Barretta Gardens Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
130 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely B&B

5 on June 01, 2014

We can't wait to go back! The Inn is very charming and a great place to getaway and relax. We were served a gourmet breakfast, which was delicious. And, the Innkeepers were extremely nice and welcoming.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on May 20, 2014

We loved the garden setting. The breakfast was outstanding and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't want to leave!


Lovely spot... wonderful hostess.

4.0 on May 10, 2014

Super cute place... very sleepy town. Perfect for a day trip to Yosemite Valley.


Great anniversary stay

4.4 on April 15, 2014

We will go back. We stayed in the Merlot room. The room overlooks the gardens that are well maintained by Danny. Nice king size bed. Quiet after the traffic nearby died down. This was the only negative part of our stay. The inn is within walking distance to old town shops and over a dozen restaurants. Coffee at eight delivered to our room. Breakfast at nine also in our room. Great anniversary. We'll be back.


We Loved our Room

5 on February 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Cabernet Sauvignon room and we loved it! We had breafast served to us out on the front porch which was a blast! The grounds are beautiful and our room was very comfortable and relaxing!


Can't wait to go back!

5 on February 20, 2014

What a great get-away! We found a new favorite in the Barretta Gardens Inn. Everything was outstanding - the service - loved Astrid and Danny, the owners - the room was perfect and it is a great value for the quality, privacy and special feeling you get there.


Fantastic time

4.8 on January 15, 2014

My Sister and I came here to have a belated Christmas together. We had a great time, the Inn is very charming as are the Inn Keepers. We will be back in the Spring to enjoy the outdoor area


New Years getaway

4.8 on January 04, 2014

My husband and I had a wedding to attend in Sonora on new years eve, and we stayed at Barretta Gardens Inn.


Warm, friendly and enviting.

4.2 on December 15, 2013

If I were to want any sort of a change. That would be to have a firmer bed. Bed was soft and comfy, but to soft. We like a firm bed. Everything else was so outstanding and wonderful. Thank you so much, and we will be returning.


Sonora stay

4.6 on December 03, 2013

A lovely stay with delightful inn keepers


Great place for a family visit.

4.4 on November 10, 2013

With is lovely gardens, several furnished patios, and charming porches, the inn was a perfect place for a gathering of family that hadn't visited in many years. The rooms were comfortable, the decor lovely, and the breakfast memorably delicious.


Nice getaway.

5 on October 29, 2013

Excellent service and very nice host.


A Gem of an Inn in the Gold County

5 on October 28, 2013

This B&B exceeded our expectations - the Merlot Room was very private and luxurious. The early morning coffee service was much appreciated as we got accustomed to the time difference and the delicious full breakfast served in our room on the first morning was outstanding. Breakfast in the dining room the next day was also delicious and both were unique - not the ordinary eggs and toast. We have been telling all our friends of this wonderful place!!


JUST GORGEOUS

4.4 on October 21, 2013

A truly beautiful intimate B&B with a fabulous host. A lot of hard work and pride has gone in to make this a truly fab experience. Highly recommend. A++++++


Cosy Bed and Breakfast

3.4 on October 16, 2013

warm welcome and great hostess


Wonderful B&B

5 on October 15, 2013

Baretta Gardens Inn was perfect for our last minute change of plans (Yosemite shutdown). Astrid was a lovely host and gave great recommendations for things to do that weekend around Sonora. Coffee and tea were ready for us when we woke up, and breakfast was served in the dining room soon after. The Inn itself is a historic building but everything inside down to the furniture was beautifully kept. The gardens are terraced with ponds and stonework as well. Would definitely stay again!


Weekend in Sonora

4.4 on October 09, 2013

We loved the inn and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Their recommendations about what to do during the day were perfect.


Wonderful suprise!!!

5 on October 08, 2013

Astrid and Danny were great Hostess and Host. We enjoyed visiting Sonora and surrounding area.


A great 25th Anniversary getaway!!

4.4 on October 08, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Barretta Gardens Inn as part of our 25th anniversary year long celebration and absolutely loved it!!! Astrid and Danny were excellent hosts in every respect. The Merlot room was wonderful. Very beautiful, luxurious and comfortable room. I am always worried about bed comfort when I stay away from home, but there was no need to worry with the bed in the Merlot room. Both my husband and I slept very well. The room was also very quiet at night, despite being able to hear the traffic from Hwy 49 during the day. We were able to watch the MLB playoffs from bed both evenings. It was great fun! The tub in the room was a great relaxer at the end of the first day after a long drive up from So Cal. Astrid delivered a private breakfast to our room the first morning we were there. It was delicious. She also delivered a coffee service to us both mornings that we were there. What a treat to open the door and find hot coffee and tea waiting for us on our private porch! We really were spoiled! The second morning we went up to the main house and enjoyed another delicious breakfast with the other guest. The bathroom/shower was also very roomy. The rain drop shower head was amazing...I wish I could take it home! They also have 4 cats who quickly became my husband's best friends. I truly believe this is the best place to stay in Sonora!! Thanks again Astrid and Danny!! We recommend the Barretta Garden Inn to anyone!!


Sonoras best!

4.6 on September 22, 2013

great garden grounds to relax and enjoy!! whould go back again when in the area! Easy walk to down town. Very friendly!!


