A Country Cottage Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.6
  • Services4.0
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Good location but freezing

2.8 on December 03, 2013

Had a chance to stay at the Country Cottage for four days. The price and location were excellent for San Franciso which is really expensive. I do have to say as soon as I showed up I was told to pay up immediately and not even shown my room at that point. It also wasn't clear how you confirm breakfast in the morning so I usually grabbed something on my way to the BART. The room was basic but you get what you pay for. My only issue is that it was freezing in the bedrooms and that made it a little uncomfortable. I have a feeling heat is not included in the price. Overall this is a good alternative to the very pricey hotels in San Francisco.

Innkeeper Response
You were right, it was freezing. After fifteen years we got this in San Francisco. All you should have to do to call us the next morning to give us a chance to correct temperature in our place. Our phone number is always in confirmation and in room info. As our apology, you are getting one night free by your next visit. Sincerely, Richard & Susan


Eine gute Empfehlung

5 on October 28, 2013

Super nettes Bed and Breakfast mit tollem Frühstück und sehr lieber Betreuung durch Annie. Die Verkehrsanbindung in die Stadt ist gut. Sandra und Michael


Comfy

4.6 on October 12, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Country Cottage. The blue shuttles at the airport will take you right to the door. Our room was clean and ready. The innkeeper, Erika was pleasant and friendly. She made breakfast every day about 8:30. We had the secluded room, downstairs. There are 2 other rooms downstairs and 1 room upstairs. There is a bathroom upstairs and one downstairs, but you can use either one. There are 2 sitting areas upstairs and a shared kitchen. The kitchen has a stove, microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator that everyone can use. There is free Wifi. It was a quiet residential street but very easy to get to public transportation to get around. I would suggest buying a public transportation pass at the airport. They have them for varied numbers of days and save money. We paid $22 for a 3 day pass- Oct, 2013. You buy them at the information counter. I highly recommend this B&B.


Very good value

4.0 on August 04, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the cottage garden B&B. Stayed for 3 weeks and tried out every room all very good but loved the garden room best. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Annie one of the hosts gave me information to local restaurants and helped me find a Dr when I injured my knee . Susan and her staff are very friendly and hospitable. Venue close to tram cars and restaurants and much more. Would go back again.


San Fran Vacation 2012

4.0 on November 17, 2012

Great location..Great value..Great Experience


Can't recommend enough

5 on July 04, 2012

We stayed at the Country Cottage in the Garden Room, and can't say enough good about the inn, the location, or the innkeeper Susan. The house was tucked away in super quiet location next to Dolores Park, in between Castro and the Mission district. About two blocks from the streetcar to get downtown, which we used several times. Close enough to downtown to walk, too, if you're a hearty walker. We went to a club in SoMa and left too late to get the streetcar (we thought - but one went by us at about 12:45), and walked all the way back in about 25 min, no problem. House was beautiful, clean, and in good repair. We were in the Garden Room, with a private entrance, which we used a lot, since we were coming in late at night. We were a little concerned with the shared bath since we've never stayed in a place that shared, but it was absolutely no problem. Room was comfortable, and bath was well supplied and clean. The best part about the place is the innkeeper, Susan, though. Other reviews said they never saw the innkeeper; although she wasn't there when we arrived, she had left a key and was available by phone - no problem at all. But she came both mornings we were there and made a fabulous breakfast while chatting, and giving us a wealth of information about the town, where to go, how to get around, etc. And was just a cool person to boot. After we checked out, she let us leave our bags when we left to rent a car, intending to come back in an hour or so. We ended up having a horrible experience with the car, leaving us stranded on the bay bridge, and then in downtown, for 7 hours. She had no problem letting us get our bags when we could, offering advice, offered to let us extend our stay, whatever she could to help. Definitely would recommend this place and will definitely stay here any time we go back!


Good value, great location

4.0 on March 20, 2009

This is a modest B&B in a fantastic location. It is a dead end street, very safe and very quiet. The bed was comfortable, breakfast was a hot meal each morning. The rooms could use some dusting but the house is well kept overall. Marie was wonderful. There are two small living rooms to hangout and you can use the kitchen. There are no owners or innkeepers living in the house so you are on your own. We would stay again. The neighborhood is fantastic - between Mission and Castro, close to Market and public transportation. There are four rooms and two bathrooms, shared. Friendly neighbors, easy walk to store, restaurants, park, bakery, etc.


