Inn at Occidental of Sonoma Wine Country Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Weekend getaway

3.4 on August 25, 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Inn at Occidental in August 2014. The inn was very picturesque and the innkeepers were very friendly. They were able to help us make dinner reservations and provide us with a wine tasting pass for free tastings. We stayed in the Leaf Umbrella room which was very cute but the television was small and very far from the bed. We weren't able to turn up the volume past a certain level so it was a bit tricky to watch TV from there. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic- they have a daily special along with homemade granola-yum!, yogurt, juices, etc. The nightly wine and cheese hour was just okay- while the cheese was very tasty, they had a winery come in to pour and we were only given 1 ounce pours- something we have never experienced during one of these hours. The man from the winery was also quite rude. Despite this, we would definitely come back again to stay and maybe try a different room next time.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the constructive thoughts about our Leaf Umbrella room. After receiving you comments we did go into the room and took a look at the TV and listened to the volume. The Samsung set is too small and we are in the process of replacing it. On occasion we do invite a local winery to visit us and do a tasting in our living room from 5 to 6 pm; We have passed along to the owner of the winery to not send this individual back to our Inn for any future tastings because of the rudeness. As to the pour size he was following the wineries pouring quantities for each of the wines that he brought to taste. When we pour during our regular wine hour we offer one Pinot Noir and one Sauvignon Blanc. Our Inn's wine glass is an 11 oz glass and we pour 4-5 ounces per glass.


Beautiful Inn, Great Location

3.2 on August 20, 2014

We loved the hospitality and central location of the Inn. It was easy to either hit the wine trails or head to the coast, and you were out of the hustle and bustle of Sonoma. Beautiful area and the hosts were wonderful. Nitpicks - bed was a little worn and uncomfortable, as were pillows; breakfast was adequate but portions were small. Only 1 piece of bacon with the pancakes and nothing on the side with the eggs benedict the next day. Granola and scones were available on the side table, but expected something a little more from the meals at this price point. Bob H. Sacramento, CA

Innkeeper Response
Our bedding generally receives high marks. In May of this year we replaced all of our guest room pillows in the Inn. Two years ago we replaced the boxes pring and mattress. The duvet cover is also fairly new and we're somewhat at a loss to understand the bed comment. We will attempt to get back to the writer of the review to learn more. As to the breakfast we have always felt we have provided quite a significant offering. Our breakfast has two parts. the first part is on a very large table in our dining room where we provide yogurt, two granolas, assorted cut fruit in season, several juices, a freshly baked muffin or scone. Following that our dining room innkeeper offers our guests the morning hot entrée. Every Sunday morning we offer our eggs benedict, however we don't provide a side with the eggs benedict. We are contemplating of offering two asparagus spears on the plate. Our pancake morning is one where we do a special orange pancake entrée which has 3 pancakes and a special orange sauce. Side order is bacon and we have been providing one large slice. We will consider the two slice version. Overall this is a very hardy breakfast. Thank you for the input.


Lovely Inn in Occidental

3.6 on August 14, 2014

If you are wondering where all the old hippies are - come to Occidental. We stayed 2 nights at the Inn and enjoyed the lovely room, breakfast and wine and cheese. We had an opportunity to chat with some of the other guests at the inn and found it a beautiful stop for our weekend in Sonoma. It is expensive, but worth the splurge.


Great B&B!

4.8 on August 13, 2014

The Inn was everything we expected it to be, and more! The room (and bed) was supremely comfortable and spacious. The views were exquisite. The breakfasts were delicious and the afternoon wine and cheese hours on the front porch were relaxing at the end of full day of sights and experiences. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to the Sonoma wine region!


A dream of a vacation spot.

5 on July 15, 2014

The Inn at Occidental is pricey - but the wonderful staff and the gorgeous property really deliver on the promise. It really could not have been any nicer. Our room (Safari) was massive - immaculately clean, beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were memorably delicious. The staff treated us like old friends. The location was super - walking distance to everything in town, and short drives to the local points of interest, of which there are MANY. Our only complaint: That we couldn't stay another day.


BandB

3.4 on June 17, 2014

Beautiful Bed and Breakfast. Good location, quiet area, cozy rooms, friendly people. Great wine tasting hour in the evening. Yummy breakfast. I wish there were more breakfast entree options though. I also feel like it was a bit pricey. Overall, great experience!


Nice stay at Occidental

3.4 on May 17, 2014

Very nice atmosphere and warm hospitality. I would have preferred to have fresh squeezed oranges instead of juices for breakfast.


Restful Gem

4.4 on May 07, 2014

We went for a quick night away to celebrate a birthday and were totally blown away by the attention to detail in the service. Cake in our room on arrival, spur of the moment massage booked, fantastic dinner reservations at the local french restaurant. And the breakfast was fantastic. It is a darling little inn, but the incredible service really made it special!