The Cabernet Room

4.8 on September 06, 2013

Our visit to Barretta was a wonderful surprise and we will definately be revisiting soon. The Cabernet room was lovely and it offered your primary bedroom along with a separate sunroom/daybed combo room. A large bathroom with an awesome sunken tub with jacuzzi made it perfect. The resident owners were delightful and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was lovely and it offered joining others if desired. The grounds were so inviting along with fountains and several layers of areas to sit and relax. Overall, we have no desire to stay anywhere else when we return. Lastly, the location is perfect walking distance to town, but up enough in the hills to be peaceful. Thank you so much for both of your hospitality! Jill Spencer, Morgan Hill, Ca


Lovely stay

5 on August 14, 2013

Our stay here was wonderful! The Inn was clean and charming, the the in keepers were very hospitable and knowledgable, our bed was comfortable and the food was DELICIOUS! Breakfast consisted of fresh juice, fresh fruit salad (fruit they bought at the farmer's market that morning), chicken & mango sausage, country potatoes, and a delicious strata. There was also freshly baked cookies and herbal iced tea in the afternoon. We would definitely stay here again.


Barretta Gardens Inn

5 on July 31, 2013

We had a fabulous stay. Thank you Danny and Astrid. See you again soon.


A lovely stay

4.6 on July 28, 2013

We Highly recommend Barretta Gardens Inn and would certainly stay here again. Especially enjoyed the relaxed and delicious breakfasts on the porch with congenial company. The hosts were helpful and friendly.


Wonderful place to relax!

5 on July 25, 2013

Barretta Gardens Inn is a wonderful place to stay. The inkeepers, Astrid and Daniel were excellent hosts. They were accommodating, personal and welcoming. We stayed in the Zinfandel room and it was perfect for us since we had our three month old with us and needed some extra space. We are already planning to return in late September!


oasis

4.8 on July 24, 2013

Astrid and Danny are terrific. The Inn is quiet, comfy, and surrounded by things to do -Yosemite only an hour or so away. The breakfasts were healthy and filling without being enormous, and beds the most comfy of our trip. But perhaps most importantly is how welcoming they were. We arrived late, having driven a long way on a hot day. And they welcomed us, but also shared their dinner! This is the reason to stay in b and bs - to meet terrific people.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on July 10, 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Baretta Inn. We were visiting our son close by and decided to stay the night. They recommeded a wonderful restaurant close by and when we did not finish our wine there, we brought it back to the B & B and enjoyed it in the beautiful gardens they have built and landscaped themselves. Breakfast was delicious!


Gorgeous!

5 on July 10, 2013

This bed and breakfast was amazing. Very accommodating. Lovely gardens. Quiet atmosphere. Definitely recommend this place.


Loved It!!!!

5 on June 27, 2013

We loved staying at Barretta Gardens for our wine weekend in Murphy's. Astrid and Danny we're very friendly and helpful. The B & B is a very historic home, decorated to perfection for the period of the home. The gardens are beautiful!!!!! Danny continues to work on many multi-levels of a beautiful yard and gardens. The breakfasts on the screened patio were excellent. We enjoyed that it was so close to downtown Sonora and we had a wonderful weekend. Wolf and Janice, Lincoln, CA


Wonderful

4.4 on June 22, 2013

I decided to surprise my boyfriend with a little get away. This was perfect. Everything was so beautiful. We were greeted right away walking down the pathway to the front door. Our room had windows all round. Our breakfast was served on a screened in porch. The food was excellent. I would recommend this to anyone. We will definitely go back!


Tranquil gardens and perfect breakfasts

4.8 on June 09, 2013

Astrid and Danny have expanded the gardens with lovely terraces and plantings so everyone can find a tranquil spot. Breakfasts are perfect - fresh fruit from the farmer's market, eggs from local chickens, and small sausages - leaving you energized. Astrid gives excellent advice about local activities and sights. We'll be back!


Sonora stay

4.6 on June 05, 2013

Love the location and area. Great place to stay, gardens lovely.


If I am writing this, it must be GREAT !

5 on June 04, 2013

I almost never write a review because I am just SO BUSY. But, hey, I just stayed at the Barretta Gardens Inn Bed and Breakfast with some friends and just made two more, the hosts Astrid and Danny. These two people made me feel like I was the long lost brother who just showed up and needed a place to stay. The property is SO beautiful and peaceful. You can stay here and still feel private or you can take it upon yourself to mingle and make new friends. I WILL BE BACK! Yes, I am shouting! Thank you Astrid and Danny for making me feel welcomed, pampered and happy.


Lovely B&B with a lovely innkeeper

3.8 on May 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a 1 night in the Tempranillo room which was connected to a patio overlooking their beautiful garden. There were also hanging nectar feeders which attracted a good number of hummingbirds. Astrid was very personable and we felt welcomed into her beautiful home. She gave us a huge number of recommendations to include on our itinerary without us asking. Our room had a jacuzzi which we heavily utilized! She also included a mint bath salt which we used. The bed was super comfortable (I believe it was a Tempurapedic mattress). The breakfast was overall tasty. I felt that the baked egg dish was a little dry though. I would recommend this place to a friend.


Another Amazing Visit

5 on May 22, 2013

Once again Astrid and Danny outdid themselves in every way. The attention to detail, hospitality and amazing breakfasts cannot be beat. The grounds are amazing and the inn is spectacular. You feel as though you are visiting old friends that treat you like their family. This is the place to stay when in the Gold Country.


Beautiful Gardens at B&B

3.2 on May 17, 2013

Short stay but very nice B&B. The gardens were beautiful and the lovely scent of roses was every where.


