Little Italy Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
22 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely B&B

4.2 on April 26, 2012

I go to San Diego for business and Little Italy Inn is like a home away from home. It is very cozy and comfortable. The rooms are very clean and the staff is helpful and courteous.


A Return to Little Italy

4.6 on January 19, 2011

For the second year in a row, we made Little Italy in San Diego our destination for a long weekend in January. A lovely European-style B&B, a luxurious soaking tub, and a little wine & cheese make for a wonderful break! Ronda & Bob Branham North Las Vegas, NV


Comfortable and charming

5 on February 24, 2010

This Inn is a great find! After a long, grueling flight from Africa, we looked forward to a comfortable bed. The Inn boasts of more than comfort, it offers lots of charm and character. The location is great; 5 blocks from the waterfront, just off the I5 ramp, and 15 minute walk to the downtown area. All the staff are friendly, accessible, service oriented and always aim to please. Tastefully furnished rooms and common areas are clean and welcoming. The fresh flower arrangement in the foyer/lobby is always colorful and eye-catching. Breakfasts are more than adequate. Coffee, tea and ice-cold water available 24 hours in the lobby is a plus. We hope to return; I've already spread the word among friends & associates scattered all over the world.


First class service and style

5 on February 23, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Little Italy Inn a month ago and I have nothing but great things to say about this charming little place. First, we arrived quite late on a Saturday evening, well past the scheduled check-in time. We called ahead of time to notify the front desk of our late arrival, and despite the fact that the staff left for day, the manager came out of his way to let us in and make sure we were settled. The room itself was amazing. The decor was very nice and had a European Renaissance feel. According to the website each room has its own unique theme, which all tied in to the ambiance of the Inn. The breakfast was well above our expectations. There was a wide assortment of food from which to choose. Hard-boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, milk, juice, among other things, are all provided. The common area is also spacious enough for all the hotel guests to eat and relax comfortably, while at the same time, mingle amongst themselves and meet each other. The thing that stood out the most to me is the service they provided in assisting me with a problem. The day we checked out, I accidently left my cell phone in the room. I realized that I had done this while I was in the airport flying out of San Diego. When I called the front desk, the friendly receptionist immediately forwarded me to the manager, who promptly arranged for the phone to be mailed to my address. This type of services goes above and beyond what you'd normally expect from most other hotels, and it is an indication as to the exemplary level of service that the hotel staff provides.


Romantic, clean, quite and convenient

5 on February 23, 2010

I first stayed at thid B&B in 2008 with a friend of mine. We were having a "girls weekend" at ComicCon (how nerdy of us, I know!) and were desperately seeking a hotel that wasn't charging an arm and a leg because of the convention. My friend stumbled on their website and we were so happy with how reasonable the rates were. It has new air-con and heat and is very quiet. The Friday night happy hour was our favorite! I loved the hotel so much that 8 months later (in 2009), I brought my husband there to celebrate his birthday weekend. He became an instant fan! We both loved the walkability of the location and the proximity to so many great places. We hope to visit San Diego this year and will definitely stay with hereagain. Thanks Little Italy Inn for being so amazing!


THE best place to stay in San Diego!

5 on February 22, 2010

I so loved my two night stay, last September, with my "baby" sister. We had the loveliest time, grew closer, and have spread the word to everyone we know that Little Italy is THE best place to stay in San Diego. Before I reserved our nights there, I had searched out other hotels in the area and decided if I was going to stay where I wanted to stay I'd rather spend a bit more and get the best. I do hope to return now and then with friends and family.


Romantic and sweet place

5 on February 22, 2010

Little Italy Inn is a home away from home.... love that it is perfectly tucked away from the action but close enough to walk to it! Their staff and facilities are warm and very helpful.


Romantic getaway

5 on February 22, 2010

We have stayed here on several occasions and LOVED it! We even recommended Little Italy Inn to our family. They, too, had an amazing stay. Thanks for being a home away from home. We were treated like family.


Charming and convenient B&B

4.0 on December 27, 2009

Little Italy Inn is perfect for enjoying San Diego without a car. The staff was very friendly and very helpful with suggestions and assistance. Rooms and facilities were clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


San Diego Charm

5 on April 27, 2009

A quick jaunt over to San Diego prompted us to look for a nice place to stay. We found the Little Italy Inn and it was far more than we expected it to be. I cannot express my satisfaction with this treasure but to say we're already planning our next trip to relax and play in San Diego and visit our new home away from home, The Little Italy Inn.


Great little hotel

4.0 on January 31, 2009

We were attracted to the "European style" hotel. The Little Italy Inn is a great alternative to "cookie cutter" hotels and motels. The price was great and it was within walking distance of downtown, "Little Italy" and the harbor. We'll definitely go back.


