Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
59 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Place

5 on December 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the "Fred and Ginger" room just to get away from home on a Saturday night. We were very happy with the entire experience. Breakfast was great in the morning. We will be back.


Get away from LA hustle-bustle!

4.8 on December 15, 2014

Great escape - peace and quiet - great hiking - scenic views. The family that owns are totally hands on and terrific innkeepers. Outstanding breakfasts and even better breakfast-table conversation.


Great place to stay

4.4 on November 28, 2014

The view, the room, the atmosphere everything about this place is fantastic. Breakfast was at 9 AM, which was a bit late and kind of disruptive to the days plans, but it was worth not missing it, food was very good! The common areas and rooms are beautiful, clean, and have everything you could need. We stayed in Rhett and Scarlett and my only complaint about the room was the open concept bathroom. A little modesty for the toilet area would be appreciated. But the clean comfortable bed, the skylight, the two balconys, and the functional fireplace more than made up for that! The place is a 10-15 minute drive up Topanga canyon and within 30 minutes to Santa Monica pier and just a bit longer to the main beaches in Malibu. Amazing location if you want to stay in high end comfort, out of the busy beach areas of LA, but give yourself easy access to it!

Innkeeper Response
Since your stay we have installed a door in what used to be the arched opening between the bedroom and the spa area which has the lavs, toilet and bidet further back. Thanks for the kind words.


Great views

2.8 on October 22, 2014

Fun theme in this B&B with the room names. The common rooms were nice and large. Overall the place was very quiet. Food: I did not eat the provided breakfast Cleanliness:The shower head was gunked with water deposits and several of the towels had stains on them. Bathrooms: All bathrooms are private, but not necessarily attached to the room. In my opinion, the listings for the rooms do not clearly state that. Parking: Not much parking. And all of the parking is on a very steep hills.

Innkeeper Response
If you read our website and confirmation you will see the difference between the "ensuite" and "private" bath. As to the parking, there are two driveways; one is flat and can hold six cars. The other has a flat area for one car. There is parking for three on the street, which is uphill. Thanks for choosing us for your stay.


Excellent service and accommodation.

4.2 on September 12, 2014

Worth the drive up the valley side for the views from here especially as there are balconies to take in the views both up and down the canyon. Our room was spacious with two beds and plenty of storage if required. It is very peaceful and quiet at night. Slightly odd for our room was the bathroom, although private was accessed via a communal room. Slightly inconvenient but not a problem. The bathroom was itself a decent size with an excellent shower. There are communal rooms for sitting, watching TV, reading etc with comfortable sofas. The kitchen downstairs has facilities for drinks etc. There are some stairs to negotiate although there are I believe some ground floor rooms with easier access. Breakfast was round a large table; there were two sittings as the place was full. Nice cooked breakfast of sausage, eggs and herby potatoes. You get your own so the portion is just what you want. Nicely served and cooked. The young lady who greeted us and was at breakfast was helpful and polite despite obviously being busy. Getting down into the canyon is easy by road and there are trails to walk further up the hill from the house. It does get hot but an evening or early morning walk is very pleasant with fantastic views from the top. I would definitely recommend this place.


Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on September 10, 2014

Clean, comfortable, and quiet. Excellent service. Outstanding breakfast. Loved the ambience, with paintings by Elena Roche (owner). Was asked many times if I needed anything. Parking is the only issue we experienced, but the owners did their best to facilitate. Recommended, and we would return.


quiet

4.8 on August 30, 2014

We would like an exchange, a shared with the owners.


