Glendeven Inn Mendocino Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
65 Reviews

Write A Review

Quiet, comfortable, relaxing time... delicious cookies...

4.4 on August 29, 2014

Our second visit here was just as nice as the first. The room was comfortable with a nice fire place, a deck, a view, and very quiet. The restaurant recommendations were great, the wine bar and appetizers nice, and the cookies were delicious. The coffee was strong, which we like, but it also had a bitterness to it (the only thing that was not to our liking). Next time we'll get the hot chocolate with breakfast.


“Peaceful Retreat in Mendocino”

4.2 on August 19, 2014

We spent one night at the Glendeven Inn where attention to detail was impeccable. Our room, the East Farmington,had a fireplace and sitting area, faced the garden and you could see a little of the ocean from one window. Clean, beautiful and so peaceful. I was looking forward to seeing the llamas but did not see them. We did feed the chickens with the chicken feed provided. Hot breakfast included and delivered to our room at 9 am. Coffee, fresh-squeezed orange juice, muffin with honey and a small chili quiche, absolutely delicious. They also have a kitchenette in the building for the use of the rooms. Need to reserve very early. Ours was a month ahead and the East Farmington was all they had left. They have a wonderful restaurant but were booked and had to have dinner elsewhere. Room Tip: Upper rooms have a better view of the ocean. See more room tips Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple


Third Visit

5 on August 17, 2014

This was our third visit, first time under the new ownership. My wife loves this place, and we enjoyed the updates that have been made, including the wifi. Staff is always friendly, enjoyed the wine tasting in the afternoon, always meet some new and interesting folks. We don't return to many places, mostly because there are so many new unseen places to go, but I am sure we will visit here again.


A lovely stay at the Glendeven Inn

5 on August 16, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at the Glendeven during the last week in July. It was our second time staying there it is was as nice as I remembered. The room was great- spacious and very nicely appointed. The breakfasts were delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed the farm to table dinner one evening. The location is great with nice walking paths along the headlands. We will be back again one day.


Met our expectations

2.8 on August 16, 2014

We've stayed at Glendeven a dozen or more times over the last 20+ years and have always enjoyed our stay, appreciated the fine service, nicely appointed rooms, cleanliness of the rooms and property, wonderful breakfasts, and friendliness of the owners and staff. We have high expectations and Glendeven meets them on every occasion.


We loved our visit!

5 on July 25, 2014

We came for a visit with relatives, and stayed in the Garden Room. The room was immaculate, bright, and cheerful. The in-room breakfast was delicious, although it would be nice to have a choice of style of eggs, e.g., scrambled or poached. We were able to take our breakfast tray to the lounge in our building and sit and watch the llamas and birds, it was so relaxing. We had the lounge to ourselves--wonderful. We enjoyed feeding the chickens. Next time we will feed the llamas. We liked it so much we are coming back. Took the beautiful roses home that were on the breakfast tray. The lasted quite a while at home. I have recommended this to anyone who is coming even close to Mendocino.


Perfect Birthday and Anniversary stay

5 on July 21, 2014

This was our 2nd stay in the Briar Rose Room at Glendeven and it couldn't have been more perfect. The property, staff, food and close proximity to anything and everything the Mendocino area has to offer is why we do and will keep coming back. Thanks again John for taking time out of your busy schedule to make sure Janet got to feed the Llamas again. Oh, the wine and farm to table dinner .... Excellent! It is literally impossible not to relax and feel special at this place!!!


Perfect private pampered getaway! !!

5 on July 14, 2014

Our stay started with wine and cheese. Perfect! We enjoyed a cozy fire in our room. The linens were plush and comfortable. The room was wonderfully spacious! In the morning I enjoyed a scenic run on one of the trails. Breakfast was delivered to tge room. It was delicious with excellent coffee. We ate while looking out at the ocean from one window and llamas at the other! Ohh...can't forget. ..enjoyed cookies in the evening. We wil be back for sure! We loved how private and relaxing this getaway was! We were pampered!


July 4th Getaway

4.0 on July 09, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glendeven. My only suggestion to upgrade the experience would be to provide more flexibility in the breakfast hours. We are early risers and would have preferred to dine at 8 am.


