The Red Castle Inn Historic Lodgings Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.2
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
44 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful experience

5 on August 30, 2013

I have found my favourite b&b ever !!! I had two relaxing, comfortable nights in this amazing historic property. Peaceful nights sleep and a 2 minute walk (steep steps) into town. I have no complaints at all. Everything was perfect and the breakfasts....wow !!!!


a cottage in a castle

3.8 on February 01, 2013

IWe rented the Garrett loft rooms and they were quite comfortable. However, if you go in the colder weather, prepare for a cold bathroom. The bedrooms have a space heater, not so in the bathroom. Otherwise, everything was great!


Great Escape

5 on August 26, 2012

Nice period furnishings, quiet. Close to "downtown." We felt spoiled. Hosts wrote a sweet "Happy Anniversary" note on the breakfast buffet table for us.


A pleasurable experience

4.8 on July 18, 2012

We had a great relaxing time. The hosts were attentive and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. Only drawback is the traffic noise from Highway 49.


Step into another world

5 on June 04, 2012

This was my friends first time at a B&b and he was in awe of how beautiful this place is. So serene and private. Loved the fact that you can take your breakfast to your room and eat on the veranda if you wish. Food was very different but a nice change. We definatly recomend this place to everyone we know.


Most Authentic Historical Experience

5 on April 12, 2012

Staying there was almost like spending a few days in a museum after hours, but legally, without the fear of being busted. The innkeepers achieved a perfect balance of accommodating a discerning traveler with the authenticity of how things were decorated in the 19th century. Everything in the house is authentic, down to the door knobs and floor boards. Sure, you will not find a mini bar or a TV in your room, but who needs that when you feel like you're back in the gold rush era? I'm not a history buff, but even I was in awe of the house and sensed all the stories behind the old photographs, tools, nicknacks and other wonders surrounding me. Luckily, Mary Louise, one of the owners, is a walking encyclopedia of stories about the house and Nevada City area and was there to answer all of our questions once we showed some respectful interest in learning about this unique place. I especially liked that the owners were there when needed, but gave us plenty of room to enjoy the house by ourselves - another fine balance that is hard to find these days. The rooms were outstanding, the beds were comfortable and I had a few nights of best sleep I've had in a long time. The inn is a short stroll from Nevada City downtown with many fine places to dine and wine, so not having to drive there was a major plus. A delightful breakfast every morning completed a perfect experience. I am definitely coming back!


Comfy Step Back in Time

4.0 on February 21, 2012

This was my husband and mine's first B & B experience. The Inn was beautiful, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We went for Mardi Gras in Nevada City, it was a big party down in the town and lots of fun, but it was even better when we went back to our very quiet, calm B&B. Of course, the only other quests at the Inn were one other couple (for one night) and a couple of our friends, so I can't speak to how it would be with a full house. Our friends and my husband and I stayed in the Garrett Suite on the top floor - two lovely bedrooms and a sitting room with a shared bath, which was one floor down but very convenient all the same. It would not be good accomodations for elderly or disabled guests as there are lots of steep stairs to climb, but there are rooms on the main floor that would be suitable. The breakfasts were spectacular, with authentic victorian era food with a modern flair. I would go back just for the breakfasts!


Red Castle Inn is a real winner

5 on November 23, 2011

The hosts, Conrey and Marie Louise convey a warm, friendly atmsophere to their establishment. They are very knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast is fabulous. The location is quiet, peaceful and very beautiful surrounded by tall trees, and only 6-7 minutes walk from the main street with the restaurants and shops. We recommend the Red Castle Inn without hesitation.


Wonderful B&B Experience

5 on September 09, 2011

We loved every second of our stay at the Red Castle. Our room was gorgeous and the breakfast each day far exceeded our expectations. I have to follow a gluten free diet and the chef provided delicious treats every day as part of the 6 course breakfast. My non gluten free husband could not tell the difference. One note, if you are a light sleeper, request a room on the side of the house away from the road. We stayed four nights and 3 of the 4 were fine but the last night there was high traffic probably due to Labor Day weekend.


Home away from Home

5 on August 08, 2011

This historic inn is filled with history, excellent breakfasts, accommodating innkeepers who are also knowledgeable about this part of Calif. This was one of the best vacations we have enjoyed. This is a superb location.


