Greenwood Pier Inn Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
166 Reviews

Write A Review

thank you

5 on April 10, 2014

Outstanding. Best salmon i have ever eaten.


one day getaway...

4.4 on April 02, 2014

i purchased a living social deal for a stay here just so my husband and i could get away from the world for a night. it was a great experience. we stayed in the whale room. check-in was easy, the room was spacious, the shower was nice and big, and the in-room whirlpool was icing on the cake after dining at the restaurant on the grounds (don't recall the name). before supper, we walked around the beautiful grounds and then along the paths by the ocean and down to the beach. even with intermittent rain during our stay, it was so refreshing. the room was not luxury by any means, but it was clean, had enough space, and the bed was comfortable. there was no wi-fi, so we could really disconnect. highly recommend!


Great Escape!

3.0 on February 22, 2014

A few minor problems but nothing unusual for an older bed and breakfast. Forget your Phone and computer, cell service is nonexistant and wifi is spotty, great place to "unplug". Ace was a hoot and the grounds are wonderful, be sure to hot tub on the cliff at sunset!


Beautifully Located

2.6 on February 13, 2014

This property could not be more perfectly located on the Mendocino coast. The rock formations along the shore are amazing. The grounds are lush and inviting in spite of the downpour of rain which we didn't mind at all. Our room had a wonderful, relaxing view which makes it almost worth the price per night. However, the buildings exterior can best be described as "rough" in need of paint. The interior of our room was very dated and not furnished appealingly. While it had a corner Jacuzzi bath tub in the room and a wonderful gas fireplace, the furnishings were dated, in need of repair, the carpet could stand to be cleaned, the TV should be replaced with an HD flatscreen to take advantage of the Directtv, the wireless internet is spotty and only worked in certain locations within the room which is not acceptable. Keep in mind that it poured rain for the entire weekend and spending a weekend in the room relaxing is what we were looking forward to so the amenities are important. While it is nice to have the continental breakfast delivered to your room, we would have enjoyed sitting down at the restaurant for a real breakfast. There is so much that could be done with this property to enhance the experience. We are somewhat critical because we have a home in the mountains that is a vacation rental that we pay critical attention to all the details to make sure our guests leave with a positive experience. In spite of these suggestions, we enjoyed our stay largely because of the beauty of the coast. Unfortunately, we would likely look at another offering for our next trip to Mendocino.


Always wanted to stay here!

4.2 on January 16, 2014

For years I have wanted to stay at Greenwood Pier Inn and it did not disappoint. Rooms face the coast - great views. Hot tubs in your room and the public hot tub right on the cliff. There is a terrific boogie board/walking beach within walking distance of the hotel. Some of the best waves I have ever caught! Plus Friday and Sat night, drive south a few miles to The Beacon (the local bar at the top of the hill with really interesting folks). Thanks for the fun Elk!


Awesome Find!

5 on January 12, 2014

I bought a groupon for a stay at Greenwood Pier Inn as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend. I had never heard of it, but its location on highway 1 and the ocean views out many of the room windows drew my attention. It ended up being everything I could have hoped for and more. We stayed in their Goldfish room, a pretty, light filled, romantic room, that had a large window and deck facing the ocean. We were able to watch the sun set over the ocean before dinner. We went to the cafe on site and had the garden salad, salmon and a glass of wine from one of the local wineries. Everything was delicious! Ace, the innkeeper, was a fun and interesting guy who made our stay even better. Overall, we had a great time and will definitely be visiting again, with or without a groupon. :-)


Our First NorCal Escape

4.4 on December 29, 2013

My fiancé and I had never been to the Nor Cal coast together and I wanted to make the trip special. While researching places to stay in the immediate area, I discovered the Greenwood Pier Inn which seemed perfect. Ace returned my call and provided a descriptive overview of the accommodations, room views and the on-site dining. For us (we are in our mid-50s and older) the two-night off-season Sunday and Monday night stay place was perfect! We remain impressed by the most generous continental breakfast delivered to our front door each morning...and the excellent menu-ordered fine-dining literally on-site that Sunday and Monday evening. Regardless of the time of year, we both highly recommend the property, the management and care-taking, and especially the on-site evening dining selection, cooking and service; with special kudos and thanks to Ace...who does it all!


Awesome!!

4.8 on December 09, 2013

Spectacular views of the Pacific from rooms - you cant get any better views in the area. Very friendly inn keepers who made our stay memorable. Breakfast was good although it could be even better if it could change from day to day :) The property is very well maintained and the Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific is a killer !! Awesome.


Unique Hotel Full of Character

3.8 on November 25, 2013

One of kind rooms in a quite seaside town. This is the place to go if you are looking for character in a quiet little town and not the usual cookie cutter hotel.


Greenwood Pier Inn

4.4 on November 04, 2013

Our favorite place to stay on N. Calif. coast.


Serene Stay

3.0 on October 25, 2013

Had a lovely stay at this Inn. The view is really the main attraction and there were nice views from the room we stayed in which was the Starfish room on the lower level. The room was comfortable and was very true to the pictures that are on the website. The attached cafe features great food most especially the fresh fish. The person who checked us in, Ace, was very friendly and colorful and gave us some really helpful tips about the area and provided us with so much laughter. This was a nice get away and we would go back. We took advantage of a Travel Zoo deal and so for that price the stay very much met our expectations. One should be aware of the time of year you book because of the cold foggy weather but that is why we chose to stay in Fall. Would recommend this place for its charm, good food and proximity to a choice of places either farther up north or more down south.


Heaven on Earth!!!!!!!!!

5 on October 13, 2013

Best stay between San Francisco & Oregon. The Greenwood Pier Inn is a complex, including, a Victorian House and individual, very unique cottages, separated by exotic, delightful, garden paths, within view of monolithic stone islands and the crashing Pacific.....Mesmerizing sunsets. Ace, the mighty, manager, extraordinaire, made memorable conversation. We can't wait to return... My husband & I are from Rhode Island. This is our second trip to Northern California Country. we LOVE everything about the Greenwood Pier Inn. We stayed in the Garden Cottage & it was the most beautiful place in the World. The Gardens, the Cottage, the incredible Pacific Ocean, the sunsets.....the HOT TUB,, Thank you Ace & the Greenwood Peer Inn Employees for making our stay the best we could ever imagine!!


Magical

3.8 on October 07, 2013

The Greenwood Pier Inn is absolutely gorgeous! All the gardens the view the different kinds of lodging. There is not one room that does not have a view of the ocean. Magical is my best way to explain it.


Disappointing

3.0 on September 26, 2013

Have visited the Greenwood Pier Inn for over 18 years. The property has deteriorated significantly and breakfast has changed from creative hot surprises to granola, fruit and hockey puck roll. The rooms are still nice and views, of course, are spectacular, however, hard times seem to have fallen on this wonderful getaway. I hope the owners make the necessary changes to bring it back up to what it once was.


WE lovred this place 20 years ago, and won't wait that long to return!

4.6 on September 21, 2013

The views from our room in this lovely bnb are unparalleled, well worth the trip to the coast.We especially like the fact you can hear the waves from your room.We'll be back too!


A return to Greenwood Pier Inn

1.8 on September 11, 2013

5 years ago my wife & I honeymooned in Elk, staying at the Greenwood Pier. The earlier visit was terrific -- the view was fantastic, grounds were well manicured, the room was quite new & well kept during the stay, and breakfast at the adjoining Cafe was B&B quality. The latest visit couldn't have been more different. By choice I was in a different room, but that doesn't excuse the physical inability to open any of the windows (think fresh sea air & sounds of waves) due to mechanical issues (missing handles, broken levers) or the dirty windows (why get a room with "a view" if you can't ee the sea castles or a sunset through the glass?). The bed wasn't made either the first day or the second day, so I had to go to the office and ask for it to be made. A "Continental Style" breakfast was brought to the room each morning. There was a little variation from day to day, but it was make your own coffee in the room and eat at a table facing very dirty windows. This was my 9th visit to Elk and I'll be coming back as I love the area, but not staying here again. Such a shame, too, as I have very fond memories of the first visit to Greenwood Pier.


Perfectly Relaxing

4.8 on September 04, 2013

The Greenwood pier in was beautiful, inviting, amazing views,great food the quietest place you ever find. The perfect place when you're looking to get away from the kids(yours and others)!


What an experience

4.6 on August 29, 2013

We stayed at the inn over the weekend and the experience was just great. Amazing views from this inn built over the cliff. Left the window open all the time and listened to the ocean, birds, and breez. Room was very comfortable. Will surely come back.


Disappointed except for birds and food!

