Churchill Manor Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
47 Reviews

Write A Review

Awesome Experience...

4.0 on July 13, 2013

We had a great stay at Churchill Manor...the rooms were quaint, service outstanding & recommendations helpful. Would stay there again if in Napa.


Outstanding! Unforgettable experience!

5 on March 27, 2013

My fiance and I had been engaged for a year and were planning to have a wedding in Iowa, where we live, and already had the venues booked. We decided to scrap those plans and do something romantic and adventurous and have a small destination elopement that would be much more meaningful for us. We came up with the idea of going to Napa. I came across Churchill Manor when doing research online and I knew that it would be the perfect place for our small wedding. From my first e-mail inquiry to the time we checked out the day after our wedding, the service we received was excellent!! We booked an elopement package and the price was extremely reasonable. Our package included 2 nights at the bed and breakfast, use of the grounds for our ceremony, the wedding officiant, wedding cake, bottles of sparkling wine for the reception, and the bridal bouquet and bouttoniere. The staff is incredibly helpful--I planned everything via e-mail, and all I had to do was tell them our preferences for cake and flowers, etc. and they arranged it! My bouquet was exactly what I had pictured, and our wedding cake was the best cake we've ever had! We also wanted a pianist for the ceremony and reception, and the staff arranged that for us as well. The rooms are beautiful and romantic! The bed and breakfast is in a great location and within walking distance from many restaurants and shops. The owners of the bed and breakfast were on vacation while we were there, and we had the pleasure of having Joy take care of us--she was wonderful--so attentive and friendly. I can't say enough about how great this place is! It was an amazing, memorable experience and we're so happy we decided to get married here. I highly recommend Churchill Manor for anyone planning a smaller wedding, or couples looking to have a romantic getaway in a gorgeous setting! My husband and I will definitely be back in the future for an anniversary.


perfect destination wedding

4.6 on January 08, 2013

staff is excellent. grounds are beautiful. loved it.


Perfect for a romantic getaway or a time out with friends.

4.0 on March 15, 2011

Two friends and I stayed here this past week and we were thrilled. Brian has definitely found his niche in life. He was very nice, accommodating, fun to talk to and a wealth of information re: Napa. The house has been impeccably restored and is absolutely beautiful. My only regret was not being there to see the plethora of roses in bloom. The grounds are breathtaking. We had a lot of fun with the other guests during the early evenings when the wine and cheese came out. For those wanting to make sure you have a special stay in Napa, you cannot lose on this one. I could have blown off the winery tours and just hung out at the house. Also, breakfast was excellent. My ONLY beef is that I am an early riser and would have liked a coffee pot in the dining room ready to turn on at 5:00. They have coffee in thermoses (and tea) available around the clock, but that doesn't cut it first thing in the AM when I need a fresh pot. Still, no big. I highly recommend this beautiful house, especially if you are going to have some down time to enjoy it.


Fantastic ambiance

4.0 on August 12, 2010

We've been here before and are going back for our anniversary. The house itself is sublime. It's utterly tasteful with a generous, relaxing porch. It's also walking distance to town for nice dinners. The ambiance is great. Breakfast is delicious, but be prepared to talk with others - it is not a private affair. The only drawback for us was that the "2 person" clawfoot tub does not refer to average-sized 2 people. If you're both petite, then great. Otherwise, I'd take that with a grain of salt. Staff was mostly very sweet, though attitudes varied a bit between warm and indifferent. But obviously it was nice enough, as we're on our way back!


A Unique Experience

4.8 on July 05, 2010

Churchill Manor is a unique experience. We were part of a group of 12 that stayed there. The location is great, walking distance to downtown Napa. They provided a wine tasting each afternoon, bringing in various wineries on occasion. Steve prepared the best breakfast each morning. They worked with us to ensure our stay was flawless to include making dinner reservations for our group.


Napa, Ca stay at Churchill Manor

5 on June 25, 2010

This is how a B&B should be operated. They could give lessons to others. We always stay at B&Bs where ever our travels take us. Without a doubt this one tops them all. Beautiful building, well kept, great service and just plane wonderful. Excellent B&B


Wow! Best B&B we've stayed at.

