The Inn at Locke House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
91 Reviews

Write A Review

Reunited with old friends at the Inn at Locke House

5 on October 16, 2014

My wife and I and several other couples chose the Inn for a reunion weekend. We were taken care of by the owners as though we were long lost old friends. The hospitality and setting were superb and the time spent on the back porch sipping local wines as we gazed at the English-style garden was most relaxing.


Great B&B in my hometown

5 on October 14, 2014

We had a wonderful wedding night there and breakfast in the morning. Lani is a fantastic cook! Bacon Quiche. "Nuff said. As far as value, I may not ever wrap my head around places around Lodi being more than $100 a night. It was a stretch for us to afford this place, but I'm glad we did. Considering the Hampton Inn in Lodi was charging $160/night that weekend, this was definitely a more unique and fun experience at the same price point.


Great room and excellent service and breakfast.

5 on October 05, 2014

We had a great time.


Friendly, romantic inn - loved it!

5 on September 04, 2014

We spent the weekend at the Inn at Locke House and were very impressed with the special touches the owners put into restoring this beautiful home. Everything was spic and span, all amenities were provided, and the breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. The owner even took the time to give us a tour of the house and gardens, explaining the history of the original owners/builders, and the process of restoring this estate. We loved our stay here and will definitely come back!


Perfect Weekend Getaway

5 on August 05, 2014

We had an incredibly relaxing weekend at the Inn at Locke House. We were greeted with chilled champagne in our room when we arrived, the bed was huge and luxurious, and even though it was a sweltering hot weekend (100+ degrees), the room stayed comfortable and cool thanks to a portable AC and ceiling fan. Lani had great suggestions for wineries to visit and her breakfasts were amazing. 10/10, we'd love to visit and stay there again.


Inn at Locke house

5 on July 20, 2014

We went for a quick anniversary get away, and the weekend couldn't have been anymore perfect if I had written the script myself. I had chosen to have the romance package with wine and rose petals on the night we arrived and that really set the tone. We walked into our room and were greated by a blast of cool air, and our beautiful tray. Even having arrived very late in the evening everything was perfect. Our breakfast and picnic lunch the next day were delicious and generous helpings. They very easily accommodated my vegatarian diet. The gardens were so beautiful and the stars so prominent that we decided to share a bottle of local wine their instead of going out to downtown Lodi. My only complaint was that we had to leave so quickly. I can't wait to go back.

Innkeeper Response
We are delighted that you chose to celebrate this important event at our inn. And it was a pleasure to have you as guests. Like you we take every opportunity to enjoy the gardens, especially in the cool evenings. We look forward to your return!


Woderful!

5 on June 10, 2014

A feel good B & B that was super comfortable. Lani made our stay feel like we were home. She was so helpful and an awesome cook! A beautiful place to stay. We loved it.

Innkeeper Response
We are so pleased you felt "at home" and that your stay was restful and enjoyable. Hope to have you return!


A bite out of time

5 on June 09, 2014

Our one night stay at the Inn at Locke House was such a nice addition to our week-lon trip through CA. The house is full of history and the hosts have given it much love and care. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Innkeeper Response
This house is filled with history that we enjoy talking about whenever guests inquire. On your next stay we hope you'll take time to explore the historic cemetery (we have a guide book) and visit the schoolhouse museum.


A Great Value For Your Dollar

4.0 on June 04, 2014

The inn at Locke House is a very traditional B&B and has a rich and intriguing history. The inn keepers / owners where kind and made you feel that you where at Grandmas house. Over all the stay was a great experience.


Wonderful weekend

5 on May 25, 2014

I booked this as a surprise for our 29th anniversary. Just a relaxing weekend with my wife and nowhere to have to be. The Tower Suite was beautiful - and private. The bed very comfortable and the view from the tower was a nice bonus. We missed breakfast both days as we were being lazy and sleeping in. So, we couldn't rate the dining. (However, we did get to sample some of the baked goods - absolutely delicious! And, other than a quick meeting when we arrived and as we were leaving, we didn't really even see our hosts. Richard and Lani seemed very friendly and eager to please. Our thanks to them for making the weekend great for us!

Innkeeper Response
It sounds as if your stay was exactly what you wanted - lots of rest and relaxation. One does not live by cookies alone - although my husband believes that one can! - so next time you snuggle inn let us discuss a way for you to have morning nourishment!


Great Time

5 on March 10, 2014

We loved the Locke House Bed and Breakfast. It is beautiful and the suite was great. We will be going back. The owners were wonderful. We tried both their breakfast in a box to go and one in the kitchen they were both excellent. Susan and David

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We think of our "Breakfast to Go" as an early morning picnic. Glad you enjoyed it!


An ideal stay

5 on March 08, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Inn. The building is a wonderful historic site, the room very comfortable, and the hosts delightful. The breakfasts were outstanding and we enjoyed wandering around the grounds and the town. We highly recommend the Inn and will be staying there again when the Sand Hill Cranes return. Lew Petrinovich & Jane Stecher

Innkeeper Response
Please do return for the Sandhill Cranes! If all goes as planned, the Lockeford Schoolhouse museum and park will be open for visitors then. From previews, they will be really worth exploring. Thanks for your review.


The Inn at Locke House

5 on November 10, 2013

Charming historic house with delightful hosts who are very knowledgeable about local history and are marvelous chefs. Scrumptious food for breakfast that included fresh fruit from their own gardens. We stayed in the lovely Abington Room; bed was very comfortable. Our private bathroom down the hall was beautifully decorated and had a heated tile floor. The sense of an intimate and extended (2 nights) visit to a specific place & time of yesteryear was palpable.

