San Anselmo Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Services4.3
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
118 Reviews

Write A Review

San Anselmo Inn

4.2 on March 25, 2014

Wonderful freshly baked goodies for breakfast. Nice variety of foods. Excellent fruit. Room was nice and cozy, clean and comfortable. New bathroom.


Convenient little Inn

3.0 on February 26, 2014

Cute little Inn with a good location in town. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. My room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but functional. The restaurant was under renovation and closed, which did not matter to me since a breakfast buffet was available. On a number of mornings, the trash pickup, recycling and construction work began before 7 am and was very noisy.


4 nights, a wonderful stay!

5 on February 12, 2014

This Inn is the best kept secret in San Anselmo. Great home cooked food in the morning and delightful staff, especially Patty! Till next time...


Great!

5 on February 06, 2014

We have stayed at the San Anselmo Inn several times over the last ten years, and it keeps getting better.


Completely satisfactory, although not remarkable.

3.2 on February 04, 2014

Everything was fine--although nothing stood out as being remarkable. Note that rooms on the south side of the building have windows with a "view" of the wall of the building immediately next door; they provide fresh air and some light but could seem confining.


Cozy Inn

3.4 on January 02, 2014

We stayed in the 1 BR King Suite. Inn is very inviting and cozy. Bathroom was very tiny. Just a shower. The room was very comfortable with a desk and comfortable reading chair. The rooms on the street side can be quite noisy. Breakfast was minimal but tasty. This is the only hotel in this adorable little town with lots of great restaurants.


Review san anselmo

3.2 on December 03, 2013

Clean, but small rooms, but very good breakfast


A Great Find

5 on November 13, 2013

Looking for a stay on our way North and we certainly found a lovely location. The location was great and parking worked out really well, at the bank lot. A surprise was the Halloween Goblin Parade and that was just an added bonus for us. The reception at the Inn was very warm & inviting...with an upgrade included. The room was very large and had all the amenities we required. Breakfast and friendly staff were absolutely wonderful. Everyone was extremely helpful, friendly and went beyond basic service. Would recommend San Anselmo Inn to anyone.


lovely experience

4.0 on October 21, 2013

visited family in area - perfect place to return to each night


A great place to stay in San Anselmo

4.2 on September 04, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the San Anselmo Inn. The Inn is charming and the staff is responsive and friendly. Will definitely stay again.


modest small inn

3.6 on September 03, 2013

The room size was much larger than I expected, the bed was very comfortable. The decor leaves much to be desired, being an "eclectic" mix of cheap and old linens and drapes with bizarre "modern" art pieces. Beyond the decor, it was a nice inn and the innkeeps were very friendly and helpful.


San Anselmo Inn is wonderful.

4.4 on August 25, 2013

The staff is friendly and efficient. The food is great. I love staying at San Anselmo Inn and will go back next year.


Quiet Shelter

5 on August 20, 2013

We reserved a room to wind down a two-week road trip that started in Los Angeles, and could not have found a more-peaceful retreat. Our room was practically perfect, our host helpful on multiple levels, and the breakfasts were incredible -- peach croissant French toast the first morning, and fritatas of various flavors the second. All this in a town that, while only a block removed from Sir Francis Drake Boulevard, seemed decades removed from the hustle.


Good Value

3.4 on August 04, 2013

My son and I spent one night there. The location was good for us and the price was reasonable. However the noise from people on the street late at night and early in the morning woke us up. The room was small but adequate. The breakfast was good; they even had gluten free bread. It didn't have a warm B&B feel, more like a hotel. But we were visiting friends, so it didn't matter.


Wonderful experience. We will be back!

5 on July 09, 2013

Thank you for the excellent service. You all went out of the way to make me feel at home. The bed was very comfortable. We will be back!


Retirement Trip to California

4.0 on July 07, 2013

Our recent retirement trip to California included a one-night stay in San Anselmo. We enjoyed our stay in San Anselmo amidst a heat wave that saw temperatures reach 96 degrees; a little warm for us. Coogies nearby was a nice place to have an afternoon snack (great watermelon salad). Our rooms (there were 4 of us travelling together) were very nice; comfortable sleeping that night. We were a short hop from Sausalito where we enjoyed an evening of jazz by the water -- lovely.


