El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
75 Reviews

Write A Review

Nicest stay in the bay

4.6 on April 05, 2014

Sol and Pie are the best innkeepers we've had the good fortune to stay with.


Chula vista

3.8 on March 02, 2014

This small hotel is run by a wonderful, friendly couple who strive to mak your visit a good one. It is very good value for the San Diego area.


Gem of a B&B

5 on January 24, 2014

Words cannot express our gratitude. First getaway in 15 years without kids. Picked Chula Vista for its affordability and proximity to attractions. The place was just awesome. Bed was so comfy. Room was clean and spacious, and venue was quiet and peaceful. Owners are just adorable. Hubby ran things solo while wife was out of town. No question about where we would stay if back in the area. Far exceeded our expectations. Best. B&B. Ever!!!!


Hospitality and Value - we love it!

4.2 on October 25, 2013

Pi was very friendly and provided all that we needed for our stay in Chula Vista. The rooms were clean and the beds and sheets were great! We arrived late and he was not bothered at all - all a part of the job he said! We would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks Pi!


Great place to stay

5 on August 17, 2013

Great place, the owners are very friendly and autentive , i recomend the place.


Great Place to stay in San Diego Area

4.4 on April 29, 2013

We just needed a place to sleep at night while we explored San Diego during the day. El Primero was perfect. NIce, clean rooms and a very good breakfast to get our day started. The hosts, Pie and Sol, were very gracious, and helped us find some sites in the San Diego area of which we had not been aware.


Hidden Treasure in Chula Vista

4.6 on March 03, 2013

The El Primero is an immaculately clean heritage hotel bed and breakfast. The hosts Pie and Sol were extremely hospitable, genuine and friendly which made our stay even more enjoyable. They were very helpful and gave us great suggestions on where to go and what to see during our stay. We initiately were booked for four nights from Feb. 22 through the 25th but loved the hotel so much that we booked again for our final night so we could enjoy the bed and breakfast and the company of Pie and Sol once again. It was truly an enjoyable stay in extremely quiet and secure surroundings. Although the El Primero is in an older neighborhood the area and downtown streets are being revitalized and soon this area of Chula Vista will be a wonderful destination. We are looking forward to the next time we fly to San Diego to stay at the El Primero once again. Cait & Al (Vancouver, B.C.)


Chula Vista Treasure

5 on August 26, 2012

We love the hotel, hosts and atmosphere. The beautiful restoration of the historic hotel is noteworthy. We had a realxing evening exploring the restaurants and shops on Third Street. We enjoyed the healthy breakfast in the courtyard . Great stay, thank you.


A wonderful place

5 on August 07, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights and had a fantastic stay. The family-owned B&B was very beautiful and redone very well. Rooms were comfortable and clean, great bedding, pillows and towels. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend El Primero. A 10 out of 10! - Jason H from Calgary


Wonderful Experience

4.8 on August 02, 2012

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and we were not disappointed! This restored hotel is delightful and a comfortable experience. We enjoyed visiting with the owners who made us feel right at home. Easy access to the freeway and short drive to San Diego and Coronado Island. We will definitely be back. Thank you Sol and Pie for making our visit so memorable.


Excellent stay

5 on July 31, 2012

supremely friendly sraff, a beautiful buiding, quiet neighborhood, and a comfy bed. We were very pleased with our stay.


El Primero

4.0 on March 07, 2012

Beautiful hotel but you definitely need a car to get places.


Santa's stay at El Primero!

5 on November 23, 2011

Santa's visit to Chula Vista was made very comfortable by the warm & friendly stay at the EL PRIMERO B&B it was more like staying at a family member home, The owners & their family treated me as one of their own, I will always stay here on my return visits. Oh!! the home made Philippine bread buns are one of Santa's favorite on the breakfast menu!! Pa Pa Santa


wondreful stay!

4.4 on September 02, 2011

The hotel was simple, clean and the beds were comfortable. But the managers (very kind and welcoming couple from Phillipines) were outstanding. They were hospitable and exceeded our expectations for service and attention. Thanks a lot!