Why wouldn't you stay here?

4.4 on July 01, 2014

Took myself on a well-deserved vacation this past June. After consulting Trip Advisor, I chose the Glendeven Inn. I stayed in Etta's suite. To say the room and view were beautiful doesn't quite do it justice. Upon my arrival, I walked into my room and found baked goods, a nice note, and a packet of feed for the chickens all waiting for me. The fireplace, which is in front of the very comfortable bed, was ready to be enjoyed. All that was left was to light the match. From the windows in the sitting room and bedroom, were views of the bird feeder, complete with acorn woodpeckers, stellars jays in the waiting, with doves and quails rooting around for seed below. Beyond that were the llamas and chickens, and beyond that was a post card view of the ocean! I had an in-room massage which was both decadent and delightful, then lit my fire and curled up with a good book. Next came one of the best night's sleep I have ever had. Upon waking, I was up walking around the grounds, visiting the chickens and then feeding the llamas. Next, went back to my room to await breakfast. Breakfast was delivered to my door by the chef herself. Had three breakfasts during my stay, each more delicious than the last. Want a snack or beverage during your stay? No problem, help yourself to cookies, coffee or tea that are always on had in the common room. Or go to the fridge for a bottle of water, although the tap water comes from the on-site well, and is just fine. If I had to name a downside, it would be the very small bathroom. I would have liked to have had the seed bags for the chickens replenished every day. It was great fun to go out and feed them. But seriously, I give this place two enthusiastic thumbs up. it was a splurge for me, one that I had saved for all school year (I am a teacher), but it was well worth it. I will be back!


Outstanding B and B

4.4 on June 29, 2014

Quiet surrounds, excellent accommodation (Eastlin) and access to good restaurants in Little River and Mendocino (notably Wild Fish in former). Would be very happy to stay there again. Very well run establishment.


Outstanding in every way!

5 on June 29, 2014

We loved our view, getting to know the llamas, and the wonderfully relaxing getaway at Glendeven Inn.


East Farmington Room

4.8 on June 29, 2014

The room was comfy, spacious, and love that they provide EO bath products! The breakfast was delicious and each mornings egg dish unique and delectable. The croissant was flaky, light, & delicious! It was lovely having a patio outside the room that opened up to a large grass area, as if we had our own back yard! The house with the kitchen was beautiful and it was very thoughtful to always have fresh baked cookies and coffee or tea for the guests taking! The only downfall was hearing the upstairs guests making quite a bit of noise as we attempted to go to sleep.


Perfect Getaway

4.8 on June 28, 2014

This place is truly a perfect escape from the noises and hustle and bustle of everyday life. The staff is friendly and helpful and the scenery is breath taking. Whether you enjoy the dinner or wake up to breakfast the chefs to do an amazing job and the food is fresh and delicious. Would recommend this B&B to anyone who needs to get away from it all.


Nice Retreat

4.8 on June 16, 2014

Great place to go to unwind and enjoy good service, nice accommodations and located near to many things to enjoy outdoors.


the one and only

4.8 on June 11, 2014

The perfection in a town like mendocino who is sometimes pretentious ( i mean mendocino). The owners are perfect, sweet as a good chocolote, attentive as a mother for her child


3rd time at Glendeven, better than ever!!!

4.6 on June 05, 2014

We have been coming here since 1996 and love the location and inn. We love what the current owners have done with the wine bar(n) and the Farm to Table dinner. It is nice not to have to leave the property to dine. Best part about staying here - the fabulous hot breakfast delivered to your room. That one thing, in addition to the fabulous accommodations and service, keeps us coming back.


Truly Lovely

5 on June 03, 2014

Exceptional B&B. Glendeven is a fairly large, well-staffed operation.. almost hotel-like. But retaining the highly-personalized B&B feel, and each room has a unique character. Complimentary wine and snacks in the evening were a wonderful surprise, upon arrival. In the morning, breakfast and coffee/tea are delivered up to your room, which is also quite nice. Already we're planning a return trip.


Warm, welcoming, and above all relaxing.

