Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.7
  • Services4.2
  • Value3.6
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
228 Reviews

Write A Review

Little gem just outside Yosemite's North Park Entrance

4.4 on April 21, 2014

Stayed at the Groveland Hotel April 16-18, 2014 and it was PERFECT!! Just what we were looking for! Only 26 miles from the North entrance to Yosemite National Park and about 35-40 miles from Yosemite Valley! Staff was absolutely lovely, rooms so quaint and clean, bed SO comfortable, AND they allowed my dog for a reasonable fee (the place does NOT smell as if animals have been there at all)!!! Would definitely stay here again!!


Weekend getaway.

5 on February 12, 2014

The inn keepers showed us around and told us all about Groveland hotel. Room was very nice and cozy as we also enjoyed the the included breakfasts. We will be back.


Great time near Yosemite

4.2 on February 03, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and the staff went out of their way to take care of us and our dogs! The room was great and so was the food. Be aware that when they have Saturday night dinner shows the service may be slower than normal


Groveland's Treasure

5 on January 03, 2014

During the Rim Fire, the Groveland Hotel was my safe and secure island. Peggy Mosley remained attentive and friendly in spite of the recent family loss. 4 months later I returned to photograph the recovery and resilience of Groveland's citizens. My room, meals at the restaurant and bar and the congeniality of the staff once again served as a reward at the end of my day. I believe Groveland will rise again and I hope to return for the spring wildflower bloom. - Don Bartletti


Walnut Creek

5 on December 30, 2013

Loved this place. Very small and quaint. Super personalized service. Low key, cool, and out of this world wine list--bought 4 bottles of a hard to find bordeaux to take home! For a quiet get away, this is the place!


Groveland night

3.8 on December 29, 2013

it's was very nice. had room 15 oh yeah. Did get some evps and video of orbs, no photos.


Wonderful

5 on October 15, 2013

There was no more that we could have asked for in a vacation hotel and town. We loved it!!


We return envy fall!

4.4 on October 14, 2013

We absolutely Love the Groveland Hotel! We come back every year and its one of our favorite stops! Now keep in mind, this is a very old building and its a bed and breakfast... So if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. It's not a bad thing... Just expected from an old building. The food is amazing! Fresh pressed juice and breakfast served in the morning! Not just cereal and muffins but omelettes and warm cinnamon rolls! The staff are always a pleasure! Love the history and reading all the fun haunted stories. The dinner is excellent! I usually have the salmon and recommend that. Our dogs love it here! The fee per night, per dog is pretty steep. Should be 25 one time regardless of how many you have. It's prob the priciest night of our yearly road trip... But we love it.


Just a Nice experience

4.2 on October 13, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Groveland Hotel. A treat for those who love historic hotels. The Service was friendly and helpful. A cute, cute town to browse thru.


Groveland Hotel

2.6 on October 09, 2013

older property -- very small room -- no desk or chair -- limited parking tired mattress -- loud plumbing -- on site restaurant was very good


Beautiful hotel....

4.0 on October 01, 2013

A very cutesy and olde world feel to this hotel. The rooms have little teddy bears to make you go ahh! and the beds and decor are very comfortable. Our ONLY disappointment was the dining... I think they have been through some changes in that department and we hit a rough patch. Dinner was expensive for the quality of the food served, but breakfast was truly disappointing. Self service items were ok (cereals, juices etc. although they ran out of orange and didn't replenish), but the menu items were not worthy of the kitchen. I'm sure this is just a temporary blip on an otherwise excellent experience... and a great little town!


Small Rooms

4.0 on September 25, 2013

The rooms were very small. No place for toiletries and not much room for suitcases. Nice historic property, but personally I prefer new and spacious! Breakfast, however, was awesome.


Historic B&B

4.2 on September 09, 2013

My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Groveland Hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and nicely decorated. Peggy checked us in, made sure we were comfortable and provided lots of useful information.


Full of character

3.8 on September 03, 2013

Nice place to stay - rooms quaint, however there was a noisy fan outside room which spoilt what would have been an extremely peaceful spot. The restaurant is fantastic with an amazing selection of wines. Breakfast very good but get there early as the selection does diminish the later it gets. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.


fufu no good

2.0 on September 03, 2013

Aweful! They lie about the roads, carpet stained, linolium pulled up, rust in shower. A slight detour took 2 1/2 hours to get to the park. I called 3 times and they told me everything was fine regarding the fire.


Don't let the secret out!

4.4 on September 02, 2013

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Yosemite and only discovered the Groveland Hotel a few years ago. Since then we stay for special occasions and I even had my 50th birthday party there (and at the Iron Door). The rooms are so cute and comfortable, it's quiet but right next to great places to shop and eat, and it's close to Yosemite. We hope it doesn't get more popular so we can't get a room when we want one!


Groveland Hotel

5 on August 20, 2013

Stayed for just one night and enjoyed it very much


Groveland

2.8 on August 19, 2013

A nice stay with friendly staff and easy access to Yosemite.


Did not meet expectations

1.8 on August 11, 2013

This hotel may be the best in Groveland, but it did not come close to our expectations for the $200 price tag. The air conditioning was located under the bed of all places, and it wasn't working. A repairman was called, but he couldn't come until 9:00 pm. We were tired after a long day of driving and so just lived with it. There were many other small problems with the room as well--loose toilet seat and door handle, mold along the front edge of the tub, dirty bathtub and broken tub handle, and a TV with a remote that didn't work to turn the set on or adjust the sound. Additionally, the room was located on the street. There were supposedly sound reducing curtains installed, but they weren't terribly effective and, when closed, made the room feel claustrophobic. Some sheers would have been nice during the day for a little privacy but still allowing light in. We were looking forward to staying here but were disappointed.


Great Stay at Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park

5 on August 11, 2013

My familiy of 5 stayed at the condos. They were very nice and clean. I would have loved to stay at the main hotel, but I did eat breakfast there each day. Great looking hotel, location and excellent breakfast.


Lovely spot

4.0 on August 10, 2013

We stayed in Condo 11, not the actual Hotel. Checkin is at the hotel and was easy and the staff was helpful and friendly. The condo is about 5 minutes from the hotel. The condo is very big and had more than enough room for our family of 5. You could have a very large group stay and be comfortable. The condo was very clean and the kitchen was well equiped. The decor of the condo is a bit dated, if that matters to you - it was clean and very comfortable, so we were happy. The location is about 30 miles from the Oak Flat entrance to Yosemite and is a good hour and 45 minutes to Glacier point and well over an hour to all Valley locations. The breakfast at the hotel that is included was delicious and again the staff was wonderful and friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is adorable and looks like it would be a fun place to stay. The reason I rated the vaule lower is it was very expensive for our group of 5 and we spent all our time in Yosemite so we could not enjoy the benfits of the large condo. If you were spending more time in the condo it would be much more worth it. Also, keep in mind all lodging around Yosemite is expensive. I would definitely recommend it to people looking for lodging outside the park.


Charming Hotel

3.2 on August 09, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Julia Bulette suite and we found it comfy and clean. Our kids especially loved to cuddle the Teddybears. The brekfast is opulent and has something for everyone. Our main purpose of staying there was to venture into Yosemite National Park so we got up early and came back late. So I regret not having the time to sip a glass of wine on the beautiful garden or roof top terrace.


Funky, fun but needy!

2.6 on August 08, 2013

Funky old California hotel with lots of charm, but desperately in need of repair and maintenance. Appealing menu but chef issues apparent and food very uneven. Lovely patio in rear for dining or just hanging out. Bathrooms well appointed but mattresses uneven. Ample parking. Major plus is the very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms in back with balcony access are the quietest since hotel is right on the main highway in town.


Experience Something Different!

4.4 on August 07, 2013

Outstanding! We will be staying here every year for our family reunion! Comfy bed, quiet, and an atmosphere that takes you back in time! Experience a peice of history and get out out of the main steam hotel, this is the place!!! Thank you!


pleasent and welcoming

5 on August 05, 2013

Groveland has it all. Lovely atmospher, good food, good service, even a full bar and two friendly cats.


Groveland Hotel Condo

4.8 on July 28, 2013

Needed space for 5 of us. Got a 4 BR condo about 5 min. drive from main hotel. Included scrumptious breakfast at hotel. Perfect for large group.


pleasant stayin the 1800's at yosemite

4.2 on July 26, 2013

The hotel was very charming, like waking into the past when you enter the hotel room. We could feel the character in the room we stayed in.


Okay but below average

1.2 on July 26, 2013

The service is terrible, the rooms are very, very small and uncomfortable. In addition, there is no privacy! Smoking area for guests it right outside other guest's room windows! Don't stay here!


Wonderful place to dine & stay after hiking Yosemite

5 on July 20, 2013

Don't let the initial appearance scare you off, this is a wonderful place. The rooms are so clean and decorated so nicely that you will fall in love. The bathroom was immaculate. It was well air conditioned and with an overhead fan, very comfortable in the heat. The dining room was great. I had salmon and my wife had rib eye that was to die for. The breakfast special was very good and more than worth the price. The staff could not have been more helpful. I will be back the next time I visit Yosemite. John P 7/16/13


Cozy place

5 on July 14, 2013

I loved this beautiful place.Very cozy and staff were great!Delicious breakfast and dinner!Thank you


a friendly B&B

3.6 on July 12, 2013

Good food and friendly atmosphere.


Great Stay at the Groveland Hotel!

5 on July 10, 2013

Upon check in, the front desk person was so nice and helpful. She showed us our room right away. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant and fell right to sleep in our outstandingly comfy bed. We explored Yosemite and looked forward to getting back to our hotel. Truly great stay, the breakfast was awesome too!


Great place, amazing food, phenomenal wine list

5 on July 07, 2013

Wonderful experience, friendly staff. My dinner was great with one of the greatest wine lists I've ever see. My room was comfortable and I slept wonderfully. A great place to stay in the quaint town of Groveland, California.


Wonderful Service!

5 on July 01, 2013

The wait staff in the dining room deserve special kudos. Michele was personable, knowledgeable, friendly and just a lot of fun! We were delighted with the service she provided. Barbie, who served breakfast, was so helpful and lovely to talk to. And let's not forget the chef - the food was excellent. The Lollipop Lamb Chops, the shrimp wraps and the cinnamon rolls are not to be missed.


