Inn At Playa Del Rey Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
55 Reviews

Write A Review

New Year's at the Inn

5 on January 07, 2014

We had a lovely 3 night stay at the Inn at Playa Del Rey. It was charming, comfortable, luxurious, inviting, and friendly. The staff is so helpful. This is a gem in a rare natural area just minutes from LAX. This was a wonderful place to stay and relax.


We'll be back!

5 on January 05, 2014

We chose a room that overlooked the Ballona Wetlands. For us this was the perfect way to have a beautiful view and a peaceful environment while being close to the ocean (a short walk or bike ride; bikes provided by the Inn). Overall, this is a well-run inn that is elegant and informal at the same time. All spaces, public and private, are comfortable and inviting. We agree with a reviewer who described the Inn as having the feeling of "a home away from home". Breakfast had a good variety of hot and cold choices, and all of their food is nicely presented to include homemade baked goods. The text and photos at the website for the Inn at Playa del Rey provide an honest and accurate description of its amenities and services. We loved it and would not hesitate to choose the Inn at Playa del Rey for future visits to Los Angeles. Evanston, IL / January 2014


Wonderful location and friendly service

4.6 on November 09, 2013

Very much a seaside decorating theme, this is appropriate because it is adjacent to the Bellona wetlands nature preserve. There is a spotting scope and binoculars provided in the living room, as well as bird books. The food is very good, especially the baked goods, which are available around the clock. The staff willingly arranged for a taxi for my early morning flight. I would certainly stay there again!


Charming!!

4.8 on October 20, 2013

This is a delightful b and b. I would return anytime.


Close and quiet

3.4 on July 29, 2013

Close to the airport and very easy to get to, and yet absolutely no airport noise. Easy to get into town from there. The beach is a short walk away and not crowded at all. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and plentifull.


Jewel in West LA

4.4 on June 12, 2013

Amazing place! Such a retreat in a the middle of LA. GREAT food! And homemade chocolate chip cookies on check-in. Staff are amazing.


Lovely place, few minutes from the beach

5 on February 28, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to LA and we felt like trying something different than the usual conventional, impersonal hotels. We picked up this bed & breakfast after a long and tedious search on the web. First thing that caught our mind as we got in was the delicious smell of the cookies baking in the oven! There's always something being prepared in the open kitchen just behind the front desk and it always smells great! The staff is very welcoming and helpful, breakfast is delicious and the whole place is furnished with taste! The living areas are beautiful, warm and cozy and each room has its own personal decoration that is different from the others (we had the chance to take a look at several rooms during our 5 days-stay). The interior designer did a great job! In addition to all this, you have a free, private parking and you can borrow bikes to ride on the beach which is 5 minutes away. This inn has it all, great location, perfect amenities, pleasant staff.


Simply wonderful

4.8 on December 09, 2012

What a wonderful and romantic place to stay! Warm, inviting, scenic, convenient, pretty. At the last minute, my husband and I decided to stay on the marina side for the view (room 206). We're glad we did, as sitting on the balcony overlooking the wetlands was the perfect way to unwind before bed. I saw most ot the rooms in the 2nd floor, and they all looked cozy, inviting and well-decorated (I read that they did some updating in the past year or so. It shows). The staff was friendly and courteous. The bed was super comfortable. The food was really nice, too. Another plus is that they had bikes, beach towels, beach chairs and beach towels for guests to borrow on their way to a nice uncrowded beach. I highly recommend the Inn for couples or singles wanting a place to relax and unwind. It's a cozy inn that's quaint, yet large enough for it to not feel like one's staying at somebody's house.


Retreat in the city

3.6 on November 08, 2012

Biking along the beach was a highlight. The bikes do need some maintenance; helmets were provided. The ambiance of the the Inn is outstanding. Certainly a place to retreat.


The Inn at Playa del Rey is an Oasis in LA

4.0 on October 31, 2012

Just a few miles from LAX, but also just a few blocks from the ocean and a 20-mile paved path that you can walk or run and the Inn provided bikes to use if you want to cycle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. Mine had a balcony overlooking the wetlands and the marina with a gas fireplace and jacuzzi. Every day starts with a delicious breakfast buffet and there is wine with snacks in the evenings. The ladies that run the Inn are friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it and will definitely be staying there again my next trip to LA.


