Farmhouse Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Getaway to rejuvenate the spirit

5 on February 24, 2013

From the cozy old house, with quilts, fireplace and porches to the diverting hikes and splendid woodlands -- my family of four completely refreshed our spirits to sustain us in the upcoming winter!


Exceptional in every way

5 on October 06, 2011

Great staff, amazing food, luxurious rooms and a beautiful location. the perfect romantic getaway


Relaxed and Refreshed After Farmhouse Visit

5 on September 29, 2011

Farmhouse Inn exceded all of our expectations. We were treated like family. We looked forward to breakfast every morning and enjoyed a first-class dinner on Sunday evening after a day of wine tasting. Sitting next to the fire pit drinking some wine and then toasting marshmellows after dinner ended a perfect day!


Perfect Weekend Getaway

4.4 on July 13, 2011

We loved staying in the barn. It was cozy and comfortable and very relaxing. Breakfast is outstanding as well.


Charming & luxurious

4.8 on July 13, 2011

My husbad and I visited the Farmhouse Inn during our honeymoon and it was beyond wonderful. Charming, luxurious, cozy, beautiful... and the restaurant was incredible. The wine pairings could not have been better, and it was the best meal we had on our honeymoon. The service was amazing - one of the days during our visit was my husband's birthday, and the staff had a local bakery make him cupcakes!


Great Stay at the Farmhouse Inn

4.8 on May 20, 2011

Really loved the low-key approach to check-in and our stay in general. The main desk had all sorts of goodies that you could to take to your room to make your stay more fun and relaxing (scrubs, soaps and powders for the bath, s'mores fixings and all manner of snacks). The weather was a bit cool, but that made the fireplace in our room all the more cozy. Anna at the front desk hooked us up with a driver (Steve of Silver Service) who took care of everything and made our day of touring and eating absolutely carefree. He even waited for us to finish our 5-hour epic meal at French Laundry! And the Farmhouse Inn restaurant is not to be missed.


Four days in heaven

5 on May 08, 2011

I'm not sure I could name one thing that stood out from the rest...maybe service. The staff was exceptional. Maybe dinner in the restaurant...or sitting around the fire pit having s'mores. Or was it the massage. Or just the wine.


Good but....

3.2 on May 01, 2011

3 day stay. Best for over nights only. Dinner is good not sure quite at 1 star Michelin. Breakfast poor, carton oj!


Great stay

4.8 on April 25, 2011

Help at the front desk was great. Dinner and breakfasts were fabulous. Can't wait for the cookbook!


Farmhouse Inn - amazing, quiet get away

5 on April 15, 2011

Great place for a get-away - quiet, great service, good location for biking and nearby wineries, the breakfast and dinner were fantastic - highly recommended!


Too short

4.0 on April 14, 2011

One night stay in room 3 with dinner at the restaurant. Enjoyed every moment of our stay. Dinner with wine pairings was particularly enjoyable. The sommelier (Ian) was fantastic!


Great Stay!

4.0 on April 03, 2011

We stayed at the Farmhouse Inn to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. Everything was great from our room in the barn to breakfast in the morning! The staff was great! We will be back.


A Walk in the CLOUDS

4.8 on March 27, 2011

It is heaven on earth. On my second stay in one of the barnrooms at The Farmhouse Inn, I was once again in heaven. The rooms are beautiful, with many amenities and the QUIET is like no other. It is one of my favorite getaways and I will be back with my husband. We both treasure, the staff, the surroundings and all things Farmhouse. THANK YOU!!!


a pampered get away

4.2 on March 04, 2011

We stayed at The Farmhouse Inn for 2 nights in February so weather was rainy. But our stay was warm, cozy, welcoming -- love the fireplace in the room, all the complimentary goodies for self-pampering. The tub and shower are pure luxury. This part of Sonoma County is great for exploring wonderful wineries with GREAT red wines and beautiful scenery. Even in the rain that was special. Farmhouse Inn breakfasts are delicious and out of the ordinary. They gave us wonderful recommendations and connections at great wineries. The grounds are lovely -- no doubt much nicer in good weather! Extra special place to stay. And, even better when you have dinner there and dont' have to drive "home" afterwards!