Nice B&B outside of Yosemite

3.0 on June 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Groveland Hotel outside of Yosemite National Park. The receptionists were very welcoming, and the room was comfortable. We were, however, disappointed with the food and service we had for an evening meal we had there. The restaurant was not busy at all, but we were often left with no water and slow clearing of plates. And having a reputation for fine wines, we were disappointed to have the white we ordered not chilled at all. Breakfast was entirely different. Delicious, and great service from Barbie. She goes out of her way to accommodate every guest, always has a smile, and is just a delight. You will leave feeling like you have made a friend in Yosemite if you have the pleasure of meeting Barbie.


enjoyed the stay

4.0 on June 28, 2013

good place to stay on the way to Yosemite. dinner better than the breakfast.


Nice clean rooms with wonderful breakfast

4.0 on June 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were nice and the air mattress and sheets and towels for the third person were already in the room when we checked in. Breakfast was delicious. It is a bit of a drive to Yosemite Valley (about an hour) but we knew that when we booked.


Groveland Hotel

4.0 on June 25, 2013

The accommodations were lovely, the staff was very helpful and friendly. I will stay at the Groveland Hotel again. I was spending time with friends who lived in the area so did not dine at the hotel.


A Quick Start to Yosemite

4.4 on June 21, 2013

The Groveland Hotel allows you to make a quick start the next morning on a trip to Yosemite.


Cozy small time feel

4.0 on June 18, 2013

Loved the small town friendly appeal and history behind hotel Not a bad drive to Yosemite---next door good nightlife!


June 2013 - Groveland Hotel

4.0 on June 16, 2013

A great stop on the way to Yosemite. Quaint and comfortable rooms, exceptional dining with a great wine list, and a very good breakfast in advance of a day in Yosemite. Peggy and her team are very good at hospitality.


2013 Quilt Stroll

4.6 on June 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Groveland for the bi-annual Quilt Stroll. The Hotel Staff is the friendliest & most helpful group of individuals I have ever encountered in my many, many years of traveling. Zack in particular could not do enough for two tired travelers who took the wrong turn somewhere and arrived almost too late for supper on the patio. Would we stay there again? In a heartbeat!


Lovely Hotel, Easy Stay, Wish We Had Housekeeping Services During Our Stay

3.0 on June 13, 2013

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at The Groveland Hotel. The room was a little smaller than I expected and was missing the amenities you think of in a standard hotel room (I'm a little used to things like mini-fridges in our rooms so we can bring in food and snacks for our trip). That being said, the bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was quiet and cool despite it being 105 degrees while we were there, and everyone at the hotel was pleasant and welcoming (even the ghosts). :) The one disappointment was that we never had room service while we were there. I don't know if they just forgot to come by our room or what but we did NOT have a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. We were looking forward to a hot shower and freshly made bed after a long day of hiking in Yosemite but instead came back to our same towels still slightly damp from morning showers and the bed just as we'd left it. Not a big deal, but a little disappointing. The included breakfast was awesome (I ate much more than I normally do for breakfast) and the staff provided wonderful service outside of the room cleaning mishap.


Good stay

4.2 on June 12, 2013

The breakfast was really good, the room was adorable, the staff was really friendly and helpful, the only problem was that the wall were really really thin and noise crept in. There was also something weird going on with the plumbing that made it such that there was a loud sound in the our room whenever the room next to us ran water. But the hotel is beautiful and Groveland is lovely.


Classic Vintage Hotel and wonderful food

3.8 on June 11, 2013

We stayed for the Vintage Day event. The room itself felt decadent and vintage. Randy went way above and beyond to make sure we had a pleasant stay. Every member of the rest of the staff was very attentive and friendly. The food was truly excellent. Some of the best meals I have had in a long time. The only downside was inside the room itself. The couch in the suite was old, lumpy and really dirty. The bed was so over stuffed that, unless you were in the middle you felt like you were rolling out of bed. If management invested some money in those things the room would have been rated much higher. Bottom line, the experience, ambiance and the food were awesome, but if you want clean furniture and comfortable bed, not so much.


Nice Hotel

4.2 on June 07, 2013

Very nice and clean Hotel in Groveland, west of Yosemite. 1 hour driving to Yosemite valley.


Worth to stay over with the price

4.2 on June 01, 2013

Nice price to stay. Excellent services and breakfast. Highly recommend others to stay.


Nice little stopover

4.8 on May 27, 2013

We made a last-minute reservation and this place was closest we could get to Yosemite Park. The staff made us feel welcome and important to them. The price was a little steep for us but the wonderful breakfast made up for it. It is buffet style with many choices. If you want eggs or an omlettte, they are made to order. In your room you will find bottled water and terrycloth robes in the armoire.


Dynamite

4.0 on May 08, 2013

Quiet, excellent service with smiles, hotel restaurant exceeded our expectations. Best of all, Lyle the resident ghost put dynamite under our bed in the Ernie Beck room making for an exciting time. Great place to stay and make day trips into Yosemite. Oldest saloon in Ca 100 feet away. What more can you ask for, quiet,excellent food, great location, old saloon and best of all a real ghost who keeps dynamite under your bed. Regards Pat and Laura Ward


lawsons review

4.8 on May 07, 2013

Fantastic service and beautiful hotel.


Wonderful romantic spot!!!!!

4.4 on May 02, 2013

Took my wife there for her birthday in April. The place was fantastic, the dinning staff was so friendly. They hand delivered my wife's roses to our dinner table. How romantic. Love the bears and always wondering what they'll be doing when we got back from our trips to Yosemite hiking and fly fishing. Dinner was wonderful, so many excellent wines to chose from. Dined on the patio, the weather was wonderful! Right next door is the Iron Door Saloon with live music. Didn't have to drive at all. Fantastic stay and will do it again soon.


Outstanding facilities and staff!

5 on May 01, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend 3 nights at the Groveland Hotel for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved the rooms, the vibe, and especially the staff - they are casual and friendly and professional. The morning breakfast in the dining room is excellent and we had some great interactions with other guests. Keep in mind this is a historical building. It may not be right for everyone. But it fit our tastes to a tee and we could not have been happier with our stay!


Great place to stay near Yosemite

4.4 on April 03, 2013

We have driven by the Groveland Hotel many times choosing to stay either in Yosemite National Park, or closer to the park. This time, I decided to try to Groveland Hotel and we plan to come back again. We booked one of the least expensive rooms, Betty Fries' Room, and found it and the hospitality extended to all the guests to be superb. The shower is very powerful with great hot water. We checked in early and asked for a recommendation of where to go in the area. The lady at the desk gave us detailed directions for two walks -- one short (Rainbow Pool Falls) and the other longer (Carlon Falls). We did both. I especially liked Carlon Falls, which is not marked but the approximately 1.5 mile trail starts near the entrance to the Carlon Campground just across the bridge on Evergreen Road). We had checked Trip Advisor on where to eat and decided on the Groveland Hotel. One reason we chose to stay at the Groveland Hotel was that we knew that it was impossible to get a good meal in the hotels on route 140 near Yosemite. We really enjoyed our dinner and heartily recommend the restaurant and its extensive, excellent and affordable wine list. The included breakfast was wonderful. The buffet part includes a pile of sweet halved oranges that you can squeeze yourself to have fantastic fresh juice. (The oranges were sweeter than those just picked from the tree in our backyard.) If you don't want to work for your juice, there are jugs of several kinds of juice ready to pour. The buffet includes a covered chafing dish with huge, cinnamon rolls. Trying to avoid gaining weight, I took about a quarter of my husband's roll. When he got another, I swiped about another 1/8. There are also English muffins and bread to be toasted. Eggs are cooked to order with breakfast meats. I chose the "rafter's skillet" which had cheese, sausage, ham, bacon, spinach, tomatoes, onions and potatoes.


A dinner that competes with the Awhahnee

4.2 on March 27, 2013

We've been stopping at the Groveland Hotel for dinner on our way back from Yosemite for years. The food has always been superb, but until recently we had not actually stayed overnight. Ultimately, I am quite happy with the hotel services and will definitely stay again. While the rooms are more femininely decorated than I care for, my wife got a kick out of the different arrangements of the two teddy bears each day, and I must say - the rooms are comfy, clean, and well worth the price given the location and excellent staff. Breakfast is filling and quick, but the real draw is dinner. I can't rave about the restaurant and wine list enough: fresh veggies, tender beef, happy waiting staff, and an innkeeper (Peggy) who swings by to ask how things are without actually intruding on your meal. Please support the Groveland Hotel, they are a rare, independent, and unique gem sitting right outside Yosemite itself!


Groveland Hotel stay

4.2 on March 24, 2013

The rooms were very nice, small, but that is as expected for such an old hotel. The service and staff were excellent and we enjoyed our stay very much!


Saturday Night

4.4 on March 14, 2013

Stayed in the Lillie Langtry Suite, very nice.


Great place to stay

4.0 on February 28, 2013

A great little hotel on the way to Yosemite. Highly recommended.


A Nice Place Outside of Yosemite

3.2 on December 12, 2012

My husband and I (and our dog) stayed here for two nights in early December. Folks were friendly and the hotel was very cozy. It has a very traditional, county kind of style to the decor. We stayed in the Sierra "Vade" room that has a door out to the deck. It was a nice room, though the porch lights are very bright at night. The bed is super comfortable. Breakfast was better than I expected. We ate dinner both nights at Cocina Michoacana. That place is delicious. There is an awesome cat that lives at the hotel. The hotel is an hour away from the Yosemite Valley. I thought it was 20+ miles, there for 20+ minutes. It's 30 to enter the Yosemite property and another 30 until you see things and stuff. There is a great park just down the road that is good for dogs and skateboarding. Everything closes super early, so stock up on your private stash of booze and snacks. Or you can hang out at the Iron Door Saloon, which is a friendlier spot than it appears to be.


