Buky House Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.1
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
33 Reviews

Write A Review

Looking for WONDERFUL? Come here!

4.4 on September 03, 2014

I stayed at Buky house for four days. The bed was better than any bed I've had at even the best hotels. Not only was the room very nice, but the house is gorgeous and has a lot of character. There is a peaceful balcony where you can have your coffee in the morning. The owner made me feel welcome immediately. The neighborhood is one of the nicest that I have been to in L.A., and it is convenient using public transportation if you do not have a car. You can also use Uber which is not expensive either.


NIce Gem...Restful and Peaceful

4.2 on July 17, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay. The negative aspect is the battle for parking, as there is no designated parking for guests. We had to park a couple of blocks away on two nights of our stay, but this is the only major drawback of our visit. The garden cottage is the place to be at this B&B! A room set back from the main house, with a nice patio. The bed is very comfortable and the room has a window A/C unit, along with a skylight that can be open or covered. The breakfast is nice, consisting of bagels, yogurts, milk, juice, coffee, and the like. Very simple, but adequate to start the day off. Gail made sure items were replenished for each day, and also made sure any other reasonable requests were met by her housekeeping staff each afternoon. The location is pretty close to many of the Hollywood attractions, as well as to Dodger Stadium, and the freeways. This made it easy to navigate the area to see and visit places we wanted to patronize. Overall, a really nice value, and a great little surprise lodging place!! We enjoyed ourselves immensely. Dennis and Tina Landes Fort Worth, TX


A Garden of Delight

4.8 on June 02, 2014

Rising to fix our breakfast in this beautiful enclosed garden, my wife and I felt completely at home and at ease. It was just a short walk to each of two different bus lines. Our hostess handled a couple of special requests with grace. There is no way that we would stay anywhere else in LA now that we know about this oasis of peace in a beautiful residential neighborhood. The garden apartment would delight anyone who enjoys nature and prefers reality to the artifice of a hotel setting.


Best value n LA

4.6 on May 29, 2014

If you are looking for a clean, safe and lovely stay in LA with a character hostess i'd think you be hard pressed to beat this. The home is lovely, positioned in a tree-lined street, quiet and safe. I.have stayed on two separate occasions visiting from Australia and I will be back for a third, if Gail haves me. I loved having brekky out on the upstairs alcove, watching the morning dog walkers pass by. Highly recommended.


Our Favourite Place to stay in LA

4.8 on April 27, 2014

From the clean, comfortable rooms and charming welcome offered by Gail Buky, the owner, to the easy access to shops, museums and Santa Monica, Buky House has to be one of the most delightful b and bs in Los Angeles. It's not often that one finds a real treasure but my wife and I have just finished our 4th visit and we'll be back again. We stay in a very nice, quiet room in the main house with plenty of hanging space, tv, an en suite and we can use the main kitchen for our breakfast. Gail is both congenial and helpful with a great sense of humour. All in all, we can't fault this as a great place, a great neighbourhood and good value.


Beautiful well-located L.A. house but low on service

2.6 on January 03, 2014

Buky House is a stunning architectural and interior design gem, well-located in central LA and near public transit. In this respect, it was well beyond my expectations. On the other hand, as a person traveling alone, I look forward to the presence of the B&B hosts which, unfortunately, was largely absent even at the (do-it-yourself) breakfast.


Great Girls weekend!!

5 on November 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed three nights at Buky House and enjoyed it tremendously! The home is located centrally in a lovely residential neighbourhood but easy to reach the freeways. It's very close to Santa Monica, Hollywood and downtown. The purple room where we stayed was lovely but more importantly had a comfortable bed and pillows! Gail Buky assisted us with directions and helped us decipher which farmers market to tackle. We enjoyed the self catered breakfast, it suited us and our schedule. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast it's gorgeous!