Best B&B we've ever stayed in!!

4.6 on February 22, 2011

Our stay on Valentine's Day was the essence of romance. At check in we we're given the option of upgrading to the barn, though our cottage was very nice the room in the barn was breathtaking!!! so much so we decided to stay in that night to enjoy all the amenities the room had to offer instead of going to a resturaunt.


Farmhouse Inn Feb 20-21, 2011

4.0 on February 22, 2011

This is an excellent place. Quiet, great food, lovely rooms, first class service. But I will comment that the format of your poll has its inadequcies. I have rated two categories as "met" expectations because for value it is indeed expensive--and I was aware of this beforehand. And for dining--I had read so much in advance about the quality of its food that, again, my expectations in advance were very high indeed.


Farmhouse Inn February 2011

4.8 on February 13, 2011

We stayed in cottage 4 for 5 nights in February. The room was small but comfortable and nice. Breakfast is included and was amazing each morning. We did dine at The Farmhouse Inn Restaurant one evening and it was the best meal we had on our trip. Take advantage of the sommelier for suggestions. Even the concierge was able to help us with shipping our wine back home. It saved us an incredible amount of time to enjoy our vacation. We will return to wine country and plan to stay at The Farmhouse Inn again.


Such a Great Getaway!

4.8 on January 31, 2011

We stayed at the Farmhouse Inn in Jan '11 and it was so beautiful and we just loved it. The staff just bends over backwards to make your stay perfect. They planned our days for us, booking drivers, restaurants and wineries... The restaurant has a great reputation and it lives up to the hype. Now, nothing in this area is inexpensive so be prepared and the Farmhouse Inn is no exception. But there were no hidden fees or surprises so you can plan ahead. We will definitely stay there again while in Sonoma County.


January promotion

3.8 on January 24, 2011

We were offered a January promotion: stay one night, the second night is $10. An offer we couldn't refuse. Otherwise we would look for more moderate priced accomodations. The dinner, however, was wonderful. Definitely a place we enjoy returning to.


Great getaway

3.6 on January 03, 2011

The perfect place to recooperate from the Christmas festivities. We felt pampered. Dinner each night was wonderful. Thanks


The Farmhouse is the Ultimate

5 on December 27, 2010

This is the third visit to the Farmhouse for my wife and me. We have stayed in the newer "barn:" rooms the last two visits and always make a reservation for dinner one night of our stay. The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly - they know the meaning of the word "service" - the room was perfect: we spent most of our three days lounging by the fire and relaxing in luxury - and the dinner was exceptional. We are never disappointed and will return.


Excellent! Will definitely return!

4.6 on December 24, 2010

Went to the Farmhouse Inn in October 2010 and was a wonderful place to stay for a romantic weekend getaway. Spacious room and bathroom, yet cozy because of the decor in the cottages. The concierge service was impeccable with excellent recommendations for us regarding wineries and bike trails. The homemade soaps and scrubs were very nice amenities. The breakfasts and dinner in the Farmhouse restaurant were exceptional. Do not miss a spa treatment - the "Catherine's favorite" was tops. We stayed in cottage #1 and as the website states, light sleepers will probably be sensitive to the sound of passing cars (but there are TRUCKS, too) in the early AM and the evening, but I would have to say that the evening sounds quieted by 8-9PM. Overall, we loved it and will definitely become "regulars."


Farmouse Inn

4.2 on December 23, 2010

It is a quaint romantic place to stay but a bit expensive. The staff were extremly helpful and nice and the food was amazing! I would definitely recommend and we will be going back again.


Magical and Unforgettable Stay!!!

5 on November 28, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Farmhouse for our 10th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the barn in room 18 and were blown away by the room! It was beautiful, comfortable, quaint and romantic. No small detail was overlooked. The bath was amazing -- especially the fabulous tub! We loved the fireplace in the bedroom that we could also see from the adirondack chairs on the patio. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional! The concierge was so helpful and all their recommendations were first rate! Thank you for making our anniversary so unforgettable! We can't wait to return!!!