Birthday celebration at The Groveland Hotel

4.6 on December 11, 2012

My husband and I have always talked about spending time in Groveland whenever we drive through it to get to Yosemite. As part of a birthday weekend in Yosemite, we spent the night at The Groveland Hotel and had a really fun time. Everyone that worked there was very nice and welcoming. Our room (Lola Montez) was adorable and comfortable. Dinner in the dining room was very good and the breakfast was excellent. Definitely DO NOT pass up on the homemade cinnamon rolls. They were worth the calories. I will be recommending The Groveland Hotel to my friends and will definitely be staying there again.


Decent, cozy place

3.0 on October 14, 2012

Probably the nicest place in tiny Groveland. Full of charm, in the 8 pillows and teddy bears on your bed kind of way. I came here because of a livingsocial coupon, but don't think I would've paid the full price. The food is really just okay, but again, probably the fanciest place in this town. Food was a little overcooked and it seems like they got a lot of other table's orders wrong. However, the people who work there are really nice.


Nest at the summit.

4.2 on October 05, 2012

As a design writer who looks at the world with an a bit of cynicism, plus never having been a B&B person, nevertheless this was quite pleasant and a great change from the homogenized chains. Steven V. Philips


Groveland

3.4 on October 01, 2012

unfortunately the check-in place is different from the living place.


Trip to Yosemite National Park

4.0 on September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sugar Pine Ranch facility. We met the proprietors and they were very accomodating. We saw deer roaming around the property and enjoyed taking pictures of them. The breakfast at the Groveland Hotel was very good.


Groveland

4.4 on September 18, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the Groveland hotel after a long week of hiking and Backpacking in Yosemite. We found the Groveland a fantastic experience and wish we had stopped here on our previous trips to the Park. The room was exquisite and the bed so so comfortable. Everyone was interested in making our experience superb - we just recommend the hotel to everybody.


Yosemite visit

4.0 on September 15, 2012

Delightful stay at the Ranch until someone was outside on the patio smoking. We stayed one night and the room was quaint, and we had thought that place was a smoke free resort. Once the smoking took place it inflitrated the room when we were enjoying a quiet evening with the doors and windows opened. We had to close it up and use the airconditioner. A disappointment!


Nice historic hotel

4.2 on September 15, 2012

Our stay was pleasant, the room small but well appointed. The outdoor patio is terrific. We ate dinner at the restaurant and they did not seem to have enough wait staff, but the food was very good. Overall, a very nice place to stay if you like older, historic inns.


Quaint, pet-friendly mountain inn

4.0 on September 10, 2012

Wonderful mountain bed and breakfast with generous pet-friendly owners and scrumptious breakfast. The rooms are quaint - borderline cluttered -but clean and have a nice view. Loved the wraparound porch.


Loved staying in Groveland to see Yosemite.

5 on September 09, 2012

The room was lovely and had everything we needed. The breakfast was wonderful and included. We ate dinner on night outside and it was great.


A pleasant hidden treat.

4.4 on August 31, 2012

The condos at the Groveland Hotel are an excellent value for the money. Just outside of town and well outfitted they are a great place to stay with family or a few couples. Lts of private space and quiet. The restaurant is exellent, a great wine selection and the food is San Francisco quality. Anyone looking for a quiet get away and a place to stay before venturing into Yosemite should really stay here. We will again.


Greg & Ingrid

5 on August 29, 2012

If your looking for polished chrome and fresh plastic, you won't find it at the Groveland Hotel. If your looking for a unique experience provided by innkeepers who go the extra mile to make your stay special, top notch bedding, a historic building, in a great small town atmosphere, you can't do better. We've stayed at the Groveland on four occasions and intend to keep coming back.


Loved staying at Groveland

5 on August 27, 2012

What a wonderful b and b! Everyone was so very helpful and friendly. The food for dinner was delicious. We loved breakfast -- don't pass up the cinnamon rolls. This is such a wonderful place to stay on your way to Yosemite. Lovely don't miss it!


Weekend near Yosemite

3.8 on August 20, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 kids) spent two nights in the Sugar Pine Ranch, which seems to be managed by the Groveland Hotel. It's a very nice place about 3 miles east of Groveland itself. The room was simple but clean and nicely done. The grounds of the Sugar Pine Ranch are impeccably maintained. You can tell they have put quite a bit of effort into keeping the place up. There are cottages and a building with 3 units (basically motel rooms). There is a forest behind the units with nice walking paths. There is a huge pool (unheated and no hot tub, but still fun) behind the cottages. There are no microwaves, phones or TV's in the rooms, which is fine when you're getting away, but they also don't have coffee makers in the rooms, so bring your own if you need coffee in the morning like I do! You get tickets for breakfast when you check in at the Groveland Hotel. The food is good, a small buffet of cereals, toasts, muffins, coffee, juices, etc. and some really good cinnamon rolls. You can also order some various egg dishes as part of the price of the room. The drive to Yosemite is beautiful, but it does take about 45 minutes without traffic to get there. Not too bad if you can't get into accommodations in the park, or if you want to save a few bucks and drive.


Thank goodness for air!

3.4 on August 18, 2012

Small, but nice room. It was very hot & we were grateful for the air, which we had toleave on most of the night.


Outstanding!

4.8 on August 17, 2012

Sugar Pine Lodge was a great value. Outstanding breakfast & service!


care, comfort and beautiful surroundings

4.2 on August 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel's Sugar Pine Ranch a few miles from Groveland. The cabin was immaculate and very cosy, among the pine trees with a beautiful swimming pool where we relaxed after walking in Yosemite. We particularly appreciated the care for customers shown by the ranch's tenants who - knowing we came from Italy - even made us find on our bedside table a book on important local people of Italian origin. Very interesting!!! and the cooked breakfast at the Groveland Hotel was particularly good making us regret we could not spend there more days. We'll definetly recommend it.


Quick Trip

4.4 on August 13, 2012

Great hotel! We stayed in Lyle's room....he did not visit. Whew!! Great customer service and breakfast was nice. Thanks!


Groveland Hotel Experieance

3.4 on August 11, 2012

Roomy condo. Needs better beds. Nice restaurant. Good food. Do not like to tip for meals that are included in room rate. Go total buffet!


Do not understand hospitality

2.2 on August 10, 2012

We made our reservations to celebrate our anniversary. We booked on line, stating for BOTH restaurant and room reservation that it was our anniversary. Both reservations were made through the Groveland site. When we checked in we were told the restaurant was closed. We later found out a chef had resigned. We understand the problem, but had we been notified, we may have changed our plans. We only made our reservations there because of the restaurant rating. No compinsation was offered to recognize our issue. The room was Ok, on the small side, but we knew that when we made reservation. Bed was very comfortable, but the bed pillows were awful


Quality, but stick to the suites

3.0 on July 29, 2012

Pros: Very clean and well maintained. Comfy bed with nice linens. Quiet. Great restaurant with fantastic wine selection. Cons: Small shower stall. No TV. No internet access. Short drive from main office. Extra flat electricity charge. Although the room was clean, well maintained and comfortable, it was a little disappointing to have no TV or internet access. The drive from the main office was short drive (just 3 minutes) from the main office, but a little inconvenient nonetheless. The restaurant is really great, though my fish was underseasoned. Room rate, though not unreasonable, is a little high (including the odd extra charge for electricity) given the inconvenience of location and lack of TV and internet.


Qaint cottages on seperate property

3.8 on July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Sugar Pine Ranch cottages that were on a beautiful piece of property. The owners were so friendly and made us feel like we were family. This option to stay at the cottages instead of the hotel was nice because the Ranch had a lovely large well maintaned pool, beautiful country setting amoung large pine trees and small front porches for sitting in the cool evening breeze. We had a wonderful time and would come back again.


Enjoyable stay

4.8 on July 26, 2012

We stayed in Cottage 5 in Sugar Pines. Two rooms with our own balcony. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. There was a lot of attention to detail that made it feel very "home-y". A pleasant surprise was the swimming pool. I don't remember it listed when I reserved the cottage so I was not expecting it. It was tucked up in a private quiet area. It is a large, inviting and exceptionally clean area to swim and relax. The breakfast was delicious and in a beautiful setting.


very neat and clean place

3.6 on July 22, 2012

We arrived late and everything was prepared nicely. Good place to stay close to Yosemite.


Get Experience!

3.6 on July 19, 2012

My friend and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Groveland Hotel. The room we stayed in was clean, super cute and personalized for our stay. We were pleasantly surprised by the free WiFi, and breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay here again!


Groveland Inn is OK, but nothing to write home about

3.2 on July 15, 2012

The main Inn appeared to be much better than the 'cabins'. Unfortunately for us, they were full and we had to take a 'cabin'. The TINY window AC was off, when we arrived (July and 90+ degrees). We turned it on at 4:00 PM and it took until midnight (8 hours) for the room to get tolerable. I think it would have taken longer if the night air hadn't help cool us down. There were 2 rickety chairs, at a table barely 2' in diameter. No place to sit and read, no TV, and very poor lighting in the room (only one small over-head light and one small lamp at just one side of the bed). The mattress was hard as a rock and very uncomfortable. I would Never stay in the cabins again. However, at the 'main' inn, the decor was outstanding and the food was excellent. From what we saw 'on-line' the rooms there seemed great. Ricky and Linda Moore


The Groveland Hotel is real pleasure

4.4 on July 12, 2012

All in all, a great place to stay: Employees are friendly and service oriented. The hotel is pleasant and well appointed. The breakfast is fantastic! And the location is great for traveling to a wide range of great nearby destinations. I highly recommend it!!


Lovely Inn near Yosemite

4.0 on July 11, 2012

Quaint comfortable rooms. . . incredible breakfast. . . dinner experience okay, but just okay. The rest of the inn was great. . . . . Located 25 minutes from Yosemite Park.


