Black Bear Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
214 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely place!

4.6 on October 18, 2014

Practically perfect in every way.


We love this place!!!

5 on October 17, 2014

We have stayed here for birthdays, anniversaries and just because we wanted to get away. We love it and want to go back when there is a lot of snow on the ground - the fireplace and hot tub are great!


Getaway

3.0 on October 15, 2014

Spacious cabins, well decorated. Cozy. Very comfortable bed and huge shower. Delicious and hearty breakfast.


Beautiful Lodge

3.6 on October 01, 2014

The Black Bear Inn is a beautiful alpine style lodge that looks as if it has just arrived from Austria and far exceeds the photos on the website. Huge extremely comfy beds, lovely breakfasts, excellent cheese & wine each evening and in the nicest part of South Lake Tahoe. Would recommend without hestitation.


Excellent In Every Way

5 on September 29, 2014

My partner and I have stayed at this most excellent location several times over the past few years, and had the opportunity to stay once again this past weekend. I am a lifelong traveler, and this is by far one of the best locations I've ever experienced anywhere on the planet. The cabins are perfectly decorated and spotlessly maintained. The grounds are beyond beautiful, and provide the most relaxing experience imaginable. And if all that weren't enough, the breakfasts are among the best meals I've ever had. Jerry and Kevin and their staff are the most gracious, warm, and welcoming hosts, and ensure that every detail is first class. I could not recommend the Black Bear Inn more highly, and encourage anyone considering a stay here to just do it. You won't be sorry.


Black Bear Inn - excellent

5 on September 27, 2014

We initially intended to stay at the Black Bear Inn 3 day and since we enjoyed our stay so much we changed our plans and stayed 2 more days. The owners, Kevin and Jerry, have created a warm and relaxing atmosphere. Perfect if part of your vacation plans are to decompress. Both Kevin and Jerry are very kind and make the perfect hosts. We looked forward every morning to the delicious gourmet breakfast. We will return to and highly recommend the Black Bear Inn.


Lake Tahoe south shore

4.2 on September 22, 2014

Never visiting Lake Tahoe we had no idea on the differences between the shores. The south shore is more commercial and has a touristy feel, but the Black Bear Inn provided the Lake Tahoe retreat feel we were looking for. The grounds are beautiful and the inn is outstanding with the massive fireplace in the great room and our room was warm and cozy. Jerry and Kevin were great hosts and I would recommend their inn to any of my friends. The breakfast was gourmet and the wine and cheese selection in the afternoon was good.


Outstanding Inn!

5 on September 18, 2014

Best cabin ever! Tasty breakfasts and beautiful surroundings with gracious hosts.


A jewel

5 on September 16, 2014

Skeptical at first when my husband found lodging "on line" but when we pulled up to Black Bear.. I was intrigued, and immediately while registering I knew this was going to be a fabulous experience. And it was... Not only was the breakfast exceptional, everyone was friendly, accommodating and the other guests were also overwhelmed with the experience. We have raved, talked up the experience and referred Black Bear to everyone who will listen. Also, a special thank you for telling us the back way to the "Eagles" venue. Will be back, and you can bet there will be no other place for us to stay.. Warmly, Teresa and David Levine, St. Louis, MO


Thank you for a perfect stay!!

5 on September 11, 2014

We stayed here for a romantic weekend and it was more than we could have asked for. You are a hidden gem, located so close to everything we wanted to do! Your attention to detail and your service was impeccable. Thank you ;-)


Wonderful stay

4.0 on September 04, 2014

I was surprised to see a full refrigerator in the sink/kitchen area. . very nice. .. . breakfast was really delicious! Loved everything about the stay. .the outside breakfast nook by the fountain, the gracious hosts. etc. The only downside was that the room smelled a bit of cleaning solution when we arrived. Certainly we appreciate the cleanliness, but my wife is a bit sensitive to this sort of thing. Could have toned down just a bit


Recommend, recommend, recommend...highly

4.6 on September 03, 2014

Our 2nd stay in September and each was was outstanding. First stay even came with a real bear! Breakfast was so good, wine "appreciation" hour was great. Owners are stellar. Location is close to everything (recommend Blue Angel Cafe - 2 blks away).


A Most Relaxing Place-Wonderful Memories Made Here

5 on September 01, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. Very well maintained by the owners and hosts. who built the lodge and later the cabins 15 years ago. The grounds are immaculate, the hot tub clean and inviting, and the breakfasts were to die for. The hosts, Kevin and Jerry did more to make our 50th Anniversary stay incredible. We'll bask in our memories forever.


Outstanding!

5 on August 22, 2014

Looking at the picture online, we knew that Black Bear Inn is already a very nice place to stay but seeing it and staying in it is beyond expectations. Every thing is gorgeous. The feel and the look of the lodge is so exhilarating, warm, cozy, you name it. Jerry and Kevin are so accommodating including their assistant (I forgot to ask his name). From the breakfast they serve every morning to their snack at 5:00 pm is outstanding. I can't think of any negative thing to say. The place, the cottages, the inside decorations of the bedrooms and the lobby to the outside garden are outstanding. I love the antique decorations of old wagon wheel in the yard, the lanterns, the yard lights at night, the pine trees, the winding walkways to cottages, the smell of the rooms took me back to the moment in time. My husband and I stayed at the Fallen Leaf room and Oh, we love the feel of the place, the balcony overlooking the beautiful yard and winding walkways to gorgeous cottages which my daughter and son-in-law stayed (the Bart's room or cabin) in one of them. I was so sad when it was time for us to leave. I don't know about this place but it rather put me back somewhere in time. I can't sleep thinking about it the first night we're home. Even now, I can't take it off my mind. I was smitten by the place. I want every one to experience how I felt. I would definitely want to go back to Black Bear Inn. It's not the Lake Tahoe place that I want to come back but the Black Bear Inn definitely beckons me to come back again. I love the place. Any one who has doubts about this place, throw away that doubt because you'll never regret it when you'll come to stay in Black Bear Inn, believe me. Oh by the way, even their toilet paper is outstanding.


Wonderful place for a respite.

4.6 on August 21, 2014

B&B owners Jerry and Kevin have created a beautiful and serene oasis. The grounds are spectacular and the food is mouth watering. The perfect location for a visit to South Lake Tahoe.


A gem in South Lake Tahoe

4.2 on August 19, 2014

Our stay at Black Bear Inn far exceeded our expectations. Very detail was meticulously taken care of from the towels to the knick knacks perfectly placed throughout our room and the common areas. The grounds are impeccable and the service was outstanding! Breakfast was more than a treat -- we woke up looking forward to the gourmet delicacies Jerry prepared for us each day. We can't say enough great things about the Inn and its owners. Stay here. You will not be disappointed!


August At BBI

4.6 on August 18, 2014

The breakfasts here are great and the location is good, too. You can walk to Riva's Grill and Blue Angel Cafe and a few other places from the lodge. The lodge and the grounds are beautiful.


Dream Honeymoon

5 on August 18, 2014

My wife and I spent our 4 day honeymoon at the Black Bear Inn. Our stay was pure heaven. The Black Bart Cabin was picture perfect for the two of us, the grounds were immaculate and breakfast was to die for. Wine and cheese every evening was the perfect end to days full of hiking, shopping, taking in the beauty of Tahoe or just relaxing in the hot tub. The Inn Keepers Kevin and Jerry really got the B&B business right. We highly recommend this experience and will definitely return OFTEN!!


Epic stay at Black bear inn

5 on August 14, 2014

My wife and I would like to thank Jerry & Kevin for our great stay at there inn. The room we stayed in was perfect and the breakfasts were off the Hook! Jerry and Kevin gave us great advise on parking and advise on our Aerosmith concert and places to eat in the neighborhood. Yes , Both Kevin ,Keith and Aerosmith Rocked our weekend!


Very nice but slightly disappointed

3.4 on August 11, 2014

All in all, a very nice place. Slightly disappointed in the room. I probably would have given the room 5 stars but I found the bed too soft and the lighting poor. Other than that, very clean and nicely appointed. The breakfast was also slightly disappointing but perhaps because it was carb oriented and fruit was mostly banana... not my favorite. Afternoon wine and cheese was very nice and the innkeepers were very helpful.


Lovely B&B

3.8 on August 07, 2014

Unfortunately we were only able to stay for one night, but our cabin was lovely, wine and cheese in the evening was a nice touch, and we enjoyed the hot tub as well. We will be back, hopefully for a longer stay.


Great B&B in Tahoe

4.8 on August 05, 2014

I loved this place! The breakfasts are really good (we got Gluten Free) and the owners are really helpful. The back lawn is peaceful, and the common area and rooms are decorated really nicely. My only note is that we stayed in the Frontier room (at the front of the inn toward the street) and there was some place nearby playing loud music every night. I think the noise would be less on the opposite side of the house or one of the cabins.


Perfect Place to Stay In Tahoe

5 on July 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon and it was amazing! The cabins are very cute and cozy outfitted with a little kitchen table, coffee maker and large refrigerator. We ha breakfast delivered to our out private patio and not only was the setting beautiful, but the food was absolutely amazing! Stay here if you want a quiet and romantic room with great food!


Wonderful stay

4.4 on July 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stary at the Black Bear Inn very much. I made the reservations without assistance from my wife and made a great find. She was thoroughly pleased and we both highly recommend the Black Bear Inn and look forward to returning (soon we hope)!


A MEMORABLE ANNIVERSARY.

4.8 on July 22, 2014

A wonderful cabin in a very serene setting.


Honeymoon Haven

5 on July 08, 2014

From the toast to every special touch, Black Bear Inn made our honeymoon an experience we would want to repeat. The Inn Keepers deliver a first class stay with cozy rooms, a fantastic breakfast and advice on where to go to make the most of your visit. The beauty of the grounds are as relaxing as the beds, hot tub and daily cheese and wine hour! The location is close to everything and yet nestled in a quiet oasis just down the street from the hustle and bustle...Loved every part of our stay!


Fantastic stay at the BBI!

5 on July 06, 2014

The Black Bear Inn is a wonderful inn - it's beautifully appointed, very clean and fun to inhabit. And the breakfast is wonderful! The menu changes every day - even on an extended stay you won't get tired of that wonderful breakfast. The wine and cheese hour is a very nice touch - sitting out on their patio or in the garden after a full day of sight seeing was simply wonderful. Thanks to Jerry and Kevin!


