Hotel Charlotte Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.6
  • Service4.4
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
167 Reviews

Write A Review

A very special place

3.8 on September 09, 2013

We spent three nights as a family of four in one of the hotels Jack and Jill rooms during the second week of the wildfire. Despite the challenges the community was facing we were made very welcome and we cannot speak highly enough of this quaint hotel and the cool team who run it. We had a very special time at Hotel Charlotte and would recommend it for its charm, hospitality and great food.


Excellent stop off for Yosemite

4.4 on August 29, 2013

Had a wonderful couple of nights at the Hotel Charlotte while visiting Yosemite in August 2013. A very warm welcome from all the team on site and a great location for visiting the park. The evening meal in the restaurant was a particular favourite - a real highlight - if you're in the area, definitely worth a visit.


convenient for Yosemite

2.8 on July 02, 2013

quite a nice property in a charming little town.


Groveland Gem

4.8 on June 05, 2013

Love the new ownership and improvements - looking forward to a return visit soon...


lovely hotel in a nice town, well equipped guesthouses

4.4 on October 31, 2012

schönes, geräumiges guesthouse (Koriander) in absolut ruhiger Lage (kurze Autofahrt vom Hotel entfernt), morgens standen Rehe vor der Tür, sehr netter Empfang, Frühstück im Hotel war gut, könnte vielleicht von Tag zu Tag etwas abwechslungsreicher sein


Historic building

3.8 on October 14, 2012

Dinning room was not open for dinner. Breakfast was excellent.


Charming Hotel

3.4 on October 13, 2012

Hotel Charlotte has a warm friendly feeling. The room was small, but well kept. The bathroom was clean and attractive. I could have used some counter space in the bathroom, and the Velcro straps on the shower curtain came undone when I tried to draw the curtain closed. I would suggest metal rings for a better hold. I appreciated the wireless access, and the air conditioning. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, and the coffee was really good. If I'm lucky enough to visit that part of CA again, I would be sure to return to Hotel Charlotte.


Delightful

4.6 on October 12, 2012

Lovely stopping off point on the way from Yosemite. Charming room, excellent food and good old-fashioned personal service. Sweet and quirky, we would recommend it highly.


Nice hotel but small rooms

3.8 on October 03, 2012

Very friendly staff, made to feel welcome. Nice food. Bedrooms very small and quite hot a/c is very noisy.


Lovely hotel, outstanding food

4.2 on September 30, 2012

Room was small but comfortable (there were bigger rooms available). Friendly staff. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious - highly recommend!


Very nice

4.2 on September 29, 2012

Very charming little place. Pretty close to Yosemite park. Great idea if you cannot find a place on site or if your prefer a room Vs sleeping outdoors. Had dinner one night, it was very nice and properly price. The entire staff was really nice. Small downsides : Breakfast as included which was a plus. Would have liked to see have a few fruits available for breakfast though. This a an old place. It is very charming, but it comes at the a price, the sound insulation is minimal. Overall, highly recommended.


Cozy B&B , bit expensive for the value

3.2 on September 23, 2012

1. 1 hour drive to Yosemite valley 2. Yosemite tourist service office is near by 3. Great Mexican diner next door 4. Cellular coverage is poor/zero, WIFI coverage is not good in rooms away from lobby 5. Games and books available to pass time 6. cable tv is ok 6. Clean and good safe place to stay for family 7. Gas station and general store near by 8. Hot breakfast every morning to kick start your day 9. We paid $190/day .. bit expensive for the value . There are other motels/lodges close by. Check them out too. 10. Overall safe and cozy place of family. For me this imp , money comes later.


loved it

4.4 on September 20, 2012

Doug and Jen are the perfect hosts. There enthusiastic, polite, friendly and helpful nature made our stay a great experience. The hotel felt like we went back in time to the old fashioned service. The hotel is very well presented and sitting on the upper balcony with a drink watching the world pass by is superb. The town is a great place to visit and close to Yosemite National park. We spent two nights at the hotel and it was one of our special moments on our trip from Australia. Do your self a favor and spend some time at Hotel Charlotte, Groveland. Laurie & Debbie


Great inn and great people!

4.4 on September 19, 2012

We stayed one night here before going to Yosemite and it was wonderful. The inn is so cute, exactly what you would expect for a rural small town inn. The restaurant had great food for a nice, local, and organic dinner. The breakfast was a basic hot breakfast, but good. We didn't need anything fancy. Hands down the best thing about this inn is the people! Everyone was so friendly and helpful, especially Allison! She was a doll! Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the inn. We would definitely stay here again!


sweet little hotel, better without breakfast

3.2 on September 17, 2012

breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, especially after reading the hotel decription decribing in detail homemade mufins etc, so bring your own


Simply outstanding....

4.8 on September 16, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights initially on our Honeymoon from the UK, and stumbled upon Hotel Charlotte on the web when my wife was researching the region. From the minute we parked up to when we left, we had one of the best experiences in a hotel ever. Doug and Jenn who have recently bought the Hotel have done a simply stunning job of bringing the service and hotel up to date with humour, amazing dining and superb service. add to the fact that they are the nicest hosts and hope to keep in contact with them after our stay. They even shared local knowledge about a none tourist beauty spot and Doug does a mean Jim Morrison at the local karaoke night! 100% recommend.....


Relaxing place

4.6 on September 15, 2012

We stayed in the Vacation house. Very pleasant and relaxing place to stay, the only thing I didnt like in my stay there is the cellphone connection is not good other than that very nice people and the owner is very nice. Thanks


Pine mountain lake is awesome

3.4 on September 15, 2012

We were staying in one of the house in Pine Mountain Lake closed area. Really great do not miss a swim in the lake. Groveland is an amazing old town with the Charlotte hotel, Saloon, Tea house and more. The included breakfast is perfect and the diner was very good. Definitely a place to stay if you want to be close to Yosemite circa 1 hour from north entry.


Quaint little hotel

3.8 on September 13, 2012

A very convenient place to stay on the way to Yosemite. The rooms are quaint with amenities that you need, especially considering how old the hotel is. Very clean & staff are very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was most welcome, prior to our long day ahead. We only stayed one night as we were travelling through, not sure if there would be much to do in the town if staying longer, but would make a good base if travelling around.


Stay for Yosemite

3.8 on September 01, 2012

Stayed in room no. 6 and had the best stay after a long day in the park


A most welcome one night stay

4.2 on September 01, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Charlotte for 1 night having booked over the hotel's website which was extremely efficient. We thought the hotel was charming, the staff extremely helpful, the meal at night was delicious, and Groveland itself was a gem of a place. Thank you


Nice place.

3.2 on September 01, 2012

We rented a part of a house. It was nice, large and quiet. However, everything in the house is old.


Amazing 1 night in the guesthouse

5 on August 29, 2012

We just spent 1 night in the guest house, but the group was totally satisfied with the service.


charming hotel

3.6 on August 27, 2012

We are a family of 6 people and they gave us a house not far from the hotel in a fantastic private estate with lake and golf. We had brekfast in the hotel but it was a little poor : only one type of corn flakes and no cakes or donuts.


