Haydon Street Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
75 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely Two Night Stay

4.8 on June 25, 2012

John and Karen are wonderful innkeepers. John's breakfasts are not the cup of coffee and bowl of granola fare. Instead they are indicative of John's experience as a chef. The pizza and wine are not to be missed on Friday afternoon. Karen knows Healdsburg like a native and her suggestions are extremely helpful. We will return.


A great place to stay in Healdsburg

4.2 on June 25, 2012

John and Keren were great hosts, and the food was outstanding. We spent a long weekend there to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The Turret room was very nice! They also made some excellent suggestions for wineries and for restaurants in the area that we did not have on our original list - much appreciated! We would certainly stay there again!


Quiet and quaint

3.8 on November 05, 2011

My husband and I so enjoyed our stay at this lovely Inn. The hosts were gracious, the breakfast was amazing, and we enjoyed getting to know other guests. Also, the location was perfect as we were able to walk to the plaza for dinner each night. Beautiful and relaxing front porch and courtyard as well. The only disappointing thing was the size of our room... very tight!


A perfect Fall weekend in California wine country

4.4 on November 03, 2011

My husband and I spent a terrific weekend with our grown son and girlfriend at this lovely inn. The rooms were attractive and the beds were extremely comfortable. Our inn keepers were knowledgeable, friendly and the breakfast was top notch.We enjoyed dinner at the Barndiva and a self guided bike tour outfitted by Wine Country Bikes in Healdsburg. We visited several wineries along Dry Creek with a yummy lunch along the way at the surprisingly gourmet dry Creek General Store.


A Gracious Experience

4.8 on October 15, 2011

Highly recommend. Keren & John are gracious hosts and with the Inn's period decor, we considered ourselves guests in their home. John's breakfasts are delicious and the evening wine hour is a friendly gathering -looked forward to John's homemade pizza but afternoon showers prevented firing up the o/s oven. The location was great for our initial visit (Michiganders) as we took day trips to the coast and upper Napa Valley as well as "local" wine tastings.


Can't we bring John home for our breakfasts???

4.2 on September 29, 2011

It was our first time in Healdsburg... Great company - we met the nicest people during our stay here - and the town is walking distance away. We had dinner both nights in town and enjoyed great recommendations and wonderful food. Healdsburg is a truly pleasant place to visit and we can't wait to come back. Too bad we ate out our second night because John decided to have an impromtu and most unexpected outdoor pizza oven night - he is truly an artist and a generous host. Our room was gorgeous and comfortable, coffee spectacular, hospitality was endless and the breakfasts were to die for. We'll be back.


Fantastic B&B in Healdsburg. Can't wait to return!

4.8 on August 02, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Sunset Room at The Haydon St Inn for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in July 2011. We loved the Inn from the moment we arrived (conveniently just in time for Wine Hour) and enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was well appointed and was really charming. Our hosts John & Keren made us feel very welcome and the service was outstanding. A special mention must be given for the unbelievable 3 course breakfasts. A real treat and most unexpected. Location was great with just a 5 min walk into the centre of town. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back!


Great place to stay!

4.6 on May 18, 2011

The Haydon Street in is the perfect location to stay in Healdsberg. It is walking distance to downtown and within driving distance to many other wineries. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is wonderful! The Innkeepers were also very helpful providing recommendations on places to visit and places to eat. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.


A treasure and absolute treasure!!

5 on April 30, 2011

My husband and I were recommended the Healdsburg wine region and we decided to stay at a B&B for the first time. The location was excellent- walked an easy 10 minutes to dinner in the centre of town. The rooms were so gorgeous- we had the turret room- queen deluxe and it was so unique and special! The service was amazing. Karen gave us maps and information on great restaurants, wineries and shops. We also followed their self drive winery tour of the area. They hosted "wine night" and provided wine and home made dips, cookies, nibbles. Then, John in the morning made an exquisite 3 course breakfast- delicious! What a wonderful experience. We loved the feel if a B&B. We would certainly return to the Healdsburg region and Haydon Street Inn. Thank you, Nancy and Lloyd- Australia.


Lovely B&B!

5 on April 21, 2011

The Hayden Street Inn is lovely. The entire house is well appointed and extremely clean. I stayed in the Garden Room, which had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The inn is located on a quiet neighborhood street (also ideal for a good night's sleep) yet only a few blocks from the downtown square. Excellent hospitality by both Keren, who served me a glass of wine upon my arrival, and John, a former chef who made a fantastic breakfast of scrambled eggs, warmed grapefruit and homemade multi-grain muffins. The hosts have a Midwestern warmth. I would highly recommend the Hayden Street Inn.


