Meadowlark Inn Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
210 Reviews

Write A Review

This was an amazing getaway!

4.2 on December 08, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were given amazing service and made to feel at home. The rooms were spacious and well kept. The breakfast service was exceptional with very personal attention by the caretaker. She gets up early each day to put together special breakfast items from local produce and shops. Truly a wonderful experience. The coffee was also quite good -much better than what I usually get at large hotels and chains.


Home away from home

4.8 on November 12, 2014

I have stayed at the Meadowlark Inn several times before, and it's my "go to" place when visiting the Santa Ynez/Solvang area. This past visit, my best friend traveled up from Temecula for a get together,and it was her first stay at the Inn. As I knew she would, she loved it, and now wants to return with her husband. I was sorry to miss Brigitte, but Kelly's warm and friendly manner made our stay very comfortable. The surrounding grounds are so peaceful, a lovely spot to have appetizers and wine, or the Inn's homemade breakfast (yummy!) and coffee. As I said in the beginning, home away from home.


Great for a Potluck

3.8 on November 03, 2014

We recommend a BBQ and potluck. They have a nice table under a beautifully lit oak tree.


Looking forward to staying again

4.4 on November 01, 2014

Very relaxing stay in nice surroundings - lawn, garden, and trees. Definitely will stay again.


Relaxing

2.8 on October 29, 2014

Beautiful and relaxing place!! But the bed was not comfortable at all.


Meadowlark Stay

4.2 on October 22, 2014

The only downside: Due to the fact that I was traveling with dogs my stay was restricted to a more expensive, larger room. I would have preferred the option for a smaller, less expensive room and pay a larger up-front security deposit. The grounds are well maintained and very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. I didn't have breakfast there but I did stop by and there were quite a few options available (warm and cold). I liked the fact that they offered a very wide variety of wines for purchase.


Enjoyable

4.6 on October 15, 2014

Just stayed one night, the room was clean and pleasingly attired. The grounds were well maintained and lovely. I will stay at this cozy little Inn during future visits to this area, it was delightful.


Had a wonderful time at the Meadowlark Inn in Solvang...

4.0 on September 28, 2014

Had a wonderful time at the Meadowlark Inn in Solvang...stayed for 5 days during their Danish Days celebration. Rooms, breakfast and staff were great, and the grounds are lovely for relaxing. Would definitely recommend this place!


Can't Put Into Words How Wonderful

5 on September 22, 2014

Went with Mom to Chumash Casino to see Concert and stayed in the most wonderful place called Meadowlard Inn. Clean, Comfortable, best mattress I have ever slept on (including 4 Star Hilton) and wonderful atmosphere. Cannot say enough. FABULOUS WONDERFUL and I don't say that ever! Really!


Almost Heaven

3.0 on September 16, 2014

Some hits and some misses on this quaint just-out-of-town Inn. Perfect distance from the town of Solvang to avoid the hordes of tourists that sometimes descend. Excellent for cyclists! There is an adorable bike path just across from the hotel that you can take into town avoiding the rode. We leisurely biked into Solvang for dinner (BRING A HEADLAMP if biking at night- no lights along path) and as well, fantastic location to bike the surrounding country roads. If we'd stayed longer we would've biked into Los Olivos for lunch. Very few hills and honor system farm stands along the way. Bike to wineries and adorable mini-horse/donkey/bison ranches along the way. Short country drives if you don't brink bikes. We fell in love with Buttonwood wineries! The breakfast at the Inn was superb. Unfortunately it was too hot to eat outside so we were cramped into the too small indoor eating area. Our room was charming with the exception of the extremely cheap coffee maker and rough towels you would expect at a $39/night interstate hotel. None of our electronic devices could pick up the WiFi. The hotel grounds were poorly laid out so that you're looking out at the busy road from the cute benches. And the parking layout felt like a motor-inn with cars parked at the door. Our room was next to the house-keeping storage- so that was added noise. We looked out our back window at a church- so I'm not sure what a Sunday Morning would be like for the rooms on our side. Otherwise- very quiet night for us. For the mid-week price we paid, we felt we got our value. But I would expect more from their weekend rates that don't quite live up to the select pictures on the website.


Great retreat near Santa Ynez wineries.

4.2 on August 28, 2014

A wonderful retreat for a quiet weekend and wine tasting. The grounds are nicely landscaped with plenty of space to just relax, read a book, or sip wine purchased at one of the many vineyards in the Santa Ynez valley. Perfectly located for wine tasting and many excellent nearby restaurants in Santa Ynez. We stayed in the Pinot Noir room which was spacious and had nice comfortable beds.


Charming and retro inn!

4.2 on August 22, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a charming and affordable place to stay while we were winetasting in the Santa Ynez Valley. We fell in love with this place! Great setting and quiet location! From the outside it resembles a mid-century motel but the inn has been remodeled so the rooms and grounds are more like cottages. Staff were very friendly and the small breakfast yummy! We will definitely return!


simply wonderful

4.6 on July 30, 2014

Stayed at the Meadowlark Inn last weekend and wished we could have stayed a bit longer... it was such a charming place, the grounds are beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, the owner was a super nice lady, and the room we stayed in had a hot tub in the patio and a seriously comfortable mattress that gently rocked me to sleep :)... the location is also very pleasant, as it is just a few minutes away from the touristy center of Solvang... what more can one ask for? We will definitely come back and stay here again!!


Nice B&B

3.2 on July 30, 2014

Bathroom in unit 1 needs work...caulking separating and showing age...dark mold spots, etc...take a look


Meadowlark Inn

4.4 on July 18, 2014

Meadowlark is appropriately named as it has a large park-like garden in the center of the property. Our room was very nice, and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. We will be going back.


Lovely stay and centrally located to wine country!

4.0 on July 17, 2014

We will definitely be back to the Inn for our next stay in Santa Ynez! Brigitte (the owner) was a wonderful tour guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour with her. I recommend the tour to anyone familiar or not familiar with the area. She took us to 4 awesome wineries that weren't too popular or over-crowded, which was wonderful! The breakfast was filling and delicious and the hot tub attached to our room was romantic, private and fabulous! This is a charming Inn and I would recommend to all visiting the area!


Love this place!

5 on July 09, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying over 4th of July weekend. Our family needed a getaway and this was the perfect spot to enjoy our time together. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, bbq and gazebo. We would play in the afternoon at the pool and then relax at the lawn area after dinner at the picnic tables or the gazebo. It was a wonderful weekend and the Meadowlark Inn was great. Thank you!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! Much appreciated! Brigitte and staff


Overnight getaway.

4.8 on July 06, 2014

My husband and I decided at the last minute to do a quick getaway for my birthday and were so happy we could get a room at the Meadowlark Inn. It was such a pleasant stay it will now be our first choice when we travel to the Santa Ynez Valley. An absolute gem.


Great Place To Stay

5 on July 06, 2014

Very comfortable stay. Offer breakfast in the morning which was a treat that we did not stay for because we needed to get on the road but checked it out and really awesome. Dog Friendly which was needed and she loved the place too. Thanks for a great night in Solvang.


A Real Gem

5 on July 05, 2014

We stayed one night at the Meadowlark while passing through Solvang. Very nice place!. We stayed in the Cabernet Room which was nicely appointed - in particular the bed was extremely comfy. Service was 5-Star. We will definitely stay here again when we have the opportunity to visit the area.


Great Experience

4.6 on June 14, 2014

Not often one is able to back car up to room door. Grounds are a garden. Great breakfast too.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! Much appreciated! Brigitte and staff


Wonderful ambiance, fantastic location

3.2 on May 28, 2014

We stayed in the cabernet room and had enjoyed the back yard, hot tub, and hammock. We had so many places we wanted to visit but never wanted to leave the room! Great place. Wonderful staff. Quick drive to downtown Solvang and many other towns.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! Much appreciated! Brigitte and staff


perfect getaway

4.6 on May 21, 2014

We had the best night at the Meadowlark. The grounds were pretty and clean and the room was spectacular. This will be the only place I stay for now on. Well worth the $$. I give this 5 stars..

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! Much appreciated! Brigitte and staff


weekend getaway

4.4 on May 17, 2014

we visited the this retreat 2 weekends in a row we enjoyed it so much. the room is clean, beautiful grounds, nice light breakfast and great coffee. on saturdays the offer wine and refreshments to enjoy the beautiful gardens. the service from Brigette and her staff is really special. highly recommended peaceful, weekend getaway since they are centrally located in the santa ynez valley. best part is they are pet friendly. our dogs loved there vacation and visiting the local wineries. great job to the meadowlark for making us feel at home!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! Much appreciated! Brigitte and staff


Nice place to stay in the wine country

3.4 on May 14, 2014

My husband and I were in the area so that I could participate in a half marathon. Most inns were already booked and I think we snagged the last room at Meadowlark Inn. I envisioned the Inn being located in an historic house so was surprised to see that it actually was a motel court format. But the beautiful grounds and the kind hospitality of the innkeepers made up for my immediate disappointment. The bed and bedding were comfy and I was provided with a generous race morning cold breakfast since I would not be able to join my husband for the regular breakfast in the dining room. Lovely floral plantings and a gently gurgling fountain near our room added to the pleasant ambiance. We kept our windows open to the cool air and we could hear some sounds from adjoining rooms, particularly when a baby next door cried once or twice, but it was not a big problem. The Inn's location was perfect for the race, set back from the main highway approximately half-way between Santa Ynez, where the race started, and Solvang, where it ended. We enjoyed a delicious pre-race dinner at Trattoria Grappolo in Santa Ynez.


Quiet, friendly, clean and cozy! Have stayed many times.

