Inn On Castro Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
136 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely, lovely stay

4.8 on April 02, 2013

I stayed at the Inn for a week while doing some research in SF. The location is unbeatable if you want to be near the Castro and with easy access to all public transportation. Jan is a true delight, and the breakfasts were delicious each morning. The rooms are also nice and quiet, stocked with sodas and water (though the ones in the basement are not designed for tall people). The decanter of brandy was a wonderful touch as well. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. My only small critique was that our coffee pot had not been cleaned out, and so it actually had a little mold in it, and we also did not have coffee in the room, as the container was empty. But with fresh coffee for breakfast, this latter point was not really a big deal. On the former point, this seemed to be a clear anomaly.


Friendly, comfortable B + B, great location

4.4 on February 21, 2013

The Inn on Castro has comfortable rooms a friendly atmosphere and REALLY GOOD breakfasts. The innkeeper is helpful and fun to talk to. Although it caters mainly to a gay clientele I didn't feel uncomfortable at all as a straight woman staying there alone. The location can't be beat if you are interested in the Castro area. I was visiting my brother and his husband who live nearby and found the location very convenient . It is near public transportation and lots of cafes, restaurants and stores of all kinds. My only complaint is that the water in the shower was warmish at best. The room I stayed in was small, the Queen size bed took up 80% of the space but that didn't bother me personally since I was there alone. It might be tight for two people. The other rooms may be bigger if that is an issue for you. The bathroom was also small but again that didn't bother me. Everything is super clean and comfortable and attention is paid to all details. I totally recommend it and would love to go back.


Gem in the Castro

4.6 on October 18, 2012

I was in town recently to speak for a workshop and decided to arrive a few days early to enjoy the area. Staying at the Inn on Castro was a delight. The property is clean and friendly, located in a great spot, and very reasonably priced. I will stay here again.


Best hotel/inn/B&B in SF!

5 on August 15, 2012

Everyone, including the guests were so nice. We got to sit and meet people during a delicious breakfast. Seriously, THE BEST BREAKFAST. It was quiet in the inn, but was so close to all these great restaurants and night life. I will stay here every time I am in San Francisco!


An open-minded, cozy place with style!

5 on July 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent three lovely nights at this adorable B&B, and we were so glad we did! We stayed in the quiet, cozy and eclectic Hideaway Suite, with access to a beautiful garden patio and breathtaking views of the city and the Castro. The infamous gaybourhood needs no introduction. It's safe, beautiful, and open to all! The Inn On Castro's lovely host Jan was such a treat! He welcomed our vegan diet and lifestyle with open arms and treated us to such tasty and creative meals! You'll get no boring continental breakfast here! Some highlights: vegan "egg" salad on a bed of arugula, swiss chard sauteed with roasted hazelnuts and a raspberry reduction served with soba noodles, spicy and savory seitan, and delicious fruit salad. Jan was also very helpful with advice on getting around the city. He knows his neighbourhood and his city well and is happy to help out! The Inn has the perfect combination of artistic pizazz, comfort, cleanliness, and class. We loved it, and hope to return! :)


Pleasantly surprised by the Castro!

5 on August 15, 2011

We are a young couple in town for the Outside Lands Festival. My b/f and I were trying to decide btwn the Mariott, a hostel, or a B&B; ultimately deciding to go for what looked like the more "unique" experience :) We found the Inn on Castro and booked the double-bed room on the 2nd floor. The room had an amazing view, the carpets were soooo plush, our pillows were super soft, everything was spotless clean, AND there was a flask of brandy in our room! The host, Jan, went above and beyond w/ his friendly smile, assistance in navigating and picking out places to see/eat/etc, and especially his breakfasts. Jan serves the best breakfast in San Fran!!! He boasts a state-of-the-art espresso machine, makes home-made breads/muffins every morning, serves a huge bowl of fresh fruits, organic granolas, various egg dishes whipped up from scratch, and amazing pancakes/waffles/french toast..... WOW, what a place. We absolutely loved it there and will definitely return again!