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad you enjoyed the inn and its role in local and state history. The San Joaquin Historical Museum is reviving its Native American exhibits, so be sure to put that on your list of things to see next time you stay with us.


Lovely Inn

3.8 on October 21, 2013

Reservations were easy to make and their website easy to use. The Inn at Locke House is conveniently located. The innkeepers are efficient and reliable warmly, personable making their guests feel more like friends than paying guests. The history of the house is interesting, the rooms are decorated nicely and very comfortable. There are lots of books and magazines, a tv in the common rooms. The whole house is clean and except for the innkeepers private rooms all accessible to the guests. Lani and Richard provide you with home baked treats at night and a scrumptious breakfast with as much coffee as you can drink in the morning! You can't go wrong staying here....really.

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad you felt comfortable and at home while you stayed. Thank you for taking time to write your extensive review. Hope you'll stay again when weather permits you to enjoy your coffee in the gardens.


A Find in Lodi Wine Country

4.4 on October 16, 2013

What a lovely autumn weekend in Lodi Wine/Gold country! Our innkeeper Loni was a sweetheart, bustling about to be sure all was well with everything. Set in am an agricultural area, a short drive from downtown Lodi, the Inn was once home to a country doctor and has been lovingly and painstakingly restored. Attention to detail abounds. We would gladly return to this lovely inn. Breakfast is a gourmet excursion into international influenced cuisine - eggs with a hint of chiles, French inspired poached pears - all three mornings brought new experiences. Thanks to Loni and her husband for making our stay effortless!

Innkeeper Response
It was our pleasure to have you as guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts. We're very fortunate to have great local fresh products readily available for meals. We're in asparagus season now....may we tempt you?


Wonderful experience

4.8 on October 16, 2013

The history of the innade it especially delightful. Knowing I was sleeping in the same room where someone else slept in 1865 was really cool.

Innkeeper Response
We know what you mean by experiencing something early residents of the home must have experienced. We feel that way every time we look out of the original windows on the first floor. Come back when the local schoolhouse museum is open to experience more.


Amazing Stay

4.8 on September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Locke House the first night of our honeymoon and we loved it. The room was beautiful and very clean. We had our own private entrance and three separate levels to enjoy. The top level was a viewing area to watch the sun set or rise. The breakfast was delicious! We went down to the dining room where we were served a three course breakfast. This family owned Inn excelled in customer service. My husband and I can't wait to visit again.

Innkeeper Response
The Water Tower Suite is a favorite for honeymoons and anniversaries. So since you've honeymooned there, why not return for your first anniversary? Thank you.


My Lodi Wine Country visit

4.0 on September 25, 2013

My wife and I had to visit SFO for a business meeting. I planned a visit to Lodi so we could visit some of the local wineries. We choose to stay at the Inn at Locke House after reading some of the reviews. We enjoyed a great night stay in the Locke home, a great visit with Richard and Lani, a great breakfast and enjoyed the Lodi area. The Eklund's also recommended the Schneider's from Vintage Limo who arrange a great winery tour, with their local touch and recommended a tasty local restaurant-La Strada 88 for a great dinner. Recommend you request the Water Tower Suite for a special night. Thanks both Richard and Lani

Innkeeper Response
Ah, you enjoyed autumn in the Lodi Appellation, so now you must return for spring or summer. Thank you for letting others know how you enjoyed your stay with us.


Wonderful night at the Locke House

4.0 on August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Locke house near the end of a long road trip down, and up, the pacific coast. Though our stay was short, it was wonderful. The classic feel of the inn is coupled by a beautiful garden full of flowers and hummingbirds, so it's perfect for those who want to relax. The inn is also close to all the wining and dining in and around Lodi, and the hosts are more than happy to help suggest great places to go. Lani was warm and friendly, and she made a delicious breakfast. The amenities are above average, but I must note that the bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. If you want to experience Lodi at its best, do not go on a Monday! Despite the fact that we happen to be there when everything was closed, the stay was very pleasant thanks to Lani and the team at the Locke House. Thanks!

Innkeeper Response
And we thank you! We're glad you stopped as you explored this interesting and lovely part of California. Do come again - when "something" is open (that's why combining a Sunday or Tuesday with your stay offers more dining and wining opportunities).


Just what we didn't know we needed!

4.8 on July 31, 2013

we thought we were looking for a hotel that was close to Stockton but not in Stockton as we heard that hotels in the city could be sketchy. This inn had cute pictures and the wineries seemed like something to do nearby to pass time. What we didn't expect was an escape. Darling rooms exactly as pictured. Vintage styling but with new plumbing so excellent shower pressure. Quiet gardens which we enjoyed - with WiFi. Breakfast that was not only substantial but with fresh ingredients and delicious - they even provided the soy for my coffee. Topped off with the nicest of hosts. The surrounding wineries were just as friendly. Restaurants in nearby Lodi were wonderful as well.

Innkeeper Response
We are delighted that you felt you had "escaped" for a while. Sometimes, when we have our early morning coffee in the garden we have that feeling. Thank you for taking time to write a review.


Quality 'Locked-In' at The Inn at Locke House

4.8 on July 13, 2013

The host and hostess are pleasant and accommodating. The historic building is grand and the breakfasts are memorable ... more like a brunch. You can skip lunch!

Innkeeper Response
And I may add that our guests are delightful! We like to think that our guests "dine" at breakfast.