5 on May 12, 2014

The cheery electric "fireplace"/heater was on to welcome us when we arrived late. Nice big fridge to chill our leftovers and wine. We will definitely stay again.


beautiful place to stay

4.6 on May 03, 2014

very nice and peacfull


Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

3.8 on April 30, 2014

Spent four nights at the Meadowlark Inn in April 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed the time there. The garden areas were lovely, the room spacious (we had the King suite, not sure all the rooms are as big), and the light breakfast was surprisingly good with a hot and freshly prepared entree in addition to muffins, toast, and fruit. The location is outside both Solvang and Santa Ynez, so you can't walk from the Meadowlark into town, but if you are looking for an affordable and surprisingly comfortable place to stay to do wine tours and sightseeing, this is a good choice.


Great getaway

3.8 on April 21, 2014

The Meadowlark Inn is a lovely place in a great location--about a 5-minute drive from Solvang or Santa Ynez, but with a rural feel--it's walking distance from some beautiful vineyards. The grounds are charmingly rustic and well-maintained, and our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was the biggest surprise--I think they advertised a "light breakfast", but they made a delicious hot entree both days we were there to accompany the baked goods, hard-boiled eggs, homemade granola, juices, etc....quite a substantial breakfast.


Wonderful setting and great people!

4.8 on April 10, 2014

We couldn't have had a better experience. Amazing room, gorgeous setting, fantastic homemade breakfast and a really sweet and welcoming staff. We will be back every time we stop in Solvang.


lovely b&b

4.8 on March 28, 2014

This is a sweet and comfortable bed and breakfast in a beautiful setting. Highly recommend it.


This place has all the TLC needed

5 on March 21, 2014

I was more than pleasantly surprised with this charming property. Spotless rooms ,comfy beds. Beautiful grounds and a great hot breakfast. I look forward to my next visit. With more time I would enjoy the pool and the fire pit at night under the giant oak tree,


Bike Ride

4.8 on February 16, 2014

Wonderful place to launch some local bike riding. Room was great with Jacuzzi which helped at the end of the day. Great room!


Magnificent Getaway

4.8 on February 10, 2014

Excellent place. It's like home away from home. We really enjoyed our stay. We like to go back again during summer.


Nice surprise...

3.2 on January 07, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised! Ventured up for 2 nights of a romantic birthda get-away and it was perfect for us... With a tub for 2 right in the room/suite! Food was great, bed was super comfy, grounds were quiet & close enough to taxi into Los Olivos for all day wine tasting. It's not the 4 Seasons, but very quaint & comfortable. This may have just become our go to place for a quick trip away.


Better than I expected.

3.6 on January 07, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Meadowlark Inn. The location was perfect. Away from town but near enough to go to dinner and shop. On the road to both Santa Ynez and Los Olivos. The room was a suite and was two complete rooms with a sofa, coffee table, microwave and sink and even silverware in one. The bedroom had an electric fireplace which put out good heat. The bathroom was clean and the shower had lots of pressure. The breakfast was adequate (omelette, toast, juice, coffee). Would stay here again.


Quiet place

4.8 on January 04, 2014

First time I stayed at Meadowlark was on 2006 since that year we go every year for the New years celebration and some times in June, we love this place


Beautiful rooms!!

3.8 on January 03, 2014

Beautiful rooms!!


Wonderful, romantic and peaceful

4.8 on December 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time. Restful and romantic. Food was great. People were wonderful.


Super clean and quiet

4.4 on November 30, 2013

We stayed for two days just prior to Thanksgiving. The property is charming, quiet and well maintained. Our room was large, with two queen beds, lovely quilts, a small kitchen with table and chairs, and great bathroom shower. At first I thought the Tv was small for the price of the room, but the inclusion of Directv reception made up for the size! Wifi was fast. We loved the San Ines Valley and all of the ideas and direction information in the room. We traveled with our small dog and she loved the big front yard area where she could run in a safe area. We had a lovely and relaxing time and would stay again.


Surprisingly Roomy

3.8 on November 12, 2013

We decided to stop over for the night on our way to San Diego. We were pleasantly surprised. Would stay again and recommend it to everyone.


Meadowlark Inn, Solvang

4.8 on October 28, 2013

lovely old inn, nicely located, large comfortable room, good breakfast - have stayed here twice - will return


that was a really memory place, i do really like the graceful lady who made the yummy breakfast which made our day very lovely, and very good mood in the morning and whole day feel so happy.

4.0 on October 20, 2013

the lovely and yummy breakfast in the morning...


A Stunning Stay!

5 on October 01, 2013

We were so delighted with the makeover at the Meadowlark, where we had stayed several times in the past. The current owner has taken it to a whole new level and injected excellence combined with a homely feel and the warmest of welcomes. Breakfast was super and the friendly staff outstanding. We cannot recommend it highly enough...


Best anniversary

5 on September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary getaway. We booked the Pinot suite and added the wine tour and romance package. It was all completely amazing! The packages give you such a great product for a very fair price. We had our wine tour, hour massages and dinner all in one day. Initially I was concerned that this may be a bit jammed and would take away from our time to relax but it was absolutely perfect. At no point did we feel rushed. The Inn was so pleasant, quiet, and peaceful. Beautiful garden and lawn for relaxing with a morning cup of coffee. The rooms are adorable and beautiful. Loved the bed; so comfortable. The Pinot Suite has a jacuzzi tub in the living room, with a bottle of wine from the romance package, candles already placed by the hotel and even a rubber ducky.... You really can't go wrong. Best way to unwind after a late arrival. Breakfast was delightful, it's complimentary, you get more than one might expect and a have a lovely dining area to enjoy it in while looking out onto the gardens. The wine tour was so much fun, the wineries were amazing and had fantastic wines and each one was different and special in its own way. Loved it! The massages we received were the best! I couldn't help but fall asleep and was so completely relaxed afterwards I forgot where I had put my shoes! We then had dinner at the Mirabelle restaurant. Oh my goodness!!! Absolutely perfect romantic ambiance, the food was exquisite and the service was top notch. If you're looking for a romantic escape or just a family trip I highly recommend Meadowlark. My husband and I are already trying to make plans to return with friends and family.


Great cottage feeling

4.4 on September 19, 2013

We wanted to extend a weekend in Paso Robles' wine country with a night near the Chumash Casino on our way home to the Los Angeles area. Delighted to find a cozy cottage style room with a separate living room area. Our own little porch with a loveseat and drive up to your room access. Lovely lady served us a homemade fritata and yogurt, fruit, granola parfait. Orange juice and coffee. We will return for sure.


Motel in a beautiful setting

3.8 on September 01, 2013

Basically a motel in a pretty setting. Friendly staff, good breakfast. On one floor only - no steps. If your age qualifies you, don't forget to ask for the senior surprise rate, where you pay your age if you are 65 or over - a great deal!


Great!

4.4 on August 28, 2013

A quaint romantic getaway. Friendly staff with great service. It is a cheap cab drive to most of the local wineries and downtown Solvang. Rooms were nice and the stay was very enjoyable. Highly recommended.


Great place to stay

4.4 on August 25, 2013

The room and setting were great with an attractive courtyard. Breakfast was home cooked and delicious.


Another wonderful stay at Meadowlark.

4.8 on August 16, 2013

Meadowlark is such a nice place to get away and enjoy the wineries in Santa Ynez. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and the staff always so courteous. I will definitely recommend it and go back!


Perfect getaway stay for wine tasting trip.

5 on August 14, 2013

We have staying at the Meadowlark Inn for almost 6 years now. It has a great location to Solvang and Los Olivos. The old world charm of the rooms are clean and charming. The area is quiet, good for a peaceful afternoon sitting in their garden area and easy to get to off Route 246. They have recently upgraded with flat screen TVs and Dish Network, and in our favorite room have added hardwood flooring, and plantation style shutters. Though this motel like inn may not be for everyone, we would stay here any time of the year.


Late night stop over

4.2 on August 05, 2013

We wanted to break up the drive to souther CA from Nothern CA and found the Chumash casio would be a fun stop. The Rooms at the Casino are so expensive we looked els where and found Meadowlark. We havd a late arrival around 11:00PM so the office was closed but as they had mentioned all of what we needed was waitng for us at the office drop box. Room was clean bed was comfortable and the shower and bathroom we also nice and clean. I would definetly stay here again and would reccomend that you do as well. The casino is maybe a 2 min drive away.


Great location and service!

4.6 on August 03, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Meadowlark. The room was perfect for our needs with its kitchenette and incredibly comfy bed, the home-cooked breakfast was superb and unique, and the inn's location made it easy to access the local attractions and sights. Best of all, when I locked my keys in my car, a very helpful staff member got them out for me!! I highly recommend this inn for all its multifarious benefits!


We will never stay anywhere else when we visit Santa Ynez!

5 on July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Meadowlark for the first time a few weeks ago; we have stayed at several other hotels in Solvang but none compare to the Meadowlark. The staff is wonderful, the breakfast is delicious and more than a traditional continental breakfast. Our room was wonderful (we were in the Chardonnay) and we also toured some other rooms. The Cabernet will be our next room! The grounds are amazing and you can truly spend time relaxing there; the firepit is great to enjoy after dinner in a town that rolls up early. Worth every penny!


Great B&B in Wine Country

4.6 on July 10, 2013

Quaint and clean place just a few miles from the main area of Solvang. So be aware you are not right in the middle of things but if you don't mind a short drive (2 miles) or a cab, this is a great quiet place to stay. Nothing too fancy but clean, large rooms and bathrooms. Plus the staff is great and the breakfast yummy.


Wine trip

4.2 on July 01, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights... great place!


simple and charming.

4.6 on July 01, 2013

we would definitely stay here again. just perfect for an overnight getaway.


Fabulous inn

4.6 on June 26, 2013

The grounds are lovely and peaceful. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Would highly recommend!


perfect ambiance, perfect location, perfect service

5 on June 19, 2013

I found this place on Yelp and Trip Advisor and am so glad that I took the recommendations. It was a perfect place for our wine tasting getaway! Not only that but the wine tasting tour with Brigitte was such a bonus!!