Heavenly oasis

4.8 on July 05, 2014

My wife found this place because she wanted something romantic and the Black Bear Inn exceeded even her expectations. The tranquility of the grounds and the quaintness of the rooms is unmatched. So superior to almost any hotel, especially ones in the heart of activity, assuming that you're looking for peace and quiet. The staff is very friendly and you may tend to think of them as family if you stay even a few days. Whenever we are in Tahoe from now on, we won't want to stay anywhere else. We would live at the Black Bear Inn if it were possible.


Family time

5 on July 02, 2014

Awesome stay! A jewel of a place in S. Lake Tahoe. Excellent service and food !


The Best B & B in South Lake Tahoe!

5 on June 30, 2014

Had a wonderful return visit to the Black Bear Inn last week! Warm, welcoming - the perfect place to stay! Thank you!! Jan Verhage


Gorgeous Inn With Impeccable Service!

4.4 on June 18, 2014

The Black Bear Inn is absolutely beautiful, from the towering pine pillars to the carefully chosen antiques from old Texas farms. Jerry and Kevin were warm and tireless hosts, and the wine and cheese and the delicious breakfasts were an added bonus. The Inn is in walking distance to the beach and the casinos. We will absolutely stay there the next time we are in Tahoe and will recommend it to all our friends! Thank you, Jerry and Kevin!


A must stay at lake Tahoe

4.4 on May 27, 2014

The staff was very helpful it was our first visit to lake Tahoe and they helped us plan an entire trip and see some very great scenic views.


Another great stay at the Black Bear Inn

5 on April 06, 2014

We have been coming to the Inn for about 8 years and consider it to be one of the best places we have ever stayed. We have stayed at a lot of other bed and breakfast places and the Black Bear Inn tops them all!


A wonderful stay

4.6 on March 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the black bear inn over a long weekend and couldn't have been happier with our visit! Everything about the lodge was fantastic including the personal service and amazing food! It is also right on the shuttle bus route and less than a mile from the California base camp for skiing at heavenly. We loved our visit and hope to come back soon!


High Quality & Beautiful B&B

3.6 on February 20, 2014

The Black Bear Inn exceeded my expectations after my arrival and during our stay. Conveniently located in the middle of S. Lake Tahoe, it is close to everything: Ski, Casinos, restaurants and lake. Located in a residential neighborhood, the 2-story building takes a large corner lot. Rooms, clean & beautiful decorated, are much better looking in real life than their pictures on its web site. The hot tub-jacuzzy, located outdoors in a gazebo, offers the perfect place to relax, afternoon or evening, after skiing all day. A very nice breakfast area very well serviced. We enjoyed the early meals, delightfully prepared by one of the owners. Though a limited offer, it was very well prepared & served. I highly recommend this B&B for couples, romantic trip, seniors or anyone looking for a quiet inn, with beautiful decor, close to main attractions & upscale quality. I felt like staying in a private home owned by a wealthy friend.


the absolute perfect and professional service, accommodation and food

5 on February 14, 2014

our stay at black bear inn was outstanding..when i was booking the reservation, i was a little bit affraid, that they just took an awesome pictures and that the place will be different..we were really amazed...it was even better in person..Everything looked exactly the same or even better than on pictures...the entire place was super clean (which is one of our priorities,),.and ...the food..aaaah...we had 3 breakfast at Black Bear..and every time it was such a treat!!! we were getting spoiled by Jerry and Kevin in every way..the food was not only very good and tasty,..but it looked always so beautiful, colorful..the service was very professional in every way.. Paul, who welcomed us and was assisting us, was always very helpful with tips,and also super nice...I could go on and on.it was perfect place to celebrate the 40th birthday and we will remember it for ever...If you looking for perfect getaway...Black Bear Inn is definitely THE PLACE to stay!!!!! (just be careful...you might want to move in!!! )


R&R get away

5 on January 19, 2014

We go to Tahoe a couple times a year usually. For the first time we stayed here because it was the only 5 star rating we could find in the Tahoe area. They absolutely met and exceeded our expectations. We are already planning our next trip! This b&b will always be our destination choice for future visits.


I haven't a single negative thing to say!

5 on January 17, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins (Stagecoach) -- the cabin was perfect, the fireplace was romantic, the food in the morning was top notch!! I wish Tahoe was closer to where I live to make a return trip more likely!


Gorgeous bed and breakfast conveniently located

5 on January 10, 2014

The location is perfect for any Tahoe adventure and the breakfasts were outstanding. The main lodge is absolutely amazing and our 2 bedroom cabin was more than expected. Thanks again to Jerry and Kevin for making this the best family vacation. We would definitely return and refer friends and family.


The ONLY B&B to stay at

4.6 on January 04, 2014

Phenomenal. Outstanding. The service and surroundings and food are all the reason we keep returning again and again to the Black Bear Inn.


Cozy Cabin

5 on December 26, 2013

Cabins at Black Bear Inn are so cozy and warm due to the in-room fireplace with a flip switch by the bed! Breakfast was fantastic and hearty with a variety of juices. Lodge owners and staff made me feel like I was staying with family. The loaned me DVD's for my room and cleared a path in the snow to my car! I wish I had remembered to pack my swimsuit to enjoy the steaming hot tub. Location was super convenient and within a mile to everything--ski slopes, casinos, restaurants, shopping. Although it is so close to everything, the neighborhood was quiet and there were tons of animal tracks in the fresh morning snow!


Story book stay

5 on October 16, 2013

Neseled in the heart of the Seirra Mountains and a stones throw from Lake Tahoe this B & B is a great getaway from hectic city life. The decor is outstanding with very confortable rooms. Breakfast each morning is subperb. This is a must stay establishment. It also lightly snowed during our stay making it a truly fairy tail event.


Weekend wonderland

5 on October 16, 2013

The weekend was terrific. Everything was perfect. Jerry and Kevin arranged dinner reservations for us at great restaurants. Tahoe is beautiful and the setting of our cabin was terrific. It was quiet and beautiful. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before and truly enjoyed our first experience. We stayed in a cabin that had its own fireplace and complete privacy. A wonderful experience.


Wedding in Tahoe

5 on October 07, 2013

We lived everything about our stay. It was wonderful.


Honeymooners

5 on October 02, 2013

We found this oasis on line. Our first trip to Tahoe. But, we enjoyed the original owners service. Attention to detail and the Inn is available for weddings or meetings. The central location was very nice. The breakfasts were top notch. We would definitely come back


September in Tahoe

4.4 on September 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in September in the larger cabin. What a treat! Breakfast delivered to our cabin, privacy, and a beautiful setting.


classy, macho, comfortable cabin

5 on September 19, 2013

Stagecoach cabin: big tall macho guys can relax all stretched out. Shower is big enough for 2 linebackers. Perfect place to lie about with books, coffee and beer. Creative filling breakfasts, and really good coffee. Beautiful private little pine forest with Stellar's jays yakking. Short drive to world-class Tahoe hikes, walk to casinos. By far the best lodging in S.Lake Tahoe area - classy.


time to upgrade

3.6 on September 19, 2013

We loved our stay at the Black Bear Inn. Just a couple of suggestions, the sheets are in need of replacement as the ends are fraying. The TV's are very old and should be upgraded to flatscreens. Daily service should replace shampoos, water, etc.


Worth the wait

4.6 on September 18, 2013

This place is very relaxing, the staff is attentive, and the breakfasts are special. We are not B&B regulars but if this an example of what to expect at one then this won't be our last. We heard nothing but positives from the other guests as well.


Superb!

4.8 on September 17, 2013

Wonderful decor - designer quality down to the sliverware and place settings. Everything is top-notch. Staff was extremely polite and professional. Would definitely come back. We had a room in the main house which was very nice with a small balcony. Hope to come back for a return visit to stay in one of the cabins which have more privacy. Very close to nearby shopping.


A jewel at Lake Tahoe

5 on September 02, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay at the hotel. Jerry and Kevin were welcoming hosts. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was something you would expect to find in a gourmet restaurant. Rooms impeccably furnished and the Inn was beautiful. Gardens well taken care of and carefully laid out. Your trip would not be complete at Lake Tahoe unless you are a guest at this Inn. Kathy Downes, New York


The Black Bear in is MAGNIFICENT!

4.8 on August 30, 2013

The innkeepers, Jerry and Kevin we sweet and attentive. The rooms and the main lodge are absolutely beautiful. Their attention to detail and quality of service is outstanding. This is a great place to vacation! Can't wait to return!


An outstanding B&B in beautiful Lake Tahoe

5 on August 29, 2013

A beautiful and quiet B&B in Lake Tahoe, an attention to every detail, delicious breakfast, very charming and nicely decored rooms and great hosts, Kevin and Jerry... We cant wait to go back to Lake Tahoe and stay at the Black Bear Inn!!!


Welcoming B&B

4.4 on August 26, 2013

The staff were all very welcoming and made us feel very comfortablr and appreciated.


Black Bear Inn Review

5 on August 25, 2013

This was so enjoyable. The Inn was striking, immaculate and the host was so friendly and informative. Every detail was addressed. This was truly a wonderful place to stay if you want the South Shore.


Getaway

5 on August 25, 2013

The absolute best in Tahoe!


pleasant stay

4.4 on August 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfasts were delicious and the facilities were comfortable. The lobby and rooms were very nice. The grounds were beautiful and pleasant to sit or walk around. However, the fact that no one was available after 6 PM was at times inconvenient. For instance there were movies available for in room viewing but you had to arrange for them before 6. You couldn't decide after you came in that you would like to watch a movie.


Great place in South Tahoe!

4.8 on August 11, 2013

My wife and I had a great stay at the Black Bear Inn. The property was incredibly well maintained, the food was delicious, and the hosts were very friendly. We look forward to going back!


Black Bear Review

5 on August 06, 2013

Don & Leslie Ross...we would recommend this B & B to everyone, a true gem! Jerry & Kevin are wonderful hosts!


Anniversary Trip

4.6 on August 06, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Black Bear Inn. Everyone was kind and hospitable; everything was exceptionally clean; it was nice and quiet and the grounds are stunning. We will be back again.


Great experience!