A lovely retreat

4.6 on June 10, 2013

The Inn at Locke House is a beautiful, well kept Inn full of history and character. Lani and Richard, the Inn keepers are wonderful hosts who go above and beyond to ensure your stay is everything you hoped. My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic two night stay in the water tower suite, and will definitely be recommending this country retreat to friends and family!!

Innkeeper Response
Hopefully on your next stay you'll be able to visit the Lockeford Schoolhouse museum - a wonderfully restored piece of local history. Please do come again. Thank you for posting a review of your experiences.


Two Day Stay at a B & B

4.0 on June 03, 2013

Great breakfasts, backyard garden with flowers and a walk path, clean bathroom, lots of wood and a homey feel to the place!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for letting us know that you felt "at home" while at the inn. We hope you'll "come home" again.


Great B&B

4.8 on May 29, 2013

Recommend this great B&B to anyone coming to this area.

Innkeeper Response
There is a lot to explore in this area so we hope to welcome you again. We're intrigued by the programs/concerts/shows that wineries close to us are offering.


Incredible Stay

4.6 on May 18, 2013

This was the perfect getaway for me and my wife - quiet, beautiful, and close proximity to wine country. Richard and Lani are incredible hosts - they were so accommodating and could not have been kinder. Lani's breakfasts were absolutely delicious and used farm fresh ingredients. I cannot wait to come back some time soon. Highly recommend for any couple looking for a relaxing getaway!

Innkeeper Response
You are so kind to have written a review. We appreciate that our guests experience relaxation and renewal when they stay at the inn. It was a pleasure to have you as guests.


Like coming home

4.8 on May 13, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Locke House. It was a lovely experience. Richard and Lani are both so delightful. I felt like I was coming home the way they doted over me! The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was truly amazing. Lani made me home-made waffles from sour dough starter along with a fresh fruit topped with crème fraîche mixed with almond extract and honey! I would highly recommend it as a lovely alternative to an impersonal hotel. I will definitely stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Ah, it was a pleasure to cook your breakfast! When you book again, remind me of that breakfast so that I can prepare a different menu to suit your experienced palate. It was fun to discuss wine and food pairings with you.


Like coming home

4.8 on May 13, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Locke House. It was a lovely experience. Richard and Lani are both so delightful. I felt like I was coming home the way they doted over me! The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was truly amazing. Lani made me home-made waffles from sour dough starter along with a fresh fruit topped with crème fraîche mixed with almond extract and honey! I would highly recommend it as a lovely alternative to an impersonal hotel. I will definitely stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
And we look forward to your return. We are so glad you enjoyed breakfast; it's fun for us to try new delicious, healthy recipes.


UNIQUE EXPERIENCE!

4.8 on April 30, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Inn at Locke House and really enjoyed our stay. I was looking for something different than the usual hotel options near Lodi and this inn fit the bill! The house has a unique history and artifacts from the doctor who originally built the house are on display. What made our stay especially enjoyable are the current owners, Lani and Richard, who have been lovingly restoring the house for several years. We also enjoyed an excellent breakfast before our departure. We stayed in one of the rooms that had its own bathroom in the main house. It was a nice room, very clean. However, when we looked at the water tower suite the next day, we felt it would have been worth the extra money to have stayed there as it was very unique and private.

Innkeeper Response
It's always fun for us to have guests who appreciate the history and restoration of this house. The Water Tower Suite is unique. You'll appreciate the sunrise and sunset views from the top of the tower.


Awesome Time

5 on February 11, 2013

We had such an amazing time at this bed and breakfast. The breakfast in the morning was so incredibly good!!! We stayed in the water tower suite and it was so cute. They did such a great job restoring this house.

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad that you enjoyed the uniqueness of the Water Tower. When we're working up there, we probably spend as much time looking out the windows as cleaning! I can almost count the blooms in the closest garden bed.


Historic B&B

5 on January 09, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on New Year's Day, 2013. We really enjoyed it. We did some birding at the Consumnes Reserve about a half hour away, had a lovely dinner in Lodi and then returned to the Inn to read and sip wine next to the Christmas Tree in the beautifully restored living room. The house belonged to a Dr. Locke, back in the late 19th century and the current owners rescued the home and restored it. It is now on the historic registry. We got up early after a great night's sleep and Lani prepared a lovely breakfast for us, starting earlier than usual because we wanted to get back to the bird reserve before it go too late in the morning to see anything. All in all a wonderful getaway. We will go back again.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you started the New Year with us. Why not make it a tradition? Thank you for taking time to write your review.


Amazing

5 on January 02, 2013

This place is a hidden gem! Lani and Richard make you feel like you have found a home away from home and ensure that you are comfortable, fed and have everything you need. A stay you won't forget!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that you were so comfortable here. Thank you for the review and come see us again.


Best B&B.

4.8 on November 28, 2012

The only reason Locke House didn't receive a 5 on the room is because the bath (private) was down the hall. They did provide robes. Everything was beautiful. Lani and Richard are the best hosts anywhere! The breakfast was fabulous. I would stay here again but book early for the rooms with the bath in-suite.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting a review. We await your return and booking for an in-suite bathroom.


Enjoyed our stay

4.2 on November 13, 2012

In addition to lovely rooms and nice people, the gardens are delightful.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting a review. The gardens are now in winter mode and cyclamen are spectacular.


Inn at Locke House 2012

4.2 on October 16, 2012

Lani and Richard were "great" hosts. Would not hesitate for a moment to recommend a stay to anyone. We stayed for 4 days late September early October 2012. Very pleased with our stay.