Buky House - A Gem

5 on July 26, 2013

My 14 year old son and I had some meetings in LA. I needed a place to stay that was affordable, centrally located, comfortable and safe. The Buky House was all that and more. We stayed in a room upstairs with a shared bathroom. The house was beautiful and situated in a very nice neighborhood. We were 2 blocks from the grocery story and bus - so no need to rent a car. We took the bus to all our meetings and sight seeing and it was very easy. Google "LA Metro Trip Planner" - plug in your beginning and ending destinations and it will give you all the details on which bus to take and when. Gail was delightful. Very welcoming and helpful with anything we needed. I'd highly recommend the Buky House and will definitely be back. Thanks again Gail!


We loved the Garden House!

4.2 on February 06, 2013

We stayed in Garden House and loved everything about it. It was a great value based on t he cost of the hotels in the area. It was very private and centrally located. Gail was very helpful and easy to work with in planning our time in LA. I will definitely return there on my next visit.


Very very pleasant stay

5 on February 06, 2013

My husband & I really enjoyed our stay at Buky House. Lucky enough to get the Garden Suite, we spent 4 extremely comfortable nights in this delightful little getaway. Gail kept delicious fresh fruit coming, fresh tasty bagels and lots of tea & coffee for the morning, the room has a nice little fridge and toaster oven. There's a Trader Joe's and Ralph's Market only 2 blocks away and with the well working kitchenette we ate several meals in the Suite. Gail is a master at setting up comfortable beds so if you like to sleep in this is the room for you! The bathroom was super clean and well stocked (tp, hair dryer, etc.) w/an excellent tub (non-slip) & shower (great pressure). Buky House's cable tv package is extensive (I was able to watch several Korean channels). All in all you couldn't ask for a more comfortable, pretty & well tended space. It's a quiet charming residential neighborhood with public transportation access close by. And Gail is a very friendly and well organized innkeeper, a bit like being taken care of by your favorite aunt! You won't find any hotel room at this price point anywhere else in L.A. Do yourself a favor and book Buky House!


Lovely house in a nice neighborhood

4.0 on August 23, 2012

When we booked at Buky House, we didn't really know what to expect, except that the prices were affordable and the area seemed ok. But when there we discovered a very charming, well decorated and cosy place in a peaceful and well situated area (West Hollywood). The innkeeper had prepared everything for our stay, and was very nice and helpful while respecting our privacy (which was not always the case in guest houses we visited). The rooms were clean, spacious, the beds comfortable, and we enjoyed the self-served breakfast including fresh tasty fruits (and good coffee!). The house also creates a nice atmosphere for meeting other guests and sharing our LA experiences, which is a great asset in such a widespread city! The location is perfect as the house is in a quite and very safe area, but also close to many worth-visiting places (Beverly Bvld, The Grove, LACMA, etc.) I would recommend this guest house to anybody visiting LA and wanting to get a feel of the life there and of the people!


Classy Surroundings

5 on July 26, 2012

I stayed in the "Purple" room upstairs. When I saw the bed I thought I was at the Ritz - luxurious bedding and cozy surroundings. I didn't know what self-serve breakfast meant - well here it is better than being served. The beautiful china is set out on a tray with CLOTH napkins and the best granola ever. Coffee, yogurt, juice, creamcheese and bagel - more than one needs to get your day started. I'm coming back with my boyfriend for sure.


our best stay in california

4.4 on July 24, 2012

We spent three nights in buky house this july, in the very charming garden suite. We loved the neighborhood, the room and the great garden patio. Gail was very welcoming and helpful. The room is spatious and clean, and we felt like home. The bathroom has a tub. Fresh flowers and a small kitchen. Perfect for couples! We would definitely stay here again!


Inhospitable, inconsiderate and unfriendly.

1.4 on July 14, 2012

Don't know why this person runs a B&B - she has no customer focus and lacks the warmth & welcoming nature you expect from a B&B stay. Apart form the room being priced higher than quoted (she omitted to tell me that tax was extra when I booked) there was no consideration for my comfort and needs. Also, I booked for 3 days and my breakfast was 3 stale bagels left in the fridge and full fat dairy products. When I asked for low fat I was given half a carton of milk which was out of date. The owner left for the weekend and I was left to my own resources. As a visitor from overseas, this left a bad impression.