Very historical and delicate place

5 on August 05, 2011

Worth more than one night stay. Whole inn is clean and staff here is very helpful. I love their breakfast


Red Castle Nevada City

4.8 on July 10, 2011

This was our third time staying at the Red Castle. We love it. It feels like being in a victorian tree house since forest surrounds the 4 story home. It is walking distance to Nevada City.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 09, 2011

Beautiful rooms with wonderful decor. The grounds are lovely. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. We would not hesitate to return.


great Victorian ambience

5 on March 18, 2011

The Red Castle Inn has authentic Victorian charm without the inconveniences usually associated with old buildings, such as drafty windows, bathrooms down the hall, etc. The Garden Room was plenty big enough for the two of us, lavishly decorated in period pieces, nice private bath, and very comfortable. The grounds are lovely, and drew us to stroll around even though we were on our way to town. Breakfast was ample and scrumptious. Our host and hostess were charming and accommodating, and seemed to fit the place. Secluded, wooded location yet close to Nevada City.


Very charming and a delightful stay.

4.4 on November 10, 2010

We loved having breakfast in your wonderful parlor, wearing our cozy robes.


Red Castle has character but not much else

1.6 on October 04, 2010

The house is located in a lovely neighborhood, and is surrounded by many homes of character. Unfortunately, the Red Castle itself appears worn down. Paint is flaking off some walls, some carpets are stained, and the dirty windows detracted from the potentially nice views. Given the price of the room, we expected better. The bathroom towels and the creaky double bed and mattress appeared to be almost as old as the home. Amenities consisted of two miniscule bars of soap! Again, for the price we anticipated some shampoo, perhaps some body lotion, and maybe even some milk or cream with our coffee (rather than the powdered cream substitute). The room contained numerous "reminders" of the rules, which felt excessive. Also, a full-size plate would be nice for breakfast, rather than the saucer provided. Finally, if guests are advised that a B&B is vegetarian-oriented, they can choose to make a booking based on this information. We were told only upon check-in that due to the dietary request of one guest our breakfast menu would be vegetarian. To end on a positive note, the flavor of the breakfast was good.


Delightful Stay

5 on September 28, 2010

A beautifully restored and maintained historic b&B with an outstanding breakfast! Made me wish we had more time to lounge on the veranda or in their lovely wonderland garden by the koi pond.


Surprisingly Disappointing!

1.8 on August 09, 2010

From the moment we arrived, we assumed we must be in the wrong place! Based on raves on the website this could not be the same place! The welcome was more like an announcement of the rules by a headmaster and the owner was less than friendly. We kept our minds open and headed upstairs for some promised sun tea -- waited for over a half an hour and there was none. Off to a great dinner in town and looking forward to a nice turn down service and there was none. We expect something extra at a B & B -- not less than you get at a Motel 6! Nice soap and shampoo -- or any shampoo at all -- would do. This could be a great place - just some friendly words and a breakfast much bettter than that which was promised -- would have gone a long way. For $200 for one night we think the innkeepers could do a little something other than lecture us about the rules.


History, good food, and comfortable surroundings

4.0 on August 03, 2010

A perfect getaway up in the trees and yet, so close to shops and restaurants that there is no need for a car while visiting The Red Castle Inn. Our host spent some time answering our questions and sharing some very interesting stories about himself, Nevada City and the evolving life of the Inn. Our stay at The Red Castle Inn was wonderful, and hat's are off to the chef for two creative and great tasting breakfast's.


charming place and amazing breakfasts

4.8 on July 27, 2010

Lovely historic inn just a few minutes out of town. Although no internet or TV, the stand out aspect of this inn are the fabulous gourmet breakfasts, prepared each morning by a chef. She changes the menu each morning, but each day was a multiple course breakfast, which included items like ham and mushroom crepes, chocolate zucchini bread, grape cobbler, brioche, broiled grapefuit with ginger-sugar, etc etc etc. We didn't need to eat again until dinner. All in all, a lovely reasonably-priced stay.


Red Castle Inn

5 on July 26, 2010

A must for your kickback time while staying in Nevada City. Add it to your bucket list! You definitely will enjoy yourselves and will want a return visit. Conley and Mary Louise will make sure your stay is perfect!


Our favorite B&B

5 on July 02, 2010

We have been guests at this particular inn at least 20 times since 1986, and we are never disappointed. The innkeepers are gracious and helpful with suggestions for dining in town; the inn itself and its surrounding gardens are tranquil and a respite from the high-paced lives that most of us live. Breakfasts at the Red Castle are a feast for both the eyes and the palate, and it is nice to be able to take a tray into your room, into the parlor, out onto the wrap-around porch, or down into the gardens as you see fit. Do not miss a chance to stay here if you are in town.


Mother's Day weekend getaway

4.8 on June 22, 2010

The room we had was lovely with its own deck. The breakfasts were yummy and different. Inn is within walking distance to the town.


Lamont's stay at Red Castle

4.4 on May 31, 2010

We had a very restful enjoyable stay at the Red Castle. The innkeepers were wonderful, we enjoyed a good afternoon conversation with both Mary Louise and Conley.


Back In Time...