4.2 on June 01, 2014

John and his team have thought of every detail. We were greeted with a glass of wine and a snack in the Wine Bar[n] when we arrived, plus detailed information on our hiking and dining options. The in-room breakfast is delicious and such a treat (who wants to make polite conversation with strangers first thing in the morning?!) and we partook of the in-room picnic option as well. I also loved the afternoon sherry and baked goods overlooking one of the llama pastures. The next time we visit, we'll also sign up for the Bistro 150 dinner and have no need to leave the Inn (particularly since Medocino restaurants seem to be terribly overpriced for mediocre food). I loved watching the llamas, chickens, and birds. You can sink right into the feather-topped beds and I wish I could live in the bathrobes. My husband even commented on the quality of the towels. "Luxury farmstead" seems an apt description as the rooms are appointed with comfortable, but not flashy pieces, and the overall vibe is one of rustic elegance.


Glendeven was a wonderful place to spend a weekend

4.8 on February 22, 2014

Our stay was met with a warm welcome and staff. The llamas and chickens were delightful and the scenery was wonderful, despite it being in the winter. Our suite overlooked the farm and ocean. Having breakfast in our suite, with the french doors open to the ocean view, with the llamas grazing in the distance was almost surreal. The 24/7 availability of cookies, coffee/tea and hot chocolate allowed for snacking when you need that little chocolate pick-me-up (even late at night). The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! You can even feed the hens that laid the eggs used in your breakfast. The only relative disappointment was the on site dinner option. It was fine if you are dining in, but other restaurants in the area may be a better choice. It also allowed us to meet the other guests, which was very nice if you don't mind being a bit social. The only reason I give dining 4 stars is because I would give the breakfast a 5+ but dinner a 2. The complementary wine and hors d'oeuvres were a very nice evening treat. This is an excellent B & B to go to if you are in the Mendicino area. I definitely want to come back again!


Glendeven is a slice of heaven on earth !!

4.6 on January 03, 2014

Every little detail of our stay and hospitality at Glendeven was beyond our expectations. We stayed in the beautiful Carriage House....a beautifully appointed 750 square foot, second-story room. From the moment we arrived, with the chicken welcoming committee, to the moment we left, enough cannot be said about the details that go into making the guests feel like they are at home. Highly recommended stop for the north coast. Make sure to dine at Wild Fish while there. A little 10-table establishment that will blow your socks off. Order the duck...it's local and wonderful.


Relaxing!

5 on October 07, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 day stay in Etta's Suite. Overlooking the cute llamas and great ocean view. Gourmet breakfast brought to the room was fabulous, especially the coffee! Also romantic wood fireplace ready to go and most cozy bed. Plus wine tasting in the evening at the wine bar. Very close to some scenic hiking trails. Highly recommend the Glendeven for eliminating the stress.


Wonderful

4.8 on August 05, 2013

Was a lovely evening and morning at Gleneven. We arrived late, but had enough time to see walk the grounds and feed the chickens. We hadn't eaten and they weren't serving dinner that tuesday night so we bought some local cheese from the storefront and they were nice enough to provide some grapes and baguette free of charge to accompany our purchase. This is a very well thought out and functional place (both physically and in terms of service and amenities) to spend a relaxing weekend on the coast. Highly recommended.


Best B & B experience in Mendocino

4.8 on August 01, 2013

Glendeven Inn more than met my expectations, which were high, because of the number one ranking on TripAdvisor. I have stayed at several other B&B's in Mendocino, and this one is by far the most comfortable and luxurious with no detail overlooked. Sumptuous breakfast and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres were much appreciated. I hope to return and sample the farm to table dinner next time.


Glendeven - a must visit for a relaxing getaway.

4.4 on August 27, 2012

We wanted a relaxing romantic getaway and Glendeven was exactly the place to go. We stayed in the Briar Rose room and had a lovely view from our balcony. There were hiking trails just across the street and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place and will most defiantly stay here again.