Wow, what an experience

4.8 on August 27, 2012

From the moment we walked in until the moment we left, we were very pleasantly surprised about the entourage of this hotel and enthusiasm of staff. Wonderful! Unforgetable experience we already have shared with family and friends. No 5 star hotel can exceed this. Thank you for that Peter


Quick Visit

4.6 on August 26, 2012

After a day at Yosemite, my sister and I enjoyed the superb hospitality of Hotel Charlotte. The menu and service are worth the 45 minute drive from Yosemite and we will definitely return and let Hotel Charlotte be home base when we visit Yosemite again. Thank you to the very personable and welcoming owners!


Hotel pintoresco para descansar y comer genial

4.6 on August 23, 2012

Teníamos reservado el Hotel desde España. Comimos en su restaurante genial, platos elaborados, ricos y muy bien de precio. Tabién descansamos de maravilla en la habitación que elegimos desde su web. Muy recomendable.


Winderful break

4.4 on August 21, 2012

Wonderful place for take a break in your trip. Nice village and nice rooms....


Great way to end a day at Yosemite

5 on August 20, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Charlotte after a long day at Yosemite. We arrived and were greeted with a very friendly staff. We decided to dine at the their restaurant and loved every dish. Each plate is served from fresh ingredients that are all homemade. There was an excellent wine selection and knowledgeable staff to guide our choices. After dinner, we picked out some board games and headed back up to the room for family time. The kids loved the Hotel Charlotte and even bought me one of their mugs as a souvenir. When checking out they gave us suggestions for sites to see on our way to our next destination. This was a great experience!


Lovely B&B - good value for money

4.0 on August 19, 2012

Very nicely surprised about this B&B - good value for money with an excellent dinner at night & an excellent breakfast - To be recommended if you are going to visit Yosemite Park !


Fantastic Experience

4.6 on August 19, 2012

We stayed here as part of our plan to experience Yosemite. As soon as you walk in the atmosphere is different. It is run by a young couple and you can tell as it is not your usual faceless experience. They have put all their energy into this place and you can feel it, it is not overly stuffy and is relaxing. That doesnt mean you wont get professional service and the room and service were great. We also loved the hotel and the historic feel to it. I thought the breakfast was the best we had gotten throughout our entire 2 week stay in california. We also had 2 dinners there which were great, the food is imaginative and of excellent quality. All in all we would definately go back if we were ever back in that neck of the woods.......... :) vanessa & alex


Stayed August 2, 2012

4.6 on August 18, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. We had a slight air conditioner issue which was addressed promptly.


Great location, fun hotel, awful beds

4.2 on August 17, 2012

This is my second stay at the HC. My wife and I continue to love the historic charm, fantastic location, and quirky nature of the hotel. New management has spruced it up a bit. My only complaint, and it is a big one, is that the beds are /horrendously/ uncomfortable. From somewhat lumpy / very hard mattresses to sad deflated pillows, actual sleep was somewhat difficult. Hopefully the new owners will invest in some upgrades to the mattress & pillow stock. That would truly make this a 5-star stay!


Exceptionnel adress !!

3.8 on August 15, 2012

If you want to stay in an old west hotel, you got it !! If you want to eat an exceptionnel dinerwith fresh food, you got it !! If you want a pleasant stay after a visit in Yosemite, you got it !! Stay at Hotel Charlotte !!


Little Gem near Yosemite

4.8 on August 15, 2012

The owners Doug and Jenn were very welcoming and the place is really charming. The food and service for dinner was great. I really recommend anyone to stay at this fabulous place.


Thanks for your help!

3.4 on August 13, 2012

The staff here are great and were more thna happy to look after our belongings when we went white water rafting overnight following our stay, which was extemely helpgul - so thanks for helping us!


Hotel Charlotte near Yosemite

4.6 on August 12, 2012

Very nice room; very helpful owners! Free long distance phoning was very helpful, since no cell phone service there. Breakfast was very nice. Would definitely go there again.


nice bed & breakfast for stopover

3.4 on August 10, 2012

This was a nice bed&breakfast for a stopover to Yosemite. The rooms are pretty small, so there is no place for big suitcases. Breakfast is typical american style.


Nice view, peaceful place

4.6 on August 09, 2012

We stayed at Wisteria, one of the Vacation Rental houses they offer. The house is located in peaceful and beautiful resort, and the house had everything needed for a long stay. They even had a laptop for email. Only issue is that the password for wifi was not provided. I definitely recommend the place.


séjour à l'hotel Charlotte en juillet 2012

3.6 on August 07, 2012

Nous avons séjourné dans un des appartements en dehors de l'hôtel (le Cardamon), situé dans un lotissement à 15 minutes de l'hôtel (supplément de 15 dollars pour entrer dans ce lotissement !). Très grand appartement dans belle maison. Pas très facile à trouver en pleine nuit. Appartement bien équipé (cuisine équipée, PC) , très propre et chaleureuse, à recommander et vraiment pratique si on est nombreux. Petit déjeuner très correct pris à l'hôtel. Par contre, il faut savoir que l'hotel Charlotte est à 45 minutes h de l'entrée du parc de Yosémite, mais que l'entrée du parc est elle même à 45 minutes du centre du parc d'où partent les navettes et les principales excursions. Donc au total, à 1h30 de l'hôtel at après une journée de randonnée , c'est long de rentrer, surtout pour revenir le lendemain main au parc. Mais sauf à séjourner dans le parc directement, il n'y a rien de vraiment plus près que Groveland.


Groveland's Gem

4.6 on August 05, 2012

We stayed here at the end of July 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were just looking for a place to sleep while visiting Yosemite and were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and hospitality of the Charlotte Hotel. Our room was on the small side but comfortable and CLEAN. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The dinners and wine selections were excellent and there was even live entertainment one night during dinner. This is an old historic property and the owners who recently acquired it, has made many upgrades and plan to continue upgrading it. I would definitely recommend the Charlotte Hotel and plan to stay there again on my next trip to Yosemite.


August visit 1 night

3.8 on August 05, 2012

Very hospitiable, worked very hard to make us comfortable.


great experience

4.8 on August 04, 2012

Small rooms, but clean, incredibly friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed a tasty, flavourful local and organic dinner after a hard days' hiking - amazing!


Hotel Charlotte

2.6 on August 01, 2012

The room was extremely tiny but the bathroom was a nice size. I thought the price was steep for the accommodations, but we were able to stay one night only and most places in town required two nights. The bedspread looked old, threadbare and dingy. The venetian blinds were extremely dusty. Otherwise, everyone there was very friendly and it is a great location for where we needed to be.


B&B with its own style

3.8 on July 29, 2012

Rooms were small and a bit old fashioned, but clean and cosy. Very good restaurant and all members off the staff were very kind.


Lovely, historic B&B

4.4 on July 28, 2012

Loved the hotel - great owners who really care to make sure guests are happy. VERY tiny rooms, as they were built 100 years ago. Beds were comfortable though and there was a heater/AC portable unit in each room to keep the temperature good (though these are quite noisy). Not really a luxurious B&B - kind of a "do it yourself" feel. The rooms and bathroom we were in could use some mirrors and shelves and hooks and such to make up for the lack of actual space.... The owners also have houses nearby to rent and this might be the better option. Love the small town and it's relatively close to Yosemite and lots of fun things to do.