4.6 on July 29, 2013

We really enjoyed the fine cuisine for breakfast. The owners were very hospitable and really wanted to make sure we were happy with the service and accomodations....very pleasant experience.


Good adress

3.8 on July 28, 2013

Clean, and goodplace to stay. No parking robe 's. Very good advice for dining.


A Wonderful Respite!

5 on July 26, 2013

Our stay here was very pleasant. We thoroughly enjoyed the grounds and the food was spectacular, not to mention the great hospitality of Jerry & Kevin. We will definitely plan to stay here again.


Anniversary at black bear inn

4.8 on July 25, 2013

It was our anniversary so we wanted a nicer room to spend our time in. The great reviews on yelp persuaded us to try a b&b for the first time. The second you drive up to the entrance you feel you've made the right choice. The whole lot is private and peaceful. Breakfast is included with your stay. We were served eggs Benedict, roasted tomato, asparagus and a poached pear. Yummy! Definitely going to stay again and again! Impressive service and friendly staff!


Beautiful Summer Accommodations

4.4 on July 25, 2013

My wife and I booked the Black Bart Cabin on a weekday getaway for some hiking and kayaking in the Emerald Bay area. Kevin, his staff, and his dogs were all extremely friendly, polite and helpful. The Black Bear Inn was beautiful, clean and enchanting. And the breakfast was simply fantastic!!!! We truly had a wonderful time and will be back again on our next trip to South Lake Tahoe... for sure!!!


Delightful black bear inn

5 on July 25, 2013

Jerry and Kevin were great hosts and really pampered us. Beautiful grounds and spotless lodge. Convenient to dining.


July Weekend

3.8 on July 25, 2013

Despite being unable to arrive after the usual closing time due to traffic, we were greeted warmly and felt at home immediately. Breakfast was broight to us so that we could dine outside of our cabin...even on the morning when we slept in and thought we missed the meal! The grounds were immaculate; the people were warm and friendly. We would definitely recommend Black Bear to family and friends.


Solid stay at Black Bear Inn

3.2 on July 25, 2013

We stayed in the Stagecoach Cottage, which was very cozy and well-appointed. The host, Paul, was extremely helpful in suggesting an itinerary for things to do in South Lake Tahoe.


Great Getaway

4.8 on July 22, 2013

We had such a nice stay at the Black Bear Inn! The staff was so attentive, always ready to help us whenever we had questions about the area, recreational activities, dining, etc. The grounds are extremely well-kept, making it truly seem like a retreat. Our room was spotless and so cozy that it felt like a home away from home. We enjoyed the wine and cheese reception each evening and then renting DVD's each night from their very large collection! And of course, the breakfast was AMAZING! The first couple of mornings, we had it delivered to our cabin, but then we decided to try going to the main dining room instead, which I would recommend! The service was excellent - we felt like royalty! A+ experience.


Best weekend getaway ever

5 on July 17, 2013

We loved our long weekend at the Black Bear Inn. We stayed in the Black Bart cottage and enjoyed our breakfast on our private patio in the mornings. The food was phenomenal, everything was clean and very well-appointed. The wine and cheese happy hour was a very nice perk, as was the hot tub and big cozy robes. We could have stayed on the property the whole weekend and would have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely be back to visit, hopefully soon!


Is There a Synonym for Perfection?

5 on July 15, 2013

After over eighteen years together, we spontaneously eloped at the Black Bear Inn with innkeepers Jerry as Officiant and Kevin as witness to our marriage. It couldn’t have been more perfect. The immaculately and beautifully maintained main house and cabins are situated on what seemed to be over an acre of lush parkland, with great majestic pines and colorful flora. Our cabin was a quiet and comfortable escape. I hesitate to use the word “cozy,” as it often implies “small,” and this cabin most certainly was not. It was the kind of lodging where you fanaticize about staying forever. “Couldn’t we just try to buy this one cabin from Jerry and Kevin?” Truly, it was an idyllic retreat. Breakfasts were amazing. Wonderful location with great nearby restaurants. We’ll be back.


Special Retreat - Our Second Visit was Great!

4.6 on July 15, 2013

Our second visit after my USBC Bowling Tournament in Reno and the Black Bear Inn is my favorite place to relax and reenergize. Perfectly maintained gardens, clean rooms with Kevin, Jerry and Paul assuring we were comfortable, as always. The hale storm in mid-afternoon and the Fresh Market was a pleasant surprise . See you next year! Francine and Morgan Durham, North Carolina


Black Bear Inn is a great place

4.4 on July 14, 2013

This B&B is really nice. Everything is perfect. The location is great and the hosts are very welcoming. I will go back there as soon as I can.


Just great

5 on July 12, 2013

A special place with special hosts who give it 100% And truly give a d•••. Hope to be back soon


Friendly & Fun

4.0 on July 08, 2013

We appreciated an early check-in & the courtesy of our hosts.


Black Bart Cabin at the Black Bear Inn

4.8 on July 03, 2013

The owners of South Tahoe's Black Bear Inn really got it right. Decor, service, BEAUTIFUL setting in the pines. Our cabin was well appointed, with a great bed and down pillows. Kevin and Jerry selected area appropriate antiques and wall furnishings throughout. The main lodge was so inviting and comfortable, one could just sit there, read and enjoy the view. We totally enjoyed it and will go back. The property is graced by naturistic wood carvings from a local artist, making great targets for shutterbugs. Just be sure to caution the Innkeeper if you don't want baked egg dishes more than once. The foods are excellent, however. We loved it, totally.


Black Bear Inn Review

5 on July 01, 2013

Exceeded every expectation we had of the area. The cabin, the staff, and quality of service made our trip memorable and enjoyable. We'd highly recommend the Black Bear Inn to family and friends. Regards, Timothy Connelly, San Antonio, Texas


Beautiful!

4.8 on June 29, 2013

My husband and I loved it here. We went for a weekend getaway and really enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Everyone was so nice and the breakfast were divine. The rooms were beautiful and the grounds were gorgeous. The view out our window looked just like the pictures. We also enjoyed the secluded outdoor jacuzzi. We can't wait to go again. :)


Black Bear Inn, South Lake Tahoe

5 on June 27, 2013

This inn has to rank in the top 5 of all inns we've stayed in for all around service, quality, friendliness, etc.


great place

4.8 on June 25, 2013

Great place. The hot water in shower was good but I think most people would like it hotter.


Great Place

4.4 on June 23, 2013

Beautiful place and nice rooms. It's a little pricey but very nice. Service was outstanding as they delivered breakfast to us so that we could eat every morning on our patio by the fountain. The bed was very comfortable and the room was cozy. Huge shower was nice and it has a kitchen with all the accessories. It is only a short drive to everything at south shore. If you don't mind paying the money it is a really nice place to stay.


Excellent room, outstanding service

5 on June 23, 2013

The room is very comfortable and clean. The property in general is full of great details and carefully maintained. Staff is great and very friendly, and breakfast is always a delicious surprise. Looking forward to coming back!!


If I could give 6 stars, I would

5 on June 23, 2013

Owners Jerry's & Kevin's attention to detail is what sets this B & B apart from others. Everything (facility, landscaping, towels, food, furnishings, & service.) is very well thought out and beautifully presented. One of our outstanding stays ever!


Wonderful play to stay

5 on May 22, 2013

Wonderful place to stay! The cabin was beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous and the stay is very friendly and helpful. Paul called us with the dessert menu for a couple of nearby restaurants so we could decide where to go. The inn is walking distance to shops, restaurants and the lake. The breakfast was delicious!!! We definitely will be back.


october in tahoe

4.4 on February 23, 2013

a fantastic spot to spend your relaxed weekend in october


Had a wonderfull time at the black bear inn

4.6 on February 22, 2013

"The black bear inn is an awesome place. i liked the way everything felt so personalized. Can't wait to go back some day"


Love the Black Bear

4.6 on February 19, 2013

We got married at the Black Bear and have returned several times. The setting is beautiful and the rooms are all great. The service is awesome and they always make us feel like we're home


Great stay

5 on February 05, 2013

My family and I were guests at this fine establishments. One of the best facilities, as well as top notch staff, Jerry and his people made it one of the best weekends of our traveling career. Thank guys


Can't wait to be back!

4.8 on January 08, 2013

This is a great B&B: the staff is wonderful and efficient, the location is perfect, the place is clean, safe, and comfortable, and the food was delicious! Thank you, Jerry and Kevin, for a wonderful experience!


Absolutely excellent

4.6 on January 05, 2013

Excellent service: the owners and staff are friendly, helpful, easy-going, hospitable; the breakfasts are OUTSTANDING - we were there on New Years Day and they did a special white table cloth, mimosas, etc. but every morning was special and absolutely delicious. Each room had it's own fireplace so you could regulate your own heat; rooms are homey and comfortable; the Inn is beautifully designed, rustic and elegant. We'll definitely go back.


Sweet way to enjoy South Lake Tahoe

4.8 on January 02, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-night stay at The Black Bear Inn this Christmas. Jerry, Kevin and Paul were excellent hosts, and the food was outstanding. We especially enjoyed the wine tasting in the afternoons, meeting several of the quests and sharing stories of skiing the slopes at Heavenly or finding a great place for dinner. Overall, a great experience. Steve and Dawn


Wonderful Stay at the Black Bear Inn

5 on December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Black Bear in for a wonderful 4 nights at the end of December. The cabins were beautiful and all had their own fireplaces - which were really nice during the snow storms. Kevin and Jerry really go all out with their Ralph Lauren and Western decorating style in each of the cabins and around the entire site. The hot tub and robes were fantastic and therapeutic in the cold weather after a day of Skiing and so was the wine and cheese each night before we went out for dinner. Kevin and Jerry cooked the best and most unique breakfasts each morning. The food was first class! The table was also set differently each morning. Very cute! Some other Perks: The B&B is in a very convenient location to great restaurants and the Heavenly ski resort. Parking is free, unlike many of the other hotels in the area. The B&B had DVD players in the rooms and an extensive DVD collection that you borrow from.


Our Fall stay in Tahoe

3.6 on October 28, 2012

The staff was friendly and welcoming. Our room was cozy and rustic. We especially liked the bathroom, with extra-large shower. The fireplace in the room was romantic, and the spa was rejuvenating. The bird life in the trees on the grounds was spectacular. We even identified a new species. We would love to see a hammock added for the seasons it would be appropriate for.


