The Parsonage Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
22 Reviews

Write A Review

Highlight of our trip!

5 on November 06, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 days at The Parsonage and have nothing but great memories. The only problem is my wife now wants our home to look like The Parsonage. Super nice folks. Recommend it highly. From Louisiana.


B&B At Its Best

5 on July 26, 2012

The Parsonage has everything needed to make it an outstanding B&B - an interesting and beautiful landmark building, gracious and friendly hosts, attractive and comfortable rooms, wonderful food, and a location convenient to tourist and business destinations. As icing on the cake, Joan and John are genuinely helpful as well as friendly, and there is a elevator from the ground floor up to the rooms, not a usual amenity in a historic preservation site.


LOVED it 110%

5 on February 22, 2011

An amazing rare jewel in the city. we loved staying here and can't wait to come back again and visit, this will be the only place we will stay at in SF when we come here again. The home is stunning and he hosts, Joan and John are amazing people. This truly is our home away from home.


Best Bed and Breakfast - EVER

5 on September 08, 2010

The Parsonage is a one of a kind Bed & Breakfast! We opted for a b&b instead of a hotel and this was our best vacation choice. Joan and John are wonderful hosts, not to mention amazing gourmet cooks. Who braises pears and serves them with pomegranate sauce and fresh blackberries? That was before the wonderful crepe served freshly prepared for my husband and self. The food was great, but our room was fabulous. In addition to our fluffy down bed, we had an antique day bed, loveseat and desk in our room with views of San Francisco’s City Hall and the Transamerica building. Our bathroom was marble and heated towels surprised even my husband. Our two night stay seemed like we were in the City for days. Upon leaving, Joan said “You always have a home in San Francisco.” I believe that— and we can’t wait to return.


Gorgeous, fabulous innkeepers, friendly, gourmet breakfasts !!!!

5 on July 26, 2010

The Parsonage is one of the best Bed & Breakfast locations that we have stayed in as we travel around the United States. The decor is beautiful with antiques throughout the home and in keeping with the historic beauty of the building. The guest rooms are comfortable and lovely with wonderful adjoining bathrooms. Joan and John are so welcoming and make you feel more like family than guests. John is a superb chef ,and each morning the breakfast is worth waking up for with a bowl of fresh fruit, coffee and tea at each place setting with the most beautiful china. Both Joan and John are extremely knowledgable about the city, restaurants, and events happening in their area and throughout San Francisco. Public transportation is a couple blocks away and Joan has many connections with private transportation companies to pick you up and deliver you to the airport or other destinations. I love their hospitality, have stayed there twice and will be there again next year. The pictures say it all.


Exquisite--highly recommended!

5 on July 17, 2010

Very convenient for business travelers (bus to the Financial District and Moscone Center stops outside the back gate). But it's the experience when I'm not working that I most love about The Parsonage--warm and witty hosts Joan and John; large, light-filled rooms; big, thick towels warmed on a towel warmer; a bit of brandy of an evening; the most comfortable beds with the most beautiful linens; a delectable full breakfast timed to get me wherever I need to be without a rush. All in all, a wonderful value--not the least expensive place, but worth every single penny.


Quiet, elegant comfort at The Parsonage

5 on April 19, 2010

My fiancee and I spent two nights at the Parsonage to celebrate my birthday. I can't think of a better place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, elegant, very comfortable place in the city. Joan and John are fabulous hosts; friendly, warm, welcoming and engaging and they serve an excellent breakfast. The Inn is beautiful and the McRoskey beds gave us the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. Joan suggested we buy one for ourselves as a wedding present which I plan to do! You will love this restful and beautiful place to be!


Outstanding

5 on April 14, 2010

Grace and warmth welcome you by the two hosts who look after guests with an interest and congeniality I have never before experienced. I was in SF on business and it was the perfect respite from hectic days. Exceptionally clean, and furnished tastefully with antiques this B&B offers a view of life as it might have been. All kinds of amenities including a great bed,heated towel rack in marble bathroom no detail seems to have been overlooked.I would recommend this highly.


