Alta Cresta Orchard & Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
22 Reviews

Write A Review

Special Place for a Special Birthday

4.8 on January 27, 2014

If you're looking for a very private getaway with quiet, stunning views, and the feeling that you are alone on the top of a hill, this is your retreat. Amidst the olive trees, this beautifully-appointed Inn makes you feel that you have the whole world to yourself but can drive into town within a few minutes and experience terrific restaurants, classy wineries and boutique shops. The owners have built a lovely home with everything you could need to relax and escape at your own leisure. If you are looking for a non-traditional place to stay, look no further.


Peaceful retreat

5 on August 14, 2013

Our daughter just got married, and she and her husband gave us some B & B gift cards as a thank you. We decided to use them to celebrate our 35th anniversary. It was just what we needed after a hectic couple of weeks with the wedding and activities with out-of-town guests. The cottage was very well appointed, and the setting just breathtaking. Ron welcomed us and let us in. There was a fresh baguette, some olive oil and a bottle of wine waiting for us. There were also supplies for breakfast including a box of cereal, fresh danishes, yogurt, fruit, goat cheese, coffee, milk and orange juice. The coffee was replenished the next day, as well as the pastries. There was a delicious lemon blueberry loaf when we got back from a day of exploring the beautiful area. We checked out the little shop on the premisses, tasted and bought some of their olive oil and other things. The place was very peaceful and relaxing. We sat out on the back patio overlooking the olive orchard and vineyards. We had breakfast out there, and then later in the day, we sat out there to watch the sunset. The owners don't mind if you stroll around the property. They also give you privacy. We met Susan when we were leaving. She and Ron are both very nice. I need to email them to ask what kind of pillows they have. It was just the perfect height for me. I woke up without neck pain for a change. All in all, a wonderful experience, and we would like to go back there. We highly recommend it. Thank you! Stella & Alan

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your wonderful review and choosing to stay in the Olive Cottage. It is gratifying to know that our guest fully enjoyed their visit to the Paso Robles area and that they were able to relax and unwind. We look forward to having them as guests again in the future. Susan and Ron


Perfect Weekend!

4.6 on November 19, 2012

My wife and I celebrated her 40th birthday weekend at the cottage. The entire experience was wonderful! The cottage has all the amneties that you may like in a hotel (free wi-fi, satellite tv, toiletries, housekeeping) and the personal touch of a B&B (local coffee, local wine, olive oil, bread, cheese, and much more!). It thankfully leaves out all the things I cannot stand about hotels (generic, impersonal, and stale) and B&B's (staying in a room in the owner's home, pressure to socialize, and feeling like you always need to whisper). The cottage has everything it needs and doesn't rely on the residence. Susan met us when we arrived and thanked us on our way out. She was entirely available to chat and introduce us to their homemade olive oil; however, it was based on if we wanted to engage or not. We felt taken care of while keeping our privacy (we have 4 boys at home and really needed time for us). The kitchen had everything needed to cook, the living room was warm and inviting, the bathroom was pristine with an open shower and local made tolietries, and the bedroom was the perfect size and cozy. All of the furniture was up-to-date, great selection of the most recent travel magazines, a myriad of books ranging from best sellers to local history, and the food provided was fresh and local. The views from the back patio had the feel of being in Tuscany. Upon our request, Susan provided tasting and insight on the different Olive Oils. We purchased the Italian Blend (smooth with a little kick in the end) and Coratina (provided in the cottage upon arrival with bread). My wife said it was the best birthday gift ever! Her expectations were high after visiting the website. Those expecations were surpassed! I know Susan and Ron would never ask for a guest to write a review, but we feel that Alta Cresta Orchard needs to be known and experienced by anyone looking to vacation in the area. It's well worth it and we can't wait to return!