2.8 on August 14, 2013

The view here was great, have never seen so many hummingbirds. The flower beds were very prettty. The water feature off our deck was dormant and kind of gross. The deck furniture needed sprucing up. The room could be adorable, but was VERY outdated. The couch was the most uncomfortable couch I have ever sat on. The gas fireplace was great! There is no wireless except in a office in the front, which was sporadically available. The cafe onsite was open for dinner only. Had a FANTASTIC meal there!! The continental breakfast delivered was good, but I wanted eggs, and the rest of the town is so small and the other cafes there were closed. We ended up driving to Mendicino both days we were there to find something to do. Beautiful area, but I would not recommend this to anyone to stay. If only they can update the rooms, the decor, the decks, and open the cafe with internet all day, it would be much better. Especially at that price point.


Greenwood Pier Inn needs some love...

2.4 on August 14, 2013

This inn is in a spectacular location, but has fallen behind from the days when it was truly a special place. The place is clearly in transition (and seems to have been for at least 8 years) and needs somebody to come in and take care of the place and to give it a personality that is consistent. Let's hope they can pull it together.


Perfect Getaway

4.0 on August 12, 2013

The Greenwood Pier Inn is a unique collection of rooms and beautiful gardens in one of the most scenic locations in the country, with a hot tub for every guest's use on a cliff over the ocean. Stayed in the Whale Room - it exceeded expectations with the quirky whale shrine fireplace, jacuzzi, deck overlooking the ocean, extremely comfortable king-size bed, and a light fruit and cereal breakfast delivered to the door every morning. It was the perfect place to unplug.


What a peaceful Inn

4.4 on August 07, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. The inn was wonderful, with beautiful rooms and grounds. The view of the ocean from the cliff was breathtaking. It was very peaceful, as well as comfortable.


Great views, great rooms

3.6 on July 16, 2013

Bit of renovation going on, but the room and views are great, the grounds covered in garden. No hot water in my room on check-in but the morning shower was fine. The cliff-side hot tub not to be missed.


A Treasure

3.8 on July 12, 2013

An ecclectic collection of buildings, linked by a wonderful central garden area, the property sits just off Hwy 1, with absolutely breathtaking views of the ocean and coast line. Lovely walks to connect with paths down to Greenwood Beach. Birds, flowers, shrubs and trees abound. A simple, fresh and healthy breakfast delivered to the room with a quiet knock. Ace and Cathleen were excellent hosts while in the midst of ongoing restoration activities. Too much to take in for the one night we were there. A quiet, peaceful place to escape, meditate, reconnect with friends, family. A quintessential slice of the good life on the Pacific coast and a spot I will always treasure.


Fabulous vacation in the Cliff House

4.2 on July 11, 2013

Stayed all 3 nights in the Cliff House which was wonderful! Best views! Bed was super comfortable. The weather was perfect - warmer than usual for the coast. Great hospitality from Ace, Joshua and all the staff. The Caesar salad in the cafe was fantastic. All around a great time. We are looking forward to our next visit!


Located in paradise!

3.4 on July 11, 2013

Ordinarily my partner and I like trying or new spots along the California coast, but after our amazing week in Elk, at the Greewood Pier Inn we may never travel anywhere else. This is a lush, charming estate with ~6 separate cottages with distinct views and charms. The jacuzzi in our suite was great, and the innkeepers are quite hospitable. The only complaint was the food options as the "breakfast" part of the B&B was sugary yogurt, and a Styrofoam cup of Cheerios. Also, it did not even come one morning and was delivered in a grocery bag later during our stay. Even that wont keep us from the place. There is a secluded state beach down the road and a fabulous omelet joint across the street.


Lovely room; spectacular view!

4.0 on July 10, 2013

Just half an hour south of Mendocino in the former logging town of Philo, CA, perched on a cliff overlooking the Pacific, sits this funky multi-building inn, with gorgeous landscaping and a spectacular view. Breakfast delivered to the room. Good restaurant for dinner too. A very special place.


Beautiful Scenery

3.4 on June 24, 2013

The scenery is gorgeous. We had the only room without a view of the ocean (they were booked up) but could imagine the views from the other rooms would be outstanding. They just reopened the café. Most of the food was really good but the risotto and the desserts (cheesecake and chocolate mousse) were not good at all.


greenwood pier inn in elk, california

3.4 on June 16, 2013

this unique inn has several buildings with varied room types and diverse styles of architecture. i think the place was once a meditative retreat for a well-known yoga master, something like that. especially enjoyed the hot tub perched on a cliff overlooking a small cove with beautiful rock outcroppings and the sound of pacific waves slapping against the rocks and shore. also enjoyed the nice breakfast in a basket left at each room around 8:30 each morning, as well as the little cafe and bar next door. owners and staff were friendly and entertaining. recommend this place for a quiet stay in an interesting setting.


Nice, relaxing place to stay.

2.8 on June 13, 2013

The room has beautiful views and is as shown in the pictures. Very comfortable sitting areas to read and watch the sea. A little overpriced based on the other possibilities in the area. Breakfast was healthy but nothing special.


Romantic getaway

4.0 on June 10, 2013

This is a very nice b&b right next to great scenery. Plus: scenery, quiet, clean, comfortable, in room fireplace, very romantic. Minuses: hot tub in the room does not have jets (just a bit ol tub), a bit pricey. Mixed: The place is getting remodeled, so presently they don't have a breakfast area, on the other hand, they delivered a breakfast basket to our room (I actually prefer this option instead of having to get up and dressed to go have breakfast). Overall a good and romantic experience, I would definitely go back.


Charming B&B

3.6 on May 30, 2013

We loved the Greenwood Pier Inn. Ace and Cathleen are wonderful hosts and offered great information about things to do and places to see in the area. The ocean views were fantastic. They provided a light, healthy breakfast delivered to the room each morning. The restaurant was under remodel; otherwise we would have been served a full hot breakfast at the restaurant, which we look forward to another time. The grounds were lovely and the rooms very clean and well-stocked. The bed was very comfortable. Can't wait to go back again!


A terrific night

4.0 on May 07, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed the night in the Starfish Room for our one year anneversary. It was a wonderful stay, with fantastic views, terrific service, and a cozy room.


Excellent weekend over the cliffs

4.0 on April 17, 2013

This little place is fabulous. The entire compound is right up to the cliffs and the views are spectacular from every room from what I could judge. The room was nicely appointed, comfortable and had a fireplace (gas) for heating which was great for ambiance. The staff was very helpful and the new manager, Ace, couldn't have been a more enjoyable person. The location is perfect as Elk is a quiet little town, but is only 25 minutes from Mendocino proper and just 30 minutes from Anderson Valley, the hidden Pinot jewel of California wine country. Anderson is what Napa must have been 50 years ago before the mega-wineries and tour buses ruined it. The restaurant was only open for breakfast, otherwise I would have been able to give higher/different marks for dinning. We'll definitely go back!


Greenwood Pier Inn - Hummingbird Suite

4.4 on April 07, 2013

We had a great stay and the hostess and chef of the Greenwood Pier Inn went out of their way to make our stay even better.


outstanding

5 on April 05, 2013

Beautiful, breathtaking, awesome service, Free upgrade due to cancellation.(we didn't mind the rain!!). Thank you Greenwood for a wonderful experience.


Very nice

4.6 on April 02, 2013

We stayed one night and the service was great they had a bottle of champagne for us to while we enjoyed the Jacuzzi. The view of the ocean is fantastic and they have allot of pretty flowers planted around the buildings. I would go there again.


garden cottage at greenwood pier inn

4.4 on April 01, 2013

the room was very nice. whimsical. quirky. charming. Bath has a jacuzzi tub. There is a hot tub outside overlooking the ocean. The view and setting is lovely.


Nice and Quaint but a Bit Dilapidated

3.6 on March 22, 2013

Great views from our balcony, nice hot tub in the room which we used and enjoyed. We also liked the 2 bottles of wine, one was sparkling. The room needs a bit of updating though. The chairs were worn and so were the curtains. But maybe that was part of the charm.....


Great Stay!

4.2 on March 21, 2013

The staff here is fantastic, so friendly and helpful! The rooms were gorgeous and the views are just breathtaking. Would highly recommend this place to anyone!


Great oceanside escape

4.2 on March 20, 2013

Stayed in the room Aeerie, which had a private deck, comfy bed and jacuzzi tub.


Breathtaking views and relaxation

5 on March 09, 2013

We had the most relaxing time. Loved the views from the Hummingbird Suite. Sat with our puppy on the deck and enjoyed watching the birds, the beautiful sunset, and the views of the ocean and landscaping. The room was so comfortable, loved the ambiance of the fireplace and also jacuzzi in the rooms. The Inn Keepers were so hospitable and dinners and breakfast were great. Thank you so much. What a nice hide a way. Will share with all.


Amazing for a weekend getaway!

4.8 on March 07, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night (so glad we found this place on Groupon) last Sunday. The Innkeepers were wonderful and sweet. They were able to point us in the direction of local eateries and tell us a little bit about Elk's history. It was fantastic. The room itself (we stayed in the Lighthouse) was gorgeous and very, very tidy. You can tell that they keep the rooms quite clean. The best thing about this room is the gorgeous view from both the upstairs, downstairs, and observatory areas. It's proximity to the hot tub was great too. This place is fantastic, we are already planning another trip (hopefully with the same room) soon!