A beautiful place to stay

5 on August 22, 2012

From the time we arrived at the inn where our personalized parking space greeted us, to the warm welcome we received from the staff, complete with a delightful glass of wine, our experience at Glendeven was unforgettable. The inn was beautiful! We stayed in Etta's suite with its incredibly soft and comfortable bed, fireplace, lovely sitting room and a balcony which gave us an immediate view of the llamas and in the near distance, the ocean. Our breakfast served directly to our room was delicious, much of it using ingredients fresh from the garden at Glendeven. The accomodations, the grounds and the service, which showed an impeccable attention to detail, along with the beauty of the surrounding area, truly made this a magical experience and one that we look forward to experiencing again.


Exceptional Experience

5 on June 25, 2012

We were led to this wonderfully unique inn by a trusted advisor and we were ecstatic to become acquainted, both with the inn and the Mendocino area. The staff is wonderfully welcoming and has endless ideas for entertaining oneself in the region. You are greeted with a lovely glass of wine and sophisticated hors d'oeuvres that are perhaps only surpassed by the scrumptious and hearty breakfasts. We only regret we did not visit on days when dinner is served as well. But, not to worry, the staff has many suggestions of restaurants for their guests. The setting is purely pastoral, beautifully maintaining the natural elements of the landscape including various farm animals. We will definitely return and next time, linger longer.


One very pleasurable day at a bed and breakfast.

5 on June 22, 2012

We had a great time here at the Glendeven Inn, the hosts were very nice and easy to talk to. Out time there was short but what a wonderful place to stay, next time we will stay longer and have dinner at the Inn. If dinner is anything like breakfast we are in for a real treat. Loved the stay there and would recomend it to all my frieands and family.


Heavenly!

5 on June 19, 2012

I absolutely adored The Glendeven Inn! The grounds were so beautiful...the chickens and llamas so charming!! The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The breakfasts were so delicious! The best B & B I have been to!!


Glendeven Better Known as Glen-Heaven

5 on June 09, 2012

Glendeven is a slice of Heaven on the Mendocino Coast. The Mendocino coast is one of the most beautiful places and the Glendeven makes the experience even better. We have stayed at many places on the coast and really like most of them, but the Glendeven is my new favorite. John and his staff go out of the way to make sure every detail is taken care of, from the welcoming greeting in the “The Wine Bar[n]”, to the personalized email thanking us for our visit. The food and wine is amazing, the breakfasts were yummy, the appetizers during the wine hour were creative and scrumptious, and if you have the opportunity to attend one of the Farm-to-Table Dinners you will be in for a treat, Chef Kristy Wilson does an amazing job. So if you want a piece of heaven on earth, head to the Mendocino Coast and stay at the Glendeven.


Seclusion and oceanviews in Mendocino

4.4 on April 29, 2012

This was our second stay with Glendeven and we always have that "I wish we could stay one more day..." feeling when we leave. We stayed in their Sea Ridge Cottage which not attached or even close to the Inn so we didn't get any breakfast. So, we can't rate the food. The cottage itself was outstanding if you like seclusion which we were looking for so it was perfect. If you are looking for more of the regular B&B experience, I would go for a different room selection when booking. This one includes an outdoor hot tub in the garden. Very relaxing. Nice deck and great living and bedroom as well. The ocean view is unobstructed but is a distance away. It is up on a high ridge line though and far away from the noise of highway one. We can't wait to make it back up there.


An exquisite getaway!

5 on April 14, 2012

There is no place like Glendeven! It is the most exquisite Bed & Breakfast we've stayed in throughout Northern California. Like many, we are repeat guests for special occasions and always stay in one of the beautiful rooms of Stevenscroft, enjoying our private fireplace, romantic setting and breathtaking view and calm of the ocean. The attention to detail that John and the staff provide greet us at every turn. After enjoying the farm-fresh breakfast that is delivered to our room, we could take a leisurely walk on the grounds, visiting the llamas and chickens, or walk a bit further through some back trails and out to the ocean. In the Mendocino area there are superb hiking trails and sightseeing destinations along with lovely shopping and galleries. During the wine & hors d'oeuvres hour, we enjoyed local wine while visiting with other guests and the Innkeepers and gathered great in-town dining suggestions for whatever type of fare we were looking for. Our first stay at Glendeven Inn was over twenty years ago, and this has been our retreat of choice for our honeymoon and special anniversaries ever since.