Warm, congenial, convenient

4.6 on April 21, 2011

We spent 3 nights with john & Keren, and they could not do enough for us. The location was close enough to the centre of Healdsburg to be walked easily, yet extremely quiet . We would certainly recommend the haydon Street Inn to anybody visiting Sonoma. Peter & Sarah


Great spot for romantic trip

4.6 on March 05, 2011

Haydon Street Inn is a perfect spot for a romantic getaway to Healdsburg. My girlfriend and I enjoyed EVERY aspect of being there - the rooms, the innkeepers, the food, the location, all fantastic. Highly recommended for a special weekend with a loved one.


Vacaton of a lifetime

5 on February 11, 2011

We spent 6 days at the Haydon Street In and couldn’t have been more pleased with the experience. We could rave about the accommodations and food, but that aspect can be seen on any of a number of reviews of the Haydon St Inn that can be found on various consumer rating sites. What really made the experience stand out was the role that Keren played in enhancing our entire holiday experience. It seemed she made it her mission to see that we enjoyed all of our daytime excursions to local attractions. One particularly special event was the picnic party she treated us to at the city square weekly festival. Another great aspect of the experience was the community breakfast in the beautiful dining room and the evening wine gathering of all the guests. These daily social events afforded us the opportunity to share ideas of the best restaurants and attractions to see in the area. At the end of our visit Keren checked us in for our return flight and made arrangements for our purchases to be shipped to us. What luxury! We would recommend this without reservation!!!


A welcoming place to stay

5 on September 29, 2010

We had a very comfortable stay with multiple choices to be made--"Shall I enjoy the front porch swing, put my feet by the fire pit, soak in the hot tub or chat with the other guests over the wonderful snacks that go with each evenings wine tasting?" And the breakfasts were excellent! Truely a 'home'-base to enjoy the wine country from!


Outstanding Visit

4.8 on September 28, 2010

We resently visited Haydon Street Unn and were greeted with "Open Arms". The room was fantastic, very home like and the breakfasts were 5 Star, Outstanding! The wine tasting in the evening was enjoyable also. I would recommend staying at this B&B, John and Karen were greet hosts, they made you feel at home.


Wine country weekend

4.6 on September 22, 2010

My first stay at a B&B and I loved it. Very friendly staff and very helpful with making dinner reservations, assisting in places of interest, shipping of wine. Outstanding breakfast, and evening snacks. Would recommend this Inn and return again. Connie


Stay at the Haydon St Inn

4.4 on September 07, 2010

Karen and John were very delightful and helped us with dinner reservations and our activities throughout our stay. They were very accommodating. It was nice to visit with everyone during the wine and cheese hour. The breakfast was awesome. The Inn is close to everything.


A wonderful stay....

4.6 on September 01, 2010

• My wife and I recently returned from a 4 stay night at the Haydon Inn with remembrances of a wonderful time. Keren and John have developed a gracious residence where someone can relax and enjoy a vacation getaway. The morning breakfasts were deliciously prepared and no meal was duplicated during our stay. In addition to a fine breakfast, wine and cheese were served on the patio during the early evening. Additionally, their knowledge of the area assisted any planning we made with regard to dining out or touring the wineries. The Haydon Inn is well maintained with comfortable accommodations and within walking distance of down town Healdsburg. It was a wonderful experience and my wife and I look forward to a return trip next year.


Delightful trip back in time

5 on August 17, 2010

August 14,2010 John and Keren are wonderful hosts...lovely wine hour outside...and delicious gourmet breakfast. Decor and furnishings take you back to early 1900's ..just blocks from downtown square. We would come back for sure!!


Six Nights in Healdsburg

4.0 on July 14, 2010

Nice room, spacious and well-appointed common areas, and beautiful landscaping. Breakfasts were creative and delicious. John and Keren were both very helpful with advice about our daily excursions. We hope someday to return to the Sonoma Valley, and when we do we would definitely like to again stay at the Haydon Street Inn.


Outstanding B&B

5 on June 23, 2010

This was our first visit to a B&B and we could not have had a better experience. John is a very friendly, knowledgeable host who went out of his way to be sure we had a good visit to Healdsburg. He was very helpfully in helping plan our wine tasting route. And did I mention breakfast? John serves the best breakfast you will ever have. Even french pressed coffee on each table. Wine and snacks in the evening was a great time to talk about experiences of the day with other guests. Within walking distance of the square so you could walk to dinner, shopping etc. Don't miss this gem!