Loved It!

5 on October 26, 2012

We had a wonderful two day stay here and would highly recommend it. Our room was beautiful, and we loved having our own fireplace. Jerry and Kevin were very friendly, and made us feel right at home. We loved the wine and cheese every evening, and the breakfasts were fabulous.


Black Bear Inn review

5 on October 17, 2012

Outstanding B&B in every respect. Incredible attention to detail. Accomadations and Landscaping of the property were first class!!


A cozy retreat - just what we wanted!

5 on October 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was cozy and clean, the staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful (gave us a better recommendation for dinner, cancelled our existing reservation and called for the new reservation). The breakfast was outstanding! Eggs Benedict, fresh pesto, and a delicious poached pear. It was a short walk to the lake and the restaurant for dinner which also met our expectations. If you want a quiet stay away from the casino nightlife, this is the place to go.


Best Food I've Had at a Bed and Breakfast!

4.6 on October 10, 2012

The Black Bear Inn has a wonderfully big open feeling, and at the same time it was cozy. It was big enough to feel like you had privacy in your room, and small enough were you felt at home talking with other guests during wine and cheese hour. These offerings at 5 pm were delicious! And the sunday brunch was the best I've every had at any Bed and Breakfast and or restaurant! Amazing Eggs Benedict!! The garden really added a wonderful relaxing feel as well. With the big pine trees, numerous flowers, and woodland creatures (squirrels and bunnies) running around occasionally, it really added to the relaxing weekend.


Amazing...we did not want to leave!!

5 on October 09, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful relaxing getaway in the Sutter Cabin! It was perfection!!! We did not want to leave...it was wonderful!!


Back again!

5 on October 02, 2012

We returned to the Black Bear Inn after 6 years! Again the overall experience exceeded our expectations. Jerry and Kevin are the best! Clean, excellent food, great conversation, relaxation and peacefulness! Anna and George Blestel, Inman S.C.


5 Star Across the Board

5 on September 26, 2012

This was our anniversary and our first time at the Black Bear. I hit a home run with my wife on this one. The grounds were very tranquil and beautifully landscaped. The rooms were amazing. We loved the rustic decor. The food was outstanding and the breakfast was different every day. Customer service was a 10 out of 10! Great job. We are planning our next trip to go back.


It was very nice

5 on September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Black Bear Inn very much. All of the employees were very professional and anxious to please. we would recommend this lodge to our friends and we are planning on coming back.


Beautiful Gardens

5 on September 18, 2012

We spent 4 wonderful, restful days at the inn and were upgraded to a cabin which made it even better. The gardens are beautiful and tranquil. Breakfast every morning was delicious. One of the afternoons the wine and cheese tray was delivered to our little patio area right by the fountain outside our cabin, what a treat. Jerry, Kevin and Paul aare wonderful hosts. This trip was an extended celebration of our 44th anniversary and the Black Bear Inn is in our top 3!


Good location

3.4 on September 15, 2012

Comfortable, well appointed rooms in good location, close to Heavenly Village with its shops, restaurants and cinema.


Great one day stay during the Fall

4.8 on September 12, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a quick getaway weekend. Wonderful B&B, great service. Breakfast was WAY more then expected; we were served delicious blueberry pancakes! Loved this place and we will def be back!


Wonderful stay

4.8 on September 06, 2012

We loved our trip to Tahoe and the Black Bear Inn. The breakfasts were wonderful. The room was large and very comfortable with a lovely view to the back garden. We had to leave early in the morning and the staff bent over backwards to make sure we had an early breakfast before we hit the road. Far exceeded our expectations. When we return to Tahoe, we'll definitely stay there again.


Beautiful house and grounds, nice people

4.2 on September 05, 2012

We spent 2 nights here on Labor Day weekend. The house was beautiful, warm and inviting. The people were warm and welcoming too. The room we had was not in the best location in the house but the bed was very comfortable and the room met our needs. Next time we'd spend a little more for a balcony room or a cabin. The breakfast was really good, interesting food cooked just right. I would definitely stay here again.


Best breakfast in Tahoe

4.6 on September 03, 2012

Kevin & Jerry run a very smooth yet unintrusive operation. Decor and facilities are top-notch and not your typical b&b, where I often find that hosts are cutting corners. The cooked breakfast prepared and served up by J & K is different every morning and exceeded our expecations. Whilst their B&B is pricey, I have no concerns recommending them to my friends and family. Marc & Richard (London)


California summer 2012

5 on August 30, 2012

Stayed at the Black Bear Inn and it was the best part of our visit. Gardens are beautiful.


One of The Very Best Anywhere

5 on August 28, 2012

We stay here in the summer as the weather is perfect. Great hiking from just up the road from the Inn and great restaurants close by. We fly into the S. Lake Tahoe aiport and take a 15 minute taxi to the Inn. From that time on, we walk- the trails, to lunch, to dinner and to the beach. The Inn is operated by 2 of the best Innkeepers we have ever experienced. They built this place from scratch and the attention to detail, design & decor is amazing. Breakfasts are gourmet with a wide variety.


Excellent B&B

4.6 on August 26, 2012

My wife and I stay at the Black Bear Inn for 2 nights on for July 4th in the Frontier. The lodge and rooms are beautiful. The owners were very friendly and greeted us each morning to a wonderful breakfast. They have a garden in the back so veggies and fruits were really fresh. Next time we hope to visit in Tahoe in the winter for skiing/snowboarding and will definitely consider staying at the BB Inn again. This looked like the best accommodation in all of South Tahoe.


Charming, awesome place

4.8 on August 18, 2012

warm welcome, friendly and helpful hosts, outstanding breakfasts, cosy room We'd like to come back.


Fabulous

5 on August 16, 2012

A hidden gem. Off the main street in a neighborhood leading up to the ski hills. The breakfast was wonderful and the rooms are lovely. We will be back.


Beautiful peaceful setting

5 on August 15, 2012

Woodsy setting, great landscaping, incredible fresh breakfast. The owners were on site and very engaging.


Great Place to Stay in Tahoe

4.6 on August 09, 2012

Very nice, with a peaceful garden. Lots of interesting antiques and other details, food was great!


Outstanding!.... will be back!

4.4 on August 07, 2012

I selected Black Bear Inn due to the reviews I had read and my desire to treat my boyfriend to a wonderful weekend in Tahoe! The Inn lived up to and beyond my hopes. The service was superb... the morning breakfasts exceptional... and honestly it felt like we were the only ones staying at the Inn, even though I know they were booked. I will be back and cannot even think of staying anyplace else in Tahoe except Black Bear Inn. Thank you to the Innkeeper!!


We enjoyed our stay immensely!

4.6 on August 06, 2012

We stayed just one night at the Black Bear Inn, but will definitely be back. The inn is spectacular and Jerry and Kevin were wonderful hosts. Originally from NY State, the Black Bear Inn may be modeled off of gracious Adirondack camps, but the Inn was a much better version!! Thank you!


Great B&B in Lake Tahoe

4.4 on August 01, 2012

Beautiful property. So peaceful and serene. We stayed in the Black Bart Cabin and it was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. We will definitely try to get back for a longer stay!


Heaven in South Lake Tahoe!!

5 on July 19, 2012

Seriously ... there is no better place to stay in all of SLT ... Black Bear Inn is such a warm and inviting experience! From the comfortable and clean accommodations to the engaging / polite owners, our stay was like going to a second home. AND, let’s talk about the food … one word YUM!!!! Anytime we are going to be in SLT, Black Bear Inn will always be where we stay!!


Nice break from the usual lodging

4.4 on July 02, 2012

Black Bear Inn was a nice break from the usual lodging found at Lake Tahoe, service was excellent, grounds were well taken care of and room was extreamly comfortable. Recommend staying here and will visit again.


Extreme experiences at the Black Bear Inn

3.8 on June 04, 2012

Although the inn’s ambiance, service, amenities, and staff are great I did not feel secure in my room. They have a few security issues there. The afterhour’s entry/exit does not close automatically. One has to make sure you manually close it shut and the door locks. There are no internal locks on your suite door, only the deadbolt that has access from outside of your suite. On my third and last night at the inn, at 11 pm just as I was falling asleep I heard someone jiggling the deadbolt on my door. I opened the door to find one of the inns staff and another guest trying to get into my room. There was no knock on the door just someone trying to get in. I was not able to sleep worrying for the safety of my wife and myself. Dining at the inn: I had 3 breakfasts at the inn and they were fantastic. Excellent quality food and service, Jerry & Kevin has done a great job. I had 2 dinners at the inn, our first night when I arrived dinner was excellent, service and the food was outstanding. On the third night of our vacation and since dinner was so excellent at the Black Bear Inn we decided to cancel our dinner reservations at the Riva Grill and have dinner at the Black Bear Inn on our last night in Tahoe. To our surprise the service was poor at best. We were ignored the entire evening; we had to ask for everything from the drinks to the bill at the end. I thought it was very embarrassing for Jerry (co-owner of the inn) when he after an hour he came to inquired how our dinners were and my reply was “I don’t know we haven’t received them yet”. Take your chances here. My complement to the chef but, dinner service is very inconsistent.


A Great Place to Stay!

4.2 on March 14, 2012

Black Bear Inn was just as warm and welcoming as it appears in the pictures. The rooms were clean and each room comes with its own fireplace. The food was excellent. The breakfast was much better than the traditional continental breakfast that you generally receive at a bed and breakfast. There was a free wine and cheese happy hour every afternoon and the dinner (although pricey) was delicious and worth every penny. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The only complaint that we had was that the rooms were not as private as we were hoping for and although it looks like they are in cabins out-back from the pictures, the majority of the rooms are in the main house, and diners at the restaurant can overhear your activities.


Had a Lovely Weekend Here

4.4 on March 12, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here - a lovely inn with a beautiful common area and helpful staff. The first day we arrived we were the only guests, so they even brought the afternoon wine and cheese up to our room. Breakfast was hearty and served by the inn keeper - frittata, juice, home baked scone or biscuit, potatoes, and fruit each morning. Sunday's breakfast was a bit more extravagant and I believe they offered champagne. The grounds were lovely, and we enjoyed looking at them from the small balcony off our room in the main house (we stayed in Fallen Leaf). Next time, I'd like to try one of the cottages. I had previously stayed in Lake Tahoe on business at the Embassy Suites, and I realized that after adding the cost of parking and breakfast to my Embassy Suites bill, the cost to stay at Black Bear Inn was about the same, so the value turned out to be quite good as well.