Great for a Weekend Getaway

4.4 on December 11, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed in this B&B for one weekend night in September 2008. He came down for a SCUBA diving class while I tagged along to do some sightseeing and to meet up with friends and family in the area. We reserved one of the smaller rooms because we are budget-conscious, and although it was small, we had enough room for his SCUBA gear and our bags. The bedding was very pretty and so comfortable to sleep in. I'm a light sleeper and I could hear the TV on in the other room, but I turned on the ceiling fan and fell asleep right away. Never had a problem with the shared bathroom. Overall, this B&B is a gem, with friendly staff and yummy breakfast and afternoon snack food!


friendly b 'n' b

4.2 on December 01, 2008

I stayed from Wed to Sun night. The inn is charming, the service was friendly and responsive in all areas, and the location was close enough to the water, the trolley, and a neighborhood with cafes and restaurants. If Italian food isn't your thing, a 30 minute walk (or 8 minute walk plus a trolley ride) would take you to the Gaslamp where many different foods and people abound. Of the Inn's pbreakfast items, I especially appreciated the good and bountiful coffee, and the orange juice. The baked goods looked cheap and did not connote Italy. I stuck with the bagels, which also seemed cheap, but less likely to offend my tastebuds. The one thing I wished for was a business center--a room with at least a computer and printer. So, other than the breakfast foods and the lack of attention to certain business travellers' needs, Little Italy was a happy place for the 5 nights I stayed there.


Very Nice

4.8 on September 02, 2008

My wife and I were desperately looking for a room in San Diego during Comic-Con weekend which is virtually impossible. Some miracle of chance found us a room at the Little Italy Inn and we couldn't have been happier. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We were worried about the reviews mentioning the noise but we had no problem with it. We would definitely stay again and would recommend without hesitation.


Loved Our Stay

4.8 on June 23, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Little Italy Inn a month ago and I have nothing but great things to say about this charming little place. First, we arrived quite late on a Saturday evening, well past the scheduled check-in time. We called ahead of time to notify the front desk of our late arrival, and despite the fact that the staff left for day, the manager came out of his way to let us in and make sure we were settled. The room itself was amazing. The decor was very nice and had a European Renaissance feel. According to the website each room has its own unique theme, which all tied in to the ambiance of the Inn. The breakfast was well above our expectations. There was a wide assortment of food from which to choose. Hard-boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, milk, juice, among other things, are all provided. The common area is also spacious enough for all the hotel guests to eat and relax comfortably, while at the same time, mingle amongst themselves and meet each other. The thing that stood out the most to me is the service they provided in assisting me with a problem. The day we checked out, I accidently left my cell phone in the room. I realized that I had done this while I was in the airport flying out of San Diego. When I called the front desk, the friendly receptionist immediately forwarded me to the manager, who promptly arranged for the phone to be mailed to my address. This type of services goes above and beyond what you'd normally expect from most other hotels, and it is an indication as to the exemplary level of service that the hotel staff provides.


Good place to stay

3.0 on May 06, 2008

I stayed for 3 nights on my own (as a single woman) and had a lovely experience. If you are a light sleeper you might pack earplugs in case you get a room that faces the ramp for the highway. The breakfast is satisfying and the location is great, close to the airport ($10 cab fare) and walking distance to wonderful Italian eats in Little Italy.


Excellent B&B

5 on August 16, 2007

This B&B was one of the cleanest, friendliest hotels I've stayed with. I was thoroughly impressed with how efficient and friendly the staff was. The breakfast was wonderful and the flowers were amazing. I look forward to returning to the Little Italy Inn.


The Inn with Character and Charm

5 on July 26, 2007

This Inn is a great find! After a long, grueling flight from Africa, we looked forward to a comfortable bed. The Inn boasts of more than comfort, it offers lots of charm and character. The location is great; 5 blocks from the waterfront, just off the I5 ramp, and 15 minute walk to the downtown area. All the staff are friendly, accessible, service oriented and always aim to please. Tastefully furnished rooms and common areas are clean and welcoming. The fresh flower arrangement in the foyer/lobby is always colorful and eye-catching. Breakfasts are more than adequate. Coffee, tea and ice-cold water available 24 hours in the lobby is a plus. We hope to return; I've already spread the word among friends & associates scattered all over the world.


Lovely, but.....

4.0 on July 26, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed here and found the facility to be much nicer than anticipated. The decor was lovely, the staff very nice, the room clean, the bottled water and cookies were a nice touch, the breakfast adequate, and happy hour provided on Friday night a pleasant surprise. Furniture and nice wooden floors added some old world charm. What was a bit frustrating was finding parking on the street and a noisy AC. While things did quiet down a bit way into the night, we found the noise nerve wracking. Room was very small.


Cute and Romantic

4.2 on July 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed here with his family because this was really the only place that was available for our one night stay in San Diego. I am VERY picky about how clean a hotel is. I wear slippers everywhere and flip flops in the shower. This place was SO clean and romantic. I told my husband I want us to come here just the two of us. The staff was very nice, the breakfast was light but enjoyable. All around, I loved the experience and want to come back again.


San Diego's Best Kept Secret

5 on June 14, 2007

I'm from palm springs and stayed in San Diego for a convention. The little Italy Inn was a last minute decision, but turned out to be the best part of the trip. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the place was spotless, and the bed was extremely comfortable. I would definately stay again. Thanks!


Loved it!!!!!

5 on June 12, 2007

Words cannot describe how impressed we were with this Inn. From the welcome from the staff to the beautiful room. It was amazing! We felt so special and so welcomed. We didn'twant our stay to end. But we are already making arrangments to return in the fall and bring family with us. The convenience of this location was awesome. We were close to everything! The decor is gorgeous and the friendliness of the staff is wonderful! The European style breakfast as well as the happy hour were great! Like I said...we'll definitely be back!


Little Italy Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $89 - $209
  • Reviews (22) 4.6
  • Rooms 24

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6192301600
  • Fax 1-6192300322
  • Toll free 1-8005189930
Top