The perfect home from home

4.4 on April 08, 2011

With only 5 rooms in a Victorian house, it really did feel like I was staying someone's home. Jan the landlord was very helpful and sociable. Literally one minute's walk from Castro! My room was spacious and light with great views. Thank you, will definitely stay here again.


A great B&B in SF

4.6 on February 18, 2011

We stayed here in January 2011, and will definitely stay here again. The place was clean and charming and well-located. The proprietor, Jan, could not have been more welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts were over-the-top, and served family-style so you could chat with other guests if you wanted to do so. This is a wonderful place, which we hope stays in business a long, long time.


Inn On Castro

5 on December 19, 2010

Jan was so welcoming and so helpful. I would return tomorrow! His breakfasts were delicious.


Inn Love on Castro

5 on November 13, 2010

The Inn on Castro is as magical as the city that surrounds it. The host is charming, helpful and serves an exquisite breakfast. For a true San Francisco experience I highly recommend resting your head at the Inn on Castro.


Friendliest B&B I've been to

4.4 on November 11, 2010

The inn was a really nice friendly place. Jan was super and very helpful. Breakfast was always fun with meeting new people and actually coming away with new friends. I would highly recommend it to anyone.


Very good b&b

4.2 on October 25, 2010

Enjoy our stay of 4 nights in July. Best breakfasts. Good ambiance. Nice innkeepers especially Jan ! from Phil & Gill (Paris)


20 years after...

4.6 on October 23, 2010

20 Years after Nothing has changed. Such a nice place to stay for visiting SF ! Jan is Always so "prévenant". It was a "grande expérience" to my friend to stay in this B&B. He did'nt want to back home... So see you soon at Inn On Castro.


Wonderful stay in San Francisco

4.4 on October 12, 2010

If you are looking for a happy, friendly spot to hang your hat in S.F. try a stay with Jan at Inn on Castro. Great food, clean soft sheets every day, a brandy at night, a warm greeting , and so convenient.


A treasure in Castro, San Francisco

5 on October 04, 2010

It is rare to experience such a hospitality. Openness and feeling of "home" as you do here! Amazing breakfast, fantastic location, great rooms and the host is so cool. Not the last time we have stayed at Inn on Castro! Highly recommended


Inn On Castro

4.0 on September 14, 2010

Incredibly personal and hospitable,..did not feel we were staying in a hotel, but a warm home. Met and enjoyed the guest,.. Great Breakfast.


Great atmosphere, great service

5 on August 03, 2010

The inn is very well located in the Castro, it is very clean, well furnished and maintained, super breakfast and super host. Extra tips for visiting are offered, such as restaurants, tours to make, real insider tips. All in all, such a pleasant stay and I'll be happy to return at any time.


Inn on Castro

5 on July 23, 2010

Excellent, excellent as always. We have been staying at the inn for 20 years and love it.


What A Wonderful TIme!

4.4 on July 22, 2010

My partner and I had a wonderful time at Inn on the Castro. Jan, our host, was just so accommodating even with all of our "nagging" questions! The location is just incredible; you walk out the front door and there is Market Street and the Castro with wonderful shopping and eating locations just steps away. Would definitely return!


Great Location! Great Facilities!

4.8 on July 04, 2010

When planning my stay I wanted a cozy, warm and comfortable place to stay in. I ran accross the Inn on Castro and after further investigation in their web site I decided to book a room. The Inn on Castro is also so charming and the breakfast was indeed amazing. The staff was friendly and very helpfull. Definetly a place I would return and recommend it if you are travelling to San Francisco


San Francisco Theater Vacation

4.6 on June 25, 2010

Highly recommend The Inn on Castro for its location and service. Jan is the consummate host having run this B&B for 31 years. Met all our needs except the neeed for more time to enjoy it better.


