Agate Cove Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
46 Reviews

Write A Review

Wish I could live here!

4.6 on August 17, 2014

Mendocino is a beautiful place; Agate Cove Inn is a beautiful place to stay in Mendocino. Lovely views, generous and thoughtful amenities, delicious breakfast -- this is everything a B&B should be and you couldn't ask for a more delightful and relaxing experience.


Terrible

1.0 on August 08, 2014

Lastly, my biggest annoyance was their customer service. Less than a week before our trip I was almost killed in a serious traffic collision when I was T-boned on the driver's side door. I was hospitalized for 3 days and suffered a fractured collar bone, three broken ribs, and a concussion. Agate Cove has a strict cancellation policy of 14 days. We tried calling while I was still in the hospital to change(not cancel) our reservation to a later date and they informed us of their policy and that they would open the room up for rent online but if it did not rent out we would still be charged a night for the change. Now I can understand that policy if our reservation was preventing someone else from reserving a room there, but we went on their booking website and they had plenty of vacancy for the nights we booked. For every rule there is an exception. Upon check-in, the man working the desk whom seemed like the same one my wife talked to on the phone, talked to me about my injuries like I twisted an ankle or something. The next day at breakfast he made a comment to my wife that "he doesn't look like he was hurt that bad" in a unkind tone. My wife was an emotional wreck after the accident and came back to the room crying. This comment just ruined the rest of her day. It was obvious to me that they were only considering money and not the comfort of their 'guests'.


35th wedding anniversary trip

4.0 on May 20, 2014

First visit to CA and we happened on this gem via web. Breakfasts were wonderful, host and hostess were very welcoming and accommodating. Our room was nice but beside the main highway, so tad noisy. Wish I could have opened the front windows to allow the wonderful breeze in at night to sleep cooler and hear the ocean. Loved sitting on the front lawn and watching the ocean and enjoyed the sunsets. Hope to return.


A Great Experiance

4.2 on August 09, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend and I can't say enough nice things about our trip. If you are looking to really get away and have some relaxing down time this is the place. Rodger one of the inn keepers was so welcoming and made us feel right at home. The grounds are beautiful and the breakfasts were great. We have never stayed at a B&B before but we will be coming back to this one. It was a perfect place to slow down and enjoy the views and if you like your privacy their is plenty of it with the separate cottages. I can't wait for our next visit.


Beautiful spot

3.6 on June 03, 2013

We spent two nights here while leisurely making our way down the coast, it's a beautiful spot with magnificent scenery, great walks & lots of wildlife. The inn is delightful, a very comfortable room & good breakfasts. The innkeepers were away but the interim manager was very nice, as was her sister who was there to help & made fabulous chocolate, chocolate chip, cranberry cookies - they had to be tasted to be believed! We would definitely go back & heartily recommend it.


Honeymoon stay

5 on October 25, 2012

This place was the most romantic destination I have ever been to. From your room you can hear the breaking waves and feel the cool breeze. The room we stayed in (Obsidian) had a 2 person tub, fireplace, comfy bed, board games, and sherry. The breakfasts that they make for you in the morning were so amazing I would have payed $25 for them at a restaurant. The scenery is too beautiful to describe. One of the days we were there we watched the sunset over the ocean cliffs from the hot tub while drinking lavender tea that they had made for us. The owners were extremely friendly and gracious. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful and adventurous vacation spot.


The Perfect relaxing getaway!

3.8 on August 25, 2012

Roger and Laraine went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Our first trip to the Northern California coast and it was truly memorable. The entire experience began with and was magnified by the stay at the Agate. Outstanding!


out of this world wonderfull.

5 on August 04, 2012

our second stay was as magical as our first. some things never change and roger and loraine have remained as great as inn keepers as two years ago. perfect getaway. romantic, relaxing, soothing... the views, the breakfest, the bed, the hot tub, the yard, the plants, the service, were going back for sure


We also love the view.

4.8 on April 25, 2012

Because I was attending a class; they fixed me a box lunch...no charge...Pat


Blissfully Beautiful

4.4 on November 28, 2011

Add a beautiful site with fantastic innkeepers and divine breakfasts and what d'ya get? A perfect stay at a perfect B&B. I cannot recommend the Agate Cove Inn highly enough -- and much of that is based on the welcoming, warm, intelligent, and generous innkeepers. If only Loraine and Roger could be cloned! Guests feel more like house guests than paying guests. And, so, yes, we will return! And happily so.


Great place to stay in Mendocino

4.0 on June 01, 2011

Fabulous food and nice accomodations in a beatiful spot of the world. Who could wish for more? Maybe a more comfortable couch in my guest room....


Magical Getaway

4.6 on December 19, 2010

I am so happy that I chose this incredible magical spot. A little piece of paradise down this surreal beach coastline. It exceeded my expectations, and my husband's. We will be returning here very soon!


Northern California ambience without luxury

2.4 on November 13, 2010

Overall lodging service and food was acceptable but not at the level i would expect for the price. Inn's dog can be intrusive and frightening.


