Cedar Gables Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
22 Reviews

Write A Review

Loved this place!

5 on March 17, 2014

My husband and I were a bit wary about trying a bed and breakfast as we had never done so before. However, I now think we are going to be spoiled on trying any others as Cedar Gables was simply fabulous! Susie has to be the sweetest person I have ever met! Ken was super nice as well! When we arrived we were shown the house and our beautiful room. My husband loved the port in the room and ended up buying a bottle as it was the best wine he had ever had. We had Kathleen's Chamber, which had a lovely sitting room and a spacious bathroom. We were not able to attend the evening wine and cheese with crackers due to prior dinner reservations, however, I am sure we were missing something truly special. Breakfast was yummy and presented in such a pretty fashion. The donut holes were flaky and the breakfast casserole was delicious! There is something so comforting and inviting about the Cedar Gables Inn that makes you want to stay. I can see us returning here and loving it every time.


Two great nights at Cedar Gables

4.6 on February 22, 2012

We spent two nights at Cedar Gables. The first night was very low key after a full day of driving, we visited two vineyards. We met Ken and Susie, checked in and enjoyed some great wine, cheese and coversation with them an the other guests. Breakfast the next morning was incredible with the French Toast Souffle. That night we participated in the cooking class. What a great time, great food and wonderful wine. Chef Richard and Rosemarie from the vineyard put together and incredible menu.


No place better

5 on September 24, 2011

I have so enjoyed the hospitality of this inn. I recommend it at every opprotunity. Awesome hosts, Ken & Susie both go above and beyond to make your stay delightful and memorable. I am grateful for a place without tv & radio noise bleeding over from the next room. Calm, quiet, relaxing, a breath of fresh air in a very busy full world.


Napa B&B getaway

4.0 on August 02, 2011

we loved this B&B with great hospitality with so many extras, like our host playing guitar at the appetizers and wine time in the late afternoon,loved the gourmet breakfasts and the beautifull stain glass windows in breakfast room. was very large home with so many rooms and loved the walks close to downtown Napa. also loved the robes in room with port wine every night.


Delightful Stay

4.4 on June 28, 2011

Ken and Susie were the most gracious hosts. They helped us change our dinner reservations, make tour arrangements and gave great advice and directions. Breakfast was wonderful. Ken makes a mean cappuccino!


Cedar Gables Inn

5 on November 14, 2010

Ken and Susie really are wonderfull hosts and make you fill right at home from the moment you step inside this beautiful home. The location is great and the walk to town was just right to stretch the legs but not tire one out. The dinner place's recommeded by Susie were all delicious and we finally settled on ZuZu's for a tapas menu fare...which was all very yummy! The Lady Maragret Room was wonderful to relax in and I enjoyed just sitting in front of the fire sipping an amazing port. The breakfast made by Susie was delightful and yummy! We will return no doubt to this wonderful oasis for the spirit!!! Fans from Richmond CA


5 star all the way

5 on October 18, 2010

Without a doubt the BESt place I have stayed in. The Inn is intimate, clean and close to all. Ken and Susie are wonderfull hosts and so helpful and friendly. The breakfast are the BEST I have ever had and the cinnamon buns are to die for..lol. This is a gem hidden within NAPA!! MUST STAY!!! Fromthe plate of choclate chip cookies that greet you each day as you walk in the door to each room having chocolate and port in to the wine and cheese every night....it is wonderful. Will be back!! Scott and Dianna from New york


Cedar Gables

3.4 on August 22, 2010

Wish there was even a small television in the room. Great location in relation to Napa. Parking on street a concern.