Anniversary trip

4.0 on October 15, 2012

Stayed four nights, would go back for more. We had a wonderful time walking on the beach, lounging in the jacuzzi by the fireplace (not a typo), birdwatching every morning. Very romantic and comfortable place. Location; close to beach, restaurants, and convenience stores for things you forgot. Good breakfast with fresh baked goods, fruit, and tasty coffee and OJ. Fresh baked cookies every day! Wine and cheese every evening.


It Just Doesn't Get Any Better!

5 on October 03, 2012

Safe and enjoyable stay....quiet and remote from the LA traffic and urban fast pace..a country setting amid a peaceful backyard landscape. Dr Keith Killacky, Phoenix, Az


Awesome Honeymoon -- part 2 -- eight years later

5 on August 18, 2012

After both of our daughters left home, we had more time and money to start doing things together. So, we decided to take a much needed vacation. Playa del Rey was the perfect choice!! Quiant and pictureseque do not describe it adequately. We got there around ten o'clock in the morning and they made us feel like home. The friendly staff offered us breakfast and allowed us to leave our luggage so we could begin our California adventure. When we returned later that afternoon, we were met by fresh cookies in our room. The room had a wonderful view and was so welcoming. Our stay was wonderful and it met all of our expectations and more. The staff was great, the food was superb and the location was.....well, perfect...near enough to the freeways and close enough to the beach to walk. We will stay there again.


Marvellous stay

4.2 on August 07, 2012

Ideal place to visit LA without beeing in LA! Less than 1 hour driving for most of the place to visit (Hollywood and Sunset blvd, Beverly Hills, Universal studio). Guest bike to go along te beach to Venice, Santa Monica.... So, a must to be place in LA.


A Memorable Place

5 on March 27, 2012

My two sisters and I stayed in their 2-bedroom suite for Oscars weekend. It was perfect in every way! I had told them it was my sister's birthday, and we were greeted in our room with a bottle of champagne and a birthday greeting. That was in addition to their usual greeting of a plate of chocolate chip cookies and a note saying "Welcome Pat and Jane and Kathy!" We loved our beautiful rooms and the beautiful service. The place includes in the price such goodies as breakfast, afternoon tea, wine and appetizers. Tea and coffee and cookies available all day. Free parking. We loved every minute of it and do hope to go back. Wonderful!


Anniversary Trip

4.6 on March 04, 2012

Nice location overlooking natural area. Close to the beach for great excercise (walking or jogging or bicycle). Conveniently located to other interesting areas, Botanical Gardens in Palos Verdes, Santa Monica. Service was great and people were very very friendly.


Romantic and Relaxing

5 on March 02, 2012

From the time we parked it felt like we were in heaven. Walking in from the downstairs, the aroma was so nice and calming, relaxed me right away. When checking in, they were so accommodating. We got there early but made sure to get us into a room right away. It was so nice to be away from the hustle and bustle but yet close enough to drive to. We loved the chocolate chip cookie left in our room to welcome us along with a personal note. That evening we asked for a recommendation for a Thai restaurant, the one that the front desk sent us to, was AMAZING, will definitely go back. Sunday morning, the breakfast we delicious and had a great spread. This was our first visit to a B7B and will definitely be going back again, hopefully sooner then later.


Recommend

4.0 on January 18, 2012

I highly recommend this B&B as we had a wonderful experience. We did have one issue with our stay in that there was some repair work being done in the room above us. The work commenced both morning we were there at 9:00 and was VERY loud. I do understand that repairs need to be made, but they should be done between the hours of 11 and 4, not at 9:00 in the morning!!! I do know this is a rare circumstance and other than this, the rest of the stay was wonderful but for the price you pay for one night's stay, more effort should be made to make the stay a 'peaceful' one!


2nd stay here was as nice as the 1st!

