Vine Hill Inn B&B Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
53 Reviews

Write A Review

Sonoma Wine Country weekend

4.4 on December 01, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Vine Hill Inn because of its proximity to the Marimar Winery, where we were attending an event. First visit, and we loved it, as did the couple that stayed with us. The owner, Kathy, is a genuine and interesting person to talk to. She sat with us at every breakfast and gave us two great dinner recommendations for the two nights we were there -- she knows everything about the area. The rooms are small but comfortable, the breakfasts were fantastic -- even my picky eating wife enjoyed everything. We will be back.


Wonderful Place!

4.4 on November 12, 2013

Vine Hill Inn is a cute B&B with nice views and a cozy atmosphere.


A stay in the vineyards

3.8 on October 07, 2013

The rural Sebastopol and Graton area is one of our favorite places to be and staying at the Vine Hill Inn immersed us morning and night. The porch and deck provided views a mere yards from the adjacent vines, and at night star filled sky visible without city light to interfere. Our Laguna room included an outdoor balcony with two chairs and table, ideal for sip of wine we forgot to bring. Next Time!


September stay at Vine Hill Inn

5 on October 07, 2013

Great visit and location- friendly and accommodating staff!


Wine Taster

3.4 on September 30, 2013

This is a cute B&B with a great location in the middle of the Russian River wine region and close to Sebastopol. Bathrooms have tubs only, no showers.


Go for the room, but stay for the food and hospitality!

4.4 on August 28, 2013

Kathy is a wonderful hostess. Warm, welcoming and very helpful. And she cooks a wonderful breakfast! The room was slightly small, and the bathroom might have been a bit more private. Nonetheless, overall this was a wonderful stay. Our next visit to Sonoma will no doubt be spent again at this special place. . .


Outstanding!

5 on August 20, 2013

This was one of the best. The innkeeper was candid and professional and genuine. We were included the entire time we spent in the B&B. When you go, enjoy the clean, refreshing pool. Breakfast was uncomplicated and considerate to allergies featuring fresh eggs from the chickens in the barn. I personally like rustic breakfasts. Here, a psychotic chocolate zucchini bread brought all the guests to heaven! Breakfast conversation went for nearly an hour. The local wineries are amazing and much more relaxed than other area wineries to the east. Do not miss the wineries the B&B recommends. Best of all, the property is soooo beautiful and lush. And it is close to everything, including wineries and the local downtown. Biking is popular with extensive trails. I would make sure that you stay two days here with one sunny poolside afternoon.


Lovely B&B

4.6 on August 16, 2013

This was our second stay with Kathy. The rooms are charming, quiet and she is so welcoming. We feel right at home. Her breakfasts are outstanding. Thank you, Kathy.


Fun Getaway

3.6 on August 07, 2013

Great innkeeper, interesting guests, lovely breakfast.


Pleasant!

4.6 on June 25, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the two night visit. The inn, the proprietor, and other guests were most charming. I would definitely stay again.I was completely comfortable!


Wonderful inn & inn keeper with fantastic pool!

5 on June 12, 2013

Wonderful stay with a wonderful inn keeper. The pool in the back is the best part!


Wedding Night Stay

5 on June 06, 2013

My fiance and I chose to stay at the Vine Hill Inn for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Do to a hectic day of before the wedding, we both forgot to actually check into the Inn, however, upon arrival, there a written note on the door congratulating and welcoming us, along with which room was ours. The following morning the owner had a wonderful breakfast prepared for all of the guests, and even opened some champagne for us. My wife and I really enjoyed our time there, and we both recommend a night at the Vine Hill Inn if you are in looking in that area.


Sebastapol BB

4.0 on May 24, 2013

4 night stay in a lovely home over 100 years old. Ambiance and Kathy are fabulous. Beds comfortable and the place well kept. Lovely setting among vine yards. There are 4 rooms, only two have showers. The others a tub without a hand shower. This should be updated. Until it can be done, guests should be informed.


Decent accomodations close to wineries.

3.6 on February 20, 2013

The rooms are on the small side, and some have sloping ceilings. Not a problem if you are very short, but for average-size folks, watch your head. The owner, Kathy is very nice. The garden is lovely, the neighborhood serene. About 5 minutes from downtown Sebastopol, and less then half a mile to the nearest winery. In a world where 2 night minimums are required on weekends, it was nice to find a place that allowed for a single night's stay.