A HOTEL WITH CHARACTER

2.6 on July 22, 2012

The room was small but we expected that, the room was not particularly clean and neither was the dining room. Jen was welcoming. Overall we enjoyed our stay but it was pricey for what we received.


OARS appreciates working with you!

4.2 on July 21, 2012

We're really glad to be working with you on our Tuolumne River and Yosemite Hiker adventures! Thanks for the group discounts you've offered us, as well as working so well with our trip leaders and guests! Many thanks from Clavey and the rest of the OARS office in Angels Camp.


Excellent post-backpacking stay

4.4 on July 16, 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Charlotte was fantastic. We had just finished a week-long backpacking trip and needed some serious R&R; Jenn and Doug's b&b was perfect for that. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant was delicious. I highly recommend the margaritas!


Charming and good vibes

3.8 on July 16, 2012

room was small but as expected. staff very friendly and attentive. very appreciative of our buisiness. food and wine great - supports local suppliers, fresh and tasty. a wonderful way to finish a Yosemite 4 day backpack.


Wisteria June 2012

3.6 on July 12, 2012

We stayed at the"Wisteria" condo on the golf course, rented through the Hotel. The condo was great for us. There were no dishtowels, potholders, vegetable peeler in the kitchen and that was annoying. Especially appreciated the use of washer/dryer which was a big help. We had the breakfast at the Hotel most days and this was nice; maybe the bfast menu could be changed up/alternated every few days or so (we were there six nights, so the same bfast items every day was a little boring). We ate dinner one evening at the hotel and it was very good, and the service was incredibly friendly.


Such a Pleasant Surprise!

4.8 on July 10, 2012

The staff was so friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The dinner we had at the restaurant was absolutely wonderful! My boyfriend and I had no idea what to expect from this place and we fell in love with the Hotel Charlotte. We definitely plan on staying there again.


Generally nice hotel, somewhat pricy but you pay for the location.

2.8 on July 08, 2012

The hotel was nice. Arguably the room was somewhat noise on the night we stayed there, due to celebrations leading up to the 4th of July. WiFi was unreliable and didn't seem to be high speed as advertised. Breakfast was basic, would have benefited from fruit and a wider selection.


Great B&B

3.2 on June 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Charlotte. The rooms were comfortable but the bed smaller than we expected. The huge bath in the room was great for when we returned from our hike in Yosemite! The evening dining menu was absolutely fantastic - as good as any meal we had enjoyed on our travels. Regrettably the breakfast was not as good for me as I am wheat intollerent and the choice was primarily toast and pastries. Did not spoil the stay however.


Quaint Groveland Hotel

4.4 on June 25, 2012

This a great old hotel in Groveland! And one of the few near Yosemite that allow one night stays which was great for our group since we were going rafting. Plus they have breakfast included which was also a big help since we had to be rafting early.


Comfy inn

4.2 on June 24, 2012

The room (12) was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was much too soft and had the dreaded dip in the middle. Staff were very friendly both at the front desk and in the restaurant. The food for diinner was delicious. The breakfast included in the rate was substantial,basic eggs,sausage and cereals. Time to Yosemite from the hotel was less than an hour. Would stay again!


Very Quaint Hotel

3.4 on June 24, 2012

We stayed in June, it was pretty hot and our room had a stand alone AC unit, took a few hours to cool the room down, by morning it was nice and cold! The room is small and simple. The outlets are not convenient for todays technology. The bathtub/shower was in the middle of the room which was shocking but ok. The shower was large and you were able to undress/dress in the shower or privacy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a modest buffet, simple but good. We would stay again but would hope they would replace the mattresses before we returned. The mattresses were definitely sloping and could use refreshing. For an old hotel it as what I expected. The restaurant was closed the night we were there, they close on Tuesdays, so we ate across the street at the other hotel and had a terrific dinner.


On the main drag through town

3.8 on June 18, 2012

In the center of town. Lobby is nice, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The room is nice, though a little noisy, but became quiet early enough for sleep. I had a salad for dinner, which was small, had one kind of lettuce and nothing else. The lettuce was good but over-priced. Breakfast was outstanding.


Lavender room needs maintenance, but the staff and breakfast were 1st class

3.2 on June 17, 2012

We had our reservation upgraded to one of their houses, the Lavender. It is potentially very nice. 2 bedrooms and a living room with 2 hideaway beds, along with 3 bathrooms, can hold a good size group. The kitchen is comfortable, as are the balconies. However, the building was in a poor state of repair. The bannister on the stairs felt unreliable (loose), the toilet seats were cracked, the stove only partially works, the grill wasn't clean. Too bad. This house has great potential. The breakfast is first rate. So is the staff. I would stay there again, but this time I think I'd try the hotel and see if it is better.


A huge disappointment.....

1.0 on June 11, 2012

We had read great reviews of the Hotel Charlotte on TripAdvisor and in the Rough Guide and of all the places we stayed at during our recent 14 day trip to California this was the only disappointing one. We wanted twin beds and had therefore booked Room 5. We knew the rooms were on the small size but it really was too small for two adults, with no room to open two suitcases (on the floor) and get to/open the door fully. However, the biggest complaint was the really poor quality of the beds and bedding, particuarly the pillows. The sheets and pillows were tired and worn, as were the very noisy, creaky beds. A long black hair in one the beds didn't do much for confidence in their cleanliness either. The shower curtain was also pretty grim. We had also booked the Hotel Charlotte for the supposedly excellent fine dining on offer, but there was no food offered that (Monday) night or anywhwere else in Groveland for that matter, unless you wanted a dodgy pizza or Mexican food. This was despite the restaurant being advertised as open every day except Tuesdays. The cooked aspect of the breafast was also unappetising, particuarly the congealed scrambled eggs and soggy pancakes. Without a doubt, it turned out to be the biggest disappontment of our trip. I suspect it may be trading on its laurels and supposed "quaintness", but it simply wasn't decent accommodation or food for the price paid.


Weekend at Yosemite

3.8 on June 10, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Charlotte in one of the Guest houses. The service was outstanding and everyone who worked there was amazing:) We really liked the guest house and had a great weekend at Yosemite. The hotel was very charming and we enjoyed the breakfast (especially the homeade granola very yummy).


Great Visit

4.0 on June 09, 2012

My wife and I recently spent three nights at Hotel Charlotte. The room was very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were very polite, caring and helpful. The owners have done a nice job with an older building. Our dining experience was limited to the hot breakfast buffet offered each morning which was wonderful. Try the yogurt and granola...fantastic! The coffee served at breakfast was also fantastic! The only area where we were a little disappointed was the free in-room wifi. The signal was very weak in our room so staying connected was difficult. Additionally, the overall speed of the Internet (once connected) was slow. This may be an issue related to the location and availability of Internet to the hotel itself. All in all not a deal breaker, but kinda disappointing. One final comment. Our room used an old cast iron claw foot tub with a curtain as a shower. While this did not present any issues for us (it was actually neat!), there was a very high step getting in and out of the shower. For folks with health related issues (joint problems, etc.) this could be problematic. Again, this is not a negative, just something to be aware of when a reservation is made. The hotel's web site clearly indicated this when we booked. Overall a nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff and comfortable, clean rooms. Would certainly stay here again!


great people..great place felt at home

5 on June 08, 2012

this place was very nice...nice people..felt at home ..beds were small..but great place


pleasant little place with a fantastic restaurant

4.2 on June 06, 2012

A cute little place with a lot of character. I loved the restaurant. If you are there, get Mediterranean chicken. You won't be sorry. Excellent and friendly customer service throughout. But as any ancient place, has issues: curious bath and plumbing and electrical sockets that don't work. But nice air conditioning to counteract the heat. Be warned about the drive here... Insane hill going up for 5 miles and not for faint of heart. A bit of a drive to Yosemite. Like 80 minutes.