4.0 on January 03, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here for NY's eve, vs. driving 1 hour trip home after midnight! It was so cozy! Stayed here earlier in year with a groupon, this time paid full price, a bit pricey, but far better than a hotel (Hotels wanted 2 night minimum at $350 per nite average!) I can highly recommend this lovely B & B to anyone looking for a clean spacious room, friendly staff, nice breakfast, and the feeling of being in the comfort of a home vs. sterile over priced hotel! Yvonne


Best kept secret!!

4.8 on November 04, 2011

Loved the Inn, great low key area near the beach!! A car is necessary,but bikes are available! A return visit is in the future!!


Cute inn but needs some improvements.

2.6 on September 27, 2011

This is a very cute inn in a beautiful setting overlooking Marina Del Rey. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The carpet in our room (103) however was unacceptably dirty and in desperate need of replacement. The furniture and area rugs in the living areas were threadbare and stained. The breakfast dining area was beautiful but the breakfast options were limited with no protein other than hard-boiled eggs. Overall, our stay was pleasant, but I can't recommend this property until the carpet (at least) is replaced.


Pleasant Surprise

4.6 on September 19, 2011

We stayed here for a one night get away and immediately felt at home. We will make this Inn a regular get away spot.


romance is a reservation away from reality

4.8 on July 18, 2011

My wife and i were very happy with the services we will continue visiting bed n breakfast for many years to come the jacuzzi was wonderful and the view was great our room came with a fireplace wich made our romance moments unforgetable the next morning what can i say about the breakfast it was nothing like i expected infact it was better than i thought it seem like a dream everything was white my favorite scenery..thanks to all the staff till next time...


Just like being home

4.4 on July 06, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn at Playa Del Rey over 4th of July weekend. Everything from the atmosphere to the amazing food was just lovely. It actually inspired me to want to run or work at a B&B - much better than a hotel, in my opinion.


a jewel in the rough

5 on June 26, 2011

i have never stayed in a bed and breakfast and wanted to try one with my friend who was coming to visit from England. i found this site by trying many different ways to find a b and b...and man did we score!!!! the area where the b and b is about 4 blocks from the beach. there are many quaint restaurants in the area and GREAT coffee shops. to tell you the truth, we only needed to use the juice store and the coffee shop for drinks because the b and b fed us so well. the food was amazing. the granola was the best!!! the staff was helpful and friendly. the place was AMAZING. i cannot stay in another b and b...i am hooked to this one. I would go again and recommend this b and b to everyone. the bikes were fabulous and when i fell off they had the bandages to put me back together again. fabulous fabulous fabulous. however, the location is a bit away from the famous beaches i wanted to see....not in walking distance. that is why is say it is a "jewel in the rough." encore soon, very soon!!!


Wonderful little Inn

4.8 on June 01, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Inn. They even upgraded our rooom and everyone was very friendly. We will definately go back again.


Friendly, charming, great location

5 on April 25, 2011

The room was absolutely spectacular and the view was unbelievable - being able to casually look at the wildlife preserve from our balcony was truly a treat. We also loved finding two hand written notes welcoming us upon our arrival, along with some champagne, chocolate, and homemade cookies, all to celebrate our anniversary. They had amazing appetizers and wine in the afternoon. Breakfast was delicious to say the least: four cheese egg casserole, strawberry cream cheesecake, fresh fruit, etc. We also valued the free use of bicycles and helmets to cruise along the beach! All of these things were great but the absolute best thing was the service. Everyone was very friendly and they even upgraded our room for free (even though we got the groupon deal and paid much less than the regular rate). We loved everything about our stay and hope to be back in the future.


Our 25th Anniversary

5 on April 08, 2011

Our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and will for sure do it again. LOVED this place. Staff and site were superior!


Enchanting!

4.4 on March 10, 2011

I loved my stay here. It is a magical place. I tried to get a room again a week later on my return to Australia through LA but couldn't and had to go somewhere else :( The view across the reserve is therapy - I'll be back! PC Sydney


A jewel of a place

4.6 on November 26, 2010

The rooms are beautiful, the service is outstanding, it is peaceful, clean, and tastefully decorated. I highly recommend the Inn at Playa Del Rey. It is clear that they take the guest experience seriously and demonstrate it gracefully.