More than "Outstanding"..........

5 on June 17, 2010

The Welcome and Warmth at this Inn makes you become a member of the family of visitors immediately, and a part of the community. Enjoy a book on the wrap-around porch, stroll their gardens, or a short walk to beautiful downtown Healdsburg; tour area vineyards but DON'T miss their evening wine tastings, and you will NEVER forget your OUTSTANDING breakfasts!! Haydon Street Inn is a 'not-to-be-missed' experience!! We'll be back!!


Our first stay in wine country-perfect B&B

5 on June 11, 2010

At the last minute we changed our reservation from a hotel outside of town to the Haydon Street Inn and I'm so glad we did. The location is wonderful, the rooms beautiful, and we received outstanding service from the innkeeper, John. He went out of his way to make sure guests were well taken care of. Our second evening, the traditional wine hour was held at the Jazz Festival in the park, and John set out blankets, wine and nibbles for the guests so they could enjoy the music and a little taste of small-town life. Breakfast was also delicious, healthy and filling. We stayed in the Rose Room and I have to mention how wonderful the bed is--I had no idea that sheets could be so soft!


Four Days in May at Haydon Street Inn

5 on June 01, 2010

We were warmly welcomed and found Innkeeper John to be not only a great chef (3 course breakfasts) and host, but a great source of information about wineries, restaurants and cycling routes in the area. The Inn location is ideal for walking to restaurants, shops and the town plaza. We plan on returning next year.


Preliminary stay at the INN!!!

4.6 on May 25, 2010

WE booked the Inn for ourselves and some guests for our son's destination wedding in Sonoma from the internet without physically seeing the Inn. We booked a preliminary stay a few weeks prior to check everything out before the big day!! We were so pleasantly surprised by the warm, clean, and friendly atmosphere. John, the owner, is a hands-on owner and is there to make you welcome and answer any questions you may have. On top of that John is a five star chef and has an awesome breakfast daily for his guests as well as wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening. The wedding is in a few weeks and we are looking forward to our return and know our wedding guests will also feel welcome at the Inn.


Excellent last minute getaway plan!

5 on May 18, 2010

I grabbed a last minute reservation and the room was so much more than I hoped for! Beautiful, spacious rooms with new fixtures, comfortable beds, and a private jacuzzi. Breakfast was quite tasty too. Within walking distance of the Square. We'll be back!


Great Inn

4.6 on May 11, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Haydon Street Inn. This B&B exceeded my expectations. Everything was very clean and there was a lot of attention to details to make sure that our stay there was very comfortable. Haydon Street Inn has a great location and within a short walk to the Healdsburg square. Very nice breakfast. Overall a great experience.


Amazing Stay

4.8 on May 10, 2010

We loved our stay at the Haydon Street Inn. The room was cozy and the bed was super comfortable. John's breakfast is to die for. The candied walnuts and the homemade cookies were a great touch. The location is great in that it is just off the beaten path but close to anywhere and everywhere you want to go in ...the area. (just minutes walk from Healdsburg city center. Overall a great stay. Will definitely come back again.


Ideal Place to Stay (and Have an Amazing Breakfast) in Healdsburg

4.6 on May 08, 2010

It would suffice to give this B&B an outstanding recommendation on the basis of friendly welcome, attentive service, a large, pleasant, airy and quiet room and proximity to the Healdsburg plaza. But words fail to do justice to the imaginative, delicious breakfasts! The owner was once executive chef at Churchill Downs, and it shows. If Gourmet Magazine were still publishing, I'd be writing one of those we-stayed-at-a-place-and want-you-to-share-their-recipe-for-______ requests. Bon appetit!


Great place to stay!

5 on May 05, 2010

The house was charming, as were all the guest rooms. The breakfast was a culinary treat each morning. The host, John, was as gracious as he could be, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. The location of the inn to the square was only a 5-10 minute walk. We had a fabulous time at the inn and in Healdsburg!


enjoyed our stay

4.0 on April 30, 2010

My husband and I came to the area for a wedding and will be making a trip back that includes a stay at this lovely B&B! We appreciated Keren’s personalized recommendations –based on our likes and requests. The food was delicious. Our room, the Sunset Room, was bigger than I expected from the pictures. Loved being able to walk to town for dinner and tastings!