Great little place!

5 on February 26, 2013

We stayed here during one of the nights of our honeymoon. It was a fantastic little place- very quaint and relaxing. We stayed in the South Castle- I highly recommend the room! We had a wood burning stove, a spiral staircase leading up to a private Jacuzzi tub, a darling breakfast nook, and a private deck overlooking the ocean. There was no cell phone reception, but that just made it the perfect place to get away and relax. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was wonderful!


great view from our room

4.6 on February 14, 2013

great service and price room needs to to updated bed was nice to sleep on, but very nosiey


The ultimate relaxation . . .

5 on January 23, 2013

Great Bed & Breakfast in a Great Location - The views, the gardens, the rooms, the dining - spectacular! The Inn Keepers - all - were very helpful and friendly, courteous, . . . .Wish we could have stayed a couple more nights.


A cozy stay in the winter.

4.4 on January 03, 2013

A lovely escape with unbeatable views! Plan to stay longer than a night.


Heaven on Earth

2.4 on October 15, 2012

There is no place else in the world that can get away with what Greenwood Pier Inn does. Trouble keeping staff; numerous small maintenance issues; improvements begging for completion -- easy to make but still undone for years. And yet, we return every year. And we'll keep returning. Why? Because this place is magic. Beautiful gardens backing up the best view of the Pacific Ocean in the world. In a tiny little town called Elk. In a place that must be Heaven. If you want luxury or even high-class accommodations, you'll be disappointed. If you want top-quality service and great food, you'll be disappointed. (Although there is great food in the area.) If you want housekeeping on command, you'll be disappointed. If you want a cell phone signal, you'll be disappointed. (You can get one a quarter mile north on Highway 1 by the cemetery.) But if you want to experience Heaven before you die; If you want to simply exist in nirvana for a quiet spell, and experience life the way it should be lived; If you want to cry when you have to say goodbye at the end of your stay ... Then come to Greenwood Pier Inn. Each morning, annoyed with the tiny, outdated bathroom, we crowd back out through the small door ... and are met with the stunning view of the Pacific Ocean. And therein is The Greenwood Pier Inn as a metaphor: Irritation giving way to astonishment at the beauty of the world. Greenwood Pier Inn is a treasure. Let us all hope someone takes better care of her. I would rather be there than anywhere else in the world. Always.


Wonderful and relaxing stay

4.0 on October 10, 2012

We stayed for our anniversary and if was truly relaxing and wonderful. We would definitely splurge ourselves and stay again.


Beautiful Setting

5 on October 10, 2012

The room we stayed in had a million dollar view of the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful room firepace etc. Breakfast was excellent and the dining menu was outstanding with great atmosphere, everyone was very friendly. I would strongly recommend the Greenwood Pier Bed and Breakfast. I look forward to staying there in the future.


A weekend in Elk

3.0 on September 26, 2012

When you have a balcony, and can look out at the ocean from that balcony, you can't really complain. The setting really can't be beat. Our room, the West Gallery, was very spacious and very clean, but nothing special in terms of furnishings. Very sparse furnishings, which was fine, but also a bit worn. The mattress was a little soft for my taste, but my wife loved it. Very nice people in both the office and cafe, but the breakfast was mediocre. Would I go back? Probably yes because it's so beautiful and relatively close to Mendocino.


Wonderful getaway!

4.6 on September 20, 2012

This was my first trip to this part of the coast and I loved it! The inn was amazing. Gardens, views, food, all of it was wonderful. The place is under new management and is in need of a little maintenance but with winter coming on that will come. I HIGHLY recommend it anyway unless you're a real snob about perfectly grouted tiles and such. The rooms were very clean and perfect otherwise. One thing to note here that I found it would have been good to know ahead of time was that there is no cell service. So, be prepared to be disconnected!!


We will be back for more

5 on September 18, 2012

We were delighted with our room that overlooked the ocean and the beautiful gardens that surround Greenwood Pier Inn. The friendly staff warmly welcomed us with 2 bottles of Salmon Creek wine that was excellent. Our dog Phoebe galloped around the yard before settling in and seemed to totally enjoy the surroundings. We ate next door at Bridget Dolan's Pub and loved the Fish and Chips. One needs two nights to really get into the area. We left alot to explore for next time


Cute space, Great view!

4.4 on September 07, 2012

I arrived late for check in (around 7:30) but found the on-site staff to be very welcoming and helpful. I was delighted to see that the decor had been updated from what I saw on their website (pink curtains, cheesy floral bedspread). The decor and linens were plain but it was clean, fresh and airy. The balcony and view is what you're really paying for (AMAZING VIEW!). Also, there is a great jacuzzi tub located near the ocean view side of the room which was an awesome surprise. (downside, the jacuzzi was leaking to first floor room so we had to get out) Check out was also easy and fast. Overall, my stay there was great. I highly recommend it to anyone


Weekend Getaway

4.2 on September 07, 2012

I wanted to take my husband away for his birthday. We had the best time! The views are incredible. Sleeping with the windows open and listening to the ocean sounds was fabulous. All while we were snuggled under a down comforter. Having a roaring fire while taking in the beauty was wonderful. Our continental breakfast: eggs, bacon, fruit, orange juice, coffee, muffins, potatoes and plenty of fresh (grown on the site) vegetables. Yum. The soaking tub at the top of the spiral staircase with a full view of the ocean and beach was heavenly. If you are looking to be entertained, have pristine accommodations and love your electronics...this is NOT the place for you. If you want to enjoy gorgeous sunsets and sunrises with the person you love and your plan is for a quiet, peaceful time where the views are spectacular...this IS the place for you. Les and Lori Edwards


Blessed Time In Our Heaven!

5 on August 27, 2012

Our stay was very manificent,magical,rewarding,relaxing,this memorable stay is in my heart words will never explain to my darling Frankie who showed me what it was like to live on! RIP Love always Brilliant CynT!!!


Wonderful time

4.0 on August 22, 2012

The views were beautiful. We were lucky, the fog lifted and we had a wonderful sunset. It was so quite and peaceful. This not a place for large families, it is more a romantic getaway or a place to rest and relax. The room was clean and maybe needed some updating but it was very comfortable. I will be back next year.


Relaxing 2 days

5 on August 20, 2012

Had a great time. The grounds were beautiful and the cafe was outstanding!


Inn by the ocean

4.8 on August 14, 2012

Our visit was outstanding. The views were magnificent and the people were friendly. I would most definitely stay again! :)


Memorable Stay

4.4 on August 09, 2012

Very comfortable stay, we especially liked the view and outdoor plants. Biosoft Global


Calm and beautiful place

3.8 on August 06, 2012

This is an amazing property, ideal for a romantic getaway or a relaxing weekend. The new people who are running the place are AMAZING and extremely helpful and polite. The restaurant staff are also SO nice and give you information and will answer any questions you might have. Also, if needed, they will bring you breakfast to your room at the specific time that you request it. The place has a hot tub with an amazing view of the ocean. It is not a 5-star place, but the stay and surroundings are totally worth it. And I am a picky customer....


Romantic magic

5 on August 06, 2012

Beautiful grounds, friendly service, wonderful breakfast and dinner, stunning views, and a romantic room. We will be returning to celebrate our anniversary.


Mostly what was expected...

2.6 on August 04, 2012

We stayed for two days in the West Gallery room. The room was decent. The stairway up to the room smelled like wet dog but the room was fine. The decor really needs help. There was a cracked lamp, spiderwebs on the bathroom light fixture and the shower could've been cleaner. There was a used tissue between the bed and the nightstand on the floor that was there when we arrived and was there when we left...even after the lady came in and "cleaned" after night 1. The little refrigerator worked really well and it was nice to have a mini microwave. The bed was comfy. It has a lot of potential if they would put a little money into the decor and replace worn out, broken, or old items. The bedspreads were cheap and flowered but I think the room was supposed to be Asian themed??? I saw some of the nicer rooms and they had better linens and better quality furniture in the room so I'm not sure why they cut corners in the "cheaper" rooms... Mind you, this room goes for about $187/night. The area was beautiful and not too far from Mendocino. The people in the cafe were really nice and Dave, the manager was really helpful.


Excellent Hideaway

4.2 on August 04, 2012

I have stayed here three times now and this last stay was the best. We stayed with another couple in the Humingbird Suite. The room(s) was perfect for a couple. It was clean ad the view from our private deck was awesome. The grounds have nice gardens and we relaxed watching the ocean and humingbirds for hours while consuming adult beverages. We actually did not eat here this time but I have had good meals in the past. I would like to personally thanks the Sunday morning kitchen staff for providing us excellent coffee before they actually opened!


