Elliott House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
81 Reviews

Write A Review

Adorable B&B

5 on May 27, 2014

Super sweet owners, offered lots of suggestions for things to do and see. Condo was extremely clean and well appointed, didn't want for anything! Was the perfect get away


Wonderful place

5 on May 12, 2014

The hosts were very friendly and offered excellent tips on places to see and places to eat. Breakfasts were superb. Look forward to going back.


Very nice innkeepers

3.8 on March 23, 2014

Greg and Joanne are very nice, very hospitable, and make an excellent breakfast. We stayed in the Sequoia suite. A cozy room, though back to back with Cedar and we could hear (muffled) their TV going. I suppose the couple next door could hear our noisy bed squeaking if they cared to listen. All in all a nice place and a nice stay.

Innkeeper Response
We wish to say thank you to our recent guests in the Sequoia suite. We appreciate their comment on the TV volume from the neighboring suite. The guests in that suite were viewing a movie and forgot how loud it was. We also thank you for your comment on the 4-poster beds noise and have addressed the problem. We would look forward to your return visit to Shaver Lake and the Elliott House B&B. Joanne & Greg Elliott, Innkeppers.


Perfect mountain getaway

5 on March 15, 2014

Calming, romantic, inviting, welcoming, amenities galore, can't wait to go back! The McCollums

Innkeeper Response
We thank The McCollums for their calm, romantic, inviting, and amenities galore review! They made out day, our week, and our month. We are pleased that we pleased them, and look forward to their return to Shaver lake and our B&B. Joanne & Greg Elliott Elliott House B&B


A Great Friendly Cabin Environment

5 on March 02, 2014

We were very impressed with this place. so close to Fresno and we didn't even know it. Great rooms, wonderful food and great hosts. We will definitely be coming back.


Amazing and Romantic

5 on February 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I went on our first trip together to Yosemite and chose this cute place to stay at. It's a bit of a drive from Yosemite, but totally worth it. It's romantic and cozy, and the breakfast is amazing. It's in a small town and the people's hospitality there is very warm and welcoming. Definitely visiting again.


Perfect condo for 6

3.8 on February 10, 2014

My companions and I found the Parkview Condo to be perfect for our weekend stay. The condo is a bit over a mile back down Tollhouse Road from the main B&B. With two bedrooms and baths, kitchen and living room on the first floor, a lovely loft with 2 twin beds occupies the loft accessed by climbing a step spiral staircase. The kitchen is well equipped for every meal. However, since I was under the impression the Elliott House would provide us breakfast, we did not take any breakfast food, necessitating a quick trip to a nearby diner for breakfast and another outlay of cash we thought we'd not need since the key to staying at a Bed and Breakfast is the BREAKFAST part. Otherwise, the facility is excellent.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We were pleased that the Park View townhome was the perfect choice for you and your friends. We apologize again for the misunderstanding about the breakfast. As you remember, that first morning we offered you the continental breakfast at the B&B main house when you came to visit your other friends staying there. Plus, we offered complimentary breakfast at the B&B when you were considering adding a third night to your stay. We realized, after your comments, that it is not as clear as it should be on our website that those who rent cabins/condos or other offsite locations, the breakfast is not included at the B&B. All of our wonderful offsite locations feature a great kitchen, which is fully equipped with appliances, cookware, dishes, flatware, etc. If we had the room at the B&B we would love to invite everyone to our delicious gourmet breakfast, guest or not. We look forward to your return next year for the marathon!


Simply Charming

5 on December 26, 2013

We stayed at the Elliott House for a respite after our hectic holiday shopping - and I'm so glad we did. It was a wonderful place to relax spend some quality time together. Greg and Joanne are the most friendly people, great food, charming rooms, you can tell they take pride in their bed and breakfast. We can't wait to get back up there it's such a short drive to fresh clean air and great hosts.

Innkeeper Response
We thank you for your review and look forward to your next visit! All returning guests receive a 10% discount at the very least. And, if there are specials running at that time, we will add that into your savings as well.


Great Stay, would come back and recommend.

3.8 on October 30, 2013

Great Stay, would come back and recommend.


Elliott House B&B Shaver Lake, CA

5 on October 29, 2013

Easy to find, cozy, warm, welcoming room, wonderful breakfast, perfect hosts.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words! We have been open 14 years now and continue to offer the best experience we can to all of our guests. We hope to see you again!