I recommend

4.4 on June 12, 2013

Very quiet with a central bbq area and fire pit to relax and enjoy after a day of wine tasting.


Staying here was a peaceful retreat from my busy life.

4.8 on May 19, 2013

I visit this area regularly but when I couldn't get into my favorite hotel I chose this one. I was more than pleasantly surprised... it is off the busy streets of Solvang but still very close to everything. The room was lovely, VERY CLEAN and the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and offered healthy choices. Most of all it was presented in a way that made me feel like they really cared that I had a meal with them. One of the best bed and breakfast places I've every stayed. I will be back and next time I'm bringing my favorite book and sit for a restful time in the lovely garden.


Great location

4.0 on May 01, 2013

I was expecting a bed and breakfast so when we drove up and discovered it was just a motor court, I was a little disappointed. There were no descriptive photos on-line of the exterior. The room was functional, nice bed and wonderful shower. However, the tv is from the 80's and so is the dated armoire. The inn had a great breakfast, full of proteins and multigrain toast. Great coffee too! We will stay again,,,great location between Los Olivos, Solvang and all the wineries in the surrounding area.


Great stay

4.6 on April 23, 2013

Meadowlark met our expectations for our short stay in salvang. Rooms were clean and the front desk went out of the way to accommodate all the members of our party. We definitely plan on returning again.


Great Place to Stay

5 on April 15, 2013

It was such a nice, pleasent stay to wake up to blue jays singing to us~! We had such a great stay.


A great place to meet

3.6 on March 29, 2013

What a super place to cross paths with a broad spectrum of people. We had a great sleep!


Meadowlark review

5 on February 20, 2013

Great location near wineries and El rancho market.


Lovely gem in Solvang

3.8 on February 11, 2013

Exactly what I wanted after a day of wine tasting - a comfy bed, a clean room, and a friendly staff. Not luxurious but perfect for a weekend away from Los Angeles.


Quaint B&B

4.2 on February 05, 2013

We went to Solvang January 20, 2013, for my Girlfriends birthday, and to visit some wineries. We booked the Meadowlark after reading some reviews. The Inn has several rooms with Hot Tubs. We requested the Chardonnay room because of the private patio and Hot Tub. When we arrived we received a very friendly greeting. We were given extra towels for the Hot Tub,and offered recommendations for restuarants. The Inn itself is a mid-century motel that has been updated into a B&B.The bathroom was recently retiled and clean.The TV is small, but ok. The rooms come with candles, but my GF brought a supply. The HotTub was great, after a day of wine drinking.Its nestled under a giant oak tree thats growing just outside the patio. The continental breakfast was standard with cereal & Milk, bagels, OJ & coffee, hard boiled eggs & patries. Again, the manager stopped by and chatted about the Inn & local wineries. We would stay there again provided we got the Chardonnay room. BONUS: There is a fire pit in the center courtyard, with chairs around it, under a giant oak tree. Weather permitting, finish off the evening around the fire pit with a glass of wine.


Great location, nice staff, could use a couple of upgrades

4.0 on January 06, 2013

The Meadowlark Inn was in a great location...minutes from downtown Solvang (without having to deal with the main drag traffic), Santa Inez, and not far from the turnoff to Los Olivos. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The reason I gave "dining" 3 stars is because there isn't any dining to speak of other than the continental breakfast. The breakfast was very nice (granola, waffles, hard boiled eggs, etc) and not loaded up with icky donuts and pastries like many American-style "continental breakfasts". The Inn itself was pretty and the rooms were spacious and well-kept. Ours had a fridge and microwave, and even had a heater disguised as a fireplace, which gave it a cozy feeling. I had two issues with the rooms. The first is that the bed was very uncomfortable. When you walked into the room, you could immediately see two "body dents" in the mattress (not a good sign). The bed was also very bouncy, so when one person turned over during the night, the other person was jostled a LOT. I hate to say it, but by the end of our stay, we were pining away for our bed at home. The other issue I had was with the tv. Now, I realize that the purpose of my visit was NOT to sit around in my room and watch tv. That being said, after a full day of sightseeing, wine tasting, and a big dinner, we just wanted to call it a night and hang out and watch a movie in the room. There were actually two tvs (a flat screen in the bedroom and a tube tv in the sitting room), but unfortunately, both tvs were smaller than my computer monitor at home. We had to sit on the end of the bed in order to see the tv very well. They would be better off with ONE tv in the room, but give it an upgrade. I would definitely stay here again based on the location and service, but would have to resign myself to not getting a very good night's sleep, based on the bed. I guess if you do enough wine tasting, maybe you won't notice ;-)


mother/daughter holiday

4.2 on December 25, 2012

The Meadowlark Inn was the perfect place for our Mother/Daughter GetAway to the Santa Ynez Valley. We have stayed at this charming Inn many times before and will continue to in the future. The MeadowLark Inn and Staff are very special and make staying with them a memorable and personal experience. Thank you MeadowLark Inn, we will be back. Leslie Hauck Lunsman


Vacation time

4.4 on October 26, 2012

Best place ever. Very relaxing away from the noise perfect place to spend family time And the best part they are pet friendly


Great place to stay

4.8 on October 23, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful experience staying with Meadowlark. The rooms are nothing to luxurious but very comfortable and relaxing. They have everything you need and it feels like a home away from home. My only complaint about the rooms was that the water temp fluctuated really badly when you are taking a shower. But to us that was a small detail we were very much willing to over look. The center area of the Inn contains a fire pit, plenty of lawn chairs, a gazebo and a grill. Nice little touches to add to the relaxed atmosphere that Meadowlark offers. Also the breakfast were outstanding. You get fresh food, most of it is homemade and absolutely all of the items we have were delicious. The best part is that it is included in the price of the room. The service was also extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the area as well as very nice. When we go back up to Solvang this will be the place we will go. There is no need to look any other place if you are looking for a place to stay that is quite and feels more like a home then a hotel.


Amazing!

5 on October 23, 2012

Meadowlark Inn was wonderful! The rooms were very clean and the grounds were beautiful. We loved our room and the breakfast in the morning. It was very welcoming and it was very private. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.


Peaceful, restful, totally relaxing

4.0 on October 19, 2012

Delightful hybrid motor inn on the outskirts of Solvang. Great access to wine country and neighboring towns. Very pleasant Staff offers good local information. Room, though small, was clean, restful, and functional. Loved the private outdoor hottub outside our room. A fine Inn to complement our visit to the Santa Ynez wine towns.


Good location but needs some updating.

3.6 on September 26, 2012

Centrally located, convinient for wine tasters. There wasn't alot of breakfast seating so arrive early if you want to sit down. Preakfast was fair, basic but fresh. Would have liked to see something more creative. Room was comfortable but needed more shampoo and conditioner and soap in the dispensors.


Wonderful place for a long weekend

3.8 on September 26, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the setting, the lovely breakfast served in the dining room, and the exacting maid service. The room wasn't particularly interesting, as BandB rooms go, but the whole ambiance far outdistanced the simplicity of the room. The area itself is lovely, and the Meadowlark fits right in. We would certainly check in again.


Meadowlark Inn stay

4.6 on September 18, 2012

The service was more than was expected. Great (healthy) food choices for breakfast as well.


A Nice Place

3.4 on September 11, 2012

A nice quaint place. The room was very clean and tidy. The lady was very friendly and accommodating, plus she made an awesome egg echilada for breakfast. The overall stay was nice, but was very disappointed with unexpected charges. Given the chance, I might stay again.


Perfect Little Get-Away

4.6 on September 03, 2012

The Meadowlark is such a special place. It's quaint, well-priced, and a perfect little weekend get-away. We liked it so much that we've reserved it for the guests to our wedding next spring. Kathy and Margot are great people to work with.


Great Gettaway!

3.6 on August 28, 2012

The bed was really comfortable. Slept really good. Located in a great spot. I will be going back.


The place for a romantic getaway

4.0 on August 15, 2012

The Meadowlark is a beautifully landscaped oasis. The rooms are neat and clean. The service excellent. It is close to everything in the area. The Chardonnay room has a well kept, clean, and preheated hottub in a private patio. No better way to spend a night cap after a day of wine tasting and a good dinner.


Wonderful oasis and great value

3.4 on August 14, 2012

With so many expensive hotels in the Solvang area, this is a great find. The rooms were lovely and the main lawn with the wicker chairs is so nice. I really liked staying outside of the bustle of the town, it was much more peaceful and less touristy. Plus, the cost was much less than anything comparable I found.


One night stay

3.0 on August 13, 2012

The Inn was beautiful. You need new matresses. They were too soft and also noisy. We enjoyed our stay.


meadow lark inn

3.2 on August 11, 2012

I had reserved a certain room, but was given a room that was not in the picture. It was perfectly adequate, but not what i was expecting. Service was pleasant and the grounds were lovely. I would stay there again. It did not have 'bed and breakfast" charm that I was hoping for but was a nice inn.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words. We have several categories of rooms and show pictures of one of the rooms in each category. Within that category all rooms have the same amenities and layout, but they might be decorated a bit differently. Of course every so often we change quilts, a piece of furniture, so therefore it may not look exactly the same as on a website picture.


Good value

3.4 on August 08, 2012

Although a bit far from Santa Barbara where we did most of our visits, the Meadowlark Inn was very comfortable, clean and breakfasts were great!


Awesome bed and breakfast

4.0 on August 07, 2012

Wonderfull place that exceeded our expectations. Delightful breakfast and garden. The best place to stay when visiting Santa Ynez valley. We were 4 adults who had nice vacation.