A lovely place to stay in Sonora

5 on May 15, 2013

My wife and I had an incredible experience during our stay here. The rooms are immaculate and the service superb. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for the small mountain town experience. The Inn overlooks the charming town of Sonora and offers access to the downtown area within walking distance. Also be sure to take the time to walk the gardens surrounding the Inn. They are lovely and well maintained.


Our best experience in Sonora!

4.8 on May 08, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Merlot Room. The walk-in shower with the large rain shower-head and hand held wand were great. It was obvious that a lot of thought went into every detail in the room. Their Garden is beautiful & we sat there with friends for wine before dinner. The innkeepers were delightful & breakfast was delicious both mornings.


AMAZING

4.8 on May 01, 2013

Thank you Barretta Gardens Inn for an amazing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of city life. My partner and I were in awe of the room, the landscaping, and the attention to detail Barretta Gardens Inn offers. What a great place to stay! We will most certainly be back.


Jennifer in Santa Cruz

5 on May 01, 2013

A fantastic stay! This house is amazing to see. The grounds are well-manicured and the breakfast is unbeatable. Variety, lots of healthy food, and served with a smile. I would recommend Barretta Gardens to anyone.


Lovely!

3.8 on April 24, 2013

We stayed at Barretta Gardens because it was close to an event we wanted to attend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; we were warmly welcomed, and our hosts made breakfast an enjoyable event. The gardens are extensive, and we were able to stroll and relax without bumping into other guests. The only downside is the price; it is a better value if you have time to stay on site and take advantage of all the amenities. Astrid and Daniel are probably the best hosts I've ever stayed with!


March,2013

4.4 on April 03, 2013

Stayed at the Inn for two nights. The breakfasts were delicious; attractively presented.The room had its own entrance through the sun room. Gardens and outdoor sitting areas made the visit even better. Our hosts were gracious and friendly. We will definitely visit again.


Absolutely Perfect Weekend

5 on March 15, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get married at a small bed and breakfast in Sonora with just his 97 and 92 yr old parents. After calling several places and getting no response, Astrid called me and was so helpful and accommodating. Our room..the Merlot room was awesome..loved the European bathroom and open shower along with the soaking tub. Beautiful little patio adjoining the room. Anyway, when we arrived we were shown several places to actually hold the wedding and my husband picked the Archway going into the Inn. Astrid and Danny both went out of their way to help us in every way. There was also the ¨Man Cave¨where we gathered in the evening and drank, ate and socialized with other guests and Astrid and Danny. So much fun and laughter. Astrid also gave me several vendors for other services required for our big day. Our wedding was absoulutely PERFECT. We look forward to returning soon to enjoy the ambience and atmosphere at the Barretta Gardens. Mary Ann and Phil M.


Looking forward to a return visit!

5 on November 30, 2012

This was our second stay at Barretts Gardens Inn and it was as wonderful as the first visit. Astrid and Danny have created a beautiful atmosphere in which to enjoy a comfortable room, beautiful gardens and a delicious and healthy breakfast that they brought to our room each morning! We are looking forward to our next visit!


Down to earth and comfortable

4.2 on November 26, 2012

I've never done a B&B before, so not a lot of comparison to go off of. But I really enjoy the coziness and personal touch that comes from staying in a B&B. Danny of Barretta Gardens was just a cool, regular guy, which I appreciated. For some reason I think of prim and proper when I think of B&B's. Here, it was just comfortable right from the get go - very warm front area, soothing fireplace, great old-time decor, cookies and tea! Danny's down to earth, funny, and honest conversations during breakfast added to the comfortable mood. But he also gave us our space. And we were impressed by his egg poaching skills! Breakfast is at a shared table - luckily we had a cool couple around our age sitting with us, they were easy to talk to and we felt we had a lot in common with them. Danny also was very accommodating when my family came to visit us and took all of us, excitable kids included, on a tour of the house. Chickens were cool to see on the property. And the cats! These were some of the friendliest cats we've met, a bunch of them would just come on out and greet us, and enjoy some pets from us. We had the jet tub in our room, plenty of bath salts. Great to relax in after getting married! Great coffee and tea service both mornings - left right outside our door at 8am. Bed was cozy, room had old-time charm. The view from our room overlooked some of the classic downtown buildings tucked into the fall color trees and hills, beautiful! We would recommend to couples and families. We would like to go back! Thanks Danny! We'd like to meet your wife Astrid too someday!


A wonderful stay on our honeymoon

4.8 on November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Cabernet Sauvignon Suite for 3 nights while on our honeymoon; the room was great, the house was great, Daniel was great, breakfast was great, and the cats were great! Overall it was a wonderful time, very relaxing, and we will definitely be back to try out some of the other suites. It was a good spot to be able to walk around Sonora, and an easy drive to Murphys for wine tastings.


Hilltop Getaway

3.4 on November 05, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Barretta Gardens. Got to enjoy a relaxing morning after breakfast, sitting in the sunshine in one of the gardens. Love the fountains and all the flowing water to bring relaxing sounds to soothe the mind.


Restful Retreat!

4.8 on October 05, 2012

The minute we arrived the stress left! Beautiful gardens, friendly innkeepers, wonderful food and well-decorated home, made our stay the best experience we have ever had at a B&B. Local hotels are cheaper, but this inn was well worth the cost. We enjoyed every minute, especially having breakfast in the screened porch while watching the birds bathe in a garden fountain just a few feet away. Charming experience. We will definitely return! Diane & David O.