Oceanside Heaven

4.6 on September 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Ruby room for our anniversary. The room was kind of small, but cozy with its fireplace and flat screen t.v., and we weren't going to spend much time in it anyway. The bathroom was almost as big as the rest of the room with a huge Roman tub in it. Roger and Lorraine are wonderful hosts. Roger made gourmet breakfasts in the morning (my favorite was warm blueberry bread pudding and eggs benedict) and Lorraine served us, both are very friendly people (so is Nava, their dog). The view is spectacular especially on a clear day. Roger gave us some suggestions as to what we should do for the day and he was right, we had a lot of fun hiking to the waterfall and visiting the lighthouse. Glass beach is just up the highway in Fort Bragg- the largest concentration of sea glass in the world. The Point Cabrillo lighthouse is open daily and needs supporters to stay open & functioning, so go there!! Point Arena was a waste of time- I don't recommend it, the people were rude and the food was expensive. All in all though, we had a great time on the Mendo coast, and especially at the Agate Cove. We will definitely be back!


Agate Cove is a Real Gem!

5 on August 09, 2010

Beautiful, comfortable, inviting room - gorgeous grounds complete with friendly dog. Lovely area.


What A View!

4.8 on July 30, 2010

Perched on a cliff overlooking the Pacific, the Agate Cove Inn provided a first class B&B experience, including the room, view, food and staff!


Majestic View

3.4 on June 17, 2010

Breathtaking view of the bluffs and superior ocean view. Delicious breakfast scones, bread pudding, french toast with fresh blue and blackberries. Sherry in the room and a very comfortable plush bed. Absolutely peaceful surrounding. The only way to decompress and take in the "Beauty" of the area.


Beauty of Amenities

5 on June 16, 2010

A beautifully located B&B of wonderful rooms and marvelous view of ocean from dining area.


Peaceful Escape

4.6 on May 25, 2010

When we checked in to a dingy and cramped attic room at a competing Inn in town, we panicked and began our frantic search for something else. At 8pm, on Friday night, the Agate Cove Inn's owner came to our rescue and offered us what turned out to be perfection. Our lovely cottage overlooks the ocean, interrupted only by a beautiful garden and two towering cypress trees. We slept like babies in a wonderful bed and greeted the day with scrumptious breakfast and fresh coffee. The Agate Cove Inn is the ideal weekend escape just outside of town.


spectacular

5 on April 13, 2010

Roger and Larraine were very warm. I was great place to veiw the ocean. The fireplace was cozy. The whrilpool was relaxing. Roger and laraine were helpful directing us areas attractions. Looking forward to another stay.


First B&B

5 on February 19, 2010

Wonderful area, owners and beautiful establishment. The romo was very welcoming and warm. The location was perfect.


Perfect Romantic Getaway

4.4 on November 16, 2009

Lovely cottages with great room amenities (fireplace, coffee, mini-fridge, microwave, TV/DVD, deck, sherry, etc.), fabulous ocean views. (web photos doesn't do any of it justice.) Yummy oceanfront breakfasts too! Headlands State Park is right down the street...We felt fortunate to have found this special place.


Mendocino's Magic!

5 on September 27, 2009

This was our first trip to Mendocino and our stay at the Agate Cove Inn made it perfect. The view from our lovely large room (Emerald) was awesome! It was extremely clean and the bed was super comfortable. The gardens were lovely and boasted flowers that I had never seen before. The breakfasts were delicious and more than filling. We will tell our friends and we will return!


Wonderful getaway with best views

4.0 on August 28, 2009

Innkeepers are very friendly and cook a superb breakfast. Room (Sunstone) was a tad smaller than what I had expected. Dresser reeked of cigarette smoke when I opened drawers - told innkeepers upon checkout, and they appreciated the feedback. Room has porch looking at the ocean. There's also a swing and hammock right nearby. Very peaceful environment, will melt your stress away.


A Seaside Treasure

4.2 on July 31, 2009

Our third visit to Agate Cove Inn -- this time to celebrate our 50th anniversary. The site is spectacular, the accommodations lively and we felt pampered yet comfortable. Surrounded by unsurpassed beauty, we loved our stay here. Recommended to many friends.


Excellent B&B to stay at

3.6 on July 29, 2009

Very friendly owners, relaxing atmosphere, clean accomodations. Quiet, lovely view -- looking forward to next visit.


Agate Cove

3.4 on July 28, 2009

Beautiful grounds, nice large room, very comfortable bed. Breakfast was ok. Seemed pricy to us, but this was an unplanned visit and our first time with B&B so didn't do any research beforehand. I liked the location being a little out of town, but still within walking distance.


Wonderful Views

4.2 on February 24, 2009

We had a wonderful 2 night stay in Amber cottage. The room was comfortable, the views from the property are spectacular. The owners are very friendly and provide a delicious breakfast. The gardens are incredible. The property is outside the town limits but a nice walk into town. The amenities were excellent. We would definitely return.