Highly recommended

5 on August 26, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at Topanga Canyon Inn B&B and wish we would have just planned to spend our entire vacation there. The views of the canyon from the Inn are spectacular; it is quiet and peaceful, so a great place to relax and unwind. The owners were incredibly hospitable, and made us feel welcome and right at home. The rooms are comfortable and impeccably clean. The breakfast is much better than those you get at a large hotel chain. We highly recommend the Topanga Canyon Inn B&B!! Kathy & Dave


Great place to stay

4.2 on July 28, 2014

Stayed here in May 2014, as part of a long weekend to attend a friend's wedding in Malibu. Lovely place; lots of privacy and quiet. Room was very comfortable; common areas were delightful, breakfast was great. Bring your hiking shoes - the canyon and state park are right next to you. Steep paths, but worth the walk. Parking is tricky (because of the hills) but available. Quick drive to LA, Santa Monica, Malibu - but nice and quiet. We had a great time and would recommend it.


The best B&B ever !

5 on November 02, 2013

Completely enjoyed our stay ! (september 2013) Warren, Elena and the kids are amazing hosts and friends ! Extremely flexible and taking care of our needs like anyone does to their family. Giving us helpful advice regarding lovely places. The large B&B, nearly on top of the hill, is clean, cosy decoreted and all the luxery that you could wish. Warren and Elena served the best breakfest ever and we've enjoyed the company at the table ! (with the hosts and other gasts) We had an awesome time and hopefully we stay friends for ever !!! Thank you so much for your hospitality !!! We love you all ! Your Belgian friends ;o)


Just amazing

5 on October 26, 2013

I chose this after seeing it on bed and breakfast. Reserved it for a friend of mine who is expecting a baby girl, as a surprise. We arrived and immediately fell in love with the inn. We were given a tour around, and immediately felt so welcomed by them. They also went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable (we informed them that we were deaf, and they took time to write notes/communicate via texts). Breakfast was amazing. Loved the waffles. The paintings/photographs were amazing. Take time to look at each, and bring money to buy a painting. I wanted to buy one but did not come prepared. The only downside for me- we only stayed a night :( Next time I'm going to stay longer than just one night- trust me, it's worth the drive/stay.


Topanga Canyon Inn B & B

4.8 on August 17, 2013

Quiet place, great location. Large room. Peaceful oasis in busy SO CAL.I left refreshed.


Simply the Best!

5 on May 05, 2013

I had never experienced a Bed & Breakfast before this visit. It was a wonderful surprise. The scenery is beautiful. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The beds are very comfortable – easy to fall asleep and easy to oversleep! The hosts provided very good service and made every effort to make our visit quite pleasurable. I am impressed. The host and his family are wonderful and kind people. They are people you don’t meet very often and wish there were more like them in the world. On top of that, the host provides a wonderful breakfast each and every morning. I know we’ll be back!


Great getaway!

5 on April 19, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Topanga Canyon Inn (we live in West LA and we wanted a getaway weekend that was close by) and were very happy with our stay. The owners were very friendly and accommodating, and if you like dogs, make sure you get to see Leo! The inn was very clean, and there was great artwork on the walls (done by Elena Roche, one of the owners). You can start hiking right behind the inn and make your way to Topange State Park. For bird lovers - the birds are plentiful. There are peacocks living wild in the area, and we got to see both a male and a female. The "town" area is kind of funky, and we got some great ceramic tiles from an artist there. For old movie fans - the rooms are names after famous movie couples and are decorated accordingly. Overall, great!


Wonderful Get-Away

5 on March 17, 2013

My husband had surgery in December 2012 and we were looking for a quiet, peaceful place to stay. We were in LA visiting his brother and what a wonderful place to come home to after the busy, fast-paced driving in LA. Warren and Elena have built a unique, wonderful home away from home. It was outstanding. Thank you so much.


Best place to stay in Topanga

4.8 on February 10, 2013

Topanga is not exactly overloaded with hotel rooms, so finding this gem, nestled against the spine of the adjacent state park (and its hiking trails), was a real find. Comfortable, well-appointed rooms, an excellent breakfast, and picturesque location. Perfect place to stay if you have friends or family or business in Topanga. Parking is an adventure, especially if you're from the flatlands, but that's a minor issue. Rooms are a fairly good value for a such a lovely place. Will stay here again on my next trip. Who needs the Georgian in Santa Monica when you can stay here?