Feast for the senses

4.6 on March 04, 2012

From a handwritten note upon arrival to a small bag of chicken seed for feeding the chickens to homemade treats waiting in the farmhouse dining room, attention to detail is never overlooked. Absolutely a favorite spot for rejuvinating and relaxing--Glendeven Inn is a feast for the senses!


Heaven at Glendeven in Mendocino, CA

5 on November 15, 2011

Here is a place where you can truely relax and enjoy the nature around you. Well-appointed, clean and spacious rooms, ocean views, wonderful breakfasts, and the sounds of nature all around you.


So wonderful, we can't wait to come back!

5 on October 29, 2011

Super friendly inn keepers, beautiful farm house, fun llamas and chickens. We felt at home in this lovely spot. Coffee tea and goodies always available. Walking/hiking paths right from the property. Short drive into town. Our room was lovely and the views from the farmhouse living room are amazing! Delicious breakfast served in our room and happy hour each evening. Buttery soft sheets. Everything was outstanding!


Glendeven

4.6 on October 15, 2011

Great location. All you can ask for and more!


STAY HERE!

5 on October 07, 2011

If you are in the area stay at the Glendeven Inn. A very special place that we truly enjoyed. Attend the farmhouse/wine pairing dinner while there and if you are adventurous let them arrange a kayak trip for you. We had the most amazing, once in a lifetime experience. We were in California celebrating our 40th anniversary and ended our trip at the Glendeven and we couldn't have written a better ending to a wonderful trip. Thanks to everyone there and we hope to return someday. Highly Recommend!!!! Kelly NYC


Carriage House stay

4.6 on September 27, 2011

We enjoyed the great service and the lovely and spacious Carriage House suite! Glendeven is one of the few B & B's that has a strict "no pets" policy which is important for some guests. We didn't have dinner there but the hot, scrumptious breakfast was DELIVERED promptly at 9:00 and was excellent! We definitely plan to visit again soon!


The Quintessential Seaside Inn.

5 on August 25, 2011

After searching through VRBO sites and countless B and B listings, we happened upon Glendeven Inn. With lovely garden grounds, amazing 9:00 breakfasts, a genuinely warm and accommodating Inn keeper and staff, and a room/suite with every creature comfort available (expect a television -- THANK GOODNESS) it was just delightful! We always travel and roam coveting the "other" accommodations we couldn't afford, or missed booking.... but honestly Glendeven is the place to envy. It is sophisticated, beautifully sited and so luxurious. Without a doubt this will be a repeat for our future vacation travels. Don't miss the wine tastings at the Wine Bar(n), their Farm to Table Dinner, or their remarkable Glendeven Cookies on the hospitality bar. John and his staff are a great resource for activities and wine explorations in the area. We just loved our stay


Far above our expectations

4.0 on August 04, 2011

Total country elegance! We were blessed with a deluxe gourmet picnic basket filled with culinary excellence for our 41st Anniversary. John and staff tended to the smallest details.


Another Memorable Bday stay

5 on May 24, 2011

Everything about Glendeven is warm, wonderful, and feels like our second home. So many touches that make it a unique and special and you feel totally spoiled!


We Love Glendeven

5 on May 05, 2011

We stayed at Glendeven Inn in Mendocino yesterday in the Briar Rose room. What an amazing stay! The grounds, the vistas and the hospitality were equally great. We hadn't been in more than a decade - it was great then and even better now - thanks John.


Charming Beach Cottage

4.4 on April 11, 2011

We stayed at the Beach Trail Cottage at Glendeven in mid April. It had gorgeous beach & ocen views and was very charming and comfortable. Within walking distance to the inn we enjoyed delicious breakfast and elegant wine tastings. The cottage is very roomy and the front porch is a great place to sit and enjoy the amazing view. The living room is very comfortable with a great fireplace and the upstairs bedroom is large and the bed very comfy. The surronding area of Mendocino is beautiful with many great hiking trails and the cottage felt like home, we hated to leave and would definately come back!