A Gem

3.8 on July 17, 2011

Thank you Pie and Sol for your hospitality in your delightful B&B Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you and would certainly recommend you to anyone asking for somewhere to stay in San Diego. Although the hotel is in Chula Vista and isn't in the centre of San Diego, it is a short drive into town and to the Old Town and it is worth doing the extra little bit of traveling, to stay in such a lovely B&B. A big thank you to Katie (their daughter) who helped us out with directions for using public transport. The whole family couldn't have been more helpful with information and hospitality. The building is beautiful and the rooms 'lovely' - For you Pie. :) Everything we needed was there, including the internet, which in some more expensive 'prestigious' (?) hotels needed to be paid for. Thank you too for the evening 'cuppa', something we miss when staying in most other B&Bs. The delicious breakfast of cereals, quiche, bacon, sausage, eggs, pastries, fruit and toast was a great start to our day. If ever we are back in Southern California, we will be staying with you. Thank you again. Gary & Ruth. Queensland. Australia


Loved It!

5 on February 28, 2011

I loved this B&B. The owners took care of us. They were friendly, knew us by name, helpful.....Bottom line this was a Great B&B. Pie and Sol will take care of you! Cheers, Lindsey and Mike Newly Weds


Enjoyed our stay

4.0 on January 21, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at El Primero because the owners were friendly and hospitable. We had a good time!


Wonderful hotel with a friendly staff and very nice owner

4.2 on October 31, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at El Primero Hotel very much, we booked 2 nights and then stayed 4, this says everything....


Fantastic Hotel

5 on October 09, 2010

This hotel was on our 3 weeks of traveling through the States the best. The very friendly owner is very accommodating. The rooms are very loving. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is versatile. There are a lot of fresh fruit, homemade cakes and a kind word in passing the boss. We can only recommend this hotel to anyone. Should we again be close, we will definitely visit this house again. Especially I can recommend this hotel for Central Europeans. Unfortunately, according to the chief has not been so many guests. We were lucky and were (2 Germans) still at the same time, 4 Swiss present. So just book this hotel and let it go a commodity. Melanie and Jörg


Most Memorable Experience

4.6 on September 24, 2010

As an athlete from Australia i have travelled and stayed in many accommodations since i was 12 years old (now 27) and have never experienced the exceptional stay i just had at El Primero. The oustanding service and genuine interest displayed, even to Pie personally driving me to the Olympic Training Centre and to also purchase "real" food, was so unexpected. The El Primero is a beautifuuly restored building, fantastic location, had everything needed, could even use my laptop without any hassle, and the included breakfast every day was outstanding. I have never reviewed a property before but with El Primero I MUST- even my Mum wants to come next vist to Chula Vista and the El Primero Thank you so very much Sol and Pie for making my stay with you a Most Memorable Experience Michael


The Best

5 on September 21, 2010

Wonderful stay. The Inn Keepers took care of every need. This is a Gem and so close to everything.


Great Place!!

4.4 on August 26, 2010

This is a Historical Building, but with updated furnishings in the rooms. The owners are great! They are friendly & helpful. It’s like you staying with long time friends! It has a limited amount of rooms which I liked very much as it made it such that you didn’t feel crowded. The rooms are nice & cozy with great beds and flat screen TV’s. We had a front room which had lots of windows, which was lovely for the cool breezy evenings. Breakfast is homemade by the owner’s wife, Buffet style. Quiche, bacon, sausage, pastries and the freshest fruit I’ve ever had. And you get to eat out on a beautiful shaded patio. My husband & I loved it! We will be going back! The area is part business part neighborhood which was nice. Just down the street (walking) are lots of shop’s & a great restaurant La Bella’s. There is also a grocery store nearby. Imperial Beach is only about 10mins driving distance. You will pass a Starbucks on the way!


my stay

2.8 on July 30, 2010

The El Primero is a nice place, but make sure you don't stay in "The Abbey" room. It is not a room, it is a closet. And by closet I mean it is a full size bed, with just enough room to walk around it without bumping into the walls. The Hosts are very gracious, but the breakfast is little more than fruit and muffins.


First time in a bed and breakfast

4.8 on July 28, 2010

I arrived late and was helped wth my bags to my room! The room was wonderful and very large! The beds were clean and confortable. My children loved this place and want to go back. The breakfast was as reviewed previously, excellent.


I was here on business

4.6 on April 23, 2010

I travel for business and usually stay at a mid-range chain. My assistant booked me at the El Primero and I was glad. The rooms are very nice, beds comfortable and the food was a really nice upgrade from the cold cereal I am used to at the chains. I think I have become addicted to the breakfast mini-quiches. The owner-operators are friendly and very helpful. If I am in the area there is no doubt that I will stay here again.