Innkeeper Response
Susie and I work very hard at maintaining a high level of service to our guests. We take pride in the fact that we arm you with maps, free tasting coupons, and recommendations of places to visit and restaurants to eat at-that we have personally reviewed for you. Susie is especially proud of her breakfasts (as you can see from other reviews), and unlike other B&B's we adjust our 3 course gourmet breakfasts to accommodate most specialty diets (Lactose intolerance, gluten free, vegetarian, vegan, etc.) If you are leaving on an early flight or have an appointment we offer reasonable changes to the breakfast times. We would love to know what disappointed you with the room, as all the rooms have high end Port and Chocolates, robes, blow dryers, Gilcrest and Soames Luxury bath products, irons, ironing boards, and complimentary water. The beds are either King or Queen and the sheets are luxurious 800 count Egyptian cotton. Some rooms have fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. We supply bath salts for the tubs. In the Mansion we have complimentary waters and sodas, fresh fruit, High Speed Wireless, HDTV, In terms of value, besides the fantastic rooms and the 3 course gourmet breakfast, we offer fabulous Napa Valley wines along with an assortment of cheeses and fruit and crackers during our happy hour 5:30 till 7:00 in our Old English Tavern. Some nights we have Wineries visit and pour their wines. Sometimes our guests join me in playing guitar or they play the piano and we all sing along. If there is a show you want to watch, we do have a Big Screen HDTV in the Tavern. In the 7 years we have owned the Cedar Gables Inn we have never had a problem with on-street or off-street parking around the Inn. All the best, Ken


Great Time!

5 on August 07, 2010

It was our first ever time at a Bed and Breakfast! This place was fantastic, only to be outdone by the service and care the owners took in everything they did! A must stay!


A lovely place to stay

5 on June 14, 2010

Ken and Susie are ideal hosts. When we arrived, they took us for a tour of the inn, and gave us the history of the building. The breakfast was delicious, and there was a wine and cheese tasting in the evening. We were only there one night, but the next day Ken took the time to help us onto our next stop. It was a beautiful experience, one that we will repeat the next time we are in Napa. The inn is within walking distance of downtown Napa, and there are great places to eat (The Cole Chop House was recommended by Ken and a great choice), and fun stores to shop. We were only there one day, but it was a great day.


This is the best!!!!

5 on May 28, 2010

This place is OUTSTANDING. If your going to Napa, this is a must stay.


A fabulous getaway Inn that we'll return to again!

5 on May 10, 2010

We had a fabulous weekend at the Cedar Gables Inn-- it is a cut above most B&Bs because in addition to beautiful accommodations, Susie and Ken provide the utmost in hospitality. They host wine and cheese in their in-house Tavern every night and we got to know other guests - got great recommendations for things to do and see in Napa Valley. The breakfast is over the top delicious. We look forward to returning!


Wine Tasting and Buying Trip - 2010

5 on March 30, 2010

I stayed at Cedar Gables in March 2010. Ken and Susie do an outstanding job of making you feel welcome and at home. They have a great breakfast. Offer a nice reception in the Tavren. The rooms have themes so make sure you call to see which one fits your trip plans. Ken and Susie also offer good recommendations on vineyards to visit. Another plus is their location close to downtown Napa. Ken and Susie can give you some great recommendations for resturants to visit.


Wonderful!

5 on February 21, 2010

We just returned from our stay at the Cedar Gables Inn and our experience could not have been better. Ken and Susie were fun and gracious hosts. The Inn is beautiful, the beds comfortable and the room was spotless! For breakfast Susie served homemade scones and a bread pudding that was out of this world. We can't wait to return.


Another Churchill

5 on February 07, 2010

We were attending the International Churchill Society conference in San Francisco and decided to visit Napa for the obligatory wine tour. Little did we know that we would make another Churchill connection, this one an architect who apparently did quite well and built this place. We stayed in the Churchill suite, which was large and comfortable. The bed engulfed us and the jacuzzi tub was spectacular, complete with bath fizzies. A fine port was bedside, along with a selection of antique books for nighttime browsing. The common ares are nicely appointed with stunning paneling and thick carpets. There is a quiet spot for everyone. The patio in the back features a dazzling palm tree (among many), which towers over the property. Beyond these material trappings, we cannot say enough about the innkeepers, Ken and Susie Pope. Every need was met and exceeded. Susie's breakfasts were fantastic. The selections may have been regional, but they seemed international. Ken made touring wine country easy, and we can honestly say he added a dimension which was quite unexpected. All in all, a memorable experience.