Magnificent Anniversary Weekend!

4.6 on October 02, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at many, many, many bed and breakfast throughout the country and this one by far was my favorite. Not only were the rooms charming and immaculate, the owners make you feel at ease and comfortable. I was expecting pretentious and stuffy, but what I received was elegant and relaxed. We will definitely return, and probably stay for two or three days. It was better than home away from home. It was vacation. Thank you Astrid and Daniel. You and your lovely B&B are a class act all the way.


Our stay

3.8 on September 27, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay. The walk to downtown was very nice. The inn keeper was very helpful with our dinner plans.


tranquil and relaxing

4.6 on September 27, 2012

We enjoyed the wonderful room, the double tub, and view. the bed was so comfortable we slept like babies.


Great stay in wine country

5 on September 16, 2012

The owners were very informative and friendly. Good breakfast!


Best Bed & Breakfast, Bar None

5 on September 12, 2012

Barretta Gardens Inn is the loveliest, most pristine bed & breakfast we have had the pleasure to experience -- the decor, culinary pleasures, extreme comfort, discreet decorative touches, and warm and affable hosts were above and beyond. I have stayed in inns around the world, and this is easily among the finest. An incredibly wonderful stay. We plan to return to Sonora, if only to stay at Barretta Gardens Inn.


Superb Accommodation

4.6 on August 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Barretta Gardens and would've like to have stayed longer. The room (Sangiovese Suite) was truly wonderful, more than big enough for my party of 2 adults and 2 kids. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and though parts of the garden are still 'work in progress' it was a tranquil and beautiful place to relax. The only thing I could add to improve the room would be a small fridge and kettle - we British do like to make a cup of tea! Other than this, the stay was faultless and I really hope that we can stay there again in the future.


A plus bed and breakfast.

5 on August 09, 2012

Astrid is a wonderful hostess. Every little detail is addressed. I would recommend the Barretta Gardens without any hesitation. Shelby and Lorna Wagner


Beautiful Inn!!

5 on August 08, 2012

It was the best Bed & Breakfast that we have ever stayed at!! The room was great and the service stupendous!! Our breakfast was very delicious!! I would highly recommend Baretta Gardens Inn Bed & Breakfast!!


Beautyfull place, very nice people

5 on August 04, 2012

This place is unique, lovelying house, beautiful rooms, extremely clean. It is really nice people, running the place. Beautifully garden, breakfast on terrece, we had a lovely stay and will definitely go there again, if we are to stay near Yosemite again.....


Highly recommend

4.8 on July 25, 2012

I stayed at Barretta Gardens while in Sonora for a wedding. It is in close proximity to downtown Sonora. The bed in my room was new, huge, and comfortable. Wireless internet worked well. The hosts were gracious and little touches like cookies and organic iced tea were welcome. The breakfasts outside on the patio were outstanding as was the coffee. I would stay here anytime I am in the area.


My wife and I's first visit at Barretta Gardens

4.8 on July 08, 2012

We had a great stay. The inn keepers were very friendly and knowledgeabe. THe breakfast were suberb. That is a big complement coming from me. I have cooked for almost forty years professionaly. We would definetly go back. We had a great time.


Beautiful home in Gold Country.

5 on July 02, 2012

This home was ideal. The service was warm and friendly and we were greeted with a cool pitcher of iced tea and cookies. The room was comfortable and well furnished. We liked that the home wasn't right in the bustle of the main street area (so it was quiet) but it was close enough that we could walk downtown to dinner and back. Breakfast in the morning was on the large screened porch. If we are traveling through here again, we won't think of staying anywhere else.


Sonoran B&B

4.2 on July 01, 2012

The hosts at Barretta Gardens were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was delightful and well-equipped. A lot of thought and creativity went into the breakfasts. They were delicious and nutritious. In this age of flat screen television, the t.v. was way too small.


Relaxing retreat in the Sierra Foothills

4.4 on June 25, 2012

Astrid and Danny run a charming B&B and take pleasure in providing an exceptional stay for all their guests. Breakfast is served in on a charming porch overlooking the gardens where each morning I had the pleasure of watching a hummingbird dash from flower to flower before splashing in a fountain. This is but one example of the picturesque charm of you can expect during a stay at Barretta Gardens.


Arriving on a starlit evening . . .

3.2 on June 25, 2012

Upon our arrival to Sonora, we stopped for dinner at the Diamond Back restaurant on Washington Street - one of the two recommendations that proprietor Astrid had kindly given us in a telephone call I made, apprising her we were arriving a bit later than expected. When we arrived, three very friendly cats greeted us outdoors as if we were their long-lost masters.


Just wanted to move in!

5 on June 22, 2012

Can't say enough great things. Astrid and Danny have created a relaxing, comforting piece of luxury here. The privacy, the beautiful grounds, the awesome food, the wonderful bed and shower...Just go and stay with them. You will so appreciate their warmth and hospitality.


Restful getaway

4.6 on June 08, 2012

We spent a couple of lovely days at the Inn. Our hosts where wonderful and made us feel like part of the family. Their home is lovely and the gardens are amazing. We where served a wonderful, healthy breakfast in the sun porch where we met other guests from around the world. Can't wait to go back. The beds are super comfortable and very quiet. Thanks Astrid and Danny for a great getaway.


Great place!