Not Much to Quibble About

4.6 on April 27, 2010

Grounds: Large property on a quiet neighborhood street. Gorgeous landscaping, trees, and a variety of flowers. House is perfectly painted and in very good repair. Nice on all four sides. Private parking lot. Short walking distance from town square. Rooms: Large, bright, and immaculate. Spotless bathroom. Very comfortable beds. Beautiful and detailed decor. No complaints, but would have liked to have an in-room iron. There probably was one somewhere in the house, but I didn't bother asking. Free filtered water bottles. good-smelling shampoos and soaps. Jacuzzi tubs with great water pressure in the shower. Food: Breakfast was excellent, delicious and filling, with smoothie shots, homemade muffins, stuffed french toast, fresh Eggs Benedict, delicious fruit parfait, Bellini, French press coffee. Mmmm good. Nice company at breakfast, too. Service: Although Keren was out of town, her husband John took very good care of us, his manner engaging without being intrusive. Overall we had an excellent weekend here, and will hope to be back. I have a hard time imagining some other B&B could be any better at the price. At any price, actually. I mean, whaddaya want?! Stay here and I certainly can't imagine you'll be disappointed.


Absolutely wonderful

4.8 on April 19, 2010

Just thinking about the Haydon Street Inn makes me tickle. There are so many wonderful things about it that I don't know where to begin. First, upon arrival, John greeted us from our trip from New York with fresh hot chocolate chip and peanut butter cookies and coffee that are available every afternoon. We grabbed a cookie, dropped our bags off and came downstairs for the in-house wine tasting where a local winery had come in to hold a private tasting. We then strolled into Healdsburg for a tasty dinner. The next morning we woke up to one of John's three course breakfasts, an incredible way to start the morning. The presentation was gorgeous and the food was simply delish. The rooms were very clean, cozy, supplied with sumptuous robes and our shower was fitted with a spa style ceiling mounted rain shower head. We felt at home right away. We loved the spotless and beautiful inn, its location in town but within jogging distance to a vineyard and John, the innkeeper, for his ability to be wonderfully hospitable without being overbearing. I can't wait to return.


An experianced chef and innkeeper...fabulous food

4.2 on April 18, 2010

My husband and I do not normally stay in B&B due to the privacy that is usually lacking. At the Haydon St. Inn we were treated so fabulous, John the innkeeper is a talented chef..our wine hour and appetizers were so good. The breakfast complete with fresh smoothie and homemade muffins, not to mention the stuffed french toast....wonderful, fabulous, outstanding. The room was fine, bed comfortable, a bit stuffy without the availability of fresh window air (the windows do not open) and I could have used more light to get ready for the day. It was a very nice place to stay, I would stay there again.


Wow. I look forward to next time.

5 on March 12, 2010

The breakfast was splendid. The rooms were flawless. The advice was well researched. The wine hour is a bonus!


Stay at this Inn!

4.8 on March 06, 2010

I have stayed at B&Bs throughout the Napa and Sonoma Valleys for the past 20 years, and this one ranks among the top 2 or 3. Have stayed at numerous places in Healdsburg as well, but Haydon St Inn is at the top for breakfast. What do you expect from an accomplished chef? You stay at a B&B for the homey feeling, and you definitely get this at Haydon St. Inn. You are made at home, and there is a very comfortable feeling you get when you stay there. Not pretentious, not stuffy. Great bed. Would definitely stay there again. Eggs Benedict was fantastic!


The place to stay in Healdsburg

5 on March 02, 2010

What a delight this B&B was. Large well-appointed rooms, plus a very nice upgrade (unrequested) offered by Keren, one of the owners upon our arrival. The B&B is located in a very quiet neighborhood, and has its own parking lot, so parking on the street is unnecessary. Breakfast was wonderdul, and included fresh juice, a Mimosa, fruit and granola, and eggs benedict. A fantastic value all the way around. When we return to Healdsburg for another stay, Haydon Street Inn will be our lodging of choice.


Absolutely perfect

5 on February 16, 2010

My boyfriend took me to this B&B on Valentine's Day weekend, we stayed in the Pine Room. The Haydon Street Inn is extremely warm and welcoming, everything was spotless and the entire Inn had a great deal of character. The owners, Karen and John were so helpful by providing us activities to do around town. John also serves a delicious breakfast! I highly recommend staying here for any occassion. I was so upset when stay was over!


Great location for exploring the are

4.8 on December 31, 2009

We thoroughly enjoy our 4 days at the Inn. Wine, cheese and hors d'oeuvres in the evening and a fantastic breakfast every morning. John is a fabulous chef. Very helpful with suggestions of wineries to vist that have their own charm and excellent wine. Rooms were very comfortable and the mix of guests sharing their experiences was most enjoyable. We have recommended the Haydon Inn to others and would return when in the area again.