Pleasurable Escape

5 on October 02, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn at Locke House twice. Both times we enjoyed the much-needed therapy that comes with slowing down the fast pace. We awaken to birds singing, a wonderful teasing of the senses early morning from the kitchen, as well as the delectable tastes and presentation of the breakfasts. What a way to meet new people on the visit, and return to the warm hosting of Lani and Richard! We look forward to returning to our inviting, comfortable "step back in time" room.

Innkeeper Response
We are always happy to welcome our return guests. It's fun to prepare new breakfast recipes or fulfill your request for us to repeat a favorite dish. Thank you for the kind review.


A Memorable Stay at a Beautiful Inn

5 on September 11, 2012

Thanks to Lani and Richard for their hospitality and kindness as my wife Leah and I spent our wedding night at the lovely Locke House Water Tower Suite. We also really appreciated their graciousness in letting us use the gardens for some of our wedding pics after the wedding ceremony. The house is beautiful and historic, permeating not only with the qualities that founder John Locke built into it but the warmth and values of the current caretakers. My wife and I had quite the memorable experience the following morning after our wedding night. It was something that we will never forget, both demanding but ultimately rewarding in a way, and something we knew was a good sign for our marriage. We will never forget our stay there and we still feel the energy and joy we felt from our wedding weekend whenever we are in the area and drive by the Inn. Thanks again to Lani and Richard for an enjoyable stay. Robbie P.S. Lani made the best French Toast I have ever had in my life. Totally worth a stay just for that!

Innkeeper Response
One of the joys of the innkeeping profession is having memorable events take place at your inn. Hosting you for this most memorable weekend in your lives was our pleasure. Come celebrate again!


20th Anniversary Get Away

4.0 on September 07, 2012

Impressive hospitality and delicious breakfast. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return.


AWESOME place, AWESOME stay, we'll be back!

5 on August 15, 2012

The Inn at Locke House ROCKS, simply put. The innkeepers, Lani and Richard, are professional, welcoming, and do a GREAT job taking care of their guests. Start to finish, we had a great visit, and plan to return again when it's time for a stay in the Lodi area wine country.

Innkeeper Response
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again when you decide to explore this region again. We're looking forward to the various activities and events sponsored by area wineries. Check for our packages that incorporate those events.


The Best Place to Stay Near Lodi

5 on August 09, 2012

I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast!!! Lani's cooking is so gourmet and you feel like you are at home. It is clean and comfy and very close to all of the attractions. The historical aspects of the home are very interesting as well and the grounds are beautiful!!! We will never stay anywhere in the area but here!!

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the gardens. When you return, please let us know what you think of the fountain "garden" we're developing along the entry way.


Review at The Inn at Locke House

4.4 on July 17, 2012

This is a great B&B. Highly recommended. Lani was a wonderful hostess. We would stay there again. R&D 17vii12

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your recommendation. Please do stay again as you continue your explorations of Northern California.


Like stepping back in time, but cleaner...

5 on July 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Inn at Locke House. Lani, Richard, and Kerri were all so friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were clear and comfortable. The room and public spaces were updated in such a way that is different from many of our stays in older inns. The floors were not creaky, the rooms were not musty, the lighting was not poor. It was historic, but it was completely comfortable at the same time.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking time to place a review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in this historic farmhouse. The Lockes incorporated all the latest conveniences and so we felt secure in doing the same and remaining true to the heritage of the house.


Peace and quiet at the Inn at Locke House

4.6 on July 11, 2012

The Inn at Locke House is a wonderful historic building surrounded by a lovely garden with mature oaks and pine trees. It is very quiet and peaceful. I slept really well there and enjoyed the claw foot bathtub and the tiled bathroom. Kerri is an excellent cook and is very warm and friendly. I will definitely return to the Inn at Locke House.

Innkeeper Response
On behalf of Kerri, thank you for letting us know how comfortable you were at the inn. We were sitting in the garden this morning enjoying early coffee and our guests commented on that peaceful feeling you experienced. Please do return!


Honeymoon

4.8 on July 07, 2012

While on our honeymoon, my husband and I were fortunate enough to meet some wonderful people who recommended we stay at the Locke House Inn. We called and Lani had one room left and we reserved it. We arrived earlier than expected and Richard was warm and welcoming. We loved staying at the Locke House so much our first night, that we asked Lani and Richard if they were able to accommodate us for a second. To my delight, we were able to stay. I cannot begin to tell you how delicious the breakfast meals were, absolutely fabulous. I love to cook and wish that I had some of Lani's recipes. I look forward to returning, hopefully for our anniversary next year. I cannot wait to delve more into the history of the home! Rita & Vince

Innkeeper Response
It was a joy to have you stay as part of your honeymoon in California trip. As long as we've been here we've yet to finish exploring the area. I've been promising to do a small collection of favorite inn recipes for a couple of years now. Promise to let you know when it's ready.


Wonderful second stay

4.2 on July 06, 2012

This was our second stay at The Inn at Locke House, Lani and Richard were charming and the breakfasts were delicious. Our quick getaway for our aniversary was a great success. The history of the house was, as always appealing. The true antiqueness of the furnishings would be the only drawback, the charm of the authenticity somewhat hampered by the inconvenience of sticking dresser drawers and fear that actually using them may cause them to fall apart. Otherwise however it was a quiet, peaceful and welcome respite from the day to day grind!