You won't regret it

4.2 on October 25, 2013

Elliot B&B was absolutely wonderful! After reading good reviews we decided to make reservations. Over-all, everything exceeded our expectations! We stayed in the sequoia suite which was pretty private and super cozy! We were really able to relax and enjoy the true beauty of nature! Brief summary: We woke up to natural sunlight, enjoyed amazing breakfasts, spent quiet time in the suite or spent time outdoors hiking and viewing scenery, enjoyed the delightful appetizers at happy hour, ate the best pizza in town(we tried the steakhouse but the pizza beats the steak house any day and that's coming from serious steak lovers!), we had a very warm, cozy, relaxing night in our suite and most definitely enjoyed bubble baths with the jacuzzi jets. To sum it all up, If you need a peaceful get away from all the stress and daily schedules, you must give Elliot B&B a try, its worth it and surely you won't regret it.


Thank You, Joanne and Greg!

4.0 on August 22, 2013

After forty seven years camping at Shaver Lake and Dinkey Creek we retired from the challenges of tenting and stayed at Elliott House this year. After a delicious breakfast and a great night's sleep we joined our family at the lake for the rest of the day of fun and togetherness. It was perfect. Thank you,, Joanne and Greg!


Shaver Lake's finest

4.8 on August 22, 2013

Very nice decor, gracious hosts, convenient location


Will definately be back

5 on August 19, 2013

We stayed in Dogwood. It was the cutiest and coziest room! Would highly recommend this B&B and this room! We saw the other 5 rooms and this was the best. Breakfast each day was wonderful. Their special apple pancakes, Eggs Benedict and lemon blueberry pancakes. Fresh fruit, pastries, juice, coffee and tea. In the afternoon, wine and cheese. You can eat in the dining room or outside.


Excellence at Elliot House B & B

4.4 on August 12, 2013

This was a return visit to Elliot House and we're happy to report everything was outstanding. Breakfast was exceptional and the service was attentive without being invasive. Joanne and Greg operate an excellent B&B and we recommend it highly. Our room, Dogwood, is on the second floor and was spacious and airy--it's a great space.


Nice! Different experience for us.

5 on August 07, 2013

Very different and nice experience for us. We have never stayed in an B&B. Enjoyed our great Breakfast each morning.


Oasis in the Mountains

5 on July 29, 2013

What a wonderful B&B! My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after staying in canvas tent cabins in Yosemite. What a nice change! The room was beautiful and comfy. The food was amazing...nectarine/apple/blueberry french toast one day and Eggs Benedict the next. We are vegetarians and they were very accommodating. :) They also had great coffee in the morning and chocolates on the pillows when we checked in. If we are ever in the area again we will absolutely stay here! We stayed in the Loose Goose room at Drake's Landing (a mile from the main house). So cute! Shaver Lake is great too. Try the shave ice by the pizza place! Almost as good as Hawaii!


A wonderful getaway

4.6 on July 15, 2013

Spent the 4th of July at the Drake Lodge extension of the Elliot B&B. What a fantastic getaway. Really enjoyed our conversations with the Elliotts, and our included breakfast was outstanding. MY wife has Celiac Disease, and they were very accommodating with the menu. Our next trip to Shaver Lake will almost definitely include a stay with the Elliott Bed and Breakfast. Thanks again, Greg and Joanne! Ren and June Patenaude


Silver Pine Cabin Stay

4.0 on June 26, 2013

My husband and friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Silver Pine Cabin. It was decorated beautifully, the beds were comfortable, and the kitchen had everything we needed! The Elliott's were so helpful and kind that we are already looking at our calendars to plan another trip!


Fantastic Stay!

4.8 on June 24, 2013

We had a wonderfully peaceful and enjoyable stay at Elliott House. Joanne and Greg (the proprietors) could not have been more welcoming or helpful, our suite was wonderfully comfortable and the surrounding area is beautiful! Breakfast is worthy of a separate mention - it changed daily and was delicious on both occasions. We will recommend Elliott House to any of our friends.


Still Great!

5 on February 18, 2013

Rented the whole main house for the weekend. This was not our first visit. The owners have added a microwave and refrigerator stocked with non-alcoholic drinks. The microwave is a big plus as is the non-alcoholic drinks for kids. We had another family with us for a total of 5 kids. Plenty of kid friendly food was served for breakfast and Happy hour. Just let the owners know that you are coming with kids.


Elliot House is Awesome!