Wonderful Experience

4.4 on April 08, 2010

I was recommended to stay here for a workshop and the hours ran long so I stayed at the hotel a lot because I was too tired to go anywhere! I loved to sit in the beautiful courtyard and visit with the wonderful owners. It was a very pleasant experience. Lots of resturaunts within a few blocks. It was a very charming and cozy place to stay and the hospitality was so great to see a family owned business. It felt very homey, I would definitely go back to El Primero, and breakfast was fantastic, she even shared her recipes!!


A wonderful place !!!

5 on March 08, 2010

I traveled to San Diego for a business trip. At first I believed this may not be the best place to stay for my purpose but it resulted to be a wonderful place to stay !!! The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The service is great and the inkeepers wonderful people. I will definetely recommend this place to my friends and co-workers.


great place

5 on February 01, 2010

we stayed at the El Primero while we were visiting family in Chula Vista. the hotel featured elegant decor,great breakfast and charming,attentive innkeepers. we were away from our home for a week,but relaxed and enjoyed our stay at the El Primero.we will stay there our next visit to California.


Wonderful!!!!!

5 on January 25, 2010

The hotel was very comfortable and inviting. The staff was very nice and courteous helping us with anything we needed. The room was very clean and cozy. I would definitely recommend El Primero Boutique B&B to all of my family and friends.


outstanding

5 on January 16, 2010

From A to Z this B&B is a pleasure in all regards. The setting is not only romantic, it offers all amentities in an ideal setting and location. As is always the case, its about management, the attention to detail is second too none. This is my San Diego destination for sure.


perfect bed and breakfast!

4.8 on January 15, 2010

This hotel has heart. everything from cleanliness, safety and attention to detail is attended to; not to mention its interesting historic and architectural qualities! I'm pretty sure there's not a better hotel in San Diego for the price! I'd stay again in a heartbeat.


El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

5 on December 14, 2009

I love the service-rooms are clean. Management is very friendly and accomodating. We will surely come back and recommend friends.


El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

5 on December 11, 2009

very nice comfortable feeling place. clean chemical free rooms.


Restful & Relaxing

5 on October 16, 2009

First visit for my husband and I in California and the accommodations at this location could not have been better. Sol & Pie were friendly and helpful. The renovations they have completed are outstanding and just perfect!! The room and bath were well furnished, clean, quiet and comfortable. Our next stop after this was the Roosevelt in Hollywood, and was such a dissappointment compared to this!! We will definately stay here again when in the area.


great for overnight concert stay!

4.0 on September 14, 2009

My husband and I thought it was such a quaint place to stay. The hotel owners are visable and hands on, the courtyard was a nice space to eat at and the food was ample and delicious! Clean and friendly service, we will for sure stay there again.


El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

4.6 on September 01, 2009

Chose location because of family but we found that it was also very convenient to get to downtown San Diego, Seaport village, great restaurants, church, etc. We would stay here again.


Loved It!!

4.8 on August 27, 2009

We were only there one nite and loved it. Bathroom a little smal but was really clean. The bed was so comfy we woke up late and didn't get to enjoy the breakfast :( . Will definately come back again. Will NEVER forget the experience.


Beautiful Hotel

5 on August 25, 2009

The entire family (12 rooms) had a great time! You made us really feel welcome.


El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

5 on August 25, 2009

Great place to stay. Very clean, friendly service. Highly recommended. Sol & Pie are amazing, so nice and make you feel so welcome.


The best bed & breakfast ever!

5 on August 19, 2009

Pie & Sol were great. The rooms were very clean & the service was exceptional. We recommend this place to everyone. It was one of our best experiences. We will definitely be coming back.


Always a pleasure...

4.2 on August 17, 2009

Rooms are clean and neat. Nice breakfest for guests in the morning. Service is always great by the owners of the B & B. Good location, right by the freeway and hidden away. I would recommend to everyone I know.


great place and service

5 on June 03, 2009

Small, but not too small, just perfect. Felt like I was at home, which is hard to do when you travel. Great people and place. I would stay there again.


Best place to stay in San Diego!!

4.4 on June 01, 2009

We stayed with Pie and Sol in late May 2009. It was the best decision we made in planning our trip! It truly felt like we were visiting family during our stay at the El Primero. Pie and Sol really did an amazing job rehabbing this Chula Vista landmark. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and extremely clean. My wife and I both felt it was the perfect location to stay in San Diego. It was only an 8-10 min drive to downtown San Diego...we conveniently close to all the sights (Coronado, Point Loma, Torrey Pines, La Jolla, etc). And best of all at the end of each day we could then retreat to the calm environment of Chula Vista. We were very satisfied and plan on staying at the El Primero whenever we're back in San Diego. You'll love this place!!