A lovely alternative to the ueber expensive places

4.6 on February 17, 2009

Our room was lovely. The fireplace heater was warm and cozy, breakfast was delicious (blueberry bread pudding, eggs Benedict, french toast), service was helpful and friendly, views were stunning. Everything was more comfortable than I expected. The property is close to the major (2 lane) "highway," so you can hear the cars, so -- being from the city, the traffic noise didn't sound much like traffic to me, but -- you can hear the road noise. I would highly recommend this place for a secluded, pleasant, slightly more affordable, romantic, getaway spot.


wonderful stay

5 on January 09, 2009

We had five great nights at the Agate Cove Inn. Great room, view, awesome breakfast. Very gracious hosts. We will be back again!


Happy New Year

4.0 on January 07, 2009

We have stayed at Agate Cove many times since 1991. The last 7 New Year celebrations have been at the inn. We have stayed in Emerald, Obsidian and the last 7 time the Sunstone. All of the Inn Keepers have be very accomadating and friendly but Laraine and Roger seem to treat their guests as good friends or family. The room is great for sitting and watching storms, warm and cozy, the bed soft, comfortable and warm. The Inn is a great romantic spot on the Pacific coast. Can hardly wait until next New Year to also experiance the new bath in the Sunston room. Yes we have booked it already.


Peace & Relaxation In Mendocino

3.4 on November 30, 2008

We enjoyed a "too short" stay at Agate Cove Inn in Mendocino just before Thanksgiving. The view from our room (Emerald) was magnificent to wake to every morning and linger at every evening. The Inn keepers were attentive and extremely pleasant. The food was wonderful. The room was fresh and cozy, with a "sink in with an ah-h" bed. We would return, and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. It was a joy to find this gem on the Mendocino coastline! Cheers to the good folks at Agate Cove Inn.


"MatchLess"

5 on October 14, 2008

Views, service, hosts, all.....


Inn Review

5 on October 03, 2008

Agate Cove, is lovely, great innkeepers, spectacular views, yummy gourmet breakfasts. An incredibly romantic setting. I highly recommend this inn!


Our Romantic Getaway

4.4 on October 01, 2008

As we drove down the road & found ourselves beside the majestic ocean, all of our senses came alive. Then, turning into Agate Cove Inn, we were surrounded by beautiful flower gardens, sprawling lawns, quaint seaside cottages & warm hospitality...a memorable experience!


Elegant Relaxation

5 on August 25, 2008

Charming ambience, helpful and friendly hosts, fabulous breakfasts, truly comfortable beds, and lovely gardens. We come back year after year. Nothing else like it.


mendocino - with real ocean views...

5 on August 14, 2008

we stayed in many inns in mendocino, the agate cove inn has the best ocean view on the coast.


Extraordinary!!

5 on July 23, 2008

The hospitality was outstanding!! The tranquility and beauty of the setting and Inn were superb and made my stay so thoroughly enjoyable!!


Gorgeous views, charming grounds, thoughtful touches

3.8 on July 19, 2008

My husband and I stopped here one night on a trip north of San Francisco on a mission to see the Redwoods. It was a great respite from the long drive--a clean, well-appointed room, quality linens, a fire and the sight and sound of the sea under a low pine bough, with a cruet of sherry on the bedside table...the serenity of civilization to complement the wonders of nature!


Lovely!

3.2 on June 20, 2008

We recently stayed for 2 nights and it was all that we imagined. Perhaps a tiny bit disappointed in the breakfast but then we aren't at The Ritz! Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable with beautiful linens. We had a gorgeous view (which we paid for). All in all, we had a really nice time.


Awesome view and great hospitality

4.4 on June 10, 2008

We booked a room here at the last minute after a long roadtrip and everyone was very accommodating. The room was clean and we had a great view of the garden & ocean. We loved having our own private deck! The dining room has a spectacular view of the ocean and the food was great. They knew we had arrived late in the evening and they made us feel very welcome when we came in for breakfast the next morning. We are definitely coming back!


relaxing

4.2 on June 09, 2008

most relaxing stay. accommodations were wonderful. very clean and well kept. breakfast meals were superb. inn keepers were most welcoming. looking forward to our next visit


spectacular

3.8 on June 05, 2008

view is incomparable, hosts were great, flower gardens spectacular! room was spacious and comfortable!


May 2008

5 on May 28, 2008

The rooms, service, value, cleanliness, and dining were outstanding.


Most beautiful setting

4.8 on May 21, 2008

The Agate Cove Inn provides one of the most beautiful settings to celebrate a special occasion. The room was incredible and service/hospitality was incomparable! The view was better than the online pictures. Beautiful coastal inn!


What a view!!!

4.8 on October 11, 2007

Stopped in on our way home and stayed the night. Beautiful sunset!! Great room!!Outstanding hosts. Breakfast in a dining room with a super ocean view. Home made biscotti and muffins!! Sherry in the evening. We even had a rainbow in the morning!!What an ending for our 37th anniversary!!!


Agate Cove Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7079370551
  • Fax 1-7079370550
  • Toll free 1-8005273111

Visit Website »

View details

Top