Wonderful anniversary Visit

4.0 on November 26, 2010

We enjoyed everything about are visit. We wished we could have stayed longer. We upgraded to the barn and were glad we did. Frm the large room, private patio, heated floors in the bathroom, jacuzzi tub, steam shower, we didn't want to leave the room. The service was excellent. Our concierge always helped may our time extra special and wanted to hear about our opinions about things we did. We had planned to stay in the cottages and received and upgrade to the barn that was probably $100 less then if we'd book the barn at the start. Everything was very clean. Breakfast is included and could be delivered to our room if we requested it. Dinner was excellent and the advice on wine paring was spot on. We hope to come back the next time we are in the area.


Fall at the Farmhouse

4.4 on November 24, 2010

We arrived at the Farmhouse for a 2 night stay after driving in terrible traffic for 2.5 hours from San Francisco in cold, rainy and foggy conditions. The concierges at the hotel (all lovely ladies) were accommodating, informative and cheerful. They really went above and beyond during our stay. We visited two local restaurants---top-notch and 3 of their favorite wineries (all small but interesting locations with terrific wines that we bought cases from and that the restaurant serves by the bottle). As far as the Spa, the massage and facial I had was the best I've ever had! Terry is amazing! And dinner at The Farmhouse rivaled any of our favorite restaurants in NYC. Overall, it is a gorgeous setting matched with great concierges and comforts. The only negative of our stay was breakfast. The morning complimentary breakfast was good but the service was not. They need to employ a more cheerful staff that actually knows what the kitchen is serving for breakfast (there are 2 choices daily). And it should not take over 1 hour in an empty restaurant to get a scrambled egg. Most importantly, the coffee urns ran out each morning...a no-no for weary travelers. I would highly recommend staying at The Farmhouse Inn and look forward to returning.


Lovely Getaway

4.4 on November 21, 2010

We just spent four nights at The Farmhouse Inn and could not have asked for a better experience. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Sonoma. The setting is lovely. The food is outstanding, and the service amazing.


Gracious hospitality and thoughtful details, rain notwithstanding

4.2 on November 13, 2010

Lovely place to weather a wet and blustery turn of season. Farmhouse rooms are not so vast as those suites in the barn, but better scaled for two lovers, and exquisitely appointed.


Anniversary at the Farmhouse

3.8 on November 08, 2010

The grounds are amazing, our room was cute and cozy. The small details like the bath bar with homemade soaps, smores and teas were wonderful. The service was impeccable and the staff recognized our anniversary every interaction we had with them. It made our anniversary very special.The breakfast was delicious. Dinner was the best. We will definitely stay again. Next time, I will reserve a room farther away from the busy road (we were in room #4). The road noise was extremely loud (maybe the main house would be less noise). Our bathroom was just ok as well. The tub wouldn't hold water and the shower head was a little weak. The bathroom overall seemed a little run down but the bedroom/bed/fieplace amazing!!!


great spot in one of my favorite parts of sonoma

4.0 on November 05, 2010

everything really was top notch. only planned on eating there one night, but ended up cancelling our reservation elsewhere the following night to have dinner there again. rooms are great, ours (11) had a fireplace in the living area and on the terrace, which was perfect.


Russian River Gem

4.0 on November 04, 2010

If you are looking for a quit get-a-way location, this is your place. Understated luxury, great service and it is wine country. Not a bad combination.


getaway in low key wine country

4.6 on November 01, 2010

barn rooms are outstanding, spa also outstanding, concierge staff very eager to assist, extremely pleasant 5 star luxury.