Wonderful Experience

4.6 on July 01, 2013

This Inn was such a perfect place to stay. The Inn Keepers were helpful and shared accurate and useful information about the businesses and area. The rooms are very clean, warm, comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and loved the choices of fresh fruit and warm food choices. I will definately return. Patricia Eureka, CA


A perfect ending!

4.4 on June 18, 2013

After a 3 week road trip with my husband and son, the 3 of us lurched into San Anselmo tired and bedraggled. The room was quiet, clean and airy with lovely touches, like chocolates on the pillow and cookies in the afternoon. The TV was a puzzle, but a little instruction took care of that. The breakfast was far beyond expectation. Huge selection of high quality foods and a fresh entree each day! The parking arrangement with the bank worked out very well for a small downtown area. Next time we won't have so much luggage which will make things easier lugging it upstairs. Overall a very nice stay. As I said, we shall return!


A delightful stop in busy California

4.6 on June 17, 2013

What a wonderful treat spending time at the San Anselmo Inn. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is so nice and friendly and helpful; and Patti's breakfast is to die for! Everyone at the Inn goes above and beyond in making their guests feel welcome and comfortable. I'd certainly go back if I'm in the area. (Brenda S. from Minnesota)


Cute little B&B

4.0 on June 16, 2013

It was perfect for an overnight stay. Friendly service and incredibly comfy bed and pillows. Would stay here again.


small hotel B & B

4.0 on June 12, 2013

nice place---have been there numerous times--good location.


Great host,cozy room, fantastic breakfast!!

4.6 on June 10, 2013

Just stayed one night. Found the room to be cozy & quiet. We had a shared bathroom but honestly did not even see the party sharing it with us. Thos ehost was super friendly and the food in the morning was dynamite!!!! Great location in downtown San Anselmo. Close to food and the like. Highly recommend this place!


Would stay again!

4.0 on June 08, 2013

Went to San Francisco for a family visit. San Anselmo was the ideal location to stay, outside the city, but close enough to many places not to waste time. Quaint little place with homey feeling. Very old building. Much better place to stay than a hotel or motel! The breakfasts were amazing! We will definitely be going again!


San Anselmo Inn

3.6 on June 07, 2013

This charming older hotel is clean, quiet and comfortable. Right in the heart of San Anselmo you can walk to numerous shops and restaurants


San Anselmo review

3.2 on June 01, 2013

Quaint B&B, good breakfast, evening wine and cheese needs some TLC.


Visit from VANCOOUVER

3.6 on May 31, 2013

I must say that this was a very good location, right in the middle of things AND still very quiet at night! The breakfast room was a delight and the food nice and fresh. I will send other travelers there.


A bit of Europe in Mill Valley

4.6 on May 31, 2013

My family of four stayed in this warm and welcoming spot. The hosts were gracious and flexible. There was so much to do we stayed in this clean and tidy room for resting and sleeping. We look forward to our next visit.


One night stay in bedroom with shared bath

3.8 on May 15, 2013

Clean room, quiet area, great food.


In the heart of San Anselmo

4.2 on May 10, 2013

Nice, friendly and comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed our stay.


was like being welcomed home

4.8 on April 17, 2013

patti and her staff were always very kind and helpful. the location and atmosphere of the inn was charming. we could walk easily to interesting shops and to nearby parks and the seminary with beautiful buildings and grounds.


Family Wedding

4.2 on April 13, 2013

My whole family stayed in San Anselmo Inn for my son's wedding.The convenient location, friendly staff and fresh breakfasts added a great touch to our wonderful weekend!


To great days

4.2 on March 08, 2013

We stayed there for to nights with our 8 month old son and we loved it. Very nice rooms, delicious breakfast and a very friendly staff who made us feel welcome.... If we ever come back to this area, we will choose San Anselmo Inn again!! Charlotte & Martin Denmark


Great Location.

4.2 on February 27, 2013

San Anselmo is great fun and this inn is in the center of it. My room was bright and comfortable with all the amenities I needed. Interactions with staff were mixed from super warm and friendly to pre-occupied, much like a regular hotel. The food spread was abundant but also mixed.Some things seemed home made and others store bought. They have a nice wine bar and tasting service. Overall I would say it is a great place to stay.


Back in France!

4.4 on February 21, 2013

The whole atmosphere made me feel back in France!