Great Breakfast! Dogs Welcome

3.0 on July 10, 2012

My husband, our dog and I stayed at the b&b for 3 nights, wed thru saturday. We were in the Juanita rm which is in the adjoining bldg on the upper floor at the top of the stairs. The room had a queen bed, and was a little tight. If they rearranged the room a little, there could be more space available. The shower was fantastic, great water pressure and nice spray. Pillows for me were awful, one was super squishy and the other was the thickness of two pillows and very hard. Breakfast was tasty, it included: fruit (cantaloupe, honey dew, grapes, watermelon, pineapple), bagels, muffins, cinnamon rolls (yum), various cereals, coffee, tea, oj, some other juice and you can also order off of the small menu for hot items like 2 eggs cooked any style w/ choice of meat, omelets, waffles. Staff was friendly. They let us use two dog dishes and also gave us a stuffed toy for our dog. We didn't have any trouble w/ noise though i think if you were on the opposite side of the main building there might be noise from the bar next door. We ate dinner at the restaurant the first night ($25 voucher at check-in). Food was good. My husband got the trout w/ veggies and I got the blackened prime rib w/ veggies and mashed potatoes. Wish the mashed potatoes didn't have bacon bits. Also got a cup of the New England clam chowder which was excellent for the west coast, we are originally from DC metro area and currently reside in San Jose. We drove to and from Yosemite each day, 1 hr one way to the valley floor and 1.5 hrs one way up to Sentinel Dome on Glacier Point Rd. Potentially longer if you get stuck behind an RV or car that won't pull over. We ate dinner on the drive back at the lodge on the right side of the road about 10 miles before you get into Groveland. They serve diner food, reasonably priced and decent. After a day of hiking, neither of us was too picky since we were starving! :)


Nice stay, nicer staff

3.8 on July 08, 2012

Our stay was comfortable and the food was great but the staff was exceptional. Here is an example of the outstanding service. When I first booked the 2 night stay, I ended up only being able to book a different room for each night. The staff noticed this and worked things out on their own so we ended up in the same room both nights at no extra cost.


Great place!

5 on July 05, 2012

Really loved this place! Has all the nice things one looks for-super comfy bed, super strong water pressure, clean, great food, small bar, beautiful rooms & surroundings, great location, very friendly owners & staff. I would definitely stay here again.


Beautiful historic hotel

3.8 on July 05, 2012

Stopped here after driving over Tioga Pass. Nice historic hotel with excellent restaurant and great breakfast.


Great breakfasts and dinners

3.6 on July 02, 2012

Great breakfast and dinners Cute town to visit near Yosemite


Best stay ever!

3.2 on June 24, 2012

Best place to stay if you are planning to visit yosimete national park.Breakfast was excellent and fantastic service.I'll looking forward to plan my stay again in Groveland whenever I can. I will highly recommend !


CA National Park Trip 2012

3.2 on June 24, 2012

We stayed off property at the Sugar Pine Cottage and ate breakfast at the hotel in the morning. Everything was fine; property was clean, staff were friendly, services was timely, and we really enjoyed hiking around the cottage property which is isolated and quite. I would recommend this property to anyone who is going to be in this area.


Loved our stay

4.4 on June 20, 2012

This place was great. I'm really not a B&B person, but then again, maybe I am. The room was cute, well appointed, & exceptionally clean. Breakfast was great. All the staff we encountered were helpful & friendly. We stayed in the Iron Door room. I get up at 5, my husband not until 7. I mention this because you can exit your room and have a wonderful area to sit and read while having coffee, inside or out on the deck. Our drive into Yosemite was kinda long, but pleasant. Anyway, in-park lodging is more expensive & books up fast. Couldn't ask for a better place to rest weary hiking legs, so we recommend stay here.


Great place

5 on June 19, 2012

Wonderful food and people. Felt very safe and welcome. Great bed and room, very clean. Cant wait to go back.


Les' Openion

4.2 on June 16, 2012

I/We had a really good experience staying at the Groveland Hotel and will stay there again.


Our stay at the Groveland Hotel / Sugar Pine Ranch

5 on June 12, 2012

We toatlly enjoyed our stay at the Sugar Pine Ranch and the breakfast was great.


We loved our stay at the Groveland Hotel!

5 on June 11, 2012

Ditto...


Would certainly go again!

4.2 on June 10, 2012

Loved the plush beds and teddy bear deco in the room. The personalilzed welcome note on the pillow was a nice touch. The restaurant food was gourmet and the staff was very friendly, but being a smallish place, the service was a bit slow.


Outstanding Customer Care

3.6 on June 05, 2012

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and went out of there way to help me get to my next destination and to find a store I needed on the way.


very good

4.2 on May 30, 2012

3 NIGHTS close to Yosemite – good food –very clean (small rooms).


Perfect for two!

3.6 on May 27, 2012

I was fortunate enough to secure a last minute reservation, and was pleasantly surprised at the great service, hospitality, and friendliness of all the staff. Breakfast was perfect - cinnamon buns, english muffins, juices in addition to our choice of choose your own omelet or two egg breakfast. The freshly squeezed orange juice made our morning. The rooms were cozy, clean, and perfect for two.


Realy Great Groveland!

4.6 on May 23, 2012

We stayed in Lyle's room, with a comfy 4 poster bed. The breakfasts were tasty and Barbie our hostess was really helpful about the area. We reserved a dinner in the dining room and were pleased with the professional service from Sharina and Dillon and the food is really good!! We will definitely recommend this hotel for its location just outside Yosemite and the wineries and historical towns within an easy drive. Thanks. We had a great couple of days!


Cute and comfortable

4.6 on May 17, 2012

The room was very comfortable and cozy. The staff were very nice and accommodating. We missed breakfast but had dinner there. The food was delicious but the wait to get it was very long. Our steaks came out overdone so we sent them back but when they came out the second time they were extremely good. From the time we ordered to the time we got our steaks the 2nd time it was probably 1.5 hours.


great value

4.4 on May 06, 2012

Our room was very comfortable. Although at the fron of the hotel it was vedry quiet. DInner exceeded our expectations and the rbeakfast was outstanding with many choices on the buffet as well as cooked to order items. A excellent value.


Groveland Hotel

3.8 on May 01, 2012

Older hotel that has been remodeled in the last few years. Cozy warm environment. Rooms are small but well furnished. Great breakfast


We met Lyle the resident ghost and had a great time

4.6 on April 25, 2012

We had a great stay. The service, rooms, and location were perfect. We also enjoyed the historical element surrounding the hotel and stories of Lyle the ghost.


Ghosts!

4.8 on April 23, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. The orbs were out in force in Lyle's room! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.


A great stay and great for dog owners!

4.6 on April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Groveland Hotel for just one night to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. We were sure pleased to be able to bring my dog! They supplied a dog bed, and let him choose which treat he wanted to keep. The room, Lyle's room, was adorable (although Lyle did not appear!). The bed was very comfortable, the towels soft and plush. I made reservations at the restaurant, but when we went to look at the bar, the bartender advised us that, if we wanted to eat at one of the two tables in the bar, our dog would be welcome! And he was! Food was pretty good, service excellent! I will definitely return!


Enjoyed our stay!

3.4 on April 13, 2012

We really enjoyed staying up the road at Sugar Pines Cottage. So peaceful and beautiful. We really had the place to ourselves. The owners were so friendly and accomodating, a real pleasure to talk to. At the Groveland Hotel, we had 2 breakfasts - staff was always friendly and helpful too. We would stay there again!


A wonderful time at Groveland

4.8 on February 29, 2012

We had a great stay. Dinner at the restaurant outdoors was delicious. We stayed in a cabin down the road at Sugar Pine Ranch, and it was lovely. Breakfasts were great. Accessibility to Yosemite locations was very convenient. I would definitely recommend Groveland. No complaints!


Valentines In Groveland

4.6 on February 15, 2012

This is our second year celebrating Valentine's Day in Groveland and the food was once again AMAZING!


wonderful ambiance.

3.8 on January 25, 2012

Very comfortable and charming. I would easily stay again.


Great little getaway

3.8 on November 23, 2011

Stayed two nights at the Groveland Hotel using a Living Social Voucher. We enjoyed our stay for the most part, with a few small exceptions. The Groveland bills itself as a Yosemite B&B, but the actual park entrance is a 30 minute drive, and once in the park you'll go about another 30 minutes to reach the main parking area. If you approach the area from anywhere in the east, you'll want to make sure the Tioga Pass Rd. isn't snowed under. We just missed our weather window and had to make a much longer drive due to the snow conditions in the park. The hotel itself is a genuinely old building, and as such has very thin walls, only an issue if you are a light sleeper. Food at the hotel was fantastic, the waiting staff courteous and professional. Other dining options are a really good Mexican place just down the street. Rooms in the hotel are slightly smaller than they look on the website videos, but all have unique charm and flavor. Free Wifi at the hotel was flaky, sometimes working and sometimes not, and be aware that most cell phones will have limited coverage due to the remote location. Overall a nice place to stay.


great mini vacation

5 on November 15, 2011

We had a fabulous stay at the Groveland Hotel. Everything was perfect, from the location, hotel accomdations, food and friendly staff. Also, it is so close to Yosemite, in half an hour one can be entering the Park. Most definetly would tell all my friends about it.


Nice people - okay property

2.6 on November 08, 2011

The staff was great - very friendly. My husband and I stayed here with our LivingSocial deal Nov 3-5th 2011. Rooms are small but that was fine (it is an old property), they had what we needed. For the most part they were clean where it mattered (bathroom/bed/floor). Bed was comfy (we stayed in the sierra...#2). Breakfast buffet was good. The dinner was average (we both had steaks and mine was charred a little and fatty - just dealt with it!). I wouldn't have been happy to pay full price for the dinner - and since I didn't, I was fine. If they would just have a maintenance person or anyone...go around and clean the throw pillow covers, comforter, window shades, outside chairs, railings, windows...just keep up with it and make it look clean everywhere then it would stand to do very well. I just don't like to see stains or watermarks, bird poop...where it can be easily cleaned. We did enjoy the property's upstairs fireplace (electric but cozy) and played a game, and overall the place is nice and clean. Again, the staff was all very nice, friendly and upbeat and no issue at all. I just don't know why someone would not want to keep the place up...it could be a great and wonderful place instead of just nice and okay. Just needs some loving!


Groveland Review

4.2 on November 08, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Groveland in Charlie's Room. The room is a little small but we liked the quaint feel to the room with the old furniture and fixtures. Service was excellent and the breakfast was pretty good.