A Nice Little Get Away

3.0 on August 02, 2012

Pros- Quiet and clean accomodations. Friendly staff.The grounds are very pretty. Price was reasonable. The continental breakfast was ok but nothing fabulous. They served egg dishes and yogurt, coffee, juice,toast, and pastries (although the one I ate was burned on the bottom) Cons- We had the jacuzzi suite but the tub was a little disappointing. It did not have a whirlpool ,it was just a tub. I found getting in and out of the tub a little awkward . It would have been nicer to have some sausage or bacon with breakfast. They should replace the older tv in room 9 with a flat screen and the flat screen in the bedroom was kind of small. Overall the service was good and we enjoyed our stay. I would probably stay here again in the future.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the compliments. Wish this guest would have asked the front office staff how to turn on the jets in the tub. There is button to push right on the deck of the tub. We have replaced almost all of our older tv,s with flat screens, being concerned about our environment I have a hard time throwing out a perfectly good tv, especially when there are two in a suite. Points well taken and appreciated. Thank you!


Great Stay

5 on August 01, 2012

Great location and quaint setting!


Wonderful bargain in the Santa Ynez Valley

4.0 on July 30, 2012

The rooms were clean and the service was friendly. I will definitely put them at the top of my list for my next stay in the Valley. My only two suggestions for improvement would be to have a breakfast option for early risers, and to put a shade on the bathroom window. We couldn't close the window and I felt very vulnerable by the fact that anyone could have peeked in at any time. Overall though, I loved it!


Calm country setting

5 on July 29, 2012

After driving through Solvang, it was so nice to drive just a little ways more and find this place. It was such a nice contrast to the traffic and crowds in the village. Our room was cozy, breakfast was fantastic, and the grounds provided nice options for relaxation. We especially enjoyed the fire pit, flower-covered gazebo, and sitting under the huge, shady oak tree.


Peace of mind - perfect place to stay and relax

4.6 on July 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Meadowlark Inn very much. Candle lit Jacuzzi bath, breakfast in the garden... the service staff are nice and courteous. Highly recommend.


Adorable B&B

5 on July 14, 2012

This adorable B&B exceded all of my expectations! We stayed here as the last leg of a road trip and were just looking for a decently priced place to stay in the area. I could not be more happy with the Meadowlark Inn! The staff were so nice and helpful! The breakfast was so much more than advertised! The food was fresh and so much more than your traditional "continental breakfast." There was even homemade Frittata! The ambiance was very relaxing and romantic. Everything we were looking for and more!


Our favorite place to stay in the area

5 on July 12, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Meadowlark Inn. Everything about the Inn is special. The flowers and the beautiful shade trees in the picnic area lend a serene feeling to the landscape. We even had our own personal patio outside our room. The breakfast room is light and airy and the delicious food is served with a smile! The handmade quilt on the bed was a special surprise and made it feel like home. We will be back! Mary Jo, Laguna Hills, CA


A departure from the usual

4.6 on July 09, 2012

This unique inn is perfect for folks who appreciate room to lounge around outside while traveling. The grassy center area has picnic tables perfect for dinner after a day of wine tasting. Afterwards you can use the fire pit for toasting marshmallows and stargazing. We brought our dog as they are welcome in some of the rooms. We have stayed at this inn numerous times the past twenty years and have found it to be consistent in it's amenities and hospitality. Brigitta and her staff are accommodating and serve a delicious breakfast. Our room had a kitchen with an amply sized refrigerator, stove and oven which was perfect since someone in my family has food allergies and I was able to prepare food for him to my specification. A few areas where there is room for improvement: The towels are too small and are scratchy. Not as bad as you'd get at the Motel 6, but pretty close. The pillows are also small and uncomfortable. The kitchen needs to be stocked with a few more basic items. We had to ask for a can opener. There was also no pot holder. I substituted a towel to get something out of the oven and burned my hand. If you need to bake anything, there is no broiler pan, cookie sheet, or casserole dish to put it on. Bring your own if you need it and don't forget a roll of paper towels! Other than that you will have a lovely time.


A great stay!

4.6 on July 06, 2012

This place is so cute and makes you feel at home. The staff are amazing, the grounds are beautiful, and the breakfasts were good. We enjoyed the location. Close enough to town but far enough not to have to hear the late night bar scene. All in all, we fell in love with this cute little place!


What a GREAT stay!

5 on July 03, 2012

Great people, great property, great area and great food. What a GREAT stay! We'll be back.


Sweet stay in Santa Ynez valley

4.4 on July 01, 2012

Very relaxed stay, great location and comfortable appointments.


Meadowlark is the perfect place

4.8 on July 01, 2012

Meadowlark is the perfect place for short vacation, We will recomend this place to everybody


A great stay, once again! Home away from home.

4.4 on June 30, 2012

We've been to the Meadowlark a few times now. As usual, the staff is pleasant, the rooms are nice & clean, and the value is excellent. The breakfast is really good, too, with many more options than your typical continental breakfast. Even the coffee is good! The grounds are very pretty, and the location is perfectly placed between Solvang, Los Olivos, and Santa Ynez. Part of me wants to give this place a crappy review, so we can keep it to ourselves. Highly recommended.


Simply Charming!

4.0 on June 12, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Meadowlark Inn! The two room suite was cozy and comfy and felt more like home than most hotels. We got to park right in front of our room which made traveling even more convenient. The grounds are lovely. We usually stay at the casino hotel, but frankly, for the money, this place is a far better deal!


Charming hotel for great value!

4.4 on May 25, 2012

Charming hotel for a great value. Great location for wine tasting, minutes from everything. Nice to have a refrigerator in the room. Lovely grounds and a terrific breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will be back!


Great Wine Country Visit

4.2 on May 03, 2012

A homey, friendly place, part motel, part B&B, perfect for those who like to stay outside the towns but close to everything in the Santa Ynez area. Of course you must have a car, and/or a bike! We arrived during Saturday "Happy Hour" and had wine & snacks while the check-in was processed. We took the king suit so we had 2 rooms: one with king bed, plenty of room for luggage and dressing area, one with mini-bar and couch. Went back down 246 to the Rancho Market - a wonderful mishmash of a deli, grocery and wine store, for snacks and firewood. there's ice and a soda machine outside the office, coffee in the room. Joined a few other guests on the lawn for sunset followed by the fire-pit before heading into Solvang for dinner at Root 246 (local/organic gourmet, def recommended). Wandered into the breakfast room, adjacent to the office, for coffee (maker in room but no coffee cups), juice, bagels, yogurt, fruit and individual fritatas on Sunday morning. It was all great. Then off cruising the spring green hills and valleys, stopping by a couple local wineries and lunching in Los Olivos. On Sunday evening, we had the place almost to ourselves and had picnic dinner under the trees as the sun set. Heard a few cars driving by but you're far enough back not to see them or really be bothered by road noise. An easy, relaxing wine weekend - that's what Medowlark Inn is all about. I'm sure some folks go to the Chumash Casino in the evenings but with 2 Direct TV sets (he watches sports, she watches dramas), we were entertained. there's a selection of movies to borrow (free) from the office also. Repeated the breakfast (minus fritatas) on Mon morn before heading back down the coast. Didn't meet Bridget but her staff were all pleasant and helpful.


Charming Retreat

5 on April 19, 2012

We have family in Solvang and have driven by these little bungalows a dozen times and never seen them. When you are in your rooms or sitting in the garden the main road is nearby but it might as well be an entire valley away. You can't hear the traffic or even see the cars. Very retreat-like but super convenient when you are ready to go wine tasting or antiquing. The views are beautiful and the grounds are tranquil. We were lucky enough to enjoy a Happy-Hour in the garden. Splendid way to end a day of oil and balsamic tastings. The room was spacious and had wonderful furniture and generous amenities. The breakfast in the morning was a perfect way to start the day and offered variety and real plates and utensils. A beautiful view at the tables or you could take your breakfast to the garden or sit in front of your room and listen to the birds sing. My absolute fave had to be the real tumblers, real wine glasses and real coffee mugs in the room. The bedding was amazing and just the right firmness. Got a great nights sleep. Only down side is that you won't ever want to stay anywhere else when visiting the Santa Ynez Valley! Jolie ~ Los Angeles


Awesome Place

4.8 on April 18, 2012

My Husband and I had a wonderful Stay At the Meadowlark Inn - There were NO door slamming at all hours of the night like a regular hotels, it felt more like a home away from home. The breakfast was very yummy, Kathy made us feel as if we had just walked into her family kitchen to eat. The breakfast buffet each morning was prepared with love, some homemade goodies as well as all the standard bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit etc. There was lots to choose from, no one would go away hungry. She even told us about the waterfalls near by to see while in town. The professionalism and courtesy of the staff is undeniable. The cleanliness of the grounds is something we appreciated. Our 2-night stay a sheer delight. It is a happy, friendly place to stay. Our reservation was easy as I spoke to a caring "human ", we checked in early, without even a hint of "hesitation", our "Host" was a "treasure-chest of local knowledge", informative and educating. Our rooms were clean "As A Whistle". The location, "outstanding", the overall atmosphere being created by the owners is right on track!!! I highly recommend this hotel!


great getaway experience!

3.4 on March 12, 2012

Was wonderful to stay in such a beautiful place! After all of the "busy-ness" of downtown Solvang, it was nice to escape and relax with friends. The staff is wonderful! Brigitta and Kathy were very accommodating, the breakfasts were great (good variety) and the atmosphere, even in the breakfast room was friendly and comfortable. Kendrick was also very pleasant and we'll definitely recommend the Meadowlark to friends!


Weekend Get Away

5 on March 05, 2012

This past weekend I visited Solvang and Los Olivos, California. Brigitte is an awesome cook and she and Kathy made sure all my wishes were met.The entire staff was welcoming and courteous. The Inn was located between my destinations, close to all activities and shopping...yet so peaceful and quiet. .Kendrick served a delicious breakfast as well as suggesting points of interest. Definitely a 4plus in my book.


The bed was very uncomfortable, but the service is great!! Thank you!