San Anselmo Inn, January 2013

3.6 on February 02, 2013

The San Anselmo Inn is a delightful, european like place. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and wanted my stay to be the best possible. Most days I came in and found chocolate chip cookies in the foyer. The breakfast buffet is delicious & plentiful. Special dietary needs were easily accommodated. The room I had was small & a water leak developed from the ceiling. I was promptly moved to a different room which was also quite small. Parking is nearby but can be challenging during busy times.


Our overnight stay

4.0 on January 23, 2013

We got an upgraded room, so that was nice. It was bigger and would have cost $50 more but that our room had a leaky roof. The breakfast was wonderful. The salsa fritatta was so good and hot. There was something for everyone and very healthy to boot. All the staff were genuinely nice and friendly. The decor was quaint, welcoming and inviting inside.


I'd stay here again!

4.4 on January 03, 2013

I enjoyed the stay. Rooms were very well-kept. Staff members were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was terrific. I'd stay here again.


Great Value in Marin Counrty

4.8 on December 29, 2012

I've stayed at this charming B & B many times. Obviously, I love it here! This time, the room I was assigned was chilly,so they upgraded me to a lovely suite (warmer). This was so gracious....and no extra charge! When I said I was a repeat customer, she offered to mark my account for a discount next time I stay.


Great service, great find.

4.4 on November 14, 2012

After staying in San Fransico this was the perfect stay in suburban America, The staff were really helpful and friendly. Compared to Europe, America is more expensive for accodomation so this place represented good value against the other places we stayed at around California. Would definitely return!


San Anselmo Inn wonderful alternative to big chains

3.8 on October 17, 2012

We had a wonderful first stay at the San Anselmo Inn. The historic building it occupies provides a unique and personal setting that makes it a pleasant alternative to big-chain accommodations. Nearby and just to the south of San Anselmo are opportunities for walking the quiet and beautiful hills of the Marin Water District. The rooms at the Inn are individually decorated with a pleasing and artistic touch. Everything is clean and appealing. The staff was absolutely welcoming, courteous, and helpful at all times. The main level dining area and bar were lovely and inviting, and the breakfasts were outstanding. We highly recommend it as a great place to stay. Visitors from Boulder, Colorado


A Lovely Breakfast

4.6 on October 14, 2012

Our room was lovely, quiet and well appointed. There was a small kitchen area, which gave the room extra usability if we were to stay longer than just one night. But what shouldn't be missed is their complementary breakfast. Quiche, rolls, fresh fruit, cereal and more. And the dining room was delightfully cheerful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.


Lovely inn

5 on October 11, 2012

My room was spacious and well appointed. The neighborhood and inn are quiet; the breakfasts very tasty. I've returned many times and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when I'm in the San Rafael area. John Moses


The perfect stay

5 on October 05, 2012

On our way to Sonoma for a wedding my son and I were fortunate enough to experience one perfect evening followed the next morning with a delicious breakfast. We loved our time at the San Anselmo Inn so much that rather than going into San Francisco to stay as planned, we booked another 2 nights for after our Sonoma visit! It was perfect in every way; the breakfasts were served in a sunny dining room with excellent atmosphere and food! Nice residents' bar, too! I would still be there if I could!


I hope my path does cross San Anselmo Inn in the future.

5 on September 23, 2012

Wonderful breakfast, lovely staff, very helpful when I was ill. Ticks all round.


Pleasant stay in San AnselmoWe

3.6 on September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Inn while we explored the city, Mt Tam and other bay area points of interest. Our room was very comfortable and nicely appointed.We will be back the next time we visit the area. We also enjoyed the lovely town of San Anselmo.A wonderful area for walking,with great coffee and good food.


A simple looking B&B appears to have a high quality

4.4 on September 21, 2012

Clean and pleasant room. Outstanding breakfast. Pleasant and quiet B&B where you can drink a good glass of wine or beer at the bar.


wonderful boutique hotel

4.8 on September 18, 2012

Have walked by this inn many times and never realized what a jewel it was. Will defintely stay here again as i have moved away from the Bay Area and return often.


The most helpful and friendly hotel stay I have ever had!

4.6 on September 16, 2012

I have traveled quite a bit, and stayed in many places. The breakfast is VERY tasty and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. It was also very quiet and comfortable. I will definitely stay again, and am looking forward to the next time already.