Dragon's Eye Sunset

5 on July 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay relaxing watching humming birds perfoming thier acrobats amongst the whimsical Zen garden. We were Delightfully treated to gorgeous sunsets while sitting virtually on the ocean's cliff. We had scrumptious meals prepared at the Inn's Cafe. The Staff and Inn Keepers were very nice and accommodating.


Loved it!

4.6 on July 25, 2012

We loved our visit to Greenwood Pier Inn!! I look forward to the next time...:)


Cozy and beautiful.

4.0 on July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Cottage. It was so quaint with a fireplace and a lovely deck overlooking the ocean. This place has character so don't expect a five star hotel with a modern bathroom. We ate in the restaurant and the food is outstanding, and I'm a food snob. The new chef uses local and fresh organic ingredients. I would suggest going into the restaurant for breakfast otherwise if it's brought to you in your room you don't really get a choice. All in all I recommend The Greenwood Pier Inn and hope to go back soon.


Really enjoyed my stay!

4.4 on July 18, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely visit again/ recommend to friends. This B&B has an old worldly charm to it - I enjoyed the tub in my room with a view of the ocean.. There is also a bigger hot tub with beautiful views.


Birthday Get away

4.6 on July 16, 2012

This was my second stay in this charming little place by the sea. The garden and ocean views were spectacular and the people who work at the Inn were absolutely delightful. I love the Garden Shop with all its unique items and the restaurant had wonderful food. I look forward to my next visit at the Greenwood Pier Inn for a another quiet relaxing get away.......... L & C from Santa Rosa


Beautiful Cliff area

4.2 on July 14, 2012

Stayed in a room with a Jacuzzi. You had a view of the ocean from the Jacuzzi, and balcony. An adjustment knob was broken to turn on the Jacuzzi, took some effort to turn it on. Only negative about the stay. Don't expect to use a cell phone, no signal. Didn't try dinner, prices looked to high for the selections.


Terrifice experience at Greenwood Pier Inn

4.6 on June 27, 2012

We had not been in this area of California to stay before this visit. We were pleasantly surprised with a beautiful room that looked over the ocean. The room was well decorated, had ample space and was outfitted (robes, towels, coffee, refrig. microwave, wine glasses, etc.) We had a balcony where we watched the sun set. The office staff was very accomodating to requests. And the breakfasts were OUTSTANDING! We were offered several wonderful choices each morning and the each meal was made to order. We ;had a great time.


Gorgeous place must stay

3.4 on June 21, 2012

Dont let the food put you off staying here because it is worth it. they miss the breakfast past of bed and breakfast. they deliver to your door which is nice but the quality and quantity are lacking. we just go one thin slice of watermelon, a cup of juice and two strips of bacon with a tiny slice of quiche. The quiche was under cooked and not good quality. I am not a big eater but left hungry. Just add a proper fruit bowl and a yoghurt and it would be better


Mixed Boho Experience

2.8 on June 19, 2012

I'd been stalking the Greenwood Pier Inn for about ten years, longing to visit. With the Groupon deal offered I was able to come this year; and this has long been my dream visit, so my expectations were high, based on what I'd seen on visits to the perimeter and gift shops. I agree with most postings here...the rooms are rundown but serviceable, beds old and soft, really need to be replaced, views are impeccable and tremendous, grounds are exquisitely maintained. The wine offered gratis as part of my Groupon deal was exceptionally good, even for Sonoma. The loft bed in the Aerie room is really sub-par...more of a futon which was weird and probably unacceptable for most, and all of the pillows and linens need to be replaced. The Cafe food is nothing to spend money on. I would say this Inn needs a giant interior refurb to compete with existing accommodations in Mendocino and environs, but its location, remoteness and logistics are without competition. Staff was friendly, quirky, and unintrusive which was fun and just what I wanted. But I really expect more for the money than something that has clearly not seen interior updating since the 70s. I understand I wasn't paying premium rates like at the Stanford or Macallum House, but I still feel like I should be treated as the discerning off the beaten path traveler that I am. It's okay to be funky, but you've got to draw the line at "funk," and the interior of the guest rooms and common interior areas are starting to approach "funk." If there are future similar Groupon deals, I could be persuaded to come back--it's a lovely place to escape to, but it needs a makeover to bring it back to its intended boho splendor. I was, however, thrilled at the items in the garden shop, and the host of the shop, Karen, was delightful.


Amazing views!

2.8 on June 18, 2012

The views from the room were amazing! It was wonderful to be able to walk down to the beach. The grounds were beautiful. The hot breakfast was a great benefit. The dinner service, on the other hand, could have been much better. The room looks well-used and could use some updating.


Great place to stay, will be back.

4.8 on June 14, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the balcony that looked out to the ocean, nothing like getting some fresh air from the sea. The room was clean, had a microwave, Jacuzzi and fridge. A complimentary breakfast that is offered in the morning and the staff is friendly. Try to stop by before 9 pm because everything will close after 9 pm including the restaurant and you have to go to town (which is 25 minutes away) for something to eat.


Great getaway Band B

4.6 on June 13, 2012

Great place! Beautiful grounds and VIEW! wonderful little Band B. Breakfast delivered to your room was so much fun! Dinner needs to be up towards Mendicino--recommend Albion Inn Restaruant 5 star!!


Very nice place...

3.6 on June 12, 2012

Very nice place, amazing views and good friendly service. we stayed in the tower, rooms are small but clean. Views and beautiful garden make the whole experience worth the while.


Beautiful coastal Elk

4.4 on June 12, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. The Inn has sweeping views of the beautiful coastline! They offer a very nice continental breakfast delivered to your room from their restaurant. We met the Chef and he is very personable! We will return to Greenwood Pier!


Lovely

4.2 on June 08, 2012

We had lovely time. The room was a little older which did add to the quaintness of the place. It was clean and the keepers were nice. Their cafe was closed the day we were there, but the B & B next door had an open restaurant. All and all we njoyed ourselves. It wasa little pricey, but had lovely views.


What a beautiful view of the ocean!

4.8 on June 08, 2012

The drive from San Francisco took longer than we expected, but it was worth the time spent. The view is amazing, the staff was extremely helpful when we found there was no phone in the room and our cell phone got no reception, they offered to let us use their office phone for a needed conference call.


Our stay

3.6 on June 06, 2012

We had a lovely room with a terrific view not only of the ocean but the beautiful garden on site.


A Garden Lovers Retreat

3.4 on May 31, 2012

Greenwood Pier Inn provided a much needed getaway from the hustle and bustle of daily life. The gardens are a beautiful collection of plants and colors. We especially enjoyed watching the birds, including hummingbirds, flit around the garden. Sitting in the garden, reading a book, or sitting cliffside and watching the waves meet the shore allowed us to spend some much needed time together without electronic distractions. While this inn is a bit rustic, it is clean, comfortable, and the staff are wonderful hosts.


Good for getaways

3.0 on May 31, 2012

I stayed in the South Castle room. The views from my room were great!! GREAT! And the room had all the things that I needed: nice bed, great view, fireplace, hot tub... But I was disappointed with the details. For example, the remote control for the audio had no batteries, and the sound was with noise. The TV was on a corner, and I was difficult to watch TV. The hot tub had no bath salts. And the breakfast was fine, but not great. And I paid full price for that room. So, I was a bit disappointed with the "details", but that didn't stop me from having a great weekend there.


Great location

3.2 on May 31, 2012

We loved our stay. Greenwood has a great location and is right next door to a nice beach. We loved hanging out on the deck and watch the ocean. The rooms were older and a bit worn from the ocean but the grounds were lovely and you can't beat the location. Our only negative was the food. There were no choices for breakfast. They made one thing and that's it. I was fine with the food but the rest of my family is not a big fan of mushrooms and every morning there were mushrooms in the omelet. We end up eating across the street at Queenies, which had excellent food.


Outstanding Views

4.2 on May 30, 2012

The views from the rooms at the Greenwood Pier Inn were the best we have experienced in the Mendocino area. Even sitting in the Jacuzzi tub for two in the room the view was great, and the hot tub purchased at the top of the cliff offered outstanding views as well. The room was nice; service was good as were the breakfasts. All in all we will likely be back on our next trip to the area.


Judy G. and Anne G.

4.6 on May 25, 2012

Ever so helpful staff at this quaint B&B - we did not know that the second B was included, but a staff person spotted us eating some coffee shop stuff my daughter had foraged for us - she hailed us, and in 15 min or so, the knock came on the door, and we enjoyed a nicely plated and mighty tasty ham and cheese omelet, beautifully prepared and presented. Oh - did I mention the amazing and fabulous hot tub? Best anywhere!


Lovely place, great views, jacuzzi tub!

4.8 on May 24, 2012

I enjoyed everything about the Greenwood Pier Inn, except that some of the half & halfs in the fridge for the coffee were spoiled. The clerk was nice, the breakfast they served, aside from the half & half was very tasty, the view was amazing and the grounds were beautiful. My only recommendation is that they empty the standing water around their grounds, because there were mosquito larvae in them.