How to Unwind in a Relaxing Way

4.4 on June 16, 2010

All the way from reception to departure, Jan was an excellent host. Clean, spacious room, great hospitality and a perfect, ever-changing breakfast. An absolute highlight of the Castro district.


Wonderful

4.0 on June 16, 2010

Excellent and personal service. Really enjoyed our stay. Breakfasts are unforgettable!


delightful!

5 on June 03, 2010

extremely chic and clean. always lots of fresh flowers. the owner cooked us yummy breakfast every morning. our sheets were always fresh. our view was perfect (in the upper brown room). walk outside directly into castro shopping and food and bars. next time i visit SF i am going to try a different room!


Better Than Home-Away-From-Home

5 on May 03, 2010

At home I don't have lovely innkeeper Jan to welcome me and help plan my day, I don't have a room facing gorgeous SF houses and the Castro district, and I don't have a delicious, fresh feast every morning! Third visit here now and I'll be back again.


Wonderful Inn

4.0 on April 29, 2010

We stayed in the Patio suite and the Red room. The rooms were fitted out to the highest standard and the detail was great. From tissues to Brandy and the mini bar soft drinks were all included. Breakfast in the breakfast room was the best ever. A full breakfast was provided with all food home cooked. The location is great for the Castro and easy connections into Downtown. I've stayed in many hotels and Inns , this by far was the most comfortable and really was home from home. Will always want to stay there and defintely recommend this Inn too all my friends and family.


Home Away From Home

5 on April 15, 2010

This inn is really charming and conveniently located at the heart of the Castro. Rooms are cosy and the breakfast service is delicious. Service is outstanding.


haimish

4.6 on March 28, 2010

warm, relaxed, cozy, and the best breakfast ever!


Pleasantly Surprised

4.0 on March 22, 2010

Recommended by a friend. Great location! Stayed in white room with private bath. Daily breakfasts were delicious. I would definitely stay here again.


Inn on Castro Review

5 on March 22, 2010

Lovely place to stay. Wonderful innkeepers, comfortable intimate rooms, with proximity to everything via the local transportation. Definitely I'd do this again (and yes, the beds have posts and we used them). My furry friends were very happy.


First Time, Great Impression!

5 on March 22, 2010

I've never stayed at a B&B before, and I was very impressed! Very comfy and friendly. Jan was as nice as could be. Will definitely be back!


Very Nice!

4.0 on February 24, 2010

Nice place, nice house, very nice people, very nice room and a tasty breakfast!


Relaxing Stay

4.2 on February 24, 2010

I've just flown in from the UK and started my holiday here. It was great to relax, and be looked after while I got over jet lag, and planned the next part of the holiday.


Warm Welcome at Inn on Castro

4.6 on February 11, 2010

A very intimate, personal and pleasant atmosphere. Jan, the owner, gave us lots of tips, and made an amazing, healthy breakfast every morning!


Raves for the Inn

5 on January 13, 2010

Bright, cheerful, warm and irresistably hospitable, the Inn is the most welcoming of accomodations in the Castro District.


Ambiance on Castro

5 on January 13, 2010

The ambiance of a place of accomodation is determined by the individuality and in particular the style applied by the innkeeper. The casual elegance of the Inn on Castro is charming as is Ian, our host.


You have to experience to believe

5 on December 18, 2009

Great location amazing property. Would definitely be back.


Danisch Women In SF

5 on December 16, 2009

Very nice place, just like being at home. Excellent breakfast.


Quiet, yet close to everything

4.6 on December 16, 2009

Excellent breakfast, wonderful staff that can answer (almost) any question. A good place to stay while you explore gay San Francisco.


Charming in all ways

4.6 on December 16, 2009

An excellent San Francisco location with an expecially charming host. Even the smallest room in which I stayed, was a great deal and a good sizze. I would happily return.