Good location B&B

3.0 on September 13, 2012

Excellent breakfast with more selections on the weekend when it is busy. Not that many selection of items for the breakfast on a weekday when they are not that busy. This B&B is located within walking distance to some very good restaurants.


Such friendly staff

4.6 on August 30, 2012

Really great stay in the San Anselmo Inn. Many thanks fto Art in particular with his help in arranging our time in SA. He went out of his way to assist us, and thanks also to Patty, she makes a great breakfast! Such a lovely place in a lovely town.


Wonderful place to stay

4.4 on August 19, 2012

We were upgraded to a first floor room which was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was the best. Day time home made cookies were very nice addition. Location of the hotel is very convenient to explore San Anselmo and surrounding small cities. We will stay in this hotel again.


Loved it!

5 on August 17, 2012

Our stay at San Anselmo Inn was perfect in every way. Great service, excellent recommendations, and the breakfast was outstanding. Looking forward to a return trip.


August 2012 at the San Anselmo Inn

2.8 on August 15, 2012

The employees are very helpful and accommodating, and the location is great. The building is idiosyncratic, which is both charming and frustrating. Unfortunately, the plumbing may need some serious attention. The bathroom was small and the shower was tiny, but the real problems were that the toilet didn't flush reliably and the water temperature in the shower varied significantly and unexpectedly, creating the risk of being scalded or frozen while rinsing. There is much I like about the place (I think this is our fourth stay there), but I don't think I'll be back.


Great bed and breakfast north of San francisco, ca

5 on August 02, 2012

Great everything


Cute & friendly, but not fancy

4.0 on August 01, 2012

The staff was wonderful, and this place is full of character. The bed was comfortable if old. Come for the charming atmosphere, not for a fancy bed or anything like that.


Adorable European style hotel

3.6 on July 30, 2012

The hotel, the service, the location wonderful. However our room was without air conditioning and it was a very hot weekend. A fan was provided which helped. I should have asked for a ground floor room as they have no elevator. My husband walks with a cane and at the time I was also due to recent hip surgery. We would definitely go back. It's a beautiful little hotel.


small boutique inn

3.6 on July 26, 2012

liked the rooms, breakfast good and hearty. wish the place had a sitting room area in which to read , etc....


Great quiet small town roost

4.4 on July 13, 2012

Close access to both coast and Bay Area, wonderful breakfast (really amazing frittata), warm personal service, walk to nearby shops & restaurants. Very restful and comfortable.


Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!

5 on July 11, 2012

We had a spectacular time at the Inn and in the area of San Anselmo in general. It is a lovely Inn right in the middle of many great restaurants, spas, arts, etc. The people who run the Inn are wonderful and will help you with any needs you may have. The breakfast is simply delicious made fresh everyday with a good variety and the public areas are very relaxing, they will also be adding a beer and wine bar to their offerings for the guests. Definitely will be planning another trip to wine country and staying here.


Love Anselmo Town, Inn is right in it

4.4 on July 02, 2012

Thanks, bed was very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. Great location would stay here again.


New owner, same at home feel

4.0 on June 29, 2012

Will miss the former owners, Julie and Peter, particular Julie's homemade chocolate chip cookies in the late afternoon. The new owner is continuing the legacy of value and service and we wish him success.


A swell stay just north of the City by the Bay

4.2 on June 24, 2012

The inn feels like it's somewhere between a large rooming house and a small hotel. It's in an older building with a European character. We stayed in one of the more modest rooms and though it was both large and homey, it could benefit from some refurbishing like a new mattress. Apart from a bit of dust on some of the furniture and lamps, the living area and bathroom seemed clean and tidy. The breakfast room, formerly a restaurant, had a good range of options, including home-baked quiche. There's also a nice bakery next door if you can't find something appetizing to break your fast. The staff seemed warm and eager to help. If you're eager to see Marin or escape the noise and bustle of the city, and you don't mind an older establishment without all the bells and whistles of the boutiques and big chain hotels, the San Anselmo Inn is definitely worth looking into.


A wonderful, warm place to stay. I will be back again!

5 on June 18, 2012

Candy Finnigan Intervention A&E


In the heart of little San Anselmo village

3.2 on June 09, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at this B&B. It was clean, and very comfortable. The management was friendly and extended themselves to make us feel welcome.