5 on June 01, 2010

We've stayed at B&Bs in the eastern US and Canada, as well as Ireland. This is easily the nicest. The owners' renovations of this late 1800s mansion are excellent, blending the original splendor with modern bathrooms and in-room gas fireplaces. In addition to a fine breakfast, they offered mid-afternoon snacks and early evening wine tasting. The owner gave us great recommendations to make the most of our brief stay in Wine Country. The website reflects the reality of this place...unlike others B&Bs that carefully frame pictures to hide the flaws. For us, this was a real bargain too. We were traveling mid-week without reservations. The visitors center in Napa recommended that we try this place and then called to see if they had a room available. We got an excellent rate, comparable to the better chain hotels. We got so much more for our money. While rates are no doubt higher during high season, we would still stay here. If you are in Napa Valley, stay here!


A grand retreat in downtown Napa

4.8 on April 30, 2010

Churchill Manor is an elegand B&B in the heart of Napa, walking distance to several great restaurants. The wrap-around porch overlooking the garden is where we enjoyed a quiet hour in the afternoon before the innkeeper served an assortment of appetizers, accompanied by wines brought in by a local boutique vintner. We tasted with the other guests and spoke with the winemaker about his winery. The rooms are beautifully appointed. The innkeeper has tended to every detail, and they are friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended.


Wow! What a Beautiful Inn

4.4 on March 19, 2010

Excellent staff and service willing to go above and beyond, fresh and tasty breakfast in a lovely breakfast room, beautiful antique furniture and building, comfortable and welcoming. Convenient to wineries and downtown activities. Will definitely return.


Best Way to Relax

5 on March 16, 2010

This is a beautiful mansion restored to perfection. The accomodations are exceptionally comfortable and clean. The evening wine and cheese reception was most enjoyable and was further exceeded by a fantastic breakfast. The staff is most acommodating and helpful with any questions. Hats off to Brian and Joanna. J&P


An Ideyllic Experience in the Heart of Napa Valley

5 on February 21, 2010

Beautiful grounds surround the magnificently restored Churchill Manor Bed & Breakfast. From the minute you walk in the door the experience is both warm and elegant. The staff and food only amplify the experience!


Best Place to stay in Napa

5 on February 16, 2010

This is the best place to stay in Napa. Classy, Romantic, Great food and staff. They make you feel right at home. Can't say enough good about it. Come stay but don't take all the room because I am coming back!!!


Churchill Manor is a "10"

5 on February 11, 2010

From the redwood woodwork, antique furnishings, wood burning fireplace in the bedroom, to the very knowledgeable staff, this is the best B&B we have stayed in. Oh yes, they serve a darned good breakfast.


Very romantic - A great experience- not to be missed!

5 on January 24, 2010

A collegue recommended this to me but of course I had to do my own research but did end up booking at Churchill Manor. I am soooo glad I did. Don't waste your time in doing what I did, just book your stay here! You will not be disappointed. From the moment we walked up the steps of the huge wrap around porch and through the door we felt extremely comfortable. This B&B is like stepping into time travel. The old world feel was so romantic. But even though it had that feeling, everything was clean & like new. The staff was so welcoming we instantly felt at home. Joanna sat down with us and explained all our wine tour options and actually mapped out were we should go and what to do. For novices to the area it was extremely helpful and a great time saver. She also gave us dinner recommendations and actually had sample menus to view. A great variety of restaurants are within walking distance. I didn't see all the rooms but I couldn't have been more pleased with the one we had. A fireplace and a corner bathtub (bath salts provided) made a wonderful romatic relaxing evening after a day of winetasting. (Don't forget to buy a bottle of wine on your tours to bring back to the room & enjoy while taking a bath!) We so much enjoyed the daily afternoon wine & cheese. You can either stay and talk to other guests or staff (we chatted with owners, staff & guests which were so friendly & very interesting) or grab your partner and find a cozy private spot on the huge veranda. Whichever you prefer. The breakfast was a special treat. The beautiful quiet wrap around porch overlooking the beautiful flowers was a perfect spot for a lovely elegant breakfast and to read the newspaper. Such a great way to start your day. Oh, one more thing....Don't forget to grab a homemade cookie from the kitchen before you retire for the evening. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B for a wonderfully warm romantic experience. I guarantee you won't be disappointed with the accomodations or the staff.


Churchill Manor Napa California

5 on January 12, 2010

The mansion is gorgeous, the staff is outstanding, and this is the most relaxing and romantic, beautiful place my beloved and I have ever stayed at.