Best. Honeymoon. Ever.

5 on March 12, 2011

My favorite part of my stay at Glendeven was the Host Table dinner, which was one of the delicious meals I've had in my life. My spouse and I were on our honeymoon, and the staff and management were attentive, but not overly so, giving us the opportunity to relax, but still get guidance on fun things to do in the area. I loved the Glendeven's adorable llamas, chicken, and duck; the proximity to the beach; the birds (drawn to strategically placed bird feeders); the hand-delivered breakfasts; and the overall mix of rural relaxation/ luxurious pampering that we experienced throughout our stay.


Amazing place to stay - exceeded expectations!

5 on February 22, 2011

We stayed in the Briar Rose - highly recommend it. We'd open the french door and watch the Llamas while we at an amazing breakfast. Sat by the fire at night. Walked the grounds every day to visit the chickens, llamas, garden and ducks. The Wine Bar(n) is a great asset. We could relax, sip wine and meet other guests. I can't say enough about the attention to detail. They really do it right.


Perfect B&B

5 on February 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary and it could not have been more memorable. The grounds are perfectly manicured creating an idyllic, romantic atmosphere. Our room had a fireplace, a 4 poster bed and a walk out balcony with a view of the ocean, pastures and Llamas. John (the owner) and his staff went out of their way to be helpful, gracious and accommodating. Daily breakfasts were delicious (home made scones, fresh fruit and quiche) but the 5 course dinner with wine pairing was the best I've had anywhere, and living in San Francisco, I'm no stranger to fine dining! Their knowledge and selection of local wines is unparalleled and in the evenings they invite guests to their Wine Bar(n) for tastings before you head out to dinner or play. If you're looking to get away for a relaxing, refreshing, restorative B&B stay then Gleneven is the place for you.


Peace & Beauty

5 on January 27, 2011

My experience at the Glendeven Inn was one of the most wonderful lodging experiences in my life as it had all the components I was looking for: peace, tranquility, beauty, luxury, comfort and pampering. The staff at Glendeven was amazingly warm and pleasant. The food, wine, room, common area, property grounds, and nearby state parks rejuvenated my body and mind. So thankful to have been there 3 spectacular days.


One of my favorite inn

4.8 on January 24, 2011

We love this inn. We enjoyed waking up to see the llamas, dogs, and ducks in their invironment. The hot breakfast delivered to our room each morning at 9 was perfect. I would start a fire in the fireplace and eat breakfast in front of it. It has easy access to long walks in the woods or along the bluff. Our first stay was in the Brian Rose, which had a closet. Our second stay was in the Bay View and only has an armoir for hanging clothes which is not enough room for me and my husband. But, this would never stop me from staying there again. John and his staff are great. We also enjoyed the food and wine pairing dinner on Saturday night. We can't wait for our next visit to this beautiful inn.


Greatest bed and breakfast anywhere

5 on December 30, 2010

The farmhouse and surrounding area is beautiful. The owners and staff go out of there way to assist with your needs. The view is also spectacular. It met my very high expectations.


Our 40th anniversary stay at Glendeven

5 on December 08, 2010

My husband and I have been staying at Glendeven for over 30 years. We decided to celebrate our 40th anniversary there and at several wonderful restaurants in the area. Glendeven is enchanting, serene and unique. John, the latest owner, has done a marvelous job meeting high expectations of repeat visitors and also taking the inn to a new level of hospitality and entertainment. The inn is now a luxurious farmstead. You can taste wines in the winebar(n) with a very knowledgeable staff to help you survey top Mendocino wines and others. John is continuing his host dinners for up to 12, 3 evenings a week. We were invited to the rehearsal dinner of the winter season offering to help choose the wine pairings for each course. The food and wine were unique and outstanding! The company interesting and fun! The chef is using local produce including veggies from the new garden. The property has been cleared where appropriate and visitors have access to all 5 plus acres. Llamas graze in 2 connected pastures, chickens cluck contentedly in 2 coops at either end of the farm and a new flock of ducks wanders the farm during the day and is tucked at night into a compound complete with pond. Visitors are given small bags of grain to feed the fowls and invited to join the llama feedings. John has thinned the wild, beautiful forest on one side of the property and created a trail down the side of the canyon to join state park walks. The inn staff also maintains headland trails across the road and a trail down to the local beach. You can experience many facets of Mendocino coastal beauty without leaving the inn. Glendeven is a magical place every time we visit.