A Great Place to Stay in SF

4.6 on November 16, 2009

We stayed at the Parsonage early November 2009. John, Joan and Pilar (the dog) were excellent hosts. It was like staying with family. The room was wonderfully appointed with it's own fireplace. The house is centrally located near Market St. and the bus is litterally "just outside". The house is incredible with a fascinating history. Yummy breakfasts, comfy beds, meet nice people all in classic San Franciscan style. We'll definately stay there again. AM & RW.


Our stay was remarkable

4.8 on September 08, 2009

Our stay at The Parsonage was remarkable, exceeding our expectations. Not only is this magnificent Victorian home furnished with beautiful antiques and the Tetrazinni room spacious with a comfortable queen-size bed, its proximity to public transportation could not have been better with bus stops for three lines a few feet from the front door and the Market Street streetcars, buses, and subway only a couple of blocks away. Our innkeepers, Joan and John, were gracious hosts who served delicious hot breakfasts with fresh fruit, coffee/tea, juice and newspaper in the morning and also offered brandy and chocolates in the evening. We enjoyed being at The Parsonage and plan to return next year.


The Parsonage: A Real San Francisco Gem

5 on May 15, 2009

I loved my stay at The Parsonage and hosts Joan and John could not have been more gracious. My stay in the "Tetrazzini Room", overlooking the trolleys below, was a real pleasure; luxurious mattresses, plush comforters, thick luscious towels with soothing towel warmer. An elegant historical home in an accessible but quiet central location, and the hosts are well-traveled and knowledgeable, happy to steer you to anything in San Francisco you might have overlooked. Just one example of the wonderful breakfasts served in the graceful dining room: French roast coffee, juice, sourdough waffles with fresh strawberry topping and rashers of crispy bacon -- along with a New York Times. Another plus is Pilar, the gentle Portuguese Water Dog, who is a perfect temporary companion. The Parsonage is exceptional; I will happily recommend it to anyone traveling to San Francisco.


Sanctuary in the City

5 on April 04, 2009

I have been visiting San Francisco since the late 1970's usually once or twice a year and for the last 16 years or so The Parsonage has been my base of operations for exploring the City I love. John and Joan, the Innkeepers, have become good friends and continue to amaze me with their own love and knowledge of The City along with their hospitality, comfortable accommodations and delicious breakfasts. Centrally located near multiple public transit options it has proven to be a great base of operations for exploring my favorite S.F. haunts: North Beach, the Mission , Golden Gate Park, the Haight and downtown to mention just a few. I can't recommend The Parsonage strongly enough as a great option for the San Francisco novice or the experienced visitor seeking to bask in real San Francisco ambiance. P.G. Denver, Colorado


LOVED IT!

4.0 on January 17, 2009

We had a great stay. The beds were so comfy, we went down the street to the Mccrosky and ordered our own king size set! Joan and John were awsome as were their home cooked breakfast. We will go back first chance we get!


Luxury, warmth, and comfort

4.0 on November 24, 2008

The Parsonage is more than an Inn - it is an Ultra Satisfying Experience: it's beautifully appointed, the breakfasts are superb, and the beds the most comfortable in the world. The hosts, Joan & John, dispense warmth, good cheer, and all the local information and advice you could ever need. Comfort is the operative word here!! There are many great reasons to visit SF, but for us, a stay at The Parsonage is the top of the list.


A simply stunning place to stay

4.0 on October 28, 2008

The Parsonage was by far the best bed & Breakfast experience i have had so far. Joan & John the innkeepers are great people who know the city like nobody else. They always have some great insider advice even for people who already know the citty quite well. Teh 4 room and the house are stunning on the inside, great architecture, unbelievable antiques and lots of art make this heart a rich cultural experience... and the breakfast was simply amazing as well!!! Two big thumbs up for this warm and friendly place to stay in the heart of San Francisco.