Wonderful ocean views

3.4 on May 23, 2012

The Greenwood Pier Inn is a great place to stay if you want a room with a spectacular view. Our room overlooked the ocean so we got to enjoy takeing a bath in the hot tub while enjoying the view. Our room (Golfish room) itself is was very clean and comfortable. It had a gas stove that kept us warm at night and queen size bed with a loft that had two twin beds as well. We were greeted by a friendly person during registration that made us feel very welcome and made sure we were settled in for the night. We could tell that possbibly ownership had just changed because there seemed to be some confusion about hours of the restaurant and some discussion as to it just reopening. When we registered online for our room they stated that breakfast would be brought to our room. When we checked in they told us we would need to come down to the restaurant for the breakfast and that the hours were only from 8:30 - 9:30. When we showed up for breakfast at 8:30 we were welcomed into the dining room and told breakfast would be ready in about 15 minutes; in reality it was more like 30. The breakfast was good but not enough for hungry appetites. After that, we decided we wouldn't chance dinner there. Aside from the eating experience this is a great place to get away from phones, TV and internet. Exactly what we were looking for. With Fort Bragg and Mendocino being about 30 minutes away, there are plenty of places to eat. Would definitely stay again.


A great stay at Greenwood Pier Inn

4.4 on May 23, 2012

We started late around 4 pm from Sunnyvale and got stuck in traffic. We had a horrible travel to this place due to traffic and frequent stops for dinner and then got pulled by a cop car. But once we reached the place, we were pleased to find a note outside the office to guide us how to reach the room. The room was so nicely made and they had kept 2 wine bottles in fridge and started the fire to keep the room warm. this took off all the fatique. We spent 2 memorable days at the inn and would definitely plan another one soon.


Very romantic setting, beautiful location

4.2 on May 22, 2012

Very nice place to spend a romantic weekend. Close to Bodega Bay, Mendocino, Fort Ross, Fort Bragg. I would recommend to friends. Child-friendly also.


Beautiful

3.2 on May 22, 2012

Rachel, Jim and staff at 'The Greenwood Pier Inn' are wonderful people and quick to accommodate every need! I would definitely recommend a stay with them and their beautiful ocean view rooms.


A pleasant Surprise

4.0 on May 21, 2012

We new the location was spectacular, but we had never stayed in Elk. We thorughly enjoyed the in and the service and the food.


garden ocean get away.

4.0 on May 17, 2012

We should of stayed longer. Inn could use a coat of paint here and there and a light room freashener or open the doors prior to guest arrivel. Older home can get an antique smell to them. The gardens were the most beautiful I have ever seen. We will return.


Beautiful Hideaway

5 on May 17, 2012

My husband and I made a stop here on our honeymoon. We definitely would love to come back!


Highly Recommend!

4.2 on May 15, 2012

We will definitely return to Greenwood Pier Inn. Beautiful gardens, beautiful views of the ocean and a wonderful place to escape the 'every day' life.


Awesome stay for two.

4.6 on May 09, 2012

Spent the weekend with my wife in the North Suite. We loved. Wish we were still there.


Tax Season Getaway

4.8 on May 08, 2012

We used our stay at the Greenwood Pier Inn as a relief from the hectic tax season which was really pressure packed. We loved the views and how hospitlable it was for our dog. The furnishings were very comfortable, but we will remember the most was the outstanding food. We would love to go back agains some time.


Beautiful North Coast B and B

3.2 on May 03, 2012

Awesome homey and friendly location with great views and close bluff and beach hiking.


Great B and B in a beautiful part of CA

4.6 on April 18, 2012

This B and B was fabulous. The room was clean; the view was breathtaking; the food was exceptional. This was the best weekend getaway I've had in years. Elk is beautiful, and the locals are wonderful. I highly recommend it!


A little worn, but charming

4.4 on April 05, 2012

The location, overlooking the ocean just south of Mendocino, is beautiful, and most of the rooms face the ocean. We had the Whale Suite for two nights. It's a good thing that the rooms are comfortable with great views because the stormy weather made it necessary to stay indoors for much of our stay. Daily made-to-order breakfast is included with your stay. Lunch and dinner are not included, but I would recommend eating at their cafe at least one dinner while you're there. Portions are huge, and the food is very good. Showers are larger than usual, with two shower heads. Or there is a jetted tub with a window view of the ocean. Microwave and small fridge and a TV (which I understand they didn't used to have). Do not expect to have wifi or cell phone service in this area.


Mendocino trip w/ Toby(dog) and Wife

4.0 on February 26, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at a beautiful place! The views from our room were spectacular along with the accomodations. We were also blessed with fabulous weather, clear skies and in the evening the sky was filled with stars - we don't get that view at home ..........It was spetacular! Breakfast was include and the food was great as well as the presentation. Going back again, soon ... yes, it was that good!


Nice place. Would go again

3.4 on February 24, 2012

I love the location and our room was nice. The jacuzzi tub in the room was lovely and the fireplace really warmed the room up when needed. The grounds were nice. The breakfast was yummy, but there we were told what was being served, there were no options, and so I would say that I would probably prefer the buffet style breakfasts available at most hotel chains. The view from the room was great, despite the strategically placed tree right in the middle (didn't really need that). Overall, it met my expectations and we had a cozy room right on the ocean with no problems, so it was good.


Not a great experience

2.0 on February 23, 2012

This was the 1st time we stayed at a bedandbreakfast place. The room was supposed to be for 4 guests and upon checking in we found out that 2 guests had a bed in loft which was accessible via a removable stair which was very inconvenient for kids. In addition, the bed in the loft had not been cleaned and linens were old (rough) and dirty. There was a hot tub in the room but there was no stopper for water (day 1). In general all the finishing in the room were very old and didnt feel stable. We paid close to 200 per night and expected a bit more than that.


Romantic Get-Away

4.8 on February 20, 2012

I nearly convinced my girlfriend to move across the country with one of the prettiest drives from the Bay Area, through beautiful Redwoods and ocean views, we arrived at the peaceful inn and its cute little garden shop. The family-run restaurant had a fine dining experience and they made great efforts to make our room cozy.


Lovely rooms, property and view

3.4 on February 16, 2012

The inn was wonderful; however the staff serving breakfast were not overly friendly, and was upset when I asked for more syrup....short staffed at breakfast for as many guests that were there.


Spectacular location makes up for quality of service

4.0 on February 16, 2012

Spectacular location with beautiful views and an enchanting garden. However, as other reviewers have commented, the Greenwood Pier Inn is rather run down. We stayed in the Tower Room, which has seen better days. It had a double bed and a futon for the third person staying with us, which we had to make up ourselves. Breakfast was a fixed menu, not to everyone's taste, and coffee was served in paper cups. Given the cost of staying at the Greenwood Pier Inn, I would think that at the very least, coffee could be provided in a real cup. Fortunately, however, the location and views make up for the quality of service.


Great view!

3.2 on February 15, 2012

The view from our rooms was breathtaking. The cons were the room was pretty cold even with the effort of building a fire, the room leaked when it rained and the smoke alarm had been removed and stuck in a piece of furniture. The staff seemed relatively untrained but were friendly and tried hard to please.


Weekend Get-Away

4.0 on February 06, 2012

My partner and I escaped to Mendocino county for the weekend. We found a groupon deal for Greenwood Pier Inn and made our way up north from the south bay. It was a long drive with the final stretch cutting across from HWY 101 over to Hwy 1 being a long and winding stretch. The locals were much more comfortable with this stretch than I and were frustrated with the 50 mph pace I was limping along with. When we arrived at GPI we were welcomed by a young gal who checked us into our room. the room had a rustic appearance. It was very comfortable with excellent views of the ocean. The room was large. We took several pictures together on the deck outside the room with fabulous ocean background views. There was a little place to eat within walking distance. It had a simple pub like menu. the food was okay and the atmosphere was simple and nice. ~Troy


Gorgeous setting

4.0 on January 14, 2012

Our winter stay in the quiet little town of Elk found the quaint Greenwood Pier Inn on the edge of a bluff above the pounding waves of the Pacific ocean. Magnificent coastal scenery and gorgeous gardens providing fresh-cut flowers in the room. Winter slow season may find the Cafe closed, but luckily there was one restaurant open a few steps further so we didn't have to drive to Mendocino. Our room was sweet but aging with leaky faucet, non-functioning tv and hairdryer, and 1/2 a curtain not covering the bathroom window that fronts Highway 1. The view was so lovely, that we did not let the inconveniences bother us. The discount deal included a bottle of sparkling wine and truffles, and fresh-cooked breakfast was delivered to our room in the morning.