5 on January 30, 2013

Elliot House is a super cute and super comfy get away! The hospitality is amazing and they offer such wonderful little treats like appetizers and wine each evening. Each morning they offer wonderful breakfast from scratch! You really cant beat this place for a relaxing and enjoyable escape!


So relaxing

5 on October 22, 2012

Thank you so much for welcoming us in your house! We went up Shaver Lake for an anniversary and had such a relaxing time! The Sequoia Suite was wonderful! The suite: including background music, apple cobbler at out bedside, and huge tub was an added bonus. The breakfasts were both outstanding and we will definately come back!!


Have Stayed Numerous times in the Suites Outside, the main B&B

4.6 on October 06, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the B&B twice now. The second time was about a year ago, where we get engaded up in the shaver area that weekend. Joanne & Greg were so excited and we even had breakfast in bed the next morning :) Im in the process of debating what room i want to stay in next, we will be up again the end of October to celebrate out 1 year since we gor engaded, our 6 month of marriage, and my 27th birthday!!!! Yeahy!!! Can't wait for those Apple/Pear Pancakes! Michelle Vandergon

Innkeeper Response
Thank you Michelle for your great comments. We really strive to make you and all of our guests happy and comfortable while vacationing at our B&B. We look forward to your next visit as always. We have introduced a few more entrees for breakfast including chicken and apple sausages and a variety of puff pastry quiches. And now for the ever popular baked caramel apple pear pancake we are offering warm mixed fruit maple syrup or our homemade praline syrup.


Our stay

5 on September 17, 2012

The internet speed is too slow. Sometimes connecting to mail timed out as the connect took too long. I have to use internet when traveling for personal and business uses, so high speed is essential and I would pay for speed of say 5 Mbs down and 1 Mbs up.


Quaint Place

2.8 on August 29, 2012

The hosts were great, inviting, especially Greg. The breakfasts and the appetizers for happy hour were absolutely of 5 star quality! Showers were too cold for us tho, we couldn't get the water to warm up enough to take a comfortable shower. We didn't realize that the b&b is on the main road, so the road noise was just too much for us to be able to sleep comfortably.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate the review dated August 29, 2012. We are sorry the Tollhouse Road in front of the B&B was noisy that evening with over night traffic. We agree at this time of the year it is the last minute lumber trucks winding down the summer harvest season. The following morning the guests indicated they were checking out due to the noise so we offered them a quieter jetted tub suitebut they did not accept. We did check the shower and discovered new plumbing installation inadvertently rotated the hot/cold settings, which since has been corrected. We would welcome the guests to return as we would offer them an upgrade suite at a discounted fee. Thank you for the comments. Joanne & Greg Elliott, Elliott House B&B


Wished we could have stayed longer

4.2 on August 24, 2012

We stayed in the Dogwood suite and our Son and his girlfriend stayed in the Ponderosa suite, both suites were beautiful. Joanne and Greg were excellent hosts and provided us with a delicious breakfast and some invaluable information on where to eat once we arrived on the California coast. It was a shame that we only stayed one night as this is a very relaxing area with plenty to do at the lake nearby.


Nice summer getaway

3.6 on August 14, 2012

Stayed for five nights. Very nice and cordial hosts. They were very attentive without being intrusive. Very close to the lake and everything in town.


Drakes Landing

4.2 on July 29, 2012

At our stay at Drakes Landing thru Elliot house was beautiful. I wish that Breakfast was delivered, like muffins, rather that driving to Elliot house for there gourmet breakfast. I did not want to get dressed to eat breakfast. I also wish there were comfortable setting outside to enjoy the weather and area.There were benchs but not comfy-reading chairs. The gathering room was wonderful but I can look out my window at home....I wanted to be outside reading or having coffee. The gourmet coffee was very good and very strong. The room was warm and inviting.


cabin retreat

4.8 on July 28, 2012

Wonderful experience and look forward to our next stay. Joanne and Greg we personable and kind.


Silver Pne Cabin Vacation

4.4 on July 23, 2012

We really enjoyed the Silver Lake Cabin. The quick response in unlocking the house when we left the key inside was greatly appreciated. Dick's Fishing Charters which you recommended was very good. We caught the limit. This was my third stay with you and Im looking forward to another. Fred Schilling


Peaceful and comfortable

5 on July 21, 2012

The evening wine reception was so generous and delicious. And the breakfast was to die for. All the staff were so friendly and very talented with the food and service. It was a wonderful place to stay.


Stayed here multiple times and will definitely stay again!