Wonderful Place, People and Pets!

5 on August 14, 2008

My boyfriend and I researched B&Bs in San Francisco for weeks before settling on The Parsonage, basing our decision on great reviews that mentioned strong coffee and elaborate breakfasts. This being our first trip to San Francisco, as well as the West Coast, we didn't quite know what to expect. Joan and John, the Innkeepers, and of course Pilar, their Portuguese Water Dog, left as great an impression on us as the city itself. We slept so well on their incredibly comfortable mattresses, ate so well (a different cooked breakfast every morning and we were there for a week!) and had the pleasure to spend some time with our insightful and fascinating hosts each day. The house itself is filled with gorgeous furniture and antiques, even the breakfast table settings are handmade and unique. Staying in Hayes Valley was very convenient to everything touristy, but far enough so you don't feel like one. There are many wonderful restaurants within just a few blocks from The Parsonage. We felt so welcomed and well taken care of, we cancelled a trip to Monterey to extend our stay. We cannot imagine staying anywhere else on our future visits!


Aug 2008 Stay

3.2 on August 13, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in early August. The facility is very nice and in a great location, central to everything in the city. My only compliant is that the inn keepers did not really go out of their way to be at all accomodating. Our first morning, we were out early to run the SF marathon and on our second morning we had an early flight. We made them aware that we would not be able to sit for breakfast on either morning, and for $200 per night, I would have expected them to at least have set the coffee maker or set out a muffin or breakfast bar..but nothing....they offered to make coffee the night before and allow us to microwave it...I agreed to this, but they didn't even do this for us....probably better places to stay in SF.


Haight Elegance

4.8 on July 16, 2008

This Victorian home is an architectural and design delight with all the original details intact and lovingly cared for. Guests are also lovingly cared for by charming hosts who provide a wonderful breakfast. The central location makes for easy access to the major attractions.


Wonderful bed and breakfast in San Francisco

5 on February 29, 2008

I just spent four delightful days at The Parsonage, a wonderful Bed and Breakfast in San Francisco. The Parsonage is a lovingly restored and meticulously maintained late 1800's Victorian on the corner of Haight Street and Laguna. Innkeepers Joan Hull and John Phillips are warm and gracious hosts, with a real knack for making guests feel completely at home. Both are gourmet cooks, and John's breakfasts are delicious, including French roast coffee, fresh fruit, and entree treats like sourdough waffles made from a family recipe. The Parsonage is well located near a variety of public transportion options and within walking distance of the Hayes Street shops and restaurants. A stay at the Parsonage is a real treat!


our magnificent B & B San Francisco visit

5 on November 18, 2007

I had spoken with Joan while booking the reservation and upon our arrival she knew better than I what would room would fit us perfectly!! We were intrigued with the quality, history and beautiful presentation represented at The Parsonage in San Francisco!! The hosts were warm and welcoming and not in the least obtrusive! But very informative! Also Joan & John were very familiar with what was going on in the city and how to get to transportation that would take you there...willing to oblige all of your wants and whims! I couldn't possibly give it more thumbs up in recommendations to strangers, family and friends!


An A+ Establishment

5 on August 28, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed 5 nights at The Parsonage in July. Joan and John were wonderful hosts--friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable. We enjoyed getting to know our fellow guests over delicious breakfasts. It's an easy walk to many good restaurants. We have recommended The Parsonage to our family and friends.


This is the B&B in SF

5 on May 27, 2007

My husband, two young adult daughters and I stayed 5 nights at The Parsonage. Great location for getting around the real San Francisco, warm and caring service without being intrusive, you will feel like a locals immediately. Breakfast in the dining room around a large round table, fireplace and great victorian decor will take you back in time. Reasonable prices. We will be back.


The Parsonage

Details

  • Nightly Rate $220 - $260
  • Reviews (22) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4158637722
  • Phone 1-4158633699
  • Fax 1-4158634422
Top