Nice place

4.0 on June 05, 2012

Very nice place to stay and too feel 'cowboy times'. Not a comfort place, rooms rather small, but clean and with a very nice atmosphere. The breakfast was the best that we had in USA


excellente halte sur la route de yosemite

4.4 on May 29, 2012

Après avoir attéri à San Francisco en début d'après midi, ce fut un ravissement que d'arriver à l'hôtel Charlotte, aux portes de Yosemite. L'accueil est des plus agréables, le bâtiment très joli, très typique, dans un hameau à taille humaine (que je ne retrouverai quasiment pas de mon road trip), et le repas et petit déjeuner de très bonne qualité. Seul bémol, la chambre est un peu petite, sinon, rien à redire


When visiting Yosemite...a great place to stay

4.8 on May 27, 2012

We spent four nights at the Hotel Charlotte when we went to California to see Yosemite. The park entrance is 30 minutes away as long as you don't get behind a slow camper driving there. The room was confortable and the breakfast good. The dinner we had at the restaurant was first class and innovative.Doug was a friendly host and helpful to our exploring the park and local environs.


Nice B&B, good value

3.2 on May 15, 2012

Very nice place to stay en route to Yosemite Park


Wonderful stay!

3.4 on April 30, 2012

Really charming hotel in a lovely building. The lobby looks newly refurbished and the rooms are clean and nice. It is a cosy and well decorated hotel.


Hotel Charlotte, Groveland, Ca.

4.4 on April 19, 2012

The Charlotte is a 1926 hotel that has maintained its 1926 era look of the decades. New owners Doug and Jenn were pleasant hosts, telling the history of the hotel and what their plans for its future are. They have already made many upgrades while keeping the 20's era look. New "antique" lighting in the lobby, antiquing of the dining room tables by covering the Formica table tops with antique wood, and a very homey feeling lobby with two large pillowy couches and large cushioned reading chairs. There is even a Victrola record player if you want to bring some old 78s to play, and a standup piano if you're a pianist. Doug is a schooled chef, and has plans for a bistro. His attention to his guest is bar none. The cost to stay was a little pricey for my budget, but well worth it for the ambiance of old gold rush days.


Gret find, friendly service and interesting location.

4.2 on April 14, 2012

Found on the internet as looking for a place to stay convenient for Yosemite, great condo with lots of space for our party of four and great local amentities. Highly reccomended. Steve E and family, UK Stayed March 2012.


Charming B&B

4.0 on February 24, 2012

We do enjoy the two nights stay in this some kind of classical, friendly and comfortable hotel. We' d like to stay there again when we visit Yosemite next time.


Valentine's Weekend

4.0 on February 16, 2012

We came up the Hotel Charlotte for a quiet get-a-way weekend and it was everything that we expected.


A great hotel near Yosemite

4.2 on January 04, 2012

This hotel is run by very nice people that provide an outstanding experience. Groveland has a lot of good resources for food coffee and a saloon for evening entertainment. It is also reasonably close to Yosemite to be able to drive in for a hike but some back to a comfortable hotel afterwards.


Cozy and friendly; felt like a local.

3.8 on January 04, 2012

New Years Eve dinner was wonderful and the owners are a pleasant and friendly tie to the community.


Great night in the Gold Country

4.2 on November 11, 2011

My mom and I stayed at the Hotel Charlotte for one night and we had a great experience. Everyone who works there is very friendly and helpful. Our room was exactly what we were expecting. The only catch with the room was controlling the temperature. The hotel has central heat, but it isn't controlled in each room. We had to ask the front desk to turn down the heat in general because it was as hot as a sauna in our room. Now, having said that, there are individual heaters in each room, which worked out great in the end. We had both our dinner and breakfast at the restuarant in the hotel and the food was outstanding.....Especially dinner! We were both pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food that was offered. The following morning we came downstairs for breakfast (which is included in the price of the room) and had a fantastic assortment of juice, grains and yogurt and then we were served eggs, potatoes and sausage. We would be happy to go back to the Hotel Charlotte again!


Lovely stay

3.6 on November 02, 2011

The innkeeper let us check in earlier and gave us upgrade to a larger room, which was wonderful. This is a great, low-key, and relaxing place to stay when visiting Yosemite, although a little far when heading back after a full day of hiking. I like being in a small town and the food options were superior to Yosemite. Would definitely recommend Hotel Charlotte!


Hotel Charlotte in Groveland

3.2 on October 31, 2011

Since the hotel did not have room for my co-worker, we were put up in one of the condos at Pine Mtn Lake. It was very roomy, clean and comfortable and we had the option of fixing some of our meals, but there were no basics or condiments to do so. That would have made the stay even better if there had been basic things like mayonnaise, mustard, ketchup, salad dressing, etc in the refrigerator, and Pam, flour, vinegar in the cupboards. Lynn explained that guests have a tendency to make off with some things, but I left my cereal and salad dressing for the next guests anyway. Thanks for a comfortable stay!


An absolute delight

5 on October 31, 2011

Outstanding hotel. Warm, supportive, friendly and informative - excellent food, well located and very, very clean.


Fun place to say in Groveland

3.6 on October 29, 2011

I read reviews on Hotel Charlotte before my husband and I stayed here so I knew what to expect. The room we stayed in was pretty small but clean with a fabulous claw foot bath tub with plenty of hot water. This was especially nice after a long day of hiking. We stayed here for 4 nights so on the 3rd morning we were burned out on the breakfast b/c it's the same thing every day but it was good; eggs, sausage, cereal, coffee, toast, english muffins so plenty of food. The owner and staff were all very friendly and were very helpful regarding what to do in Yosemite. I would highly recommend Kris' CD. He's a former park ranger and the hotel offers his CD which you can play in your car on the way to Yosemite. He offers history and explanations of sites along the way and we really enjoyed this. It will take you about an hour to get to Yosemite Valley from the hotel. The drive is beautiful but we were a little tired of driving after a few days. It seems like most people stay here only a night, maybe two, as they're passing through on the way to the park. Overall, Groveland was a quaint, fun town. We really liked the Mexican restaurant two doors down.


Hotel Charlotte rocks!

3.0 on October 27, 2011

We stayed here last year, so I knew what to expect! I really enjoy staying here and we will be back next year. C'mon, book your room already, you won't be unhappy!


One night stay on our way from San Francisco to Yosemite

3.0 on October 24, 2011

My husband and I were travelling with our adult son so it made sense to book 2 rooms with a shared bathroom - the rooms were small but were fine for one night only. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was adequate.