5 on July 06, 2012

My husband and I adore the Elliott House. We got married there 10 years ago and stayed there last-minute about two years back. We were treated to an outdoor breakfast in a most relaxing setting and with wonderful service. I am hoping to celebrate our 10 year anniversary there and will have no regrets when we do!


Awesome B & B

4.8 on March 07, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this wonderful B&B while on an overnight ski trip to China Peak. The owners, Greg & Joanne, are lovely hosts and made us feel very welcome and at home. We rented the Crazy Loon and Loose Goose suites, which are down the road from the main house. It was a great setup with a king and queen bed in the 2 suites and a gathering/community room between the 2 rooms. The suites are very cute, cozy, comfortable and clean. We had a wonderful night and then woke up the next morning and joined the Elliotts and the other guests for a delicious gourmet breakfast! Will definitely return to the Elliott House!


Valentine's night at Elliott House

3.6 on February 29, 2012

I had always wanted to visit Elliott house, and for this Valentine's evening, we did just that. They had a romantic Valentine's dinner for their guests, at a very reasonable price, and we reserved our meals in advance. When we arrived there was a beautiful warm fire in the main room and other couples had arrived and were enjoying their dinners as well. The dinner was very worthwhile, and well prepared. We loved the cozy atmosphere... there was snow on the ground and it was nice and toasty inside. After dinner we went to our room, we had a room outside the main building, up some stairs and overlooking the main building. Not a long walk, and our parking was just outside our cottage. Upon entry to our room, we were very impressed. Clean (Spotless, in fact) and very tasteful. No old smelly antiques and lace... this was a perfect, secluded little home away from home. Loved the jacuzzi tub, which fit both of us with a little wiggle room... and the in room fireplace was a very nice touch. We woke up to snow outside the windows looking out into the pines... and a dusting on our car. The only negative point in our whole visit was that I had requested a dietary change for breakfast and apparently that slipped through the cracks, as they served the one thing I specifically asked NOT to have when I booked our trip. Breakfast did come with fruit and some breads, which we did sample... but were unable to eat the pancakes. Everything looked gorgeous though and we wished we had been able to eat it.... We would definitely visit again and look forward to when we can make that happen.

Innkeeper Response
We were very honored that you chose to spend your Valentine's getaway here at the Elliott House. The romantic 4 course dinner was a special we wanted to provide for our guests that evening. We don't normally serve dinner as you know. As for your dietary restriction, we completely apologize for forgetting that the following morning. We did make a note at the time of reservation that you did not want the pancakes for breakfast. Guess the gourmet dinner we served the night before to you and other guests took too much of our focus. We hope you return and we promise to make it up to you on your next visit.


Elliott House perfect after a day in the snow

4.2 on February 16, 2012

Stayed overnight with a family of 5 at the main house. The two rooms upstairs were perfect for us. Kids stayed in the larger room with a rollaway bed. Plenty of room to move around. We had the whole house to ourselves as the third room downstairs was vacant for the night. They had a fire going in the fireplace that kept the house warm. The owners were accomodating during happy hour knowing that we had children. They provided kid friendly appetizers and drinks along with adult appetizers and drinks. Breakfast also was outstanding. The kids were happy. It snowed at night and in the morning the whole area was covered with fresh snow. We would have stayed another night but schedule didnt permit it. Definately stay again.


Sweet Escape...

3.8 on January 11, 2012

We stayed at the off-site Woodside Condo after a long day at China Peak. When we arrived at the Elliott House, George (the owner) was waiting for us with keys and instructions to get to the condo.... and fresh baked brownies! The Condo was perfect for two people. We brought up food, and cooked dinner in the newly remodeled kitchen. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. Before checking out, we had already decided that we would be staying with the Elliott’s again. This condo was perfect for two people, given the size and layout; we would not recommend four people in that space. And they description mentions a bbq on the back patio. We were expecting a full size bbq, but it’s just a little smoky (weber). This was a bit of a hassle, but we made it work. All in all... We will definitely be staying here again.


unequaled service

4.8 on November 22, 2011

The Elliotts are the best. Breakfast can't be beat. The cookies and home made sweets are to die for


Mountain Luxury

5 on November 02, 2011

Wonderfully relaxing weekend with great food and terrific weather.