Groupon equals great weekend despite average B&B

4.0 on January 11, 2012

If it weren't for a groupon, we would never have visited this lovely area this past weekend. We had a great time hiking and exploring the surrounding area. Elk is so sleepy, I definitely would choose to stay someplace else, especially in January's off season. Our dining choices were limited and there wasn't really anything to do after sunset. The Greenwood Pier inn has definitely seen better days. Things were a bit run down but sitting in the hot tub on the edge of the cliff watching the whales migrate almost made up for it.


Great location, but the room really matters!

3.6 on January 09, 2012

We stayed here with their recent Groupon off season deal. Let me start with the positives. The staff was very friendly, the views were fantastic, and the dining was delicious. My favorite part was their hot-tub looking over the cliff to the pacific ocean, I sat there and watched the sunset both nights. With all that though I was VERY disappointed in the first room we stayed in, the lighthouse suite. It was very dated and run down, with some minor repairs needed and a stale smell coming from the bathroom. We requested to be moved and at first was told that no one there could help us, but later they said they could move us for night 2. The second room, the aerie room, was sooooo much nicer and smelled great! Overall I would go again if I was in the aerie room.


Ending 2011 in beautiful coast side cottage!

4.6 on January 05, 2012

The Greenwood Pier Inn was an incredible place to end 2011 and begin 2012. The pictures on the website do not capture the beauty and coziness of the cottages, views, and gardens. The biggest surprises and highlights were whale watching and seals from our deck!, the nearby Greenwood State beach where we barbecued New Years Day, cliff side hot tub and delicious full breakfast. Beware though that phones and Internet access are sporadic at best but we certainly didn't mind. Thank you Greenwood Pier Inn Staff!!


Greenwood Pier

3.0 on January 05, 2012

Recently we stayed at the Greenwood Pier inn. It was a plesant experience overall. Rooms were cozy, but could use some rennovations. We did not get the strawberrys that are supposed to come with it(out of season?,) but we did get a 750ml bottle of champagne. I would say staying here is only worth it if you found a deal, otherwise there are nicer places for the money.


Greenwood Pier Inn for New Years

4.0 on January 04, 2012

The Aire room, a bit dated, but great little balcony with amazing views.


Great views, great room, management needs to focus on service!

3.4 on January 03, 2012

We have been coming to this location for over 20 years. It's always been quarky and little off the beaten path... this last visit had a noticable drop in service: e.g. late/no housekeeping, cold hot tub, staff more focused on hours of operation than exceeding expectations....


INCREDIBLE PROPERTY

4.0 on December 06, 2011

One of the most beautiful properties on the coast! Incredible ocean view and landscaping on property. Great rooms and a serene and relazing inn where one can really get away from it all and "recharge your batteries!"


Loved it all!

4.4 on November 22, 2011

When we arrived the innkeepers allowed us to check out a few rooms and decide which one we would like to stay in. We stayed one night in the Goldfish and one night in the Bluebird. I liked the setup and spaciousness of the Goldfish but both rooms were great with a jacuzzi, balcony, fireplace, and great view of the ocean. Breakfast was fresh and delicious in the morning, we chose to sit and eat downstairs but they offer room service. The innkeepers were so sweet and more than acommodating. We will definitely return and enjoyed our stay very much.


lovely midautumn visit

3.8 on November 18, 2011

We enjoyed the Greenwood Pier Inn in mid-November and had the pleasure of watching the autumn sun cross the skies over the ocean from our cozy perch of the Lighthouse Suite. Breakfast, included in the rate, was delicious, and the staff were extremely cheerful, available when needed, and very helpful when we had questions about the inn or destinations nearby. The grounds and the garden are beautiful and the view of the ocean is amazing. Thank you!


Anniversary celebration

4.8 on November 08, 2011

The view and accomadations surpassed what I expected. I loved that there was no TV or phone in the room. Very tranquil.


would go back.

3.2 on November 06, 2011

The place is in great need of exterior repairs as it hasn't been taken care of over the years. The grounds are well taken care of and the ocean views are spectacular. The food was excellent and well worth eating there. My wife and I would love to go back sometime.


Very peaceful and beautiful

4.2 on October 29, 2011

Perfect location on the ocean. Whimsical rooms. Outstanding service from the innkeeper. thank you Sherry for a great stay.


A Magical Place

4.6 on October 26, 2011

Beautiful gardens, incredible view over the ocean from our balcony. A comfy large room and quiet. We had a delicious dinner on Saturday night and we both enjoyed our next day's breakfast. Also, kudos to Sherry, who was extremely attentive, sweet and made sure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. She brought a personal face to the Greenwood Pier Inn and is a great asset. Tamara Blustein


Delayed start but gained speed

4.0 on October 25, 2011

My fiancé and I arrived to the Inn around 5:30 but unfortunately our room was still being cleaned and not ready. We were told that it would be ready in about 30 minutes. So we took the opportunity to explore the grounds and the ocean views. About 40 minutes later we went to check on the room status and were told they still needed another 30 minutes or so. At that point we were walked over to the café and offered two drinks on the house for our inconvenience. Which we eagerly took advantage of. At the same time we choose to have some fresh oysters as we waited. After about 30 minutes the hostess came over and informed us that our room was available. The room was clean and well appointed. The rest of our stay was pleasurable and very uneventful.


excellent cliffside location

3.6 on October 19, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the smallest room in the inn, Le Petite. It was a nice size for an overnight trip, not too small but certainly not spacious either. We had a view of the ocean from our bedroom window, but to get the best views, we ventured out to the back deck. And boy were the views spectacular! I would definitely return to this inn if only to see the ocean views again, and perhaps consider staying at a larger room next time.


Wonderful Ocean Views!!

5 on October 18, 2011

The service was terrific, and the breakfast was hot and delicious!


Amazing Views

3.4 on October 15, 2011

Greenwood Pier Inn was incredibly relaxing with amazing views of the coast and a very nice staff. It is definitely on the eccentric side, however, that was somewhat expected based on the website and ended up adding to the appeal. We stayed in the Garden Cottage, which is its own separate building and the privacy was much appreciated - odd thing was there was no shower, only a bath. Still very much enjoyable, I would recommend staying here


Cliff House

2.2 on October 10, 2011

This is arguably one of the best cottages, directly on the ocean, on the California coast. We were, however, disappointed when we returned to our room from lunch in Mendicino late in the day to find that our room had not been cleaned. I inquired and was first told the maids were supposed to clean it but had left for the day. Later, the clerk came and said she had rounded up a maid and asked if it was ok to clean while we were there. The person who came to clean was obviously not a maid and we had to ask her to sweep the room. She had to get a broom and was otherwise unprepared to clean the room. And, we had to have our time at sunset interrupted in order to get the room semi-cleaned. That is unacceptable in a $335 dollar a night room. Although the clerk agreed to make an adjustment to the room rate, she did not. So I have to say the service was lacking.


Our stay

2.6 on October 06, 2011

Stayed for two nights. Scenery was breathtaking but the rooms were in need of some care and attention


west gallery

4.0 on October 02, 2011

I took my boyfriend here as a birthday surprise. The view was incredible! We will definitely be visiting this town again. If we stay at greenwood pier inn again, we will request a different room closer to the cliff side. The only thing that had me unsatisfied was the fact that we arrived around 2:30 & our room was not clean... we waited for about 2 hours until we could finally enter our room. Also, the "cafe" was not what we expected... it was more fine dining than anything.. I don't know any cafe that serves quail. Overall i'd say 4 out of 5.


Greenwood Pier Inn Review

3.8 on October 01, 2011

Very charming, very nice people working there. We very much enjoyed our stay there. The place could use a little updating but it also was part of it's charm. We will certainly come again.


Property in need of some tender loving care!

2.8 on September 28, 2011

We stayed in the best room, a private cabin. Outstanding view and room, unfortunately the current management is letting the property go down hill, broken curtain rod, broken fireplace tools, bent lamps, floor heater did not work, bath door held open with a rock, some lights did not work, all light bulbs are the fluorescent type, way to bright, upstairs tub needs good cleaning. The outside deck is old and need repair, the railing overlooking the sea is unsafe, only one chair. These are just a few of the required maintenance items........really to bad, wonderful place in great need of some tender loving care. We stayed here 7 years ago and it is a shame to see this historic property deteriorate. The grounds are beautiful but slightly over grown and in need of more work. The breakfast was good, did not eat dinner due to the ambiance of the restaurant. The look of the restaurant does dot fit the prices, looks like a poorly decorated truck stop.


Great location.

3.6 on September 27, 2011

The grounds of this Inn were absolutely beautiful. There were so many flowers everywhere and the view was awe-inspiring. The buildings were nice, but we were put in the wrong room by accident so we don't know the quality of the regular rooms. The breakfast was simple but delicious and delivered to us. Heard many great things about the restaurant, unfortunately didn't stay long enough to take a meal there. Overall, enjoyed our stay and will be back.


Great location, friendly staff

3.6 on September 08, 2011

It is a wonderful location. The hot tub overlooking the ocean is very relaxing and the breakfast was good. The Café was closed, but we could eat at the nearby pub and the food was great. Nice to be walking distance to the Greenwood State Beach.