Very nice stay

4.6 on November 08, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights, had made reservations on very short notice and they were very accomodating. A lovely home, breakfast was delicious and heartier than we expected. We had a nice stay and will return.


Fabulous Getaway!

4.6 on October 27, 2009

My husband and I just returned from our weekend getaway in Healdsburg. The area is beautiful but our trip was made extra special by staying with Karen and John at the Hayden Street Inn. The inn is beautiful and immaculately maintained. We loved that it is located walking distance to town, but was on a quiet side street. The food was delicious, and we really appreciated that John and Karen shared the harvests from their plentiful gardens and fruit and nut trees in the preparation of the meals - both breakfast and wine hour always offered a variety of delicious things to eat. I would come back to this area of wine country in a heartbeat and won't consider staying anywhere else.


Excellent B&B with Great Service

4.2 on October 26, 2009

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Haydon Street Inn. I highly recommend the Inn due to the owners, Karen & John, the proximity to town center, the service, the rooms, the daily breakfast and the Inn itself. We thouroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone.


Highly recommended

4.4 on September 19, 2009

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Haydon Street Inn. Waking to the smell of fresh coffee from downstairs and the gentle sounds of birds and the garden water feature floating in on cool breezes made each morning a special occasion. The breakfast masterpieces that awaited each morning were a special treat that we enjoyed walking off in the charming town of Healdsburg or pedaling off as we cycled the surrounding countryside touring the many vineyards that are close by. Each evening we looked forward to the garden wine tasing the owners hosted as a time to meet the new guests and share stories of our experiences that day. The Inn is located easy walking distance from a quiet downtown area offering excellent dining. Our room and the bedding were very comfortable and the private bath just across the hall was large, clean, with a modern shower and good hot water. We highly recommend the Haydon Street Inn. Thanks John and Keren for a wonderful stay.


Fabulous Stay at the Haydon Street Inn

5 on September 08, 2009

Staff was very warm and friendly. The inn was very comfortable. Breakfast was very delicious. Room was very cozy and relaxing.


Welcoming and convenient

5 on August 23, 2009

The Inn is more than you will expect. We were greeted so warmly. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts and the afternoon wine tasting and hors d'oeuvres were exceptional. Keren is very knowledgeable of the wineries and made great recommendations. We caught a Tuesday concert in the park… really did enjoy the music. John and Keren saved us a place on the blanket. We so enjoyed their hospitality and delicious foods.


August visit

4.8 on August 10, 2009

Our stay here was great. We had the Turret Room, a comfortable room with a spacious bath and unique furnishings. Breakfast was an interesting and delicious combination of tastes. We would highly recommend this to anyone. And we will be back.


A Beautiful Place to Stay

5 on August 02, 2009

We enjoyed everything about Haydon Street Inn. Keren and John provide a warm welcome, a beautiful room, and a delicious breakfast. Oh yes, the "wine hour" – what a charming way to start our visit. Ari and Ruth Caprow


Wine Country Jewel

4.2 on July 22, 2009

Haydon Street Inn is a jewel in the wine country. It is charming, comfortable, convenient, and not so frilly as some B&Bs, with great service and gourmet breakfasts that will keep you going until dinner. Highly recommended!


Worth staying

4.6 on July 19, 2009

Always exceptional hospitality. John's culinary background shows in the exceptional breakfasts. Good wines are served in the late afternoon. The owners have good relations with local wineries and know the newer ones that are worth a visit.


Wonderful Hospitality

5 on July 07, 2009

Our first visit to Healdsburg was wonderful... and the Haydon B & B added to our stay. Gracious innkeepers... beautiful rooms, yummy gourmet breakfast and so close to the main square. We would definitely book with them again. Susan & Rick, Key West


Our "home" away from home

5 on May 20, 2009

Sonoma County's best little secret. FABULOUS Inn run by Keren and John. BOTH are absolutely wonderful people. They will go out of their way to help you out and provide you with excellent suggestions on new wineries, restaurants, sites, etc. We have been staying at The Haydon Street Inn since 2001 and return every year. We will continue to return on an annual basis. John's cooking is SUPERB and Keren does a FANTASTIC job in trying to take care of everyone. The Inn is perfectly located within walking distance of Healdsburg Square. If you have any special reservations you would like to place, Keren will take care of them and you are guaranteed a wonderful time. The Haydon Street Inn is the ONLY place we want as our "home" when we are visiting the wine country.