What a Find!

4.6 on May 28, 2009

We stumbled across the El Primero when looking online for reasonable accommodations in the San Diego area, and are so glad we did. Definitely would stay again and recommend to others. The breakfast was so much more than the usual "continental" service...a huge variety of fresh fruit, coffee/teas, mini-omelets, sausage, nut bread...wonderful way to start our busy days! The rooms are unique and well-done...comfy beds and relatively quiet. Be sure to get a room with a tub--this provides a bit extra space in the bath area. The courtyard is a peaceful place to read or visit with other guests. The Roques and their staff are wonderful hosts--very attentive and helpful; eager to assist in giving directions or suggestions. Hope we can come back soon!


A Truly Enjoyable Experience

4.0 on May 27, 2009

I had recently moved away from the San Diego area and needed to return for a weekend event in Chula Vista. I researched several hotels and El Primero caught my interest. I am so glad I chose to stay there. What a wonderful place. Pie, the host, made my stay even more enjoyable. What a gracious and interesting host. My room was very clean, the bed was quite comfortable, and the service was the best ever. I have to return to Chula Vista in a few months and I have already booked my reservation to stay there. What a delight in finding this great place.


El Primero is Tops

4.2 on May 15, 2009

This art deco charmer will take you back to a more gracious, civilized time many of us secretly yearn for. Full of lovely surprises and amenities, as well as that personal touch from the manager and host who really cares about your comfort. Lisa C. Oakland, CA.


Home away from Home

4.0 on April 22, 2009

I travel all over the world with my job and my recent stay at this unique bed and breakfast was the finest. I would not exchange this magic find with any of the large hotels. I was treated so well and in a caring manner and will certainly recommend Mr. Pie's 'gem' to my company and all my friends. I hope I will have the opportunity to return in the near future. Sandra - UK and South Carolina, USA


Norwegian TV-crew

4.4 on April 04, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights, and we will be back next time if we need room in Chula Vista.


Most Amazing Hotel Ever

4.6 on March 26, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights with my 11 month old daughter. She was able to crawl on the floor without getting dirty. We all felt safe and welcome at all times. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and hot. Pi is one of the nicest and helpful owners I've ever met. He was like a long time friend and made us feel at home in CA. I am never going to stay anywhere else when I'm in So CAL.


Great place in a great location

4.2 on March 10, 2009

I stayed at El Primero the weekend after Valentine's and really enjoyed it. The innkeeper Pie is very nice and provided very good customer service. He makes a great breakfast too!!


Safe and clean in Chula Vista

4.6 on January 30, 2009

Sol is very accommodating and made me feel at home. The beds are very comfy, the internet is fast, the place is spotless. The rooms and bathrooms are small, as expected from the historic nature of the hotel, but decorated modernly. The courtyard is very nice with a fountain.


Charming & spotless B&B

4.0 on January 11, 2009

The room was charming and spotless, the courtyard inviting and comfortable. Our host was very friendly and interesting to talk to. Definitely enjoyed our stay.


Chose El Primero over a hotel chain

5 on December 15, 2008

I wanted to surprise my husband with a romantic night away from home. Price and location were a definite concern. Reading up on the hotels just didn't faze me - I was looking for something with atmosphere. I chose this gem after reading the reviews and was sooo glad I did! We loved the history of the hotel, the charm, the decor, the family, the comfy bed - ok, we loved everything! We will definitely return.


Best hosts ever

4.6 on December 09, 2008

Pie and Sol, the owners, are not your typical B&B owner. Get to know them, their story is worth hearing! They spent last New Year's Eve with us in the El Primero Courtyard.


Wonderful bed and breakfast

4.4 on November 28, 2008

My husband and I ejoyed our stay at El Primero. The service is friendly and personable. The rooms were cosy and well decorated. I liked that each room was named after a historical landmark/place in the San Diego area. I loved the breakfast. The banana bread was moist and delicious and the orange juice tasted fresh. The rooms were an incrediable value. We will definately return when we are in the San Diego area again.


Home away from home!!!!

5 on November 27, 2008

I stayed at El Primero with my 7-yr. old daughter and she just doesn't want to leave! She feels the same way I do - it's home away from home. We extended our stay for one more day, a request from my little girl who looks forward to breakfast everyday with her now, favorite person, Pie. Our stay was so amazing - from the room, the unique service, the cleanliness, the food, and most of all, the feeling of being safe where we stay at. I can go on and on - needless to say, I will be back there and tell all my friends about this amazing place. Liza M. and daughter Skyler


great place

4.2 on October 31, 2008

beautiful old inn that's nicely renovated, lots of charm, great courtyard, where breakfast is served, excellent host, who is very helpful. we worth the short drive from San Diego, and very recommended!