Stay at churchill Manor

5 on January 09, 2010

We booked our room, (the second most expensive), and upon arrival they upgraded us at no extra charge to the master suite! The three course breakfasts were amazing, and I wish we could have every meal there. The concierge seemed more like a friend, than a person behind the desk. She sat down with us for over an hour to plan our winery visits, made reservations for us, etc. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here, and I can't wait to stay again.


A step back in time.

5 on December 12, 2009

Just viewing the manor and immaculate grounds is taking a step back in time. Entering the manor continues the journey to earlier days of piano rooms, parlors and grand dinning rooms. The breadfast room in bright and cheerful with landscape paintings painted directly on the walls. The large veranda allows outdoor breadfasts. During our stay, the owners served the breakfast. Seating allows guests to meet each other and promotes a friendly atmosphere. The owners are knowledgable about the area and take time to direct guests to hiking trails, shopping, winery visits, and other activities in the Napa area. Wineries are invited each evening to hold a wine tasting in the parlor, again promoting a friendly atmosphere. Our room, Atlas Peak, was very spacious with period furniture and a fireplace, beautifully decorated. Yet we had the modern convenience of a private tiled bath area with a two person shower and a separate tub. We enjoyed our stay and have already recommeded Churchill Manor to friends. We look forward to having the opportunity for a longer stay


Fantastic Stay!!

4.6 on December 03, 2009

Wonderful experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful, they know the area very well and are willing to help you find what you want. The room was fantastic (we stayed in Stag's Leap) very well laid out and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Numerous great restaurants within three blocks, and it's a nice walk through a quaint neighborhood. Thanks so much for the great time and we would DEFINITELY stay here again!


Beautiful B&B, excellent service, very friendly, and great breakfasts

5 on December 01, 2009

The staff was very helpful, and hooked us up with a number of memorable Napa moments. I would recommend Churchill Manor to anyone!


High on our list of favorites

4.8 on November 28, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Churchill Manor. The Manor is beautiful and comfortable. We have highly recommended this B&B to friends and family. We will plan to stay here again next time we are in the Napa region.


Beautiful B&B Experience!

4.0 on November 03, 2009

Our experience at Churchill Manor was exactly what we were looking for in a Bed & Breakfast. Everyone was helpful, the food was great, and the rooms were cozy and romantic. Parking is a plus here too.


Romantic Interlude

5 on October 25, 2009

One of the nicest B&B experiences we've had. The facility and grounds were fairy tail like and we were made to feel like a king and queen in these incredibly beautiful and charming turn of the century rooms. Very elegant yet not pretentious.


The most friendly efficient and relaxing B & B imaginable.

5 on October 20, 2009

We would highly recommend Churchill Manor to anyone looking for the perfect visit to the Napa Valley. We have stayed there at least five times and are looking forward to our next visit.


Wonderful historic mansion conveniently located to wineries and restaurants.

4.6 on October 20, 2009

While our stay in Churchill Manor did not break the bank it was not cheap. However, the rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable and the breakfasts (included in the room cost) were amazing. This B&B is just a short drive to a number of wineries and within walking distance to a number of wonderful restaurants. We enjoyed the stay and would recommend Churchill Manor to others.


Churchill Manor Exceptional

4.4 on October 18, 2009

This was our first stay at a B & B as well as our first trip to Napa and we were not disappointed. Churchill Manor is a beautiful old victorian home with a beautiful veranda and bright sunny kitchen. Our room - The Atlas Room - was top notch and the antique furniture and wardrobes only added to the charm. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the food was excellent. Our 2 night stay at Churchill Manor was one of the highlights of our trip and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.


Charming B&B, great food, great service

4.4 on October 06, 2009

Churchill Manor is a wonderful historic mansion beautifully restored by its owners, Brian & Joanna who do a great job making you feel at home. They & their staff were very helpful with planning our day trips to the wineries. The mansion sits on a large lot, surrounded by rose bushes, on a nice quiet street, just blocks from downtown Napa. We ate our gormet breakfast on the huge veranda. Rooms were spacious and clean, each with a fireplace and bathroom. I can't wait to make a return trip.