3.8 on February 29, 2012

Our stay was very pleasant, the garden at the Meadowlark Inn is fabulous and peaceful! The ladies who own/work there offered homemade snacks and breakfast, which was outstanding! We slept in a small room, because me and my husband didn't need bigger one, so we can't really review the rooms... In our room the worst thing was the bed and the thick, hard pillows, so we couldn't sleep, woke up tired the next day! Please, change the pillows at least, and put out little more expensive, comfortable ones! Anything else is superb! We would go back there, because we loved the service and the surroundings, the view...

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words, much appreciated. All our beds have memory foam mattress toppers which the vast majority of our guests like very much. However, we are always happy to remove this topper or bring different pillows, please let us know while you are here, so we can make any changes necessary.


Weekend getaway

3.8 on February 29, 2012

Very quiet and peaceful setting. We were worried at first because the room was next to the supply storage area, but the management posted a sign to the staff requesting that they take care not to disturb the guests in the adjacent room. Staff complied. Will definitely stay there again. Didn't eat there, husband wanted a full breakfast


The best B and B..

4.0 on February 27, 2012

the room and service were excelence. This is my 3rd time at Meadown Inn and every time I found every item is exceed my expectation.:


Very Disappointed - Never to Return!

1.8 on January 19, 2012

My husband and I checked in approx. 3:00 p.m. (outside temp in the 60s) and our room was FREEZING! The advertised fireplace turned out to be a plug in-no flame unit which gave off very little heat - no wonder there was no picture on the webiste. FYI: We closed all of the windows, turned on the fireplace, space heater, and both old fashioned, roaring heating units and in 3 hours our room was finally warm. The lighting in our room was very poor. The wicker chairs/pads on our porch should have been replaced several years ago. The breakfast was a joke - stale granola, low quality fruit. instant oatmeal, and the room was freezing - absolutely no heat was on and the outside temperature was in the low 40x. The coffee cups as well as the other dishes were ice cold; we ate our breakfasts out! The coffee maker in our room was unusable as it was caked with alkali. The wine tasting on Saturday evening: the white was terrible; the red SONOMA brand was quite good and apparently from Trader Joes - really, Trader Joes, Sonoma?? Why not showcase the wines from the Solvang region - isn't that one of the reasons people stay at your Inn? What was good at your Inn: pleasant staff, the bed and jacuzzi tub. It was apparent that the owners made every effort to cut every corner.

Innkeeper Response
I am very sorry this guest did not enjoy the Meadowlark Inn and I apologize for any shortcomings, we certainly don't try to cut corners, it would be impossible to stay in business. We don't advertise fireplaces anywhere on our website, as we don't have any, we put the electric boxes in some of the rooms for charm and additional heat, and yes heat should have been turned on before the guest's arrival. I personally make our granola, and it's never stale, because it get's eaten very quickly. We always have fresh fruit, breads, baked goods, yogurt, eggs, maybe guests could have stayed a bit longer and looked around and actually tried the breakfast. Yes we sometimes offer wines from other areas as a comparison, because guests go wine tasting locally. We buy our wines from wholesale distributors not a store.


Home away from home

4.0 on January 09, 2012

We have stayed here many times and never had anything but positive to say about it. The staff is very welcoming and attentive. We feel right at home on the porch chairs outside our room. We love to have reunions and BBQ in the courtyard. And the location is so convenient for wine tasting. The young adult males in the family prefer the Firestone Brewery. The Meadowlark is our favorite getaway place.


Meadowlark Inn

3.8 on January 04, 2012

The owners were very helpful. Breakfast was pretty good. It was brought to our room. We also got upgraded for some reason, so that was a nice surprise. Very nice place to spend vacation.


Great B&B

4.6 on December 29, 2011

This is a delightful and relaxing B&B. The rooms are very cozy and clean. We particularly enjoyed their wine hour, which gave us a chance to relax, snack and visit with other guests. Their breakfast was also outstanding, with lots of choices and plenty to eat. We heartily recommend the Meadowlark Inn!


My birthday stay with the girls

4.0 on December 09, 2011

Loved the location, quiet but very close to town. attention provided by staff was great and i forgot my watch and they were kind enough to keep it for me until i picked up! Defenetly staying again and recommending to friends.


Steve from Davis

5 on December 07, 2011

A great find near wineries, restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful.


Enjoyed it.

4.4 on November 12, 2011

Free upgrade just cause yay! Went with my new husband for our honeymoon. After an eventful night we got there at 1AM and had no problem getting in. We went during the week so it was very quiet which we loved. The next night we upgraded to the in-room spa for only $30! It rained but the electric fire place kept us warm. It was a beautiful next morning. Homemade orange and brown sugar was delicious. Also we were referred to Stagecoach Wine Tours which gave us a 4 stop wine tasting valley tour at a major discount. Loved our stay and can't wait to come back with the rest of the family.


Last minute trip to Chumash

3.8 on November 09, 2011

Great location for a jaunt to the casino and pick up munchies at the El Rancho Market. Couldn't be better.


Pleasant, but showing its age

3.0 on November 02, 2011

Jacuzzi tub in the room was great, but the bathroom could use some upgrading. The dish tv operation was difficult to understand. Grounds were lovely, staff was nice, and b'fast was good.


Meadowlark Inn

3.2 on October 25, 2011

Stayed one night in room with hot tub. Room needed some maintenance but was clean and comfortable.


one night stay

4.8 on October 16, 2011

l did not know quite what to expect, so l was pleasantly surprised and overall very pleased.


Stay Solvang

3.2 on October 12, 2011

Had overall a good time but did not quite understand the 2 room concept of my king suite which really did add any value for me, cost for basically a motel is rather high. Service was however outstanding.


best kept secret ...love the convienence ..secuded but close to all in the santa ynez valley...lovely ,comfortable grounds...friendly staff with a GREAT breakfast

4.8 on October 09, 2011

great secluded spot away from tourists but close to all in the santa ynez valley. Friendly owners,always helpful and providing a wonderful breakfast! Its a bestkept secret !


Girls Fun Weekend!

3.8 on October 05, 2011

We came, we saw, we had a blast! We enjoyed the spacious room with 2 Queen beds and a kitchenette. It was great to come back after a day of tasting and relax on the patio and by the campfire on the grounds. Everyone was super nice and breakfast was simple, but tasty. We would definitely come back to stay again.


Weekend Stay

3.4 on September 28, 2011

Since every place in this area has a 2 night min. we weren't sure if would find a room. I called Mirabelle, their sister property, and they told me they had rooms and we could apply on-line Fri. night. We were confirmed in the morning by the inn. The property is very pretty and really quite. The grounds are nice to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine, which is served in the afternoons. We would stay there again.


Magical Stay

5 on September 20, 2011

From the time we we arrived to our departure (sadly) we were treated to a magical stay. The room, the food the staff were all A+. The setting is so beautiful and nice to be away from the downtown hustle. I would recommend this spot to anyone!


Friendly staff, nothing special about this place

3.0 on September 19, 2011

This was our first bed and breakfast experience. The staff were very friendly when making the reservation, upon arrival, and throughout the stay. The rooms were fine, nothing special. The breakfast was good, fresh fruit, pastries, boiled eggs, bread, quiche, etc.


labor day weekend

3.6 on September 18, 2011

Medowlark Inn is a cute, quiet place to retreat to after a long day of wine-tasting. Just outside of town, it felt like miles away from everything (in a good way). Breakfast was small, but delicious, and welcome. We'll be back.


Great place to stay near the Chumash Casino

4.4 on September 13, 2011

Very cute and clean. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent breakfast served in the morning. We'll definitely stay here again!


Nice place to unwind

3.4 on September 03, 2011

My sister and I spent time together in Santa Ynez area doing wine tasting and just meandering through shops and eateries. Meadowlark provided a nice quiet place to come back to in the evening. It was a unique property with very charming grounds. Room were clean and housed the basics you need to sleep and shower. Bed was very comfy. Although location was off main road, it was quiet which I appreciated. It wasn't in town so that may be a detractor for some but it was close enough and since we spent time in Los Olivos and Solvang it turned out to be a good location. Breakfast was a decent continental style including a morning quiche dish with breads, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. We decided to avoid the chains for once and try something different and we were completely satisfied and well rested. If I was going with my hubby, I'd upgrade to one of the suites with the King and Jacuzzi.


A nice place away from the crowds

3.4 on August 28, 2011

Room and pool tinier than they looked on the Web site but the room was clean and comfortable. Nice little breakfast room with good food. Location is a couple of minutes from Solvang- also a plus, as it was very quiet and uncrowded.


Meadowlark Inn

5 on August 28, 2011

A fantastic place for adults that desire serenity, peace and quiet. Could use a few upgrades (very minor), but we noticed during our stay it was in progress. Will definitely return, and will tell our friends and family (adults only) about the Meadowlark!!


One nighter, but might have stayed longer if time permitted

3.4 on August 25, 2011

Enjoyed meeting and talking with other travelers around the campfire. Breakfast was below average. Check in personnel was very helpful and personable, check out personnel could use some people skill help!


Recent Stay at Meadowlark Inn

2.8 on August 24, 2011

Average room, the sudden bursts of hot and cold water in the shower need addressing. Beautiful, relaxing grounds with lots of great oak trees and fountains. Excellent spa services. They were very accommodating to us, as we were traveling with a small child. The breakfast needs to be more just that, rather than an extended continental breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the suggestions, we are addressing the bursts of hot and cold water. During the week when our rates drop by an average of 30% we offer homemade granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, a variety of pastries and breads, along with coffee, tea, juices. On the weekends our breakfast is a bit more elaborate.


A gorgeous getaway!