Inn On Castro

3.8 on December 09, 2009

I chose the Inn on Castro because it is a short walk from market and the center of everything in the Castro dist. Close to the public transport and easy to get to. Staff are always friendly and helpful.


Fantastic find

4.8 on October 27, 2009

Than you for making our trip so comfortable in S.F. The conversation with guests from all over at breakfast was only rivalled by the great food. Don't miss a chance to enjoy all the comforts of home.


Simply amazing

4.6 on October 14, 2009

Clean, friendly, wonderful breakfasts, fresh fruit always a home away from home!


Our new home away from home in SF

4.8 on October 08, 2009

A lovely Victorian B&B straight out of "Tales of the City" that makes you feel lke you're home, not a tourist. Accommodations are comfy and clean, breakfasts are excellent, your host Jan is witty and fun and full of great suggestions. We'll be back!


Great experience & value

4.2 on October 07, 2009

Comfortable, welcoming, convenient and a great value. Breakfast was a treasure -- both the food and the conversation.


French Guys in Castro

5 on October 03, 2009

We stayed three nights on the Brown Room in the beginning of september and it was simply wonderful. The room was clean and very nice. The service was more than great. The breakfast was delicious. Moreover, the host is simply the nicest guy we have ever met. When we'll come back to San Francisco, we are sure to come back at Inn On Castro !


Absolutely fantastic!

5 on October 01, 2009

Warm, welcoming. Great character house. Fabulous breakfast. All the amenities.


Absolutely fantastic!

5 on September 30, 2009

Warm and inviting. Great character house. Fantastic breakfast. All the amenities.


Charmed -- I'm sure.

5 on September 30, 2009

Amazing breakfasts, charming host with stellar city knowledge. Fabulous location, well-appointed rooms with every amenity. I'll be back!


Wonderful

5 on September 30, 2009

Best B&B in san Fran


Exceptional

5 on September 30, 2009

This is an extraordinary B&B. The host, the room, the food well beyond my expectations!


Home from home!

4.0 on September 23, 2009

Aside from being very comfortable rooms, beautiful surroundings & an amazing location, what really set this place apart was the gourmet home cooked breakfasts round a cozy table which really brought the conversation of everyone -- friends to dine with every morning!


The best place ever

5 on September 23, 2009

Saved our trip. Super nice people, helped us find the good spots in SF. If we come back to SF we will for sure stay at Castro inn again.


Frequent Stays Over Many Years

4.8 on September 21, 2009

I've stayed at the Inn about twice a year since 2003. Prior I stayed at another B&B in the Castro, but it's not the same. The conversation over breakfast, the wonderful greetings and the fun atmosphere always get me to return. Enjoy the breakfast!


Best B&B in the Castro

4.2 on September 17, 2009

Great location for those looking for a B&B in the Castro. Rooms are clean, well furnished, and there's a wonderful cooked breakfast every morning. Very friendly host Jan, who has lived in the Castro for over 30 years and can share the history of gay SF, for those who are interested. Better value, better location, and more hospitable than the Parker.


We did not want to go.

5 on September 07, 2009

We stayed five nights in the White Room with a spectacular view. The room was spotless and the staff were very professional and attentive. The guests who ate the artfully prepared breakfast at the oval table were internationally aware and in sync with the unique nature of the neighborhood, just a two minute walk from the front door. The owner and staff offer a level of service rarely seen in a gay owned bed and breakfast and we cannot wait to return again.


Inn On Castro

4.2 on September 01, 2009

perfect location, nice house, excellent breakfast, nice staff. Clean!


Home away from home in San Francisco

5 on August 23, 2009

I have been staying at the Inn on Castro twice yearly (except for 2008) since 2006, most recently this month and Jan and the staff have become like family. I've stayed in five of the eight rooms and all have been beautifully appointed and each has its own character. The breakfasts are fabulous and the company around the breakfast table make the meal a highlight of the day. I hope to return many times more.