Weekend Getaway

5 on October 23, 2011

My wife and I decided on the Elliott House because we wanted something intimate and special. We did not want a sterile generic stay that you get from resorts or upscale hotels. Elliott House delivered. The main house in which we stayed had only 3 rooms so the time we spent in the house was quiet and comfortable. Our hosts were attentive but not intrusive and the food they prepared was right on the money. Having a cookie jar available 24-7 was a wonderful touch and the afternoon wine was terrific. I have to mention also that breakfasts were exceptional. We will definitely be back. Thanks Elliott House


Nice place to Stay.

3.6 on October 19, 2011

It was a great get away for the weekend. The food was really good. The room was okay. The bed had a mattress that sunk in the middle, and the floors we noisey. We had a great time though and will go back for sure. Probably stay in a diffrent room other than the Sugar Pine Suite. Thank you Elliott House for making our first nights as husbad and wife one to remember.

Innkeeper Response
Our B&B was custom built over 60 years ago and features the original oak floors, which can be a little squeaky at times upstairs. It is part of the charm for some. On your next visit you might want to check out two of our other spa suites, Cedar and Sequoia. They too, like the Sugar Pine, feature feather beds, jetted tubs and fireplaces. Built just five years ago though we believe those cherry wood floors won't make a sound underfoot. Thank you for bringing the mattress to our attention. You are the first to point that out. We want all of our guests to have a restful night's sleep.


Elliott House

5 on September 07, 2011

Our breakfast omelet was the best one we've ever had and Joanne gladly shared her secret . . . A wonderful, relaxing time.

Innkeeper Response
I still recall you telling me that it was the best omelet you've ever had. That was quite a compliment! It still puts a smile on my face. Glad you enjoyed it!


Thanks again!

4.6 on September 06, 2011

I have spent many weekends at the Elliott House. Greg and Joanne always make my stay very enjoyable. The food is to die for. I would recommend this place to anyone! All the best, Ted


Wonderful Weekend Away

5 on August 28, 2011

We spent a couple of nights in the Sequoia Suite and it was a treat. Greg and Joanne are thoughtful, gracious hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we entered their home. The appetizer tray was different each evening and the breakfasts were amazing. If you want to get away, be spoiled and feel relaxed from the moment you walk up the stairs, this is the place to stay.


Elliott B&B in Shaver Lake, CA

3.2 on August 21, 2011

We enjoyed the location of our accommodations, at Drake's Landing, although it was a drive to the dining area.


Cute house

4.0 on August 04, 2011

The Elliott house B&B was a very nice place to stay. The owners are very attentive and helpful and the breakfast is delicous . If there is anything we did not like it is the very busy road running right in front of the B&B. Other than that is is perfect!!!


Great Experience

4.6 on August 01, 2011

We recently rented the Woodside Condo for 2 nights and it was fantastic. Great accomodations at a great price. Very clean. The pool and spa were also very convenient, clean and perfect for the kids. When renting the condo, no breakfast was included (which is fine), however, that should be made more clear up front.


Almost Perfect

4.8 on July 24, 2011

Everything was great except the wifi connection in my room was poor, almost unusable. The staff said that they would look into why the connection was so bad, but nothing ever came of it.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comment regarding our free WIFI access. We normally have a very clear and stable signal here at the B&B. We wonder if you chose the nearby signal from the hotel across the street rather than our network. No password is required to access their signal. If that was the case that would explain the weak signal you were picking up in your suite here. As for our staff not responding to your concern, we totally apologize. We pride ourselves in customer service and guest satisfaction. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.


June 25 and 26 2011

4.4 on July 12, 2011

Our room at Elliott House B&B was an outstanding place to stay for a great weekend at Shaver Lake. The Loose Goose room was cozy and private. The king bed was big and fluffy with lots of pillows. The bathroom was all marble and very nice. We really liked all of the materials used in the construction of the room/bathroom. The only thing the room needed was a couple of valets for our suitcases or a chair or table - there was a big empty space - for the roll-away-bed I'm assuming - that could have accommodated a chair and small desk or table. The hosts were very kind and although we didn't eat at the B&B (we're vegan) the owners were making breakfast when we checked out and everyone in the dining room seemed to be very happy and it smelled and looked great! Also, back at our room at Drake's Landing, the shared living room area was really comfy and cozy too with nice sofas and a dining table, a small refrigerator, a coffee maker, and dishes, silverware, etc. All very well done!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your input on the Loose Goose at Drake's Landing, one of our off-site suites. Since you stayed with us we purchased luggage racks for our guest's convenience. That suite features a king bed and when the single rollaway is needed it's a little tight to add much additional furniture. We want to make sure there is ample space to walk around between the two beds when both are needed. As you mentioned, the common area right outside the door is comfy with a sofa, two leather chairs, dining table, etc., plus outdoor seating. You might want to check out the 5 suites here at the B&B for your next visit. All of them have sitting areas in the suite. Most have fireplaces even. As for your special dietary needs, we would have been happy to offer you a vegan breakfast if we had known. Next time...