Good spot in the city

3.0 on December 02, 2008

A Country Cottage has great access to the city. It's located in a nice 'hood with a great park and popular ice cream store nearby! It's quiet, for being in the middle of the city. I felt safe. It's convenient to all kinds of transportation choices as well. I intend to return.


Good deal in SF

3.2 on July 04, 2008

This is a fine B&B, nothing special, but it gets the job done in a city where everything is quite expensive. The bedroom upstairs essentially has a private bathroom, because the other three rooms downstairs all have to share one bathroom. (Not my first choice.) The breakfast is good and changes every three days. Can be a little bit loud at night with people coming and going. This is a good place to stay if not expecting anything luxurious.


Lage super, kann ich nur empfehlen.

3.4 on June 29, 2008

Es hat uns sehr gut gefallen, die Lage ist super, man kann abends zu Fuss zum Essen oder auch auf einen Drink gehen. Man ist schnell Downtown und bei allen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Es gibt 4 Zimmer, die sich 2 Bäder teilen. Dies war aber kein Problem. Würde allerdings empfehlen nur die Zimmer nach hinten raus zu buchen, da die beiden anderen nur ein mini Fenster zur Straße haben. Sind auch OK, aber für mehrerer Tage kommt man sich doch etwas eingesperrt vor. Service ist gut und nette Housekeeper. Es gibt keine Parkplätze, in der 17 th Street ist ein Privater und kostet 10 $ pro Tag, auf der Straße muss man alle 2 Stunden umparken. San Francisco ist aber auch ohne Auto hervorragend zu erkunden. Wir werden sicher wiederkommen.


O.K., but....

2.8 on June 09, 2008

Unfortunately tiny room (garden room) with squeezing and creaking bed. After all you are hearing every move of anybody in the house at every time. Extreme narrow corridor to the entrance (not quite comfortable if you carrying two suitcases. Friendly and obliging housekeeper from the Czech Republik.Additional quote for paying by credit card.


BEST B&B HIDDEN GEM IN SF

4.8 on May 12, 2008

A Country Cottage is the best bed and breakfast in which my wife and I have ever stayed as it is a great deal for the level of amenities, service and location, SERIOUSLY. It is at the end of a quiet and peaceful residential dead end lane less than a block away from Dolores Park and the two best eateries in San Francisco (Delfina Restaurant and Pizzeria and Tartine Bakery). Although the bathrooms are shared, there are only 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms so the bathrooms are almost always available for use, and they are extremely clean and tastefully done. The bedrooms are also great. I would recommend the garden room if you can book it as it has its own quiet outdoor patio and garden; however, the other rooms are also very nice. The free wireless internet is also very strong and always functional. Finally, Marie, the innkeeper, is extremely accomodating and very helpful with what to do and where to go and how to get around in San Francisco, especially over breakfast, which she cooks fresh every morning and is so good that it will fuel you until dinner!! You can't go wrong with a place of such value and with such wonderful amenities!!! Enjoy, and I wish we could go with you! (By the way, there is no parking but zipcar (zipcar.com) and citycarshare (citycarshare.com) cars are prolific and always available in the area, but make sure you sign up for a membership in advance.)


Third time is a charm

4.4 on May 08, 2008

A short picturesque walk to public transportation in the historic Mission District neighborhood steps from some of the best markets and Tartine Bakery make this B&B an excellent choice. My every need has been met by friendly innkeepers Marie & Eva. This is a simple, clean B & B, cell reception is not extremely efficient, a quick step out to the quaint French garden remedies that.


A Gem in the Mission District

4.2 on May 05, 2008

We have stayed at A Country Cottage three times, while visiting our daughter who lives in the Mission District. The B&B is an excellent value, probably because the four rooms share two bathrooms. The rooms are small but comfortable and there are two sitting rooms for guests. The street dead-ends near the B&B, so the location is quiet. Breeakfasts are varied and delicious. We love this place.


Simply a great place to stay in san fran

4.4 on March 13, 2008

A great place to stay if you're planning to visit the city, or visit friends and family. The bedrooms are small, but the location is terrific, yet quiet. A different breakfast each day. Very clean.


A Country Cottage

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $109
  • Reviews (15) 4.0
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4158990060
  • Fax 1-4158990060
  • Toll free 1-8004528249

Visit Website »

View details

Top