Innkeeper Response
We love our return guests, especially those who are celebrating a special event in their lives. Thank you for bringing to our attention the need to "unstick" those antique dresser drawers, especially since some have been in use for over 100 years! Test our repairs (or replacements if needed) on your next stay.


Relaxing and unique

4.0 on June 29, 2012

We had a terrific one night stay in the Water Tower Suite. The room was spacious, private, and overlooked a lovely garden. We didn't take advantage of any local restaurants but really enjoyed the generous breakfast and coffee. Will absolutely visit again when in the area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying! The Water Tower was a special experience for us to develop for guest enjoyment. We'd love to have you return with time to try some of the unique restaurants in Lodi and Lockeford.


awesome stay

5 on June 03, 2012

We stayed here the night of our wedding. The innkeeper was so nice tto accommodate our need to drop off our vehicle the night before so neither of us had to worry about getting picked up. Also since our arrival was so late they left our let in a special island place since the check in time had passed. They even labeled it Mr.&Mrs. We ordered a special package that included champagne and truffles awaiting us in our room. We stayed in the tower suite and it was beautiful. We are really looking forward to staying here again. The grounds are beautiful. Breakfast wasdelicious made from scratch with care and love. It was three courses and every bit delicious and all local and fresh. When Lani, the owner, had a moment to sit down at the end of breakfast she even explained their incredible journey restoring this home. It really made us feel like family. Five stars and they earned every bit of it!

Innkeeper Response
One of the best "gifts" this inn gives us is being the setting for beginnings - especially for marriages! Thank you for letting us know that you "...Create Special Memories" while you were here.


Adorable Inn

4.4 on June 01, 2012

Quaint inn tucked away, on beautiful grounds. Breakfast was awesome!

Innkeeper Response
Be sure to return to enjoy the gardens and view in a different season. And our breakfast menu will reflect that season's local bounty.


Fabulous Inn

5 on May 31, 2012

My mom and I went to The Inn at Locke House for Mother's Day weekend and had a wonderful experience there. The Inn is full of fascinating history, is gorgeously preserved, and although it feels as if one has walked into the past, the Inn is complete with modern conveniences. I plan to return with my husband - and hopefully other friends as well - it's a true gem.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you and your mother enjoyed your special time together here at the inn. It's obvious that you have a very special bond. Please do come again and explore more of the history and the house.


Unique place to stay

4.4 on May 21, 2012

Loved all of the history that this old house has. Felt like a part of the family. Will be back!

Innkeeper Response
We learned even more of the history of this place. Check out our 150th for $18.62 anniversary special for details. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back!


A Great Getaway!

5 on May 08, 2012

The Inn at Locke House provided a great getaway weekend for me and my wife! Thanks for a memory maker.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for experiencing this treasure and creating your special memories here. And for us, your stay is treasured!


Lovely Place to Spend the Weekend

4.6 on May 02, 2012

Richard and Loni were wonderful hosts. The food was excellent as was the service. They were warm and welcoming, but not so friendly as to talk your ear off. The history of the house and what they have done with it is incredible. I would love to visit again sometime. I think their house is the best place to stay if you are wine tasting in the area, and the area has some great wineries!

Innkeeper Response
We're fortunate that the inn is located so close to some of the unique wineries in the Lodi Appellation. We're getting news of winery music events and are determined to attend!


Hospitality Supreme

5 on April 11, 2012

Wow – We were overwhelmed with the hospitality that Lani and Richard showed my wife and I for our one night stay in their home. We felt welcome from the first minute to the last. The home and property are a piece of California history, just lovely. But the hospitality shown us was “out of the park”. We felt like we were visiting some old and dear friends. Lani’s breakfast was excellent with fruit, French toast, local sausage and heartfelt conversation. We highly recommend that if you are in the Lodi area, stay at the Locke house. We will.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing to stay! Guests such as you make it easy to offer hostpitality.


Idyllic Inn and location

5 on April 07, 2012

In January I had the opportunity to stay at this charming Inn. The rooms were comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated and peaceful. Lani's breakfasts were scrumptious. Richard, Lani and Kerri were gracious and warm. I loved hearing about the native wildflowers and the area attractions. Thank you for such a memorable stay.

Innkeeper Response
We're always happy to suggest ways to enjoy this lovely part of Northern California. In fact, I have a list of 101 things to do while you're here! Thanks for taking time to post a review.


Very nice and comfortable

5 on March 02, 2012

We happen to be the only ones there that weekend. Very personable with a couple of owners who really care for their guests. Not only was the tour and history of the house a nice touch, the room was immaculate and breakfast was outstanding. Lani even went out of her way to give us a map of the Lodi Vineyards based on our wine preferences. Will absolutely stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you enjoyed visiting the Lodi Appellation wineries. This area offers so much to see and do. Come back and do more!


An Enjoyble Stay

4.0 on March 01, 2012

What a wonderful historic home, great food, great room, wonderful hosts! We're looking forward to our next stay at The Inn At Locke House.

Innkeeper Response
It's fun for us to "see" this historic house through the eyes of our guests. We agree - it is a treasure of history.


The Inn at Locke House is the best

5 on February 27, 2012

The innkeepers are the perfect hosts. They are so friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the inn. I would highly recommend

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. On your next visit, the Old School House museum may finally be open. There are interesting places to explore here.


Lodi Wine and Chocolate Festival accommodations

5 on February 16, 2012

This was a weekend gift from our children and what a wonderful time we had. Lani and Richard are the ultimate hosts and the breakfast is delicious, what great memories. We stayed in the Water Tower Suite - private, romantic and unique. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to future visits. We walked to Vino Piazza to taste wines and to the Coyote Mexican Restaurant for dinner. Loved the location. Highly recommend the Inn at Locke House.