Wonderful Hotel Stay

4.4 on October 21, 2011

We loved this quaint and charming hotel. We were treated like family. We felt like we were in our own home. The staff were so friendly and very accomodating. The rooms were very clean, beds very comfortable, decorated nicely, and bathroom very nice. Meals were very generous and moderately priced. Breakfast was free and offered such a nice variety. A CD was furnished upon check-in that was a narration and guide for a car tour thru Yosemite National Park. The CD was very helpful and very well done by an employee of Hotel Charlotte by the name of Chris. We were able to ask him questions about Yosemite each morning at breakfast and he was so helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to spend time in Yosemite.


On the way to the Yosemite park

4.0 on October 20, 2011

Stayed there for a night on the way to the Yosemite Park in September 2011. Staff was super friendly, warm and very flexible even though I came in quite late. Great location if you prefer to stay outside of the park. Room was big enough, bathroom cute and at least the back side of the building really quiet. Only the fridge was a little bit annoying, but easy to unplug. Breakfast was not special but absolutely satisfying. Can happily recommend the place.


Very nice and lovely Hotel, excellent breackfast and dinner

5 on October 19, 2011

Very nice and lovely Hotel, excellent breackfast and dinner. We love this hotel and will come back.


a great place for small town folk

4.2 on October 16, 2011

Brought new meaning to small town feeling. The inn keeper even stayed late to make sure that we made it up ok, despite my inability to use a GPS system. Breakfast was wonderful in the morning and I loved the fact that antiques were all over the inn and the TV was very small as it should be in such a wonderful area where a TV is not really needed.


Great alternative to the hotels within Yosemite

4.2 on October 15, 2011

Nice hostess. Very clean room, sheets and towels. 2 problems: 1. The hallways stink of mealdow but not in the rooms. 2. Heater/aircon makes noise like a truck is in your room. Other then that a good hotel in medium price and only 30 minutes from Yosemite western gate and 1 hour from yosemite valley.


Felt at home

4.0 on October 13, 2011

Lovely people and sweet dog, Mayor Goose! Very happy with our stay.


Nice and cozy

4.8 on October 12, 2011

Groveland is a small town but has everything you need, food market, saloon, a few restaurants and even a reasonably priced gas station within 3 miles. Nice area outside of Yosemite. I stayed in room 6 at the Charlotte Hotel, nice, cozy and clean room. Felt very welcome here, and highly recommend.


Sweet Old Timey Place

3.4 on October 03, 2011

Great place to stop on the way to Yosemite. Good breakfast and nice-enough rooms. Nothing fancy, but very homey, clean and authentic. Comfy bed, slightly musty smelling sheets.


Great Place & The Service was Above and Beyond

4.2 on October 03, 2011

After much searching, I picked Hotel Charlotte because it seemed to have the most character at a reasonable price. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean and quaint and the breakfast was delicious! However, it was the staff that make the experience. My boyfriend and I did not know where to go in Yosemite, so the staff gave us their recommendations. They were right! We had some of the best views in Yosemite and it was easy to get to. They even filled our water bottles for us. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Yosemite.


Hotel Charlotte was a fun place to stay.

3.8 on September 21, 2011

The hotel is clean & quaint with very helpful and friendly staff. They went out of their way to help us and make our stay more enjoyable.


Great stay in Yosemite

3.8 on September 19, 2011

We had a great stay at the Hotel Charlotte.... surprisingly delicious menu....cozy lobby to hang out in the evenings..... entertaining piano playing dog.... great information about Yosemite hikes and what to do in the area....


Hotel Charlotte

3.2 on September 18, 2011

It's a historic hotel in a historic town. Good to experience the atmosphere of distant past.


Outstanding stay

4.0 on September 13, 2011

I would recommend every visitor to stay over here ..its only 25 miles from Yosemite main entrance...the rooms were great and the breakfast was awesome..the staff were very helpful..its value for money..


My Yosemite Experience

4.4 on September 13, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay and loved Groveland.


Really lovely hotel and welcoming owners

3.6 on September 11, 2011

The two owners of the Hotel Charlotte were really welcomming and helpfull. It's a real plus for this lovely and typical hotel near Yosemite National park. I do recommand to stay at hotel Charlotte if you need a starting point to Yosemite. Unfortunately we arrived too late to have diner, that's why I just gave the middle rate for dining.


Comme chez soi

3.8 on September 06, 2011

As i told in french we feel at home. And the food was gorgeous. One of the best place to stay near Yosemite Park, perhaps the best one (i've not tried the others)


Our stay at Hotel Charlotte

5 on September 02, 2011

Absolutely the most amazing hotel we've ever stayed at. We were only there once night, and would have stayed forever if our flight wasn't headed back to MI. Goose (the hotel dog) plays piana and is the Mayor of Charlotte!! No kidding, it's hilarious. Everyone who worked there was great, and the owners know you by name and shake your hand on the way out. Great food, great conversation, great service, and an incredible hotel all around. There are only 10 rooms in this sweet hotel, how we ended up in one amazes us and we will forever recommend staying here!


Great food

4.0 on September 01, 2011

Rooms were basic and clean. Had both dinner and breakfast there, and found the food to be very good for being in the middle of nowhere. The shower had great water pressure and the water temperature stayed constant.


Quaint fun stopover

3.0 on August 31, 2011

The Charlotte is a beautiful old B and B in a lovely town. We had a private bathroom with an old iron bath. The bedrooms are tastefully done if not very small on space. The complimentary breakfast was great and the chap who ran the breakfast was so very knowledgable on Yosemite and keen to share.


Great spot to stay

4.6 on August 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Charlotte, the staff are very helpful and take every opportunity to make the stay perfect. The property is spottless! It gave my family an opportunity to get a feel for an older hotel and they loved it! Dinner was outstanding and breakfast was excellent, we got lots of pointers from the owner about our Yosemite trip, overall highly recommended.


Great place to stay in Groveland

3.0 on August 26, 2011

Hotel Charlotte was the perfect place to stay on our way back to San Francisco from Yosemite. The B&B was clean and affordable. We would stay there again!


review

3.2 on August 23, 2011

Dining refers to the breakfast, not the dining room - did not eat there. Very pleasant staff - enjoyed our stay!


Great place to stay!

3.8 on August 23, 2011

The staff is super friendly and Kris Corey was very informative at breakfast as to how to get around Yosemite. Buy one or two of his audio adventures and listen while you get to the park, very informative with fun facts and quips....really great. Nice little cowboy western town...very glad we stayed here! Jim and Louise


Enjoyable Stay

3.6 on August 23, 2011

Great location with friendly hosts. The restaurant was very good. We did not expect such a special menu. This hotel was like a throwback to the days of small hotels. Really nice to see the building and rooms in nice shape.


shame about the dog

4.0 on August 22, 2011

The food and the service was great, the only negative was the rather old and smelly dog, that we all found a little off putting, you could smell him before you saw him, otherwise could not fault the place.

Innkeeper Response
Funny thing about the old smelly dog, he's only 3 years old, turning 4 in September and is on a weekly bath schedule. But thank you for your note, we don't want a smelly dog! Will up bathing schedule to twice weekly, though not much we can do about his age or his bad hair!


Gunsmoke Revisited

4.0 on August 21, 2011

Hotel Charlotte looks like the old saloon in Gunsmoke - on the outside. Inside, it's a cozy, welcoming bargain. The owners offer great service and dining there is exquisite. We stayed at Hotel Charlotte while visiting Yosemite and enjoyed getting away from the park crowds in the quaint little town of Groveland.