An unexpected gem

4.6 on August 18, 2009

Perfectly situated in the buzzing Castro district, with the F tram 2 minutes away to explore the city. This boutique and homely inn gives a warm welcome to weary travellers to San Francisco. Our third visit. we would not go anywhere else. The owner had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. The details made all the difference. Breakfasts were memorable with a variety of home cooked dishes served at a communal table, surrounded by orchids. We travel a great deal and it is rare to find such a gem.


Magical stay at Inn on Castro

5 on August 18, 2009

From the moment we arrived the first class service began. With well laid out bedrooms, plenty of real hand towels in the bathroom and the offer of a complimentary glass of wine at any time we felt at home. Beautiful breakfasts free and a glass of brandy at night. We were treated like kings.


great service

5 on August 07, 2009

Fantastic breakfast, comfortable rooms. All the great reviews online got it right! The central location with transportation at the door helps a lot!


A perfect place to stay

5 on August 03, 2009

We've been very comfortable with very kind hosts near the places we wanted to visit.


Untitled

4.4 on July 31, 2009

Our host was exceptionally hospitable. We felt like we were staying with an old friend.


Very pleased and not surprised

5 on July 28, 2009

I have never felt so comfortable and good about a place as I do with the Inn on Castro. The quality and attentiveness is remarkable from the staff services.


Relaxed, comfy, and down home

4.0 on July 21, 2009

My stay exceeded my expectations. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.


Perfect birthday treat

5 on July 17, 2009

My partner surprised me for my birthday with a trip to SF. We stayed at the Inn on Castro and it was perfect. Close to everything: rail, buses, bars, and great restaurants. Definitely stay there again!


the ebst

5 on July 17, 2009

5 star all the way! Inn on Castro sets the standard for world-class accommodations.


feels like home

5 on July 02, 2009

Clean, convenient accommodations with accommodating and informative staff. Great breakfast!!!


best B&B in SF

5 on July 02, 2009

Outstanding! highly recommend this inn with awesome breakfasts, that one remembers to return for!!!


A wonderful stay

5 on July 02, 2009

Excellent hospitality. Wonderful breakfast. Very warm and relaxed atmosphere.


home away from home

5 on June 30, 2009

Clean, comfortable, conveniently located with a warm and thoughtful staff- I love staying here!


Content in the Castro

5 on June 25, 2009

My parter and I stayed for the first time at this inn in June 2009. From the ambience to the wonderful breakfast, our friendly host made everything perfect for us.


Doesn't get any better

4.8 on June 09, 2009

This is a terrific find. With location smack at Market and Castro, you're 1/2 block away from Muni Station and right in the heart of Castro district. Beautiful rooms, attentive staff, fresh and delicious breakfast. No worries.


Inn on Castro

4.6 on June 05, 2009

The warmest welcome you could hope for an excellent customer service. A real home from home. Good alternative location to busy downtown. The stylish and cozy rooms would benefit from thicker curtains!


Great location, fantastic team

5 on May 26, 2009

My 5th stay at the inn and as much my reason for my return to San Francisco as the great city itself. Always the same sweet team and nothing is too much trouble for them. Try it, you will see I'm right.


great place, great breakfast

4.2 on May 11, 2009

Stayed at Inn on Castro in May 09 The Inn is in a lovely spot with great views from the rear room upstairs Breakfast is wonderful and the guys who run it are lovely It's like staying in someone's home - we were greeted with a glass of wine after a stressful journey through torrential rain - I can't recommend it enough


The place to stay in S.F.

5 on April 16, 2009

This is the fourth time I have stayed here- it's like coming home. The staff makes you feel like family, the breakfasts are delicious, the rooms comfortable and clean, and the location can't be beat!


once in a while "oh, my God!"

5 on April 13, 2009

filling like at home


wonderful inn

5 on April 10, 2009

This place is a real delight. Beautifully appointed and gracious hosts. Marvelous breakfasts!