What A Fun Place To Stay

5 on November 07, 2011

Groveland Hotel is such a cute place to stay! The food was outstanding and the staff bent over backwards to make sure that our stay was the best. The little town of Groveland is a must see as well and everyone is just so friendly and outgoing. I will definitely be back!


Cozy and Friendly

5 on November 02, 2011

What a great base to spend some time in Yosemite. Everyone is warm and friendly, the food's great, and the Iron Door is right next door if anyone's interested in a nightcap.


was ok

3.4 on October 31, 2011

My gf was freaked out with the old theme... I thought it was interesting and fun. We had the double twin bed rooms. Being rustic is no excuse to have original mattresses from back in the day though. As a side sleeper i woke up a few times with sore shoulders. Room sound insulation into the hallway was minimal, luckily no partiers or drunks those nights.


Groveland Hotel

4.8 on September 30, 2011

Besides a wonderful dinner and breakfast plus a lovely room we can bring our dog!


Okay, website not a true reflection.

2.8 on September 29, 2011

The room was okay but the cleanliness throughout the hotel , we felt, was not up to standard - especially the dining room. Being on the main street the noise level was high 'til the early hours of the morning. On the plus side the dinner in the evening was excellent, though expensive.


Yosemite Trip

5 on September 29, 2011

We received fabulous service. Great breakfast, friendly service, cozy accomodations.


Two Aussie Gals

4.6 on September 27, 2011

Thoroughly loved this place and can highly recommend. We just loved sitting on that big veranda with a cocktail watching the world go by. The rooms were spotless! A little tizzy for my personal liking but many enjoy. The beds were sooo comfy, most welcoming after a long plane trip. We found the menu interesting, and even better, we were able to sit outside and sip a local vino and relish on our tucker. All good in my books!


Yosemite Trip

3.6 on September 25, 2011

Very Friendly. The Hotel is well maintained for a place built in 1847 and on the National Register of Historic Places. Food was also very good. The Hotel is about an hour from the Yosemite valley.


An hour from Yosemite

4.6 on September 23, 2011

The staff here puts a priority on service. This is a lovely old place in a small town about 30 miles from the edge of the park. It's dog & people friendly. There are places closer to Yosemite but not where you'll sleep &the eat as well.


sleeping with lyle

3.8 on September 22, 2011

groveland hotel is an interesting place to stay a few nights.. we staying in "lyle" room which was very pleasant and clean.. victorian rooms are normally very small, but Lyle's room was one of the larger ones.. the room was quiet and peaceful, even though the road to Yosemite was only a hundred yards away. The service was better than average, the owner and employees were very pleasant and nice to be around.. The bar was well stocked, and the bartender was friendly and polite.. The food at dinner was excellent.. The only drawback was that it took an exceedingly long time to get served, especially between meal courses; otherwise, it was nice staying here. I would recommend staying here in the future..


September weekend in Groveland

4.2 on September 19, 2011

What a great place to stay! Just minutes from Yosemite. I've driven through Groveland for years and always wanted to stay overnight. This was perfect! And the staff was exceptional. Kudos to Barbara and to the restaurant staff and everyone for making us feel so at-home. We'll definitely be back!


Sugar Pine Ranch rooms too noisy

2.8 on September 17, 2011

The cottages are very nice indeed if the one next door is empty, but as soon as you have neighbours, their air conditioning will keep you up all night, as your own room walls will almost shake. Otherwise, great location and overall rating


Review of Groveland Hotel

3.4 on September 12, 2011

A very nice stay overall, although a little expensive given location.


groveland stay

4.0 on September 11, 2011

We stayed in the smallest room which was quite adequate as long as you are not a "fluffy" person. The room was about 2 miles from the hotel so the commute was a bit of a hassle to get to the meals, but the atmosphere was peaceful and scenic. The meals at the Groveland hotel were great, and I was especially impressed with the complementary breakfast, which was wonderful, the best breakfast we had on the whole trip!


Great place for relaxing after a long hike at Yosemite

4.2 on September 08, 2011

This is an historical hotel placed in a little village that reminds the era of the gold rush. We stayed in a Cottage 3.6 miles away of the Hotel towards Yosemite. The Cottage was really confortable and clean. The drawback was that we had to drive back to the hotel to get breakfast. Although the breakfast was really good and totally compensate the driving. Hot food and a delicious Buffett of fresh fruit, cereals, squeezed orange juice, bagels, and so on... I totally recommend staying at this hotel if you're planning to go to Yosemite from west and don't want to spend a fortune for a room at any of the Hotels inside the park.


Shabby, no maid service, very expensive

2.0 on September 08, 2011

lumpy, uncomfortable old bed and couch, slimey sheets... not dirty, but shabby. Filthy windows. Requested maid service after 12 noon it was not provided, when I spoke to the front desk about it they would not get someone, and said the maid came by at 12:10 and a man was sleeping, not true, but even so I was out of the room at 12:10.. for $300 per night I did not get my bed made!


Great value, nice and cozy.

4.4 on September 07, 2011

The place is not cheap but price is comparable to nearby hotels, chain hotels, and BBs. The hotel is really nice and cozy and the service is very good. Rooms are clean and nice. Dining is not cheap but extremely good. Breakfast (included) is awesome! They have free wi-fi. I would stay there again.


Victorian elegance near the wilderness

4.0 on September 01, 2011

Had a great meal in the restaurant. Rooms were nice. Staff was very friendly. Only negative was the shower water temperature was not stable. Continually going hot/cold/hot.


Yosemite Vacation

5 on August 28, 2011

I am a city girl and although I like scenery, I do not like being too far from every day convenience. Groveland was perfect. There were several restaurants, a grocery store, and it was close to a beautiful golf course. Not to mention a great location for driving into Yosemite. The rooms were clean and cozy, breakfast was good, and there were nice special touches (arranging the bears on the bed in different positions daily and cookies with a nice welcome card at check in). The price seems a little steep, but once you get there and you see what the other options are, it is worth the money. The only negative (if there is one) is that there is road noise if your room is in the front of the hotel. So, if you are a light sleeper, book a room towards the rear. Our room was in the front, but noise doesn't bother us, so it wasn't an issue.


Convenient Stay Outside Yosemite

4.0 on August 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed in one of the cottages for two nights. It was great because it gave us time to rest before and after our hike in Yosemite. The location was nice and secluded, the older couple that run the place are extremely nice. Pros: Huge, deep, beautiful pool. Comfortable clean rooms. Some wildlife around. And just 45 minutes from Yosemite Cons: Bathroom was small. The rooms weren't ready on time (cleaning took longer than expected that day)


A Nice place near the Yosemite

3.8 on August 26, 2011

The owners are very kindly and the site is very nice. Breakfast at the Hotel was really nice. We enjoyed it a lot !


Groveland Hotel

4.0 on August 24, 2011

Shower was either scalding or cold, low on servers..but overall it is a very nice place and the restaurant is superb.


Please get more cleaning staff!

3.6 on August 24, 2011

Hi, we stayed in one of the lodges, which was lovely, and the owners were very special people. We enjoyed them as much as the beautiful surroundings. We really only had one problem, and that was the cleaning staff took forever to get to our place. You should really try to get a secondary crew. We waited until after 6pm to get into our place. We were very weary. The breakfast at the hotel was very lovely.


Usefull B and B

3.2 on August 23, 2011

Convenient and nice stay, 1 hour drive from Yosemite NP.


Overnight stop in Groveland

3.0 on August 22, 2011

Very pretty and convenient for my trip through Yosemite. A bit overpriced for the size of the room. Very comfortable.


Good location, nice swimming pool

3.0 on August 21, 2011

We stayed one night only, we could have done two as the location was great. The little in the forest small two beds rooms were nicely decorated. You need to take the car back to the main hotel to have your breakfast (4 miles), but the breakfast is gorgious. Highly recommanded, let consider a bit pricey.


Awesome Stay

5 on August 18, 2011

Everything was really great from the room, to dinner to a fabulous breakfast! The Groveland Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.


ONE SUMMER NIGHT AT THE GROVELAND HOTEL

3.4 on August 16, 2011

Overnight and dinnernight before annual river raft trip on the Tuolumne


Recommend

2.8 on August 15, 2011

This is a clean and charming bed and breakfast hotel with excellent food. It takes about an hour and half to get to Yosemite Valley from here.


Gold Rush Town

3.4 on August 13, 2011

This is a worthy hotel in an old Gold Rush Town high in the hills. Small room but well equips with flat screen TV and ground coffee maker (excellent coffee). Nice touch with bears on beds and home made biscuits. Restaurant meal was excellent as was wine list. Try the Iron Door Saloon next door for a great night out. Would definately stay again.


Review of hotel stay

5 on August 09, 2011

We were pleased with the stay-staff were supportive to our needs.


Hotel Great, shame about the food

3.0 on August 09, 2011

Rooms are nice but initially we were in the cabins which are 3 milesfrom town. The front of house were very friendly, shame the breakfast & dinner let the place down - avoid the restaurant


Perfect for what we needed

3.6 on August 04, 2011

My husband and I stayed here during our recent trip to Yosemite. The room was small but clean and the staff was very nice and friendly. The hotel was about a 30 minute drive to the park gates but the beds were very comfortable after a long day of hiking!


Our Groveland Hotel Stay

3.8 on August 02, 2011

Ian and Chris Rossiter from Australia booked the Groveland over the internet after checking Trip Advisor. It was a pleasant surprise to find clean comfortable rooms with a wonderful in house restaurant. It was the perfect base to stay for our Yosemite adventures with friendly staff and quiet rooms. Would stay again and recommend to our friends and family.


Groveland, July 25, 2011

2.8 on July 29, 2011

The towels were great! A little disappointed in the room. Noisy air conditioner. Bathroom arrangement awkward. Breakfast was very nice, loved the fresh squeezed orange juice.


An excellent small property option about a half hour from yosemite

4.2 on July 25, 2011

A small hotel (less than 20 rooms) which offers personalized service in the quaint village of Groveland located about a half hour from gates to Yosemite. Bed was very comfortable. Pricing included breakfast. All staff was very friendly and willing to assist in any way possible. Definitely recommend this to those interested in a smaller, less expensive option to the high prices in the Park.