4.8 on May 27, 2012

We came here on our honeymoon and had a lot of fun! :)


A Comfy and Cozy Inn

5 on May 17, 2012

We loved our stay at this inn. Our room was up a narrow staircase--something to consider if you have large bags. You may prefer something downstairs. Our room was light and airy, and the antique furnishings (except for the mattress thankfully) were beautiful. The upstairs parlor was right outside our door. In the mornings tea and coffee were waiting for us. Then a delicious (and healthy!) breakfast an hour later. Astrid and Daniel are wonderful hosts and very available. The garden area is amazing, and I enjoyed a couple of hours in the afternoon under the shade of a patio umbrella surrounded by the intoxicating aromas of the many flowering plants and shrubs. Sonora has a lot to offer. the downtown area is quaint with a lot of restaurants. Surrounding towns and attractions are just a short drive away. We loved our stay and hope to make it back some day.


Excellent stay at Barretta Gardens

4.8 on May 10, 2012

The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The gardens were beautiful. The breakfast we had Saturday morning was made with fresh eggs from their hens and was delicious. We were celebrating my niece's wedding and the stay at the Barretta Gardens Inn helped make the wedding weekend wonderful.


Mother Lode Gem!

5 on May 09, 2012

The Barretta Gardens Inn was a delightful surprise. We loved the Merlot Suite...lovely European ambience and well-appointed ammentities. Astrid and Daniel are warm and welcoming inn keepers, and serve an awesome breakfast and great coffee.


Relaxing and Refreshing B & B

4.8 on April 15, 2012

The warm Victorian atmosphere, beautiful gardens, and hospitality of Astrid and Daniel made us (3 sisters) feel very welcome. It's central location was great! Fresh cookies and hot tea welcomed us in the parlor, and our Zinfandel room was beautifully decorated and comfy! Their home is lovely, and Daniel's breakfasts were delish! I definitely recommend this to friends, and will return again.


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.8 on March 14, 2012

This was our second stay here. Astrid and Daniel are fantastic hosts, and although the property is already lovely, they are constantly working to improve it. Daniel has added stone terraces and paths, and Astrid has added to the flowers and the plantings. The house is spotless, and the hardwood floors gleam. This place is a true gem. Food is creative and delicious.


Beautiful B&B

5 on February 25, 2012

My wife and I had such an amazing experience at Barretta Gardens Inn. Both Astrid and Danny were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were phenomenal and we enjoyed having cookies and tea waiting for us every afternoon. The room (Barbera) was immaculate and very nicely appointed with beautiful antique furniture. We were impressed with how quiet it was and loved that the Inn was within walking distance of downtown Sonora.


Feb 17th and 18th 2012

4.4 on February 23, 2012

Wonderful stay at the Barretta Inn. Astrid and Daniel are incredible hosts. Price for room is on the high side but overall a great price for the chance to get away and decompress.


ONLY B&B TO STAY AT IN SONORA

5 on January 10, 2012

This past weekend my wife and I headed up to the GOLD COUNTRY....HWY 49 On my wifes 49th Birthday . What we didn't know is that the BIGGEST FIND wasn't Gold but Barretta Gardens. This well maintained B&B with all it's charm and great location can't be passed up for anyone wanting to stay in Sonora for afew night. The food in the morning was very good and kept you going to well past the lunch hour and the bed in our room ( Sangiovese ) Well let me just say I never sleep thru the night when we travel and both nights were great.The gentalman that owns the property was very helpful with anything we needed or asked for ANOTHER BIG PLUS!!! Not to mention a very good cook. I hope this helps with anyone thinking of staying here in the near future .....you will be very satisfied. Gary & Alyssa


Beautiful gardens

3.6 on December 14, 2011

garden is very beautiful and the breakfast in the morning was excellent - I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the innkeepers were very fun to talk with. My wife and I had a great time


This was much better than a hotel stay!!

4.8 on December 12, 2011

Very quaint, quiet, friendly atmosphere with an amazing breakfast cook! I only met Daniel and Sherry and they were both great friendly people. The B&B is an older Victorian style house which makes it unique fun experience.


Great host n hostess

4.6 on December 10, 2011

It was a very homey atmosphere...the rooms were gorgeous, and not to mention the great breakfasts that were cooked and served in the morning! We had great company each time and enjoyed every bit of our stay!


Visited Sonora for wedding

4.0 on November 17, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at the Barretta Gardens Inn. That the owners are justifiably proud of their property is demonstrated in the care they show for their guests. Very comfortable, great food and great service.


GREAT TIME!

4.0 on November 16, 2011

Astrid and Dan were warm and friendly. The entire house offered so many unique vintage items to view. It truly was a feast for the eyes. It is close to downtown and easy to navigate from the Inn. The breakfasts were elegant yet warm and comfortable, plenty to eat.


Anniversary

4.2 on October 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Baretta to celebrate our three year wedding anniversary and we had a blast! The rooms were comfortable and surprisingly had all one needed for a romantic evening. Breakfast was delicious and the grounds beautiful. We would definitely stay again.


Nice place

3.4 on October 07, 2011

Nice room, pretty yard (still 'in progress') and great breakfast. Rather average for my experience at B&Bs. They didn't go the 'extra mile' for any special touches, but it was a clean, hospitable place. Its located on a very steep hill, for driving or walking (as we did downtown to dinner).


Nice Place!

4.0 on October 06, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was extremely nice - comfortable beds, excellent furnishings, quiet, and air conditioned. We had very enjoyable conversations with both Astrid and Daniel, and breakfast in the garden patio was a highlight! We would definitely stay there again.