Returning guests, and we loved it again

5 on October 17, 2010

We are locals from Los Angeles who have used the Inn at Playa del Rey several times as a one-night getaway. This is such a special place, so peaceful, so beautifully maintained, so friendly and warm. We always feel like we have gone far away when we go there, when we are really only about a half hour from our home. After enjoying our balcony overlooking the wetlands with the views of Marina del Rey in the background, my wife said she felt like she had gone to Nantucket for the day. Highly recommended.


Cozy Relaxing and Beautiful! A hidden gem!

4.6 on October 13, 2010

They have so many offerings. We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed a week! Bikes to ride the beach path. Movies to take to your room. Wine and cheese in the evening. Lots of information of things to do and restaurants to try. Very friendly helpful staff. You are tucked away, but near everything. Great location. You wouldn't know you are minutes from the airport or busy Santa Monica nightlife.


Inn at Playa del Rey

4.6 on October 10, 2010

Our stay was very enjoyable and comfortable. In the past we have stayed at the Channel Room Inn, this time it was unavailable, so we stay here. The spacious rooms and common areas were very welcoming and we felt right at home. We would definitely come back.


Great Stay!

5 on September 22, 2010

Great breakfasts! Very helpful and attentive staff! Enjoyed every minute of our stay!


The secret extra

5 on September 08, 2010

Fabolous stay, easy to locate and close to everything, yet not in the busy city centre. An excelent choice for those who need a bit extra.


Highly Recommend in LAX area

5 on August 31, 2010

short cab away from LA airport; beautifully appointed accommodations; thoughtful, friendly staff; comfortable bed; best customer service ever!


Always a Treat

4.8 on April 14, 2010

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times, and it is always a pure delight. The service, the ambience, the happy hour treats and gourmet breakfast are over the top. A hidden jewel so near to L.A., yet a million miles away.


Great B&B, Just outside LA. 3 blocks from Beach.

4.2 on March 30, 2010

Excellent inn with very friendly and helpful staff. Nicely decorated rooms which were perfect for a romantic get away. Really enjoyed the Free bike rental and cruising up to Santa Monica Pier (after we checked out).


Wish we stayed longer

4.0 on March 19, 2010

Great location, great service. Only stayed one night, not enough to fully enjoy the amenities.


Charming, quiet, enchanting, and delightful... A real treat in a nature preserve in convenient L.A. location

4.6 on March 08, 2010

Ten minutes from the airport, in the Ballona Wetlands which were miraculously saved from the jaws of commercial development, this jewel of a hotel transforms an LA trip into a peaceful respite. Picture a breakfast room that opens to the wetlands, with china and a delicious meal (at no extra charge), a living room for relaxing. Each hotel room is entirely different and decorated in a seaside cottage style with art, great bathtubs and interesting layouts, wonderful bedding. You are greeted with homemade cookies waiting in your room and a welcome note signed by everyone on the staff. Easy parking at no cost right by the elevator. This inn gives new meaning to the expression: "a home away from home". Expect wonderful and friendly service; you'll get it at the Inn at the Playa del Rey!


Wonderful Location, Breakfast, Decor and Hospitality!

4.4 on December 07, 2009

Although I would consider this more of a boutique hotel than a B&B, it is perfect, and better than most B&Bs. The hostesses/managers were wonderful and made us feel right at home with recommendations for dinner etc. The location is fantastic; 5 to 10 minutes from the airport, and overlooking the ocean and wetlands. Decor is clean and cheery, breakfast was great with lots of choices.


Best B&B in Town

4.0 on November 23, 2009

Excellent service in cozy B&B at the quiet end of Playa del Rey. You're welcomed as if guests to their own home. We stayed here in order to get a 6am flight the next morning from LAX, and the staff ensured that our short stay would still be something we wouldn't forget. Snacks at happy hour & breakfast were terrific, rooms were gorgeous with ocean views. We will definitely come back here again.


Fun and relaxing stay in LA

5 on October 09, 2009

Inn at Playa del Ray is located away from the busy LA traffic in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance from many restaurants and the beach. It was exactly the kind of relaxing place we were looking for. The wine and cheese happy hour and breakfast were well prepared and on time. The room was sunny and clean. The staff was very friendly and was helpful. The best part were the free beach cruiser bike rentals. We rode along the beach, through the marina and to Venice Beach.