A Must B&B Experience

5 on December 17, 2012

Nestled in the Santa Monica Mountains in Topanga Canyon was our dream B&B. We found the Topanga Canyon Inn to have warm and welcoming hosts. Be ready for great accomodations, fresh homestyle breakfasts, wonderful views, hiking trails galore, and all of this nearby to the beautiful coastline of Santa Monica and Malibu. It is within close proximity of LA area attractions. Be sure to ask questions of your hosts about the worlds of music, art, and world traveling. You will be fascinated! A must B&B experience.


Great Getaway!

4.6 on September 18, 2012

I'm so glad we found this wonderful escape! My wife and I stayed at Topanga Inn for our 23rd anniversary and were both well pleased with the accommodations, the staff, and the breakfast.The location is perfect; offering a bit seclusion and serenity even though the city is just minutes away. I would highly recommend the Topanga Inn. We will return!


June 2012

4.8 on August 14, 2012

The Topanga Canyon Inn was exactly as portrayed on their website. It is conveniently located to get into LA but it is quiet, quiet, quiet. It helped that every day provided spectacular weather. The staff (owners' family) were very effiecient and helpful at check-in. The other guests were convivial at breakfast and the breakfasts were excellent - Warren is a great, inventive cook. Breakfast carried me through to dinner. Great place to stay and relax - highly recommend it.


Provence/Tuscany/Andalucia in Topanga

4.8 on August 06, 2012

One would never expect finding such oasis in the very heart of Topanga Canyon. Calm, breezy, spacious and peaceful with stunning views. Warren and his step daughter are wonderful hosts. Their breakfast was copious, healthy and tasty. No need to fly to Provence and Sevilla, I found it 30 minutes from Santa Monica. Will most definitely return.


Big City Getaway

3.6 on June 01, 2012

This is a lovely place to go for a quiet rest or romantic getaway. It's right in Los Angeles, but in one of the many mountainous canyons; so there are only the sounds of the local peacocks and doves, and views of the rolling scrub oak hills and tall yuccas. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with two small terraces and a jacuzzi bathtub. Breakfast was delicious, but I am a slow eater (and like to linger over my meals) and the management scheduled their two breakfast servings a half-hour apart; so 25 minutes in, we were very politely asked to finish up and get out. Sort of defeats the purpose of a leisurely morning repast. Cell phone reception was almost nil, which in this day and age was unexpected, and therefore a bit bothersome. If we'd known, we could have made other communication plans. All in all, though, extremely bucolic and attractive, friendly, good food (if you're quick), and restful. I'd go again happily.

Innkeeper Response
We are trying to figure a way to schedule two breakfast services so that the first is not too early and the second not too late. We will probably try to make them 45 minutes apart, instead of 30. We only have two breakfast services when we are completely booked. Hint: if you want to linger over breakfast, come to the second one. If you want to get going with your day, come to the first. We had AT&T cell service up until about ten years ago, but they had a tower destroyed in a fire and never replaced it. Although we have made numerous requests, they have not fixed the problem and the signal is too weak to even use a signal booster. We do have a signal booster for the Verizon signal and the service is adequate. We provide a house phone for free local and long-distance calls and the wireless internet is also free.


Mountain Views with Spacious Privacy”

4.4 on May 16, 2012

If you want to experience something other than the traditional hotel brands, with lots of space to call your own, good breakfast, much better views with competitive pricing, this place is great.


Great place and staff. Thank you!

4.2 on April 01, 2012

I can recommend this place this place to anyone, I can think of. Even if you travel a long way as I, coming from Europe, did; it's definitely worth a visit. The area is a great contrast to busy L.A. and the views from the mountains around is splendid. If I ever come back to L.A. I'll probably be back. A


An outstanding place for quietness, service, and care.

4.8 on March 04, 2012

It must have been a comet that lead us to this place. So quiet, so nice sky at night, such a good breakfast from such caring hosts. We came from almost 10000 km away and enjoyed so much. But we have to leave again. All the best to the hosts and may many more enjoy their hospitality! J.