Innkeeper Response
How kind of you to post a review. Lockeford has intreresting places to explore. I'm still finding them!


Unforgettable stay

5 on February 02, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Water Tower Suite, and it was lovely! Lani and Richard are wonderful people....their hospitality is unmatched! Lani is an amazing cook as well...I miss her superb breakfasts. Everything about our stay was excellent, from the comfy robes in our room to the board games in the parlor. The Inn at Locke House has a very interesting history...it was fun reading about the restoration process of the house alongside the history of Dr. Locke. I can't wait to stay here again. Cheers to Lani and Richard! L and L - 1/29/2012

Innkeeper Response
It was special of you to select the inn for your first anniversary celebration. I've got to get back to recording the restoration we continue to do. We hope to see you for your 2nd!


A Happy Holiday Stay

5 on December 29, 2011

This was a repeat visit to the Inn and like every visit it was better than the last. Lani and Richard make you feel at home. The Inn is a wonderful place to relax. And breakfast is always a delightful time to enjoy good food and good conversation. We highly recommend a stay and get the Tower room at least once.

Innkeeper Response
We're delighted you continue to grace the inn with your stays. Thank you for your kind review.


Special Place

4.4 on November 18, 2011

Everyone always says B&B owners are gracious, which Richard and Lani are, but they are also just plain nice. Even more fun, they really love the house, which they have been restoring faithfully for the last twenty years, and it has a fine history. Spacious rooms,inventive breakfasts, a lovely garden and games, and definitely one of the better and quieter places to stay if you're going to be in Lodi or Stockton.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for appreciating the history of this house which mirrors the development of this area. We look forward to your return when you are in the area.


First Visit

4.0 on November 17, 2011

We were there for only one night, arriving late, and leaving early, so this review may not reflect what one might encounter during a longer stay. We learned after our arrival that, while the bathrooms are private and quite nice, some are not in the rooms. For us, this was an inconvenience. We would definitely return to stay in one of the rooms that has an attached bathroom.

Innkeeper Response
We so appreciate that you will return.


Superb Stay at The Inn at Locke House

5 on October 24, 2011

My husband and I were so fortunate to find The Inn at Locke House to help in our celebration of our 1st wedding anniversary. Lani, Richard, and Kerri have done a beautiful thing by painstakingly resurrecting the Locke House for travelers to enjoy. It's a beautiful and restful place, and the afternoon snacks and morning breakfast were gourmet! We loved every moment of our stay, and look forward to visiting again :) - Lise and Justin

Innkeeper Response
We personally love to celebrate special events and are especially happy when guests choose our inn for their celebrations. We await you for your 2nd anniversary.


Inn at Locke House

4.0 on October 19, 2011

When we arrived to check in, they did not have our reservations. Our reservations were never confirmed by the place, although we were charged in full for the reservation. I had a receipt with me, so I was given a refund that night, but I am still waiting for it to post to my bank account. We were able to get reservations elsewhere at the last minute.

Innkeeper Response
We will check to be sure you have received posting of your refund. We hope to have you stay with us at some time in the future.


wine weekend in lodi 10/16-10/16/11

4.0 on October 19, 2011

I wanted to find a nice place to stay very near to the wine activities in Lodi and this B&B fit the bill. It was about a 10min drive from our last stop(Klinkerbrick). Innkeepers are very nice and helpful with suggestions on where to go, where to eat, etc.. Room was very nice. There were always snacks and coffee, tea, etc. available and the Sunday breakfast was outstanding.

Innkeeper Response
The inn is fortunate to be located so close to wine taasting rooms for GREAT wines. It is difficult to choose a favorite. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again.


Best Kept Secret Near Lodi

4.4 on October 07, 2011

This was our second visit in 2+ months. The Inn at Locke House was far more enjoyable and just as handy as the chain hotel in Lodi and a much more reasonable price than accommodations attached to the wine visitors' center. Our two night stay was relaxing and quiet. Richard and Lani went out of their way to make our stay delightful. The breakfasts were fantastic. We highly recommend staying at the inn and hope to return soon hopefully with friends.

Innkeeper Response
Your return booking is the best compliment a lodging can receive. Next time let us know if there is a special breakfast you'd like us to "repeat" for you. And remember that we can host a mystery weekend for you and your friends to enjoy.


The place to stay when visiting Lodi

5 on October 01, 2011

We stayed in the water tower suite and the accommodation more than exceeded our expectations. We stayed one night as part of a longer California trip and this was the best B&B we stayed in. Highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting a review. Come back again when you have time to explore more of this area. We've been here for over 10 years and are still finding places to enjoy.


Don't Miss the Breakfast

4.4 on September 28, 2011

Truly a delightful place to stay - with very hospitable innkeepers, a lovely setting, lots of comforts, and best of all, a fabulous breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
We enjoy making our guests feel "at home, yet far away" when they stay. We're now collecting guests requests for our inn cookbook. Submit your recipe requests on our facebook page.


The Inn at Locke House

5 on September 19, 2011

Our hosts were just lovely people. They went beyond to make our stay such a memorable experience. We wish them continuing success in their restoration process of this most delightful historical home. Sue and Donna

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying and appreciating Dr. Locke's unique house. When you return you'll be able to use the new brick steps installed on the front porch. And in the town, more places are being restored and put to new use.