Innkeeper Response
This review is an unfair portrayal of Buky House. Though I am not a full service Bed and Breakfast, I do try to be sensitive to my guests needs – as when she first arrived I drove her to the Grove because she came without a working phone, no computer and no friend. I normally take a 50% deposit and get the balance on arrival, she needed to make a smaller deposit after I had already discounted the room, I made an exception and allowed her to pay the smaller amount. When I wanted to settle up upon her arrival she was too confused and said she would give me her credit card tomorrow. She never attempted to settle up so I charged the credit card she used for the deposit to cover the balance the day before her departure. As far as the milk, my rooms are stocked with fresh whole milk - in the morning she informed me that she needs fat free so I gave her my personal milk. In the afternoon she advised me that the milk was out of date so she returned it and took my personal sealed half & half (????) which she seemed to be happy with. She would not have been happy at The Four Seasons. Thank you. Gail Buky


A great stay in LA

4.4 on September 25, 2011

Stayed two nights in LA and this bed and breakfast was definitely a better choice than any hotel. Gail was helpful, the room clean and comfortable. The location is great, you can go for a short walk to the Miracle mile, or to some good restaurants nearby. Highly recommended !


Buky House - just gorgeous

4.0 on March 29, 2011

We are a family of four plus two friends from Germany, who stayed at the Buky house for 8 days in the summer of 2009. We had found the apartment on the internet but had not been so sure about what we would find there. But when we arrived at the Buky house we were pleasantly surprised. First of all the location is quite marvellous: West Hollywood really is a nice play if you want to explore all that's great in Los Angeles. Santa Monica, the sea, Hollywood, Sunset Boulevard, all within a half-hour drive via the freeways. A large supermarket just round the corner. Famers Market within a footwalk. And with the "Grove" a very asonishing shopping centre within reach. The apartment itself - we stayed on the ground floor - is absolutely comfortable. With 6 people you are really glad about three spacious bedrooms, along with two bathrooms. The kitchen is really well equiped, there is a large living room complete with a fireplace and full of comfortable sofas and chairs. We found Gail to be nice and helpful - although we didn't come to have her breakfast! So we still have something left for the case of us coming back to the Buky house - which will be hopefully within the next 12 months!


I love Buky House.

4.6 on November 01, 2010

Buky House was the perfect base for my month long exploration of L.A. life. After a long day walking the streets and riding the local buses, it was comforting to return to a clean, quiet and relaxing place. Gail (the owner) is the ideal B&B operator, being conscientious, considerate and friendly. The house is in a great location close to the buzz of Hollywood and glamour of Beverly Hills. Leave your car at home- the nearby busses will take you from Melrose Avenue to Malibu and anywhere in between. Breakfast consists of bagels, bread, cream cheese and jam, muesli, fruit and brewed coffee or tea- no complaints there.


A true hidden gem in a lovely neighborhood

4.0 on September 25, 2010

I just got back from a week long business trip to L.A. Reading the reviews of The Buky House B&B, I decided to give it a try. The bungalow/guest suite is absolutely charming. A large place with a very comfortable bed, separate bathroom, and a small kitchenette. On the countertop were fresh bananas, bagels, tea, & cereal. In the fridge were two kinds of milk, fresh strawberries, butter, jam & yogurt. The kitchenette has dishes, glassware, flatware, paper towels,etc. The guest suite is decorated in contemporary furnishings and colors which are rather comforting. Wifi is also available and the sliding glass door leads out to the nice patio. I spent a very comfortable 6 nights in the bungalow. I moved into the Purple Room in the main house on the last day of my stay. Comfortable bed, separate bathroom, digital cable t.v. Gail's house is gorgeous. Decorated with some very nice artwork and furnishings. The neighborhood is in the Hancock Park area. I took a walk one morning and enjoyed the beautiful homes on the same street as the Buky House and the other beautiful homes on the other streets. I love the Buky House and will stay there again when I go back to L.A., if Gail has availability. She is very friendly and accommodating. She also provides a parking tag for you to hang in your car since parking is on the street. Very safe, quiet neighborhood. For a female traveling alone, this is a plus.