The perfect getaway

4.4 on September 21, 2011

We stayed in the cabernet sauvignon suite. It felt like we had our own little private paradise. We had our own private entrance with an intimate private breakfast in the morning. Astrid and Danny provided a memorable stay. The grounds were beautifully sculpted into the hillside, creating different patio areas to enjoy either privacy or conversation. This will be a return destination for us.


Great B&D, Clean, comfortable and friendly

5 on September 18, 2011

We recently stayed the night in the Merlot room and loved it. Lovely, Clean, wonderful king-bed and tub (in the room), and amazing separate shower in the bathroom. In addition, the owners are such sweet people! They left coffee for us outside the door promptly at 8:00 AM, then a delicious breakfast at 9:00. We sipped coffee peacefully on our private balcony in one of the most relaxing moments in recent memory. Love this place!


Pleasant time at Barretta Gardens

4.4 on September 14, 2011

We had a very nice one night stay and would have stayed longer had business not been calling. We had a great dinner suggestion to Talulah's and had a most enjoyable dinner. Very clean and very nice hosts. Would visit again!


Our stay at Baretta Gardens

3.8 on September 09, 2011

Really nice gardens, excellent breakfast and Astrid was a great host. It is located about 4 blocks up a steep hill from the main street, so walking downtown is okay but coming back up is for the young & healthy. We really enjoyed our stay.


A Wonderful stay!

4.6 on September 08, 2011

Barretta Gardens Inn is a wonderful, very family friendly bed and breakfast. We enjoyed our stay very much and only wish we could have stayed longer. Children are not only allowed here, but very welcome. My 7 year old daughter loved exploring the grounds, finding their many cats and chickens! One of the owners, Danny, took the younger guests to feed the chickens and bring eggs into the house. The breakfasts were sooo good ... everything was very fresh and healthy. One hour before breakfast, coffee and tea are waiting for you outside your front door. I would definitely recommend Barretta Gardens and look forward to staying here again!


very nice getaway

4.4 on September 06, 2011

Easy to find location, easy walk to town, very quiet. Wonderful hosts.


Fine B&B

4.6 on September 06, 2011

Experience, location and friendliness combine for a comfortable and authentically peaceful stay.


Lovely stay

4.8 on September 01, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Barretta Gardens Inn. Our room was charming. Astrid and Danny were wonderful hosts. The grounds were beautiful. Breakfasts were delicious and were enhanced knowing that the eggs came from the Stone's chickens. We would definitely stay here again next time we visit Sonora.


Great Place!

4.8 on August 17, 2011

Very relaxing inn within easy walking distance to downtown. The food was wonderful as were the hosts. Has a huge back yard and 75% of it is landscaped with small garden escapes - very peaceful! Very interesting house with rooms on three levels so there is no feeling of crowding.


Our favorite B & B in Sonora

5 on August 10, 2011

My husband & I had a wonderful time at the Barretta Gardens Inn. It's a beautiful place, peaceful & inviting. The gardens are lovely, I can't wait to see the completed projects. We stayed in the Barbera room, it's gorgeous. The bed was so comfortable. Breakfasts were a delight. The innkeepers, Astrid & Daniel, were friendly and very welcoming. We'll definitely be back!


First time B&B experience

4.4 on August 08, 2011

The Barretta Gardens is a charming B&B just about 2 hours out of sacramento. The owner was super charming, gave awesome dinner advice and served a filling breakfast. I am still telling my friends and family about our visit.


Home Away From Home

5 on August 02, 2011

The Host and Hostess are friendly, knowledgeable, and very available for their guests. (They felt like long time friends.) We appreciated the tour of the entire house and grounds. The garden areas are extraordinary. It's clear that Astrid and Dan put everything into making their guests' stay special. We will consider Barretta Gardens our elegant, yet comfy, home away from home.


Special treat!!

5 on August 01, 2011

Staying at the Baretta Gardens (in the Merlot room) was a treat of a lifetime. It has its own separate entrance and is away from the hustle and bustle of life. The early coffee service and private breakfast were just right. The coffee great!! We felt Daniel and Astrid prepared Baretta Gardens just for us. For a honeymoon accomodation or just a special treat we would highly recommend Baretta Gardens! Mint tea and homemade cookies were a nice touch in the main house. Astrid was very available to make dinner reservations or recommend places to visit. We have it on our list for next year.


Beautiful B&B

4.8 on July 28, 2011

Barretta Gardens was a wonderful experience. The rooms were lovely and well appointed, the breakfasts were over the top yummy, the innkeepers were friendly but not intrusive. All in all, I would highly recommend this B & B.


Sonora getaway

4.0 on July 27, 2011

Barretta Gardens was a wonderful place to stay in Sonora. The owners Astrid and Dan were great and the gardens are terrific and will be spectacular when landscaping is complete. Dinner recommendation for Azzo's in Jamestowne was fantastic.


Pleasant, cheerful, homely place to stay...

4.2 on July 27, 2011

Probably one of the better B+B's I've visited. Hosts Astrid and Danny were extremely helpful and friendly - a welcoming personality that reflects the easy-going and homely nature of property. Barretta Gardens Inn is recommended for travelers seeking a peaceful retreat. Great place!


Barretta Gardens Inn Review

3.8 on July 23, 2011

Beautiful setting/gardens, excellent breakfast and wonderful hosts.


A fab stay at Barretta Gardens Inn!