Valentine's Day Weekend Get-away

4.4 on February 21, 2014

It was a rainy weekend but the stay at Occidental Inn warmed our hearts. Although we have been to numerous other B&Bs in the Sonoma/Russioan River area over the years, this was our first trip to Occidental and what a find! The setting is perfect and the Inn is truly a beautiful place. We stayed in the Marbles Suite and it is an exceptional room with a very comfortable seating area, fireplace, large spa-type tub, a nice sixed bathroom with a roomy walk-in shower. The breakfast was top quality cuisine, although the first day the service was inexplicably slow (50 minutes to receive the entree!). The second day however, the service was prompt and the food superb. We love this area and the Occidental Inn is one of the region's crown jewels.


planning to return as soon as possible

5 on February 05, 2014

Wonderful B&B, very romantic. Staff were great. We're planning to return as soon as possible


Comfortable, charming & welcoming

3.8 on January 02, 2014

My bride and I stayed the weekend after Christmas. Tina & Jerry are the most Friendly and accommodating innkeepers. Every stick of furniture and decor is unique & authentic, right down to the wicker waste baskets. Breakfast was beautifully presented, well prepared, and healthy served in a lovely but chilly dining room. The only complaint is that we couldn't lower the heat in our room, so we were quite toasty under the down comforter and heavy linen. We hope to stay there again.


Wonderful B&B

4.2 on October 03, 2012

The only thing that we recommend that the Inn should disclose, is there is limited cell phone coverage at the Inn. Verizon works in some places in the Inn but not all.


A Blessed Haven

4.8 on September 04, 2012

Felt like a dream in the woods, in the clouds, amongst the transparency of man and nature living well together. Refreshed.


A Must Stay!!

5 on October 13, 2009

I had always wanted to try a stay at the Inn at Occidental and finally got the pleasure to stay there a night as my husband and I took a road trip on our motorcycle. Everything about the inn met our expectations and we only wish we could of stayed longer. We will return again to experience one of the other charming rooms!!! Thanks Tina & Jerry..........


Sonoma's Best Little Secret

5 on February 08, 2008

I had not been back at the Inn at Occidental for a few years and decided to extend a business trip in they area to check on Jerry & Tina, the proprietors-innkeepers, and on one of my favorite inns in Sonoma. For all of those who have had the chance to visit and feel as I do about this property: be reassured. The Inn at Occidental is alive and well, as charming and whimsical as ever. After all their years of experience working in large hotels, Jerry and Tina have effortlessly -at least it seems- slipped in the much more casual world of innkeeping but brought with them a professionalism that is unfortunately often missing at other inns in that price range. (It's a member of both Unique Inns and Select Registry) Mixed with the tongue in cheek, quirky, luxury of the atmosphere, this is a winning combination! They brought a peacefulness to the inn that only added to its charm. Casually elegant is how I would describe the Marble Suite where I stayed. (No, the marble does not refer to a Vegas style decor but to these little round balls we played with in the school yard, now displayed artfully in a few places around the room). Rooms have no TV's but, when I asked Jerry about it, he offered to bring one in. Even though I was traveling solo this time, I declined and opted to enjoy the peace and quietness the absence of cell reception and of TV would provide for one night.Sitting in my private oversize spa tub, looking at the fireplace and listening to calming music provided on the cd player, I thought: "This is just what I needed after three days of conference in a generically nice chain hotel". After a great night of sleep under (the linens are so luxurious - Frette towels too) a delicious breakfast awaited us before our trip back to Oakland Airport and the real world. I am already looking forward to be back!


Soooo cute, cozy & comfortable

5 on February 02, 2008

My husand and I stayed at this charming in recently while traveling through the area. What a find! The innkeepers are charming, the food is delicious and the inn itself has a personality beyond compare.


An Unforgettable B&B Experience

5 on January 12, 2008

We were treated like royalty. Breathtaking decor and if I could get there each year, I would be back. Everything was top notch and staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. A perfect romantic escape. We look back on this stay here as one of our finest B&B experiences, and we have been to many. Don't miss this one! Fall in love all over again.


Sleepy Occidental

3.2 on October 28, 2007

Had a wonderful time in this charming and comfortable Inn. The InnKeepers, Gerry & Tina extended warm hospitality as well a activity suggestions for wine tasting and dining. I would stay again if in the area


An Ultimate B&B Experience in Sonoma's Wine Country

5 on June 08, 2007

The Inn at Occidental is all its Website promises plus more. The innkeepers and staff are wonderful, the decor (throughout the inn) is high-style as well as charming, the courtyard is magnificent, the food (breakfast, homemade cookies, evening hors d’oeuvres)is outstanding, and the location is ideal. I have visited hundreds of inns in this country and abroad, and Inn at Occidental is one of my very favorites. I endorse it whole-heartedly.


Inn at Ocidental

5 on February 09, 2007

We stayed there for our wedding anniversary in Jan. 2007. It was so relaxing. The room was excellent, the breakfast delicious and the hosts were delightful. Definitely recommend.


Inn at Occidental of Sonoma Wine Country

Details

  • Nightly Rate $239 - $389
  • Reviews (20) 4.3
  • Rooms 16
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7078741047
  • Fax 1-7078741078
  • Toll free 1-8005226324

Visit Website »

View details

Top