Fabulous breakfast

3.8 on April 07, 2009

The breakfasts are unparalleled; Such a magnificent choice!


wonderful stay

4.6 on March 19, 2009

Welcoming, gracious, and comfortable- just a few words to describe Inn on Castro. Perfect location, excellent breakfasts; everything you'd want in a B&B.


Inn on Castro

4.8 on February 23, 2009

Bright, fun rooms, wonderful breakfasts, fantastic conversation with warm, friendly host. Lots of fun in the Castro. Enjoyed stay greatly!


A spendid inn!

4.8 on February 20, 2009

Delicious and filling breakfast, warm staff, great rooms, and a location that's tops! This is the place for an authentic experience of San Francisco!


A wonderful place

5 on February 04, 2009

very charming rooms, and excellent breakfast.


wonderful time

5 on January 28, 2009

wonderful hosts, wonderful guesthouse


amazing place

5 on January 28, 2009

comfortable, friendly, ideally located. Everything was perfect. Good deal. wonderful breakfast


Quaint stay in the city

5 on January 28, 2009

Excellent B&B. Try the Patio Room!


wonderful place to stay

4.8 on January 22, 2009

I stayed at the charming apartment on caselli. It is well located, neatly decorated and very homey. a fantastic place to come home to.


a lovely spot

4.8 on January 22, 2009

Had a lovely stay in this beautifully pre-owned B&B guesthouse. Rooms comfortable and homey and nice touches, such as ipod player, chilled water and soft linens. On Castro St, but quiet and peaceful, but still near everything. Right on the car route into town, good location for local cafes. and the breakfast was superb!


Excellent relaxation

4.2 on January 14, 2009

I've stayed here almost 10 times, and in a foreign city, as a single traveler, I feel relaxed and secure. The people are warm and considerate. I will be back!


nice stay

5 on January 14, 2009

nice stay


Our 6 days of Christmas

4.6 on January 12, 2009

Gracious hosts, exceptional food, and attention to detail; a pleasant surprise of cleanliness, amenities, and comfort. Great location, too!


Ecxellent San Francisco Inn

5 on January 12, 2009

The Inn on Castro is a warm, welcoming place in a great location. My husband and I have stayed here twice and look forward to returning. The decor is lovely and the breakfasts are outstanding. A great place for a SF visit!


comfortable attentive hospitality

4.8 on January 09, 2009

I so enjoyed this well-located comfortable inn. I stayed in the small room with shared bath and had a wonderful stay. I will return.


Inn on Castro

4.2 on January 09, 2009

nice stay


great location, but...

2.4 on January 03, 2009

We stayed in one of the houses (88 Caselli St) and this was a return visit. Good stuff - great location and fun to live on a street and have our own front door! Very peaceful, spacious living room with a well equipped kitchen. Not so good - poorly furnished with a bed that was only accessible on one side, and small uncomfortable sofa. No handles or latches on the bathroom door, so the spare toilet roll was pressed into use as a door stop, non-working phone, etc. We remembered from the last visit how thoughtful it was to put some basics in the fridge, so disappointed it didn't happen this time, and the heating wasn't switched on till the following day. Also - some of the details on this site are wrong (like the discount offer) and though the owners said they would rectify these they haven't some 3m later. All-in-all a good venue for a break away from it all, but the property could do with a little attention.


Great Place to Stay

4.0 on December 30, 2008

Stayed here for Christmas 2008, after a very long flight from the UK, it was great to arrive at a place and made to feel at home straight away.


A wonderful anniversary

5 on December 18, 2008

Your kindness and service was more than any major hotel could aspire to. This was the perfect anniversary getaway! Thank you!


retreat from hustle and bustle

4.6 on December 18, 2008

Friendly location- great breakfast. I'm taking the whole place home with me!