Beautiful B&B

3.8 on February 13, 2012

The staff was gracious, helpful and very friendly. Beautiful rooms and ambience. Nice location. We would definitely return.


Weekend at the Black Bear Inn January 2012

5 on February 07, 2012

The accommodations were excellent; service was supurb; the hosts,Kevin and Jerry,we're gracious and very thoughtful. Excellent wine cellar and the dining was fantastic. Beautiful place just down from Heavenly Ski Resort. Best scallops and duck confit I have ever tasted. Just first class.


Bliss At the Black Bear Inn

5 on January 25, 2012

I have a secret... It has to do with the Black Bear Inn in Tahoe and it is just too good not to tell the world. This place is seriously wonderful. Words cannot even begin to express how perfect this little B&B was over this past weekend. Just to summarize, here is everything you need to know prior to booking this place: 1.)The experience was easy. Pulled up, gave us keys, paid up front, walked us to our room and showed us everything we needed to know about the grounds and the relaxing begins. 2.) Family owned and extremely accommodating overall. 3.) Wine and Cheese, plus breakfast were perfect. Not your standard eggs and bacon (eggs Benedict anyone?), however the simple stuff was available for those not interested in fancy fair. 4.) Smack dab in the center of the entrance to Heavenly, Casinos, restaurants, and a grocery store which contains a Blockbuster rental post. 5.) Hot tub, robes, and the dinner we had by Chef Alex made this weekend the perfect blend of wilderness and a little bit of luxury. Thank you Team Black Bear Inn for making our stay completely worth every penny spent!


Christmas 5 day stay

2.6 on January 12, 2012

We stayed in the Sutter cabin for 5 nights. We were shocked that there are no bureaus in the bedrooms for your clothes! Then they seemed annoyed when we asked for more hangers. The beds were overly soft and lumpy. The "kitchenette" that they speak of is a microwave/fridge and coffeemaker - no cook top or oven. So much for having Christmas Dinner in our own little cabin!! The fridge had not been completely cleaned out from previous guest. The "free wi-fi that blankets the entire property" does not! We were counting on the free wi-fi to Skype with our relatives in New Zealand and Ireland on Christmas Day. That screwed things up for us. The breakfast arrived on time each morning and was outstanding. We would have had a dinner at the Inn during our stay but their prices were too high. The cabin is attractive with it's woodwork and stone fireplace but they have gone a bit overboard with non-functioning "antique" bric-a-brac cluttering every surface. It was a nice place but too many details that fell flat.


Wonderful place to stay in Tahoe

4.0 on January 03, 2012

We stayed at the Black Bear Inn for a couple of days, and it was a wonderful alternative to staying at one of the casinos. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful, we drove in and it took longer than expected so Lisa stayed late to accommodate us. The cabin was cozy and warm, the tub was heavenly, and the location was convenient. We will definitely stay again.


Cosy & relaxed

3.8 on December 26, 2011

A lovely place with lots of nice touches. I suggest two areas of improvement (i) high speed wifi access for all rooms (not present in the cabins) (ii) more choice at breakfast. Much as the quality and presentation was excellent, there was no choice offered and a little more variety would have been appreciated.


OUTSTANDING!!!!!

5 on October 26, 2011

Jerry, Kevin and staff never cease to amaze us with their hospitality and exceptional service.


Charming and friendly B&B with superb food and service.

4.6 on October 17, 2011

Staying here is like living in a beautifully decorated home rather than commercial establishment. The Texan antiques are unusual, the garden is well done and the best is the food. We also enjoyed the book collection.


Beautiful September 17, 2011 Wedding

5 on October 07, 2011

Lets be candid. We have all seen beautiful locations advertised in magazines, on postcards or on the internet but upon visit, we have been disappointed. I have to admit the pictures of the Black Bear Inn looked too good to be true so I made a special trip from Pasadena to check out the Inn. I have to tell you, I found the Inn to be picture perfect; rich, lush, filled with color and beautifully decorated. Upon seeing the Inn in person, I so fell in love with it's beauty, tranquility and charm that on the spot, I reserved the whole Inn for our September 17, 2011 wedding. I was mindful that the Black Bear Inn is a business but for an everyday Joe like me, our wedding plans came down to the issue of trust. Could I completely trust that the Black Bear Inn staff would fulfill the vision of our wedding? After sitting down and discussing the proposed plans with the Black Bear Inn staff, with their warm and caring reassurance, I bet the farm and placed all of our hopes and dreams for our wedding into their hands and came up aces. Our September 17, 2011 wedding was absolutely beautiful. Everything we had hoped and prayed for came out exactly the way we wanted it to be. Looking back on it now, the wedding was perfect principally because the staff at the Inn made sure everything turned out beautifully just as they promised it would some months before. Although each of my friends and family members were in essence strangers to the Black Bear Inn staff, the Inn staff treated each of them as thought they were their own family. All of my friends and family members were so impressed and reported that the Black Bear Inn staff were always professional, caring, willing to go the extra mile to assist and always treated them with respect. To each and every one of the staff members at the Black Bear Inn, my wife and I want to thank you for our gorgeous September 17, 2011 wedding and for our perfect beautiful memories that will always be cherished.


Wonderful and relaxing stay at Black Bear Inn

4.0 on September 28, 2011

My husband and I were in So. Lake Tahoe for a friend's summer wedding. We found the Black Bear Inn on the internet. The lodge was warm, cozy and peaceful and the grounds were beautiful. Our room looked over the backyard and was very comfortable. The food was fantastic starting with breakfast, then onto wine and cheese in the evening. The restaurant also served dinner and the chef and wife prepared wonderful, delicious entrees. The owners were friendly and put their personal touch on everything. I would definitely recommend staying at the Black Bear Inn and we will definitely be back. Jill and Tom Houston, TX


2 DAY STAY TO REMEMBER

4.6 on September 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days at the end of August, and, really enjoyed the Blcak Bear and travelling the surrounding area. The accomodation was excellent, and, we felt very comfortable and relaxed here. Nothing was too much trouble, and, the lodge is impressive. Would definitely stay here again.


Very positive.

4.2 on September 19, 2011

We visited San Francisco from Europe for a party of a member of our family and included after a week in the city a nice trip around, which included Mendocino, Grass Valley and finally the Black Bear Inn. Your place and the nature around are unforgettable.


Wonderful stay at the Black Bear Inn

4.6 on September 17, 2011

Staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and attractive. Breakfast was delicious!


Amazing place

5 on September 17, 2011

We loved everything about the black bear inn. The grounds are beautiful, the lodge was breathtaking and the Senaca room was very comfortable. Paul at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. And the food.....spectacular. Breakfast was fantastic as was dinner. Can't wait to visit again in the future. Mike and Tammy Holbrook


Love the grounds

4.8 on September 08, 2011

We have stayed here twice now, both times in the same room in the Black Bart cabin. Service has always been without equal. Breakfast served in our cabin was outstanding. Love the grounds and the quiet. Close to any shopping or entertainment South Lake Tahoe has to offer. The Black Bear Inn is now a favorite we'll keep coming back to.


Wonderful Getaway!

4.4 on September 05, 2011

Black Bear Inn has excellent service, and is conveniently located near Heavenly. The staff was very helpful and friendly. For example, the lady at the front desk volunteered suggestions for what we could do during our short stay. The dinner staff was very attentive to our needs, etc. Kudos to Chief Alex! Everything we ordered for dinner was absolutely delicious! The meal was made from seasonal, fresh ingredients. And the vanilla bean panna cotta with organic raspberries just hit the spot for dessert! Breakfast the next morning was equally delicious--french toast with bananas, strawberries, and goodness. The decor is warm and welcoming without being fussy. I highly recommend the Black Bear Inn B&B, even if it's just for dinner. We visited at the end of the summer, and would love to come back in the winter for skiing!


Memorable Stay...Loved it!!

5 on September 01, 2011

My husband and I visited the Inn for our 11th anniversary and we had a fabulous time. Everything was just wonderful...from the warm greeting at check in, carrying my bags to our room, happy hour, the cleanliness, the breakfast, jacuzzi, the beauty of the Inn and all the attention to detail. It was truly magical and my husband & I really experienced a romantic get away that felt tranquil and pampered. I can't wait to go back. The breakfast was out of this world and we dined for dinner at the Inn on our first night and it was a culinary experience. Jerry and Kevin were wonderful...were on site to chat and help out ...they really enjoy their Inn and take pride in the environment that they have created. Spectacular! I would recommend this Inn to friends and family.


Birthday Getaway

4.4 on August 31, 2011

Beautiful place (the buildings and particularly the grounds), outstanding customer service and very good food. We would stay there again but would reserve one of the cabins so we could have a/c we could control and a fridge in the room!


Wonderful experience

4.2 on August 31, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the immaculate grounds and cozy, quiet setting. The service was the best I've ever experienced (and I've experienced many), and the food far exceeded my expectations. I would not hesitate to recommend this to family and friends, in fact, I already have! Definitely get one of the cabins. We stayed in the Black Bart Cabin, and I think we'll try a different one next time, and there will be a next time!


Charming inn with lovely grounds. Recommend.

3.8 on August 22, 2011

Jerry and the rest of his staff were very cordial and accommodating. The inn is lovely and the grounds nicely groomed. The only negative is that using his open dining room and deck for public evening dining tends to make inn guests feel like they are intruding to use the living room or deck. Based on the superb breakfasts, our guess for the evening would be excellent food if you are eating there. But, dining prices equally high as top established restaurants in the area.


Great B&B

4.6 on August 16, 2011

We stayed here for two days in July. The breakfast was great and service outstanding. The decorating was excellent. Really enjoyed and plan to come back in winter during ski season.


Great Location and friendly service

4.2 on August 15, 2011

This was a great choice for our one night stay-over at Lake Tahoe. The location in South Tahoe was easy walking to many of the local attractions (not least the lake itself). The room was well equiped and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was substantial and overall stay represented a good value. It was only a shame that we could not stay longer.