Nice Getaway

3.6 on March 02, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. It was so quiet and peaceful. Very homelike setting. Not pretentious in any way. Good food, good location. No complaints.


Beautiful views!

4.0 on February 27, 2012

Location is perfect and experience overall was wonderful. Breakfast could be better. I would definitely recommend it. Would suggest a better breakfast and host.


VERY NICE

4.8 on November 25, 2011

Took my wife here for her birthday. Beautiful B&B houses. We had a floor to ourselves. Kind of a remote area but that was part of the charm. Warren and his daughter cooked delicious breakfasts for us. Warren shared some incredible stories. Definately would return.


Terrific B-and-B close to LA but a world apart

4.6 on September 07, 2011

My wife and I just had a wonderful 2-night stay at the Topanga Canyon Inn. We were fortunate enough to get the opportunity to experience two of the rooms, and they were both well-appointed, comfortable and distinctive. The hosts are friendly and the breakfasts are delicious and ample. A unique feature of this B-and-B is that the host Elena's artwork is everywhere in the two houses, and as she is quite an accomplished artist, it greatly enhances the beauty of the inn. This is a modern, well-furnished and beautifully maintained B-and-B that is right up against the scenic Topanga Canyon State Park.


Wow! Atmosphere, amenities and flexibility

5 on June 03, 2011

We drove from Tucson for a romantic stay. We came away feeling as if we met a wonderful family and were allowed to invite our LA family for morning breakfast and visiting ! Grat hospitality!


Great Location... but

3.6 on May 03, 2011

The location is wonderful and the facility is very comfortable. Many hiking trails very close by. Warren and the kids were very helpful and pleasant all of the time. Conversations with other guests at the breakfast table was great. Our first breakfast was no so good. Always had to wait for coffee and did not offer decaf or tea, unless you asked for it. The food was okay, but first we were served muffins, then breakfast potatoes, then bacon and finally eggs. By the time the eggs came, we finished the other items. It could have been kept warm in the oven and all served at the same time. The second day breakfast was about 45 minutes late because the electric griddle broke, but contingency plans should have been planned ahead of time. The stuffed blueberry french toast was good, as was the sausage and melon. I may be a little critical because I am in the food business and expect better service.

Innkeeper Response
We have to apologize because at this time I had just recovered from Whooping Cough and Elena, my wife, was home sick with it. We were short-handed in the kitchen and the electric griddle was starting to break down. We're back to normal now, and the food is coming out on time together.


Great spot for an L.A. getaway

5 on April 28, 2011

We stayed two nights; looking for a quiet, romantic getaway. Topanga Canyon itself is lovely; it's amazing to find such a lush, undeveloped area so close to Los Angeles, and the Inn is tucked away in a remote hillside spot that makes it feel even more pastoral. The room was lovely, clean, and "as advertised." The property has lots of lovely vistas, patios for sitting, and other amenities. Best thing (for us, anyway) was having no TV in the room -- suppose this could be a deal-breaker for others, but for us it added to the sense of escaping the everyday and ordinary.


A perfect destination

4.6 on April 24, 2011

I was in town for a wedding and in my online search, found Topanga Canyon Inn. Now I will go back purposely for a stay and have already recommended it to others we need a getaway. Don't we all??! Making the reservation was quick and easy, with Warren's help. Elena and their lovely children were there to meet me upon arrival. Quiet, private, a beautiful home and fabulous views. Now to go and spend a morning hiking and an afternoon at the Inn will be on my short list.


A great weekend getaway spot.

4.2 on April 08, 2011

Very cool place in a gorgeous canyon. Nice spacious room and a friendly layout in general. Excellent breakfasts on both days we were there. Owners are not the most bubbly of hosts but they certainly took care of all of our needs; they even think ahead to include extra items a guest might forget (razors, aspirin etc). Lots to do in the area too. all in all a thumbs up.