25th Anniversary & a family emergency

5 on December 04, 2011

After a very long work week and a much anticipated time off to unwind and celebrate a 25th anniversary, alas we arrived late. Susan was great and greeted us as the sun was just beginning to set. She had a bottle of local wine, garden berries, bread, and all sorts of other goodies for us. We so enjoyed the goodies, we decided to just eat in instead of going out to dinner and arise early to catch a hearty breakfast. We loved the cottage, beautifully decorated, and filled with all the amenities we needed. We walked along the orchards and just took in the beautiful scenery -absolutely stunning! We awoke to a cell call from our local hospital informing us our son was in a horrible life threatening accident and we needed to return immediately. We left around 1am, and simply left a message for Susan, not really knowing what awaited us when we returned home. She was the most awesome host, letting us know we were in her thoughts and not to worry about having to leave early. Her thoughtfulness was touching and in some way helped ease the pain we went through for the next many days. Now that we are finally out of the woods and our son is on the road to recovery, we plan to return in the near future to enjoy more of the beautiful sunsets at Alta Cresta Orchards. From the bottom of our hearts, THANK YOU Susan!!! Sincerely, Chuck & Mary George

Innkeeper Response
There are times in our lives when all that matters is the well being of a loved one. I am so happy to hear that your son is recovering. Thank you for the most kind words. We look forward to you returning for that much needed rest and relaxation.


Get away time!

4.2 on August 28, 2011

A wonderful location. Beautiful views and walking paths. Very nice owners.


Amazing Stay at Alta Cresta

5 on July 31, 2011

My husband, baby, and I just returned from a 3 night stay at Alta Cresta and are already thinking of when we can go back. We had a wonderful time! Susan and Ron are very friendly and did everything they could to ensure we had an enjoyable stay and also gave us our privacy. From breakfast sweets to cleaning our room to helping us with directions, they were great! We highly recommend a trip to Alta Cresta...perfect for families (very private and spacious), couples, friends...everyone!!


Great Getaway

5 on July 12, 2011

If you want to just get away for a few days and disconnect, this is the place. Even if you want to connect, wireless internet was available. A great place to relax. A bottle of wine when we arrived, fresh fruit and pastries each morning. Even an olive oil tasting. Ron & Susan are great hosts and a wonderful story. An exceptional getaway.


Great private escape

4.8 on June 17, 2011

Stayed 2 nights booked via bedandbreakfast.com website. The owners were not informed there were 3 guests and that we would be using the queen sofa sleeper but they made immediate accommodations when we arrived with bedding and towels and even gave us a bottle of their olive oil for the mix-up. We appreciated the privacy and quiet of the property, wonderful views and no-hassle breakfast already provided for in the kitchen. Only had to brew our own coffee and warm up bread in the oven for a flexible breakfast. Easy drive into Paso Robles for dinner and other nearby coastal towns for daytrips.


Breathtaking Vistas

4.2 on May 19, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a very memorable two night stay at Alta Cresta. The one bedroom "cottage" is comfortable, spacious, well equiped, modern and offers amazing views over vineyards and rolling countryside. The surrounding area is great for exploring (wineries, coastal and mountain drives and wonderful scenery). Alta Cresta far exceeded our expectations.


O'LIVE O'LOVE

4.6 on April 03, 2011

We spent a wonderful weekend in the cottage. The private cottage is beautifully done with a patio and amazing views. The property is very scenic, lots of olive trees Great place to jog or walk. Wine tasting is nearby. The Alta Cresta Olive Oil is really incredible and Susan and Ron gave us a great olive oil tasting and education on the complexity of the oils. Great hosts, breakfast, luxurious and peaceful environment.


The Best

5 on January 24, 2011

If you would like to completely relax, wake up to incredible views, be near wonderful vineyards, and you appreciate complete privacy, Alta Cresta is the place for you! You literally have a large, modern, and very clean one bedroom home to yourself with no one else around. So relaxing! So great! A must!


Tuscany in paso Robles

4.8 on December 27, 2010

We stayed with Susan and Ron this past November for 4 days. They do a wonderful job of making you feel right at home. That is if your home is a beautiful villa in Tuscany. The apartment is beautiful with all of the comforts of home and the vista off of the back porch is wonderful. They are close to everything including vineyards, shopping, restaurants. and down town, yet you feel like you are in your private countryside. We highly recommend this wonderful B + B both for the ammenities aand the warmth of the owners. We will return. Thank You, John.