Black Bear Inn..a once in a lifetime experience...hopefully to repeat again

5 on August 11, 2011

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a B&B and total experience of joy and delight. Taking a chance via internet at our very first visit to Lake Tahoe were were greeted by an exceptional staff and Inkeepers Jerry and Kevin. They had the thoughtfulness to call us in advance to see if we'd be interested in participating in a wine tasting dinner that would be hosted while we were there. Consequently we had one of the most fabulous meals paired with wine ever. The enthusiam of the guests who also attended the dinner and stay at the inn, reflected highly on this environment. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and a variety of rooming options, we felt like we had discovered paradise. The large and beautiful hot tub was a perfect ending to our long day. How we hope to return to the Black Bear Inn in the future.


Nice but pass on Dinner reservations

3.8 on August 08, 2011

This Inn had all the charm we were expecting. The Breakfast was very nice. Dinner was not what was expected, 45 min minutes until the first course was served and was not good at all. I wish we would have passed on the dinner. I believe they contract out dinner to another chef. I would return here but pass on dinner reservations.


The Cranston's Review

5 on August 04, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. We wish it could have been longer. Hope to come again. Thank you.


fantabulous!

5 on August 02, 2011

fantabulous breakfast, cozy rooms, romantic hottub..who could ask for more?


A Honeymoon Like None-other...

5 on August 01, 2011

After getting married in Pennsylvania, my wife and I traveled to the Black Bear Inn for our honeymoon. From the moment we walked through the door, we were greeted with smile and shown around the entire building and grounds. The gentleman at the desk, Paul I believe, even shared with us what activities we may want to experience on our stay, and how to get around Lake Tahoe. We were also invited for a wine and cheese tasting that night, and every night, which allowed us to relax. That same day, we took in Chef Alex's 7-course meal, along with a wine tasting. My wife and I can honestly say that we have NEVER eaten better! I was also able to have the great people at the Black Bear Inn arrange for wine and strawberries to be in the room once we came back from the Jacuzzi to end our night. They did not disappoint! Breakfast was amazing with various juices, and the most amazing blueberry pancakes. Delicious! The only thing, and I mean only thing, I would change would be the short time we stayed there before heading to Las Vegas. It really was the best Inn/Hotel we every stayed in and it made our honeymoon nothing short of magical!!!


A very pleasant stay

5 on August 01, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised when we drove up to Black Bear Inn. It was every thing promised on the website and more. Excellent service and a great room. We would absolutely stay there again and we recommend it to anyone.


Black bear inn

3.8 on July 30, 2011

Very pleasant place to stay. Very comfortable and gracious hosts. Food was very good. Room was a bit noisy...close to main road and also in main building so dinner guests could be heard until bedtime. Would recommend it to others


My stay at Black Bear Inn

4.0 on July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Frontier room which happens to be on the street side. It was probably one of the smallest rooms, but had a good size bathroom. The street noise was a bit too much. Since it got cool at night, we decided to leave the patio door open. On the second night, we started hearing beep-beep-beep by some truck backing up and it wasn't even daylight yet. We shut the door, but we could still hear this noise. I am sure it would be quieter if we had gotten a room on the backside of the lodge. We just wished their webpage had mentioned that this room was street side. Other than that, the place is immaculate and the food was by far the best we had on our trip. Make sure you eat there at least one night. One would think that this being a lodge that it would be outside the city limits. But no, it is actually on a main street in South Lake Tahoe. So be prepared for street and city noise.


Amazing place!

5 on July 25, 2011

The Black Bear Inn is rustic elegance that defines perfection. It is no wonder that Foder's travel guide named it the number one place to stay in the Lake Tahoe area. Our cabin could have been on the cover of a magazine. Artfully chosen antiques, beautiful country bedding and a polished stone fireplace added to the ambiance. The bathroom included a huge walk in tile shower and top of the line fixtures. The hot tub nestled in the well tended gardens was private and inviting. The Adirondack style lodge is a glorious place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast in the morning, outstanding wine and cheese in the afternoon and best of all, the Black Bear Inn NOW SERVES DINNER! My husband and I were pampered by Chef Alex and Kimberly as they took us on a culinary journey from appetizer to dessert. Using only fresh ingredients (there is an herb garden right on the property) and local farm products, they prepared a mouthwatering Mushroom Risotto, herb encrusted rack of lamb, a savory summer squash combination followed by a whimsical dessert called "Eaton Mess", an airy meringue and fresh fruit combination that floated on the palate. The coices were inventive and well balanced. The owner, Jerry, a fascinating gentleman made us feel at home instantly- kind of a combination of Santa and your favorite uncle! He and his staff were available and informative yet never intrusive. It is no wonder that we met several couples who have returned time and again to this magical B&B within walking distance of the exciting southern shores of Lake Tahoe. We will most certainly be going back!


Best Place to Stay

5 on July 21, 2011

The accomodations were absolutely fantastic. I have never been to a nicer place. The grouds were beautiful and the staff was very helpful, friendly and great to get to know. I must say I have never had a better breakfast in my life. The chef was out of this world. I can't wait to go back again. Triple A plus for the Black Bear Inn.


Holiday Weekend Getaway

4.6 on July 17, 2011

We spent the Fouth of July weekend at the Black Bear, and even though the city was crazy with activity, the Inn was a peaceful retreat. The staff was extremely helpful and the food was just spectacular. We would whole heartedly recommend the Black Bear to anyone looking for a quiet getaway or a romantic weekend.


Fabulous stay!

5 on July 16, 2011

Our stay was wonderful, the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. And the food...the food was beyond description!!! Breakfasts were so delicious, and dinner was a 5+ star restaurant event! We can not wait to come back!


WOW-This B&B is a must!

5 on July 13, 2011

I've stayed in several highly rated B&B - Black Bear is right at the top. The ambiance, unique decor, taste bud stimulating food, great beds and wonderful amenities (not to mention the great hosts) make BBI a "must stay" when you are in Lake Tahoe. Something very unique - the owners turn the breakfast area into a restauant for dinner. A marvelous chef and his staff will present a fantastic meal and wine pairing to excel all other restaurants in Lake Tahoe. This lodge has cabins, lodging in the main house, a hot tub (a delight after hiking around Lake Tahoe), fireplaces, outdoor sitting areas, and gardens for relaxation.


Great Stay

5 on July 07, 2011

We stayed at the Black Bear for the second time recently and it was again - above and beyond our expectations. Jerry and Kevin are wonderful hosts.


Outstanding South Tahoe B&B

5 on June 30, 2011

First trip to Tahoe. Anniversary trip. Wanted a special place. The Black Bear Inn was outstanding. Partners Jerry and Kevin work hard to make sure your needs are met. The breakfast meals were excellent. Chef Alex's in house restaurant is a must for an evening meal. The website's "driving tips" were perfect for our sightseeing. Really blown away when I got an email two weeks ahead of arrival from the Black Bear offering to make dinner reservations at some of the best local restaurants. If you have a special occasion to celebrate, the Black Bear Inn is worth the extra $$.


Rustic looking but VERY comfortable.

3.8 on June 29, 2011

The location is fantastic for the Lake Tahoe area. The views are magnificent, while the staff is most helpful in helping you to plan your activities.


Best anniversary spot

4.6 on June 25, 2011

We stayed during our 3rd anniversary in the Fallen Leaf room. Having a balcony to sip wine and chat on for hours without interruption was priceless. The next mornings breakfast definitely exceeded our expectations-warm, cream cheese filled French toast with fruit and a cinnamon glaze. We enjoyed chatting with the owner over coffee. Everyone was so accommodating. The architecture and antiques of this place will keep amaze you. I can't wait to stay at this lovely B&B again!


Don't look any further

4.0 on June 21, 2011

The Black Bear Inn offers a most comfortable stay in a very personal environment. Designed and operated by its charming owners who also live on site, it provides a level of accommodation and service well beyond most B and Bs. The spacious rooms, large lounge and dining area, beautiful garden outlook, ample and interesting breakfast and additional dinner option as well as complimentary wine and cheese made this stay one of our best.


True Inn

5 on June 15, 2011

We prefer Bed & Breakfast type lodging. Most are older houses that have been converted to B&B's, and many are quite nice and intimate. Black Bear was designed to be a B&B Inn. It has all of the quaintness of a traditional B&B being quite, tastefully decorated and homey. But it offers the amenities of larger impersonal hotels. Jerry and Kevin are very personable, as are their staff. We only had one night in the area and elected to have dinner and breakfast at the Inn. Both were outstanding in taste and presentation. We look forward to our next visit.


A Great Place to Stay!

4.4 on June 11, 2011

A totally welcoming B & B with an outstanding restaurant! Will tell all our friends to stay if they are in the area!


Fabulous place to stay in Tahoe!

4.6 on June 09, 2011

We rented the whole inn for a birthday party. Everything was perfect the entire stay! The staff are professional and caring, the inn is well appointed with many special touches, and the food is excellent!


A Fantastic Place to stay

5 on June 07, 2011

My husband and I recently had the good fortune to stay at The Black Bear Inn in South Lake Tahoe. I chose this B&B because it looked so nice on the website, but I have to say the reality far exceeded our expectations. The young lady Alyse, who dealt with guests checking in emailed us a couple of weeks before our trip to ask if we wanted her to book dinner at one of the local restaurants in advance of our visit and she mentioned that the Black Bear Inn now has a restaurant on site if we wanted to consider that. We had already decided to give the restuarant at the Inn a try before she contacted us but we asked her to book a table. She had also asked if weanthat too. Then the day before we arrived she rang my mobile to tell us that the Interstate 50 was blocked with snow and she didn't know if we would have been planning to use that so she was going to give us an alternative route. When we arrived Alyse got us booked in and settled and we were delighted with what we saw. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic and breakfast next morning was equally amazing. I think this is a wonderful place to stay, friendly helpful staff, immaculate rooms and everything done to make your stay enjoyable. In our opinion this is five star accommodation and I would recommend it to anyone. David and Margaret Parton - England


Black Bear Inn

4.8 on May 30, 2011

We elected to stay at the Black Bear Inn to celebrate a birthday. It was perfect. We invited family members to join us for dinner and it was exceptionally good. The service was impeccable and everything was even better than we could have anticipated. We'll be back for sure.