Even better with return visits.

5 on April 03, 2011

The Topanga Canyon Inn is a place to go back for more. With our return visit we were able to focus on some great hiking trails. We add our respite of sitting on the terrace at night sipping wine, exploring the sky and listening to the night critters of the valley. We appreciate Warren, Elena and their 5 children for this outstanding Inn.------------Janis and Dennis


Gorgeous get-away

4.0 on March 17, 2011

Nestled in the Topenga Canyon this b&b offers amazing views, incredible amenities, and the perfect get-away from the big city hustle. The inn keepers are some of the nicest people you will ever come across and the inn is absolutely stunning. For a workaholic like me THIS was the perfect place to unplug, unwind and enjoy the beauty California prides itself in. What a treat!


Anniversary Celebration

5 on February 16, 2011

Warren and Elena are wonderful hosts. We had the pleasure of their company for breakfast each morning as we had chosen the 9:30 (2nd and last) mealtime.Stimulating conversation on events around the world and at home. It is an easy walk to a trail into Topanga State Park where we enjoyed beautiful weather and stunning views of the Canyon. We had planned on a short drive to the beach and lunch in Malibu but we found we didn't need or want to venture far from the Inn. We were fortunate to have a entire floor of the house to ourselves where we could lounge in the living room reading and make ourselves a morning cup of coffee or evening cup of tea. We so look forward to making this our annual anniversary getaway. Thank you for a memorable weekend. Kathy and Barry - La Crescenta ,CA


Great Romantic Restful Retreat

4.6 on January 24, 2011

My husband and I just spent a weekend here after renewing our wedding vows for our 30th Anniversary. It was a wonderful short getaway. Warren and Elena were so gracious and welcoming from the time we pulled into the driveway. Our room was stunning, and the views were breathtaking from our balcony. The separate common living areas on each floor lent to the quiet, private atmosphere. It is a wonderful place that seems hundreds of miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, but close enough to everything if you desire it. We highly recommend this for anyone looking for a nice, quiet getaway. Breakfast cooked by Warren each morning is a wonderful treat. Warren and Elena make you feel like you are home, and graciously extend that invitation to all their guests. Elena's art work is phenomenal and such a pleasure to view. My husband and I will definitely return.


Kaum zu glauben das man in Los Angeles ist!

4.4 on November 02, 2010

Sehr schön und sauber - mitten drin Los Angeles, zwischen die "Valley" und Malibu.


BETTER THAN S-- AND SEVERAL MILLION OTHER PLACES I'VE STAYED

5 on October 08, 2010

Imagine a home where every room is a small gallery of oils, watercolors, and chalks by world class Russian artist and where the host, a retired superb horn player, prepares outrageously good morning meals. Imagine this in a fabulous moutain setting, serenely quiet, and yet 40 minutes from LAX. The Enchantment Resort in Sedona and Los Caballeros in Wickenberg Arizona come closest to Topanga in atmosphere, but they cost $500 more per night without the art exhibit. An added bonus is the fact that I would be pleased to entertain any and all of the other inn guests at my own home. A delightful group of 20-70 year olds.

Innkeeper Response
We loved this guy! Can we clone him? He was the ideal guest and lots of fun too.


Awesome

4.2 on September 01, 2010

Spacious and clean! Stayed here w/ my 2 kids. I appreciated the comfortable, supportive beds. Warren made us a lovely breakfast in the morning and was very pleasant company. We'd definitely stay there again.


