A Beach Bed & Breakfast At The Elsbree House Condo Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
100 Reviews

Write A Review

Absolutely Loved This!

5 on May 26, 2014

My mother, sister and I just stayed here and had the best time! The rooms are very clean, and the service was truly amazing! Sherry is really the best! With all the personal touches, you couldn't ask for a better place to stay!


Mother-Daughter Getaway

5 on April 23, 2014

This place is the epitome of quaint B&B. Katie and her staff make you feel as though you are staying in their home....and you really are - Katie has been in OB (that's Ocean Beach) for 25+yrs. Take her advice on excursions and restaurants-she knows this sleepy little beach community inside and out. The accommodations were thoughtful and well appointed. There is mini fridge in the room, so BYOB and sit outside in the courtyard sipping your favorite spirit. She really does pay attention to detail - we brought our own beach chairs and umbrella, only to find them already in our closet.:-) As a former travel agent of 12yrs, the price is comparable to larger hotels in the area, and some of them don't serve breakfast. Oh, and if you leave breakfast hungry it's your own fault - yogurt topped with fresh fruit - toast/jam - oatmeal or cereal, and a pastry to top it all off. Parking is a bit of a challenge but parking lot only a couple blocks away offer $3/day parking. The best way to get around is on foot or rent a bicycle. The pictures on their website are 100% accurate - it will be exactly as it appears on the website when you get there! We may have just found a new Easter tradition - a mother-daughter getaway to the Elsbree House in OB!


Feels like a cozy 2nd home!

4.8 on January 04, 2014

This is a warm, cozy, and comfortable place to stay. The location is ideal, as stated in the description. In fact, the walkability and quality of the surrounding Ocean Beach neighborhood exceeded my expectations in nearly every way. Katie, the owner and caretaker of the property is a delight. She is kind, attentive, and full of terrific advice on how to maximize enjoyment of the San Diego area. I recommend that guests take the time to chat with her each morning during breakfast. Katie is like a concierge and a charming grandma. In terms of the house itself, the rooms are comfortable and have just what you need. The decor is eclectic, clean, and clutter free, but evokes the feeling of grandma's house in all the right ways. The property is full of wonderful, thoughtful touches that make things feel even more welcoming- including a lovely garden, help-yourself coffee and cookies, and flowers in the room. I will be recommending the Elsbree house to anyone who asks, and plan to return. It's a gem! To be thorough, the only possible downside of this area (and almost any beach town) are abundant homeless people occupying much of the beachside public spaces. Real safety was never an issue, but the live-out-loud mentality of the homeless residents/groups made for a scary surprise every now and then when walking the town of Ocean Beach.


Great location, great stay

4.4 on December 13, 2013

Katie is a wonderful host. Very helpful & thoughtful. Room was very comfortable. Great location. Very peaceful. Everything & a little more. Thanks M.


Great experience

4.0 on December 11, 2013

Our five days at Elsbree B&B were wonderful- great amfrence, good company, and excellent service. Lack of parking was the only drawback. But we're pleased to have found them.


A place to relax

4.6 on August 29, 2013

When you come to Elsbree House the pace of life slows. In the beautiful & peaceful atmosphere your worries of everyday life seem to dissolve. The rooms with their old world charm and coziness give a feel of going back to a time when life was not as complicated. The beautiful flowers, the tall trees, and the ivy covered walls make you wonder if you are not out in the country. But just steps away there are restaurants, bars, interesting little shops, and the beach. Breakfast is served on beautiful chinaware in a cheerful breakfast room upstairs. The innkeeper who welcomes you is friendly and helpful. She bakes cookies everyday and leaves them out for her guests along with a pot of coffee. We stayed there for 4 days in June and it was the most relaxing experience.


Wonderful Place!

4.6 on July 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the Elsbree House and it won't be our last. Katie met us at the door and gave us the grand tour. What a sweet gem of a place, located within walking distance of several fantastic restaurants and shops. Breakfast was yummy, although I would like a little more variety in the menu. The hospitality was unparalleled and the rooms were clean and inviting. I enjoyed the nice touches of flowers, a personalized note on arrival, and the brownies in our room. I visit San Diego on a regular basis and have now found my new home away from home. I highly recommend staying at the Elsbree House.


Quaint and lovely

4.6 on April 08, 2013

Great location for beach, shops, restaurants, pier and nearby all the great attractions in San Diego. Katie and Mary Beth were exceptionally wonderful. I would definitely stay there again!


Can't wait to return!