Nice place to stay bécote enteront Yosemite

4.2 on August 18, 2011

Cosy hotel, very clean. Old fashioned feel, this is a historical building after all. Personnel was very nice and location is perfect.


Best place to stay in Yosemite area!

4.6 on August 18, 2011

We discovered Hotel Charlotte and associated rental properties through Google search. I really wasn't sure what to expect when we arrived. All I can say is that we were thrilled at the quality of our rental house. Our condo in the Pine Mountain Lake community was beautiful. We loved every minute of it. We took advantage of the private pool and beach when weren't exploring Yosemite. Hotel Charlotte itself was a charming, wonderful start to each day with our complimentary breakfast. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful.


Very enjoyable stay

3.4 on August 17, 2011

The staff was very friendly and professional and organized. We stayed one night at the hotel and one night at their off-site location. The in-town hotel is more centrally located and we really enjoyed our dinner - and wine tasting - there. The rooms were a bit noisy and the portable a/c was really really loud. The rooms offsite were more comfortable and much more spacious and quiet. Would definitely come back.


Great place to stay when visiting Yosemite

4.2 on August 14, 2011

Greatly enjoyed our stay. Very cute place, though parking was a little difficult. Room was "cozy" (we just left out suitcases in the car -- I don't know if there's space in the room for two people and suitcases!)


Hotel Charlotte - Schlafen wie im wilden Westen

4.4 on August 09, 2011

Auf der Fahrt zum Yosemite NP haben wir in Groveland einen Übernachtungstop gemacht. Groveland ist eine kleiner Ort im Western-Style, mit einigen Einkehrmöglichkeiten. Das Hotel Charlotte hat unsere Erwartungen übertroffen. Die Einrichtung ist im Westernstyle und jeder Gast wird durch das Inhaber-Ehepaar herzlich und individuell betreut. Nur zu empfehlen!


Hotel Charlotte- Fun little place

5 on August 03, 2011

I had a great stay at Hotel Charlotte. The room was nice and so was the bathroom. We didn't get a chance to eat dinner there, but we got to enjoy the free breakfast! We also got a chance to see the hotel dog "Goose" play the piano! We would love to stay there again!


Hotel Charlotte - 4th of July weekend

4.6 on August 02, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Charlotte for three nights over the 4th of July weekend. We spent all of our days in Yosemite. The drive was doable and beat having to deal with the crowded in the park, not to mention the prices. We had late dinners two of the nights right in Groveland, a Mexican place right next door and Two Brother's Pizza. Both excellent and relatively inexpensive. The rooms are small, but we expected that having read up about them. But the bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The shower leaked, which is my only real negative as it bothered me from a conservation point of view that much water was leaking from the shower (a constant drip). The breakfast was fantastic - lots of food, including fruit and oatmeal, but also heartier foods too. We were quite pleased with the our stay and I would recommend it to others. The owners were great and very accommodating to us. Just be aware of the small size of the rooms.


Great place as a base camp to Yosemite

3.8 on August 02, 2011

We spent 3 nights with our 2 teenager boys in the 3-bedroom "Birch" unit, mid-July 2011. Very comfortable and quiet, and not very expensive considering that we could cook dinner in the kitchen and on the barbecue. Great value! Breakfast at Hotel Charlotte super bonus!


Mixed review

3.2 on August 01, 2011

We had two rooms one with twin beds and one with a queen. The twin room was much roomier than the queen which was unfortunate as there were two people in the queen and only one in the twin. We had read other reviews, however, so were prepared for small rooms. Also unfortunate, though, was that there was no "reading" lamp in the queen room but a hanging lamp over the bed (not over the desk or the desk chair) which had such a low wattage bulb as to make it ineffective for reading. Still, the hotel was charming and period and we were grateful they could accommodate us with just a two weeks' notice. Not always an easy thing in the Yosemite area! Oh, and don't be put-off by any review of the road called Priest Road. It's really beautiful and not a big deal at all! Our dining experience was mixed. We didn't go into the dining room until 8:00 (it was said to close at 8:30 although a huge inflow of patrons after our arrival prevented that) so they were out of meatballs which one of our group tried to order with spaghetti. Switching to a different kind of pasta, it was so spicey hot that a few bites were all that could be eaten. We wished that the cute waitress had warned of the heat in the dish. Another in our party ordered a salad and the minestrone soup. The salad was declared "the best I've had in years!," but the soup was inedible. Although minestrone is an Italian vegetable soup, there were no vegetables in evidence - only beans, and many of the beans were "crunchy" as if they had been added at the last minute trying to make the soup stretch.


wonderful stay

4.4 on July 28, 2011

Wonderful stay, good breakfast, helpfull suggestions for the visit of yosemite national park.


Great with lots of character

3.2 on July 22, 2011

This is a great little hotel in the center of groveland. We stayed in a tiny room, but that's what you expect for a B&B. The restaurant was ok - I didn't love what I ordered, but it certainly had charm. Their dog plays the piano...what more can I say?


Great Bed & Breakfast

4.8 on July 19, 2011

Staff was very helpful and informative about how to best enjoy our day at Yosemite. Loved the atmosphere of this quaint little town even though we arrived late and left early.


Good value...great people

3.6 on July 19, 2011

Hotel Charlotte is an OLD building, and could use some updating, but overall the pros outweighed the cons. I panicked when we opened the door to check in as the horrible odor reminded me of an unkempt nursing home. I was relieved when our room however only had a slight musty odor, not entirely unexpected given the age of the building. We had a few problems with our stay, but the staff was extremely friendly and in the end, did end up doing what we feel was appropriate action for the problems. In fact, what made this hotel was the staff. Everyone was extremely nice and they have great knowledge of the area. Every morning at breakfast, a local expert walks around the breakfast room and provides suggestions to the guests based on what they are interested in. The breakfast was nice, like something you would get at a chain offering continental breakfast, with delicious scrambled eggs. The small room was cozy and plenty large enough for a “base”. Yes we kept the clothes in the suitcase, but had room to place them in the corners, the bathroom was nice and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the shower pressure was great, satellite TV was perfect to enjoy after a long day of hiking, and the individual a/c unit in the room kept it comfortable and drowned out any outside noise. I think if they fix the smell in the hallways…could Goose the dog be having accidents???...the overall impression would be even better. Given the price compared to other options in the area, if you prefer friendly staff and a comfortable bed with some tv to watch at the end of the day over more refined expensive accommodations, or tenting or sharing a bath, than this would be a good choice.


Home Comforts at Hotel Charlotte

4.8 on July 18, 2011

The cosy atmosphere and friendly staff made us feel more like pampered house guests than hotel visitors. The rooms are furnished with period furniture and are well equipped with tv and air con. I loved the Edwardian style bath and shower. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Where else could you stay where the guy who serves you breakfast is also an expert guide to Yosemite National Park, where the hotel dog (Goose) plays the piano and is also town mayor and California's oldest saloon is just across the street? The hotel is just an hour's drive from Yosemite Village.


cute place to stay

3.4 on July 13, 2011

Spent there two nights. It is a cute, clean and a great place to spend a night on the way to Yosemite. Staff was very friendly. Dinner was little disappointing. Overpriced for what we got.