Topanga Canyon Inn

4.4 on August 26, 2010

Lovely, tranquil, very hospitable, didn't eat so can't commend on the dining but I loved my getaway and will highly recommend


Off the beaten path but well worth it

4.6 on August 06, 2010

My wife and I had looked for a B&B near the Reagan Presidential Library and this looked like the best option, even though it was about 45 minutes away. We navigated the Topanga Canyon road from the PCH and wound our way up the mountainside to the Inn. While the access road could use some work, the payoff was worth it. Elena's young son helpfully guided us into the driveway and Elena, an accomplished artist from Lithuania who displays her work throughout the Inn, was waiting to greet us. The room we reserved was not available because the couple in it the night before had decided to stay an extra day but she had upgraded us at no charge to a larger room with a balcony and better view. It was very nice so we had no problems with the change. She provided details of the property, the town, the trails, and the dining options. She is a very sweet and interesting lady who obviously cares very much about assuring her guests enjoy their stay. We took one of her recommended hikes to Elephant Rock, a well known local landmark, to stretch our legs and work up an appetite. Elena recommended several options and described them well. We were very happy with Froggie's for excellent seafood in an informal atmosphere. We didn't see Elena again, as Warren took on preparing a classic American breakfast featuring very good blueberry stuffed French Toast and sausages, and telling tales of how he met Elena, his experiences and views of Moscow, and the nature of the B&B business in the local area. We also learned a lot about the local schools and the education system since they have five children and home school them all. One other couple had stayed there that night and we all enjoyed the Inn, the hosts, the breakfast, and the local area. We can definitely recommend this Inn if you don't mind making a little extra effort to get here. It is just a few extra minutes to something truly special.


A great getaway

4.8 on July 31, 2010

A beautifully kept Bed and Breakfast. The innkeeper is friendly and hospitable. Great value for the price...the breakfast was outstanding. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of L.A. or any other city, this is the place to stay.


The Inn is so NOT L.A.

4.4 on July 25, 2010

We visited from Los Angeles, and really enjoyed the solitude. The Inn is only a few miles from Malibu and the conjested beach, but it is quiet and relaxing. The views from the balconies are magnificent, and the innkeepers are warm and friendly. We look forward to our next visit.


Peace, Love and Location

4.0 on July 18, 2010

A great place, central yet peaceful. Me and my son stayed for eight days in july and found it to be ideal for exploring th LA area. Good quality rooms, great hosts and interresting guests around the breakfast table made it a memorable stay.


Inaccurate Pet Policy on profile

3.0 on June 11, 2010

So at the time we booked our room, the profile on BedandBreakfast.com said, "Guest pets are welcome (No pets in rooms. Kennel cage provided or can board locally.)" This is information crucial us as travelers as my husband is allergic to animals. Just to double check, I called ahead of time to make sure that there weren't any resident pets at the B and B. So we check in thinking we won't have any run ins with animals in the house (which by the way, is a very nice house), and then a couple of hours later, I open the door to go get a drink from the kitchen and discover a dog running about in the hallway. As it turned out, the other couple staying in the B and B had a dog, and despite the listed policy, it was staying with them in their room (the Clark and Carole for those who are curious) and, at the time that i saw it, loose in the house's interior common areas. I was mortified. Fortunately, when I explained my husband's allergies to the other couple, they immediately put the dog back in their room, and fortunately, it didn't touch my husband's allergies off. However, fretting over whether the neighboring dog would trigger my husband's asthma was not the romantic experience I was aiming for. As such, the takeaway is that if you have a pet, you might actually be able to keep them in your room with you. However, if you are highly allergic to animals, you might want to reconsider staying here. Another reason for certain low ratings... check in time is 3pm, and I actually called ahead of time to let the innkeepers know that we would be arriving at approx 3pm (we got there at 3:15 pm). However, our room wasn't ready. No towels, toilet paper, or bathmats in the bathroom. we informed them, and they immediately took care of the towels and toilet paper, but the bathmats never showed up though they said they'd take care of it (we ended up throwing a towel on the floor). I'd expect better for $250 a night.