5 on April 05, 2013

This was a gem. After 4 nights I can't say enough about the yummy healthy breakfast, sweet accomodating hosts Katie and Mary Beth, comfy beds and afternoon coffee and cookies. The location was perfect for exploring San Diego by bus or car and walking as much as we wanted around Ocean Beach and the ocean beach. We had our own private entrance and bathroom and outside chairs to choose from to enjoy the birds and wonderful southern california plants. I am looking foward to returning as soon as I can find an excuse!!!


Home away from Home

5 on March 12, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast in Ocean Beach twice in the last year while visiting our daughter. From the flowers and brownies in the room welcoming us back to the coziness of the rooms, we feel so at home here. The beds are soo comfortable and the breakfast is always delicious. The hosts, Katie and Mary Beth, are very friendly and full of great information about things to do and the best places to eat. This B&B is conveniently located a couple of blocks from the beach and just a few blocks from shopping. This will always be our place to stay in O.B.


What's Not to Love!

5 on February 15, 2013

This is one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in! From the moment we drove up, we knew it would be great. When was the last time you found cookies and coffee at the front door to welcome you, fresh flowers and a hand written note from the owner in your room - not to mention the home backed cupcakes to start you on your vacation! The breakfasts were amazing - fresh bread and muffins, fruit, yogurt - and great coffee --- the list just goes on and on. But the best part about our stay at Elsbree was our host, Katie. We ran into her when we arrived, and she took it upon herself to drive us around the beautiful neighborhood of Ocean Beach to fill us in on what there was to see and do, where to eat and how to get around. And everyday she took the time to ask us about our experiences, so she could share new ideas with her guests. The location is perfect for getting around San Diego - but out of the hustle and bustle of downtown. Staying at Elsbree was our incentive to visit San Diego again! Thanks again, Katie, for a wonderful time! Wendy and Craig


Visit Kris

5 on October 11, 2012

OMG, it was a perfect place to stay while we visited our son who moved to San Diego from Philadelphia, Pa. Our room was comfy and cozy, breakfast was yummy and good coffee. The place is immaculate, flowers all over the, just perfect. Susan took good care of us. Since our flight left before breakfast was served Susan packed up a breakfast to go. Location was perfect, could walk every where, just a great place!!!! We will return..... John and Margo


Third time must happen ...

5 on September 13, 2012

We have stayed here twice ... for 7 nights, then for 9! The Ocean Beach neighborhood and nearby San Diego are great places to go for planned ventures and surprises not on the travel agenda.


Great location and beautiful, relaxing place to stay

4.2 on August 14, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Elbree B&B. We loved the location and the cleanliness of the rooms. Katie was really helpful and hospitable, she gave us lots of information and coupons for things to do in San Diego. This was the first time we visited San Diego and we felt we made a great decision by staying at this B&B. The place is close to downtown and other local attractions; plus there are many great restaurants nearby. You are not going to regret staying at this place, Katie will treat you like family!


Cozy, Creative, Comfortable

4.6 on August 05, 2012

We enjoyed the informality and convenience for the second time in this charming B&B. Host, Katy is helpful and delightful.


A Delightful Place!

5 on June 22, 2012

This delightful place, The Elsbree House, is warm, charming and staying here is like staying at your "favorite Aunt & Uncle's" home! It truly looks like all the photos you see. Very easy walking to the beach and a variety of restaurants! The Elsbree House is our first choice in the San Diego area!


Great location in Ocean Beach

5 on May 24, 2012

The Elsbree House sits on a cliff above the Ocean Beach pier with very easy access to all the activities near the pier & ocean. It is also just easy walking distance to the downtown area & numerous restaurants. You'll want to park at the Inn & walk to everything in the area. The Inn itself is immaculate, the breakfast very good with lots of fruit & home-made breads & muffins, and the evenings very peaceful. The first thing you hear in the morning is the parrots that roost in the palm trees out front. Katie gave me a lot of good info about the area & was very gracious. She realized I was addicted to the cookies that they set out each afternoon & made sure I had a baggie of them for the road! I was totally smitten with the Elsbree House & will return the next time business or pleasure brings me to San Diego.


Wonderful Hosts

5 on May 17, 2012

An excellent place to stay! Katie was very helpfull and knowledgable about the area and different attractions for her out of town guests. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms very comfy. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and both Katie and Susan were very sweet and helpful! The area was fantastic and exactly what we were looking for in a beach experience. I accidentally left my cell phone there and Katie was so gracious as to return it to me via mail. Thanks to all of the for a delightful stay!!