4.6 on July 20, 2011

We had a great stay at Barretta. What a perfect B&B in a great location. Astrid and Daniel were the perfect hosts and really welcomed us into their home. Our son had fun feeding the chickens and collecting the fresh eggs for breakfast. The room configuration was perfect for a family! We will be back! Fay


The best in town

5 on July 13, 2011

Very comfortable beds, clean, inviting rooms and bathroom, lovely grounds with nooks and pools of water, and of best of all, fabulous breakfasts. Astrid and Dan are friendly and accommodating, and we were welcomed with her fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies. A perfect getaway.


Most comfortable & delightful stay.

5 on July 12, 2011

Astrid & Danny are wonderful hosts, the grounds are lovely, and the Timpanillo room suited our needs perfectly. The food is not only healthy and substantial but beautifully presented, as well; and Chuck & I enjoyed both our early morning coffee and sitting out by the fountain where we observed an Anna's hummingbird with a hawk on watch from the tall pine behind.


What a treat

3.8 on July 10, 2011

We spent three nights in the Sangiovese Suite and were very comfortable. The rain shower is great. Astrid and Danny made our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts were a treat, and they made allowances for people who wanted early starts to their day. Also referrals for restaurants and activities. It was a relaxing experience because of the location a couple blocks off the main street. The rooms can be pricey, but worth it if you do not want to stay in a noisy three-story motel on a highway. The building is over a 100 years old and there are quirky features such as mystery light switches, but nothing you cannot endure. Some reviewers hare been put off by the ongoing construction of patios and landscaping, but it did not bother us. It just keeps getting better and the projects keep Danny off the streets.


Dream Anniversary Get~Away

5 on July 04, 2011

We spent our 11th Anniversary at this wonderful B&B. The owners Astrid and Danny were exceptional hosts and we wanted for nothing. The fresh breakfast served out on the enclosed porch was outstanding! We highly disagree with some of the earlier reviews... we also stayed in the Merlot room and found the mattress so wonderful that we just had to peel back the bedding and write down the mattress information before leaving. And the decor of the Barretta Gardens Inn is not "cluttered", it is decorated appropriately for the entire bed & breakfast property. We look forward to returning to this charming B&B several times in our future. Thank you Astrid and Danny!


Charming

3.0 on June 20, 2011

Delightful owners; wonderful breakfast on the porch. Cluttered interior decor and several outdoor do-it-yourself projects took away from what I was expecting from the photographs on the website. Most of the guests are adults, I suggest putting away the dolls and stuffed animal toys. Considering the hillside location and numerous stairs, assitance with luggage would have been nice.


Great Family Getaway

4.8 on June 16, 2011

Astrid & Daniel are wonderful innkeepers and define hospitality. My skeptical pre-teen children were not sure what to expect but they loved the room, the breakfast, and collecting eggs from the chickens after breakfast! We stayed in the Zinfandel Room so my son could have the twin bed while my daughter & I shared the queen. Freshly baked cookies and tea greeted us upon check-in and tea & coffee are available in the morning before the wonderful homemade breakfast. It is within walking distance to "downtown" Sonora and a short drive to Columbia State Historic Park. I highly recommend Barretta Gardens Inn.


Reid's 14th Anniversary

4.0 on June 05, 2011

Dear Dan & Astrid We truly loved our stay with you and your cats. It was all we could have hoped for except for a small glitch. The bed frame in the Merlot room is extremly squeeky, maybe it just needed to be tightened up? Also the mattress on that bed was not real comfortable. we both found ourselves migrating to the center as we slept. Otherwise your B&B is among the best and we will return. Thank you! Steve & Cheryl Reid


Our most enjoyable stay thus far, this B&B is a true gem

4.8 on June 02, 2011

Our room was charming and very clean, as were the entire grounds. We were delighted to have the jacuzzi tub in the room, which was a huge bonus and great value for the price. I don't care much for TV but my husband was overjoyed to find that they had the Tennis channel available and he was able to catch some of the French open. The owners were incredibly hospitable and kind, they really cared about making you feel at home and thanks to Astrid's dining recommendations we had an amazing dinner at a local restaurant. The bed was super comfortable, my husband and I slept surprisingly well, which does not usually happen when we are away from home, and I HATE being cold and due to the fireplace and heat control that never happened. We were impressed by the quality of the coffee and breakfast fare, everything was fabulous. We often stay at B&B's and this has been our most enjoyable stay (that says a lot because we have stayed at some really great places). We are definitely recommending this gem to all of our friends and family and will hopefully be going back soon.


Good experience

4.2 on May 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and the hospitality of the inn keepers. Everything was very clean and every detail was paid attention to.


True Gold in the Gold Country

4.4 on May 26, 2011

Our time at the Barretta Gardens Inn was extremely pleasant. Danny and Astrid were great hosts and went out of their way to answer our questions and make us feel at home. The outdoor gardens are still in transition... what's there is lovely and what will be completed in the next few years will make it even more so.


Great place to stay

5 on May 11, 2011

My wife, daughter and I enjoyed our stay at Baretta Gardens Inn. Nothing to complain about, only good stuff.


terrific atmosphere

4.0 on April 29, 2011

The moment we walked in, I knew we would love it there. Our suite was so charming and beautifully decorated, not to mention super clean! I loved the outdoor kitties and my son really bonded with "Bob" in particular. Can't wait to go back!!!!!


Magical!