Innkeeper Response
Before Ron and Melinda arrived, we were under the impression that their plans were to park the car, check in and immediately go for a hike. When they arrived, their room and bathroom were ready except for hanging the fresh towels and toilet paper. They decided to use the room immediately, so we finished up and in lieu of bath mats (that had been washed and were being air dried) they were given extra towels that could be used as mats. When the mats were ready we decided to not invade their privacy by showing up with mats. The couple with the tiny, tiny dog (maybe two pounds) did not keep her in their room. Muffy was kept on the patio outside the Clark and Carole Room in a kennel cage that they brought. (Our cage was too big for her.) These are the rules and they kept to them. Yes, the puppy did get loose for less than a minute when they were taking her out through the stairway for a walk and joyfully ran through the upstairs living room which is floored with Saltillo tile and thus does not retain any hair or dander. The guests with the dog and my wife and I apologized for the dog breaking loose, but these things happen.


Last minute pleasant surprise

3.8 on March 03, 2010

This was our first time visiting the Los Angeles area and we had no idea where to stay. Atypically for us, we got around to arranging for accommodations at the last minute. We stumbled on to the Topanga Canyon Inn web site and decided to call and check availability. A quick conversation with Warren and we had a reservation for two nights. We arrived in LA the next evening, picked up our rental car and drove to Topanga Canyon. Upon arriving, Warren greeted us and gave us the rundown on the Inn - snacks, coffee, tea in the kitchen, DVD's/TV in the common area, books, etc. He also told us about local restaurants, nearby hiking trails and other attractions. We were the only guests for the two days so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. It was nice and quiet. The best part of our stay was having breakfast (included in the price) with the Roches. Elena put together delicious breakfasts on both mornings and we spent an enjoyable few hours over the two days talking around the breakfast table. The Inn is in a quiet country area only 15-20 minutes away from Santa Monica and Venice. It was nice to have a quiet getaway spot so close to the city. I would recommend a stay at the Topanga Canyon Inn.


HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, such a wonderful place

5 on February 09, 2010

This place was absolutely fantastic. Everything we could have hoped for a romantic getaway. Beautiful scenery. Wonderful room. Unbelievable complimentary amenities throughout our stay. And the hosts were exemplary. Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay!!


Weekend Staycation

5 on February 05, 2010

My wife and I hiked from West LA to the Topanga Canyon Inn. We spent a very enjoyable night there. Warren and Elena were fantastic hosts and the breakfast in the morning was spectacular. The room was nice, quite and very comfortable. All in all it was a fantastic mini-vacation.


Travellers from Ethiopia wowed by multi-dimensional experience at Topanga Canyon Inn

4.4 on January 31, 2010

My wife and I were guests for 2 nights at Topanga Canyon Inn in July 2009. We were absolutely thrilled with the outstanding hospitality,the quality of the room and service, and Elena's beautiful paintings adorning all the interior walls. As avid birdwatchers we even observed some new species for our life list ("lifers" in birders' parlance). Our experience could not have been more ideal! David & Marilee Rhody


great nights at Topanga

4.4 on January 29, 2010

We found this amazing place as a result of an internet search driving down from SFO to LA. It was late, but Elana and Warren could not be more helpful in accommodating us and directing us to the house (Its not that easy to find at night and the GPS may not get you to the door). Stayed 2 nights, loved it, very comfortable, some rooms with really great views over the countryside. The house is fabulous (Warren built it!) the location is amazing as you are so close to Malibu yet you can walk in the Topanga Hills park in the most spectacular county (its hard to believe this is LA). Great breakfast and very helpful hosts. Highly recommended all round.


Topanga Canyon Art Retreat

4.6 on January 27, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Topanga Canyon Inn. A wonderful area which provided a great starting point for a hike through Topanga Canyon. Elena's art filled the rooms. A delight to have that artistic touch.


Get away from the maddening crowds

4.4 on January 27, 2010

What a wonderful retreat from the city! The Topanga Canyon Inn is a beautiful Mission style villa on a quiet street tucked into the Topanga Canyon hills. We had a great room, awesome views and wonderful hosts. Warren had us spell bound at breakfast with tales of the Adventures of Jack. If we didn't have plans to hike in Topanga State Park (a short walk from the Inn) that morning, we would have been begging for more stories. Warren and lovely Elena are terrific as is their beautiful Inn. I have nothing but praise for this exotic place. We found a treasure and plan to make it our home away from home whenever we are in the Los Angeles area.