5 on May 24, 2010

This was a lovely place to stay with a friendly host and hostess. We enjoyed our room and the parlor. We had tea soon after we arrived. It's close enough to walk into Nevada City. It was like having a glimpse of what it was like in the 1800's. Very relaxing. The breakfast was also good. We look forward to returning again.


THE RED BRICK HISTORIC INN

4.4 on March 27, 2010

I welcome all to visit the Red Castle Inn in the wonderful city of Nevada City, Ca. The Inn was bullt to last and iis made from a solid foundation of four stories of red brick. It's historic value can not be measured by words only by seeing it with your eyes. The owners (The Weaver's) have transformed both outside but esp. inside as though one has awoken in another time. Please visit, take a walk to Nevada City, read a book and imagine it's 1860 and you do not have a care in the world........


Best Bed And Breakfast Ever

5 on March 02, 2010

The Inn was every thing we expected and more. Nice and quiet. Great service and food. Innkeepers were extremely kind and helpful.


Victorian time travel is possible!

4.0 on February 18, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Red Castle Inn twice now and have thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The decor is delightful and historically interesting. We enjoyed the Rose Room and its very tall, yet cozy bed. The breakfasts are to die for! If you want to step back to a time of hand-made meals and finery, this is the B & B for you.


Nice, but be aware of noise in Forest View room

3.6 on December 25, 2009

The Inn is overall quite clean, pleasant, and with a great breakfast (if you like to eat at 830 or later). However, noise is an issue. It is very close to the freeway, and despite the very attractive grounds it is too noisy to spend much time outside (indeed, the inn has a small sign inviting guests to come inside where it is warmer and quieter). With the windows closed, the road noise is not an issue inside. However, in the Forest View room, there are other noises: the heater fan is quite loud and right by the bed, and it is controlled by a thermostat in the owner's quarters, so we couldn't turn it off (it got so warm that we had to open the door - 29 degrees outside - until the heater turned off at midnight; the owners did warn us about this). And before 6am the water in the pipes started and woke us up - very loud (maybe less so in other rooms?). A bit much for almost $200.


Amazing historic home

4.6 on October 21, 2009

Beautiful home, gorgeous rooms, very clean. Feather bed in the rose room! Good breakfast. Enjoyable in keeper. Very near Nevada City which was great. Highly rec.


A wonderful attention to detail

4.0 on September 20, 2008

For my birthday we decided to sight see at the Empire Mine and visit the Draft Horse Classic. We wanted to round out the trip with a nice stay at a B&B. I searched online and the Red Castle Inn seemed a perfect fit. Our stay there was historic, peaceful and clean. The host, Conley was helpful and respected our privacy. The breakfast was wonderful. We were served, eggs ala julia child with sateed mushrooms, stuffed tomatos, two different freshly baked bread choices (cheddar biscuits and sourdough rolls), fresh strawberries San Fran style, fresh juice, fruit smoothies, tea and coffee. delicious. A red folder provided contains a great deal of the castles history. We have agreed that we must go back again and again till we have experienced each rooms individual charm. Thank you Mary lousie and Conley, you made my birthday a relaxing, memorable stay.


Wonderful Stay in Nevada City

5 on May 29, 2008

The innkeepers were extremely pleasant, interesting and accomodating, and the breakfasts were diverse and delicious. The attention to the care of our room each day was greatly apprciated.


Nice place in a nice town

4.2 on April 18, 2008

Charming victorian atmosphere, welcoming personable innkeepers, delicious breakfast, and convenient location close to beatiful downtown


Lovely

4.4 on April 15, 2008

The pictures just do not do these rooms justice. This was a lovely b&b. The owners are very friendly and very much respect your privacy....so don't expect too much chatting until around breakfast time. The breafast was fantastic and they did a wonderful job putting it together. The Inn is in a very convienent location and has alot of history behind it. The flowers are beautiful in the spring. You are close to the freeway but not so close that you hear it from in the inn.


Just okay

2.8 on April 07, 2008

When I was at the red castle, I noticed that the bed in the gold room I was staying in was smaller than the "queen" I have at home, so it was cramped. Also, the breakfast was absolutely nothing like the fancy chef prepared breakfast that was advertised on the website. The pictures here do not well represent the food either. I was very disappointed with this in particular because I had decided to stay here based on how fantastic their breakfast looked on the website. I was tricked by that. Otherwise, the inn is a very beautiful and well decorated place situated in a quiet place just next to town. I love the garden. Parking is a nightmare though, and I didn't like the lady of the house all that much. It is a very beautiful place, and I wish I had stayed for tea.


Okay over all, some problems.