Ocean Beach Paradise

4.4 on April 29, 2012

Ocean Beach is one of those places few people but the locals have heard about. It's like stepping into the past with beach communities attracting the eclectic, artistic types. Elsbree House reflects the ambiance of this beach town, but with all the comforts and class we expect today. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and beautifully decorated. Katie's breakfasts including homemade muffins and bread are wonderful and healthy at the same time. Elsbree House is 160 steps from the beach (according to past visitors) and even closer to Ocean Beach local shops and restaurants. The sunsets from the restaurants and the pier are incredible. Almost like being in Maui. This was our 2nd visit and it won't be our last. Ross & Marti.


Ocean Beach, CA vacation

4.0 on February 19, 2012

Elsbree House B&B is a gem in Ocean Beach, CA. Katie, Susan and the elusive Phil are wonderful people, full of knowledge and opinions of San Diego and surrounding communities and "things to do" while in their city. Their service is joyful and you can tell they love what they do. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the beds are so very comfortable, and they also provide beach chairs, towels and umbrellas for the beach which is an easy two block walk to the ocean. If a group of 3 or more is going to Ocean Beach I highly recommend the condo at Elsbree House. You get three private bedrooms, private balconies, a porch, living room and full kitchen. The only drawback is missing the ample fresh fruit, cereal, and yogurt breakfast made by Katie or Susan. Enjoy the parrots and Ocean Beach, a very laid-back, interesting community. Julie, Ohio


My getaway to OB

4.0 on October 11, 2011

This is the place to getaway from it all. OB has a few places to stay, but this by far is the best. Quaint, very near the ocean, quiet and quite lovely.


A home away from home

5 on September 13, 2011

Staying at the Elsbree B&B in Ocean Beach is truly a delight in every way. Its an elegantly designed “home away from home” with all the atmosphere of a beach town and Napa Valley all rolled into one. After seeing the sights for the day, it was really a treat to sit in the front yard in some comfy chairs with a bottle of wine and watch the world go by. The bedroom was wonderful with a nice little porch to have a cozy chat, read a book, or have another bottle of wine. We were within walking distance to the beach, to many restaurants, and to many cute eclectic stores. But above all we really enjoyed the special treatment we were given by the owners and employees. Breakfast was always a treat with Katie or Susan and their help with directions, restaurant choices, or places to have fun was abundantly helpful. What was truly amazing were the various people we met that already lived in San Diego, but loved to leave their homes to be pampered at the Elsbree B&B. We will definitely be visiting this “home away from home” vacation spot again and again. R and K


I want to move in permanently.

4.0 on September 02, 2011

Absolutely delightful. I intend to go back again and again. Marvelously clean and comfortable, amazingly pretty. The photos don't do it justice--truly. Highly, highly recommended.


Hear the Ocean

4.6 on August 24, 2011

This is so close to the ocean you can hear it. In the morning, the seagulls wake you up. Unfortunately so do the jets from the airport, which I hear is common all over San Diego. It is immaculately clean and tidy. Someone mysteriously makes the beds while you are at breakfast. The owner, takes care of her guests - if you want to sightsee, she knows all the best restaurants in southern California, directions to get there and what to see along the way. Staying here was the highlight of my trip to San Diego. It is clean, quaint, homey and fun and you can't beat the location if you want to be close to the Pacific.


The Gem of Ocean Beach, CA

5 on August 11, 2011

Happiness overcame me as soon as we entered the Elsbree Bed and Breakfast. We were escorted to the room by Katie Elsbree. While we unpacked, the proprieters put fresh cookies & coffee on the flowered veranda outside our room. After our evening exploring Ocean Beach, we returned to the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in barring my own. I usually have difficulty with pillows while traveling & often wake with a headache the next morning. I had a perfect, well rested sleep each of our 3 nights! And the sheets were the most comfortable I have ever felt-a combo of pure cotton, soft flannel & quality velvet. The towels were most absorbent, not skimpy. The water pressure for the shower was excellent, a treat for me. Breakfast was simple, elegant, homey & delicious. The coffee was wonderful. I started with a mixture of vanilla & strawberry yogurt with fresh berries. Katie & Susan were gracious enough to grant me seconds even after I ate my husband's share. There was juice & a hard-boiled egg at each place setting. We ate fresh muffins & homemade bread served on cobalt blue dishes with quaint decor & flowers all around. While we enjoyed food, drink & conversation, Phil Elsbree is quietly taking care of changing the towels, making the beds & maintaining the outdoors in his quiet, unassuming manner. There were books & brochures to view but the best resource was Katie herself. She provided daily sites to see & she never led us astray. Coronado Beach was our favorite excursion. I know that many people come & go at the Elbree Bed & Breakfast, but Katie made us feel like we were a part of a family. Katie & I shared some personal conversation & I felt that I was home with a dear friend. She is someone I want to maintain contact if she will allow. This review is genuine & from the heart because Elsbree Bed & Breakfast is a heart & love filled place to vacation. Thank you from the bottom of my heart! Denise


Great time at the beach

4.6 on July 29, 2011

Katie and Susan were wonderful to chat with during the morning breakfast time. They both helped us find things we would enjoy at both Ocean Beach and San Diego tours. We had not been to this area since 1984. We intend to return to The Elsbree House!