Very accommodating

3.8 on June 07, 2012

Great neighborhood, and really appreciated the staff at the Inn. They were very accommodating and thoughtful during my brief stay. I would return again.


Weekend stay at San Anselmo Inn

4.0 on May 28, 2012

Once again we enjoyed being close to our family by staying at the San Anselmo Inn. A great place to have a restful night and delicious relaxing breakfast while reading the morning paper in the dining facility. Thank You, and we look forward to a future visit.


Awesome breakfast!

3.8 on May 18, 2012

My mom and I have stayed at the San Anselmo Inn several times. We like the european feel and the great location at a reasonable rate. The highlight is Patti's breakfast. On our most recent stay she prepared an awesome red pepper frittata and potato quiche. There is always beautifully prepared baked goods such as buttery croissants and a variety of fresh fruit. We will be back!


San Anselmo Inn

3.8 on April 16, 2012

The SA Inn is an excellent, charming, B&B, with warm and welcoming service, very comfortable beds, extremely clean rooms and an above-average breakfast (although I'm more a continental breakfast person). I won't stay anywhere else in Marin. Negatives -- sound insulation is poor (although usually not a problem); trim work and room carpets are somewhat worn


Great Weekend

4.0 on March 07, 2012

My room was small but very cozy and quiet which is just what I needed for a restful weekend. This was my 3rd stay at the San Anselmo Inn, and I will be back!


San Anselmo Inn January 2010

4.2 on February 03, 2012

The Inn is lovely - it seems a shame that the kitchen is under utilized. It would be a nice place for lunch even if I wasn't a guest. The TVs could be upgraded to flat screens at some point, but the rooms were charming. Quiche was excellent. The people at the front desk were VERY helpful.


Love the breakfast!

3.8 on January 11, 2012

I had a very nice stay at the Inn, especially in the mornings...breakfast was great! The only thing was that my room was at the end of the hall, facing the alley. At about 5am, garbage trucks kept rolling by/someone was sorting cans and bottles right by the window/people were talking, and it was really loud...and persisted for over an hour. I would recommend that the inn warn customers staying in that room about the noise, and maybe provide earplugs, because it was pretty annoying. Other than that, it was a lovely place.


Quaint and charming

4.6 on December 29, 2011

A truly delightful B&B in a charming area off the beaten path. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Very quiet. Will certainly visit again when we are in the area.


Very pleasant stay

4.2 on December 04, 2011

Stayed for just one night, but would stay again if in the area. Room was large, clean and well appointed. Breakfast wasn't fancy, but had plenty of everything you would normally need.


Review

3.8 on December 01, 2011

We had a seven day stay which we throughly enjoyed. Wide variety of breakfast options including freshly cooked quiche and coffee cakes. Personnel were friendly, courteous and good humored; especially in the breakfast area, making for a good start to the day. A disappointment, I expected to get a discount for staying seven days but did not.


Great Getaway

3.4 on November 21, 2011

My wife and I spent our five year anniversary in San Anselmo. This little town was a great mid-way point between Napa and Point Reyes National Seashore. We enjoyed a romantic dinner at the little Italian resteraunt down the street and enjoyed walking to and from the Inn. The room was just right for the two of us and we slept well. The Inn Keeper had everything ready for us on our arrival and was very helpful getting us settled in. We would definately consider staying here again.


Homey and quiet

4.6 on November 14, 2011

I spent 4 nights by myself at the San Anselmo Inn and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was comfortable and quiet, clean and cozy. I loved that the feeling was personal and not corporate - and the breakfasts were great.


Lovely Place to stay in Great Town

5 on October 24, 2011

We were visiting our daughter who lives in Sausalito and were looking for a fun place to stay for the night. The San Anselmo Inn was a beautiful place in a lovely town with fantastic service and breakfast. The price was also reasonable and it was nice to be able to stay for only one night. Cannot wait to spend more time their and explore San Anselmo.


Almost perfect!