Wonderful B&B, attention to Details at every aspect of the stay!

4.6 on October 20, 2010

Glendeven Inn B&B is a gem of a place to stay. The property is amazing full of nature, trails, chickens, organic garden, llamas, ducks, etc... Food is available all the time and its super tasty. The "Wine Bar[n]" is the coolest thing every for a B&B. Not only do you get complimentary appetizers and a tasting in the evening, you can also select a custom wine flight to taste from the owner's hand picked selection of local wines. The rooms are well appointed, romantic and cozy, with real wood burning fire places. Ours had a balcony which overlooked the garden and had an ocean view. Breakfast, a mighty creative and tasty one, was delivery to the door at 9AM, and was most delightful to eat on the balcony in the plush robes provided! A definite must place to stay, and we'll be back for sure.


Amazing stay at Glendeven

5 on October 11, 2010

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Glendeven! We arrived to freshly baked brownies, and a small sack of seeds to feed the chickens the next day. Our delicious breakfast arrived promptly at 9AM. John had some wonderful recommendations -- a backpack picnic in the Redwoods, complimentary wine & snacks, followed up with a breathtaking sunset by the ocean all made this a truly memorable stay! Customer service was outstanding & the animals were adorable -- chickens, ducks, llamas, and cat! It made missing our pets in NYC more endurable! :)


Attention To Detail

5 on October 02, 2010

Spacious, very clean, well thought out rooms, good recommendations on wineries and restaurants, great view of the ocean from our room and paths to walk along, fun with the animals. We liked being very close to Mendocino, but not in it. Lots of attention to detail.


Simply the BEST

5 on September 16, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful fabulous perfect stay at Glendeven. The weather was a bit on the cold side so the fireplaces (yes 2 in our room ) were very enjoyable. The big warm comfy feather bed and down pillows were a lovely end to the day. Dinner was one of the best parts of the day with John as our host, the conversation was lively and informative and the four course dinner a treat for all the senses. We will definitely go back but until then the memory will last a long long time,


Room with A View

5 on September 05, 2010

Before I began my automobile journey to Orcas Island in the San Juan Islands in Washington, I browsed the web for places to stay along the Pacific coast for the return trip home to Solana Beach, California. When I came across a photo of the Glendeven Inn, I knew I had found the perfect spot. And, upon arriving there, I was not disappointed. I stayed in the farmhouse in The Garret on the third floor. The view from the three dormer windows looking across the garden, down through the llama pasture to the Pacific Ocean was breathtaking. The room was lovely. A healthy, delicious breakfast was delivered to my room – with eggs from the hens on site and produce from their garden. Wine tasting featuring wines from local vineyards and exceptional hors d'oeuvres in the early evening. A variety of beverages and unique snacks available at all times in the downstairs parlor. I especially appreciated the French presses available for coffee-making. Dinner on the Mendocino headlands, within walking distance from the Inn, was a spectacular experience. The Innkeepers have thought of everything for their guests whether it be rest, relaxation and privacy or activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, garden tours, etc. Before leaving, I took a tour of the grounds visiting with the chickens, ducks and llamas and taking one last look at the view – one of the most beautiful on my travels! Check out their website at www.glendeven.com.


Northern California getaway

4.4 on August 25, 2010

We were visiting Northern California from the UK for the first time with our teenage sons, and are delighted to have chosen the Glendeven Inn. We stayed in the converted barn, which was perfect for our family, both in terms of the size and quality. John, Mike and team made us very welcome. Great tips from John meant lovely walks, and interesting drives. We only had breakfast, which was excellent, but means 'dining' is scored down only because it was not applicable. We would love to return in the future.


We loved it!