Charming Inn

5 on July 28, 2011

This Inn has lots of charm and one feels very welcome and comfortable. Katie and Phil have filled the rooms with lovely furnishings and all is super clean and well maintained. The breakfast were delicious and the dining area was a treat.


Wonderful stay

4.4 on July 03, 2011

We had an absolutely delightful stay and Katy and Susan were the most wonderful hosts! The location was superb and the rooms were comfortable and quiet. Would definately stay again! Suggestion: we had the same breakfast each of the 5 mornings and one of the joys of a bed and breakfast is the breakfast so I would change that up a little for stays of longer than 1 day.


Location, Location, Location! :)

3.8 on May 16, 2011

This is very charming and the location is amazing. We were greated by the Katie, the owner, who made us feel welcome! The room was nice and very clean. The bed sheets felt silky and the bed comfortable. This place is located within a walking distance to the beach and pier. It's close to the major attractions in San Diego. There is no parking on the property, but you can easily find parking on the street. The place is very cozy and it felt like we were visiting a relative who was happy to see us! We'll be back for sure! :)


Perfect, restful setting with lots to do nearby.

5 on March 14, 2011

Elsbree B&B was a beautiful place to stay. Thank you Katie &Phil for your generosity and you're right, Cheri is the best. We were so comfortable. The spacious condo was more like a home & very clean. We had everything we needed to make our stay special. The quiet location was just a short walk to the pier & the beautiful ocean & all the shops so nearby was another treat. We can't thank you enough for all that you did for us. D & C Wash. State


Great Location - Great Service

3.4 on March 05, 2011

We stayed at Elsbree House Beach B&B at the end of January 2011 for five nights. Katie is a wonderful hostess. She provided us with lots of good tips on what to see and do and how to save some money in the process! The B&B is in a wonderful location with easy access to Sea World, the San Diego Zoo and Coronado Island. You can easily walk to the beach directly from the home. We enjoyed the sunsets from the pier, a short walk away. Ocean City is a funky little community with cute shops, lots of antique shops and a wonderful street farmer's market on Wednesday evenings. We felt very safe walking around the community in the evening. We walked to great restaurants every night for dinner. There are tons of restaurants to choose from very close by. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom are not large; but, they provide all the amenities. The walk in closet is quite spacious. We loved the outdoor patio with two comfortable chairs that we could access from the French doors off our bedroom. I even got a photo of the hummingbird nest with the hummingbird sitting in it, directly above our patio. My husband really enjoyed the afternoon coffee and fresh baked cookies that were provided every afternoon beside the patio!! The breakfast was more than adequate with hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, fresh baked muffins and bread. All in all it was a great accommodation that we would recommend to any couple wanting to stay in the San Diego area.


Convenient Haven at Ocean Beach

4.2 on February 28, 2011

This is a lovely place to stop. Ocean Beach is an eclectic community with vestiges of the '60s and '70s. It is convenient via I-8 and I-5 to many parts of San Diego. The hosts were wonderful and the breakfasts were great and healthy.


Could not have asked for better.

5 on January 21, 2011

My wife and I loved everything about Elsbree House. It was more than we had hoped for. Breakfast was great. the room was very clean and cozy. Really only 2 minor problems (not even a complaint for me though). I'm 6 foot 2. the shower stall was at my chin. The entire Ocean Beach community is directly in line with jet planes taking off from the airport. Fortunately they mostly stop after about 7pm and don't start until about 6 or 7 the next morning. so it was ok. I would recommend this place to anyone. If we come back to San Diego, this is where we want to stay...


Great B&B! Great Location! Great Time!

4.2 on November 30, 2010

This was my wife and I's first B&B experience and I must say the experience was great. The owner was very nice and very hospitable. Our room was great, felt like we were at home. Great location, very close to Ocean Beach. It made our first wedding anniversary a memorable one. We'll be back for sure!


Wonderful Beach Getaway in San Diego

4.6 on November 14, 2010

We really enjoyed spending the week visting the "real" San Diego, in this wonderful B&B right next to the beach. The room was exceptionally clean, Katie and Cheryl were amazing, and the breakfast with fresh baked bread was wonderful. The location is perfect for a romantic getaway or beautiful beach weekend. Thank you for a superb week--We will be back. George & Marsha Z.