Very friendly

4.2 on October 22, 2008

My wife was a little nervous coming in at night. Looked much better (neighborhood) in the morning. People couldn't have been nicer. historic themed rooms, nice touch.


Home Away From Home

4.8 on October 09, 2008

After reading all the reviews for multiple bed and breakfast establishments, I finally decided upon El Primero and I was not disappointed. I took a friend for her birthday and chose the two bed suite. It was cozy, beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was just perfect. After telling Soul and Pie that I am allergic to detergents with strong perfumes they were so accomodating to ensure that nothing was used on my sheets or towels. Each morning we were greeted warmly and introduced to other guests by first name. We were made to feel like family. The location of El Primero was also fabulous; we were close enough to everything that the drive to anywhere we wanted to go in San Diego ranged from five to ten minutes. We will definitely stay there again.


El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

4.2 on September 09, 2008

One of the best B&B's I've ever stayed at! The rooms were immaculate.


Ledgendary Service & Value at quaint little hotel

4.2 on August 22, 2008

My wife & I took our annual anniversary vacation in San Diego this year. We read good reviews about this little B&B near San Diego in a place called Chula Vista. We were pleasantly suprised to find this historic little hotel to be a gem! The owners, Pi & his wife Sol, have painstakenly renovated this hotel and it is as clean as a whistle! The 20 rooms don't have numbers, instead each one is named after a famous San Diego landmark. We stayed n the Mission De Alcala room which was cozy but very nicely decorated! The main thing is the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff! The complimentary breakfast each morning was an added bonus and the food was wonderful. My wife and I plan to return next year for a jazz festival and we will definitely book another stay at this legendary little establishment! Do yourself a favor and check it out for yourself, you will be glad that you did...


LOVE this place....What a gem!!

4.2 on August 04, 2008

After reading the nice reviews online regarding the El Primero B&B, we decided to give it a try...especially since the room rate was in our budget for a last minute weekend getaway to San Diego's Sea World. Everything else in the area was price inflated and the price here was just right.....What we found when we arrived far exceeded our expectations!! For starters, we arrived late and the owner/innkeeper, Pie was absolutely amazing and so friendly. Immediately we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The service was wonderful. The rooms are nice and clean with comfortable beds...a good size for two people. Breakfast was tasty and the homemade banana bread was so good. Pie joined us for breakfast in the courtyard the next morning and when the other guests came, he made it a point to make introductions, remembering everyone's names, which was a nice touch. I'd also like to mention this hotel is Earth/Green Friendly being completely solar powered! Keep in mind, this is a 1930's style art deco building that was nicely renovated in 2004. If you're used to the typical hotel with oversized rooms, remember these are smaller and more intimate. but worth it. We will always make El Primero our home away from home when we're in San Diego.


outstanding

5 on July 15, 2008

the best you could ask for !!!!!!!!! what a great place ,stayed for 3 nights. close to all places in san diego. the berkmans israel


Greastest B&B ever

5 on July 09, 2008

I stayed at EL Primero many times. It is for sure the best place and safest place to stay in this town. I have tried others and was so disappointed. Service is great, wonderful owners, rooms are beautiful, breakfast excellent and for me as a buisness woman, great and really high speed wireless internet service. I really recommend this place, it is worth it. Christelle / New Mexico / business trip


Truly Home away from Home

5 on May 17, 2008

It's cosy and very nice to stay. You receive a warm welcome and is maintained throughout the stay. You are introduced to other guests by Pie and Sol religiously.


It was nice

3.4 on May 09, 2008

The rooms were a bit smaller than I had expected and the shower was quite small, but what can you expect from a 1940's design. The room also had a bit of a musty smell to it, but nothing that some air freshener didn't fix. The service was oustanding, they were very freindly and personable. Considering what the hotel used to be (and look like) it's come a long way!


I was completely saftisfied.

4.0 on April 27, 2008

The hotel was clean and inviting. I would recommend it to a friend, and will return the next time I am in that area. It was lovely.


Like Goen Home

4.8 on April 23, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights, left town for a few days and returned for one more evening and I felt like I was "goen home" when we arrived for the night.