2.6 on April 02, 2008

Good points: `Respectful owners `tasty simple breakfast made by the owner `near town `pretty garden and pond `beautiful decor `Nice rooms `Very clean `reasonable service `Good price `very quiet at night `nice library `they come to turn down your bed in the evenings `morning paper delivered to your door `Spirit may be living there Bad points: `beds a little small `moldy curtains outside `parking limited `parlor curfew 9:30 pm `Lady of the house very reserved and strict. `breakfast did not include any of the menu listed on the website, and no special chef prepared it. ` tea time costs extra `No tea (just the beverage) available during other times of the day except breakfast and teatime


It was a great honeymoon!

4.2 on January 07, 2008

We stayed here the night of our wedding, and it was fabulous! It was the cutest setting and a wonderful meal. I've heard people say the rooms were cold, but on a honeymoon night we sure couldn't tell! The location is easy to access, yet had a very secluded feel.


Enjoyed our time

4.2 on December 21, 2007

Great experience--excellent food! Only issue was the room was very cold. Would advise to visit in warmer weather!

Innkeeper Response
Awfully sorry their visit coincided with a failure in the individual room thermostat of which we were unaware at the time. Had we been told we could have supplied a portable heater to make them toasty, but they "suffered in silence" and enjoyed other aspects of their stay, thank goodness! It has since been made right and it was the only room affected. This last weekend we had a brief storm related power failure and it got a little chilly, but we got out spare blankets and comforters and guests bundled up with hot drinks to read in the parlor by candlelight for a few hours .


Lovely visit

3.2 on December 04, 2007

Everything was said above. Look forward to returning


Remarkable Inn

4.6 on November 14, 2007

The Red Castle Inn was remarkable. The rooms are awesome. I was transported back in time. Will visit again.


Hands down THE BEST B&B EVER!

5 on September 18, 2007

I rarely give top marks (because I don't think people will believe me) but the Red Castle Inn was spectacular. It was like walking back in time as royalty. I've been to many cute B&B's before but this one really blew me away. There were so many details in the nooks and crannys but even more so was the feeling that I had when I walked in and realized I was in for a completely different experience. The breakfast was fit for a king. They even thought to use recipes from the 1800's. Just delightful! It was like theater (and you'll understand once you've been there.) By the way, I think they could charge a lot more (so you might want to go before they figure that out) and also, by the way, I am not related to them and don't know them either. I simply loved the place and that's why I'm taking the time to write this.


Stellar, Serene, Charming, Comforable, Immaculate & Friendly

4.0 on August 20, 2007

I've stayed at four different places locally and this stands head and shoulders above the rest. They have lovely grounds where you will want to sit and watch the Coi fish and drink their sun tea and evening snack-- also baked at the Red Castle. The setting is serene, the rooms lovely and comfortable--you'll feel transported 100 years back in time taking all the creature comforts with you. Breakfast included homemade Danish, popovers, Italian chicken served in a "nest" (in a pastry), polenta, bananas a l'orange, tea coffee juice. And it turns out that the proprietors were very warm and kind and gave us some great local tips. Can't wait to return.


Very Disappointed!

1.6 on July 18, 2007

The room was OK, but not very clean, there were cobwebs around the drapes and dust and dirt were visible around/under the bed. The service was non existent, no information offered on the area, no offer of the afternoon 'teatime', no way of contacting the innkeeper if you needed anything. Breakfast was very disappointing, set up in the hallway, buffet style, not much choice, only outside to eat at tables weather permitting or in your room. We wanted tea to drink and it wasn't available, with no offer to get any for the next morning. Would not recommend this inn to anyone.


Historic and Elegant yet Comfortable

4.4 on February 07, 2007

We stayed 3 nights in mid-December so that we could enjoy the Victorian and Cornish Christmas activities as well as the Inn Tours. The Garden Room was perfect with a comfortable feather bed, private sitting area and plenty of space to move around and relax in. While breakfast is served buffet style on small trays with no designated dining area, we actually found this to our liking as breakfast was very leisuring and could be taken in the parlor, one's room or in nice weather, outdoors. The foods and desserts were awesome...especially if you enjoy being able to try a variety of gourmet and period foods. The Innkeepers are both professional and gracious. We liked that while they definitely made us feel welcome, they instinctively knew when to socailize with their guests and when to just be gracious hosts and allow their guests to quietly make themselves at home. It was nice to be able to walk to the old downtown area. And we especailly enjoyed reading and glancing through their wonderful collection of books set out in the parlor. Would we return again? Yes!

Innkeeper Response
In taking the time to write an independent website review these guests have given us a tremendous gift,a thank you for fulfilled expectations. Describing our style of unobtrusive attention, and other special things enjoyed by them makes the behind the scenes efforts no one ever sees still a pleasure for us after twenty plus years.


The Red Castle Inn Historic Lodgings

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $210
  • Reviews (44) 4.3
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5302655135
Top