Ambrose Bierce House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect St. Helena location

4.4 on October 30, 2011

The Ambrose Bierce house was wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious and the tips they gave about dining and attractions were spot on. The afternoon reception was lovely, and a great opportunity to visit with our hosts and other guests. The only downside was that our room was warm, and didn't seem to cool off well. Not a big surprise in an older house. The location was great and we could walk to many excellent restaurants.


Very nice

3.2 on August 17, 2011

The Innkeeper Chris was very nice and helpful with recommendations for meals and wineries. Breakfasts were very good. Overall, the inn was nice; rooms are a bit tight; maid service was acceptable but not exceptional; beds are firm; bathrooms and tubs are nice; outside hot tub is great and can be used 24/7; wine and cheese at 5 pm. Location is excellent, close enough to restaurants and shops, but in a quieter part of the town.


An amazing family stay for our wedding!

4.8 on July 27, 2011

My now-husband, our son and my immediate family stayed in this beautiful property for the night before/of/after our wedding in July, 2011. Everything was just perfect. The rooms were beautiful, the setting and location amazing and the hospitality perfect! The included breakfasts were UNBELIEVABLE and gourmet!! We loved our stay and would happily stay again.


Excellent location

4.0 on June 04, 2011

Our stay at the Ambrose Bierce house was perfect. It is located in St. Helena walking distance to many restaurants and a few wineries. The northern part of Napa is definitely the place to stay and the views are beautiful in this area. The house is priced very reasonably and the breakfast was terrific. Mimosas every morning too!


Lovely stay...

4.2 on April 01, 2011

What a sweet spot. Clean, friendly with a lovely historic air to it. The staff couldn't have been nicer or the facilities more inviting. Highly recommended...


Ambrose Bierce House in March

4.4 on March 30, 2011

The house is extremely nice, well maintained, and felt private even with 6 guest staying over the weekend. We enjoyed the breakfast and the host was very helpful in providing guidance for wine tasting, restuarants, and other attractions. We would definitely stay again.


CIA 3-11

3.4 on March 24, 2011

Didn't get to meet the innkeeper or have breakfast because of my schedule, but everything worked out well.


Great stay!

4.0 on February 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay for our family reunion during the lunar new year's holidays. The service was great, wine was awesome, breakfast a feast, and John guided us to wonderful wineries!


Very nice room and an excellent breakfast

4.0 on February 16, 2011

The room was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was very good as well. We stayed in the Molly Day rom, which has a private entrance and we enjoyed that. There is a nice outdoor sitting area that we didn't use this trip but when the weather is nice it will be wonderful and very private. The hot tub is right outside the room, but unfortunately there is no gate from the Mollie Day patio, so you have to go around to the front of the house to enter. No big deal. My one nit is that I ordered a package of roses and champagne and chocolates to be in our room on arrival and that was forgotten. Since we were there for 2 days I mentioned it and it was corrected that day. The downside is we had one less day to enjoy our lovely roses before leaving. I would recommend the Ambrose Bierce House, and we would stay there again. If you do stay here, don't miss Market, just a short 2 block walk south on Main St. The food is delicious and the prices reasonable. Cheers!


40th Birthday Getaway

4.0 on November 14, 2010

We had a fantastic stay at Ambrose Bierce House. We were there to celebrate my 40th birthday. John and Lisa were both very nice, we shared wine and cheese both nights with them and enjoyed great conversation! I loved John's wine too;)


What a charming place to stay!

5 on November 07, 2010

The Ambrose Bierce House was intimate and cozy. Breakfast was delicious!


Ambrose Bierce House Stay

5 on November 02, 2010

This is one of the nicest places my wife and I have ever stayed. The house was clean and wonderfully decorated. The rooms were beautiful. The hosts were kind and gracious and we felt right at home. Wonderful champagne breakfast with the world's greatest and largest croissants. We will go back again. Thanks Ambrose Bierce House. Doug and Dawn Mozealous Miami, Florida


Cosz B&B

4.0 on October 28, 2010

A great little get away. Extremely comfortable, great location and close to many vineyards and restaurants. Outstanding breakfast. Owners were also extremely helpful.