"HOME AWAY FROM HOME"

4.0 on August 07, 2010

I travel to Los Angeles often and have finally found my "home away from home"!!! The location is PERFECT and the beds are great!! (two of the top three I rate regarding lodging). I love the feel of Buky House - it is beautifully decorated, offering a warm, welcoming ambiance. The food and ammenities did not dissapoint either. Another big asset for me is location. Buky House is within walking distance of great restaurants, shops and markets. Attractions such as The Grove, Hollywood Bowl, The Beverly Center, and all that downtown Los Angeles offers, i.e., museums, theatre, the Staples Center, and 5 star restaurants are only a short drive away. The convenience is wonderful. When planning your next visit to Los Angeles, I would definitely consider making Buky House your "home away from home", you won't be dissapointed!!! Sue S. Nipomo


It Could Of Been Better

2.4 on August 03, 2010

I spent two nights at the Buky house which was my second stay there. I was really disappointed because first visit there was perfect. First of all, Gail the owner was out of town so there was no "onsite innkeeper" during my stay. There was another couple staying who were very nice but that was it! My room was cleaned the first day but the second day (sunday) was not. If I had known, I would of prepared for that. Every time I entered the B&B, the interior smell was alwful. It smelled musty and moldy. There was one sesame bagel that sat on the kitchen counter during my whole visit. Actually there was very little to eat except the other couple found strawberries in the refrigerator and ate them. I chose not to indulge, I wasn't sure if Gail, the innkeeper wanted them when she returned from her holiday. Gail did leave the number for the next door neighbors if I had any questions. I did and they were very nice too.

Innkeeper Response
This guest made her reservation for July 9th on July 1st, at which time she was informed of my planned absence. She had stayed at Buky House before and that is the only reason I trusted her to stay unattended. This is a B&B not a hotel and daily maid service has never been offered on Sunday. The fresh strawberries, yogurt, juice, milk and bagels were all provided in the refrigerator for her use. Breakfast has always been self-serve, continental at Buky House. Her room was in my main residence and I assure you there is NO mold or musty smell. I'm so sorry about this guests experience as the other couple here at the same time felt the opposite.


Live like a local

3.2 on December 14, 2009

If you need banana pancakes every morning at a sit-down B&B, this is not for you. But if you're independent and self-guided, and willing to pick up a few groceries on your own, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better deal in Los Angeles. Buky House is in a residential neighborhood within walking distance of multiple grocery stores and a short drive to great restaurants. It's safe, pretty, and the experience is great for those who want to live like an Angeleno during their stay. Recommended!


Excellent Place

4.6 on July 26, 2009

We had booked the main floor for most of the week. it was great like having a whole house. It was quiet, comfortable and unique interiors. It was also very central to everything. Highly recommend it- Breakfast was stocked and self serve which I found very nice to go at our pace.


Great Option for a Stay in LA

4.4 on March 12, 2009

I stayed in the Buky House this last weekend and really loved it. The location is great and the rooms were nice and clean, plus there was wifi (bonus!). The house itself it just gorgeous. The owner was really friendly and easy to deal with. The fridge and pantry were stocked with plenty of items for a light breakfast, cereal, milk, fresh strawberries, etc. If I'm in LA again I will definitely come back to Buky House.


Our LA Adventure

4.2 on March 04, 2009

My husband & I visit LA several times a year because our children live there. We have never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast, only hotels. We decided to try Buky's House on a lark due to location and free street parking. Our separate suite behind the house was well appointed. From the ironed linens & comfy mattress to the fresh berries & pastries, nothing was overlooked. The gardens outside our suite were beautiful & added to our peace & quiet. We will definitely stay there again.


My Vacation???

3.8 on March 03, 2009

Buky House is uniquely identified by the welcoming lush ivy-covered exterior. Inside, the atmosphere is at once homey: living room, dining room, kitchen and private bedrooms/ba. Our bedroom/king size bed (and wifi for our laptop) was very comfy. Solid stucco walls make for great sound-proofing. But we were very disappointed in the service. Breakfast was self-serve which I prepared; I also did the dishes and, late in the day, made our bed. This isn't what we expected from a B & B, and Gail never told us. Next time in LA we'll stay where I don't have to do routine household chores...