What a gem !!

4.8 on July 12, 2011

The Elliott House was a perfect respite for our 29th Anniversary. We've stayed here many times over the past 10 years and always find it as comfortable as home. The owners go out of their way to provide special touches of hospitality. And what a beautiful setting. Thanks Elliott House!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your comments and thank you for the privilege of spending your 29th Anniversary with us here at the Elliott House B&B. Hope to see you again. Remember, we always have a discount for returning guests.


Best July 2011

5 on July 08, 2011

Greg & Joann are the greatest, they not only make sure your stay is comfortable but also help with visiting the local sites and places to eat.


Gracious, Comfortable, Professional Hospitality & Excellent Food

5 on June 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stopped here after climbing and camping for a week and we could not have been more pleasantly surprised. Greg is professional and the perfect host...we were immediately impressed with him and the surroundings. Ship-shape and super clean and yet so warm and inviting....we felt like we were with family. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was the perfect, romantic place to land and recharge. Easily one of the best bed and breakfasts I have been to in the world! We will be back, and also suggest it to our friends and family. Many thanks. :)


Honeymoon at Elliott House

4.8 on June 15, 2011

We spent four nights at the Elliott House B&B for our honeymoon. The Cedar suite was clean, cozy and elegant with fantastic natural light during the day. Breakfast was increadible. Afternoon wine and cheese was delicious and a great oppertunity to chat with other guests all of whom seemed equally as thrilled with their stay. It's obvious Greg and Joanne really take pride in what they do. Sincerely Jordan and Micaela


A Jewel in the mountains

5 on May 19, 2011

My husband and I decided to get away for our 10th anniversary and The Elliot house turned out to be the perfect spot! Although we were set for spring ( not expecting snow) the Elliots went out of their way to help us find something fun to do (since hiking and canoeing wern't really options) they contacted their good friend Dick who owns Dick's Fishing Tours. We limited out on Kokenee Salmon and had so much fun w/ Dick! But that's another story..... We've stayed in may B&B's and can honestly say that this was probably one of the best experiences we've had. Reason being; This place is warm, cozy and elegant w/out being stuffy. Greg and Joanne are increadibly warm and friendly but not intrusive. And Yes....The Food is Top Notch!


A little gem!

4.6 on May 15, 2011

My fiance and I had a wonderful stay at Elliot House. We stayed in the Cedar Suite, it was everything we expected and more. Greg and Joanne were so friendly and welcoming, they gave us great advice for where to eat and get around. Breakfast was such a treat every morning, we were spoiled for choice and everything was just delicious. I would definitely recommend a stay here.


Cozy mountain getaway

4.0 on February 25, 2011

My sweetheart and I visited Elliot House on a spur-of-the moment "let's get away for a few days" decision. We stayed in the Sugar Pine suite, passing up an upgrade to the Sequoia suite which would have been a bit more spacious, with a nicer fireplace and an elegant four-poster bed, but which lacked the double jacuzzi in the Sugar pine. We were both exceedingly satisfied with our Bed and Breakfast experience: the bed was very extremely comfortable, and the breakfast (caramel apple blueberry pancakes with bacon and fresh fruit) was magnificent. Greg and Joanne were gracious hosts, who provided a level of service I had not seen since leaving Japan. I heartily recommend Elliot House, and will stay there again the next time I am fortunate enough to visit Shaver Lake again.


We love Elliott House Bed and Breakfast

5 on February 02, 2011

Not only do we love the cozy experience of the Elliott House Bed and Breakfast but Greg and Joanne are the best Innkeepers and hosts. Definitely a 5-star resort nestled in beautiful Shaver Lake. A wonderful stay after a day of skiing just 15 minutes from China Peak! Johnny and Holly Nickell Check out their Facebook page too! http://www.facebook.com/elliotthousebandb


awesome atmosphere!!!

4.6 on January 12, 2011

the decor and friendliness of the host and hostess were outstanding


Amazing Stay!

5 on January 04, 2011

Best B&B ever! Service was amazing, food was incredible, ambiance unbeatable. Definatly recomending to my friends and family, definatly going back again.


We cant wait to come back!!