4.0 on October 22, 2011

We arrived after 9PM and they had left a note for us with keys and instructions. They have parking agreement with the bank (almost) next door. Unfortunately, you can not park in front of the inn on the street. We did not mind since we were traveling light. Room was cosy and very beautifully decorated. It seemed to be newly painted but sparingly furnished. Iiron and ironing board were in the room, we did not have to go asking for it. Bed was very comfortable and the bedding was clean, and cushy. Bathroom showed age but it was very clean. The hallway and entrance is rustic and cute. Breakfast was lavish. They had everything, cereal, boiled eggs, quiche, fruit (very fresh), pastries. The ladies both days of our stay kept the breakfast tables well stocked. Unfortunately I can not handle more than one croissant, my loss. But my husband feasted at breakfast. The one thing that bothered me was that they did not replenish the toiletries. The soap dissolved completely after we showered. But as far as coming back, I definitely would love to come back with my own soap and shampoo.


b and b review

3.4 on October 22, 2011

the innkeepers were very courteous and the breakfast was very good. The rooms were a little noisy as the rooms are so close to each other.


OK, but noisy

3.0 on October 10, 2011

Stayed in room 236, which appears to be in a section of a four room addition (is lower than the rest of the hallway. These rooms are vented with a pass through over the entry doors, as well as a pass through vent to the bathroom of the adjoining room. Needless to say, there is a lot of noise that comes through this. Toilet flushing or showers in the adjacent rooms sound like they are in your room! Wouldn't recommend this if you're on a honeymoon (wink wink, nudge nudge).


Lovely Stay

4.0 on October 03, 2011

An amazing experience with wonderful staff. I honestly felt i was part of the team by the end of the week. I even got a hug goodbye. The breakfast was vast and perfect and a cup of strong coffee thrown in. Comfortable bed and quaint surroundings.


Good Place to Stay

4.2 on September 24, 2011

Stayed one night; would stay there again. Rooms were small, but clean and quiet.


San Anselmo "Find!!"

4.4 on September 24, 2011

The breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit and every morning, a hot dish of some sort of eggs (frittata or quiche) and several types of breads, muffins, bagels. The dining area was really cute, very bright and friendly and welcoming in both ambience and decor. The cleanliness was great with the exception of no hand sanitizer in the shared toilet (which did not have a sink in it). I spoke with the person at the desk regarding that and he said he would buy some that day, but it did not happen. Otherwise, all was pretty great and I would definitely recommend it. I looked at several of the rooms which did not share a bathroom (I shared with one other room and would do so again, by the way) and they were lovely. I think the cost of having a bathroom accessible, though, was a significant price jump.

Innkeeper Response
First of all thanks for your great review. We always take guest suggestions very seriously and have placed hand sanitizer in the shared bath though we're sorry it didn't appear before your departure. We would like to point out that the two rooms that have a shared bath use two separate facilities, one for the W/C and one for the shower/bath. These rooms also have a vainty with a sink in the room. We agree that these rooms offer a great value, particulalrly when you consider the price includes a generous breakfast buffet,free Wi-Fi, free parking, free bicycles, and more. Nonetheless, we also believe our other rooms of various sizes offer great value and urge you to visit marin360.com for a panoramic sampling of each room type. Thanks again for your review and we look forwrd to your return stay with us.


always a nice place to stay

4.0 on September 17, 2011

We've stayed at the San Anselmo Inn quite a few times now, it's our default place to stay when in Marin / San Francisco. Friendly hosts, great spot, nice and clean. The beds are super comfy and the rooms and nicely appointed.


Great place

5 on September 06, 2011

Wonderful friendly service.


Review by Linda

5 on August 29, 2011

I loved the Inn. The breakfast was great. The room was so homey and lovely. I will definitely stay there again. Liked it better than the place in Fairfax.


Just a quick overnight August 2011

3.8 on August 19, 2011

The staff were very warm and friendly, the decor was delightful, and breakfast was outstanding. The room was somewhat cramped (so small that closing the door was an issue when the quilt was over the footboard of the bed) and every sound was clearly audible from the rooms nearby. Still, it was a pleasant place for our short stay. P.S. By the way, two lights are out on your front sign.


Great stay

4.0 on August 18, 2011

Wonderful small European style B&B. Friendly, warm atmosphere.


A great evening!

3.4 on August 15, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the San Anselmo Inn. We hope to be able to stay there again.


Great place!

4.2 on August 02, 2011

I would stay here again. Staff was very nice and breakfast was great!


Very European

4.0 on July 13, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay provided you are accustomed to European sized rooms. Very small but more than adequate and clean. Bed was wonderful. We were at the back of the inn and the garbage pickup at the restaurant next door was very early every morning. I would definitely come again. Staff was lovely, room was just right, free bike use was fun and the value for the area is unbeatable.


