La Jolla Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Anniversary in La Jolla

4.2 on August 29, 2014

We celebrated our 34th anniversary at La Jolla Inn. The location was perfect; we could walk to everything- shopping, dining and the cove. For a 24 hour vacation, it was perfect.


Amazing location; great deal in La Jolla!

4.0 on January 07, 2014

My mom and I stayed here in a room with a balcony; the beds were comfy and the view from the sundeck was great for breakfast! The only thing was the rooms were a bit small; asked for a cot the second night and it hardly fit. We also thought it was weird how they charge a lot of money for anything you might need (ie. a toothbrush, bottle of water). The parking was not as serious of an issue as everyone made it out to be; we actually only used their parking for one night because there were so many open spaces on the street next to hotel leading down to the ocean. Thanks for a great stay! Definitely book on BedandBreakfast for the best deal!!!


Location is perfect and service was great

3.2 on September 16, 2013

I walked out my room door and I was immediately outside and 100 yds from Ocean. I chose the cheaper room with outside entries, but I preferred it. They served a continental breakfast in my room or on the sundeck. I chose the sundeck and the breakfast would be brought to me within 10 minutes. The sundeck was clean and has great ocean view. The hotel is in the heart of La Jolla and so all restaurants and shops are within walking distance. For the downside, some people look for valet services, but don't stay here if that is what you are looking for because you have to unload your own luggage and park your own car a block away. Hotels with valet services are right next door with $100 or more added cost.This is not a B&B, but the front desk staff was friendly and helpful and was open 6am - midnight. This hotel is for LOCATION and good price and clean bed to sleep in.


La Jolla Inn Review

4.8 on December 22, 2011

We stayed one night in beautiful La Jolla. This property has ocean view rooms, is clean, and at a great location. I recommend it.


The Gem of La Jolla

4.2 on September 11, 2011

The La Jolla Inn is an exceptional value; clean, bright, and friendly; we were able to view and hear the ocean; and it is in the heart of La Jolla with many places to choose from to eat, walk, and play.


Location

2.8 on June 06, 2011

All the reviews are accurate. This is a small hotel next to the majestic La Valencia with OK service and amenities. The bad: 1) towels are incredibly rough and cheap. This is an easy fix- no idea why they haven't upgraded the towels; 2) there is a slight musty smell. 3) the complimentary breakfast is Costco quality pastries and OJ from concentrate. 4) there is no B&B feel here. 5) in hindsight I would book directly with properties listed here because when I booked my room, La Jolla Inn called to say they did not have availability, and then again a couple hours later to say they had a cancellation. But I knew all of this going in from other reviews, so if all you care about is a good location by the beach with $5 parking, this place fits the bill. Skip the plastic wrapped muffins and head to the Cottage on Fay and Kline for breakfast. They serve dinner in the summer too, except Sundays. Sign-up for their newsletter a few days before your trip and get a 20% off coupon.


Just okay for the price

3.2 on March 09, 2011

For $200 a room (even in the off season) I expected much better necessities. The towels were of Motel 6 quality, and the breakfast was passable. I didn't expect to have to go to Starbbucks for coffee at a B&B. They expected you to drink the trash coffee they offer with the cheap machine in the room complete with the coffee grinds in the packet, excuse me! This is not really a B&B but a hotel that offers breakfast. But the location for the price was fine. Would I go again, not really. I would choose a hotel/motel and pay for my breakfast. The free parking was a nice benefit. I would give this a tad under 3 stars for the whole experience of 2 nights.


La Jolla Inn

3.4 on February 01, 2011

Great location. Great oceans views and access. Great value for the location. The only downside is that the parking is located two blocks away. The only thing that makes this workable is the loading zone in front of the Inn. I would definitely stay here again!


Relaxing and Rromantic

5 on January 29, 2011

What a delightfiul find! Everything was perfect- the room was lovely, the view spectacular. This Hotel is like somthing out of Europa; we kayaked the ocean and walked the town...a perfect holiday.


Great experience

4.0 on October 24, 2010

Great location; clean and cozy; will stay again and recommend to my friends.


Great location but left alot to be desired

1.6 on August 17, 2010

The toilet was broken, the rugs were disgustingly dirty, the wireless internet did not work, and the last straw was the tub had been refinished but was so uneven I almost fell while taking a shower. It was very noisy because the inn is across the street from the night life. All this for over $200 a night. I complained and they did give me the option to move to a different room with a better shower and a working toilet but the internet still didn't work and the rug was also dirty. The breakfast was adequate cereal, sweet roll, coffee, etc. On the upside, you are in the heart of La Jolla and a block from the ocean. The owner needs to put some money back into the establishment.


Beautiful time in La Jolla

3.6 on April 08, 2010

I had expected more of a B&B, not a hotel. But that could have been my mistake. Our room was very nice, end room with a kitchenette. But the location couldn't have been more beautiful. We walked for 2 days. Everything was within walking distance. The view was breathtaking from our balcony. All in all, it was a fun experience.


New Year's Eve

5 on January 25, 2010

My wife and I had a great time at this hotel for New Year's Eve. The town of La Jolla was just as described and this hotel fit the billing. We plan on coming back one day.