A piece of heaven

5 on May 06, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at the Haydon Street Inn many times now, and there is a reason we keep going back. I can't imagine a more romantic getaway than there! The location is absolutely prime for wine-tasting and great restaurants. But when it comes to food, there are no better breakfasts than what John prepares each morning. I look forward to the breakfasts as much as the evening dinners locally! They are exquisite hosts and are so knowledgable about what to do in the area. The Inn and furnishings are antique and timely for a few days of total relaxation and therapy!


March 2009 in Healdsburg at Haydon Street Inn

5 on April 26, 2009

What a lovely way to spend our weekend! John & Keren warmly greeted us upon our arrival. We were treated to a wine, cheese and olive reception and Keren was able to score us a reservation at Cyrus! The recommendations they made for tasting rooms were very good. Our room was in the cottage, upstairs. Lovely decor and the room was very clean. The bed was wonderful for sleeping in - slept like a log every night. Breakfast was a foodies delight. Starting with fresh fruit, a smoothie shooter and an airy scone followed by stuffed French toast on a plate which was brushed with a berry sauce and decorated with a yummy mango sauce.


We will return!

4.8 on April 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Haydon Street Inn recently and were pleasantly impressed. Keren and John, the innkeepers, were warm and welcoming, and helped make our stay very comfortable. After our days of fun, we'd return to the comfort of our spacious room to unwind and wake up to a delicious home-made breakfast in the dining room! The Inn has a great location as well. We easily walked to the town square and within minutes were among a number of restaurants and shops. Haydon Street Inn was a highlight of our vacation in Healdsburg. We will return!


Great Place for a Wedding!

5 on April 17, 2009

Haydon Street Inn is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing weekend in Wine Country. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. The owners have thought of everything including a TOGO coffee cup if you have to get up and leave early and NEED that morning cup of coffee (and asprin incase you have a wine headache). The evening wine tasting with a gourmet snack was very special (I had it for dinner one night) and their magazine selection very nice along with nice entertainment center (we were able to play the wedding DVD on their Living Room TV). They start with an amazing 3 course breakfast (served at ( 9 AM sharp). It was the perfect place for my girlfriends wedding followed by a fabulous formal dinner for under 25 people. You'll notice their special attention to detail and processes...all part of making it a special place to stay in Healdsburg. I'd highly recommend Haydon Street as it is just a short two block walk from town. You can get a pass for the Pool at a local health club which is also walking distance and head to the Healdsburg Hotel Spa for a treatment which would also allow you to use that pool...I'd say it is by far the best choice in town. Lauri (Atlanta, GA)


Wonderful Wine Weekend

5 on April 06, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Keren and John at the Haydon Street Inn. Located just a few short walking blocks from the plaza, it is a great place to explore all of the food, beverage and shopping available in central Healdsburg. And with a car or bike there are literally hundreds of wineries to visit and enjoy. The Haydon Street Inn is like being with family, and the breakfast is wonderful. Rooms are well priced for this locale, and my wife and I will definitely be back.


A great base for wine country touring

5 on April 02, 2009

We have stayed at Haydon Street Inn twice and have enjoyed ourselves immensely each visit. We can’t imagine that there could be anyplace more welcoming or comfortable in all of the California wine country. Haydon Street Inn enjoys a perfect location….far enough from the center of town to be very quiet and relaxing but close enough to walk to the plaza for a great selection of wonderful shops, wine tasting rooms and restaurants. The Inn itself has all the amenities one could wish for…..scrumptious multi-course breakfasts by owner/chef John (formerly chef at Churchill Downs, I believe) and wonderful wine and hors d’ oeuvres in the late afternoons, delicious home made cookies in the evenings, luxurious robes, linens and guest room amenities. Owners John and Keren obviously have put themselves in the place of guests and imagined and provided most everything you could want for in the way of luxury and comfort. They’ve even provided a small refrigerator in which to keep your own wines chilled, if you like. The Haydon Street Inn has a lovely front porch with rocking chairs but the garden and patio in back are so inviting, it’s always hard to pull ourselves away from it. There is even a fire pit in the back and each evening after dinner, we would adjourn to the fire pit with another bottle of local wine and visit with other guests, exchanging stories of our adventures that day, what we had planned for the next and sharing recommendations. Speaking of recommendations, Keren and John are a treasure trove of suggestions regarding where to go and what to do. Keren would often make suggestions at breakfast and by the time we had finished enjoying John’s wonderful repast, Keren would have appointments made for us for private tours and/or tastings or laid a an itinerary for our day. We found some of our favorite wines at some wonderful smaller wineries that we might never have found were it not for Keren’s suggestions.