Tennessee in Napa

4.8 on October 04, 2009

This was our first visit to California. We wanted to tour "Wine Country" and decided to stay in Napa for a couple of nights. We wanted a place that was walking distance to town to explore for dinner and shopping. We were so amazed at how nice Churchill Manor is! We only booked one night but afer spending the first night we decided to stay another one and lucked up on a room. Both rooms were spectacular - I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Napa. I have already recommended it to friends.


A wonderful place!

4.6 on October 01, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at Churchill Manor 3 different times (including our wedding last year) and absolutely love it! The building itself is beautiful and well maintained and the staff do their utmost to make your stay a pleasureable one. We will continue to stay at the Manor on every visit to Napa! Highly recommended!!!


Outstanding B & B

4.4 on September 14, 2009

My husband and I took a side trip from a business trip in San Francisco to go to Napa for my birthday and our anniversary. We traveled with friends there and I had made reservations from looking on the internet. I was a little afraid about how it would be as pictures do not always show the true nature of a place. I was so very pleased when we arrived and looked around and went to our rooms. The other couple talked for weeks about the great choice I had made. I would go back and stay there in a hearbeat.


This place is beautiful!

5 on September 12, 2009

Our recent stay at the Churchill Manor was wonderful! We stayed in the very comfortable Howell Mountain room. The wine and cheese in the evening is very good and the breakfast, well, it was excellent. The entire staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. Very close to downtown shopping and restaurants. I would highly recommend visiting this bed and breakfast!


Outstanding!

5 on August 28, 2009

My husband and I selected Churchill Manor for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. I am so happy we did. We stayed in what would have been Churchill's Master Suite, the bed was really comfortable. The home is beautiful, the grounds are beautiful; the hostess was wonderful and helped us select a restaurant and schedule a massage. The wine and snacks and the breakfast were delicious! I highly recommend the Churchill Manor Bed and Breakfast and hope to be returning there soon. :)


One of a kind

5 on August 26, 2009

Step back into time in this gracious mansion in the historical district of Napa. You are greeted by the attentive staff, knowledgeable and friendly, who will meet your every needs. Enjoy an extended wine and cheese (5-7PM) hour in one of the beautiful public rooms or on the wrap around veranda of this late 1800s mansion. Rooms are spotless, elegantly comfortable and the bright breakfast area will start your day on an upbeat note. Churchill Manor is a "MUST" for those who want something special for their stay in the Valley.


Great place & beautiful

4.8 on August 02, 2009

For those who love architecture this place is a must. Beautiful details have been preserved by the owners and the staff. The rooms are all decorated in a traditional manner, including antique tubs by the windows. The dining room is a gem and the rose gardens are fantastic. Centrally located just 2 blocks from the Napa General store and walking distance from downtown restaurants and night life. Close to everything but peaceful and relaxing. So far our best experience in the Napa Valley. Will be back for sure!


Beautiful Grounds. Charming House. Amazing Rooms! Impeccable Service!

5 on July 28, 2009

We were giddy when when pulled up to Churchill Manor and couldn't wait to get inside and look around. The grounds were spectacular with the perfectly manicured lawn and amazing rose bushes. The veranda was to die for. I couldn't wait to sit out there and eat breakfast. Susan, the Inn Keeper, was friendly and so helpful showing us through the house and sharing it's history with us. It was an amazing house. We stayed in the Caneros room downstairs and it was spectacular! The bed was so comfy it was hard not to curl up and take a nap all day! We stayed for two nights and both nights there was a private wine tasting for guests done by two of the local winearies. Susan helped with dinner suggestions both evenings and even arranged reservations for us one evening. My husband and I traveled with friends and we stayed 2 days in Napa and then headed back to San Francisco for the remaining 4 days of our vacation. We all agreed that the best meals we got on our entire trip were the breakfasts at Churchill Manor! We were very impressed with this Bed & Breakfast and when we go back to Napa we will definately stay here!


the best B&B

4.8 on July 11, 2009

Terrific central location. Very close to downtown dining, which is excellent. Close and easy access to road, Silverado Trail, leading up to east side of the wine country. Quiet streets. Great for walking. Away from heavy traffic. Staff and owners are exceptionally helpful and considerate. Would again make this a first choice destination. James Morgan, Salado, TX.


Planned elopement

4.8 on June 30, 2009

Great stay. Great place for a wedding. Great staff and owners.