Valentine's Day Perfection

5 on February 18, 2013

Our stay was for only one night, but we wish we could have stayed longer. The Inn has an old homestead quality without being fancy; the parlor had a library to suit everyones taste, private deck off the bedroom which would be perfect in Spring and Summer. Kathy was terrific in every way possible and treated us more like family than as guests at an inn. She whipped up a tasty and hardy breakfast consisting of French toast, scrambled eggs with cheese (wet or dry or whatever we wanted), gourmet bacon, fresh fruit and yogurt. Kathy joined us for breakfast for a stimulating conversation. A perfect jumping off place to explore the wine country. Peter and Toni Klein


Cosy, movielike, very romantic little place.

4.8 on September 22, 2012

We stayed there only for one night, but it is so beautiful that it is worth to stay there longer to use it as a basis for exploring sonoma wine county.


Nice but a bit over priced.

4.0 on August 30, 2012

Kathy was great and the breakfast delicious.


A great place to stay

4.6 on August 21, 2012

My wife and I had a great time at the Vine Hill B&B. Kathy is a great host. We brought our dog with us after calling Kathy to ask for permission. He's well trained and gets along well with our chickens so it was not a big deal. She let us take a bunch of apples from trees on her property. We enjoyed our trip and stay and highly recommend it!


Peacefull

4.8 on August 16, 2012

Kathy was the most gracious hostess. I can not wait to go back.


Very friendly B&B

4.2 on August 16, 2012

My new wife and I stayed with Kathy on our honeymoon for two nights. We had a wonderful and comfortable stay. Kathy's breakfast is fantastic and she is very helpful and welcoming. Look out for 'Boots' her lovely cat.


CA Trip

4.2 on August 04, 2012

The B&B owner (Cathy) was very hospitable and friendly. The location and accommodations were outstanding. The rooms, food and personal attention exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.


we really felt at home In the midle of the Wine yards

4.6 on July 25, 2012

a very cosy inn, with a very kind host. wonderfull suuroundings and lovely animals.


Charm and Local Knowledge

4.2 on May 09, 2012

The proprietor of this inn is wonderful and made all feel welcomed and at "home." She is very knowledgeable of the area, including hidden local gems.


True Hospitality

4.6 on May 03, 2012

Thank you Kathy, again, for a really wonderful three nights at Vine Hill Inn. Thank you for your wonderful breakfasts, thank you for indulging my beautiful grandchildren, and thank you for the pleasure of your company. I can't imagine a better B&B experience. You make it look easy. We can't wait to come back.


A Great Birthday

4.8 on April 18, 2012

My husband surprised me for a birthday getaway. It was a nice, relaxing time and better than I could have expected. We enjoyed the tubs in the room, vineyard walks, a quiet home and great service. Thank you for a great trip. It was very memorable.


A good choice in Sebastapol

3.4 on February 12, 2012

This is a nice location in among vineyards just outside of town, and the house is interesting with a hostess who suggested excellent places to dine we never would have discovered on our own. Even better she joined us for breakfast for a wide ranging conversation, leaving us with a much better appreciation for the area. Although the web site does not mention it, she will allow well-behaved dogs, and she has chickens, a horse and such on the property, adding more interest.


Thanksgiving

4.0 on December 03, 2011

Having family in Sebastopol, when I come down with my Daughter, we usually stay at the Marriott. (More to my 20's somthing daughter's liking.)When I called for reservations, they were full! I had enjoyed a stay at Vine Hill Inn in the Summer of 2010 and was glad to find a room still available. Altho the proprietress was off having her own family Thanksgiving, her delightful nephew Chris filled in superbly. I'll be back (sans Daughter) when I can!


A Charming B&B

4.2 on November 14, 2011

The Inn was charming, and the setting was spectacular. Our room was small but certainly adequate. Our host Chris could not have been more helpful. We enjoyed visiting with him and learning about the area. I would most definitely recommend the Vine Hill Inn to anyone who wants a peaceful, relaxing experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there,


This B&B is wonderful!

5 on November 03, 2011

Loved this B&B! Chris was wonderful.. Charming! My husband's first B&B. Great weather, good suite mates. Would highly recommend!