3.8 on August 19, 2011

This place is really really nice, after driving 5 hrs from Napa. It was nice to get my iPad and sit in the giant garden to read and just enjoy the stillness of the place. The second night my girlfriend & I were there we ordered a Pizza from a local restaurant and enjoyed it under the gazebo just as the sun was setting. I would definitely return here next year!


Enjoyable stay at the Meadowlark Inn

4.8 on August 17, 2011

The buildings are older, built in the "motor inn" style so popular in the fifties. This means the rooms are a bit small by the modern standards of some, but it's also nicely renovated and landscaped. There's very little soundproofing in the walls, but my wife and I were not unduly bothered by our neighbors. They put out a very nice continental breakfast, much of it homemade. The manager was helpful and accommodating and was instrumental in making for a nice stay. The location is marvelous if you're biking places (right on a highway with a bike path) but is not walking distance to anything. We would definitely stay again.


Nice Stay

3.8 on August 16, 2011

The people at the Meadowlark were very polite and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We were celebrating our anniversary, and were given a bottle of champagne. They were very helpful in suggesting places to see and places to go eat. We did not eat the continental breakfast, as we had plans to meet friends.


August Respite`

3.0 on August 11, 2011

The Meadlowlark Inn was an ideal base for a nearby family reunion. The grounds are idyllic with gorgeous flower beds and towering shade trees. Breakfast was a sweet start to the day. The property has lots of charm and acomodated an early check in when we had an ill traveler. Good value.


Love it all very nice

4.4 on August 06, 2011

My wife was surprised when she saw the room, kitchen and living room area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will do it again. Breakfast variety was very good and clean. Thank you again for our great stay.


Just as good the second time around

3.8 on August 05, 2011

We were traveling with our 5-year old son and 3-month old puppy. The accommodations were very comfortable and convenient for touring wine country and enjoying Solvang (but away from the crowds). We will plan to return with friends for another stay in the Santa Inez Valley


Meadowlark Motel

3.2 on July 31, 2011

The Meadowlark Inn has a very nice setting and is on beautiful grounds, but it's more a motel than a Bed and Breakfast or an Inn. The rooms wheren't really that luxurious for the cost. Towels and sheets were your typical Motel 6 class, not very luxuriuos for the cost. Amenities where not luxurious either. The continential breakfast was not what you'd expect from a motel or Inn that is advertised as a Bed & Breakfast and charging 200+ per night for a room. All in all we were satisfied with the room but most likely wouldn't stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
We advertise our inn as "a Wine Country Retreat", not a bed and breakfast. Although we serve a daily breakfast, expanded European during the week and more elaborate on the weekends when the rates are higher, we are not a typical Bed and Breakfast with antiques, frilly things, remarkable architecture etc. We have beautiful, peaceful grounds and a variety of rooms from small standard but comfortable rooms to suites with jacuzzi tubs. Our weekend rates start at $165 plus tax which is comparable to other similar accommodations in the area. Bed and Breakfast.com is where all inns and hotels advertise to sell rooms because they re-sell them to other 3rd party websites. Small inns need this kind of distribution channels to be competitive.


Birthday get away

5 on July 31, 2011

what can I say PERFECT!! we stayed in the cabernet room with the hot tub and garden If you are seeking peace & quite your own little Idaho Medowlark and this cottage s what you need the breakfast was great theservicefriendly and helpful the room and garden WONDERFUL. just a few mins from Solvang and the casino I have had someonderful trips this ismy alltime Favorite we stayed 4 days worth every pennyWeill be going back soon thank you Medowlark Staff for making my birthday just perfect R. Denny 7/24-7/29/11


Trip to Santa Maria/Santa Ynez wine country

3.4 on July 27, 2011

All was very good with the exception of wifi service. We would definitely go back. No dining at the property, but the dining in the area was excellent.


Wine Country Get-Away!

3.4 on July 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Meadowlark Inn. It was quaint, quiet, and very friendly. We would stay again.


Pleasently Suprised

4.0 on July 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived after closing time on a Thursday evening. We were left a key in the office mail box and headed stright to our room. We were able to park right in front of our room which might remind you of a nineteen seventies motor lodge but let me assure you that it isn't the case here. Once inside the room I was relieved to see the comfortable and extremely clean interior wich is incredibly important especially if you book the jacuzzi room like we did. The beds were comfortable and the sheets while we were setting up the owner came by and let us in on he secret bike trail which was GORGEOUS. Needless to say, I would stay again.


Home away from home

4.0 on July 22, 2011

Very quaint and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay. Would like to see more volume from shower. Perhaps upgrading the showerheads will increase the water volume.


Weekend Stay

3.0 on July 21, 2011

Room was large. The beds were not very comfortable. TV in very uncomfortable place to view. TV schedule did not offer very much non-pay-per-view, unless you want to watch info commercials. Nice small referigerator. The breakfast seemed sparse. The Saturday night wine cheese was not appealing. The grounds were very nice and clean. Never did get reservation comfirmation via email, had to call to to get.


Perfect Romantic Getaway!!!

5 on July 18, 2011

I decided on a last minute getaway to Santa Barbara with my wife. I went online and searched under “Santa Barbara Getaway” on a Wednesday night. I came across Meadowlark Inn website and noticed they had rooms available priced reasonably. I especially enjoyed the multiple extra packages they recommended that included a 3-4 hour wine testing tour, a couple’s massage, and many others. I booked the room and received a confirmation email within minutes. Early the next morning my wife and hit the road to our one-day romantic getaway when I received a call from Meadowlark Inn Manager confirming my reservations and wine tour scheduled for 10 am arrival (she called at 7 am). I was surprised to receive a call so early and impressed at the same time. Our wine tour was scheduled for 11 am, but due to traffic and incorrect navigation system we did not arrive until after 12 pm. I called to inform them of our late arrival and they were more than accommodating by changing our tour to the next day, Friday. The wine tour was AMAZING!!! Our tour guide, which happens to be the Manager of the Meadowlark Inn, was a TRUE wine diva!!! Overall, the process was super easy! My wife and I will definitely be back sooner than later!!!


great place to stay

4.2 on July 14, 2011

Very quaint. Very pretty. Very clean. Rooms are a good size. It is about a mile away from downtown solvang.


Just lovely!

3.8 on July 12, 2011

We had a lovely stay with a bit of everything. Beautiful setting, nice pool, just right!


Meadowlark Inn

4.0 on July 09, 2011

This is a great, charming, small motel in the heart of the best wine country in America. Rooms are clean and adequate. The landscaping is attractive and parking is right outside your door. The staff is accomodating and the continental breakfast was more than enough. This is a great value.


Long weekend in Solvang

4.0 on June 22, 2011

We enjoyed the privacy. The breakfast was very nice with an amazing assortment of choices.


Very nice with a few minor exceptions

4.0 on June 16, 2011

I really liked this Inn, herb gardens planted all around the rooms were really nice and the breakfast good. It was a lot more affordable than hotels in town and only about a mile away from Solvang. There were two things that I didn't like though. The bed headboard was not secured to the wall or bed frame which made sitting on bed uncomfortable. Also I couldn't find any way to turn off the porch light other than unscrewing the bulb. Both of these are easy fixes though and otherwise the Inn was great and I would stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, good point about the bed frame, will be done! Porch lights need to stay on to ensure safety for our guests, we don't want anyone tripping over anything in the dark or not finding their way. The black out curtains keep the lights out when closed completely.


oasis of loveliness in Solvang

4.0 on June 15, 2011

stayed here with my parents. all 3 of us very much enjoyed our stay. Very happy with the facilities, and the grounds were beautiful. we had a small kitchen in our room which was perfect to cook dinner in. And the gardens were great to sit, eat and watch the sunset. Fantastic stay. I would highly recommend.


Meadowlark, Solvang

3.8 on June 15, 2011

My husband and I loved this little B&B. Brigette is the most EXCELLENT host, we booked our wine tour through her and were beyond satisfied. The grounds are LOVELY and truly picnic worthy. It was nice, quiet, quaint.


Lovely home base for weekend getaway

3.8 on June 13, 2011

Attractive and comfortable, dog-freindly, loved having a kitchen


Ambience galore!

4.8 on June 06, 2011

The Meadowlark Inn is just on the outskirts of town and is just the perfect place to stay for a getaway. We stayed in the Cabernet suite which has a private backyard with our very own spa and driveway. The inside was adorable and cozy. Complimentary breakfast in the morning and happy hour from 5 to 6 with snacks and wine. Great hospitality and we had dinner at the restaurant in Solvang called the Mirabelle which was fantastic and owned by the same family of the Meadowlark! We loved our stay.


Great place, this Meadowlark Inn in Solvang

4.6 on June 04, 2011

We were headed up to San Luis Obispo for a week of wine tasting, hiking, shopping, and of course, eating. We wanted to stay in the Solvang area our first night, after we had dinner at Cold Springs Tavern. We were SO happy with our stay at Meadowlark. The rooms are doubles - one area for sleeping, the other as living space with a television and small kitchen area. They looked to have been recently refurbished and were very clean. Perhaps the best features of all were immediate availability and the price - $99.00. Will stay again!


Nice place to relax.

3.0 on June 02, 2011

Cozy place with beautiful grounds for outdoor relaxing. Can be a bit noisy when others are outside while you're trying to sleep. Breakfast choices are limited. Staff is helpful and accommodating.


Meadowlark Inn

3.8 on June 01, 2011

Rooms were very clean, surroundings were beautiful, and the breakfast each morning was fantastic (quiche, eggs, bagels, breads, rolls, granola, yogurt, parfaits, fruit, juice, coffee).