Two nights in Paradise

5 on January 26, 2010

Great location & views, outstanding accommodations, wonderful breakfasts, very interesting and friendly innkeepers; we were in heaven! Elaine is an artist and kept us spellbound with her tales of Russia. Warren prepared the breakfasts and his story about how he met Elaine was wonderful. Privacy and seclusion yet minutes from Malibu and the ocean. One of the very best B&B's we have ever experienced. Len & Mary Kirberg, St. Louis, Missouri


A Thanksgiving Getaway

4.6 on January 26, 2010

My husband and I were in Malibu for Thanksgiving and Warren kindly met us at the Inn after our Thanksgiving dinner was over. We checked in at about 8:30 pm and everything was perfect upon our arrival. The next day we were able to go on a beautiful hike in the area and that afternoon we had reservations at the Getty. That night we met friends for dinner in Malibu. We had to leave the next morning to pick up our daughters from the valley and then we headed home to Orange County. All in all, it was a perfect romantic getaway for two nights. And, btw, the breakfasts were excellent and Warren and Elena were wonderful hosts! Ellen and Claude Goldenberg


I was in desperate need of a quick, reasonable, interesting, getaway

4.6 on January 26, 2010

An LA actor friend tipped me off to Topanga Canyon--saving me an unpredictable drive south to Laguna Niguel. I was in dire need of a place where I felt secluded and checking in mid-week I got a great rate & the peace and quiet I was looking for. There's a lovely hike up from the Inn and I found a rock with a beautiful view to meditate on. There are horses on the nearby properties which I loved. Warren & Elena were wonderful hosts who I enjoyed getting to know. They served the most incredible home-raised free-range eggs I've ever tasted. I wasn't there for a shopping/dining/beach experience so you'll have to refer to other reviews. The most interesting thing in town (to me) seems to be the Will Geer Theatricum Botanicum. I had the room with the patio/deck which gave me the space to sit and write. I will say that the patio isn't far from the air conditioning system of the building, so you'll hear that hum if it's on. Overall, the hosts provided personal & professional service with a homespun touch. I look forward to returning for another getaway.


The best place in the canyon

5 on January 26, 2010

I came down to the LA area for a concert that ended up getting cancelled. Needless to say I spent a lot of time at the Inn and it made my trip worthwhile. This is in the heart of the canyon and it's even more beautiful in person. The hosts are nice and welcoming. I am 24 years old and I have stayed other places where the hosts who are older have treated me weird because I'm significantly younger. I felt right at home here.


Topanga Canyon.....and Kenny.....

5 on January 26, 2010

This was a weekend....that will never be forgotten. I came from NY...to celebrate the life of my dear friend Kenny Rankin, who has passed away in June. Not knowing anything of Topanga Canyon, I wasn't sure of where to stay, and I needed to be close to the service. Well.......all I can say, was it was perfect. Not only was it just up the road from where I needed to be early in the morning, the setting of where this "secret" is.....is something very difficult to describe....such beauty. Being alone.....my stay was so wonderful staying with Elena and Warren. They are where they should be......and made my stay.....so enjoyable, at a very hard time for me. I also had heard why Kenny loved this place so. Now I know. My room was just lovely, and how nice it was, to have everything I needed in the kitchen, if in case I was hungry! All the ammenities are here... I highly recommend staying at this gem.


secret hideaway

4.4 on November 23, 2009

If you love to hike or just want to get away with your honey from crowded LA (but be close enough to enjoy it!) this is the place for you. A lovely home away from home in beautiful Topanga Canyon with interesting attentive hosts to offer advice or just leave you to your own devices -- whichever suits you best.


Topanga Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $190 - $315
  • Reviews (59) 4.5
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3105703791
  • Fax 1-3104551124
  • Mobile 1-3106001325

Visit Website »

View details

Top