San Anselmo Inn

4.0 on July 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the sweet little Inn last week. Cute, clean rooms, friendly and helpful front desk staff and a delicious breakfast. Will certainly return in the future.


San Anselmo Inn Review

4.4 on July 08, 2011

I am from New Orleans and recently stayed at the San Anslemo Inn for 5 days. Not only did they provide an excellent breakfast in the early to till the afternoon, they also set me up with a bike, which I used everyday. The staff is super friendly, and they helped me immensely during my stay. I would recommend San Anselmo Inn to all my friends, and I hope to make it back in the near future. -Sean C.


Absolute recommendation

4.6 on June 30, 2011

A beautiful and very nice place - the owners are super friendly, and the breakfast was amazing!


Great place, great town, great value.

4.0 on May 16, 2011

The breakfast was outstanding, the staff were very accommodating.


A GEM

4.2 on May 16, 2011

We stayed at the San Anselmo Inn and found it to be a gem. We got in to town early and our host graciously checked us in early and upgraded our room at no additional cost. The Inn looks like a charming French Inn. The bathroom was a bit tight, but we can't complain since we got a free upgrade. The room was very clean. The contintental breakfast was sufficient. Coffee was delicious, not weak, fresh fruit, yogurt and various breads. We would definitely return for another visit.


Quaint inn in the heart of town.

4.0 on May 16, 2011

A charming inn located in the midst of a quaint shopping street. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the inn had a lot of nice touches, such as fresh baked cookies at front desk when I arrived. I will be staying here whenever I visit Marin County.


San Anselmo Inn

3.2 on May 04, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a lovely stay at the San Anselmo Inn. We enjoyed being downtown within walking distance of restaurants and taking long walks in my hometown. Parking was close and easy. Our room could use some rennovation and updating but was clean and spacious. Thanks.

Innkeeper Response
Rooms are being upgraded to TV sets with the latest flat screen technology which allow viewers to access the internet through our complimentary Wi-Fi connection.


Comfortable in Downtown San Anselmo

3.2 on April 28, 2011

San Anselmo Inn is well-located in downtown San Anselmo. It is cozy and comfortable. Accomodations are simple, but sufficient and we slept very well.


Good place to stay

4.0 on April 16, 2011

We recently stayed at San Anselmo Inn because we wanted to explore more of Marin County. The inn was very quaint and located on a cute street with coffee shops, unique clothing stores and a quaint pharmacy. Art was very helpful on recommending restaurants in the area and parking was very convenient. The bathroom sink initially leaked but my husband fixed it in a second so otherwise there was no problems with the room. The room was cozy, comfortable and quiet. I would definitely recommend the inn to anyone wanting to explore Marin County. Sam's Anchor in Tiburon was a great place for dinner!


San Anselmo Inn -- great spot

4.4 on April 12, 2011

This is the first time I've stayed at the San Anselmo Inn and I will definitely be returning. Comfortable and cozy rooms, a good price and exceedingly friendly staff made this stay a real pleasure. Jerry Van Marter Louisville, KY


My week long stay

5 on April 02, 2011

I was extremely happy with my stay. Extremely friendly staff, excellent service, clean rooms. I stayed for a week. Rooms are on the smaller size just be aware of that but they had such charm it did not deter from my long stay. You must try the restaurant below, the cook is absolutely AMAZING! I will definitely come back here!


Charming Place & Great Servie

3.8 on February 27, 2011

My sisters and I stayed in a couple rooms in Feb 2011. We had a great visit. The Inn is in walking distance of great little shops and a fun downtown area. The people at the Inn that greeted us every day where very friendly. I will stay there again when visiting family in the area.


quiet and relaxing stay

4.4 on February 20, 2011

I've stayed here many times, alone, but brought my husband for a Valentine's Day weekend. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable and cozy.


Sister's getaway baby shower

3.8 on February 19, 2011

We all converged on your wonderful Inn for a family baby shower weekend. The rooms were wonderful and we were glad we had the upstairs pretty much all to ourselves. We might have been a bit too loud but hope it didn't scare anyone off! Thank you for making it a fantastic and cozy weekend and allowing us all to be together.


A cozy nice place!