Greenwood Pier Inn

4.4 on August 18, 2011

Room was as advertised, able to easily sleep 4 - Two adults and two teenagers. Excellent restaurant on property made special dish for vegetarian eater.


Our stay at Greenwood Pier

3.4 on August 15, 2011

We had stayed at Greenwood Pier about 6 years ago and loved it. Everything is great, the rooms the restaurant (the chef was amazing) and the views. The only thing that was wrong was the jacuzzi in the room didn't work and the WiFi didn't either.


Very Relaxing

4.0 on August 08, 2011

The room was beautiful and has wonderfull views. The gardens were great and in full bloom when we where there in July, lots of different varietys of flowers and colors. The views were amazing, great places to grab a bottle of wine and sit back and watch the sun set with your love. We loved breakfast - a basket of fresh fruit and bakery items, oj and real silverwear and napkins brought to your door. There is a microwave and small fridge if you don't want to eat at that time, so you can go back to bed for a while. So much to see and experience all around. The town does close early (all three blocks of it) so find out where you are having dinner early. The resturant on site was very good, had different items to choose from. Pub next door and small resturant for breakfast and lunch only. Andrea was very helpfull and a very sweet and nice lady. The rooms do need a little maintenance but most places do. Stay at the cliff house, it sits on the ocean, private area. We will stay there next time, this time we stayed in the Starfish room. Go and Relax!! --Lonnie & Kristien Bennett, Gardnerville, NV


Very unsatisfied

1.8 on July 07, 2011

The room was the East Gallery. The room is spacious but the furniture are so old, damaged or dusty! When we opened the door, the water closet was icky!! We were so fed up not to never see the manager, that we decided to clean it by ourselves. We found a syringe on a coffee glass. We did not know if the chambermaid did not dare touch it, so again, we threw it by ourselves. We thought about if the syringe was discovered by a child, what could have happened? We were already to Mendocino 2 months ago and stayed to Farmhouse Mendocino which was very nice. We wanted stay in another place, but we regretted a lot!


Spectacular view

4.0 on June 11, 2011

Lovely room with a dazzling view. Very artsy and bohemian. The garden is amazing. Stayed here on our wedding night 25 years ago and decided to stay here 'for old times sake'. It was expensive - but, the beauty and serenity of this place was worth every penny. We did not dine at the restaurant - alas cannot provide any info about this. But, the breakfast was great with very fresh fruit and lovely scones, eggs and bacon. They even provided us with a sweet little bottle of champagne. Very thoughtful! The innkeeper was delightful. We enjoyed every second. The Sea Castle has a cozy tub for two with a view that is simply amazing. Highly recommend it!


Great place in an awesome location

4.2 on June 01, 2011

My gf and I had a wonderful time, the views were spectacular, the dining was great and the room was very nice, it can use some upgrades but overall it was nice. The service and staff were super helpful and friendly. We highly recommend it, we probably will return. R&U - San Francisco


Fabulous B&B with cliffside hot tub!

4.4 on May 19, 2011

Greenwood Pier Inn is perched on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific, which makes every glance out your window a breathtaking experience. The best thing about this inn is the outdoor hot tub overlooking the ocean -- definitely exceeded my expectations! The hostess was so kind and incredibly generous, as was everyone else at the Inn! I loved our room -- it had a balcony facing the ocean and a wonderful two-person spa tub. The Inn is also just a short walk to the beach, which boasts amazing scenery! I also loved staying in Elk. Its such a cute little town!


our stay

3.2 on May 12, 2011

Beautiful view of ocean from our oceanfront deck, stayed for 3 nights we would stay again. Breakfast was perfect;delivered in small basket to our door. We used this as our base to explore georgous northern California.The drive along the coast is a must see for everyone!


for the view

3.4 on February 14, 2011

I would return for the view and the garden. The rooms were in process of repair, much needed. Service was good as was the breakfast.


Anniversary stay: Dec. 2010

2.8 on December 25, 2010

This is a charming property, but obviously, one is paying mostly for the view. We stayed at their priciest cabin, the Cliff House. At first glance, (we arrived after dark) everything seemed great, including our welcome. Elizabeth (resident manager) gave us a quick tour, ushered us to dinner and made us feel very welcome indeed. It's obvious she loves her job and said so! As our stay progressed, it became evident that the maintenance of the property has been marginal. Missing hardware in our room, bent curtain-rods (no doubt from people removing them to get a better view of the spectacular ocean crashing right outside) and loose/removable (!) hardware around tub upstairs. Comforter had bleach-stains, too. If you don't mind these minor things and can think "rustic/shabby chic", and you're going for the view (unbelievable!) and privacy, then this is a total romantic spot. As we were the only guests that weekend, we felt truly "private", whether deliberate or not. We didn't get our room cleaned, but maybe you have to request it? Never saw manager, but ran into chef who closed kitchen after first night, as business was very slow. Townspeople confirmed that there was some concern about upkeep of property since new owner took over. We only hope that owner starts to take an interest, because, judging by comments in many guest books in room, this has been a magical place for many over the years---almost a landmark. We would stay again, but with the hope of more attention to the many little details that make the difference between a wonderful property and one that could be wonderful again.


25 years and counting

4.4 on December 03, 2010

My husband took me on a mystery trip for our 25th anniversary and we ended up at Greenwood Pier Inn -- where we had spent our honeymoon. What a lovely surprise! We have stayed many times, but not recently and learned that although the establishment has changed owners, the commitment to excellence still abounds. Loved the new additions to our room -- a spa and a balcony. All staff was so attentive to our every need. Thanks again. We will return. C Shores


Swept away on the coast....

4.8 on November 17, 2010

Oh my gosh, we just stayed here and it was devine! From the views to the ocean waves that you can hear and sit and watch from your porch (or balcony in other rooms) this was just a delight! There's a hot tub on the cliff edge and jacuzzis in the room. It was SO relaxing. We had a great dinner the first night and breakfast that was delivered to the room that was outstanding! I heard that they are putting in a wine bar too and will be doing wine tastings. We stayed in the Starfish room, it was wonderful! The gardens are beautiful and there are different types of rooms, from what I saw even a family could stay in this peaceful place very, very reasonably. Great beaches are very close too! We are planning to go back soon and do some whale watching from the bluff.


Exceptional Gardens

4.4 on October 28, 2010

We've stayed at Greenwood Pier Inn several times, and we keep coming back for the wonderful gardens and the hot tub on the edge of the cliff...a wonderful place to watch the sunset. Beautiful rooms and always a peaceful get-a-way.


Everything and more

5 on October 27, 2010

The Greenwood Pier Inn is a "hidden gem" in Elk, CA. The innkeeper, Elizabeth is a delight. The rooms are romantic, the views, spectacular and the adjoining cafe charming. The musician at the cafe is wonderful. Everyone was welcoming. Note: after 9:00/21:00 the place closes so plan alternative activities. A good night sleep is guaranteed!


Excellent Stay

4.4 on October 20, 2010

We stayed in the Cliffhouse. It is a private little cottage with your own deck. The views and privacy were awesome. The morning breakfast basket that was delivered was such a nice touch and very tasty. I will definitely come back for another stay.


Fabulous views, outstanding service, all around perfection

5 on October 14, 2010

My now husband and I were headed north to get married and stumbled upon the Greenwood Pier. Fortunately, the Inn was able to accomodate us. The second we stepped foot on the property we were in heaven. Elizabeth was warm, welcoming and provided the level of customer service you only hear about. We had a wonderful dinner in the cafe and shortly after waking up, Elizabeth arrived with an amazing breakfast of quiche, fruits and scones. Out room was perfect, clean, full of all the little things (games, coffee, warming light, wine glasses) that make a person feel spoiled. If you ever get the opportunity to stay at the Greenwood Pier - DO IT! Elizabeth - you rock! Thank you for making our stay unforgettable. We will be back! Kind regards, Jonathan and Debra Miller


One night was'nt enough!

4.8 on October 11, 2010

We were on holiday from New Zealand and happened upon the Inn while doing a loop trip from San Fran to the Redwoods.What an awesome spot,our Hostess Elizabeth welcomed us even tho we could only stay one night.A yummy breakfast delivered to our room was a lovely surprise,as was the walk around the rambling garden where we had our first glimpse of a hummingbird.The adjacent restaurant served up a very nice pizza.I cant rate the Inn highly enough.Pam


A getaway heaven

4.6 on September 30, 2010

We stated at the Greenwood Pier Inn for 2 nights recently and it was just amazing. The place is clean and the service is outstanding. The views are spectacular in any direction. The garden is just beautiful. One of the best places we have stayed.