5 on January 02, 2011

Every detail of our stay was perfect!! The room, the service and the food!! Cant wait to come back. We,so much enjoyed the conversation with the other guests and with Joanne and Greg, felt like we were with family, and the service was like we were family, warm and inviting!! We'll see you soon for another wonderful snow Holiday!! Roni and Steve Wilbur and family!!


Thanksgiving getaway!!!!

4.2 on December 14, 2010

The Elliott house B & B exceeded our expectations in every way.We were thrilled at arriving to a couple of feet of snow but the suites were breathtaking.Each suite was carefully decorated and clean beyond words.The common room was perfect for lounging in the evening ,sharing a glass of wine and playing board games.We have travelled and stayed in many B & B's in the US and Canada and I would place this one at the top.We plan on staying again the next time we are visiting the area.Thank you again for making our weekend so memorable.

Innkeeper Response
Whenever we receive a review that is as complimentary and warm as this one, it reminds us of why we decided to become innkeepers and bed and breakfast owners. Simply put, it is our guests who make our days. Thank you to them.


Business trip

4.2 on December 06, 2010

I had a wonderful stay, the only reason I put met for dining was I made the decision not to have to eat.


sorry we missed the hosts

2.8 on December 01, 2010

No desk staff on premises after 6pm. No microwave, no way to heat food. Nice fridge with small freezer shelf, and a Coffee pot to heat water. We could not control heating vents, so room got too hot. Room is tiny. Bed is comfy. Shower is hot and strong, shampoo and conditioner are very nice. Warning - you need tire chains available at all times. They had 3 inches of snow in one day, a few days before Thanksgiving. You need to know the way before you head out. Long winding road was very foggy, and some roads in the valley were detoured due to flooding.

Innkeeper Response
We at the Elliott House B&B in Shaver Lake welcome and appreciate all feedback from our guests about their stay. We thank this guest for their review and have addressed some of the issues stated. We do close up after 6:00pm when we finish our wine hour. The guest are able to reach us via phone if a problem arises as we are close by the B&B. Each evening we heat water available in a pump thermos for our tea and hot chocolate drinkers, plus in-suite coffee service. Our inn sitter forgot to explain this to our guest, for which we apologize. The majority of our rooms have gas log fireplaces with thermostats, with the exception of the Ponderosa Suite that our guest had reserved. The room is central heat and because of the cold snowy night we set the temperature up a little higher than normal. We have addressed the 'too hot' issues by resetting the thermostat to a slightly lower setting and again thank out guest for their input. In closing, Shaver Lake is at 5,700 feet elevation and receives several feet of snow during the winter season Upon receiving guest reservations we always remind everyone to either have 4-wheel or bring chains. We also accommodate 2-wheel drives with a large flat parking lot located across from the B&B. We again thank our guest for their feedback and look forward to their return visit for a returning guest discount of 10%. Thank you. Joanne & Greg Elliott, Elliott House B&B


Wonderful Hosts

4.6 on November 03, 2010

I cannot say enough about The Elliotts! They make you feel so welcome from the moment you step in the door. It feels like you are long lost relatives coming in to visit. The food was spectacular - we had the baked blueberry French toast...YUMMY. Thanks for a great time.


ELLIOTT HOUSE - SHAVER LAKE

3.4 on November 01, 2010

The rooms were lovely. However, I didn't sleep well, and woke up all stuffed up from an allergic reaction. I didn't realize until after check out that the feathers could have been removed prior to my arriving.

Innkeeper Response
We apologize to our our guest for their allergic reaction in our room. We do advertise that each suite has goose down comforters and mattress pads. For those allergic to goose feathers, and upon request, we will change out the suite and replace with non-allergenic bedding. Our apologizes again to our guest and along with our 10% discount for returning guests, we will be happy to change the bedding to accommodate their needs. Joanne & Greg Elliott. Owners/Innkeepers


Elliott House is, for the most part, top notch.