Unsatisfactory

1.4 on July 13, 2011

Bed and sheets dirty and very old. Shower curtains bad and rotten smell. Bahtroom dirty. Tiny room, noisy. Expensive for what it offers.


Great hotel

3.4 on July 09, 2011

Very nice and clean hotel, excellent service. Good base if you're visiting Yosemite.


Loved it!

4.8 on July 07, 2011

Very charming old hotel. Very well kept up. Incredibly friendly, welcoming staff, especially the ladies at the front desk who made sure we had a box breakfast to take with us to Yosemite because we left the next morning at 5am. We had breakfast in the diningroom the next morning and it was awesome! Packed with people and guests on the July 4th weekend, but no one lacked for service. Adorable little rooms and a huge clawfoot bathtub!! I wanted to take it home with me. We will definately be back again.


A cute little hotel

3.6 on July 06, 2011

Definitely a great choice to stay close to Yosemite. Friendly reception.


Hotel Charlotte June 2011

3.4 on June 30, 2011

The room was a little small - but not unexpected in a building from the 1800's. Lynn and everyone at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Chris was knowledgeable about Yosemite and had good tips on what to see and how to best get around the park.


Great Stopover

3.6 on June 28, 2011

This was a really great place to stay the night before our trip to Yosemite. The staff are really welcoming and friendly, and the evening meal was lovely. I would definitely stay there again.


Fun Visit

3.6 on June 27, 2011

Had a nice time in the small town of Groveland - small but quaint room, great included breakfast, and very friendly staff!


Friendly staff

4.4 on June 27, 2011

Room 5 with its twin beds worked well for us and at a great price for the Yosemite area including breakfast. The room had an individual unit for heat and ac obviously new. Tiny tv mounted up high served it's purpose. Room is located on second floor. Dining room for dinner was very good. Took 30 minutes to Yosemite entrance..an hour to the valley. Leave early!


klein aber fein

4.0 on June 27, 2011

ein tolles Hotel, im klassischem flair, immer wieder gern, man fühlt sich angekommen, es ist sehr gemütlich mit einer netten Hausherrin. Wenn man am Abend essen möchte, sollte man bei Buchung gleich einen Tisch mitbestellen. (Paar aus Deutschland/Unna)


Excellent in every respect!!!!!

5 on June 24, 2011

Very sweet and friendly hotel - excellent value for your money - and as an additional bonus, Charlie is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to visiting Yosemite so you can trust him to give you the best possible advice tailored to your individual needs and preferences. Thumbs up and thank you very, very much for an unforgettable experience!!!


Hotel Charlotte - A special spot

4.6 on June 24, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Charlotte and were very pleased with the service and the room. We stayed in a room with 2 twin beds which was quite comfortable and quiet with a nice bathroom (complete with soaker tub/shower). The staff was very helpful and made us feel at home during our stay - look for Chris who can provide excellent advice for hiking in Yosemite. The buffet breakfast - eggs, sausage, pancakes, cereale, fruit etc. - was a great preparation for our visits to Yosemite National Park. We did not leave the table hungry! They also provide a very good dinner menu which we enjoyed one evening. We would highly recommend this hotel.


Pretty nice Hotel

3.6 on June 17, 2011

I was here for 2 Nights on my USA California Trip to visit the Yosemite National Park. I can recommend this hotel! Its nice, clean and the Breakfast is really good! Also the staff is very nice and they help where ever they can! Thanks and go on! Christian (from Germany)


Recommend Hotel Charlotte

4.4 on June 02, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend for my friends wedding in Groveland. The place is great and just what I expected from their web page. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and the food and wine is amoungst the best in town. Overall I had a great experience and would recommend Hotel Charlotte to my family and friends.


Warm hosts, warm bed, warm showers!!!

4.2 on May 25, 2011

We loved our stay at Hotel Charlotte. From the moment we walked in the door we were made to feel at home by our friendly hosts. Our room, No 11 was cozy and comfortable - loved the iron bed and patchwork quilt! A hot coffee was available whenever we needed it and we were grateful for the free internet access to catch up on emails and weather forecasts! Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of cooked food, cereal beverages etc. We were so glad to choose Groveland over El Portal or Mariposa to see Yosemite - we drove the loop from Groveland to Yosemite then back through Mariposa - the road through Groveland was very scenic and far less winding than the Mariposa and El Portal route!! We would definitely recommend this hotel to others as a warm, friendly and affordable place to stay en route to Yosemite.


Hotel Charlotte/Groveland

3.4 on May 24, 2011

Nice hotel and nice people- provide good information on the region beds a little small for 3 adults, although nice romantic decoration good breakfast - a few slices of ham and cheese would have been appreciated! good food in the restaurant quality/price is OK


great place

4.2 on May 22, 2011

very friendly and helpful staff. Dinner was great. Free internet!


Fun in the Gold Country

3.8 on May 22, 2011

We are not your typical tourists- we were interested in the Gold Country area and towns, and the staff at Hotel Charlotte rose to the challenge admirably! We had a wonderful dinner at the hotel's adjoining restaurant, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We would definitely recommend this Hotel for the great atmosphere, central location to both Yosemite and the Gold Country towns, and the great staff that were both knowledgeable and willing to help with slightly more unusual requests! Next trip up, we will have to stay more time, since we do want to explore Yosemite, but know it will take more than two days to do so!!! Great big thumbs up to Hotel Charlotte!!!


A Fine Stay

3.8 on May 20, 2011

The innkeeper upgraded our room choice at no additional cost.


small room, queen bed?

3.4 on May 19, 2011

Room 12, billed as roomier than the others, is, well, roomier than the others, but that's not saying much. The HVAC unit was crammed up against one side of the bed, so no reading light, and thank goodness we didn't have to have the HVAC unit turned on. We're convinced that the "queen" bed was a long double. The room was fine, but be prepared for a limited definition of "large". Even though Groveland is in the country, there were bright lights outside which the curtains did not block at night. In fact, the outdoor light shined right on my husband's eyes while he was trying to sleep. This could easily be fixed with room darkening curtains. The breakfast was great, by the way, and the people were very friendly.


Fun place to stay

4.6 on May 18, 2011

We only stayed one night but we had a great time and a lot of fun in that short time. The staff is friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Dinner was great and during our stay they even had a trivia contest going and we got to meet some of the other diners and had a great time with both the locals and the many world-wide travelers in attendance. Breakfast was included and had an extensive selection. I would gladly stay there again the next time we are in the area. We even met the piano playing dog!!!! Highly recommended.


Perfect place for a perfect stay

3.2 on May 15, 2011

Warm people at the Desk. The possibility to have a dinner in the restaurant in the evening was appreciated (when you're tired after the road..). The pancakes in the morning were so gooOoood. And room had good bed in which to sleep (and a bathroom too). In short: good place to visit Yosemite.


Yosemite's gateway

2.8 on May 13, 2011

Our second stay. Enjoyed the park. Comfortable rooms, very clean. Dining just so-so!


Great place, excellent people

3.6 on May 11, 2011

A quaint place that has all the amenities you'd expect in an old, small B&B. Small rooms and bathrooms are exceptionally clean and well-kept. The place goes above and beyond with its people, however. Both women at the front desk were knowledgeable, friendly and eager to help. Chris was wonderful - the perfect balance between offering as much friendly insider info as you'd could ask for about Yosemite hikes while remaining sensitive to your time and personal space.