Lovely House, Lovely People

5 on November 17, 2009

Loved the inn, our room, the overall ambiance, quality and impeccable cleanliness. It's everything we look for in a B&B. What will bring you back to Napa sooner than you expected is the owners, Susie and Ken. Their hospitality is a calling--a passion. The place is perfect, but Ken is always improving something. He's happiest when answering your questions about how to plan your days touring Napa. If you take the "breakfast" part of B&B seriously, you'll find you really chose a special place. Susie not only loves to cook your incredible breakfasts, she teaches cooking and hosts professional chefs who teach in the Cedar Inn kitchen--and the students are other professional chefs! You'll run into Napa's top professional bakers here, having fun but taking their work very seriously. We happened to be at the Inn when a writer--who had just won her second James Beard award for her latest book!--was staying and teaching in Susie's kitchen. She entertained us all (though we're not chefs) while we sipped Ken's amazing wines in the Inn's pub before we all went separate ways for dinner. Staying at the Cedar Gables is a wonderful experience. Napa is all about food and wine and hospitality, and Cedar Gables is Napa at its best!


Look No Further

5 on November 08, 2009

My wife and I just returned from Napa, CA, after celebrating her 30th birthday. I found Cedar Gables Inn via Yahoo! Travel, and after reading many positive customer reviews, decided this was the place to book for my lodging. After having stayed there myself now, I must say that this B&B far exceeded my expectations (which were set high to begin with based on the reviews I had read). From the clean and exquisite rooms (all of which are unique in their own way), to the wonderful breakfasts, to the quiet evenings in the tavern with food, drink, and conversation, it's hard for me to imagine any place doing it any better than this. From the moment we walked in the front door, we were treated like we were long-time friends, and there's nothing that Ken and Susie (the innkeepers) won't do for their guests. It was the fact that we stayed here that made my wife's birthday as memorable as it was, and I won't need to waste any time considering what B&B to stay at when we return...the only question now is, which of the other unique rooms should we make a reservation for?


Never stay anywhere else

4.8 on October 09, 2009

The best B&B experience ever! The Inn is so charming and beautifully maintained. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was still spacious and beautifully appointed. Ken& Susie are wonderful hosts--Susie's breakfasts every morning are waking up for and ken makes a terrific mocaha latte. We also enjoyed the happy hour every evening and Ken's extensive knowledge of the area. On our return trips to Napa we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.


Wonderful Stay!

5 on September 28, 2009

Ken and Susie were great hosts. Their recommendations were excellent and they gave us more time than we ever expected for these. The room was comfortable & inviting and the food was fabulous. Wish I had longer to stay.


It's grrrrreat!

5 on September 04, 2009

It's our first bed and breakfast stay. We don't know what to expect but our stay went above and beyond our expectations and made our 19th Wedding Anniversary a very memorable one. Ken and Susie were great hosts ,the room was royalty, and the foods were excellent. We had a wonderful time dinning out. Thanks you for your warm hospitality! I'll recommend this place to families and friends.


Best B&B in Napa

5 on June 29, 2009

Cedar Gables has my vote for the best B&B in the world. The innkeepers/owners, Ken & Susie, are some of the best people at making anyone feel at home and welcome. It was our 18th wedding anniversary and couldn't have asked for a better celebration. Everything about our trip to the Cedar Gables was just the best from the gourmet breakfast we enjoyed to the beautiful rooms to the great advice and assistance in getting last minute reservations for Dinner and what to do in the area. We are your life-long customers.


Great Place With Great Hosts

4.2 on May 29, 2007

I've had the pleasure of staying here twice. I enjoyed the first visit so much I hosted a corporate team building session. Sue and Ken are terrific hosts. The wine and appetizers at their afternoon social are complimented by their charming company. The breakfast was wonderful and far from pedestrian. The inn is beautiful and each room we toured was gorgeous.


Cedar Gables Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $159 - $359
  • Reviews (22) 4.8
  • Rooms 9

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7072247969
  • Fax 1-7072244838
  • Toll free 1-8003097969

Visit Website »

View details

Top