Great place to stay in Ocean Beach.

4.8 on October 17, 2010

My dad and I stayed at the Elsbree House for five nights during our visit to San Diego. I was very happy with my decision to stay here over some resort. The B&B is located in a residential area, very close to the beach (a 2 minute walk at the most) and the fishing pier, and only two small blocks away from two major bus lines (one to Old Town and the trams and the other to downtown). The place is also a short walking distance away from a local strip where you will find many local restaurants and bars - a good place to wrap up the evening after a day's worth of exploring. The service at the B&B was great. Katie and Phil are excellent hosts and extremely friendly and helpful. My dad and I arrived without any solid plans and Katie was instrumental in helping us figure out what to do and where to go (and also where we shouldn't waste our time). The breakfast was served on-time every morning and vas very satisfying. By the time we'd get back to our room after breakfast everything would be cleaned and tidied up - very nice! The rooms are perfectly comfortable. Thank you Katie and Phil!


Charming and relaxing

4.4 on September 30, 2010

We stayed three nights of our holidays at this charming B&B and only took most positive memories home! The closeness to the beach made Elsbree House very attractive to us. We liked as well the new england flavour built house and were delighted with the clean and cosy accommodation. The beautiful garden completes this B&B to a hidden treasure. We loved Katie's delicous breakfast with fresh fruits, home made muffins and bread..... Appreciated her suggestions where to go and never got disappointed. Phil's work "behind the scenes" was most appreciated. Sometimes we had to drive around the quarter to find a parking space but usually found one on the street in front of the house.


First time in a Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 27, 2010

I was a first timer to stay in a Bed and Breakfast and I could not have asked for a better experience. The overall decor of the building is so homey and cute and inviting. The rooms are very clean and well kept and some homey added touches were inside. The breakfast was great and I was offered it with a smile and some great conversation. I would definitely go to a Bed and Breakfast again, especially this one. the continental breakfasts you get in a hotel is served on paper plates. At Elsbree, the added touches of real silverware and glass plates and flowers on each of the tables were so inviting, you didnt want to leave. Two thumbs up for Elsbree Bed and Breakfast.


Fantastic Weekend B&B Experience

5 on September 27, 2010

Katie and Phil Elsbree and Cheryl are wonderful hosts. Their B&B is charming and makes you feel like you are at home. The property is 1/2 block from the ocean. Tidepools, huge fishing pier, walks on the beach, the quaint seaside community of Ocean Beach all in very easy walking distance. The bike trail along the San Diego River and across to Mission Bay was very handy. We were so inspired, we did a 20 mile bike ride around the perimeter of Mission Bay. Cabrillio National Monument at the end of Point Loma is just a short car ride away. So much to see and do. After each busy day we returned to our "little cottage" to relax and enjoy sitting under the shade trees. I would recommend the Elsbree House (A Beach Bed and Breakfast) to anyone who wants an affordable, relaxing, friendly bed and breakfast experience.


A very good B&B close to the beaches and to different restaurants

4.0 on August 01, 2010

Very nice accommodation with very friendly treatment, fine rooms and good breakfast


Above and beyond!

4.4 on June 10, 2010

Elsbree House is beautifully situated one block from the beach. I walked over to see a surf competition going on. Ocean Beache's downtown is full of interesting shops and the best fish tacos in San Diego (but that's another review!). I went to see my daughter run a Marathon and was further away than I thought! I was thoughtfully provided an early breakfast and a RIDE close to the course. Thank you for a wonderful break!


A Wondefull Vacation

5 on June 09, 2010

We came across this little gem in 2009 when we stayed with our son. This year we had to find accomadation as other family members joined us and no room for mum and dad. What a lovely place to stay everything perfect comfortable bed and spotless rooms breakfast was to die for after a long flight from England a beautifull house and excellent hosts. Ann & Joe Keenan the house was full.


Clean and simple

4.0 on May 27, 2010

This B&B is just what was needed in Ocean Beach. The hostess knows the area and San Diego generally. She is most willing to give advice and help out. The lodging is very clean, and the facility generally runs like a top. The property is attractive. The B&B is more appealing than OB itself. Hence, it is very good news that all of San Diego is readily accessible from this address. Breakfast was plentiful, and the room was quiet. There ARE parrots nearby. The cliffs and beach are also close.


A great get-a-way!

4.0 on March 16, 2010

We spent two days in this lovely bread and breakfast and found it to be very accommodating. The breakfast was more than adequate and served in a calm and relaxing atmosphere. The inn keepers were gracious and made us feel at home. Our room and bath were clean and all that we had hoped for. We will return.