3.6 on September 09, 2010

The Elliott House is probably the nicest lodging you'll find in this part of the Sierras. The room decor is excellent (most rooms contain a single-person jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace) with high quality flooring/tiling/accents; the landscaped garden -- complete with small running fountains -- is charming and visually stimulating; and the food is scrumptious -- from the breakfast to the afternoon hors d'oeuvres and cookies. As far as bed and breakfasts go the Elliott House is top notch. (And I'm a bit of a bed and breakfast snob.) Room for improvement: 1) the couple who runs the place, while great at operations, has room to grow in their customer relations. One morning my bf and I were 10 minutes late to our breakfast seating time and they'd already closed down their breakfast bar (which contained the cold side dishes like fruit) -- we were, however, served our hot entrees. Even if we HAD gotten there right on time, what if we'd wanted a piece of fruit 10 minutes into our meal? Also, check out time was at 11am and at 11:10am we were sitting/reading on our front porch, completely checked out of our room with keys inside the unit, killing half an hour before a noon horse-back ride down the way. We were asked to scoot to another area of the B&B which was weird...the next check-in wasn't until 3pm. (And we'd told the owner we were only killing a half hour of time.) Guess they really wanted us out of their way. 2) I think the bed mattresses need to get replaced...ours sunk down a bit in the middle. Overall a great stay so long as you're not expecting any of those hospitality intangibles.


Absolutely incredible place!

5 on March 08, 2010

We’ve just recently had a wonderful stay at The Elliott House Bed and Breakfast located in Shaver Lake, CA.¿ It’s so refreshing to stay somewhere where service is everything. Greg and Joanne Elliott are passionate about making sure you feel welcome. They tend to your every need – they are the perfect host and hostess. The rooms are gorgeous. We stayed in the Sequoia Suite, it was quaint, charming, and beautifully decorated – just perfect. The wine and appetizer evening was wonderful and the breakfasts’ are absolutely delicious. They even prepared a special breakfast to meet our dietary needs. The Elliott House is memorable, lovely, special, unique, and truly wonderful. We look forward to staying at The Elliott House again very soon. -Keith and Helen Herzog


Thank You Greg and 'Joe'

5 on February 28, 2010

We have stayed at your house several times but this was the first with the boys. We look forward to our next trip!


First Bed & Breakfast Experience

5 on January 05, 2010

Our experience in Shaver Lake was one of the best that anyone could ask for. We stayed at the Drakes Landing Bed & Bites, associated with the Elliott House. Our room was the Crazy Loon, which featured beautiful decor, a peaceful and romantic atmosphere, and most of all it was emaculate! Our hosts, Joanne & Greg Elliott, were extremely helpful and made our experience very personal. It will be hard to stay at a regular hotel after our stay at this elegant and charming B & B. Matt & Ashleigh Santa Barbara, CA. 2010


beautiful place

5 on December 10, 2008

Beautiful place, terrific people. Loved the moose decorations!


The perfect B&B made a perfect weekend

5 on November 04, 2008

Our stay at the Elliot House was wonderful. The room was clean and well decorated, the cooking was to die for, and the location was perfect. Greg and Joanne were very friendly. We will definately be back.


we would go back!

4.0 on November 03, 2008

we were looking for a nice place to get away and this was the place! food was good, the hosts were great. we really enjoyed our stay!


Love the Elliot House!

5 on October 31, 2008

I can't say enough great things about this B&B. Everything about it is excellent, it feels like a piece of Europe in the mountains. Joanne and Greg are the best, making everyone feel at home!


Elliott House

5 on October 28, 2008

The most charming and accommodating B&B. The food was terrific, the guests were wonderful, but the hosts were the best!! We didn't want to leave. :)


Wonderful

5 on October 13, 2008

What a delightful place to get away. The rooms are so homey and the food is gourmet!


Nice Getaway

5 on September 29, 2008

Greg and Joanne were very friendly and informitive with the stores and dinning around there. The room was very comfortable and felt like home. I would recommend or go back for sure. Very relaxing great getaway from the kids.


Elliot House

4.0 on July 14, 2008

Like home, everything was clean & comfortable. Walking distance to shops & food.


Gift from our kids

4.2 on July 08, 2008

What a great gift to have stayed in this B&B. The food was outstanding and our room was very comfortable. Enjoyed the jacuzzi tub! Thanks much!


outstanding

5 on June 18, 2008

now i know how good red wine and chocolate cookies together are!


Just what I needed

5 on June 04, 2008

I had gone to Shaver to spread and sprinkle the love of my lifes ashes. It has taken me two years to go back to Shaver with all of the special memories. I made the trip to do that and staying at the B&B added the warm touches I needed at that time.


A favorite B&B

5 on March 23, 2007

Greg and Joanne are wonderful hosts, and the B&B is well-maintained and quite comfortable. Greg is an outstanding cook, and a must is the afternoon wine & snacks.


Elliott House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $239
  • Reviews (81) 4.6
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8888418601
  • Fax 1-5598418601

Visit Website »

View details

Top