25th Wedding Anniversary

5 on May 22, 2011

We spent three nights at the B&B for our 25th Anniversary and it couldn't have been mopre pleasant. Two days before we arrived, Alyse called to give us up-to-date information on road conditions and made our dinner reservations. Kevin and Jerry were superb hosts and took the time to greet us by name each morning, even remembering my coffee preference and handing me the paper by the fireplace. Breakfasts were a min-feast every morning and the dinner we ate at the Inn was spectacular. The chef and his wife/hostess made the dining experience one of our best. We'll be back with the kids and their families next time.


Pleasantly Surprised

4.4 on May 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our couple of days at the Black Bear Inn; there's always an element of risk with booking over the Internet and without a trusted recommendation. South Lake Tahoe put on something of a show for us with the weather - snow in late May, but this had something of a novelty value about it. The staff were friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, and helpful; what more do you want. Would certainly stay there again, and heartily recommend it to friends.


Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

4.0 on May 19, 2011

There is not a detail they haven't thought of. The only thing we left wanting for was more time there.


Black Bear Inn

5 on May 17, 2011

Wonderful place to stay. Stayed in the Lodge would try booking a cabin next time. Great breakfast.


What an amazing stay!!

5 on May 09, 2011

After staying at Black Bear Inn we will never stay anywhere else ever again while in Tahoe!! The inn keepers Jerry and Kevin's attention to detail is amazing and the homemade breakfast is outstanding. They treated me and my husband like royalty!! I can not emphasize enough how special this place is!!!


Black Bear Inn

4.0 on April 27, 2011

We were upgraded to a cabin which was lovely and cosy. The staff at the Black bear inn could not do enough for us and we felt very welcome. It was very quiet though and we seemed to be the only guests due to the weather and arriving inbetween seasons. The wine and cheese provided at the end of the day was a lovely gesture and the breakfasts were incredible as was the gourmet meal served at the restaurant. Beautiful place and very tranquil.


best acccomodations in South Lake Tahoe

4.0 on April 13, 2011

We would have been pleased even without the nice room upgrade. Excellent breakfast, bed, hottub and tasteful furnishings. The TVs in our room were small, everything else perfect. Jerry and Kevin brought breakfast out to our cabin... an absolutely brilliant touch that saved us time on a powder day! This was our 2nd visit and we'll be back.


A Most Enjoyable Experience

4.6 on April 08, 2011

The owners/hosts provided gracious hospitality. The food at breakfast and dinner was superb. The Inn's rooms, common areas and grounds were all attractive and well-maintained.


Amazing Stay!

5 on March 28, 2011

The hosts were amazing, the property was adorable and decorated to the nines. The food surpassed our expectations. Hope to be back in the summer! Thanks.


Two nights in Snowy South Lake Taho

5 on March 23, 2011

My girlfriend and I had never been to S. Lake Tahoe before, and based our decision to stay at the Black Bear Inn entirely on the on-line reviews of the place. Reviews and pictures can be deceiving, but I am happy to report that the Black Bear Inn was everything we had hoped for. We arrived on a snowy afternoon, and were greeted by a friendly staff member who checked us in and gave us a tour of the main lodge, and took us to our well appointed and maintained cabin. At around 5:00 p.m. we enjoyed their complimentary wine and cheese in the main room (try the private label Black Bear Inn Cabernet) and met Jerry (one of the owners). He is a charming, interesting person who made us feel right at home. We recommend eating at least one dinner in the lodge. No driving required and very good. The beds are super comfortable, with designer type bed sheets and pillows. Breakfast was fine, delivered right at the hour we had requested. Following a busy day sightseeing, we had dinner at a well regarded though somewhat average (to us) local restaurant. The following morning we left very early (not planning on any breakfast at the Inn), but Jerry and the other owner, Kevin, arrived at our door with a 'to go' breakfast for us and wished us well. It was the perfect, final touch to our stay at the only true Bed and Breakfast in South Lake Tahoe. Give it a try. You won't regret it.


Black Bear Inn is amazing!

5 on March 10, 2011

Our recent stay at the Black Bear Inn was excellent! The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The property was extrememly clean and had the basic ammenities available for our stay. Our room decor was lovely with it's own fireplace, a decent sized bathroom and balcony overlooking the grounds. Breakfast each morning was delicious!! Jerry and Kevin went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay. I would highly recommend this B&B to everyone that I know.


Our third stay at Black Bear Inn

4.6 on March 10, 2011

My husband and I always thoroughly enjoy our stay at Black Bear and I am sure we will return again. The rooms are wonderful...very clean and well appointed. The whole inn is well cared for. Our first visit was 7 years ago and the inn doesn't seem to have suffered any wear and tear over the years. The owners, Kevin and Jerry, both made it a point to personally welcome us back. Oh, and I must mention the food! Breakfast is delicious and we definitely enjoyed trying the new restaurant for dinner. The food was truly outstanding! The wine list is limited due to the newness of the restaurant. We brought our own bottle and paid the corkage fee. All in all, the Black Bear Inn is a special treat!


Wonderful weekend at South Lake Tahoe

4.6 on February 21, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay. We had not been to SLT in a while and were considering staying at one of the big hotels, then we found the Black Bear Inn. The owners are onsite and just wonderful. Arrived on Friday afternoon, just in time to enjoy wine and cheese with the other guests. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was wonderful and we enjoyed their dinner on the second night. We didn't realize they served dinner at the hotel and had another reservation for the first night. Woke up to 6 inches of fresh snow Sunday morning! Overall, we really enjoyed staying at the Black Bear Inn. We would definitely stay there again.


Black Bear Review

4.4 on February 16, 2011

I thought the people at Black Bear were extraordinary. The service was 1st class and the Inn was beyond my expectations. My wife and I will definitely go back .....


Our Holiday Wedding at the Inn

5 on February 13, 2011

We are thrilled to recommend the Black Bear Inn to anyone. We have stayed at the Inn previously, but returned with all our family for a beautiful Holiday Wedding this December. Jerry and Kevin and their staff treated all of our guests with perfect first-class service. The Inn delighted everyone who attended they were in awe of the delightful setting. The wedding was the absolute “tahoe” environment in the middle of December we could not have found anywhere else. The Inn really is one-of-a-kind anywhere, let alone Tahoe. The staff are all simply incredible and having stayed the entire weekend, they never missed a beat and gifted us and all our family and guests with the most perfect wedding memories. We highly recommend the Inn for any occasion, wedding, anniversary, get-away or simply the best place to stay in Tahoe. For a little taste of the picture perfect wedding at the Inn, check out these photos and thank you again Jerry, Kevin, Chef Alex and Kim, and all the staff. http://www.melinawallischblog.com/honeybird/2011/01/nhwedding.html


Incredibly memorable

4.0 on February 10, 2011

There's nothing like this B&B anywhere in Tahoe or most anywhere else we've ever stayed. The incredibly delightful and charmingly furnished Inn along with each spacious room, unique in its own way made our stay completely memorable. Kevin and Jerry and their staff treated each of us as if we were their only guests, and guests as that, not a customer. The food, staff, the antiques, the entire experience was great in every aspect so much so we held our wedding there in Dec 2010 and could go on and on about the service, each of the accommodations for our guests. Jerry and Kevin made everything beyond our dreams, thanks you two and your team. We only wish we could stay more often.


Outstanding

5 on February 03, 2011

My wife and i have been to the inn 2 times and we love the room and jerry and kevin are wonderfull Robert Sisson Rohnert Park,ca.


Perfect B&B for our Anniversary

5 on February 03, 2011

The cabin we stayed in was cozy and perfect for the two of us. We very much enjoyed the fine dining experience as well as the helpfulness and knowledge of the staff when recommending activities to do in the area.


A Great time was had by All

4.8 on January 31, 2011

Black Bear Inn gave us a VERY enjoyable stay in South Lake Tahoe. Close to everything, easy to find. The cabin was great, and the food even better (They made an effort to accommodate our less than easy food allergies, which has often been not the case at other B&Bs.) If I had any complaint, it would be the WIFI signal was a bit low at the far end of the property… which is not much of problem, if you go there to get away from it all!


Loved the Black Bear Inn

4.2 on January 21, 2011

We would definitely return to the Black Bear Inn. The staff and owners were great. Very attentive. The lodge itself is beautiful. We also had dinner there one night in their new restaurant and the food was superb. The Black Bear Inn is a must try. Also, no problems getting to the slopes.


Home from Afghanistan

5 on January 05, 2011

This stay was a gift to our grandson and his new wife. He'd just completed a tour in Afghanistan with the Marine Corp, and married just before he was deployed. They loved the inn and their stay. Thank you for helping to make this a special moment in their lives. Terry Azevedo (Grandma)


Wonderful!

4.6 on December 30, 2010

We had a perfect snowy Christmas holiday. Everything was divine!


Great B&B near Heavenly

4.4 on December 29, 2010

Super friendly staff. Excellent food. 5 minutes on shuttle to Heavenly California lodge. Can't wait to visit again!


MY STAY AT BLACK BEAR INN

5 on December 22, 2010

I love this place and will stay again. The atmosphere is wonderful: in the middle of the most beautiful place in the world is this Inn that is a reflection of the beauty and the peace. I would recommend the Black Bear Inn if anyone is seeking this type of all around experience. By the way, the food is really good!


Tahoe Trip

4.0 on October 20, 2010

Jerry & Kevin were wonderful hosts and operate a first rate B&B. Our stay was peaceful , quiet and relaxing. Fanatastic lodge setting. We plan to stay again on our next trip to Tahoe.


the best at black bear inn

5 on October 20, 2010

What a joy to stay in this beautiful, well crafted,warm and exceptional inn. The food,by Chief Alex, was outstanding ,as was the thoughtful and gracious staff and owners. We would love to return again and again.