Alta Cresta Orchard

3.8 on November 11, 2010

What a beautiful spot! The cottage is incredibly comfortable and it's easy to come up with excuses to stay there rather than go out.


Amazing Stay at Alta Cresta Orchard

5 on June 15, 2010

We stayed at Alta Cresta as part of our Honeymoon and it was amazing. We were in Paso Robles to go wine tasting and this was the perfect base camp for us. The cottage was huge and had an absolutely breathtaking view of the entire valley and the mountains in the distance. We had a private kitchen and private patio, which allowed us to cook dinner for ourselves and then eat and drink some of our newly purchased wine while watching the sunset. Susan and Ron are also extremely nice and make some truly fantastic olive oil! In summary, everything about our experience was outstanding. We have already told all of our friends that this is the place to stay in Paso Robles!


Beautiful Property

3.4 on June 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our brief stay at Alta Cresta. Because it's a cottage, we really enjoyed the privacy it afforded, especially since we were there with our baby and didn't want him disturbing anyone. The views from the private patio were amazing, the kitchen was very well stocked so we were able to cook easily both nights, and the decor and comfort of the cottage was great. The only thing that could be improved upon was the breakfast that was left for us each afternoon -- the bread was a little stale and the berries in the fridge were well past their prime. The coffee and pastries were perfect though. But overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would go back!

Innkeeper Response
We offer our apologies to our guests. We endeavor to provide only the freshest food items to our guests and would have gladly replaced the bread and the fruit if we had been aware during their stay that there was an issue.


Relaxing Oasis

4.8 on March 01, 2010

Our stay at Alta Cresta exceeded our expectations. It is a beautiful and very peaceful Inn. It is like having your own little house to relax in. We enjoyed sitting on the veranda with our morning coffee as we watched the deer in the meadows. Then in the evening, watching the sunset. The Innkeeper's dinning recommendations were just what we asked for. We highly recommend Alta Cresta. We are looking forward to our next stay there.


Paso Robles B&B with olive oil.

4.8 on October 20, 2009

Thank you for being a gracious hostess and inn keeper. We enjoyed our stay at the cottage at Alta Cresta. It was comfortable, spacious, included the opportunity to prepare a gourmet meal and eat outside on the patio. And, of course, to meet you and your husband and sample the hand crafted olive oil…it was truly a treat for us. It's a bit out-of-the way to locate, but quiet and a grand view! Until next time… ciao’


Absolutely Delightful

4.8 on October 19, 2009

This was one of the best cottage experiences ever. All the comforts of home including a full kitchen and living room plus daily service and breakfast provided. The sunsets from the back terrace were fantastic and the setting was so peaceful - surrounded by an olive orchard and just the sound of crickets at night and a view down to the city lights of Paso Robles. Add to that an opportunity to taste some very good olive oils and it's a destination in itself. We will return.


Hidden Gem in Wine Country

5 on October 19, 2009

Having your own private retreat made the Olive Cottage our favorite of the 3 B&B's we sampled during our week in Paso. Susan & Ron even arranged a private dinner at our Villa. The sunset views were perfect and the atmoshere so serene that you will be tempted to stay in and cook especially if you buy some of their tasty olive oil. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.


Wonderful experience

5 on June 20, 2008

Fabulous accommodations...Perfect for the getaway from everything else...Very private....Beautiful surroundings...Very friendly hosts...


Very nice beginning to thanksgiving weekend.

4.6 on November 21, 2007

Very nice place, great little town. Great wine!


Wonderful Retreat

5 on September 09, 2007

We had a wonderful and tranquil couple of days at the Alta Cresta Orchard & Inn. Susan and Ron did everything to make our visit comfortable and luxurious. It was a little taste of Tuscany in this luxurious private villa with outstanding views of landscape and wild life in the middle of an olive orchard. We will definitely return.

Innkeeper Response
We greatly appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank You


Alta Cresta Orchard & Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $225 - $275
  • Reviews (22) 4.7
  • Rooms 1
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8052274751

Visit Website »

View details

Top