4.2 on February 10, 2011

Let's see... there are many reasons why I liked the San Anselmo Inn so much. The staff was very kind. We reserved a Queen room, but we were given a King room --Jacuzzi in the bathroom, too. The room was very clean, there wasn't that 'particular' smell that usually characterizes hotels rooms. Even the most expensive ones have it, and it always bothers me. The room was a good size, provencal style and so cozy! The bed was very comfortable, too. M.G., Yuba City, CA


a wonderful night's rest

4.6 on January 14, 2011

Extraordinarily comfy beds; peace and quiet. Like a very well-kept home. They've converted their breakfast room into a cafe accessible by non-guests, hence my breakfast was ruined by squalling children. (I hate children.) Apart from that, I heartily recommend San Anselmo Inn. A lovely place to stay.


New Year's Eve Stay

3.6 on January 04, 2011

The San Anselmo Inn is always a lovely place to stay. Excellent rooms at a great price -- very much recommended. The service in the Inn was spot on, but the service in the dining room (Sunflower Cafe) was subpar once again, judging from previous experiences.


Weekend in San Anselmo

4.0 on December 20, 2010

As a past resident of San Anselmo from the 70's, I wanted a special place for my Sister and I to stay while visiting her Daughter for a get together baby shower. Still a quaint city and you are right in the center of everything and all necessities within walking distance. Daytime parking can be trying with the holiday and busy shoppers but worth the effort to be treated so nicely and such a out of the way feeling right on the main street. Would recommend. Yvonne Kirk


Another great visit

4.4 on November 18, 2010

I stay at the Inn at least twice a year. It clean, comfortable, and every guest room is different-much nicer than a normal motel room. It is too bad the Inn doesn't have it's own parking lot, but parking near by isn't difficult.


Wonderful Stay

4.2 on October 20, 2010

I was very pleased with the service I received at San Anselmo Inn. The rooms were very clean and the staff was most accomodating.


San Anselmo Stay

4.8 on October 02, 2010

An inn that rivals any European experience in the heart of a charming town and well worth a stop here on any road trip--you won't regret it!


"Old World" charm in a fast paced world.

3.0 on September 27, 2010

Visiting the San Anselmo Inn is always a pleasure. The rooms are all charming, it is as if one is staying in the countryside. Downtown San Anselmo is delightful with good shopping and good food. I have been back to the Inn twice and will return again. It is definitely my "home away from home".


Leaving town

4.6 on September 14, 2010

As a resident of SA I had recommended the Inn to visitors but never actually stayed there myself. It is a wonderful place, and I will stay there when I return to SA in the future now that I have moved out of State


Perfect b&b

4.6 on August 12, 2010

Nice room, good breakfast


Easter Stay

4.0 on April 10, 2010

The Inn was very close to my son's home and to our grandchildren's school, which made it very attractive. The room was comfortable. The radio alarm did not work, nor did the iron, but both were replaced quickly. There was no bath soap, but complexion soap cleans one well. The people were pleasant. Both my husband and I smoke, but we understand well how unappealing that is and would never smoke in the room. On the third day we were there we were asked if we were smoking in the room. We were not, and never would. We spent from early morning until after dinner with our children and grandchildren every day, so we really only slept there. Nonetheless, the smoking questions kept coming. That made our stay less than optimal.

Innkeeper Response
This guest correctly notes that we are very diligent in enforcing our "no smoking" policy. While we apologize if they felt they were being treated unfairly, we would ask all who choose to smoke to be mindful of the fact that the smell of tobaccco smoke is often carried by clothes, luggage, and other belongings permeated with the odour of tobacco.


Great Room, Great Price!

4.6 on August 02, 2008

We were fortunate enough to stay here one night during a recent trip, and it was such a lovely experience! Our room was beautiful, and very clean. I could tell that it had been recently updated, but it retained some old-style charm. The staff was very helpful. We were traveling with a young child, and they were very accommodating. It was a fine place to stay if you have little ones, especially since their wonderful breakfast starts at 7:30am. We just woke up and rolled out of bed to quiche and tons of fresh fruit and waffles! I would love to stay there again!


Great, unique place!!

5 on May 11, 2008

Great location in small Marin county town. Super nice rooms and accomodating staff. Very relaxing get away.


San Anselmo Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $199
  • Reviews (118) 4.2
  • Rooms 15

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (415) 455-5366

Visit Website »

View details

Top