Very pleased with Black Bear Inn

3.4 on October 17, 2010

The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The great room is beyond compare. The breakfasts were amazing and creative. I have stayed at several B and Bs, all having good breakfasts but none that compare to the Black Bear Inn.


wonderful experience

5 on October 17, 2010

We just returned from a delightful long weekend at the Black Bear Inn in Lake Tahoe. This is certainly a five star establishment in every sense of the word. The main lodge has a soaring ceiling in the spacious main room. An enormous fireplace burns night and day….there are also fireplaces in the individual rooms with remote controls located handily by the bed. A floor to ceiling bay window gives a view of the park-like setting for the private cabins on the property. Several huge pine trees had to be taken down when they grew dangerously large. Instead of cutting the stumps to the ground, a woodcarving artist made beautiful and whimsical animals emerging from the tree stumps. Of course there is also a hot tub located among the animals. So many bed and breakfasts offer only muffins, juice , and coffee. The Black Bear offered us a choice of eggs benedict, served with fresh ham-wrapped asparagus, cheese grits, and fresh fruit or a breakfast with salmon. Since we don’t like salmon, we don’t know what came with it. The owners Jerry and Kevin certainly know how to make their guests feel welcome. It’s obvious that they enjoy meeting people and making sure that they have a good time. They brought out an assortment of cheeses and appetizers to go with the wine and encouraged folks to sit by the fire and have a chat or simply relax with a newspaper or book. We had dinner at the Black Bear on Saturday night. It was prepared by the talented chef and his wife who cook on a prearranged basis. Not only was the meal delicious, but the presentation was beautiful. jim and debbie we'll be back


First stop on our honeymoon

5 on October 17, 2010

This was our second stay at Black Bear Inn and it will not be our last. The service is great and the atmosphere is very welcoming.


Absolutely Fabulous !

5 on October 12, 2010

I stayed at the inn Oct. 8-10th of 2010. We were a group of old friends that had not seen each other in 20 years. It was a remarkable experience and the Black Bear Inn was the reason. I have stayed at a Bed and Breakfast many times but always found the breakfast thin. Not here. We also ordered a five star dinner one night that was as good as it gets. The Inn is perfect. The owners, Jerry and Kevin, provided a warm, comfortable, and very stylish experience. I cannot wait for the ski season to start so I can return to the Black Bear Inn. Fabulous!


Beautiful and Gracious B & B

3.8 on October 05, 2010

We loved our short stay at Black Bear in beautiful Lake Tahoe and hope we can return soon!


Black Bear Inn review

5 on September 23, 2010

The Black Bear Inn was wonderful! We won't stay any other place in Tahoe again. The owners and staff and guests make it so inviting and comfortable. There isn't anything they won't do for you. The property has an amazing landscape. The Inn is decorated with antiques that all have a story behind them. Lots of thought, creativity and love have gone into this Inn.


Lovely introduction to black bear inn

4.2 on September 11, 2010

Only stayed one night but we will be back-lovely owners, amazing breakfast, and a grand yet cozy cabin!


Black Bear in Top Notch

4.6 on August 22, 2010

We just stayed at the Black Bear Inn on Aug 21st 2010 for the first time. Top notch place to stay, cleanest place we have ever stayed, freindly staff, owners were awesome. The only thing I could complain about is the beds were awful felt like we were on sleeping on a hay stack and woke up to a lady having very naughty sex but not on the property sounded like across the street. Chef Alex was amazing both for dinner and breakfast. We would def. stay again we would just bring an egg crate. Feedback left by Eric Batavia


Relais Chateaux in Tahoe

4.0 on August 20, 2010

Fabulous place, with excellent food, beautiful grounds, and comfortable rooms! They have impeccable taste, with attention to detail in every area. You will be love the Innkeepers, who are accommodating and knowledgeable. The Chef is outstanding and is willing to personalize your meals to meet your needs.


Outstanding stay at the Black Bear

5 on August 16, 2010

What a wonderful stay (once again). Great addition with Chef Alex and his wife. Can't wait to go again


Luxury Accommodations in Ski Country

5 on April 08, 2010

My wife and I just spent five ski days and four luxury nights over a spring break trip from Chicago to Lake Tahoe and the Black Bear Inn. We loved every minute of our mini-trip due to great snow on a beautiful mountain and super comfortable accommodations at this Inn at the bottom of Ski Run Blvd. We had seen the Inn previously from the near-by restaurants and wanted to stay there. We were not disappointed. The rooms are quiet for sleeping, exceedingly comfortable, and have large bathrooms and luxurious bedding. After hard days on the slopes, it was a thrill to end up in solid comfort with good wine and cheese, as well as a newly built-in-ground Jacuzzi under the pine trees in the spacious back yard. This is a gorgeous log house that was custom built as a deluxe bed & breakfast. Lake Tahoe needed one and this is the place not to be missed. The delicious gourmet breakfasts cannot be beat anywhere in Lake Tahoe. The hosts are knowledgeable, friendly, and very helpful. We cannot wait to return. Thanks, Jerry and Kevin.


Fabulous Inn

5 on January 09, 2010

Had a Grand time at the Black Bear Inn, would definately return. Beautifully appointed Inn with incredable service and professional staff. A must when in Lake Tahoe


Where Dreams Come True!!!

5 on August 15, 2009

My husband & I stayed here on our vacation, Kevin & Jerry were the most hospitable innkeepers - and two of the nicest men we have ever met. There was never anything they would not be willing to do their best to accomodate you with. The cabin we stayed in was decorated with beautiful antiques & all the little extras that are not mentioned mean alot (e.g. the robes provided for you during your stay & the gated hot tub that is on the grounds). The breakfast that was served each morning was out of this world!! I found myself looking forward to seeing what the morning menu was each day!!!! This was our first visit to Tahoe as well as the Black Bear Inn, but we will definitely return to have another stay! Thanks for a relaxing getaway!! Monty & Gena from Texas


Black Bear Inn is the best!

5 on August 07, 2009

Kevin and Jerry are great hosts. Black Bear is the only place I'll stay when visiting Lake Tahoe. Breakfast looks and tastes like it's from a 5 star restaurant. Rooms and cabins are roomy and cozy. Great decor in each. High speed internet allows a little work while on vacation. Staff is attentive and helpful. Great restaurants within walking distance. Paddle boat to Emerald Bay is short walk from Black Bear. Try the night dinner cruise around the lake. Awesome!


Perfect!!

5 on October 05, 2008

We stayed at Black Bear Inn August 8-11, 2008. What an absolutely perfect get-away from the hot August days of summer in Texas. From the moment we arrived until our too-soon departure, all was exactly as we had hoped. The breakfast each morning was not only to-die-for but picture perfect too! And the wine and hors d'oeuvres gathering in the afternoon was a wonderful way to end the day in beautiful Lake Tahoe. The restaurant recommendations for dinner each night (we chose Cafe' Fiore, Mirabelle and Evan's) were all 5-star, each different in atmosphere but all delightful and delicious. The location is convenient to many activities, a short walk or drive, but is in a secluded area away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets. We stayed in one of the cabins and felt like we were in our own private antique-furnished cabin in the woods. We also toured the rooms in the lodge which were equally tranquil and beautifully furnished. Jerry, Kevin and their staff strive to make their guests feel at home and they truly succeed. We will definitely visit Black Bear Inn again...and again...and again.


Wonderful oasis!

4.8 on September 22, 2008

We stayed at the Black Bear Inn in last weekend and I can say, without a doubt, this was one of the most wonderful experiences we've had while travelling. Jerry and Kevin, the innkeepers, have created a beautiful oasis in South Lake Tahoe that, in my opinion, rivals some of the best hotels in this country. The Inn and rooms are furnished with beautiful antiques and everything was spotless. We stayed in the Fallen Leaf room which has a small balcony overlooking the beautifully manicured grounds. The bathroom was large & well equipped. The room had a large television and a DVD player - you can choose from what appears to be over 100 DVD's from their library to watch during your stay. The evening wine & appetizer hour allowed us to meet the other guests each evening - we looked forward to returning to the Inn each evening simply for the company! It was like coming home to see family (ok, better than family) after a day of sight seeing. The breakfasts each morning are incredibly delicious - served on china with beautiful table linens. I highly recommend buying their cookbook as you will want to recreate these meals at home - they were THAT good. The attention to detail at this Inn is top notch. Every detail has been thought of you and you are made to feel like you are a very special guest. You really do need to experience it first


Comfortable and decadent!

5 on July 31, 2008

The innkeepers Jerry and Kevin are delightful, entertaining, knowledgable and creative. The rooms and cabins provide a quiet, serene and comfortable environment. The rooms provide all emenities one would need and the personal well thought extra touches are present. The breakfasts are right out of a gourmet kitchen. I personally couldn't wait to see what my next morning meal would be. The presentation was spectacular. Again the personal touches were present, ie. a different place setting, placemats and matching mugs everyday. The 5pm wine and cheese hour provided a great place for conversation and laughter. The on-line photos do not give this place justice! If you are ever in the area, you are more than welcome to visit this wonderful bed and breakfast yourself. I highly recommend Black Bear Lodge. Thanks Jerry and Kevin from Wendee in Chicago!


Don't miss a stay at Black Bear!

4.4 on July 28, 2008

This bed and breakfast is a lovely place to stay in so many ways. Kevin and Jerry are warm and interesting hosts. They are very accomodating to all guests. The decor is warm and inviting; the antiques beautiful. The grounds in July are a delightful array of color. Every breakfast is new and delicious.


Best of the Best B & B

5 on July 11, 2008

We have stayed at the Black Bear Inn several times since discovering it in 2000. Each stay exceeds our expectations. The rooms (both the cabins and in the main lodge), the lodge, the food, the atmosphere all make your stay unforgettable. Your every need has been anticipated. Our most recent stay was to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Snowshoe Thompson cabin and had total privacy. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evening as it gave us a chance to meet the eclectic group of guests and compare adventures. Kevin and Jerry were most accommodating; from greeting us upon arrival to helping us locate the perfect restaurant for our anniversary dinner. We loved each breakfast so much I bought their cookbook. We look forward to our next visit to Tahoe and the Black Bear Inn. Tom And Barbara


An outstanding B&B in Lake Tahoe area

5 on June 20, 2007

My 27-year-old daughter and I loved all of the creativite attention-to-detail at Black Bear Inn. The hospitality at this inn is warm and gracious, the amenities are impressive, the setting is superb, the decor and furnishings are tasteful, and breakfast is fantastic. Our cabin, which had a private patio next to the fountain, was charming. This is an inn I highly recommend and would love to visit again.


Fantastic Service

5 on June 20, 2007

Beautiful setting; great architecture; cozy, quiet, rustic cabins (complete with fireplaces); fantastic breakfast; helpful owners who put hours every day into making this place fantastic. All-around great place to stay in South Lake Tahoe.


Black Bear Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5305444451
  • Toll free 1-8772327466

Visit Website »

View details

Top