Lovely B&B in Lodi Wine Country

4.0 on June 26, 2011

I would definitely recommend this historic and lovely B&B. The house and it's history is very interesting and is also very convenient if you're interested in wine tasting in the Lodi area.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking time to post a review. On your next visit schedule time to explore the Delta and the foothill towns. In addition to wine tasting, there are many things to do.


beautiful historic home

4.0 on June 21, 2011

stayed two nights, really enjoyed it. Lovely hosts, went out of their way to ensure we had a good time. Lodi is a must-visit for the wines, they won't stay this much of a great value forever !

Innkeeper Response
You are so right about Lodi Wines! Two new wineries will open shortly. What we like is the distance between wineries (chance to enjoy the countryside and stop at the fruit and veggie stands), the lack of crowds and the time the winemakers or tasting room hosts take with you. Thanks for the review.


Very warm and welcoming

4.0 on June 15, 2011

Charming room, lots of history. Loni and Richard are wonderful hosts!

Innkeeper Response
Can't be great hosts without great guests! Thank you for the review.


A weekend in Lodi

4.0 on June 13, 2011

The Inn was charming and relaxing. Hospitality was divine. Our welcome tray of wine, sweets and savories was delicious and lasted us all weekend! Lani was gracious and helpful and although the hotel was full the weekend we stayed, we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. A perfect anniversary get-a-way...we will be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We find that the Locke House was built just right for affording its residents places to be together and places to be alone both indoors and outdoors.


Excellent B&B and amazing service

5 on May 25, 2011

Visited for one night - had a great time, the owners are super nice and very attentive. The property itself is well-kept, completely in the spirit of last century (but with all modern amenities!). And the breakfast was amazing, as well. Thank you!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed your getaway at the inn.


Wonderful stay

4.0 on April 05, 2011

We loved the whole experience at the Inn, from the friendly welcome, the history, the amazing room and outstanding food. We can't wait to be able to visit in the future.

Innkeeper Response
And we look forward to your return! Thank you for the review.


Great stay.

4.6 on March 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Locke House. The exceptional customer service, the wonderful guests, and the fabulous food all contributed to an awesome visit.

Innkeeper Response
How thoughtful of you to send this review! We hope to welcome you soon again.


Outstanding B&B - Highly Recommended

4.8 on March 24, 2011

The Inn Keepers were great, location was ideal, and the room (The Tower) was amazing. I look forward to returning soon.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the tower. I took pictures of the Sierra snows from the tower window last week. What a contrast with the daffodils and lillies blooming in the garden!


A step back in time

4.8 on March 13, 2011

Wonderful stay! Great food and family. We're going back soon!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to place a review. I'm taking a break from weeding to respond to guests today. You were here to enjoy the winter - come back to enjoy summer!


Lockwood Lovely

4.2 on March 10, 2011

The Inn at Locke House is beautifully appointed with orginial aniques from the 1800's. Cudos to the innkeepers, Lani and Richard for preserving a national historic landmark while updating the house, barn and gardens with eco-friendly materials and conveniences. Lani is a phenomenal gourmet cook and the presentation is divine. The Ecklunds are gracious hosts and present a restful, accommodating environment. High marks for this experience

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your reflections on your experience. Hope to see you again, especially when there's time to tour the heirloom plants in the gardens.


A Break from Reality

4.8 on February 26, 2011

Our little "escape from reality" was most enjoyable. The accommodations were first class, and the home cookin' was fantastic. The friendlinss of the people is the definition of hospitality. Highly recommend this experience to anyone who wishes to stop for a moment and "smell the roses."

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. The gardens are beginning to burst into bloom so there's even more to enjoy.


Our wonderful experience at the Inn

4.2 on January 01, 2011

Richard, Lani, and Kerri were very friendly and helpful. They treated us like family. They gave us a map to visit different wineries around town as well as let us borrow an umbrella for one of the days it rained. Lani's breakfast she made each morning was delicious: baked pear, egg nog french toast, and dutch baby. Kerri made a great egg omelet. People always talk about visiting Napa/Sonoma, but Lodi valley and Lockeford is where its at. Thanks for everything, Karen & Perry

Innkeeper Response
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and exploring the Lodi Wine Appellation. The winemakers report that 2010 grapes will yield superb wines. Come see us again and taste more wine. You'll want to take day trips to Sacramento and Yosemite too on your next extended stay.


Great little find

5 on December 25, 2010

The room was super quiet, clean and comfortable, and the lodge itself is larger than most B&Bs, which allows for more privacy than usual. The breakfasts were delicious, and Richard and Lani could not have been more eager to please. We've already been back once and will definitely return in the future.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing our inn as your "stage coach stop" as you travel from L.A. to Ashland. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we too look forward to your next stay.


A wonderful anniversary location

5 on December 24, 2010

We had a wonderful time here. The hospitality was inviting and if you're there, don't miss the tea. It's extra, but well worth the expenditure.

Innkeeper Response
For us, part of the pleasure of high tea is preparing the sandwiches and sweets. The other part is having our guests enjoy and appreciate that leisurely experience. Thank you.(Our tea menu changes monthly!)


Northern California's best

4.0 on December 01, 2010

This little bed and breakfast is in a very quiet, country hamlet. It is minutes from the wineries of Lodi and the mother lode. The rooms are beautiful and luxurious, the building and property are the best I've ever stayed at. Innkeepers are very friendly and the breakfast and service is unmatched. Better than other accommodations nearby that cost twice as much!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for appreciating the uniqueness of the inn and the village. We hope to welcome you again as you venture this way. (And it's easy to be friendly with such gracious guests as you!)