Beautiful Experience

5 on June 24, 2009

What a wonderful place. The grounds are emmaculate and beautiful. The rooms were cozy and quiet. The Manor was elegant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay there when we visit the Napa Valley again.


Exceedingly Enchanting

5 on June 24, 2009

Anyone who is looking to have a wonderfully romantic stay with their favorite person is encouraged to "have a go" at this charming location. One will not be disappointed in niether the accommodations, the food or the joyful service! Tastey restaurants within walking distance of this lovely B & B are crucial to the relaxing atmosphere that will tantalize your tastebuds in every way.


Churchill Manor was a wonderful experience

4.8 on June 22, 2009

The phone calls making the reservations were very friendly and cordial. When we arrived they were very helpful with information about the surrounding area and had brochures for our use. The breakfasts were beautifully presented and delicious. I would highly recommend your stay here.


Excellent B & B

5 on June 14, 2009

We recently stayed at Churchill Manor and it was fantastic. The home was beautiful with lots of personality. Wonderful fragrant flowers on the outside. The rooms were very clean and the beds were outstandingly comfortable. Wine/Cheese/Crackers in the evening was great. Wonderful breakfasts in the mornings. The staff (Michael, Susan and Joanna) were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Napa or the surrounding area. We will definitely return!


Relaxing and Comfortable

5 on April 07, 2009

We just stayed here and really enjoyed it. The house is amazing - over 100 years old, and the owners have taken great care to restore it. It has tall ceilings and huge rooms making it feel really spacious. The wrap-around porch is also great to sit and read a book. The grounds are beautiful. I really liked that the house was set back from the street and had lawns sprawling out from it. It gave you the feeling of a private estate tucked away in downtown Napa. Our room was great, comfortable and cozy. The bathroom was updated and spacious. The bed was fantastically comfortable too. All of the staff were very nice - they definitely want you to be at home. We got to sit down with the owners and their love and dedication to their B&B really shows through. And the breakfast was amazing! They have coffee, yogurt, and granola set out if you're in a rush, but if you want a real treat, stick around for the hot selections. The flavors are well thought out and portions are perfect - you don't feel overly stuffed. I recommend the sweet red pepper sauce omelet if they have it - just delicious! I loved the breakfast room also - so sunny and cozy. Overall, a great place to stay. It is within walking distance to downtown Napa, and on a quiet residential street, so if you want to stroll around the neighborhood, there is a lot of Victorian architecture to check out.


BEST ON WEST COAST

4.0 on February 15, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a much needed short vacation in the wine country. This was by far the most relaxing stay we have ever had. This was due to the excellent accomodations and service we recieved at CHURCHHILL MANOR. VICTOR and SUSAN we really on it. Victor was very knowledgable about the wine, wine country and Napa in general. We felt so much at home with a fire in the firep[lace in our room every night and the most comfortable bed we have ever encountered in travel. Our room was the Rutherford and it was absolutely fabulous. The food was great and we had a private pouring from 2 different wineries during our stay. The grounds and inside the mansion were exquisite and I can not wait to go back. Thanks to all involved with the Manor. dk-Rocklin, Ca.


The Best in Napa

5 on February 12, 2009

Everything about my stay at this B&B was wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The staff genuine, informative and helpful. The grounds are beautifully manicured. One is able to walk downtown within minutes....just great all around. Perfect for a romantic get-away or a wedding... 5 stars!!!!!


Fantastic place!

5 on December 21, 2008

I recently had my wedding at Churchill Manor and I cannot say enough good things about it! The staff were fantastic, the place is beautiful and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend Churchill Manor for your wedding or a wonderful weekend getaway. My husband and I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this is by far the best we have stayed in....wonderful!


Wow!

4.8 on April 08, 2008

The manor is beautiful, the staff friendly, the room was gorgeous and comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding. This is what all B&B's should aspire to.


Simply Relaxing

5 on November 12, 2007

My wife and I were married here and have gone back several times in the pasted 4 years. This is an exceptional value. There is nothing like cheese, crackers, and wine while sitting on the varanda. If you want something specific, the inn keepers have a recommendation and will even make reservations for you. We love this place and would recommend it highly to everyone.


Churchill Manor

Details

  • Nightly Rate $179 - $389
  • Reviews (47) 4.8
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7072537733
  • Fax 1-7072538836
  • Toll free 1-8007997733

Visit Website »

View details

Top