A breathtaking-view-of-vineyard B&B in Sonoma County

3.0 on September 08, 2011

If you love animals, you get to interact with the owner's chickens, brown goat, and horse at the barn next door. If you like wine tastings, there are several vineyards that is within a walking distance from the B&B. If you want to sunbathe, they have a pool for you to soak in. If you love apples, you can go to next door and steal an apple or two. This is the place where you want to escape into!


Great B&B, somewhat expensive

3.6 on August 04, 2011

Nice room even though small, great service but perceived somewhat expensive.


Vine Hill Inn B&B - Great Place to Stay!

5 on July 25, 2011

Kathy is the quintessential host always catering to the comfort of her guests. Kathy’s gourmet breakfast will set you up for a day of touring in the area. The pool is refreshing and perfect for a morning swim before venturing out for the day. The grounds are serene, and lovely for sipping some wine on the shaded porch in the late afternoon.


Vine Hill B&B

4.4 on July 25, 2011

The B & B is beautiful and the owner Kathy is amazingly friendly and helpful. We would stay here without question!


Wonderfully Relaxing

4.0 on June 16, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Vine Hill Inn. Kathy, the innkeeper, is delightful and her breakfasts are delicious. The inn is comfortably cozy, and the surrounding environment bucolic. We hope to return.


Good time in Graton

4.0 on June 15, 2011

Liked the place, and the breakfasts were fabulous. Also appreciated the tip about a good walk to take nearby. Rooms were a little small, but I realize there's nothing to be done about that. All in all, very good!


Vine Hill Very Comfortable and Friendly

4.2 on June 07, 2011

Our one night here was very comfortable. Kathy was personable, helpful and friendly and she serves a killer breakfast! Thanks for a wonderful stay! Diane and Steve


Country at it's best.

4.6 on May 07, 2011

The Vine Hill Inn was a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Kathy, the innkeeper was very knowledgeable and gave us great ideas of what to do. The room was cozy and quiet and breakfast was the best on our trip!


Perfect Sonoma Stop

4.2 on March 10, 2011

We had a dinner at a winery a short distance from the Vine Hill Inn. The Inn was a recommendation of the winery. It was the perfect location. The rooms were quiet and Kathy who runs the Inn made the stop seem like home. The breakfast she prepared was perfect. We have already recommended her Inn to a number of friends who visit wineries in the area and we will definitely stay at the Inn when we are spending the night in the Sonoma wine country.


Wonderful Winter Getaway

4.4 on January 03, 2011

Had a lovely time, Kathy is a wonderful and gracious host. Would definitely go back again, though in warmer weather so we could use the pool! Especially enjoyed her kitty Boots! Delicious breakfast! And yummy Marzipan cookies in the evening!


Great stay!

4.6 on November 17, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at Vine Hill Inn. The views of the vineyard and rolling hills are fantastic; the home is historic and quaint; and Kathy is a friendly and gracious hostess. Breakfast was delicious and Kathy accomodated our dietary restrictions with pleasure. On the downside (but only if you're looking for extreme privacy): the B&B is old, with small rooms, so don't expect to be able to completely escape from other guests. This wasn't a problem for us as we were on a trip with family, but I could see it being an issue for a romantic weekend. We had a great stay and will return when in West County.


Awesome, quaint, lovely place to stay!

4.0 on October 26, 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was a bit smaller than the photo on the site made it look, but it was very cozy. I would highly recommend the Vine Hill Inn to anyone looking to stay in the Sonoma area.


Comfortable and Congenial

3.0 on September 27, 2010

Excellent host who shared the history of the B&B and provided excellent information about the area. Reasonable price given the time of year and relative costs of other accommodations in the area. We felt quite at home and welcome.


Ah relaxation!

4.6 on September 27, 2010

For us, the service was the best part which includes the wonderful breakfast we were served.