Stay at Greenwood

2.6 on September 28, 2010

The area and view from the room was fabulous. The people who worked at the Inn were very friendly and helpful. I felt the rooms were dated and needed a good coat of paint and updating.


just our luck

5 on September 21, 2010

My fiance and I were on a spontaneous road trip from fremont up the coast. We started looking for places along pch at dusk. Just about every place we found was already booked, with the exception of a motel that that neither one of even wanted to set foot in. We kept driving and happened to find the Greenwood Pier Inn about an hour later. Staying here was the best thing that could have happened to us. After hours of not finding any suitable lodging, we were greeted by some of the friendliest and welcoming staff we've ever encountered. The food in the restaurant next door was great. We stayed in the cliffhouse. talk about a great view and location. Everything was exceptionally clean. A huge thank you to Elizabeth for the outstanding hospitality!.


Best place to recharge and get away

4.2 on September 21, 2010

Beautiful gardens. They allow dogs to stay with a minimum extra fee. The inn is located on the bluffs overlooking the ocean and walking distance to a State Park. Hot tub for guests located on a bluff overlooking the ocean. Each room has a fireplace and 2 person jacouzi tub too. Every room has a deck or balcony. They deliver a great breakfast right to your room from the restaurant on the site. The staff pointed out other restaurants in the area to eat that were in walking distance. Nice to get away from the tourist focused town on Mendocino. My husband wants to stay for a week next time! Julie Richardson, Kelseyville, CA.


Great time, great friendly service

4.2 on September 19, 2010

Great view and location. The reception and ongoing service was outstanding. No question, I would stay here again


Dream Inn

4.6 on August 03, 2010

I would recommend The Greenwood Pier Inn to everyone who wants to escape to a beautiful, relaxing "home-away-from-home" sanctuary by the sea... My husband and I stayed at the Lighthouse and had the entire house to ourselves because it was mid-week. There was a wonderful deck overlooking the ocean to enjoy sunsets, a jacuzzi nearby to relax in, and nearby paths to take walks together. We had a delicious dinner at the cafe after browsing through the store and gardens. The staff were friendly and helpful and our breakfast was brought to our door early the next morning prepared by a pastry chef. It, too, was quite delicious. Our room overlooked the ocean and included a fireplace and was very cozy. We will remember our stay always and look forward to our next visit.


Loved My Visit

4.8 on July 16, 2010

My husband and I with our 2 boys had a wonderful time here. The stafff were extremely nice and accomodating. The gardens were beautiful, our room and the jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific were amazing. Warm delicious breakfast brought to our door. Thank you for a great 2 nights!


Great views - disastrous management

1.8 on July 06, 2010

Made reservation online. Not confirmed. Made a second reservation at a higher price on the 'phone - not confirmed. Before leaving home I found my credit card had been charged for the first reservation so presumed that this was a confirmation. Then when I returned home I found my credit card was charged for the more expensive second room as well, and credit passed for the lower price!!! When we checked in the lady on duty thought she should chat with her mother rather than attend to her guests. She promised to deliver breakfast between 8.00 and 8.30AM; we left in frustration at 9.00AM without breakfast. Beautiful garden - but severely neglected. I do not believe that a scathing review should be anonymous. Rodney Ruskin.


An Oasis on the PCH

5 on May 24, 2010

My husband and I stumbled on this place while out driving PCH with no particular destination in mind. Boy, did we luck out! The innkeeper, Elizabeth was hospitality personified. She made us feel so welcome and was a joy to meet. We stayed in The Goldfish Room and just could not have expected such a wonderful place. The room was comfortable and clean and the view - simply amazing. We actually ended up staying 2 nights we liked it so much. The breakfast delivered to your room in the morning was tasty and filling. The gardens felt like a Buddhist Zen Meditation Center! We highly recommend this B&B and hope to return.


What a Find!!!

5 on April 23, 2010

I truly felt like we struck gold when we happened to stop in to ask about places to stay. I had wanted to find a quaint place to stay with ocean views - well this was like paradise! I loved every minute of my time there from sitting on the deck in the sunshine experiencing the sea and waves (and later under the stars), to enjoying the fire and soaking in the loft tube overlooking the ocean. And then there are the fine details of exquisite art, stain glass windows and beautiful tiling. And that is just the room – there is also the restaurant (amazing food and wine), the gardens, and the incredible service. I can’t thank you enough for making my trip from Alaska to California very special!


More than Amazing.. More than wonderful!

5 on March 15, 2010

My Wife and I spent 2 nights in the Cliff house and both were blown away at the views of the pacific.. the water crashing on the rocks.. the cool sea air.. it is the perfect place to reconnect with person the holds your heart.I would recommend the Green Wood Pier Inn to anyone looking to have a super relaxing good ass time and just unwind and be at peace.. BRAVO! ... BRAVO!


Paradise Awaits You...

5 on February 24, 2010

by Dara 02/24/2010 Let us begin with the Inn itself, it is quaint, majestic and uncanningly beautiful. The view is simply astonishing. The gardens on the property are unique, with exotic plants and flowers, and the design work for the landscaping was very thoughful at the very least. Then you have the hottub to sit in close to edge of the cliff, looking out at the sun setting on the ocean, with magnificent rock formations just off in the distance. All the rooms and buildings are unique, with jacuzzi bathtubs in many of the rooms of which two of them are actually upstairs with full window so that you may watch the moonlight over the water as you whirl your way to relaxation, coupled with dreams of a sugarplums in your head. Then there is the Innkeeper, Elizabeth; she makes you never want to leave!!! She caters to the individual, makes you feel so welcome and just puts you in a place of friendliness unrivaled by anyone I have met to date. She is delightful, considerate, efficient and most adept at the skill of people. Her boss SHOULD GIVE HER A RAISE. She runs the establishment with amazing grace. She hand-delivers your home-made continental breakfast at your door at 8am with a light knock on your door. What else could anyone ask for as their morning wake-up call??? Then we have Matt and Lee, they are the jack-of-all trades, really. They cook, wait tables, clean rooms, cut and deliver firewood to your room. Oh, did I neglect to mention that there are fireplaces at this delectable paradise, I did. These men take service to a whole knew level, they are wonderful and enhance the experience of being in a paradise in a way one rarely experience. The West Wing room has journals in it that date back almost 2 decades. You are free and encouraged to write in it and I took that opportunity, after I read everything in every journal. It was wonderful to be a part of so many peoples lives in such a new and refreshing fashion.


Spectacular!

4.8 on November 25, 2009

Our stay at Greenwood Pier Inn was spectacular from the moment we made our reservation until we left to go back home. Elizabeth, the manager, was extremely personable and very accomodating. She worked really hard with my daughters to ensure our 40th anniversary celebration was just perfect. The full breakfast she prepared and delivered to our room each morning was a fantastic touch. We ate dinner at the cafe both nights and the meals Brad, the chef, prepared were simply superb! Our waiter Lee performed an excellent job of servicing our every needs and was very friendly. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and the views of the ocean from our room windows and patio were magnificent. They were right on the edge of a cliff. You couldn't get much closer than that. Our second floor 2-person soaking tub with it's breathtaking view of the ocean was a perfect place for a romantic relaxing interlude.


BEAUTIFUL OCEAN VIEW

5 on August 22, 2009

I recently stayed in the "Whale Room" and absolutely love every moment. The room decor, the flowers, the plush bathrobes, the jacuzzi, the fireplace, the double-headed shower, the deck, the featherbed, the delicious food at the near-by cafe, the delivered breakfast, the gardens and flowers, the smell of the ocean and of course -- the ocean view. There are no phones, tv's or cell phone reception -- only peace and tranquility. From H101 take the Petaluma Blvd turn off and turn left on Washington and right on Hw1 towards Bodega Bay. The drive up the scenic coast will get you to the inn faster and easier --forget 128. If you need time to reflect or just wind down from a hectic schedule -- stay here. Call ahead of time to make sure the jacuzzi and fireplace work. This room works perfect for single people. Enjoy your stay.


Feel welcome here

4.6 on July 12, 2009

My partner and I were greeted pleasantly by Elizabeth. She was so warm and welcoming. She took us to the aerie room. Incredible views and old world charm. The grounds were amazing especially the garden which we later got a taste of at dinner at the restaurant. The food was outstanding. Waking up to the ocean and seagulls was only complimented by a wonderful breakfast hand delivered to the room. A stop a Queenies up the street is a must.


OUTSTANDING VIEWS!!!

5 on January 10, 2009

The Greenwood Pier Inn has the most incredible views we've ever seen!! The dinosaur rocks seem to be kissing in the moonlight and when there's a full moon its an even more stunning site. We were driving up Highway 1 and stopped in at the cafe for a cup of coffee only to find this special place! The country store and garden shop were full of unexpected "finds." but the best part was the VIEW!! The room was enchanting with wonderful views as well and the king bed with its special mattress and down comforter was the perfect ending to a wonderful day. I can't wait until we go back again!!


Greenwood Pier Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $350
  • Reviews (166) 4.0
  • Rooms 15
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7078773800
Top