July 2011

3.8 on July 22, 2011

Loved the hotel. The room was nicely decorated and the breakfast was excellent. We loved the location and the town. Very quaint!


uptown cottage

4.6 on July 19, 2011

Close to both park and town. Room is clean, though there is no microwave or fridge. Breakfast is free and very nice.


OK, but loud

2.8 on July 19, 2011

We stayed a Friday night at the Groveland Hotel. There was a band playing below in the courtyard...at checkin the clerk said the band quit at 10 pm. They actually quit at 11:05, and the noise from below continued for a while. It's also right on Highway 120, so the road traffic was also loud early in the morning. This is an OK place, but not a quiet place to relax.


a nice getaway

3.4 on July 19, 2011

We stayed at Sugar Pine Ranch for 3 days last June which is 3.5 miles away and managed by Groverland Hotel. Everything about the room was perfect except for the light because it was kind of dark. The breakfast provided every morning at Groverland Hotel was delicious and generous, with choices of hot meals as well as bread, juice, fruits and cereal. The only downside is there is no TV and internet connection at Sugar Pine Ranch, but they do have free wifi at the restaurant which is located at Groverland Hotel. And the only mobile phone provider that works there is Verizone.


Excellent stay

4.4 on July 18, 2011

This is one of the best places around Yosemite and so close to drive back and forth. My four year old son totally enjoyed the place. We defitely recommend this place for anybody and plan to stay there every chance we have.


Groveland hotel but the cottages really

3.2 on July 13, 2011

This is a good little place. Nothing extraordinary, but it saves you money on breakfast. We were not at the main hotel, but 3 miles down the road at the little cottages. Small, but satisfactory. They left water for us each day. That was nice, it was sort of warm. The air works for sure.


The Breakfast was great

3.6 on July 12, 2011

We stayed 4 nights there and overall was good. People were friendly and the location was great considering that price range. The real problem was the room. We lived in Sugar Pine Ranch that has no TV, internet and coffee maker! If we need hot water for a cup of tea/coffee you have to drive 3.6 miles to the main building to get it. The bathroom was newly renovated which can tell for sure. But we needeed the internet to check weather forcecast as well as attractions but there is none! Their breakfast was excellent which was beyond my expectation! For free breakfast (you only pay tips), we got hot omelette, self-served fresh squzzed orange juice, fresh fruits, breads and bagels, and more! The decor of the hotel was nice too. I can feel they try their best to run the hotel but those rooms at Sugar Pine Ranch will need an upgrade for sure.


Just right for us

4.0 on July 07, 2011

The Groveland is definitely a delightful place to stay in Groveland. I wish their reservation system would point out in which building the room you are booking is, though. That wouldn't be so hard. Some are 3.5 miles from the others. Though for peace & quiet, the Sugar Pine Ranch (where we stayed) is probably the better location. We stayed in "John's Cottage", aka #5, which is closest to the road. But it's still farther from the street than the main hotel, which might have marks on it from car mirrors. :) John's Cottage had a big TV with DVD/VCR player. This is necessary as there's no TV out there. But a visit to the Pizza Factory in town gets you DVD rentals for a buck. We ended up watching three whole movies in our cozy cabin. Food: Our dinner in the restaurant was excellent, though we were very tired from our long day in the park. And the breakfasts were amazing; far beyond what I expected for an "included" hotel breakfast. It's a well-stocked buffet with your eggs cooked to order. A great way to start a day of adventure!


Interesting spot near Yosemite

4.2 on July 05, 2011

Pricey but nice place to stay. Very clean. Not much to do in the town, but only about 30 minutes from the park.


Summer in Yosemite

2.8 on July 02, 2011

The Iron Room was small but one needs to remember that this is an old historic hotel that was not built in an era of spacious rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate with a shower stall and better water pressure than many name recognition hotels. Breakfast consisted of an extensive buffet (including make your own fresh sqeezed orange juice) and a hot item menu as well. There was no reason to leave hungry before exploring Yosemite National Park. Dinner was adeqaute with a nice wine list but on the night that we were there, we noticed that entrees were delivered 2 at a time, even to a large table of 6 and service was somewhat slow but courteous.


No Title

1.6 on June 28, 2011

We were with the impression that our room was in the town of Groveland with/near the hotel. It was 3 miles away. We had to drive back to town for food, etc. There was no cell service. no telephone for emergency. no working alarm clock (no wake up calls - since this was a cottage). We thought it would be in town so we could get to a restaurant. no ice. no frig. no place to put toiletries in the bathroom. no tv. no iron. very bare room far from town. This was the MOST expensive room on our entire week long travels from Carmel to Yosemite. It was the worst room. Will never recommend it to anyone. When we spoke up about our disappointment, there was no offer to rectify it although there was a vacancy sign outside at the hotel where we booked from. Bad business.


Cottages at Sugar Pine Ranch

4.6 on June 27, 2011

Fabulous! Cozy, yet spacious, cottage. Loved having more room, privacy, and a private balcony over what the hotel had to offer. (Plus, the cottages have a pool weather permiting!) Short, easy drive to the hotel for complimentary breakfast each morning that was delicious with a variety of food choices. We loved eating outside on the patio!


Fabulous, restful spot - but short-staffed!

3.8 on June 23, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at Groveland recently, as did our dog and kids, and truly enjoyed breakfast and some dinner/drinks on the outdoor patio. The dinner was scrumptious, and I especially loved the fresh-squeezed OJ during breakfast. My only ding was that they were exceptionally short-staffed during breakfast every day. One poor waitress was litterally running herself ragged trying to serve the dozens upon dozens of weekend guests all by herself. It was painful to watch. They need to hire 2+ servers in the morning, and at those rates, they can afford it. Not cheap. Lastly, as others have posted, it's a solid hour drive into yosemite valley and there is serious traffic at the gates in the mornings. Drive in early, early!! We also saw gridlocked traffic leaving the park on Sat afternoon and evening, and left much later than planned to avoid the traffic which wasn't even moving for several hours. I don't know if that's normal, but it might be.


Nestled a short drive from Yosemite.

4.2 on June 20, 2011

Proximity to Yosemite makes Groveland Hotel convenient. It was a bit pricey, but very clean and had friendly service. We had one of the cabins and it was well maintained.


Groveland is fantastic!

4.8 on June 18, 2011

Peggy the owner was a joy to chat with and she even helped us build a bouquet of flowers for our wedding. The staff at the hotel was great and Barbie the bar tender was more than helpful in many ways. We will absolutely stay there again if we get out that direction.


it was ok

3.2 on June 13, 2011

Bathroom was very small and had no charm. Bedside table/lamp on one side of the bed only. Dinner was very good.


Weekend at historic Groveland Hotel, Groveland, CA

3.8 on June 08, 2011

It was very easy to book via BedandBreakfast.com. Thank you!


Sugar Pine Ranch cabin

2.6 on June 06, 2011

The facilities in the cabin were quite basic, particularly in view of the cost e.g. no wardrobe or drawer space at all, no coffee making facilities, no microwave etc. for preparing a meal.


Sugar Pine Ranch, good location for exploring Yosemite but nothing special

2.6 on May 26, 2011

We stayed at the Sugar Pine Ranch which is a 3 mile drive from the Groveland Hotel and just outside the town. It's in a nice woodland location but quite isolated in terms of proximity to the town. The accommodation consisted of small cabins, joined in a row. Everything was clean and quiet - the best feature was the bathroom which was modern and had a good shower, but otherwise it was very basic. Negatives for us were the lack of a fridge or tea/coffee making facilities which have thus far been available in all comparable accommodations we've stayed at, and the free wi-fi advertised was only available at the Groveland hotel 3 miles away so not much good to you unless you want to drive over there especially to check your e-mails. The breakfast was also in the Groveland hotel so we had to drive over there from the Sugar Pine Ranch each morning - not such a huge inconvenience but a negative point nonetheless. On the plus side the breakfast buffet was v. good and had a broad choice. We enjoyed our trip to Yosemite but I probably wouldn't stay here again as I felt it was very pricey for what we got. Would give it an overall 5.5 out of 10.


Nice place, but needs some work

3.6 on May 25, 2011

We stayed at the Sugar Pine Ranch, which is part of the hotel, but a little farther down 120. The cabin is very clean, and the bed comfortable and there is plenty of hot water and heat. We thought that for $175/night that it should have had a few more amenities. Furnishings were very spartan and the decor pretty much non-existent. The night stands were very small, not enough room to put a book and a glass of water next to the alarm clock. There was only a reading light on one side but both my husband and I like to read in bed. There is a small table with coffee maker and two not very comfortable chairs. It needs a couple of comfortable chairs and a bureau or table to set things on. The glasses were on a little shelf near the floor, about shin level. The other complaint was the curtains, which were a little thin and it seemed like people could see in. On the positive side, it is a very pretty area, close to Yosemite, and the breakfast that is included is very good. We also dined at the restaurant for dinner one night. The cheese course and salad were very good but the entree, Ahi tuna, was not as good as what we've had elsewhere. All that being said, I would not rule out staying there again, but would most likely check out another place.


Groveland Hotel - May 2011

4.8 on May 18, 2011

Service, food and ambiance were outstanding. The twin beds were a little small and noisy. I recommend a room with a larger bed.


groveland

1.6 on May 17, 2011

The cottages were small and not well appointed for more than day travelers. TOO expensive for the size and amenities. No where to place our bags or clothes. Tables were too small to sit at. Easily fixed with a fold out table. Outside chairs and table were cheap and too small to enjoy the beautiful scenic yard and fauna. Not a fireplace but a faux woodstove with gas heat and a one person jetted tub. Lights and plugs faulty and a fire hazard and too far from the main hotel (3 miles away out of town)to enjoy breakfast earlier. Breakfast was confusing and unsure of the items and time. Breakfast buffet was not kept up and hot plate portions were very small and they ran out of food and thier speciality potatoes dish. Peggy confronted one of the customers in front of the dinning room. She was harsh and standoffish. Only greeted one table both days we were there. Final word.. Way Over priced....


review

2.4 on May 16, 2011

I believe I reserved a room in the main hotel and was in a cottage down the road.


review

2.6 on May 14, 2011

We were in the cottage few miles down the road. The cottages are cutes, clean, but not too far from the road. Overall it was ok, but not great, because of the price tag, which is rather high.