5 on April 07, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Barretta Gardens Inn Bed & Breakfast. I have to tell you that our stay there was magical! The room was elegant and inviting. The bed was so comfortable and the linens were luxuriousness! The hosts were friendly and we would recommend Barretta Gardens to anyone wanting a unique getaway!


A cozy getaway

5 on March 30, 2011

What a great place to stay--I didn't want to leave! I am so glad we stayed at Baretta Gardens in lieu of a hotel; we would have never gotten the personal care at a hotel. We were given many suggestions as to surrounding attractions. I felt like we made close friends with Astrid and Dan. The breakfasts were fantastic and once, warm cookies were waiting for us in the afternoon! A nice surprise! I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Sonora.


Special Weekend

5 on March 24, 2011

Astrid and Daniel made our stay special. My husband had a conference during the day so I stayed in our suite and worked. The elegant touches were everywhere. No detail left out; down to the warm cookies and tea in the afternoon. An extra plus was the many restaurants within walking distance.


Must visit!

5 on March 17, 2011

My husband and I just got back from an awesome weekend trip to Barretta Gardens Inn. Astrid and Daniel, the Innkeepers were so hospitable and went over the top to make you feel comfortable but not over the top. They prepared a delicious breakfast, and each morning was something different and delicious. The Inn was beautifully decorated with lots of little details, we loved the tiny touches from the big selection of movies you could watch to the toilet paper being folded neatly. We loved the Celtic faire while we were there and they offered directions and ideas of places to go and restaurants to try. We highly suggest staying there. You'll love the experience. It feels like you're part of the family yet treated as guests!


A great place to stay!

4.6 on January 26, 2011

We have stayed three times at the Barretta Gardens. We have a favorite room with a large whirlpool bathtub and a recently added shower. Our hosts are very professional and friendly. It was a wonderful stay.


Great weekend getaway!

4.4 on January 19, 2011

We stayed in the Tempranillo room and it was great. Windows throughout the room let in plenty of light during the day, and the spa tub was extremely relaxing. The innkeepers have actually modified the faucet and surround to create a shower also, which was a huge plus! Tea and/or coffee was outside our door by 8am the following morning, followed by a very good breakfast. I would stay there again.


Easily the best B&B we've stayed at anywhere!

5 on January 05, 2011

After staying at countless other places, this was the most enjoyable experience we've ever had at a B&B.


Wonderful

4.2 on December 07, 2010

My husband and I were blessed with a rare weekend away. We chose The Barretta Gardens Inn. This was one of the best things we ever did for ourselves. Our room (the Syrah) was beautiful, inviting and comfortable. Danny and Astrid were superb hosts offering a warm friendly atmosphere, wonderful breakfasts and were able to tell us all about the area. We can’t wait for our next get away to Barretta Gardens!


Top inn keepers

4.6 on December 01, 2010

Our Thanksgiving trip was fabulous, due much to the attentive service. Astrid made sure we were aware of events we wouldn't have known about otherwise. Dan's breakfasts were delicious and inventive, and made with humorous comments from the kitchen. They accommodated a couple who wanted to eat in their room, as well as a family with a typically persnickety child. One evening an informal party developed in the living area. The facilities are thoughtfully decorated with marvelous Victorian pieces from the era, as well as original art. Morning coffee delivered to our room was a spcial treat.


Outstanding

5 on September 28, 2010

I highly recommend Baretta Gardens to anyone traveling in the Sonora area. Our experience there was excellent. Penny Simpson-Pace.


Experience at the INN

3.6 on August 20, 2010

Not in love with antiques, lacy doilies, crowded decor, and old feeling decor. However, if one likes this look, this place is great. It was too old lookiing and dark for me. Breakfast on the patio sensational---made the stay here worth it! Owners wonderful and helpful


RELAXING AND ROMANTIC

4.8 on August 20, 2010

The room was wonderful, comfortable and relaxing. Everything was perfectly arranged and appointed. Room was very clean! Staff was very friendly and informative and breakfast was delicious! Will definitely stay again and recommend!


Love the place

4.2 on August 16, 2010

Astrid and Daniel were great hosts, and our stay there was the perfect way to end our week long vacation.


Only Place to Stay in Sonora

5 on October 29, 2009

Barretta Gardens Inn is the only quality place to stay in Sonora, California. The host/owners go out of their way to make sure you are happy with your accomodations. The rooms are clean, well furnished and the breakfasts are wonderful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sonora. Lee-Decatur, GA


Very nice B&B in Sonora

4.4 on October 21, 2009

Beautiful home, very clean, lovely rooms. Innkeepers friendly and excellent cooks! Location is great - there are many places to go - Columbia, Big Trees, Jamestown...enjoy!


Delightful surprise in Sonora!

4.6 on August 03, 2009

We loved our stay at the Barretta Gardens. Gracious hosts, delicious food, tasteful decorating, wifi, a comfortable bed in a large room, and on and on. Thank you Astrid and Danny!


Great b&b, wonderful innkeepers!

5 on April 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Cabernet Sauvignon room for two nights this April. We found the room comfortable and tastefully decorated-- real antiques without too many Victorian tchotchkes. The two-person tub was just amazing. Danny and Astrid are friendly, accommodating, and up on the best wine and the best wineries.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on January 12, 2008

This is the best inn in the Sonora area. The innkeepers were wonderful and made our stay perfect in every way. The food was delicious and presented beautifully!


Barretta Gardens Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $140 - $250
  • Reviews (130) 4.6
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (209) 532-6039

Visit Website »

View details

Top