Delightful, Perfectly Located, Great Staff

5 on December 17, 2008

I come up to San Francisco about twice a month and have been staying here almost every time I am in town for the last year. The staff is incredible and you can't beat the location and value. I find it very hard to believe that anyone would have something bad to say about any of the staff. I have dealt with them all and they make me and the other guests feel like this is our home away from home. Breakfast is always fresh and delightful and the proximity to nightlife and great restaurants is unbeatable. I am always excited to come "home" to the Inn.


relax and enjoy

5 on December 09, 2008

amazing! bed/room delightful. great location. superb service!


Visit SF

4.2 on December 09, 2008

very pleasant environment, great breakfast, lively neighborhood.


Excellent Castro stay

4.8 on December 01, 2008

first class can't recommend this stay highly enough excellent and comfortable


You must stay here!

5 on December 01, 2008

The Inn on Castro is a perfect choice! Perfect service, perfect rooms, and perfect breakfast. A great location conveniently located for both business and holiday.


great stay

4.8 on November 14, 2008

Returning to this inn is always a joy. There are a lot of memories you can take from here, and the breakfasts are just one.


Review of Inn on Castro

4.6 on November 14, 2008

This was the highlight of my entire accommodation experience of the 5 weeks I spent traveling around North America. Fabulous room with fabulous views, great, friendly, helpful staff and owners. Very central location. out of this world breakfasts!


very nice place to stay

4.8 on November 14, 2008

relaxing, comfortable bed, cozy surroundings and well placed/located. I would definitely recommend it!


over the top

4.6 on November 04, 2008

The inn is over the top of excellence in: friendliness of staff and guests; delicious, gourmet breakfasts; helpfulness; high standards for cleanliness; and a quiet atmosphere in the back of the house.


Sweet times in San Francisco

5 on October 30, 2008

Just an overnight in the big city by the bay, but what a treat a night and breakfast at the Inn On Castro makes it. Wonderfully decorated, sumptuous tasty breakfast and warmly hosted. It's a must stay in this city!.


perfect stay

5 on October 30, 2008

the rooms were excellent, breakfast delicious and plentiful, very friendly, helpful service, and it is right in the middle of all the fabulous Castro life. highly recommend.


Inn on Castro

4.6 on October 30, 2008

friendly, clean, good location


Inn on castro

4.4 on October 27, 2008

A little place, person and cozy. We will come back! we will recommend it to all of our friends.


stay at the inn

4.8 on October 24, 2008

excellent welcome, accommodations, and breakfast. our 2nd visit and NOT our last!


just like staying with friends

4.4 on October 22, 2008

nice and cozy, well situated, close to nice bars, restaurants, and communications.


Review

4.0 on October 13, 2008

Fantastic service and location - Great local knowledge and very helpful. I will be back again and will recommend to others.


Greatest B&B!

5 on October 07, 2008

Bryce & I have been coming to the Inn on Castro for almost 20 years - It's like coming home. Our hosts are fantastic Innkeepers & great guys! Te breakfast is outstanding & we always meet very interesting other guests.


Magical

4.8 on October 07, 2008

We always have a wonderful time when we stay here. The staff is great, food delicious, rooms are nice. We enjoy here.


Inn on Castro

4.2 on October 07, 2008

Fabulous! Comfortable, friendly, wonderful. We will definitely be returning.