Pleasant stay

3.8 on May 03, 2011

Room larger than expected. Very nice restaurant. Breakfast with limited choice, though very good. Barman rules!


Vacation

3.6 on May 02, 2011

The room was clean and well kept. The food was good and desert was delicious. We had a comfortable stay and, if passing that way again, will stay again.


Just awesome ...

4.4 on April 26, 2011

It was a real pleasure to stay in Hotel Charlotte. Really cozy and at the same time just a whole different experience. It felt a little like back in the beginning 1930 ... :-) ... We also loved the great and real kind service. Getting there to late was not an issue. We found the keys with really nice messages. The personnel really completes the warm atmosphere ... just great!!!


Just for a night

4.0 on April 10, 2011

We stayed just one night yet enjoyed our stay. The staff was so friendly and helpful.


nice place

3.0 on April 10, 2011

This is a cute old fashioned western hotel. Bedroom small but big enough for sleeping.


Happy Portlanders

5 on March 27, 2011

We loved Hotel Charlotte--it is quaint yet comfortable and cozy yet spacious--and the dining was truly superb--all at a price comparable to a boring chain motel. The proprietors made our stay interesting and fun and were exceptionally helpful when the weather changed our plans.


Hotel Charlotte is a hidden gem in the High Sierra country

4.4 on March 17, 2011

The owner Lynn, went the extra mile to assist me with my stay at Hotel Charlotte. First, I arrived after normal check in hours, yet Lynn made arrangements so I could still get to my room. Then she made sure my husband and I were comfortable in our room (which was an upgraded room at no additional cost to us). Room rates are reasonable and include a delicious breakfast. My experience was outstanding in every aspect. I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Charlotte anytime you are near Yosemite or Groveland, CA.


Home away from home.

4.8 on December 29, 2010

It feels like home and family staying here. The food is great and customer service is second to none. If you need to stay near yosemite, you can't go wrong by staying here! Highlights are clean and comfotable rooms, big free breakfast, Goose the dog, proprietors that are salt of the earth, comfy sitting parlor, free wifi, free computer use, coffee 24/7.


Cute, classic, and clean!

4.2 on December 03, 2010

breakfast buffet is amazing & the cafe is really nice, also. they said it's pretty much the best dine-in restaurant in town and I think it is true. Inside is nicely decorated (Old English style i think) it takes about 1.5 hrs to get to Yosemite valley. the workers&hostess were really nice :) I would want to go back when I get a chance again.


updating needed

3.4 on November 29, 2010

found all aspects of the Hotel Charlotte to be as promised except for the quality of the bedding. We stayed in a room with an exceedingly tired comforter and shams and rather thin pillows. This could be remedied without great expense. Cleanliness, service and old-time charm in abundance made up for this deficiency. The biggest draw, however, is the dining.


Lovely condo, vegan food expectaions not met

3.8 on November 15, 2010

Very accommodating Carolyn was the best. Vegan food was not as protein balanced as we would have expected. We said we were vegan from the get-go, the antipasto was disappointing. But, we had a lovely stay and our expectations for quiet and relaxing were greatly exceeded.


Hotel Charlotte made a great crash pad

4.0 on November 02, 2010

We were pleased with eveey aspect of the stay, especially the powerful shower in the claw foot tub, except for the bed. We had the TV room, and the queen bed was too hard, too bouncy, and sagged in the middle. It was a rather uncomfortable bed for me and my husband, which was unexpected. If the bed were improved, this would become a favorite for our many jaunts into the park.


Hotel Charlotte--mid-October, 2010

4.4 on October 29, 2010

Everyone was exceedingly gracious and cordial: the host and hostess, the staff, even the musical dog, Goose. I'd certainly stay there again. Charlene McDermott


Location: Awesome. Hotel: A'ight.

2.8 on October 27, 2010

Hotel Charlotte is a'ight overall. First, a few negatives: The rooms are nothing special and the decor is ripe for updating. From your room, if it's Saturday night, you can hear the band across the street, so you may as well just go across the street and enjoy the band in person. On the PLUS side: Hotel Charlotte has good wine you haven't tried before AND free long-distance calling, WiFi, and an upright piano AND they know how to make a martini AND the hotel is in an awesome location on Hwy 120. Our room (Room 5) had mattresses that were more firm than we typically find in hotels, so if you like a good firm mattress, this is the place for you. The best things about the breakfast were that (a) it was included in the price, and (b) it included protein and carbs. Decent coffee can be found across the street at the espresso place. Excellent Mexican food next door.


A gem

4.6 on October 15, 2010

After the drive from San Fran this is a perfect stop on the way to yosemite. Service is great and the restaurant was the best foodwe have had on our trip in America so far. Wifi can be patchy in the rooms, but the availability of communal computers and living area to sit in more than compensates. For the money you can not get a better place with better service


Absolutely fabulous dining experience

4.2 on October 13, 2010

After staying the night on my way towards my destination, I came back on several occasions just to have a dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Rooms were fine, staff was great, food was AWESOME. I recommend Hotel Charolette to any persons wanting to spend some time in Groveland!


Happiness found at Hotel Charlotte

4.4 on September 27, 2010

AH where to begin.... I enjoyed everything about my stay. The staff was teriffic, our room was cozy, the included breakfast was great and the ex mayor lives there and can play the piano! The location was convenient for our trip to Yosemite and I loved that there was a bar across the street where we could drink and play pool. When I go back to visit Yosemite I am definatly staying at Hotel Charlotte.


Charming

4.2 on September 13, 2010

Very nice experience. We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and had a nice, romantic, quiet stay.


Cute and Clean

3.8 on September 12, 2010

Quite a nice little place in the middle of nowhere. Actually Groveland is a great place to stop when heading to Yosemite if your itinerary calls for a clean room, hot shower and friendly charm before or after you experience the park.


Hotel Charlotte - september 1st.

4.4 on September 04, 2010

Very nice place to stop before you go to Yosemite. It's on the main road so you can't miss it. Rooms are very clean with an old-fashioned decoration which is quite good. Staff is very welcoming and friendly. Go there !


Nice and calm hotel, good price.

3.6 on August 29, 2010

Let's start with the (few) unpleasant points: - The curtain in the bathroom smelt fairly bad (urine fragrance...). ` - The air conditioner was noisy so it had to be turned off before we went to bed and the room got super hot during the night. - We tried to cool down the room before we went to bed but the pipe that evacuates the hot air to the outside (hidden behind a bed) was broken. So all the hot air was evacuated into the room. Obviously, the staff was aware of this problem because tape had been put on the pipe but it had not been replaced. I could fix the problem by moving the air conditioner closer to the outside wall. Good points: - The hotel has a cool style and a nice atmosphere - The staff was friendly, - The breakfast (included in the price of the room) was good - Except for the problems listed above, the room was comfortable. - The price is reasonable. Conclusion: we had a nice stay and I would go back there.


Hotel Charlotte

Details

  • Nightly Rate $88 - $159
  • Reviews (167) 4.0
  • Rooms 10

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8009617799
  • Phone 1-2099626455

Visit Website »

View details

Top