Excellent value

4.6 on March 14, 2010

I stayed the first weekend in March this year, and this was perfect for me - great value, local knowledge and a warm welcome. It's a little way out of the city (but don't let that stop you - San Diego is very easy to navigate to go enjoy a good night out!), and Ocean Beach itself is a friendly place to visit and walk around, yet feel safe and comfortable (especially important as a young female solo traveller). I didn't see a great deal of Phil, but his efforts are more than appreciated as he works hard to keep the property clean and the gardens beautifully kept. Katie is warm and engaging and had lots of advice and tips as to where to visit and how to get around, so much so that a few days was not long enough and I didn't have time to do even half the things I wanted to. I would definitely say that I will look forward to my next visit. If you want home cooked food and creature comforts, relaxation and privacy, then this is the place!


Jan 6, 2010

4.6 on January 18, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay. Great location to the beach, restaurants and our daughter. Ocean Beach is a colorful area to explore.


Home Away From Home

4.2 on January 13, 2010

The Elsbree House is truly a gem at the beach. The rooms are clean, comfy and full of details. Breakfast is filling and their homemade breads hit the spot.


A lovely weekend

4.0 on November 18, 2009

This was a charming B&B with lots of homey touches that I enjoy. The owner, Katie, was so hospitable. We enjoyed talking with her so much we didn't want to leave.


Great place

4.0 on November 18, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this B&B. It was very quiet and relaxing.


Bunnies and breakfast

5 on November 03, 2009

Every year I spend at least 3 weekends in Ocean Beach. Katie & Phil are very gracious hosts and the ocean breezes delightful.


Just like home

5 on October 27, 2009

The setting so close to the ocean was wonderful. The food was fabulous. All in all, an exceptional stay.


Wonderful B&B

5 on October 01, 2009

Love this inn! The innkeeper is very personable. Accommodations stunning. Location so convenient for sightseeing! Great breakfast.


"A Beach Bed & Breakfast" & Elsbree Vacation Condo

5 on October 01, 2009

Great place to stay! Clean and very hospitable.


The Elsbree House

5 on August 14, 2009

My husband & I went on a weekend getaway trip to San Diego, we stayed at the most charming inn; The Elsbree House. Katie, the innkeeper was amazing and engaging. Her knowledge of the area was unsurpassed; she really made us feel welcomed and at home. She provided an amazing breakfast as well as witty and warm conversation. Thanks Katie for all your hard work.

Innkeeper Response
THANK YOU FOR STAYING AT THE ELSBREE HOUSE "A BEACH BED AND BREAKFAST". WE APPRECIATE YOUR REVIEW ! It is a lot of work but "you" make it worth it ! Thank you for being our guests. Please come again and B&B our guests. We will give you a repeat customer discount. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks ! Katie


B&B

5 on July 31, 2009

Wonderful people & accommodations. A very pleasant stay.


Perfect getaway

4.8 on July 13, 2009

Katie and Phil really have the perfect B&B. They have thought of every detail including our own beach chairs, etc. in each closet. Highly recommend this B&B and they are so kind and knowledgeable about the area and attractions. Gay friendly, too.


I'll be back

5 on June 19, 2009

This was my first stay at a B&B and it was great! I loved the room and the breakfast, and especially the owners who run a wonderful B&B. I'll be back next month!


A pleasure each time

5 on June 04, 2009

Each time I visit Ocean Beach, the Elsbree family makes my vacation complete! Attention to detail, comfort, conversation, and information are important items on my list of accommodation features. The Elsbree House meets all of my needs!


1st time B&B experience

4.0 on May 13, 2009

Will definitely do B&B again. Very clean, great location, friendly and informative host.


A great spot with wonderful hosts

3.2 on May 05, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Katie is warm and welcoming and has some great ideas on what to do and where to go. She is an absolute treat. Phil is in the background working dilligently to keep everything just right. The gardens and courtyard alone are worth the stay, with wild parrots and a mommy hummingbird sitting on her nest. Katie has homebaked muffins, fresh fruit salad and homebaked bread in the morning.

Innkeeper Response
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words. We love our jobs here at "A Beach Bed & Breakfast". We enjoyed having you as our guests and we hope you will return soon. The baby humming birds are all grown up now. They live in the pine tree outside the dining room window. The wild parrots have left for the winter. Our gardens are still in full bloom. Please come again and B&B our guests. Katie


A Beach Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on April 27, 2009

Just like the title says, very nice beach B & B, indeed. A great stay and I will come back. The location is great in relation to dining and shopping and of course, the beach at Ocean Beach. For the price, it is outstanding.