Disappointing

1.4 on September 17, 2008

My partner and I had a very disappointing experience at this B&B. We faced the following problems: 1. The advertised prices on their web site are very misleading – and despite bringing this to their attention, they remain on the website. 2. Breakfast is served around one table with other guests. This is ok if you don't mind, but I think that you should be informed about being expected to eat with another 10 people prior your booking. There is no privacy at breakfast. 3. Never book rooms that have no photo on the website as there is a reason for this! The yellow room is incredibly dark, small and claustrophobic. The so-called 'Hideaway' doesn't even have a window!! 4. We were overcharged by over $500. The Innkeeper apparently did not realise that we had paid a large deposit prior our arrival. He also charged us a random price that did not even fit the bill. However, when we raised this issue, the innkeeper took 3 days to sort this out and was incredibly rude and hostile towards us, never apologising and implying that it was our fault for not realising. He stayed this way with us for the rest of our stay. 5. If you are booking for more than three days, expect to be served the same breakfast every day. Some days we were not even offered a proper hot breakfast. 6. After spending $1880 at the Inn on Castro, the Innkeeper did not even bother to say goodbye to us. 7. This was not a personal clash; we noticed that Innkeeper David is incredibly rude to other people too.


Excellent as usual

3.6 on August 20, 2008

Combines old fashion service.


Excellent in Every Way!

5 on July 25, 2008

Thoroughly enjoyable. Clean (very). Excellent service. Great local knowledge. Nothing seemed a problem for Jan or Andrew. Would definitely recommend and stay again


Will Be Back...

5 on July 25, 2008

Love the great hospitality and support that Inn on Castro has offered. Very detailed introduction was given around SFO and the neighborhood, very very helpful for me as a first-timer in the city!! I enjoyed a lot and Inn on Castro's worth every penny I paid!!


Come on Inn

4.8 on July 15, 2008

There is not one area where I could not give nothing but great praise to the Inn on Castro, everything was delightful and the service, breakfast and room are 100% amazing!


Inn on Castro

5 on July 14, 2008

Great accommodations, peaceful, close to public transport, excellent breakfasts & staff friendly & informative about local area. Highly recommended.


The perfect B&B

5 on July 07, 2008

this is a charming old house with lovely and comfortable rooms - all with modern conveniences. The host & staff are very nice & considerate and they know San Francisco very well. Breakfasts are really outstanding - and organic, too!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on July 07, 2008

Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable accommodation. Fabulous breakfasts.


Just Great

5 on June 30, 2008

There's actually nothing to review as everything was just wonderful. Lovely rooms, equipped with everything you need and more, delicious breakfast. Very friendly staff. Excellent!


The Best of San Francisco!

5 on June 24, 2008

Beautiful atmosphere, wonderful hospitality, best breakfast! Ideal location with the best view in SF!


EXCELLENT

5 on June 19, 2008

Excellent accommodations and SUPER breakfast, brandy in room. Clean - cordial - friendly - good location.


netter than home

5 on June 11, 2008

very warm, friendly, impeccable service. prefect location, homemade breakfast(delicious). great bed and rooms, open-minded, lovable owners. recommended to all life lovers.


One Word! Excellent

5 on June 11, 2008

Everything was great - the hosts, the room, the food, the wine, the location, and the clean, well appointed rooms! I'll be back.


Great

4.8 on May 30, 2008

Great


Front Provence to Castro

4.4 on May 19, 2008

Why leave the beautiful South of France? Just one reason: Enjoy the warmest welcoming hosts ever, the Castro area and its direct street car line to downtown San Francisco.


Great

4.8 on May 15, 2008

Could not have been better. Great accommodations and excellent and homey atmosphere.


Inn On Castro

4.0 on May 14, 2008

The spending in this house is a great help to know the real live in SFO. It does very well. Good support in routing to travel of sightseeing and other points of interest.


Good for couples, too

4.6 on January 05, 2008

My wife and I stayed Dec 26-27, 2007, in the room called "Bibliotheque," included a king bed, bay window, and private bath (see plaid bed picture to the right). The room was well appointed with the ceiling decorated in inverted straw hats. My wife was the only women during our stay, yet we both felt comfortable. The conversation was lively around the breakfast table talking with people from around the world about The City, the museums, and the arts. The service was much more than expected; my wife felt it was the nicest place we have ever stayed. And we would stay there again.


Inn On Castro

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $195
  • Reviews (136) 4.7
  • Rooms 8

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4158610321
Top