I loved it

5 on September 08, 2009

This bed and breakfast was quite a surprise. I booked a room for my girlfriend and I for our anniversary, I can honestly say I enjoyed the stay. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast was great! The pricing was not bad either, excellent service for such a good price! I definitely plan on returning here, especially since my girlfriend has fallen in love with it. I would recommend this to all of my friends, either for a weekend getaway or for anniversaries.


a lovely quick weekend

4.0 on August 02, 2009

I didn't get in town quite as soon as I'd hoped to, but the staff was ready to spring into action upon my arrival. They know the area well and were able to suggest a nice place to eat. There was a bit of a swollen door to the bathroom and the shower was a little difficult to get turned on, but if these are the only problems at the beautiful inn things are going well. I will return for sure!


We'll be Back

4.8 on January 11, 2009

Our room was upgraded -- a pleasant surprise that got us off to a wonderful start! Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a great view of the Baloona waterlands and wild birds. Evening wine and appetizers were delicious and plentiful; breakfast was excellent. What a nice place to stay in LA.


Great B&B

4.0 on November 17, 2008

When we got there they had upgraded us to a nicer room (which was wonderful). The room was great, our bed was comfortable. The food was delicious. Nice atmosphere. From the website I thought the Inn was located on the beach, but itsnot. However, there is a beach a few blocks away. We really liked this B&B.


Lovely inn near LAX.

4.4 on October 01, 2008

Our stay in the light, bright, and very comfortable junior suite at the Inn at Playa del Rey was delightful. The rooms were spacious and lovely, the time spent on the deck & balcony observing the birds was enjoyable, and the freshly baked cookies delicious. While the beach was a bit farther than a couple of blocks away, we would definitely return if we need to meet a flight at LAX again!


A Gem Out of Nowhere

4.6 on July 18, 2008

As soon as I passed the beautiful courtyard with gorgeous outdoor furniture and flowers everywhere, I knew I found a little piece of heaven. I felt like I walked into a Pottery Barn Magazine each time I entered this beautiful Inn. The whiff of freshly baked cakes and breads permeated throughout the area. The open country kitchen always in motion to prepare wonders for their guest. Snacks are always available in the beautiful and yet homey dining room. Breakfast is amazing. French windows provide scenic views of the Preserved Wetlands almost making you feel as if you are visiting the east coast Hamptoms. The living/library room is large and very comfortable decorated with appropriate natural colors that blend with the outside. The sofas are plush covered with natural oatmeal fabric. Everything felt as if it should be, nothing more nothing less. The wine and appetizers were a wonderful highlight after a long day in the Los Angeles area. I would not think of staying anywhere else when I visit my daughter who lives in L.A. In fact, I believe this Inn will always be my home away from home.


A perfect place to relax

4.8 on April 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for my birthday (we live in Los Angeles) and were blown away. It is so relaxing and inviting. The staff was amazing. The room was absolutely lovely (and clean!). The common areas were cozy and easy to enjoy with other guests. They even have free bikes to use on the nearby bike path – right by the ocean! I would highly recommend this inn to anyone.


Inn at Playa Del Rey.

5 on September 25, 2007

Excellent location. Charming rooms and staff. Wonderful, relaxing, serene ambience. Aroma of fresh baking every day.


Inn at Playa Del Rey.

4.0 on September 21, 2007

This inn exceeded my expectations.


Didn't want to leave

5 on September 18, 2007

I've never been to a b&b, so this was exciting. I had a wonderful stay and would recommend this place to anyone. I will be back!


Very good sleep

5 on August 31, 2007

I had a very good night sleep as good as being at home. I will be back


The Inn at Playa del Rey is just like home!

4.8 on August 31, 2007

The personal touches and attention to detail make this B&B feel just like home. After years of staying at large, chain-style hotels, this was my first B&B experience and thanks to the Inn at Playa del Rey the first of many to come.


Inn At Playa Del Rey

Details

  • Nightly Rate $205 - $450
  • Reviews (55) 4.6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (310) 574-1920

Visit Website »

View details

Top