Dunn & Arents

4.8 on May 13, 2011

I was lucky enough to stay here because of Living Social. I had no idea what to expect, and loved every minute of it. Of course there were quirks like the teddy bears and the creeky beds, but it was all very enjoyable. The best part was the dining. The waitresses were absolutely amazing and I felt so welcome. I am glad that we were not treated differently because we received a deal. It was a wonderful experience, and I would definitely come back!


Charming and Quaint

3.8 on May 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Groveland Hotel using a voucher through LivingSocial. We invited another couple that accompanied us and stayed in a different room at the same hotel. We thought this would be a convenient place to stay so we could hike it Yosemite without having to camp. Upon arrival we received a free bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries. We were definitely younger than the average guests at this hotel (mid 20s), but had a great time. The breakfast buffet was delicious and so were the dinners! The Iron Door saloon next door has $2 PBRs too! The drive from the hotel to Yosemite Valley was about 45 mins - 1 hour, so if you don't mid te commute, this is a great place to stay!


Groveland Hotel

4.2 on May 13, 2011

Great service and atmosphere. Room was tiny but very clean and bed was great. Breakfast was very good.


Groveland in Spring

3.6 on May 11, 2011

We enjoyed one night at the Groveland Hotel on our way to Yosemite. The room was small but quaint and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious.


excellent!

5 on May 11, 2011

we really weere delighted with everything about our stay. the food was very fresh and super delicious! The room was clean and had bottle of wine and choclate strwberries for us! A cute tedd bear in different poses each day and the wonderful balcony right off our room! patio dining was also a great treat! and no sight of Lyle :) thank you!


Nice, quaint hotel.

3.2 on May 10, 2011

I stayed at the Groveland for a little getaway . . . it is a nice, quiet hotel that was exactly what I wanted. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the dining staff were top-notch. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the ribeye steak for dinner. The wine selection was awesome and extensive. I had a great time.


2 night stay

4.0 on May 06, 2011

The food in the restaurant was great both for dinner and breakfast. The beds were very comfortable, I was able to get a good night sleep for both nights. I would stay here again.


Groveland Hotel after 20 years

3.8 on May 04, 2011

We stayed at the Groveland about 20 years ago the last time. The rooms and hotel service are as good as we remembered it. The breakfasts were very good, overall a good value. We did have dinner there and informed staff when we made our reservation that we were celebrating a 40th wedding anniversary. We were a bit disappointed that the issue was not addressed by hotel staff during our dinner at the Groveland. Food was not as good as we remembered it 20 years ago, although we were told a new chef was being trained. We were also disappointed that we received no AAA room discount, missing the cutoff for such by three days. Afterall, we did reserve three rooms, which was a lot of money. All in all, still a great place to stay.


Excellent location with personality

3.6 on April 27, 2011

A different experience from chain hotels with a personal touch and great food and drink. Highly recommended, particularly if you like something a little different.


Great Stay in Groveland

4.4 on April 27, 2011

I enjoyed one of the most restful nights sleep in a long time, making my visit to the Groveland area a truly wonderful time. I stayed in one of the small cabins at Sugar Pine Ranch. The cabin was immaculately clean, very quaint and charming, and the bed so comfortable I slept sounder than usual. I highly recommend both the Groveland Hotel and the Sugar Pine Ranch for your stay in Groveland. Oh, forgot about the breakfast - fantastic!


Groveland

4.8 on April 26, 2011

The Groveland Hotel was built during the gold rush, so I expected the rooms to be small. The room was a bit snug, but it was perfect for us...very cozy. The people were very helpful and nice. The breakfast was GREAT!!! cinnamon rolls, and you can even order omelets and squeeze your own fresh OJ. I LOVED the breakfast. At night the hotel has a restaurant which had great food as well. Mushroom ravioli was amazing!!!! The hotel has a friendly cat which stays around and you can pet him and he's furry and cute! The featherbeds were super comfy. Also it is only about 45 minutes away from Yosemite, which was AMAZING and BEAUTIFUL!!!! Every one should visit here!! I had a relaxing and great time!!! I definitely want to go back. :)


Our stay at the Groveland Hotel

3.8 on April 20, 2011

The girl that met us at the front door (Tanya) was of great assistance. She was friendly and helpful. She showed us our room and around the hotel. She explained everything wonderfully. Next time in the area we will be staying at this hotel.


Restful, relaxing, and delicious breakfast!

4.2 on April 17, 2011

The Groveland Hotel was lovely - we enjoyed our stay very much and would absolutely to stay here again in the future. Our room was comfortable, the hotel was quiet and relaxing, and the food in the dining room was delicious! We tried several of the hot breakfast items during our stay and they were ALL yummy!


lola montez room

3.8 on April 04, 2011

My boyfriend and I had an offer from livingsocial.com and we decided to take it. We booked in the Lola montez room and it was very cute but the beds were really squeaky and the shower was ridiculous to handle since it kept going from scalding hot to freezing cold even when I haven't touched the knobs. The food is amazing and everybody is really friendly. There's also a really sweet cat named Lola that likes to get attention from people who stay there. Good overall experience.


Groveland Hotel, just outside Yosemite Natl Park

4.0 on March 29, 2011

The owner, Peggy went out of her way to make you feel at home...we had a lovely time there. Yosemite was closed during our stay due to severe weather, but the cozy feather bed and the fireplace made for a wonderful stay. Great breakfasts


Charming

4.0 on March 26, 2011

The best shower I've ever had! Rooms are noisy though. Roars from the plumbing and s'mores from the other guests.


Great place for a week end near Yosemite Park

3.0 on March 17, 2011

It's a very nice village, back to the 19th century, small and cozy. People is very kind.


Groveland Hotel A Perfect Get-away

4.8 on February 27, 2011

We stay at Groveland Hotel every time we visit Yosemite. The accommodations are sumptuous and cozy. They always provide a nice bed for our dog and a super nice bed for us! We love it!


Groveland Hotel

4.2 on February 26, 2011

A mid week stay at the Groveland was a wonderful experience. The owners are outstanding hosts, service is great and the food excellent.


A room with some history; a nice change from the usual hotel room

3.8 on February 16, 2011

This hotel has a couple ghosts, but I didn't see them. It was very nice to spend a night in a hotel that had some history. Much better than staying at the usual chain hotel. The food in the restaurant downstairs was GREAT! I will stay here again.


Groveland Hotel

3.0 on February 13, 2011

We had looked at the rooms online and chose the one we liked. We were given another room when we arrived and the room seemed much smaller. The online computer was on a bar high table with only dining room chairs. The people who served us were all above standard, but the property was below what we expected.


Wonderful

4.4 on February 09, 2011

The Groveland Hotel is wonderful. The room was very nice and cozy. We had dinner at the hotel, and I wasn't sure what to expect, it was an amazing dinner. I had the Ahi and I so happy with my meal and the entire dining experience. I would definitely stay and dine here again.


Cute, clean room

3.2 on January 07, 2011

Regret that there's no rating for "ambiance" or "locale." Great place to be in historic Groveland. You will learn much CA history in a brief time. Loved the fireplace in the parlor and the outside veranda.


Repairs lacking in the upstairs room

3.0 on January 02, 2011

I had requested 2 separate rooms next to each other as we were traveling with our 2 grown sons. For some reason, they had to change our rooms and told us they were giving us an upgrade. However, the inn was not busy and we couldn't figure out what the change was about. Our sons ended up on the 2nd floor in a room which was in deperate need of repairs. The room was very cold which they were unable to heat. The beds in that room squeaked and were old and uncomfortable. The shower taps were held together with vice grips. Although the service was absolutely outstanding here, we overpaid, especially for the 2nd room with the twin beds. The meals were great and we were thankful for all of the information provided to us regarding Yosemite and the use of snow chains.


Great Value

4.2 on November 30, 2010

Stayed before our day trip into Yosemite. Clean and comfortable rooms, much nicer than expected and the price was reasonable even on a holiday weekend.


Beautiful but uncomfortable

3.4 on October 24, 2010

We have stayed at this place many times because it is one of the few pet friendly places to stay near Yosemite. (They are actually a little over 50 miles from Yosemite, which is an hour by car.) We've stayed in many of the rooms and two things continue to be a problem, though, after 4 years and many visits. These are: 1/Almost no place to unpack and put your clothing away. There are no closets....only small antique wardrobes which have no bars to hang clothing only hooks. The dressers are old and have a hard time opening and closing. 2/ Very low water pressure on the shower heads. Water pressure seems to be fine on all faucets, but hot and cold water are not consistent in the shower. 3/ Extremely uncomfortable beds. In every room we have slept in over the last 4 years. (we've rented at least 5 different rooms and every experience with the mattresses is the same.) The beds look beautiful to the eye because they appear to be feather beds, but the mattresses below the 'feather beds' are hard and painful. For the rates they charge, ($145.00 - $245.00), it would seem to me that they could provide decent nights sleep. In addition over the last four years, the menu has increased in price. The cook is trying to be very 'gourmet', but for the location the prices are ridiculous. ($34. for a rib-eye steak that is not prime!) This review is not one that is easy to write. I rarely write reviews like this believing that eventually, a hotel will change, but it has been two days now since our return and my back is still in pain and my wallet is asking me why I continue to stay there.


The ratings I have given may mislead so read on

3.0 on October 20, 2010

My reason for saying read on is that reviewing this B&B is not easy. The beds were WONDERFUL (deep feather beds, so luxurious) the room cute and chintzy, but the room was very small and the bathroom was very basic. Having said that, it was the best shower I have had in any hotel anywhere. And the bears were gorgeous. The service was friendly, but standards varied quite dramatically and the place is generally chaotic and seemed to be very short-staffed. The dinner was exceptional the first night (as good as any gourmet restaurant in Europe) when the chef was in attendance, and I loved the very personal interest he took in our satisfaction. The second night, when he was not there, was nothing like as good and vegetables we obviously left-over from the day before. The blackbean and vegetable base of my duck dish was over-salted and not at all good. The duck, on the other hand, was superb. It is a shame, with a little more effort and better organisation this could be one of the best places I have ever stayed. As it was I would probably stay there if I was in the town, but I am not sure I would go out of my way to go back if it meant a diversion.


