kids) booked the Mt. Mitchell cabin for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay! We enjoyed exploring the hill and little creek behind the cabin, visited the Biltmore estate and Asheville (15 min. drive from cabin) and had a great time in this cozy cabin. Cabin was very clean, fresh towels and sheets, fire place, wood for fire place, SUPER cozy. We also very much enjoyed the breakfast that was delivered to our cabin: delicious granola, fruit, yoghourt, good coffee. GREAT place to stay. We highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B very close to downtown Asheville at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Cherokee Cabin at this great B&B and really enjoyed our stay. The hostesses Cheryl and Gretchen were fantastic and saw to our every need. The breakfasts here were amazing gourmet meals! Yummy! Our cabin was very private, cozy and hosted views of the mountains all around. The whirlpool tub was great! The hostesses were very friendly and knowledgeable about local dining options, walking trails, and any other local activities as well as very accommodating to to my dietary restrictions (vegetarian) and happily prepared a veggie option to breakfast each day. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Asheville. You will not regret it! Fantastic food, views, and proximity to downtown Asheville and Biltmore Estate. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Honey Hill! at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on March 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins. We rented the Cherokee cabin. It was perfect for us. The breakfasts were out of this world! The location was good -very near to Asheville where we enjoyed dinner at some local restaurants. The owners of Honey Hill were very friendly and accommodating. (mark and Kim)

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on January 28, 2013

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and it most certainly will not be the last. Honey Hill will be our destination in the future and we are recommending it to everyone we know. The home is very comfortable and the owners are great people. They gave us some excellent recommendations for activities and dining in the Asheville area.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 14, 2013

There are not enough nice things to sat about his Inn. We have stayed there about 5 times, with three different owners, and whereas it as always been great, it is now abolutely top drawer under the auspices of Gretchen and Cheryl. We have been there alone, with friends, and for large family reunions, and it was perfect for all of those things. The beautifully decorated main inn maintains much of the home's original 1885 splendor, furnished very well with antiques as well as modern comfortalbe beds, wifi and baths, spotlights a lot of interesting family history, art and photos. The relatively new self- catering cabins up on the hill which used to be the vinyard are bright, very attractive, well-equipped and provide a perfect venue for couple's retreats or family gatherings . If you want a beautiful, restful place to stay only about 10 minutes from Aheville and very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, plan to stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B ever! at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 07, 2013

Like staying at the grandparents but without the hassle! Be social or be private, all the amenities and the best breakfast ever! About 20 minutes from the Biltmore and an hour from Cherokee, closer to Asheville then it looks. Extra clean and comfortable, great hosts and no outside noises except the babbling brook. Was also the best priced B&B within 40 miles when we were looking!

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back! at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights at Rock Laurel B&B, and will definitely make it our Asheville "home!" I can't add anything much to the other reviews...the kudos are accurate, and all I can do is to reassure the reader that none of us are exaggerating! This is a warm, homey place---well worth finding "off the beaten path." Joe and Judy strike just the right tone as innkeepers... welcoming, friendly, chatty but not intrusive, knowledgeable about the area, etc. You couldn't ask for better hosts! Breakfast is a feast...the only problem is knowing when to stop! We spent a good part of each morning at breakfast and having our second and third cups of coffee---it requires real discipline to actually get up and out and DO something! And this was in the dead of winter---we can't wait to go back in the spring! We'll see you again, Judy and Joe! (Judy and Jerry Sloan)

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B near Asheville at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2012

We were very pleased with our recent 4 day stay at The Honey Hill Inn. The breakfasts and afternoon desserts were some of the best we've ever experienced at the 15 or so B&B's we have visited. We had a few small glitches in our visit and the innkeepers were very accomodating in making everything just right. They were excellent at offering suggestions for local attractions & restaurants and were so personable. We especially enjoyed hearing the history of the house. If we ever find ourselves in the Asheville area again, Honey Hill would be our first choice!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B Experience at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2012

Being new to the B&B experience I had no idea what to expect as we were driving out into the middle of nowhere. After our visit, I know we will be returning to Rock Laurel in the future! Great service, very clean and the food was delicious! We also got to spend a few hours just visiting with Joe and Judy and we felt like we were visiting our grandparents. I couldn't have asked for more and I will never opt for a hotel again if we can have the option of a B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome B&B at Rock Laurel Bed and Breakfast (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2012

Joe and Judy really know how to do it right; they are so friendly and accomodating, they make you feel right at home. The Inn was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were amazing. We will definitely be recommending the Rock Laurel B&B to friends visiting the Asheville area.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}