Wonderful Hotel in Chula Vista

4.6 on April 22, 2008

El Primero Boutique B&B is a great place to stay! The cozy bed!!! I love it. The innkeepers are wonderful people. This place is recomendable to everyone who wants to visit San Diego and looking for a place to stay. It is affordable and safe. Everything you need is just around the corner. (Stores, restaurant are fabulous). I recommend it. A five star hotel.


The Best Place IN San Diego! Bets The HILTON!

5 on April 19, 2008

Pie and His Daughter Lisa go out of their way to make you feel at home! I have stayed at many places including the Hilton in Mission Valley and let me tell you El Primero beats anywhere I have stayed including the Hilton! The food was excellent and Pie prepares eggs to your liking, not to mention the great spread already out on the buffet! The rooms are nice, clean, and give that little extra History of San Diego that you can not get anywhere else! The area is safe and right in the heart of not only Downtown Chula Vista but you are just around the corner from one of the Biggest malls in San Diego so you can do some SHOPPING! too. You are close enough to all the Big attractions like the Zoo, Balboa Park, Old Town, being just about 15 minutes away and Wild Animal park being about 30-40 minutes away. The Ocean depending on which one you wish is approximately 20-30 minutes away or less. You are Less than I would say 6 blocks away from a major Hospital in case God Forbid something happens. Speaking from a person who lived in San Diego for 18 years while in the Military and then retired out there before I moved to NC El Primero has EVERYTHING! The price is RIGHT! The Service is SECOND TO NONE! DINING is GREAT in the Hotel or around the Area as you are minutes away from Seafood, Mexican, or whatever you wish! Cleanliness of the Hotel WAS OUTSTANDING! I can not say enough about this FABULOUS Home Away From Home! The Next Time I am in San Diego I will Be Back to Stay! I hope you make it your Place to Stay instead of one of the Hotels You won't be Sorry! Helen Marshall Stayed March 19-21, 2008


The Roque Family welcome you just as though you ARE family!

4.0 on January 25, 2008

Yeay! I'm coming back! This time WITH my husband. I can't wait to share the wonderful relaxing and friendly (and delicious I must add)experience I had the time I was there last May, with him. He will love it as much as I did. I wish we had you up here in Coeur d' Alene, Idaho! Take care my friends and say hello to the girls for me. Again, Congratulations on your new grandaughter ?Avalina See you soon! Cj (Connie) Krempels


El Primero Hotel

5 on October 17, 2007

Very nice. Incredibly cozy and comfortable, owners go to extra lengths to make sure you feel welcome. Delicious breakfast buffet on their outdoor patio. Room was very comfortable - would not hesitate to sleep here again. In beautiful downtown Chula Vista, lots of places to eat and close to Sand Diego. A+!


Excellent hotel

4.0 on August 06, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel and found it very good. The owners are the nicest people, they go the extra mile to make their guests comfortable. We would definitely go back.


Loved this place!

4.8 on July 29, 2007

We went down for Comicon, a huge event and through research on the internet I found this gem of a place. The man up front (whom I think was the owner) was the sweetest and kindest man, even when we rolled in at 3 in the morning and woke him up. I was surprised by the beds. I am literally not exagerating when I say they were more comfortable than the ones I have at home, or the ones in the marriotts. The owner explained to me that he doesn't buy his beds from Hotel distributors, but rather "We buy the same beds we use at home." The pillows were feather, and also very comfortable. I don't want to mislead you, it's not that this place is particularly posh - it's clearly not the four seasons, and you won't find a pool or hot tub here, but it is extremely well cared for, and they clearly take pride in providing excellent service. Even the breakfast included with the rooms was lovely, including LOTS of extremely fresh fruit (mango, papaya, etc.) and mini-quiches. I don't often feel motivated to write reviews for places I stay at, but I don't often see a small, family run place which takes this much pride in giving excellent service.


Great place to stay

5 on June 28, 2007

The owner of the hotel remodel the interior recently. Most of the things (beding, A/C, curtain) are new. My stay at El Primero was very comfortable, and the breakfast they provide was very good. The owner (inn keeper) is very serious about the business. He tries to take care every customer and make them feel comfortable staying in his place. The only bad side about this hotel is that there are not much to do in Chula Vista, even it's located in the downtown area. (except a big shopping mall w/ Macy's...which you can find everywhere else). I would suggest people to stay here only if you want a good place to rest.


El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $140
  • Reviews (75) 4.6
  • Rooms 20
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6194254486
  • Fax 1-6194253938
  • Mobile 1-6199485852

Visit Website »

View details

Top