Beautiful inn on busy street

4.6 on October 24, 2010

This inn is located on busy Elliot road. If you sleep with the window open, don't stay here! It's too noisy.

Innkeeper Response
We just finished a major window replacement project in our guest rooms for energy efficiency and noise abatement. Harvest time is a busy time in this area - walnuts, grapes, fall crops. But just to be sure...On your next visit book a room on the bluff garden side, you'll still enjoy the country air with only the sound of the birds! (And remember to play some of our soothing cds.)


A Great Retreat Close to Home

5 on October 06, 2010

We were visting Lockford for an anniversary party, and decided to spend the night. My wife and I did not have high expectations. However, after staying with Lani and Richard, we have found a great retreat close to home. Well kept and historic house, very quiet and very comfortable. Close by, the Lodi wine country was also a VERY pleasant surprise. Whether you are nearby like us, coming from Sacramento, or are from out of the area, the Inn at Locke House is a wonderful place to stay and a great place from which to explore the Lodi wine region and surrounding area! We will be back and bring friends along!

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Like you, I am constantly surprised by the wealth of offerings to enjoy in this area. Whenever we can we venture out to events centered around harvest season. Come again, soon.


Great Stay

4.0 on September 26, 2010

We only spent one night, but it was a very nice time. The inn is close to town for dinner and close to wineries for wine tasting. The morning breakfast was very good and the innkeepers made us feel at home. A fun place to stay!

Innkeeper Response
How nice that the inn was part of your "sentimental journey". Return to Lockeford to see more of our village's restorations and revitalization.


Fabulous!

4.6 on August 30, 2010

We spent just one night at Locke House on the weekend of our 23rd anniversary. We can't wait to go back. There was so much exploring to do on the grounds and even in the rooms and the house that we didn't have time for. Richard and Lana were wonderful hosts. The history of the house was extra special considering the personal ties they have to the Locke family. We highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. It's close to lots of wineries in the Lodi area as well as the foothills. Not to be missed!!!

Innkeeper Response
We hope you'll return and explore some more. We just pulled out some late 1800's photographs taken in the garden that are begging to be put in an album and enjoyed by visitors.


A Wonderful Country Inn

4.0 on May 17, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed with Lani and Richard at the Inn at Locke House. It is a warm and peaceful home with local history evident in each room. The late afternoon snack and breakfast were both wonderful. The small town of Lockeford offers a number of comfortable eateries. This is a great get-away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Mary and Leo Fassler

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for including the inn as part of your birthday celebration. I love the pictures you took of the garden.


A VERY SPECIAL PLACE!

5 on January 07, 2009

Dear Lani, Richard and Kerri, I wish to thank you all for such a wonderful weekend! I am addressing this as personal letter because the service we received was personal! We felt like we were at home (without having to do the dishes). My sister and I stayed in your beautiful tower room. It was immaculate, cozy and very much a surprise! We arrived to a wonderful bottle of wine and homemade treats. Your wonderful breakfasts served in the heart of your home warmed our tummies as well as our hearts! Richard thank you for the endless cup of coffee! I have to say my favorite were the expresso scones! Could I have the recipe? I took a relaxing bath in the claw tub one morning and wrapped myself in one of the cozy robes you provided. After returning from a day of wine tasting we came back to our bed made, room tidy and thumb print cookies! Lani, the last morning at breakfast before we left you shared some of your personal history about your life and how you came to be the homes newest keepers along with a personal tour of Locke House. I could go on and on...Needless to say, we will return! Thank you again for sharing your home with us! Sincerely, Sherry

Innkeeper Response
You and your sister are delightful! It was a pleasure to get to know you. I'm going to include the expresso scones in my cookbook which I will have ready by winter. One difficulty is recording ingredient measurements! We look forward to your next visit.


Thanks for a Wonderful Weekend

5 on January 06, 2009

My sister and I needed a "sisters" weekend and choose to stay at the Inn at Locke House in Lockeford, CA This B&B is a well kept secret from the rest of the world! Lani and Richard were warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. Lani is an excellent baker and served food which I have never had before, such as baked pears, persimmon bread, homemade scones just to mention a couple of her scrumptious offerings. My sister and I stayed in the Tower Room, which was spectacular, the renovation is impressive, and the decor was just so darn cute and cozy with gorgeous views of the local walnut groves, pastures and surrounding town of Lockeford. Lani provided a tour of the main house, and is very knowledgeable of the history of the home. The detail to the home room by room is outstanding, Lani, Richard and Lani's daughter have done an awesome job of bringing back this beautiful home to what is once was. If you are looking for a quiet and quaint get-away in the country, this is the place to stay!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for appreciating the wonderful Locke house and all our efforts to revive and preserve it! It was fun taking you two on the "tour". You should see the views now that the gardens are filled with roses.


Lovely for a getaway

4.4 on January 04, 2009

This is a historic building, so I didn't expect some of the conveniences they've put in, like a gas stove in the room (we stayed in the Berkshire) and heated tile bathrooms. The bathrooms were really nice, obviously renovated. The parlor was nice but also comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Probably as good or better than any I've had at a nice breakfast restaurant. I think I was the most impressed (besides breakfast) at the blend of historic with modern convenience, coupled with attention to details that aid a guest in their stay.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed the luxury of the heated bathroom floors. Our breakfast menu continues to expand so you'll savor something new on your next visit.


The Inn at Locke House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $245
  • Reviews (91) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2097275715

Visit Website »

View details

Top