Beautiful

5 on April 09, 2009

This is a wonderful little place to stay close to the beach and town. This was such a comfortable friendly atmosphere that it was like staying at grandma's house. Katie was very helpful in providing us information about travel and exploration of San Diego and its surrounding areas.


A wonderful home away from home

4.6 on March 21, 2009

We enjoyed the hospitality of the Elsbrees and meeting different out-of-town visitors while we stayed there for a couple of nights. Our room was very comfortable, and the location was within walking distance of the beach and restaurants.


BBinOB is A-OK

5 on March 21, 2009

This b&b is wonderful. The location is convenient to anything you might need -- restaurants, shopping and, of course, the beach. My room was quiet, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast was awesome. I hope to go back with my family and stay in the condo. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.


lovely location

4.4 on March 19, 2009

Beautiful spot close to the beach and 1/2 block from the pier. Very comfortable rooms and great breakfast!


expectations exceeded

4.6 on March 19, 2009

What a gem! So close to the sea and all of Ocean Beach at your door. The rooms are great, and breakfast is a healthy start to a fun adventure!


super stay!!

4.2 on March 11, 2009

Very nice people!


very nice stay

3.8 on March 03, 2009

lovely home


comfortable

3.6 on February 18, 2009

near the beach and ocean beach business and still quiet.


great place

5 on January 22, 2009

Felt like staying at my grandma's. Katie is very sweet and the place was very nice. Katie was super helpful!


best community in San Diego

5 on January 22, 2009

Small town feel in a huge beach city- yet close to everything. The owners were very nice and the room was immaculate. I will definitely be back!


Great B&B!

5 on January 12, 2009

Gracious hosts, beautiful rooms, good food, great location! Wonderful visit! Loved every minute!


Charming Ocean Beach

5 on December 31, 2008

Loved this bed and breakfast! The house was charming and immaculate and the best part of our stay was the hostess, Katie. She gave us lots of tips on what to see and how to get there. I enjoyed our four day stay and would not hesitate to return again!


San Diego Secrets!

5 on December 18, 2008

Katie is a fabulous host! She offers all kinds of inside tips and information about San Diego that we would have never learned about staying at a hotel. We loved our stay!


best B&B

4.8 on December 18, 2008

Charming house, beautifully decorated- immaculate. great breakfast and best of all is Katie! Lovely lady and fill of tips and information-what to see and how.


excellent

5 on December 10, 2008

home away from home!


A B&B near the beach

4.8 on November 21, 2008

The Elsbree House is a charming B&B in Ocean Beach, a low-key community in San Diego. The decor is Victorian, the rooms are immaculate, and the breakfasts feature homemade bread and muffins


Elsbree condo

4.8 on November 21, 2008

A great place to stay in ocean Beach- beautiful grounds, nice rooms, helpful hosts.


what a find!

4.2 on November 05, 2008

A lovely B&B in Ocean Beach near airport and down town- you don't need a car! clean, comfortable, and friendly- yes, I'd love to return!!


excellent

5 on October 31, 2008

My husband and I dearly enjoyed our stay. Great rooms, great and friendly innkeepers, too! Loved the beach atmosphere.


Excellent!

4.0 on September 30, 2008

The house was easily accessed, quaint, cozy and the perfect getaway by the beach. The owners were delightful and the house was remarkable. I will return.


Roses and Bunnies

4.8 on August 20, 2008

fantastic


"...just a lovely time!"

4.8 on August 05, 2008

Fantastic family owned B&B clean - friendly - helpful -humerous, just a lovely time!


"A Beach Bed an Breakfast"

4.4 on August 05, 2008

A very friendly, charming hostess, Katie, makes you feel right at home. Lovelysetting, pretty decpr and wholesome breakfast. What more can you ask!


"Go back any time."

5 on August 05, 2008

Very clean, Very friendly, Very comfortable. Go back any time.


Vacation

3.4 on July 31, 2008

Nice accomodatons. Rooms were comfortable, but I was disappointed with breakfast. Toast and yogurt was all we got.

Innkeeper Response
Each morning we have a buffet of: Granola-raisin brand ceral- and oatmeal- fresh fruit-dried bananas and cranberries- yogurt- eggs-homemade bread- homemade muffins and English muffins-orange juice -coffee -tea and milk. We have added hard boiled eggs since you were our guests. Thank you, Katie Innkeeper


great location

3.2 on July 13, 2008

The location of the bed and breakfast is terrific! It is only a couple minute walk to the center of things and the ocean. It's in a very ideal location with a reasonable price. The innkeepers were pleasant. One negative is that there are wild parrots who nest in the trees right outside the house in July and it was extremely loud in the mornings. I was continuously woken up very early the whole time we stayed there.