Comforting Garden Oasis

3.6 on May 24, 2011

I've stayed at Meadowlark Inn twice now. In May, the roses are in bloom and it's beautiful! This lovely place has a comforting old-fashioned feel to it. It's so nice to have a little kitchen and a pretty "front porch" with wicker furniture. The green "commons" in the center has picnic tables and a grill available. This would be a wonderful place for a family reunion/retreat. I'd love for my Ukulele Club to stay here and jam on the green! (:


Disappointed

1.6 on May 24, 2011

Cleanliness and upkeep of property in general a disappointment. Cushions on chairs are rotted. A little attention to detail and comfort would go a long way. Sorry to say I would not stay here again and would not recommend it.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate any comments from our guets. May is a difficult time to keep the leaves and blossoms going everywhere, as it is the first bloom of the Cecile Brunner roses and the petals are blown everywhere in the afternoon breeze. Quite a chore. I apologize for the pillow, we have dozens of them all over and certainly most of them are in good shape. I will personally go through and eliminate the old ones.


Sovang Getawsy

4.4 on May 21, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here - the rooms were clean and well appointed. The garden is beautiful, with so many beautiful roses and a gorgeous old oak, lots of benches and chairs outside to enjoy it. My son left his wallet in the room and we were called promptly and the wallet overnighted to us as he was leaving for South America...so appreciated the service and help!


Hidden Gem

5 on May 16, 2011

Wonderful staff - very helpful. Clean & unique rooms. Great breakfast. Gardens are well maintained. Roses are gorgeous.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you and previous reviewers for your kind words and the effort to tell everyone else. It is truly appreciated!


Solvang stay

3.8 on May 10, 2011

Found the rooms very clean and the morning breakfast quite nice.


Delighful stay

3.6 on May 09, 2011

We stayed in the Pinot Noir room with a great Jacuzzi tub. The room had 2 air conditioners and a fan which were needed for the heat. There was a little park in the middle of the property which was light at night. Several chairs were on a small patio outside our room which was a nice place to sit and read. The decoration included candles for the Jacuzzi. The sofa was a little to soft to sit on and the breakfast was fruit and pastries- was expecting more of a substantial breakfast.


Home away from home.

4.6 on May 08, 2011

My husband and I went there for our 5th anniversary. The place was way more awesome than we expected. The grounds are beautiful and so are the rooms. The staff was so very friendly. We are going to make this place our only place to stay when we visit the area which is going to be often.


beautiful gardens but subpar rooms for the rate.

2.6 on May 04, 2011

the gardens are absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are good sized. the breakfast was fantastic and more food than you could imagine. the down side was the rooms. the furnishing and cleanliness left a lot to be desired. At $200./night i would expect a lot more. at those rates i do not see us visiting again unfortunately.


Great place to stay for the money

3.8 on May 02, 2011

I love this place! The grounds are beautiful and so are the rooms. We had a great time here - and it was easy to get to wineries and downtown Solvang. I however was a little disappointed with the breakfast. It was more of a store bought buffet and very picked over when we got there at 9am (opens at 8am).


Quick Getaway

5 on April 30, 2011

Our room was very nicely appointed. The landscaping was quite lovely. It was a peaceful retreat, and the staff was friendly. We would gladly recommend this place to any individual or couple.


Great room in wine country

4.2 on April 28, 2011

My fiance and I just got back from a quick 1 night jaunt up to wine country and the Meadolark inn was just what we were looking for. We arrived very early in the morning and although our room wasn't ready the desk man gave us great directions to get lunch and start our tasting. Upon getting back and getting into the room we were delighted to find we had a very nice and clean room. We were surprised to find that we had a whole sitting room where we sat and played scatergories which we borrowed from the front desk. We would definitely stay there again if we get so lucky to visit that area again.


Enjoyable Stay!

4.2 on April 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Meadowlark Inn for two nights, for our anniversary. The room was cozy, larger than we expected and clean - at a great value! We definitely recommend this charming bed and breakfast.


Review

3.8 on April 22, 2011

The room had some dead and alive flys. Other than that, the room, the service, the value, and the dining were excellent.


What a wonderful weekend

4.6 on April 17, 2011

My husband & I take a weekend break every 6-7 weeks to destress. I am disabled and regressing and he works 2 jobs. We love to spend time together and love the outdoors. Both of us are in our seventies. I always use hotels.com or bed & breakfast.com to find something not too far away. This was our introduction to Meadowlark B&B. The room we had been allocated was not equipped for accessibility but the owners were quick to move us into one that had hand rails in the bathroom. We loved the spaciousness of the bedroom and were amazed at the separate kitchen which is fully equipped with stove, microwave, fridge etc. In fact we may return there sometime for a week's vacation! The rooms are built in. Circle with a very pretty green in th center which had picnic tables - where we ate our supper - a BBQ pit and just. Nice atmosphere. Although right on the edge of Solvang and ner the Casino it was very quiet and gave the impression of being out in the country. The proprietors told us of a super market/deli that sold ready prepared meals. We decided to try them and ended up buyin our evening meals there Nd eating them at the B&B. It was so relaxing not having to go out to eat. The other plus for me were the beds and bedding. Because of my disability and pain levels I cannot stand heavy bedding on my body. The duvets on the beds were the lightest and absolutely perfect temperature for me! The covers were a high quality fabric as well and I totally loved it. In fact I would like to know where they were purchased! Overall? We would say 5 star rating! We loved it. Ivan & Lyn.


very relaxing in a beautiful part of the country

4.2 on April 13, 2011

Especially enjoyed sitting under the stars around the fire with other guests and then plunging into our own jacuzzi with our own roaring fire going...with glass of champagne in hand who wouldn't enjoy that? Stayed in the Cabernet suite, a little exxy but very private. Yes it's on a busy road but rooms are far enough back to not notice.


Nice place

3.6 on April 13, 2011

This was a nice Inn that has a lot of charm. I was pleasently surprised by the quality of rooms and the beauty of the little courtyard. I would stay there again.


Eyre's 6th Anniversary

4.6 on March 09, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the cozy atmosphere and friendly hosts at Meadowlark Inn.


My stay at meadowlark

3.4 on March 01, 2011

I have stayed here on many occasions and this is one of my favorite places. The location is great between Solvang and Santa Ynez.


Wonderful Visit

5 on February 10, 2011

The Meadowlark Inn was fantastic. Beautful grounds, clean rooms, and a very firendly staff. Breakfast was amazing, especially the quiche lorraine. As it is located a mile from downtown Solvang, we were able to visit the city, but still enjoy the secluded quiet of a wine country vacation.


Meadowlark

3.2 on February 09, 2011

The room was nice but smaller than I expected. The room was advertised with a fireplace but it was actually an electric fireplace. It wasn't a big deal but I paid for and was expecting a standard fireplace. Besides that everything was as I expected.


Inn off the Road

3.8 on February 07, 2011

Meadowlark Inn was a nice surprise. It was set back off the road with an open park like "yard" The rooms were clean and comfortable. Everything was close.


Anniversary

4.4 on February 05, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here and will come back. We like it because it is quaint and private. The staff if extremely friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is more than I imagined. They have a barbecue out front if you want to barbecue with tables. They have chairs to sun in there is a gazebo. It is all in the center with the rooms surronding it in an arc. You will love it as much as we do.


Outstanding!

5 on January 30, 2011

My fiancee and I loved the Meadowlark Inn! Breakfast was excellent, the room was lovely, the grounds were beautiful, the price was quite good, the staff were friendly. Solvang is a very nice place to stay if you are touring the wine country.


Best stay ever!

5 on January 17, 2011

Medowlark Inn is such a cute and romantic place! It is so beautiful and the rooms are so home like and comfortable. My boyfriend and I stayed there and asked for the Standard King room and when we got there the upgraded the room for free! The amazing service and comfortable rooms is what makes us coming back and I for sure recommend this place to everyone!


good value for the money

4.0 on January 10, 2011

It was a very cozy room, with a very comfortable bed. Would definitely stay there again.


Honeymoon stay at Meadowlark

3.6 on January 09, 2011

We had a very comfortable stay here. All that work there are very nice and accomodating. We stayed in the Cabernet room that has a private, fenced patio with Jacuzzi/hot tub, almost like having a small apartment. We ordered/scheduled massages and it was very nice and relaxing, we just walked a few feet from our room to where the massages took place. A very beautiful quiet place to stay.


Welcoming and Serene

3.2 on December 31, 2010

Our stay was enjoyable. We arrived at night but wished we would have gotten there earlier to enjoy the park-like atmosphere. Brigitte served up some quiche for breakfast along with other traditional continental faire. Our room was upgraded to a king with an adjoining sitting room so it was nice to entertain the couple that went along with us.


Meadowlark Inn

2.8 on December 26, 2010

Bathroom sink and living room heater not working but great staff. Would stay again. Breanna at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the compliments, we look forward to welcoming this guest and previous guests back to our inn. We have a regular maintenance schedule and were not aware of any heater or sink not working. We appreciate when guests tell us during their stay when something is out of order so we can address the problem immediately. Our guest's comfort and safety is our highest concern.


Sorry we didn't discover this place years ago.

4.4 on December 21, 2010

We were so amazed at the quietness and serenity of this place. It was also beautifully maintained and we enjoyed the kitchen and fireplace. We will definitely stay here again


Had unique problem this time

2.6 on December 21, 2010

I have stayed here many times over the past 20 years and love it. However, this time they added a fire place to the room next store and overloaded the circuit breaker so we had no heat all night long. The fire places are not real, they are heaters with a fake fire image behind a screen. They should not call them fire places. They are overcharging for what you get. complimentary breakfast is below average. Grounds are beautiful and the place was clean.

Innkeeper Response
I am very sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay this time. Unfortunately we had a big rainstorm during this particular weekend and one of the breakers for that room was affected. We did put a space heater in this room which the guest chose not to use. The guest was refunded and we went out of our way to make the guest as comfortable as possible during this stormy weekend.


Unforgettable

5 on December 19, 2010

From the champagne in our room to greet us as we arrived, to the steaming hottub on our private patio, from the tasty breakfasts to the thoughtful late-afternoon "sundowner" snacks and wine, this was an unforgettable stay from start to finish. We loved it and will definitely be back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you to this guest and the many others for their kind words, we truly appreciate it!