You Will Be Happy

5 on March 29, 2009

My wife and I spent our 10th Anniversary at Haydon Street and enjoyed every moment. The owners helped with local restaurant and winery reservations and gave us recommendations - they clearly not only knew the area but genuinely enjoyed their life in Healdsburg. The room was beautiful and large, the bed was both soft and supportive and the bath luxurious. The remodel from a private residence to an inn had been completed with careful thought to making areas accessible, modern and comfortable. Natural light enhances the Victorian - but unintrusive - decor. The breakfast was not too much and the waffles/omelets, etc. filled us, but weren't overly rich. Chocolate cookies at tea time; wine later in the afternoon. Perfect.


Cheers to Haydon Street Inn

4.6 on March 15, 2009

From the moment we pulled into the driveway, we knew we chose the perfect B&B. What a beautiful victorian home with a wonderful wrap-around porch, and the grounds are very well kept. We were warmly greeted by Keren and she showed us around the immaculately-kept inn. We stayed in the Garden room and it was perfect. Wonderful views of the garden and our own bathroom! Loved the comfortable bed and the soft sheets. Woke up two mornings to John and Keren cooking us a mouth-watering breakfast. We think it was the best B&B breakfast's we have ever had and we have been to quite a few. We HIGHLY recommend the Haydon Street Inn. Cheers to John and Keren!


Best (not so) secret in Healdsburg

4.8 on February 19, 2009

This was my fourth stay here and 3rd with John & Keren. Both will greet and treat you warmly throughout your stay. Both are quite knowledgeable of the area, local wines, current vintages and restaurants. They have great palates and pay close attention to detail. CONSISTENCY is word here and it will assured. Your slightest whim will be addressed. You will meet some of the most interesting people from around the world. Ask about their specials. You will be missing a truly fine experience if you stay some place else. It is like staying with family (that you like!) Can't wait to go back. HW


Special stay in Healdburg

4.2 on February 15, 2009

The breakfast was unbelievable and the rooms are charming. The location on the edge of historic downtown with its terrific restaurants is delightful. Even a rainy day couldn't break the spell.


3rd year in a row!

4.0 on January 21, 2009

My husband & I have attended Winter Wineland 3 yrs. in a row now and have stayed at the Haydon St. Inn all 3 times ! We have throughly enjoyed the stay, breakfast, happy hour and Keren & John are super great hosts!


Comfortable B&B

4.8 on December 05, 2008

A warm, comfortable and inviting B&B with just the right amount of antique and modern decor. The bed was beyond heavenly and the bathroom completely upgraded. The innkeeper was a chef for years and the breakfasts were 3-courses, healthy, filling and incredibly tasty. The innkeepers extensive personal knowledge of the local restaurants, shops and wineries was very helpful in planning day excursions.


Enjoyed our stay at The Haydon Street Inn

4.6 on December 02, 2008

We enjoyed our recent stay at The Haydon Street Inn in Healdsburg, CA. The Inn is about 4 blocks to the cute downtown area of Healdsburg. The breakfasts were awesome! We enjoyed getting to know the Innskeepers, John and Keren and appreciated their hospitality. We'd definitely recommend The Haydon Street Inn and hope that we have an opportunity to visit them again soon.


Louisiana visitors 10/08

5 on October 25, 2008

This charming Inn was a great start to a Russian River Valley winery tour experience. Cannot imagine a better place to stay in the area. Walking distance from the town square and the action in Healdsburg. Looking forward to our next stay.


Perfectly Healdsburg

4.6 on October 04, 2008

As you can see by the picture, this beautiful inn is just what you are looking for in Healdsburg. From the wrap around porch to the plush and comfortable beds the inn is perfect for a wine country visit. The breakfast and the service were wonderful and although the innkeepers were very helpful with suggestions when asked ,they did not "badger" their guests. We loved the location and the ambiance and would definitely stay again when in that region. Paul and Linda


magical home away from home

4.6 on September 09, 2008

the haydon street inn made our healdsburg weekend magical. john and keren offered gracious and warm hospitality, absolutely delicious three-course gourmet breakfasts, and thoughtful suggestions for making our weekend memorable. the inn is within walking distance to both the square and the river. the room was charming and spacious, and the communal wine hour added to our feeling comfortable and "at home." we look forward to our next visit!