Most Unbelievable Stay Ever

5 on October 18, 2010

My wife and I spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at the Farmhouse Inn. We had stopped by before to visit friends and had unrealistically high expectations for our stay. All those expectations were exceeded. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The steam shower helped us relax from our long drive (from San Diego) and the fire place kept us warm as we snacked on complementary milk, cookies and caramels. It was so relaxing we fell asleep before the MNF game ended. Breakfast each morning was delicious, especially the Huevos Rancheros and the Blue Berry French Toast with chicken sausage. We missed out on dinner, but all the other guests raved, even "non-foodies." Everyone at the Farmhouse was very helpful. When I did not get reservations for horseback riding the concierge suggested the Sonoma Canopy Tour instead. The recommendation was spot on. The second afternoon we decided to just stay in and enjoy our room and back deck. The bath tub was deep and long enough to accommodate my long legs (I'm 6'3"). That evening we took advantage of the complementary S'mores at the fire pit. We had lovely conversations with a pair of other couples who equally enjoyed their stays. When we first booked I was a little hesitant because of the price tag, but after staying for two nights I believe the price is appropriate for the experience. We will be returning to the Farmhouse!


Nice place, needs a little tweeking

3.0 on October 06, 2010

Recently stayed at The Farmhouse in one of their luxury barn suites. While this is clearly an upper end property, you are paying upper end prices. I guess my dissapointment falls with some basic pet peaves for a inn you are paying $800 a night for. Silly things that are easily correctable, but make the difference between a great stay or an "OK" stay. Things like there were no pen and paper in the room, every lotion and shampoo in the room had a tag on it saying that they would be happy to charge your credit card on file $25 if you took it. Maybe a little rephrasing of the tags would help, or for $800 a night, let the people take the shampoo if they really need it that bad. No basic hand soap, make-up removal pads, or q-tips in the bathroom. Again, little items that are usually there at this price point. The next item is a design flaw with these rooms. The toilet is located in a separate room with a pocket door that is outside the main bathroom closer to the main entry and sitting area. The room is is a little larger than a phone booth with very high ceilings. There is nothing else in the room except the toilet. Needless to say the room is an echo chamber. You can hear what happens in that room from anywhere in the suite. If you are the least bit modest about your bathroom habits, than this is NOT the room for you. There is no measure of privacy from the audible stand point. The balcony with the 2-way fireplace is beautiful, but there is very little furniture on he deck. There are 2 adirondack chairs, but no table and chairs to sit at, and the balcony is spacious....Last complaint is is another design flaw. The air conditioning units are right outside the entry doors. If running, it sounds like you are entering and exiting your suite through a machine room.....The dinning room and food are excellent and the service was fine....Nice place but the barn suites needs a little tweeking.


Go for dinner. Stay some place else.

2.8 on August 25, 2010

snobby front desk staff. I have stayed here before but this time I found the staff to be snobby and i don't think i will stay here again because of that. For the price you pay you would expect to be greeted with open arms. The food was amazing as always - I've dined here several times. I should also note that they did not honor my $100 coupon that said "no strings attached". I guess the fine print was posted on their website which was taken down shortly after the email was sent out but the email was clear. Go for dinner. Stay some place else.


The place to stay!

5 on July 26, 2010

We stayed at the Farmhouse in and it was above and beyond what we expected. Wonderful, romantic rooms with all the amenities. They really pay attention to detail from complimentary soaps and bath products , candle lit lanterns every evening by your doorway entrance,down to homebaked cookies left in our room and milk in the fridge. Fire pit, pool, wonderful spa. Clean beautifully decorated romantic rooms.The staff are friendly and warm and willing to go out of their way to make your stay perfect. I would highly recommend this one and we will definitley return.


Amazing Getaway!

5 on February 21, 2007

I can't say enough about how fantastic our trip to the Farmhouse Inn was! The room, alone - with fireplace, giant tub, steam shower, flat panel TV and DVD, most comfortable bed we've ever slept in... - was so much more than we expected. But, add in gourmet breakfast, world class restaurant, spectacular spa, and truly, the most helpful staff we've ever encountered, and, oh-my-god, what an amazing getaway!!! We really could not have asked for more. We can't wait to go back!


Farmhouse Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $445 - $895
  • Reviews (37) 4.4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (707) 887-3300

Visit Website »

View details

Top