5 on August 23, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Glendeven Inn. From the moment we arrived to our final goodbye, we were pampered with delicious food and lovely amenities. The location is terrific - great walks nearby the group dinner at The Farmhouse was fabulous.


Best choice for Mendocino area

5 on August 13, 2010

Glendeven is a first rate bed and breakfast! We have stayed at bed and breakfast inns and homes in resort areas east and west and this is the best. The value for the price is amazing. Everything from start to finish was perfect. John and the staff were very helpful, recommendations were given freely and fitted us perfectly. We enjoyed the walks available right outside of the inn, the gardens and also would recommend the sea kayak trip. Having a private guide was very educational. Beyond the excellent service, accomodations and food, the location was ideal. Right across from the headland and next to Van Damme park and beach is amazing. Being a short way from the Mendocino downtown was a plus if you want to enjoy what coast and forests have to offer and have some peace and relaxation.


Great B&B.

4.4 on July 25, 2010

Beautiful and relaxing place with view to garden, farm animals and nature. Yummy breakfast and treats. Friendly staff. I would consider staying there again (although a bit expensive-the whole town was spendy for that matter-, but beautiful nevertheless). Great location for hikers.


Lucky llamas

4.4 on July 25, 2010

The hospitality and food were wonderful. The room had an incredible view and had a classic feel to it. The advice given concerning the local hikes was very good. My wife and I have been to Mendocino numerous times, and we both feel that our time at Glendeven made it the best visit yet.


gr8 experience

4.2 on July 20, 2010

had a gr8 one day stop at this B&B- frank. cori says - "easy nature walk to the pacific, lively music festival in town, wine tasting & snacks wonderful; stellar bluejays, acorn woodpeckers, brown quail, lamas and ducks on site. gardens kept superb and the sounds of nature are everywhere. a rustic feel with elegant living and cordial, professional staff". she talks more but i feel t same.


Classy B & B in a country setting by the beach

4.8 on July 10, 2010

What a great 3 nights! Dinner with a wine flight. Hiking the Headlands Trail to the Mendocino cliffs! Visiting with guests in the Wine Bar[n]! 45 local wines by the glass or for purachase. Hospitality, incredible. did we mention the llamas, chickens, and ducks:)


Love this Inn!

5 on February 28, 2009

After much research, I selected this Inn for my 50th birthday celebration. Rarely does the reality of an Inn surpass my expectations like this one did. My husband and I stayed in Etta's Suite which is much larger than it looks on the web site. The view is spectacular. Breakfast was a real treat - a different egg dish, fruit confection, fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh baked bread each morning that seems to us to improve each day. There is unsurpassed attention to detail from the fabulously luxurious robes to the hand soap that my husband even commented on - my husband commented on! We especially enjoyed the wood burning fire place. Cookies and coffee/tea were available anytime which was a nice touch. Our host was gracious and friendly but not at all intrusive. The evening wine hour was friendly and low key which really suited us. I usually cannot drag my husband to these but he actually wanted to go. We stayed 4 glorious days. This was the first time I was not ready to go home! I know from all my research how many wonderful choices there are in the area and I found it hard to decide myself. You will not be sorry if you give this one a try :)


amazing amazing amazing

5 on January 04, 2009

The Glendeven Inn is just amazing. Not a detail was missed. Mendocino is a magical place and our stay at the Glendeven made it even more magical. John and Mike are truly experts. John gave us great tips for beatiful coastal hikes and unique local restaurants that we would have otherwise missed. Their Inn is clean, comfortable, full of old world charm and great up to date style. The wine tasting, food tasting (both locally sourced), breakfast (with fresh eggs from the beautiful chickens behind the inn), and snacks before a hike were all done to perfection. Thanks to John and Mike! I hope many more enjoy their stay as much as we did!


our stay

4.6 on October 04, 2007

We loved the inn! We stayed in etta's suite and the views were awesome. it's outsid eof town by a few miles, but that is what we were lookign for. There is no seated brekafast area so they bring the goumet breakfast to you're room. it was great and we are planning our next trip


Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $435
  • Reviews (65) 4.7
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7079370083
  • Fax 1-7079376108
  • Toll free 1-8008224536

Visit Website »

View details

Top