Beautiful, convenient and confortable

4.6 on September 06, 2008

Stayed at the Haydon St Inn while visiting wine country on labor day wknd 2008. We found the inn conveniently located to many wineries and local attractions in the area; my partner and I walked to dinner in the town square both nights. The inn itself was beautiful and our room well appointed. Ample parking, free WiFi access, plenty of area maps and info, as well as afternoon wine hour. From early morning coffee on the front porch swing, to gourmet breakfasts (I'm not exaggerating), John and Keren made our stay very comfortable . They were also a wealth of information for planning our trips to nearby wineries and San Fran attractions. Overall, a great B and B that we would plan to stay at next time we return to Healdsburg. No complaints.


A Return to Our Hometown

5 on August 26, 2008

A wonderful visit our hometown, 24 years later, was only made better by the hospitality and amenities of the Haydon St. Inn; comfortable beds, well furnished rooms and a homelike atmosphere. We had a very quiet and relaxing visit [except for the new bride that fell out of bed next door] with a gourmet breakfast each morning. Good breakfast conversation with interesting people from all over the country. John and Keren were very gracious and welcoming and made the stay very comfortable. We would highly recommend this B/B to anyone!! We'll be back soon. Thank you...Bob/Nan


Wonderful Experience

4.4 on August 13, 2008

A beautiful home in a picture perfect town. John and Keren's home is absolutely lovely, set in a quaint neighbourhood. Very hospitable, thoughtful and helpful hosts who guided us with our travel plans.... and my recently injured knee. Both hosts actually spent time with the guests during wine hour and were very helpful in planning and suggesting itineraries for all their guests. The home was immaculately clean and well organized - pamplets, maps, vouchers for local wineries, copies of local restaurant menus - WOW. The gourmet breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. My only complaint was that we were unable to stay for a longer period of time. We are already looking at returning to California and will certainly include a return visit to the Hayden Street Inn. Thank you for sharing your home with us - we really had a beautiful experience. Julie and Elio - Toronto, Canada


Comfy and Cozy

4.6 on August 04, 2008

We had a great time at Haydon Street. The entire home was well kept and very clean, and trust me when I tell you we are clean freaks. The room was small but just enough and the bed was so plush and comfy. Breakfast and Happy Hour were hosted perfectly and we felt very comfortable with both Keren and John. John really out did himself for breakfast. The fact that he is a chef, put Haydon street above and beyond. The morning coffee on the front porch, fresh baked cookies in the kitchen at all times and plenty of personal touches made our vacation special. We look foward to coming back. Joe and Tina, NY,NY


Warm and Wonderful Place to Stay!

4.8 on August 01, 2008

Spent 3 nights at this inn, a very lovely place. The Innkeepers, John and Keren made you feel right at home, from the moment of arrival. Very informative of area events, wineries and anything else they could possibly help you with. The breakfasts were just suburb! House was very charming, including the grounds, the parking and the location of the area to walking convenience of the town. Hard to beat an innkeeper that's a professional chef! Highly recommend this to anyone planning to stay in the area. You won't be disappointed!


Sleep Like Baby

4.0 on July 24, 2008

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at the Haydon Street Inn. Healdsburg itself is charming but nothing compares to the Rose Room. We walked to lovely restaurants, listed to music in the town square and slept like babies. It is truly a wonderful place to stay. Keren and John are gracious and fun. Happy Hours are a cannot miss. Breakfast? 3 courses of seasonal, local tastiness. Napping after breakfast permitted. Sad to leave but hopeful to return soon. Easy to day trip great place to come home to.


unfriendly and cold hostess

2.8 on July 24, 2008

The inn was sparkling clean (obviously the house cleaners are doing their part) and the price for the rooms were fairly priced. The breakfast was pretty good but not the best we ever had in comparison to other b&b's ... it was hostess that ruined the whole thing! She was cold and indifferent, very unwelcoming. She was very strict about her rules and would not let us in even a minute before our check in time nor would she let us sit at the table for breakfast before SHE said it was ok. Strange ... very strange. We will not stay there again and we would never recommend such an unfriendly place. The husband was nice though ... he should be the one to great the guests rather than her.


Perfectly relaxing

5 on July 03, 2008

Keren is efficient, personable and patient. John is just a happy guy and a fantastic chef. The garden room had plenty of natural light along with a great cross breeze. Breakfasts were decadent and delicious. The company from the other guests ranged for light chit-chat to stimulating. Add toall of this the great town of Healdsburg and the wine country and you have a get-a-way that is worth every penny. This is our first bed and breakfast experience and it taught my wife and I two things...one: we will be back to Haydon Street Inn and two: we will never run a bed and breakfast! ; )


Haydon Street Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $190 - $425
  • Reviews (75) 4.7
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7074335228
  • Fax 1-7074336637
  • Toll free 1-8005283703

Visit Website »

View details

Top