We would definitely visit Meadowlark again!

3.8 on December 07, 2010

Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating; Rooms were comfortable and roomy; Meadowlark offered a calm & relaxing atmosphere and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!


Meadowlark Inn

3.6 on November 27, 2010

Lovely setting and warm and inviting room with the electric fireplace greeting us on a cold evening. The room was large and comfortable. The kitchenette was stocked with all the utensils and dishware that we needed. We had a very pleasant stay. And, did I mention it was very quiet?


A very nice stay

3.6 on November 19, 2010

We stayed in the Cabernet Room, loved it, and will be back. The room itself is very private, with it's own backyard and hot tub. We liked the staff and found them very responsive, friendly and informal. They arranged a surprise cake for my wife's birthday, cleaned the hot tub, and provided a complimentary bottle of wine for some minor inconvenience. Very gracious. The only SMALL downside was breakfast. The eating area is very small and difficult to navigate when lots of people are staying at the inn. Moreover, while they don't promise a full breakfast, this one seemed particularly light and limited in variety.


I had a wonderful stay here! Reserve the Garden King Suite (Cabernet )!!

4.4 on October 21, 2010

I came here September 3-5 with my boyfriend for our 3 year and booked the Garden King Suite (Cabarnet room) and we both absolutely loved it! There was a king sized bed, another bathroom with a minifridge and the decor is quaint and old town feel. The shower was okay and kind of has weak pressure, but the highlight of this suite is it has it's own private hot tub and private backyard with hammock and apple trees and a fire pit. My boyfriend loved the privacy of this along with the friendly owner and the simple and filling breakfast we would have there. We took the Grapeline wine tour and they pick up from Meadowlark directly, which is so convenient for anyone looking to go on the wine tours. It was really a very relaxing and friendly environment. I can't really speak for the other rooms at the B&B but ours was really comfy. At night we would build a small fire in the pit and sit in the hot tub :). During the daytime I would lay in the hammock and read while my bf would type away on his laptop. The only negative was our cell phone reception was bad (and they don't have wi-fi), but that isn't the B&B's fault. ATT and Tmobile were really limited reception there, but then again it's a B&B so perhaps you should be away from the busyness of work while on your stay. Thanks again Bridgett! I think I read somewhere they also are dog friendly for an additional fee, that's a plus for pet owners:) I would definitely come back again


Country Charm

3.8 on October 14, 2010

We enjoy staying at Meadowlark Inn, it's relaxing and comfortable. Great value for the area.


Terry Geiling

4.2 on October 13, 2010

The best part was the staff helpfulness. We had a small problem with the TV/VCR. Kendrick stopped what he was doing and came down to help out. I asked for suggestions on touring, tasting, etc. and got very personalized service. The suggestions matched exactly what we were looking for. I was a perfect spot to renew the spark after 47 years of marriage. Terry Geiling Thanks to the team


Almost Stay-cation

3.8 on October 11, 2010

A short trip down the coast and a great place to stay. We've been to the Meadowlark about 5 times now...it's a lot like an old-fashioned motor court inn, which I like. It is very quiet, but has access to a walking/bike path, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. There could be more towel bars in the bath, but I still love it there!


two nights stay

4.4 on September 29, 2010

Excelent Bed and Breakfast. Very beautiful, the oudoor with all the furnishing is also great, had a great time just sitting there and sipping some good Solvang wine one evening, very relaxing


Wine Country Bed n Breakfast...great place!

4.2 on September 21, 2010

The owner was very gracious and knowledgeable about local events as well as places to see. The breakfast was delicious. Accomodations were clean and within driving/biking distance of the local town and sourrounding area.


A last minute Labor Day weekend booking.

3.2 on September 09, 2010

Only negative comments I have is that the shower water temp adjusted from really hot to freezing every 3 mins. Also the TV gave a high pitched ear shattering noise after watching for 15 mins. I had to turn off then turn back on after 5 mins. But other than that it was a great stay, low priced and available last minute just before Labor Day weekend. Worth the $380 for 2 nights.


Wonderful Stay

4.0 on September 03, 2010

What a wonderful stay we had. The grounds are simply spectacular. Very well taken care of. Rooms are very nice. We loved the private hot tub! Breakfast was nice in the morning! We'll definately stay here again!


Lovely B&B in Solvang

4.4 on September 02, 2010

I stayed in the Trebbiano Room which was lovely. It is a great size with a full kitchen that is fully equipped. The room was very clean and well decorated. The grounds of the Inn are gorgeous. I would stay here again in a heartbeat ! My only disappointment was that there was no bathtub, but everything else was beyond my expectations.


Stress Melters

4.8 on September 01, 2010

I arrived at Meadowlark about 30 minutes after my expected arrival time, stressed and flustered from my busy day preparing for my sister's wedding. to make matters worse, my card was being declined! the front desk told me "not to worry" and that since i seemed trustworthy it could be worked out in the morning. What a lifesaver! due to this kindness, I was able to make it to the wedding on time, much to the relief of the groom whose best man I was and my lovely sister, the bride! in the morning, we were greeted by friendly staff, worked out the issue with the card and went straight to a delicious breakfast! check out was very easy, and the room (pinot grigio suite) was Amazing!! Thanks again meadowlark!


Great Getaway

3.8 on August 27, 2010

My grown daughter and I booked at the last minute and were pleased to be booked into a room with 2 beds and a kitchenette. We liked the one story bungalow design and the abundant roses across the doorways to the rooms keeping the theme of a garden from the generous area in the center devoted to sitting in the shade of the oak and admiring the roses in the direction of the road. Road noise was distracting, but not like a freeway. It was convenient to have the kitchen with whatever one needs for a quick meal. People are always the great plus at a B&B, and the cracker, cheese and wine get together at 5:00 PM brought everyone together to share their favorite attractions in the Santa Ynez Valley. We will return.


A wonderful place to stay!

4.4 on August 23, 2010

Extremely quiet with beautiful gardens..will stay there again


2 miles outside of downtown Solvang is a nice B&B

4.0 on August 15, 2010

When we arrived at Meadowlark Inn it was about 10:30 in the evening and we had pedaled our bicycles all the way from San Luis Obispo and covered some 86 miles. Luckily the inn keeper left a key for us although we would have appreciated receiving a call that there would be no one at the front desk in the evening. Taking into account the grumpy mood we were in we hardly noticed how nice our accommodations were until the morning. But the room and bathroom were clean, the shower pressure could have been a bit stronger, but we slept well and the beds weren't too soft. It was quiet when we were there (Tuesday). A la cart breakfast in the morning was awesome (toast, cereal, bagels, fruit, juice, jam, scrambled eggs) very homey and welcoming. The woman who runs the inn is cool--I think her name is Brigada--has a cool German accent, and was helpfully calming just by her personality. She chatted us up a bit, which was nice since we were still pretty grumpy about the whole bike ride disaster/miracle from the night before. To wrap up our stay she got us a taxi ride into downtown Solvang and the driver, this older dude named Carl, was super sweet and charged us like $7 which was amazing because our asses were worn out. Thanks Carl and Brigada! Our stay was short and sweet and super affordable. I realize now that if you're biking in from the coast be ready to travel 2 miles past Solvang to get to Meadowlark. Otherwise I'd recommend making reservations downtown and be prepared to pay more and probably put up with more noise. We look forward to coming back, but planning our adventures a little more carefully so we can enjoy it when we get there.


Lovely and affordable stay

4.0 on August 14, 2010

After 3 days and 2 nights at the Meadowlark Inn, we left well rested and well fed. The morning continental breakfast was tasty and the gardens are really very pretty. Cleanliness is what I am most picky about at a hotel/inn and this one met my standards. The bathroom, kitchenette, and bedroom were clean and free of dirt. The beds and room even smelled fresh when we entered. A little dust on the air conditioner, but that's be be expected. The staff was friendly and helpful. For the price and how close it is to lake Cachuma and Solvang/Los Olivos/Ballard, this is one we'll visit again!


Cozy, quiet and comfortable

4.0 on June 23, 2010

We spent our 20th anniversary in a small, cozy room that had everything (and more) you'd expect from a large hotel. We found their "Surprise Senior" special on B&B.com and will definitely return. The setting - away from downtown Solvang - was so quiet and peaceful. Continental breakfast was very adequate. If you want a relaxing, quiet place to stay, this is definitely it!


Loved It-Loved It!

5 on June 10, 2010

My husband and I had such a wonderful time. We were given two gift cards to Bed and Breakfast.com and desided to go to Solvang. I looked on line to find a place in town or near by and we chose the Meadowlark Inn. It was the best desision we could have made. The rooms are quite, quite, quite not once did we here are neighbours, not their TV, not their shower, not even their toilet, which I can't say for even more expensive rooms I've been in. It was so close to Solvang 1.8 miles that it did not matter that we where not in town, and who wants to listen to the traffic go by any way. The grounds are so beautiful flowers in bloom everwhere, beautiful Oak trees, fountians and lots of areas to do nothing in but enjoy the peace. We will diffenently go back and I will be reconmending the Medowlark Inn to my friends.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on March 25, 2008

My husband and I booked the entire Inn for our wedding weekend and it was the most fantastic time! We made good use of the fire pit in the central garden area, as well as the grill for home cooked meals after wine tasting all day long. The location is perfect, just up the road from many world class wineries, which is why we chose the Inn. Margaret, the innkeeper, was so very helpful in planning our stay and helping our guests. I would recommend the Meadowlark to anyone looking for a getaway in wine country! We will go back!


Meadowlark Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $275
  • Reviews (210) 4.1
  • Rooms 18
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8056884631
  • Fax 1-8056887531
  • Toll free 1-8003449792

Visit Website »

View details

Top