Disappointment

1.8 on October 22, 2009

Location, location, location ONLY. The rooms were outdated and marginal at best. Breakfast was ridiculous! A muffin and bad coffee. I was so hoping for better in La Jolla


Wonderful Stay

5 on September 23, 2009

I had a pleasant stay at this very nice hotel. It exceeded my expectations in many ways. It was clean, comfortable and we loved the location!


Very disappointed

1.4 on September 16, 2009

The room was miniature. The view of the ocean was peek-a-boo. The breakfast was like an inexpensive chain (dry cereal, coffee, muffin). They would not except a reservation over the phone with the cards and therefore we had to pay in full up front. When we saw the place we tried to cancel the rest of our stay but they said since it was paid for up front they wouldn't do that. Stuck we were and stuck we stayed. Janet


Pleasant stay!

5 on August 24, 2009

Thorough;y enjoyed our stay. Clean room. Excellent staff. Plenty to do in La Jolla. Restaurants were excellent. Plenty of shopping for the wife. We plan on coming back.


Fireworks in La Jolla!

5 on July 13, 2009

The inn had a surprising and wonderful BBQ on their sundeck. It was FREE and very tasty! The hosts couldn't have been nicer. the firework show was also the best I've seen!


We enjoyed our stay very much!

5 on July 01, 2009

We came to this hotel for a quick getaway and enjoyed our stay very much. the price was reasonable. The room was quaint. The service was good. We recommend.


Would recommend to a friend!

5 on March 19, 2009

We had a lovely stay and enjoyable, relaxing vacation. We would recommend this hotel to a friend and family member. Awesome location!


Stay away from the street level rooms

3.8 on March 16, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights. The first night I was given a room that was street level. The first room given to me at check in had a leek in the vent above the bathtub. I went back and told him about the leak and they gave me the room next to that one. That room had a terrible noise that would go on and off in 5 minute intervals the entire night. The refrigerator made noise to but I unpluged it and it was fine. The next morning I informed the front desk that I couldn't sleep due to the noise and she quickly gave me a new room on the upper level. This room was perfect. Quite, clean, and had a nice balcony and small kitchen. The area and location is excellent. Spend the upgrade and get the upper level rooms, they are worth it.


a gem!!

5 on February 12, 2009

This was our first time at this hotel, and we will come again! they have the best location, service, and amenities. We give a big thumbs up for the great price!!


Great View, Value and Vibes!

4.2 on February 09, 2009

My wife and I were looking for an affordable place to stay in La Jolla. We were in a hurry and reserved over the internet without putting a lot of time and thought into where we would stay. When we got to the La Jolla Inn we were very pleasantly surprised as to how centrally located it was in relation to the ocean, shops and restautants--location, location location!!! We had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay at the La Jolla Inn upon our next visit!!!


Best bang for the buck!

4.8 on December 15, 2008

I decided to stay at the La Jolla Inn for it had the best value. The room rate was inexpensive, the location is outstanding, and the staff is friendly. I highly recommend!


Value La Jolla Inn

5 on December 03, 2008

What a value the La Jolla Inn was! Breakfast was very pleasant. The location of this hotel as outstanding. Friendly people, too! I highly recommend!


Pleasant stay at La Jolla Inn!

5 on November 17, 2008

La Jolla Inn exceeded my expectations! The location was much better than I thought! The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. I will come back!


Outstanding

5 on June 04, 2008

Loved the La Jolla Inn. I came here to relax and enjoy the scenic La Jolla scenery. I loved the location and service. I look forward to coming back.


GOOD LOCATION

2.8 on June 02, 2008

THE LOCATION AND OCEAN VIEW FROM OUR BALCONY WAS GREAT BUT THAT WAS ABOUT ALL THE PLACE COULD USE SOME UPGRADING AND MODERNIZATION THE MATTRESS WAS LOUSY


La Jolla Inn!

5 on May 16, 2008

Our family absolutely loved the La Jolla Inn! The location and service for this hotel is impeccable! It's an outstanding value especially for a family of four. We saw the seals at Seal Beach which is just a short walk from the hotel. There are plenty of activities and things to do such as shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. The staffs at this hotel made us feel as if we were part of their family! We highly recommend this hotel for it's the best bang for the buck, location and service. You won't be disappointed if you were to stay here.


A Jewel Of A Hotel!

5 on December 31, 2007

My boyfriend and I wanted a place to stay in La Jolla out of the ordinary and came accross this hotel on the internet. We absolutely loved this hotel! Our room was exceptionally clean and the staff was so friendly. The complimentary continental breakfast was a nice touch. We highly recommend this hotel and we plan on being back!


Romantic Getaway!

5 on July 04, 2007

My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend getaway from L.A. down to San Diego. We stumbled into this hotel when visiting some friends in La Jolla and decided to give it a try. This hotel was a real find! We loved the location, service and the staff. Everyone at this hotel is real pleasant and we enjoyed their breakfast on the sundeck. We'll definitely be back!


Loved This Hotel!

5 on June 19, 2007

We stayed at this hotel and loved it! The staff couldn't be friendlier. The sundeck is to die for! Loved the location too. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.


La Jolla Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $300
  • Reviews (32) 4.2
  • Rooms 23

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8584540133
  • Fax 1-8584542056
Top