Best Place to relax

4.4 on June 30, 2008

Wonderful. More than we expected. Clean, near the relaxed downtown Ocean Beach. Just a short walk to that main street. The place was very nice, and reasonable.


Great Place!

4.0 on March 23, 2008

Great location, and wonderful hosts! Katie was very helpful, with lots of suggestions of things to do and see!


Comfortable, clean and quiet

3.8 on March 19, 2008

Located near the ocean, Elsbree House is clean, comfortable and quiet. The hosts pay close attention to details - there are ear plugs in the medicine cabinet. Katie Elsbree also provided a lot of information about what to see and do in the area - very helpful. For anyone who would like to leave their car at the inn, it's possible to get into San Diego by bus from the inn.


The Best!

4.8 on March 17, 2008

My sister, our cousin and I decided that a trip to San Diego was the perfect way to celebrate our cousin's 60th birthday. (She lives in the Chicago area, I live in SW Michigan and my sister lives on the Peninsula in California.) Our cousin found the Elsbree's Beach B&B and we all agreed it looked good. It turned out to be great! It so attractive and comfortable that we wished we could have stayed much longer and we certainly will stay there again on any future trips to the San Diego area. It is located only a 1/2-block from the ocean and has ready access to roads leading to all San Diego area attractions. We were within easy walking distance of "the longest fishing pier on the West Coast" as well as several excellent restaurants and even a Starbuck's, which made my sister happy. We watched surfers and migrating gray whales from the shore and pier. Katie Elsbree provided delicious breakfasts, very useful information, and delightful conversation. This is a perfect B&B.


An Ocean Beach jewel!

5 on February 20, 2008

We could not have found a nicer place than the Elsbree House! We loved being near the beach and the Ocean Beach community where there is plenty of activity but all it taking place at a relaxing pace. Katie and Phil were accomodating hosts and provided lots of area information as well as homemade bread and muffins for breakfast. We would heartily recommend the Elsbree House to any traveling friends and we'll return if we are ever fortunate enough to be in San Diego again.


Extraordinary

4.4 on November 12, 2007

A precious gem found by chance on our weekend away from the LA area. The accomodations were fabulous as was our hostess who enthusiastically told the tales behind the historic pictures that graced the walls, demonstrating the love and pride she puts into her home and the genuine interest of the people she invites in.


Valentine's Day Retreat

5 on October 31, 2007

I'm a local. I kidnapped my husband and took him to this B&B for a romantic get-away. Our room was spectacular. The hostess was attentive. The ocean was calming. The weekend was perfection.


Lovely Vacation Condo visit

4.8 on October 28, 2007

I was in town with my wife and daughter for a meeting at the SD convention center. We made last minute arrangements with Katie Elsbree which was not a problem for her. The Condo was clean and completely furnished: from cheese grater to dvd and vcr players, kids movies and games. My daughter enjoyed the loaner beach toys. The Condo is walking distance to the beach and a few minute drive to the freeways. Katie was helpful and not at all intrusive even having only met on the phone - we truly had the place to ourselves. My wife was a quick jaunt into downtown SD for her meetings are we were 10minutes to Seaworld-a triple AAA card saves you $10/ticket. It really felt like our little home in San Diego. The raing of 5/5 on Dining was because we did all our own cooking :)


Top Notch

5 on October 18, 2007

The innkeepers are delightful! Very relaxing and pleasant vacation!


Great getaway

3.6 on July 24, 2007

Not only did we enjoy a nice stay near the beach, we also were able to take advantage of the massage therapist recommended by the innkeeper. We highly recommend a massage with Kim Emmett while in Ocean Beach - truly was the icing on the cake.


A wonderful stay

5 on July 09, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. The B&B is charming and well kept up. The room was very nicely furnished, was clean, and had a large closet. The continental breakfast was very good and the dining area was very nice. The location provided good access to the beach and pier. Katie and Phil were very nice hosts and provided an abundance of information about San Diego attractions and restaurants.


Charm & Tranquility

5 on June 26, 2007

I stayed for two weeks, and I could not have been more comfortable. The big closet was a happy surprise! I especially loved the small garden and patio outside my room; I just opened the French doors to complete the retreat! The best innkeepers I have known so far: good food, good company, and peace abounds.


Perfect Getaway

4.4 on March 19, 2007

My boyfriend and I truly enjoyed our stay and would come again! It was a relaxed and easy stay. Small town to just do your own thing and close to everything. I will recommend this one to everyone.


A Beach Bed & Breakfast At The Elsbree House Condo

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6192264133
  • Toll free 1-8006074133

Visit Website »

View details

Top