Groveland Hotel & Sugar Pine Lodge

3.8 on October 19, 2010

My family of four stayed at cabin #8 at the Sugar Pine Lodge which associated with the Groveland Hotel and is located 3.7 mi from the Groveland Hotel. Arrival at the Sugar Pine Lodge was tough after sundown since there were no lights at the entrance, lodge, cabins, etc. The cabin contained basic essentials (two clean and comfortable double beds, two small tables & chairs, and a tiny bathroom. Overall, a very basic unit; do not plan for extras such as a small refrig, microwave, etc. For four people, its a bit busy at the bathroom in the morning; other than that, the cabin is fine as a sleeping room. The complimentary breakfast (served in town at the Groveland Hotel), was very well done, fruits, breads, etc. For no frills lodging (sleeping room/cabin), this unit will suit the budget traveler. If your looking for something beyond a sleeping room/cabin, one may wish to try a larger (higher priced) cabin/unit. Enjoyed my stay.


Groveland

4.4 on October 14, 2010

We stayed two nights and really enjoyed our stay, we had and great dinner on Sat. night and all day Sunday all we were thinking and talking about was our expectations for Sunday's dinner, we skipped lunch so that we would be hungrier for dinner. We would definitely stay here again, matter of fact we discussed going there for Thanksgiving if it were not such a long drive from San Diego. Thank to Peggy and her staff for such a wonderful time. Tim Doyle


Outstanding in every way

5 on October 12, 2010

We were so amazed and delighted with the Groveland Hotel. Everything surpassed our expectations from the delightful room to the warm and wonderful service we were given by all staff members. The food was a wonderful experience, particularly the breakfast served to order. So much more than the "typical" continental breakfast. We would recommend the Groveland Hotel to everyone. It was a wonderful experience.


We loved the Groveland!

3.6 on October 06, 2010

This is just a lovely Bed and Breakfast! Easy access to beautiful Yosemite, a stellar breakfast, and nice folks. I highly recommend. Patti


Unplugged and Relaxed

4.6 on October 05, 2010

Our stay was at Groveland Hotel's Sugar Pine Ranch 3.6 miles from the main hotel. There was no phone, no TV, but plenty of peace and quiet! We totally enjoyed our stay! The breakfast at the hotel filled us up and got us out to enjoy the sites without having to deal with all the traffic within Yosemite. The staff were friendly and checked to make sure we weren't lacking anything. We'll defintely recommend it to friends who are travelling to Yosemite!


Wonderful time

4.0 on September 29, 2010

I thought the owner of the Groveland Hotel was very accomodating. I enjoyed conversing with her and will visit again in the near future. Wonderful!


First time in Groveland - beautiful town

2.8 on September 28, 2010

I don't know if it was because we had an 8 o'clock dinner reservation, but we were not offered dessert. They definitely were closing up for the night. The food was wonderful that evening and breakfast the next morning was great.


Original

3.2 on September 24, 2010

This hotel is very original and personal, in a typical old american house, a nice change from all the standardized hotel chains.


my stay a groveland

3.8 on September 14, 2010

everyone was nice and polite and service was great. I liked my room.All the bears and covers and pillows were very nice. Come to think of it, there so many, it was a challenge to find a place for them other than the bed. Do wish I had room level control of the A/C and that the plumbing was quieter. But expected for an old building. When I really took in my room, it struck me how historic is the hotel. I could easily have been back in the cowboy days.


Cabin stay was OK

3.2 on September 12, 2010

Sugar Pine cabin was rustic, without amenities (no TV, no WiFi, no desk or table), clean. Several miles from main hotel. Seemed a little expensive for what it was, but I was happy to be able to book it for last minute plans. I ate breakfast at the hotel, it was very good.


Interesting Stay outside Yosemite

4.6 on September 09, 2010

We were unable to get into lodging in Yosemite Valley for the nights we wanted, so booked The Groveland Inn for the night prior to our entering the park. We are so glad that we did! This is a wonderful old Hotel and they make you feel really welcome. The rooms were small but decorated with nice antiques with a very small but clean bathroom. We did not hear noises from the hall or other rooms. The front desk was helpful in answering questions about the park. The breakfast was amazing and we ate so much we did not even stop for lunch the next day. We did not eat dinner there but wished we had waited until we had arrived to eat. The dinner menu looked great and on a weekday was not too crowded. We wished that we had booked our last night in the area there also instead of inside the park with the crowds.


charming B&B

3.4 on August 31, 2010

After spending one full day of hiking at the fantastic Yosemite Park,this hotel was a perfect place to relax enjoy the good restaurant (at the hotel),and the charming atmosfere of this old small city.Ald if you still have energy left,you can enjoy the classic rock n roll at the Iron Door Saloon,one of the oldest in the USA.We did it.


Most Enjoyable Experience!

5 on August 31, 2010

The Groveland Hotel provided my wife and I all that we expected and much more. Quaint, friendly staff, comfortable bed, good nights rest and outstanding breakfast. Will stay there again in 7 days when we leave the Park, and again when we return!


Lovely Hotel for Yosemite Stay

4.0 on August 30, 2010

We stayed at one of the cottages at Sugar Pine Ranch for one night. Nicely appointed, LOVED the bed (perfect after a long day hiking in Yosemite!)... We dined at the hotel restaurant - The Cellar Door. Amazing food - we felt like we were having a San Francisco dining experience!


Our stay at the Groveland HOtel

4.4 on August 28, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Groveland Hotel on our way from Mammoth Lakes. From check-in to check-out, the staff was very helpful, friendly, and make sure we were well taken care of. The food at the restaurant was very good and the chef there is very skilled at preparing food that is presented well and the flavors are awesome. The wine list is extensive but would have been better to have an updated list rather than a heavily edited listing where many wines that were not available.


Jeremy and Shelley

4.8 on August 05, 2010

Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Our dinner was one of the best we have ever had. We will be back in October for our Anniversary, but this time in suite! Everything was perfect.


A place to relax!

4.6 on August 04, 2010

The rooms were lovely; breakfast was extraordinary! It's close to Yosemite and very relaxing! Not much in the town at all but close to lots of Gold Country Antique shops and only 1 hour from Yosemite.


Great Place to Stay!

4.6 on November 12, 2009

We went to see the changing colors in Yosemite and found out the waterfalls were flowing as well. After a beautiful day in Yosemite, we decided to find a place to stay on the way home. What a perfect place! Groveland is a tiny town, but the locals are friendly and we had fun strolling through town. Dinner reservations at the Cellar Door are a must! We were very surprised to find such fantastic food in the mountains. Definitely better than our lunch at the Ahwahnee. I tried the beet salad on recommendation of the waitress. It was terrific, and I don't usually like beets! The chef even came out to check on our meal and the service was excellent! I can hardly wait for our next trip to Yosemite. We will stay here again!


CLEAN AND FRESH

4.0 on February 13, 2009

I AM SORRY, I FOUND THE ROOM TO BE IN NEED OF THE WINDOW CURTINS TO BE WASHED, THEY WERE TO DUSTY AND DIRTY TO BE HEALTHY FOR ME. I WOULD LIKE TO FIND A ROOM THAT IS CLEAN AND FRESH. THANK YOU

Innkeeper Response
Please accept our apologies for the dusty window curtains in your room. We appreciate your bringing them to our attention, because like you, we also prefer to find things fresh and clean. Aimee, our head housekeeper has taken care of laundering the curtains and we believe you will enjoy the change. Please join us again soon to see for yourself. We look forward to your visit!


A Gourmet Delight

4.4 on October 06, 2008

Cozy rooms, charming service, lovely location and a restaurant that will knock your socks off - The Groveland is a home run!


Breakfast was fabulous - best ever B&B breakfast

4.2 on May 06, 2008

We had seen the hotel several times and decided to try it. It is a charming old (and modern) hotel. We entered Yosemite north end to Yosemite Valley. We were told that the hotel has the best food in the area, but it was not open yet for the season.


Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park

4.0 on April 29, 2008

The food was an unexpected and delicious surprise. The breakfast rolls are exceptional. So is the staff-friendly/helpful


If Grandmother had a really large house....

3.8 on August 19, 2007

We went from vacationing a few days in the fast paced city with traffic jams to match-- to a trip back in time. Our corner room on the second floor gave us a lovely window to the balcony which overlooks the winding two lane road leading to Yosemite. The room reminded our family of my elderly mother who still adorns her guest rooms with quilts and teddy bears. We had a teenage son in tow, so the inflatable bed was fascinating and comfortable enough for him for each of the two evenings we spent there. Housekeeping kept us supplied with glorious soaps (some handmade from locals) and bottled drinking water. We booked dinner each evening at their restaurant and are so glad that we did. And even though the waffle maker was not in operation for breakfast in the mornings we were there, it was not needed. The pastries were glorious, the kitchen made the best egg dish I've ever had, and the fruits were absolutely the best. Fresh squeezed OJ, too. If you are on your way to Yosemite, enjoy the pleasures of a bed and breakfast, a home atmosphere that is laid back, and want fed like there's no tomorrow....then make your reservations for Groveland, today. Oh...and if you like a little folklore about ghostly guests...Groveland Hotel can accomodate that as well. We were there in late July. I bet fall, winter and spring are delightful as well. Enjoy!


Enjoyable Visit

4.0 on August 13, 2007

My husband and I wanted a nice place to stay while taking care of some personal business. The Groveland Hotel is very attractive and the largest place in town, so we decided to stay there. I loved the patio area. We were there in September and it was very green and cool with lots of great places to sit and relax. The room was good, but I really wanted to take the bed home with me, it was that great. Everyone was pleasant and friendly, especially Grover at the front desk. The food was amazing for a small town. I'm still remembering the taste of that steak. My husband and I are planning our trip back. We absolutely recommend this place.


Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2099624000
  • Fax 1-2099626674
  • Toll free 1-8002733314

Visit Website »

View details

Top