Excellent

5 on October 25, 2010

John and Lisa went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best. It was our 20th anniversary-they made reservations, suggested winerys we might enjoy, and other places to eat. We brought champagne to share and Lisa graciously served it and visited with all the guests. John's breakfasts were to die for and our room was lovely. Thanks so much, RT and Denise Tillery


Great cosy place

4.2 on September 23, 2010

Ambrose Bierce House is very cosy. The rooms are rather small but gorgeous. It feels like coming home to your parents place. The breakfast is celebrated every morning at 9am sharp. This also gives you the chance to get to know the other guests as it is only one big breakfast table for all 10 guests. Carlos, the manager is looking well after everybody and has a recommendation for everything you want to do. Additionally they organising taxi services for the guests as the normal black cab in Napa is ridiculously expensive. It was a great experience and I can only recommend it to everybody. Book early as it is booked out fast. I was lucky to get a room as they had one cancellation.


Great Affordable B&B

4.6 on August 26, 2010

We brought friends from Minnesota and wanted a comfortable and cozy place to stay at a reasonable cost. We found it. Carlos was very attentive, the breakfast was delicious and the wine, made by the owners was a special treat.


Great place to stay!

4.0 on August 17, 2010

Breakfast was excellent. The house and room/bathroom was very clean.


Perfect place to stay in the Napa Valley

5 on July 16, 2010

Location was ideal and within walking distance of everything in town. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful in restaurant and vineyard recommendations. We could not have been happier and would highly recommend.


Sibling Reunion in Napa

5 on July 11, 2010

Just spent three fantastic days and two nights in Napa Valley, all made possible by the great folks who run the Ambrose Bierce House B&B in St. Helena. First they were thoughtful enough to call us before we even arrived in Napa Valley to see how they could help. They suggested some great spots to stop for lunch and to see on our way up. Once we got there, they took the time to listen to our interests and not only made great suggestions, but went out of our way to make the necessary arrangements making the entire trip in Napa effortless. The rooms in the inn were charming, comfortable and clean. The afternoon wine and cheese was a joy, and the breakfasts were the highlight of it all.


Delightful Place!

4.4 on December 07, 2009

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ambrose Bierce House. Our room was sunny, charming, comfortable, and a great value for the area. We loved being walking distance to all the downtown St. Helena shops & restaurants. Carlos, the innkeeper, was exceedingly friendly, welcoming & helpful. Breakfast was great, especially the homemade croissants! We would be very happy to return.


Great place

4.6 on October 19, 2009

We had a wonderful three days here. Carlos was an excellent host and kept us up to date on the area wineries and restaurants. Cindy's restaurant, Rutherford Grill and Tre Vigne are outstanding.Breakfast each morning was a real treat. We'll be back next year for another trip. Thanks Carlos K & MJ


Napa Valley Find

5 on February 10, 2009

What a find in the Napa Valley. Ambrose Bierce House was a fantastic place to spend our honeymoon. Thr ooms were perfect and the breakfast was to die for. We could walk to town and even walk to restaurants. The Innkeeper Carlos could not have been nore helpfull. He new all about the wineries and helped us get into some small out of the way places. WE will come back again and again.


Downtown Heaven

5 on June 01, 2007

Ambrose Bierce House was such a great place to stay in downtown St. Helena. WE could walk to all the restaurants and shops in town and even to Beringer Vineyards. The place was perfect and the breakfast was to die for. Carlos was a great innkeeper and helped us all over the Valley. We will be back again and again


Ambrose Bierce House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $159 - $329
  • Reviews (23) 4.4
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7079633003
  • Phone 1-4155135006
  • Fax 1-7079639367
  • Mobile 1-4154121198

Visit Website »

View details

Top