Greta Lives Here!

4.8 on March 02, 2009

As I drove up to the house, I was amazed to see this incredible house engulfed with a manicured blanket of ivy. Spots of beautifully architectural design of the 1920 Spanish decor painted in deep spice colors blending beautifully with the whole picture of this magnificent home. Seeing is believing! The home feels as if you have been there before or lived your past life in the 20's. Comfortable, rich and mystical was my first reaction viewing the huge living room and basically all the rest of the rooms. Greta Garbo must of lived in this house!!!!!!! Scooter was my first greeter. A beautiful LARGE cat that is the sweetest. My room was the Purple Room located next to the kitchen. I never once was disturbed by any noise from anywhere in the house as I slept comfortably on clouds...the bed was dreamy! Bathroom clean and bright. Coffee permeated the house in the morning, bagels and cereal were offered too. For the price. setting and living with ghosts of the 1920's era...how could you ask for more!!! Btw, Gail was a perfect hostess!!!! I will be back Gail......


Laid back in LA!

3.0 on January 17, 2009

If you like hospitality with the laid back approach then Gail Buky's is the place to stay in Los Angeles. Quiet and quaint in a great location. If we are ever in LA again we'll be back to Buky House.


Buky House ~ a treasure

4.8 on November 08, 2008

Gail Buky's B&B offers a great opportunity to "live" in LA. The home is in a beautiful, safe residential area one block off of La Brea, close to some of the best eating and shopping in West Los Angeles. The home is immaculate, with a large sky-lit kitchen, backyard gardenspace and front yard balcony. Sleeping accommodations are just what a traveller desires: QUIET, great beds & linens, big windows, closets and drawers. This is really quite a home. I've stayed twice, sent my mother and a cousin who raved about it. There is a major staircase leading from the front door to the upstairs living level; if you have problems with knees or hips, be advised. A little kitty lives there, too ~ generally invisible.


Will never stay anywhere else

5 on October 01, 2008

I found this bed and breakfast just by chance and what a find it is!!! My husband and I were lucky enough to get the seperate, private suite off of the back yard garden. It has a little kitchenette with a coffee pot and a toaster oven. There was real coffee, real cream (not that powdered poison) and a fabulous continental breakfast. The bed was better than mine at home and the linens were ironed and devine. Who could ask for more! My computer worked great as an added bonus to us! My new home in LA!! Only one problem, this B&B only has 2 rooms. I'll have to plan ahead from now on..............


Better than the photos

4.6 on October 01, 2008

We stayed in the "garden suite" which was very private and quite large. The best surprise was a kitchenette in the room. Sheets were dreamy. The "breakfast" wasn't that important because we walked around the corner to Trader Joe's and had our own fridge. We looked at the smaller room and I would call it elegant and cozy. We will be back.


West Holywood

3.2 on September 25, 2008

This is someone's home and it feels as if one is just accommodated. The home is lovely but one is only invited to be in one's bedroom. There is a lot of space in the house which could accommodate guests to sit and read. The house is in a lovely area.


We Loved the Buky House!

5 on September 02, 2008

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Buky House in July '08. The house is lovely and the room was extremely comfortable and clean. Everything about our stay here was just perfect. I also have to mention the resident cat, Scooter. He is super-friendly and we enjoyed his company during our stay. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone without hesitation.


Stayed two nights and I loved it!

5 on August 26, 2008

I was made to feel very welcome by the owner, Gail and I appreciated extra touches like a waiting carafe of water and dark choclate upon arival. The self serve breakfast, in a huge and tastefully appointed kitchen, breakfast suited my schedule perfectly. The B&B is unique and very charming. Stayed On: 8/2008 I stayed there 2 nights and enjoyed it. Nice location, I parked right in front of the house. I would definitely stay there again and I have already recommended it to my friends.


Buky House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3239355807
  • Fax 1-3239356383

Visit Website »

View details

Top