Okay and less than okay

1.6 on September 09, 2010

Good: setting, grounds, clean, thick towels, bathrobes, nice soaps/shampo Less than good: Though the pool is touted in the brochure and it was a hot day, the innkeeper never showed us the grounds nor invited us to use the pool. She walked ahead empty-handed past the living room (were we welcome there?) to show us to our room, and we followed, carrying our luggage ourselves, Once upstairs, we decided not to take our assigned room, which had only a jacuzzi but no shower, so once again we picked up our luggage ourselves and followed her down the hall. The room we had, though small was fine, but the bathroom is definitely for one person at a time. There was only 1 glass, a motley collection of hangers (2 dry cleaner's, 3 plastic) hung helter-skelter on the wall (no closet), and remains from previous guests (papers in a drawer, pins on the counter). The next morning, I was looking forward to the "full gourmet country breakfast" as described in the brochure. Another bad sign in the dining room--artificial flowers. We started with one hard, dry waffle (extra, left over from the earlier departing guest?) to share while she made another. Syrups were served directly from bottles w/ sticky necks/caps, yogurt and fruit salad had to be put on or next to the waffle because there were no bowls, and the self-serve coffee was from a pump canister on a separate counter w/ sugar/cream/etc.there also. The only service was delivery of waffles and sausage slices.to the table. The innkeeper sat briefly to have breakfast with us and the other couple who arrived later (and got freshly cooked waffles...?) and shared her waffle w/ the still-hungry gentleman by handing it to him. In the guest book in the room, other guests wrote positive comments. I didn't write anything because based on our experience, for almost $200, our anniversary stay was extremely disappointing.. I would neither return to nor recommend Vine Hill Inn.


Home away from home

4.4 on July 30, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Vine Hills Inn. Although we only stayed for one night, we felt right at home and will definitely be back. We were instantly welcomed by Kathy, the owner and Inn keeper. She made us a reservation at a local restaurant in town (after making several wonderful recommendations) and we also exchanged some stories and life experiences. It was cool to get to know her. The pool in the backyard is warm and relaxing. We enjoyed some wine and dipped our feet in as the sun went down. After dinner we came home and we quietly sat on the screened in side porch for a while, enjoying the moonlit vineyards that surround the property. We stayed in the Laguna room. A lovely and spacious room with a private balcony. The bathroom was attached with a large jacuzzi tub (however no shower in this room). Washing my hair in the tub was ok for one night, but I think I would have preferred a shower for a longer stay. I believe two of the other rooms do have a shower though. We awoke to the smell of cooking bacon....yum!!! So we moseyed downstairs to the dining room where we were greeted by Kathy, the other guests and a beautiful breakfast! After noshing on blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit, bacon, coffee and juice we sat and enjoyed the conversation and company of our new friends! I felt like we were sharing breakfast with family, it was cozy and intimate. After breakfast we took a stroll through the vineyards with the Inn cat, Boots. She followed us everywhere (needless to say we are cat and dog people). We loved the cool breeze and the warm sun as we soaked in the incredible beauty of the hills, vines and apple trees. Kathy also has goats, chickens and a pony! There is a lot to wander around and see! I was truly sad to leave. Felt like we were saying goodbye to family after stopping in for a night! We will be back for sure, and we will probably bring friends with us next time. T/R M.


Wonderful weekend

5 on July 27, 2009

Cathy at the Vine Hill Inn treated us to one of the best weekends ever. The location is charming - right in the middle of wine country, and as soon as we arrived it was like visiting with an old friend.


Wonderful Experience

5 on January 19, 2009

Truly personable, comfortable and homelike in a positive way, the service is impeccable and what a wonderful place to experience nature!


Great inn!

4.2 on December 29, 2008

Charming property and very friendly innkeeper.


Sweet and Savory

4.2 on July 23, 2008

Sweet, cozy rooms and savory breakfasts at this quaint inn on a vineyard. Kathy, the innkeeper, was very helpful & friendly. A great place to star our honeymoon.


Honeymoon in the vineyard

4.2 on July 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed in this quaint little bed and breakfast for the first two nights of our honeymoon. Very romantic & cozy. Views of the vineyard were amazing. Enjoyed the jacuzzi in our room, the yummy breakfasts, and Kathy, the friendly innkeeper.


Perfect

3.4 on June 10, 2008

Just what you would expect paradise to be.


Intelligent Luxury

5 on June 02, 2008

Views of vineyards, splurging fountain, homemade breakfasts with eggs laid 50 yards away and a thoughtful, gracious innkeeper to host...A+!


We love this place!

5 on November 16, 2007

Kathy is just the most wonderful host. We've stayed here a number of times, and we feel like family. Whatever we want for breakfast, whenever we want it. Wonderful view and grounds. Very clean lovely rooms. Highly recommended.


Vine Hill Inn B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $180 - $200
  • Reviews (53) 4.3
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7078238832
  • Fax 1-7078241045
Top